Home » Office Equipment & Supplies » Supplies » Label Makers » PTP700 » 42 Reviews

Brother P-touch Pt-p700 Electronic Label Maker - Tape, Label Abcd Keyboard, Print Preview, Repeat Printing (ptp700) Reviews
Brother P-touch Pt-p700 Electronic Label Maker - Tape, Label Abcd Keyboard, Print Preview, Repeat Printing (ptp700)

Brother P-touch Pt-p700 Electronic Label Maker - Tape, Label Abcd Keyboard, Print Preview, Repeat Printing (ptp700)Added to our catalog within last 30 days

Simple connectivity - no software or drivers to install. Quickly create multi-line labels for indoor or outdoor use using built-in software and your own keyboard. Customize labels using fonts and graphics from your PC or Mac and download templates from the cloud to add to your label library (interne... <more> 

Brother International Model: PTP700

$86.59

5 in stock

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 42 reviews)

80% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Great Investment

By silverfox1949 from Long Beach MS on 08/19/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Prior to my purchase I was doing my labeling the old fashion way -- by hand. Labeling is my method of organization for my files, my home and for the other items I use. The PT-P700 solved my problem because how it operates. It's easy. My labels are uniformed and I have many options for different labeling. It is a great asset.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Investment for Labels

By P700 from Miami, FL on 08/07/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My daughter is starting school soon and this label printer is the best labeler I found You can print any type of labels using many different fonts and font sizes and you can even insert images and pictures I tried many other ones but this is the one The only down side is that the labels aren't cheap, Other than that it does the job pretty good


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just what I needed

By SteveH2 from Foster City, CA on 07/15/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I wanted a lable maker I could use for addresses as well as labeling files and albums and this does the trick.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it

By GamaRuff from Idaho on 07/14/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

What I've used it it was easy, can't wait to have time to play and see everything it does,


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

just rigth addition to my laser printer

By Brotherbrother from Montana on 07/12/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Since I acquired my pt-700, I have used it extensively for many projects, not just labels. It works great with my iMac!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Difficult Software PT Editor

By dahwheel from Los Angeles on 07/12/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

With Windows 8 I could not download the PT Editor software from the website and find it on my hard drive then use it. . Thee onboard PT editor lite works OK but I would like something fancier with more functionality and customization. Especially since it is available - its just unattainable easily. Brother should make this easier to download with W8. I know I can get it to work but it may take me hours of trying - I'll just use the PT Editor Lite program for now. Disappointing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lead Mech

By LarryC from California on 07/08/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works great just one thing wish it was able to inport pretype items from excel file. Would make my job faster marking parts


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice little printer!

By Anonymous from Korea on 06/27/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The PT-P700 is a nice little label printer. versatile, portable. and hooks up to any system in seconds since it has its own software on onboard memory. But it has a couple of drawbacks. 1. It wastes quite a bit of label stock because it spits out a long blank trailer. This can be fixed by finding and editing the ini file though. 2. It has a tendency to jam. If you don't check and manually guide the stock past the cutter after printing an earlier label, the stock sometimes will coil up inside the printer instead of out of the port. It's not too bad if you keep that in mind before printing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

PT-P700

By terry1313 from Bradford, Ohio on 06/10/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Does what is suppose to. Am very pleased with it so far. Tapes could be cheaper though?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Good Purchase

By baldy from Iowa on 05/30/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is way better then the hand held models. I like it very much.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

PT-P700

By MapleLeafGunClub from Pt. Charlotte FL on 04/29/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Work very well, prints nicely, waste about an inch of tape. I would recommend this product


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome label maker

By ocalakid55 from Ocala , FL on 04/08/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For years I used the P-Touch Label maker and decided because I'm on my desktop computer more and more these days that i would treat myself to a Label maker that allowed me to display on screen the label , size plus add characters and symbols like Chinese symbols , all from my computer and then print the label quickly and error free . No more wasted tapes printing out what i thought I had typed. This unit sits neatly next to my desktop screen within easy reach . The only fault would be not having a Shortcut on-screen so I don't have to hunt it down among my other programs . But anyway I love this Label Maker .


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Label Printer

By juici from Seattle, WA on 03/14/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Much more versatile Label Maker than the PT-1800 stand-alone keyboard type. Software is very capable and flexible. Numerous fonts and symbols. Completely scaleable. Easy to use. WYSIWYG (what you see is what you get) on you computer screen. Very please. Recommended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Could be better....

By Docc from Chsterfield, MO on 02/25/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Works best on Windows machines, since a lot of functions are not available on an Apple machine. That said, the instruction sheet is like a large map, and is poorly written. Very difficult to find information on how to use the P-touch software, not the P-touch lite (very confusing, to say the least). I finally got the labeler running on my Windows 8 machine, after giving up getting it to run on my iMac. You need to download the software users guide from the disk included with the labeler if you are going to use the labeler on a Windows machine. This is so you can use the many features that the labeler is capable of. Why Brother made this so complex and confusing is beyond me. Anyway, once it is set up and running with the full p-touch software package, it really is a nice labeler with lots of nice features. Still a little difficult setting up unique labels, but it still can be done with a little patience. Brother really needs to run some user panels on new products before they introduce them into the marketplace. A lot of the issues I found with this labeler could have been avoided, if the software manual, and a better installation guide was included with the package. There is no reason in this day and age for Brother to have a customer search around for information on how to properly install their labeler.... everything should be plug-and-play and not require the user to have expert computer skills to use or install this labeler. My Brother laser printers were a breeze to install, sure seems to me that Brother could do as well for their labeler purchasers. I love my other Brother products!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great label maker

By Anonymous from Santa Cruz, CA on 02/19/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm very p;leased with the ease of operation, small size and quality of labels produced. Downsides are the inch of tape that is lost with each label made and the high cost of tape.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

PT-P700

By jimmysnan from Middletown, Rhode Island on 02/19/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had trouble with the set up due to my own fault, I was thinking it was like a thumb drive that you just had to put it into the computer and it works, you have to plug it into the wall. (DUH!) After that is worked fine. I just wish that for home use the tape would not be so expensive. My husband is afraid that I will be labeling everything I am having so much fun with the label machine. I also wish that I could change the font on the machine, and the size of the font, as the standard size does not give me an option to make 2 lines of print. I also would like that it did not waste that little square before the label prints out, it is a waste of tape. I like the ease of use and the way the compact size fits near my computer. I also like that you can refill the cartridge so easily, it just pops right in. I wish that I could put the bigger tape into this machine, without having to buy another one bigger to do that.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Labeling Accessory

By Vlberr33 from Orange County CA on 02/19/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Extremely efficient label printer. Sits unobtrusively on my desk next to the monitor. Just press the on button and the app shows up on my dashboard. Open the app, format the label & hit print. Couldn't be simpler! Ignore/forget the printer & it automatically shuts off. Then it just sits and waits for its next use. Purchased this model to replace a stand alone P-touch labeler. Much easier to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

PT-P700

By tierraul from New York on 12/04/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The product software is very good. It allows editing not available with your other label makers. When first printing I noticed less tape was being used, meaning more economy. The support in materials and suggestions is great as the PT-P700 cab become much more versatile.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

wanted this printer for a long time

By ctjenk from MARYVILLE TN on 12/03/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this printer replaced my ancient pt310 which stopped printing after many years of service. the only problem was a win 7 64 bit problem where it would not turn on properly. after a call to tech support we got the correct pt driver loaded and every thing has worked great since then.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product

By anns from Lake Charles, LA on 10/08/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the P-touch labeler it is a great product and much easier to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great!

By aldrich from Bayonne, NJ on 10/04/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It is easy to use, and was very easy to connect. Labels look real good, too.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

P-Touch Labeler

By AKLitman from Farmers Branch, TX on 09/13/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great PC/Mac only printer. I bought it in addition to my PT-1950 keyboard labeler. The only downside is that it uses only the newer TZe tapes. If you load the optional P-Touch software and select Chain Printing - you can avoid wasting tape between labels. On the last one, just press the cutter button to eject and cut the last label


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good but complicated software

By Anonymous from Aurora on 08/19/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Printer itself is outstanding, but the software has no easy learning curve. I have both the lite printer and the P-touch Editor 5.1 installed but have not found a way to access the lite printer for everyday jobs. I am reasonably capable with software having spent nearly 55 years using PC's.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Failure!!!

By Deacon2014 from Adams, WI on 08/04/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

A blank sample came out. When I clicked the icon, a work page came up. All colors turned weird. The page was partially off of the screen. Every click on the page has a beep response. I got the same weird colors when I tried my new PT QL500


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer and software, but...

By JWHess from Jackson, NJ on 07/30/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The printer was at a great price and it works flawlessly, but the price of the labels makes the printer impractical. At 50 cents to a dollar a foot for the label stock, it makes labeling an expensive proposition. If you have a special need for a solid laminated label, this is your solution but be prepared to pay for it...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I prefer this to the keyboard product

By MelB from Santa Ana on 07/03/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For many years I have used a model of the P-Touch printer with a built in keyboard. But most of the time I used the keyboard on my PC. When I switched from a Windows PC to Mac, I need a new P-Touch that would support OS X. I decided to get one without the bulky keyboard. For me, the PT-P700 fit the bill ands I am extremely happy with it.l


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I'm sure I'll like it soon

By spangles from Undisclosed on 06/15/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The potential is great with this labeler but I have not been able to use it yet. I'm having trouble with less than user friendly on line manuals and one support person knew so little about the machine that he told me it would not print Bold. The next support person I got just asked me to change the font, showed me how, and it printed bold. I cannot find any explanation of "chain printing' nor can I find out how to regulate the space between words. I have simple needs and have used a Brother PT 320 for over 20 years. I'm hoping for intelligent support when I next call.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Rather difficult to install on a Mac

By Leopold1500 from Dallas, Texas on 05/18/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

For the most part I'm fairly happy with the unit think I would've rather had an older model that was not connected to my computer. The software was not intuitive it was pretty difficult to get the software installed on my Mac. Instructions were poorly written.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works as advertised

By Downtoearthwoodworks from Wisconsin on 05/07/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

In woodworking (as is the case with many other endeavors) it is imperative to stay organized labels are a critical key to success. The P-touch labeler can be connected to a computer allowing precise composition of labels. For example, I needed to make labels for some hardware storage bins the labels had to be precise in length in order to fit. With the PT-P700 I was able to set the length (in decimal fractions of inches) precisely and get a perfect fit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent!

By EROZEK from Southern California on 04/11/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

P700 is a first-class label printer. Does everything expected of it. Worth more than the purchase price. Have four other Brother printers. You may count me as a satisfied customer. I will be purchasing from Brother in the future.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Macintosh Compatibility

By Pharmconsult from Seattle WA on 04/10/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This product does not work well with OSX 10.9. The desktop application does not install properly and the P-Touch Lite software is awful and does not compare with the PC version i.e. totally deficient. Keeps losing contact with printer. Do not recommend for Macintosh.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good but ...

By CTGreybeard from Southwest CT on 03/24/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like this printer. Once I learned how to use the label editor I liked it even more. BUT ... It seems to have a problem with Mac OS X 10.9 (Mavericks) that causes it to munge the label at the 73mm mark or so. Every time. Once that it fixed I'll give it five stars. Once I attached it to an older computer running 10.7 (Lion) it works very well. The editor did take some getting used to. But I have found that it's actually pretty powerful. One suggestion I might make to Brother would be to have a really cheap tape available to use while learning the software. It's pretty expensive to use up 1" tape while learning the software.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Prints well but...

By wyliej from Winnsboro, TX on 03/20/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have no complaints with the hardware but unable to hook up to the USB on the router and use on the home network. I believe the software needs updating for both network and compatabilty with Windows 8.1 & Office 2013.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent results. ...

By ADavid from Nevada on 03/19/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent results. Professional appearance Well received samples of my products


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I like the auto features.

By shaggydog from Murrieta, CA on 03/19/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It takes some practice, But it's not hard to use, Using with a Mac.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Wonderful Label Maker

By Beavor from Portage, WI on 03/14/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Everything as expected happened. Set-up a breeze and printing labels in minutes. Huge selection of labels available.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great - works with a iMac!

By LabelsInPhilly from Philly on 03/13/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I switched to a iMac from a PC and my Brother labeler was not Apple friendly. This new one is and it works great. Highly recommended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Truth in Advertising

By nic48 from Lancaster, Pa on 03/13/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my second purchase from Brother and once again the product lives up to what Brother said it would do. The PT-P700 is one of the simplest machines to operate that I have ever experienced. Easy to connect and easy to operate, a winner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Printing

By Wdmor from Undisclosed on 03/09/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Unless I'm doing something wrong this product will not allow me to determine the cut line. The tape is expensive and the printer cuts with excessive amounts on both sides of the output. I would like to cut it where the printing ends. To much wasted tape that I have to cut off anyway


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Price Great Product

By Nighteyes from Marshall, WI on 01/31/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

PT-700 is one of the simplest labeler ever. Hard worker & makes waterproof labels in several size widths & colors. It also has an editor program that can edit & store specific often used labels. This is my second Brother UBS labeler and I still use them both on two computers. I keep A different tape in each. I use batteries in mine (it takes six AA) and they last well over a year depending on use. Program is very fast to load. Just turn the labeler on and program loads. No matter what your status you'll love this labeler.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exactly what i needed

By JM1305 from Pekin Illinois on 01/13/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer is great, works great, and takes up very little space. The only two items that I can see to make it better is a little better instructions on installation and making where you didn't have to tip the unit on it's side.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good

By jaceyscc from South Jersey on 01/12/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this is good and works with my mac....the only problem I have is that all the tapes I have from my 1500 brother label maker does not fit!!!! I do not know why but if someone needs or wants some tapes I have quite a few'


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved