Home » Accessories » Hardware Connectivity » Connector Cables » 54184 » 24 Reviews

Cables To Go 54184 Video Cable Adapter Displayport Male - Dvi Male Video - 79" Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 24 reviews)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Excellent Pro Zoom Lens

By RedJack from Marietta GA on 06/11/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Yes, it's big and heavy. Yes, it's expensive. But you don't get first quality glass without making a sacrifice. I've used Zeiss lenses for over 40 years and this one hold up well against any of them. This is my normal working lens. It's as good as any top lens from any manufacturer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pro quality lens

By Mac44 from Geneva, IL on 12/20/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just fantastic, this lens is extremely impressive. When used with an a65, a77 this lens is king. If you are a pro looking for a good mid zoom lens this is it. I wouldn't recommend it for portrait shots but it is pretty versatile. This is a great choice for a rental lens because it is a little expensive for most of us to buy. renting it is probably a good choice if you know what period of time you might use the lens for. The images I uploaded might help you to see the clearity of this lens. One image is the complete image taken at night at 400 iso with a sony a65, with a long exposure. And the other image is a 1:1 of that shot. So this helps you see the actual quality retained by the lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding workhorse

By topher from Costa Rica & Toronto, Canada on 08/26/2012


Pros:

Very Tough, Sharp, Good Contrast, Good Ca Control

Cons:

Vignetting

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I took the plunge with Sony and the A850 & A900 bodies in 2009/10 after decades with Nikon (D2x). As a full-time pro, with 4 kids and being a single income family the D3x was out of my range (due to the financial crash) and I needed 25mp fast for a ongoing print retail project. This lens, with the A850 and A900 bodies, has fed my family for the past 3+ years without a hiccup. I shoot for mid-level ad agencies and travel North America. Not once has an art director questioned my choice of Sony and the 24-70mm. I also shoot stock for the usual suspects and do very well with my Alphas and this lens in particular. I might need another one soon as my present one has taken a beating - but keeps on ticking. Furthermore after being intimate with Nikon service for years I have yet to need the services of Sony repair - and yes my frame counts are very high. i am not a plant. I am real, an old pro making a living!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid build, fast AF, beautiful images

By KNewman from New York, NY on 06/12/2012

This is the finest AF zoom lens that I've ever owned. It's heavy, but I use it as my primary lens due to the versatility and quality. I would purchase it again without hesitation. You won't be sorry if you buy this, except if you're climbing Mount Everest and need to carry as light a pack as possible! This lens is heavy!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it!

By Wahoops from Central City, NE on 04/30/2012

Wow! I don't regret purchasing this "beast" at all. Worth the money!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing

By Sabs from mid west on 02/13/2012

I have used this lens for over five months and it rarely leaves my camera. This is a great lens to walk around and take your picture perfect photo. Although this is a zoom lens, the quality of photos is breath taking. The only down side to this lens is the weight; however, the weight is worth the pictures that it takes. The lens is great at taken pictures at night and indoors. I have many friends and family members that choose the pictures I take with this lens to print. I know this lens is expensive, but the old saying is very true, you get what you pay for and this is worth it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Quality but Costly

By ElGueroMasLoco from Thousand Oaks, CA on 01/26/2012

I bought this lens as an upgrade from the SAL-1680Z, which I gave to my wife. Compared to the 16-80, this lens is slightly sharper, with slightly better color, slightly better flare control, no vignetting, and no distortion (although it's not as wide as the other Zeiss' 16mm). The SSM focus is faster and quieter, and the build quality is better overall. How do I know this? Because sand got kicked into the 16-80 and it pretty much ruined it (Sony wanted $550 to repair it, our local guy is doing it for $170). Meanwhile, the 24-70 just got back from a very sandy trip to the desert, as seen in my attached pictures, and still works great. Sand was everywhere; on the lens, in the camera bag, in the air -- the camera and lens even took a tumble off the tripod and survived just fine. That tells me the tolerances are tighter. As far as image quality goes, the difference between the two lenses is only marginal. I do like the faster 2.8, which came in very handy in a no-flash situation at a dark concert. Another significant advantage for the 24-70 is the rich bokeh, which rivals any prime lens. However, for landscapes and in bright settings, the cheaper lens will perform almost as well. The downsides to this lens are of course its very high cost, its weight (a sacrifice for quality) and its sheer size. I don't look forward to hauling this baby on my next trek in the mountains. The 16-80 is a great travel lens because it's relatively lightweight and small, with a great range. The 24-70 is less versatile, heavier and much larger. Yes, you will get the best pictures possible on a Sony camera with this lens, and that's why I bought it, but for the money, the 16-80 is just as good, if not better (just buy the insurance).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exceptional results

By Karlthereviewer from Boca Raton, FL on 05/31/2011


Pros:

Great For Portraits

Cons:

Wish It Look Fancier On The Outside

I have had these lenses for almost two years now and let me tell you that they are the best for portraits. The results are sharp and detailed pictures with tons of clarity. At 2.8 you cannot go wrong. The only change I would do on the outside to make it cooler, just look at the other lenses Sony. Of course, this is minimum compared to the amazing results you can get. No wonder why this was a hot seller. Great results.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exceptional results

By Karlthereviewer from Boca Raton, FL on 05/31/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had these lenses for almost two years now and let me tell you that they are the best for portraits. The results are sharp and detailed pictures with tons of clarity. At 2.8 you cannot go wrong. The only change I would do on the outside to make it cooler, just look at the other lenses Sony. Of course, this is minimum compared to the amazing results you can get. No wonder why this was a hot seller. Great results.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Must have

By Ocular from Eustis, Florida on 04/07/2011


Pros:

Excellent Build, Crisp Focus

Cons:

None

I've had this lens for 1.5 years and love it. This lens is perfectly balanced with my A900 and provides quick, quiet and accurate performance making it a pleasure to use. I've used this lens along the rocky coasts of Okinawa, the humid swamps of Florida, the icy cold of winter in the Utah canyons and other extremes of environment and it performed flawlessly. I thought the weight would be an issue, then I saw my pictures and decided the weight was a minuscule issue compared to the quality of the images I bring home. If you're serious about photography then this is a must have lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor Bokeh and Sharpness!

By Unbiased from Toronto, Ontario, Canada on 03/27/2011


Pros:

T* Coating = Little Flare = No Need To Attach Hood = Smaller Profile Than Nikon

Cons:

I.e. O.k. For People, Poor Bokeh, Poor For Landscapes, Not Sharp Unless Up Close, Terrible Customer Support

Sony does not care about you as a customer and will give you time waisting run around until you give up!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Lens Worthy of the Carl Zeiss Reputation

By iAlpha from Montreal, Canada on 01/26/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Close Focusing Distance, Sharpness

Simply put, this lens is truly remarkable. It delivers class-leading sharpness across a comfortable focal range. It is a great standard zoom for use on full frame DSLR bodies like the Alpha 900. It offers a very solid build quality and feel, not to mention the highest quality optics that are used in its construction which make it truly worthy of the Carl Zeiss name. The picture quality this lens offers is out of this world. It offers a smooth bokeh and handles well in low-light conditions. The SSM motor that is built into this lens makes Auto-Focusing lightning fast. As a passionate enthusiast photographer, it is easy to say that this lens one of the reasons that make me happy that I chose Sony's Alpha system of DSLRs. SONY's partnership with Carl Zeiss gives the professional photographer and enthusiasts outstanding creative abilities and image quality that can easily beat other brands on the market. Yet again Sony delivers an outstanding product !


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exceptional Lens!

By Anonymous from Denton, Texas on 01/10/2011


Pros:

The Perfect Lens For Travel

Cons:

But Worth It!, A Bit Pricy

I have been reading the current reviews for this lense, and agree with just about everything... I may be one of the first to hook this lens to a NEX-5 with the Sony E to A adaptor... With the Sony firmware download to activate the auto-focus, the operation is flawless... I do a lot of International travel in my art business, and this new camera lens combo is just the perfect item. The lens photo ability, reminds me of the best Pentex Super-Tokamar lenses I used on my 35mm camera 45 years ago.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

As Good as It Gets

By TheEnthusiast from Huntsville, AL on 12/04/2010


Pros:

Carl Zeiss Confidence, Superb Build Quality, Super Sharp

Cons:

None

First, let's address some complaints from other viewers. (1) It's heavy. Yes, like any essentially 3X, full-frame zoom with built-in motor that maintains f/2.8 across its full zoom range, it's heavy. Weight should not be a surprise; it's right there in the specs in black and white. (2) It's expensive. It's expensive for precisely the same reasons that it's heavy. It's actually cheap for what it is. Check the prices on Zeiss lenses for other cameras. Zeiss has been getting those prices for decades because Zeiss optics, along with Leica, are the absolute best there is. Furthermore, it's a good investment: you can get your money back in 10 years if you want. This particular design is selling so well that they are often out of stock at places like B&H, who sells to the pros. (3) It has barrel distortion. I say not enough to notice unless you're testing for it. (4) Vignetting on full-frame shots. I say not enough to notice unless you're testing for it. (5) Lens flare. Less than on any other zoom that Ive owned. _ The fact that Alpha SLRs had these lenses as an option was one of the big reasons I decided to go with Sony DSLRs. I had had Zeiss lenses on my Hasselblad for 20 years. (Check the prices on those!) _ From a practical user's perspective, this is a great lens for everyday use. The f/2.8 over the full zoom range means great performance in low light. It is as sharp as a high-quality prime (non-zoom) lens. Its contrast is also more like a high-end prime lens. It focuses instantaneously. It's dead quiet. It's built like a tank, but to very tight tolerances, which you can literally feel when you compare directly to other lenses.. _ If you carry this lens on your camera, people will ask if you're a pro, which isn't necessarily good. The lens makes your rig look expensive, which also isn't necessarily good. Its weight is enough that you won't carry it unless you plan to use it. It's not a "just-in-case" kind of thing. _ I use the lens on an A850 and an A550. I bought it when I bought my first Sony DSLR, which was the A550. In spite of the fact that there are smaller-lighter-cheaper lenses for an APS-C camera, I never once regretted buying this lens. I took it with me to Europe for three weeks, even though I had a very tight weight budget, had only the A550, and had a smaller and lighter, wider-zoom-range, DT lens. When you see that very special shot opportunity, you know that with this lens, you've got the absolute best going for you. Every time you get home and blow up those shots on a big monitor, you are reminded of what it really is worth. It is capable of making every pixel count on every full-frame shot. It may well be the best performing DSLR zoom lens made. _ If I had an APS-C camera and was sure I would never own a full-frame camera, I might hesitate. This begs the question of how you could know youd never own a full-frame, especially if youre the kind of person who would consider this lens. The fact that youve read this far means that youre very serious about your photography, and the fact that youre at least willing to entertain this cost means youll own a full frame camera sooner or later if you dont already! Good shooting, Tim Naff P.S. If you don't know what is meant by APS-C and DT lenses, please read up before investing heavily in optics. DT lenses are smaller, lighter, and cheaper, and tend to have wider zoom ranges than full-frame lenses like this one. They just don't work effectively with full-frame camera bodies.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great, fantastic, nearly ...

By Mambo from Winnipeg on 11/09/2010


Pros:

Great Iq, Great Asset, Sharp

Cons:

Cost

great, fantastic, nearly perfect lens that will forever be on my camera. No issues with IQ


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor mechanical assembly

By Konrad from Los Angeles on 07/16/2010


Pros:

Focusing, Glass Quality

Cons:

Weight, Mechanical Assembly, Price, Service

Poor mechanical assembly. Far cry from expected ZEISS lens quality. At full focal length extension front barrel loose and noisy. Sony unable to repair it and returns it without a comment. Diaphragm assembly asymmetrical. First unit returned for exchange after glass chip found inside the glass assembly. Awaiting second repair repair attempt results. Lens shade disintegrated on light impact. Image quality to price ration poor.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

24 -70

By justashooter from usa on 06/05/2010


Pros:

Good Focal Range

Cons:

Heavy

After the incorporation of lens correction by adobe in cs5, and carefully following the procedure I discovered considerable vignetting at 24mm and quite a bit at 70mm on a full frame sensor - the 850. The barrel distortion was considerable at 24 and still noticeable at 70. all in all a good lens, but, I suspect it was designed for an apsc sized sensor and someone just said it would also work on a full frame. I am using it on an 850 and a 700. In the days of 35 transparencies it would be a flop. Fortunately camera raw can correct the problems but you would expect more considering the price. On an apsc it would be OK.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I like it

By Muzics from San Jose,CA on 06/02/2010


Pros:

Good Bokeh, Solid Build, Silent Focus

Cons:

Vignetting, Battery Life Impact, Price, Weight

After owning this lens for close to 3 mos the CZ 24-70 has its rightful place in the CZ lens line up. It takes great pictures and the auto focus motor is amazingly super silent, you can't hear it at all. I was on the fence between the CZ 16-24 and this lens, but decided on the CZ 24-70 as I needed a lens in this range for the A900. I would strongly us it with the battery pack as this lens is sure to challenge a single battery setup. It will be well worth it once you see your photo results as it seems comparable to the CZ 16-80 but smoother, and sharper. Its weight is really not that much of an issue if you are used to other CZ lenses, but it is heavy and be prepared if you plan to lug this around with battery pack which you will need. I have run into slight vignetting at times when using this lens, not to mention its price which is going to pinch your wallet. Overall it is a very well constructed and it will serve you well in bringing your creative vision to life.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lens Hood a minor annoyance

By Waldhaus from Fort Myers, FL on 12/01/2009

I have owned the lens for over a year now, and enjoy it a lot. However I am becoming increasingly frustrated with the hood. Over time it has gotten out of round, and being metal it is stiff enough that it is hard to take on and off. I worry about damaging the internals of the lens. The cost to replace is $129 which seems a lot for a lens hood. I am glad I own the lens - just wish the hood was cheaper to replace or less sturdy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great general photography lens

By SLUF1354 from Mohnton, PA on 05/31/2009

I've had this lens only a short while, but it has been proving its utility and flexability since day one. I was fortunate enough to be able to use a friend's lens for some time before I bought my own. Fast, silent focus is a very nice feature in addition to the other attributes of this lens. A great walkabout lens indeed. The price pinches a bit I know, but look at what you've gotten for your money!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Too Over price

By peter138 from Bonney lake,Wa on 04/28/2009

The lens is very good for indoor and outdoor photo,and has F2.8 The image quality is similar than the Zeiss 16-80mm which is almost half the price.Sony has to keep this price down


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Versatile with Beautiful results!

By camerrill from Oak Park, CA on 02/14/2009

I'm really enjoying this lens. It works very well in low light conditions, general outdoor photography, and everything I have photographed with it. And you can't beat the sharpness of the Zeiss optics. I highly recommend this lens!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great general purpose lens

By Andrew from New York, NY on 12/04/2008

This is a wonderful lens. It causes minor vignetting on A900 camera, however this only happens at certain aperture settings. After all, all lenses, no matter what quality will cause some level of vignetting at certain apertures. Most pictures I've taken have no vignetting. So this really brings up a question whether this lens is for APS-C cameras or full frame cameras. I think it works fine with the full frame.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A very nice lens, A Joy to Use

By tcboxer from Williamsport, pa on 11/30/2008

This Zeiss Lens is a great 24-70mm lens. It's as good as the Nikon, or Canon 24-70mm f/2.8. It produces sharp, contrasty images at every focal lengths - even wide open. The SSM is super fast & quiet. Better than Nikon or Canon. A nice heavy lens that's well balanced on my A700 - with the grip on Every lens has drawbacks, especially zooms.. So too does this one. It's not weather or dust sealed. For almost $1,800.00 it should be. The front end pertrudes when zooming. I hate that. For one thing it allows dust to get inside, especially when there are no rubber "weather" seals. Brokeh, wide open is good, but not great. I was hoping for that legendary "buttery" Zeiss brokeh at 70mm f/2.8. Well, it isn't there. But, you do get a super sharp primary subject, with good brokeh. It could be better, but it could be a lot worse. I highly recommend this lens. You get great photos. It's not the best portrait lens I've ever owned. But. it does take good usable portraits. It won't be good for really wide shots, Especially on a ap-s size sensor (A100-A700 cameras,)because the images are cropped to a 35mm equivialent of 36mm. Still very usable for most landscape shots. But for that 36-105mm (35mm equivalent on a ap-s size sensor). Iit's better than any other lens on the market today. If you recognize the limitations of this exceptional zoom, you will wonder how you ever lived without it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved