Home » Office Equipment & Supplies » Supplies » Label Makers » PT1290 » 49 Reviews

Brother International Pt-1290 Electronic Labeling System (pt1290) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 49 reviews)

75% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Brother is still wasting 3/4" of tape.

By libra2u from SoCal on 06/09/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've used several PT labelers over the years. Currently, I have the 1290 and the 2430PC. Pros: Labels are durable. A must have for labeling wiring. Tapes come in a wide variety of colors, sizes, and uses. Cons: Instruction flyer is terrible. Have flyer handy if you use more than the very basic functions. I enlarged the sections I use. Why does Brother continue to waste tape?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor Item

By CindyM11 from Alabama on 05/16/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Received this as a Christmas gift. Used it twice and now it won't power on. Changed the batteries, bought new tape, nothing is working, so very, very frustrated with this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works Great

By LordMikal from Fresno, CA on 06/29/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works great, does what it is suppose to and does it well. Only things is - it is more complicated then the last unit I had. The last unit I could figure it all out without referencing the manual but that is not the case with this one. Probably just need more time using it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good product for the intermittent user

By tucsonrich from Arizona on 01/26/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This labeler prints good attractive 1-line or 2-line labels. I am not a label freak, so I have to read the instructions again when I make a new label every few weeks. For the low price this labeler can't be beat.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great For My Business

By htgerst from Myrtle Beach, SC on 01/03/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this little dependable machine to label my inventory and it makes everything easy to locate. Much better than having to read a handwritten label!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

works well with my ...

By Gootch from Undisclosed on 12/29/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

works well with my business. received as a gift but would have purchased anyway.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Too complicated---must ...

By Frankieboy from Undisclosed on 12/29/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Too complicated---must keep directions with the product to use it just for simple labels! Why a nickname for a simple review???


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I like it but . . .

By usafe6 from Palm Beach Gardens FL on 12/26/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Reason 1: is the price of tapes, which leads into . . . Reason 2: is since the tapes are pricey, why does the machine put out so much blank tape at the end of the few labels that I've so far made. I can't find anything in the instructions, but may be making an error is setting it up that's not covered clearly enough.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Purchase

By terrys from Undisclosed on 12/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Product works well. Only thing I would like to be able to change is the waste before and after the inprint. I'm sure there must be a way I just haven't figured it out yet.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Liked my old model better

By Fern from Ft. Lauderdale Fl. on 12/25/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I had an older model of labeler and I truly liked it better. I upgraded because I bought my mother a gift of the new model. It was too complicated for her so I gave her my old one and kept the newer one for myself. It does alot more but I find it to be too complicated and too many options. I like the simple machine much better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great purchase

By skinny25 from Huntsville,AL on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It works fine for price on labels I've printed for my own personal and home use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good product at a good price

By blazerman from Slidell, LA on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used Brother labelers at work and this model is as dependable and as useful as the larger models.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Couldn't be happier

By MFWills from Northern Vermont on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I wanted a simple labeler, nothing fancy. Fills the bill nicely, and for remarkably little money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent for many uses

By Hellraiser873 from Florida on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very usefull. I find it a great product to use I use it for filling my cd and dvd I purchase .It is better than typing it on the computer and using scotch tape


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Labeler I Ever Had

By MarkTGT from Eagle RI(ver, WI on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Having the extra fonts and styles makes for some great looking labels that I use in my business. Easy to use and great results. Only problem is it tends to push out a lot of unprinted label. So. there's trimming and unneeded waste. Regular labeling mode works great as well, but nothing new here.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

impossible

By knh1619 from Undisclosed on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have no idea how the Brother labeler works, because I truly have no idea how it works. The directions are incomprehensible. I have never used it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

At Home or Work

By pahokey from Wichita, Kansas on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought the PT-1290 to help organize our storage area at home. It worked so well I took it to work to mark boxes and shelves. It does everything I need. Very pleased with my purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Small problem

By Telecommunication from Akron, OH on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The product is not for heavy use as we use it frequently. In less than a year the cutter had to be replaced. the problem has begun to occur again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product

By WhitesBoots from Spokane, @A on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We use this for anytime we need to make a label around the offices and out in the factory were we make our boots. Its a great product and easy to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

worth the money

By pete57 from Mayville,WI on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used the Brother label maker for lots of organizing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy To Use

By WhateverLA from Los Angeles on 07/05/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Made a label without having to read the instructions. Very intuitive and easy!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Terrific labeler

By MattTheTech from Tulsa, Ok on 11/27/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had many label makers. I dont have a particular preference for brand, I just need it to work when I need it. This has excellent features and makes it right every time. Bulky for transporting around but it works great so its worth it!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not worth it

By cole19 from Clinton Iowa on 11/27/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Very disappointed with the machine. It is difficult to use, with unclear directions. I was able to get some labels printed from the original roll of tape that came with the machine, but have wasted money purchasing refill cartridges. The feed doesn't work and nothing will come out. I have tried several times to load the cartridge and get this item to work. Goes through batteries quiet quickly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wish I had this a long time ago

By Ahwatukee from st. louis. mo on 09/18/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Really do wish I had one of these a long time ago. So clean, easy, quick, profesional. thank yo for creted such a good business tool.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointing

By Worker from Emeryville, CA on 09/09/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

As someone else reviewed, you need a PHD to print a simple label. I have followed directions 3 times and printed 3 labels (waste) and have yet to get the label I want. Do not recommend! Have used much simpler products and received better results!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I LOVE this label maker

By TracyKay from Sacramento, CA on 08/28/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have always wanted a label maker. I was watching Nate Berkus on his t.v. show and he had this exact model and he loved it so I asked my family to buy me one for my birthday. It is perfect. It takes batteries or you can buy the cord to plug it in ( I did not buy the cord, but I am going to get myself one. ) It has tons of options for making really neat labels.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

You need a PhD in label Maker

By Lauren123 from San Francisco on 08/18/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

If you have nothing better to do with your time but read tedious how-to manuels in order to make a simple label. If you want a product that is not intuitive, consistent in font size and label functioning than this cheap, FRUSTRATING piece of junk is just what you've been looking for.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good product

By Mike12345 from Orange County, CA on 08/07/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Labeler works as advertised. Very Happy with it. The product was received timely.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Labeler

By 4VBFun from El Segundo, CA on 07/06/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this labeler for home-use ... to make finding things and to make using appliances (like electric fans) with small, hard to read lettering, easier. I have found this labeler easy to use for my basic needs and can tell that there are many more features available to me as my experience with it grows.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good solid product

By bassman from Undisclosed on 03/08/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

great styling, easy to use and understand and a wonderful price


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product

By Kats85 from FL on 02/27/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've used this product a couple of times and had excellent result. I like the fact that it gives you many options on the size and text script.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Labeler

By Kaylite from Ft. Lupton, CO on 02/21/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought it because I trusted the name, chose this model because of the Qwerty keyboard, and absolutely love it. It sits on the desk, ready to be used at a moments notice. Would definitly rate it a 10!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lable maker

By snoopdog from Bristol, TN. on 02/21/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love my new PT-1290 lable maker, it by far exceeds my old one! I love the features it has. I like it so much that my husband wanted one, so we found one on sale that we bought another one! The replacement tapes might be expensive, but look at what you're buying. You have many different choices, most are laminated. That doesn't bother me as far as price. You get what you pay for! I would far recommend this label maker without a second thought.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product

By ruinstone from IN on 02/19/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This made my CD collection labeling very easy and perfect !


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very hand device

By albedo from TN on 02/19/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

makes great labels, very flexible formatting.............


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Terrific PT-1290

By InvestmentHound from Philadelphia on 02/19/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had numerous label makers over the years, and this one is the best. It is a pleasure to use - the functions are intuitive, self-explanatory - my favorite ever.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love my labeler

By patrioticpix from Concord, CA on 02/19/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought it for someone else and I ended up keeping it. I use it at work and at home. It's easy to use and it was a great price. I totally recommend it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not bad for the price

By labelelprinter from Buffalo NY on 02/19/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is a Basic (and I mean BASIC) label printer. More printing options would help. Label cartridges are expensive and not long lasting. (much waste of label stock)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good value for the money

By tubist from Bloomington, IL on 02/19/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very good for the price. The tape is pricey, but seems to be good quality. The long blank leader at the beginning of each label seems a waste of tape. I sometimes waste a label because I've forgotten what settings I last used, or to check the length before printing. Some people might want the flexibility and ease of composing the label at the computer and therefore want a higher priced model. I have a third party power supply that can be set for the correct voltage. I downloaded the PDF manual in case I lose the paper one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice little tool.

By Glennie from Undisclosed on 12/13/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Several of us in the office have used this new label maker, and we just love it. It's simple, but you can get pretty fancy with it. All in all, a good choice.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Classy and well made

By chip from Emporia, Kansas on 12/11/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was taken back by the appearance and quality feel. A nice addition to any desktop. Not a hide-away item.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Labeler

By EagleCowboy from Eagle, ID on 12/11/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This thing is great for the money. It is simple to use, very flexible with many label varieties available, and a wide variety of print options. Only shortcoming is not having a power adaptor included.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

disappointing

By hugh3 from NYC on 12/11/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

an attractive machine, but extremely difficult to use properly. the instructions are not very clear and somewhat confusing and i still haven't figured out how to use it properly. considering the price of the tape it uses, i don't like to practice. i'm very disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Absolutely Fantastic

By DaNoiZ from Charleston on 12/11/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Portable and affordable this little wonder has solved my labeling problem. No need for a printer hooked to a computer just to print a few labels, this PT-1290 is just perfect for use when I set up my mini photo lab on location


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

PT-1290 Labeler

By JD123 from Parkersburg,Ia on 12/11/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Nice and compact. Great value. Easy to use. I would recommend this to anyone needing a labeler


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Labeler

By DonW from California on 12/11/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have three of these to use at home and work. I have been using them for 4 months and like how easy they are to use and how good the labeles look on everything from files to equipment. The tape is is not cheap but worth it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Product with poor Installation Instructions.

By Elcid from Detroit, MI. on 12/11/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The symbols used to show what to performed on the unit is confusing and not clear as to what is ment by using them. Better data is required on how to use the manual.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brother PT-1290

By Keys from Massachusetts on 12/11/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a replacement for a unit that my daughter has and took with her when she moved. I use it frequently and all is good with the unit. I would like to see maybe more fonts in the more reasonably priced units. The deco features work very well. Overall a good and handy piece of office equipment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Advanced

By ColoDowgy from CO on 12/11/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The PT-1290 is so advanced from the PT-100 we have used for almost 16-18 years. When the motor failed we purchased the PT-1290 and are very pleased with the options it provides.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved