Home » Accessories » Camera Accessories » Lenses & Filters » 0284B002 » 25 Reviews

Canon Ef-s 60mm F/2.8 Macro Usm Lens - 60mm, 96mm - F/2.8 (0284b002) Reviews
Canon Ef-s 60mm F/2.8 Macro Usm Lens - 60mm, 96mm - F/2.8 (0284b002)

Canon Ef-s 60mm F/2.8 Macro Usm Lens - 60mm, 96mm - F/2.8 (0284b002)Added to our catalog within last 30 days

A thoroughly modern design that is optimized for select Canon EOS digital SLRs. Its angle of view is equivalent to a 96mm lens on a 35mm camera, with a floating optical system that can focus down to full life-size (1:1) magnification. Inner focusing, driven by a silent and powerful ring-type USM, me... <more> 

Canon Model: 0284B002

$492.01

2 in stock
This product qualifies for FREE Ground Shipping!

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 25 reviews)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Super-sharp Images (19), Fast Auto-focus (10), Superior Build Quality (12)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Simply Amazing

By Terry from St. Louis , MO on 01/09/2014


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Thought I'd test this as a walk around lens for a car event I had to shoot. My main camera was set up with a tripod so I had this on my 2nd camera which is a 30D. I am completely surprised at the images I was able to capture with only using available light in the showroom. Sharp, fast, great bokeh when I wanted it and light weight. I've never used this lens before other than shooting macro shots so this was a great opportunity to try it in a walk around shooting fashion. I will definitely be using this more, just wish it was compatible with my 5D Mark II.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

High quality, cheaper price

By daultoninw from Houston, TX on 07/11/2013


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Extremely Fast On Non Closeup Subjects, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Af Can Be Slow At Times

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens yesterday for my t5i and I was skeptical at first. I have never bought a macro lens before and I wasn't really sure what to expect. After playing around with it for a while and taking multiple test shots, I started to get a hang of it. The 1:1 shots are incredibly crisp and sharp and I was genuinely surprised at how detailed they were. Normally to get a shot like that I would have had to do some cropping in post, but now I don't have to. The lens also functions well as a regular prime lens too. The autofocus is exceptionally fast, probably the fastest that I own. My only complaint is that sometimes the AF is a little slow if you are up close. What I mean by that, is that the lens zooms in then out, and then steps into focus.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My most used lens

By UberBunsen from Birmingham, Alabama on 11/03/2012


Pros:

Wide Aperture, Macro Capabilities, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Fixed Zoom, No Image Stabilisation

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am an novice photographer, but I really wanted to get into macro photography, as well as candid snapshots, so I chose this lens. Being fixed lens, it has better image quality than most zoom lenses. The downfall to this, being the lack a zooming abilities! I've heard all over that a 50mm lens offers the best 1:1 ratio, but I find that a 60mm fits a 1:1 ration even better. The f-stop can be opened up to f/2.8 which isn't the widest aperture on the market, but it certainly is nice. Such an aperture also produces gorgeous, smooth bokeh. This lens has an ultra-sonic motor, and this gives it exceptionally fast auto-focus. After using a USM lens, I probably wouldn't be able to use any slow motor lenses ever again. This lens obviously provides a great lens for street photography, or even portraits, but it also allows macro photography. All you need it decent lighting and a tripod, and this lens will give you professionally sharp, incredibly detailed images. This lens is an EF-S mount, so it won't fit on a full frame body, but that's fine for me, since I shoot a 550D. My only complaint with this lens is the lack of image stabilisation. When I'm moving in super close to a tiny bug, or trying to take detailed shots of someone's eye, etc. It's very easy to shake, and with no IS, I've lost many pictures that turned out blurry. But of course, with IS, this lens would be much more expensive, and out of my price range. Overall, this lense is superb, and for sure my favorite of 3 lenses. This lens is almost always on my camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

second best purchase ever!

By Rip from West Virginia on 10/12/2012


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm 83 & not able to hunt with a rifle anymore, therefore I hunt insects & flowers close to home. This little lens on my Canon T3i meets ALL my needs, & takes a great portrait picture too! If your in the market for a true macro lens give this 1 a try. I guarantee you won't regret it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great starter lens

By sleepy from Ocala, Florida on 09/08/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am new to DSLRs and this lens has done very well for me. The images are sharp and just what I wanted. Some look like micrographs. I would highly recommend this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Portrait Lens

By css.msp from Undisclosed on 08/05/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really love this lens for portraits. The pictures are super sharp with good contrast. Good build. The AF is silent, quick and sharp. Performs really well in low light situations.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love this lens.It gives ...

By youtubetodd from tn on 05/25/2011


Pros:

Extrem Close Ups, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this lens.It gives great pics with great broken.The only draw back is a little slow to auto focus in some situations,but I'm taking pics not running a race and usually it is when I'm trying something extreme.The best lens I've bought .I highly reccomend,you will love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing lens!

By Richard8971 from Tucson, AZ on 10/05/2010


Pros:

Super Sharp Photos, Amazing Photos For A Great Price. Hidden Lens Gem!, Lightweight Easy To Carry And Use., Brings Out Detail That You Didn't Know Was Poss.

Cons:

No Is

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My wife and I own 2. We have been using them for about 6 months and it is quickly becoming our favorite lens to use. For an EF-S lens, this thing is amazingly sharp. I have used it on my XTi, T1i and 40D and it makes use of each and every pixel your camera can squeeze out! I shoot mainly wildlife but macro photography is quickly replacing that. I would have to say it is near "L" quality, if not "L" class quality. Truly a hidden gem in the Canon lens lineup. If you get this lens you will not be disappointed!!! My only regret is that it does not have IS, but for the quality of images you get, you can overlook that very quickly. It is fast and very easy to use. I like how you can adjust the focus even when it is in AF mode. This lens brings home the belief that glass is better than camera body. My 40D and Xti both have 10.1 megapixel sensors and let me tell you, this lens is AMAZING!!! You just cannot believe the detail and sharpness that it gives your photos. You will soon forget about upgrading your camera body because you think you need more detail in your photos. Try this lens first!!! A must have for any photographer!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My favorite lens I own

By Redbeard from Tyler, TX on 07/30/2010


Pros:

Super Sharp Images, Outstanding Detail

Cons:

Ef-s Lens

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was amazed at how beautiful the macro shots with this lens could be. I love the 2.8 aperature. I can really create some dramatic images with blurring the background of certain shots. The images are extremely crisp. This is an ideal lens for portraits with the 60mm fixed focal length. I was blown away to see the detail in bee's wings when I got a shot of one gathering pollen from a flower. This lens is a must have.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome lens!!!

By Richard8971 from Tucson, AZ on 07/22/2010


Pros:

Great Close-ups, Superior Images, Very Fast Af

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned this lens for a few months now and let me tell you, it was worth the investment. The optics are fantastic and the details you get are amazing! If you are even slightly interested in macro photography, then you need this lens. For the quality of images you get, the price is right. It's a great walk-around prime lens. You will not regret getting this lens!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic lens

By Masmel2 from Brooklyn, NY on 04/01/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is Fantastic. I always admired the little strands of baby's breath which are added to roses but never thought much about. I always thought they were for decorating purposes until I began taking pictures of a rose I received. I couldn't believe my eyes, the baby's breath actually has petals, stamen and pollen. I also began taking pictures of a spring lily I bought, just for taking shots and the inside view is fantastic, a nature lover's dream. This lens is worth the cost and more.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Value

By Naturalist from SW Missouri, USA on 01/30/2010


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Hood Should Be Standard

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is a 3-in-1 Grand Slam value! I have owned and used this lens for approximately 2 years. This excellent prime lens is my work horse providing a near normal field of view for work as a normal lens, while also having a nearly perfect focal length for portraits; and (of course) it is an excellent performer as a macro lens having true 1:1 reproduction capability. Build quality is very nice, with a solid feel. The auto-focusing is fast and spot on while having full-time manual focusing available makes tweaking the final shot a breeze. The fast f/2.8 glass is super sharp allowing me to create impressive images whether enlarged and printed or posted on-line.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

close

By mdsteve from California on 01/25/2010


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Ease Of Use, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Consistant

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I needed a macro lens for nature photography and had to make a choice on size lens and of course price and had to have professional outcome. The Canon EF-S 60mm f2/.8 Macro I purchased has far surpassed any of my expectations. Thank you Canon


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent for close up photography

By ek64 from San Pablo, Ca on 01/13/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lense to take close up pictures of flowers and nature. This lense provides excellent pictures of flowers that are clear with a blurred background thus making flowers stand out. However, there is one issue everyone needs to know about this lense and the optional close up 250D or 500D screw on lense. When you are attaching the optional 250D or 500D lense, you have to be extremely careful. The optional close up lense is made of metal, and the camera lense threads are plastic. If you are not careful when screwing on the optional lense, you can strip the plastic threads on the camera lense.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good portrait lens

By Photo_Wannabe from Undisclosed on 12/21/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Decent Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We bought this lens to use as macro lens and the lens performs really well as far as sharp images are concerned. Auto focus is decent. I wouldn't use this lens on moving objects since AF isn't as fast. Aside from the AF not being very fast, the picture quality is excellent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really like it.

By Phototakinmama from Undisclosed on 08/09/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first macro lens. It's my first experience with macro. I'm teaching myself to use it. I really like the lens. I've gotten some great pictures. I use it with my Canon Digital Rebel XTi. It definitely has taken some getting used to as it does not zoom like the standard lens that came with the camera. What you would normally use as the zoom is actually the focusing ring. Once I got used to that, it was pretty easy to use. It takes amazing detail shot, as long as you get the subect to hold still long enough.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice macro lens

By john77 from Richmond, VA on 07/27/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this lens on Canon XSi. I had to decide between this lens and 100mm macro. Decided to go with this lens based on reviews (recommended this for cropped body cameras). I did not have any macro shooting experience when I got and was a little disappointed when first used it. The reason for my disappointment was slow autofocus. Now when I have some experience I love it. Here are the reasons I find it an excellent lens: 1) When you get used to it autofocus is not a problem. It works very well even when you shoot 1x1. 2) It is very very sharp. 3) Solid build. 4) Not heavy. 5) Nice bokeh. 6) Not cheap but not overpriced. After using it for a while I fall in love with macro photography.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Nice!

By TJ from Michigan on 02/17/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the best lens canon offers, FOR the money. Works very nice on ANY close up situation. Close up portraits are a breeze and the depth of field is easy to control. This lense is perfect for a 1.6 crop camera. You would have to spend 4 times the amount to match the portrait capabilities of this lens. I use this lense many times for special wedding photos. The blur is as nice as my 70-200 2.8 IS and can be used in tight quarters. Little slow on the focus but does it really matter for still shots? It is not a L lense quality, but seems fine. For the money it is a must have. If money is no object then opt for the 85mm f/1.2.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I LOVE this lens

By Verdect from Arlington Heights, IL on 11/26/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased mainly for indoor portraits and secondarily for macro use, this lens has far exceeded expectations and become my favorite and most use lens. Fast enough for most uses, good focal length on a 1.6 crop camera, wonderful background blur, and incredible macro abilities. The only thing less than ideal for me is how close you need to get when shooting 1:1 macro. More space would be nice, and other lenses allow that, if that is your primary use. I cannot imagine a more versitile prime lens. My zooms stay in the bag.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So sharp I cut myself.........8-)

By GearHead from Rochester, NY on 11/20/2008


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Focal Length A Bit Too Short For Insect Macros

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This IS the sharpest lens I currently own. I took some portraits of the grandkids last year with this and was just blown away by the sharpness of the images. Our granddaughter has very fine hair and this lens imaged it perfectly. It gives me a lot of confidence that it won't let me down. As long as my skills are up to par, the lens will produce, produce and produce. The only drawback is that my wife doesn't like me to use this lens to take pictures of her - shows too much detail.....LOL ! One of these days I'll also get the 100mm f/2.8 macro.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So Much Fun

By minus20 from Seattle USA on 11/16/2008


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Good Value

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's my first macro lens and I've been having lots of fun with it. I'm very happy with the sharp images. Ants toiling up and down the path to a food source. Small wasps devouring scraps of flank steak at a cook out. And the flowers. WOW! It's also versatile.It's great for portraits although I had to get too close to my subject for my comfort. I do love it though, it's actually a very sharp, very fast lens so a good deal for the money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice Lens

By dancer from Boston, Mass on 11/08/2008


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been shooting for several years and this is by far the best lens I have ever used. The quality is superb as it takes super-sharp images and has a great build quality to it. However, it has had a very slow auto-focus.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Super Sharp

By Yohan from Glenwood Springs, CO on 11/07/2008


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I originaly bought this lens for macro work but it turned out that it is just as suitable for portraits. This lens is so sharp and with a little post processing you can enhance the quality just a little further. Since it is a prime lens, its sharper than my L series zoom lens but not by much. The image quality is nothing but excellent and I highly recommend this lens for portraits and macro work. It feels like quality in my hands and there are no loose parts. The focus ring is smooth and the AF is really quiet. It does hunt a little in low light but then again so do most other lenses.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WOW !!!

By mlbark from Edmonds, WA on 10/26/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

What a difference from OEM on the Rebel xsi. Fun for macro and excellent for portraits. Only con is sometimes there is some hunting during AF. No problem - switch to MF.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best macro ever

By butterfly from tulsa ok on 10/24/2008


Pros:

Well Built Frame

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have the Digital Rebel XSi camera and matched it with this lens so i could take pictures of butterflys it has very fast respoce and great auto focus with the best crisp pics i have ever had with a macro lens


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved