Home » Accessories » Camera Accessories » Lenses & Filters » 0344B002 » 101 Reviews

Canon Ef 24-105mm F/4l Is Usm Zoom Lens - F/4 (0344b002) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 101 reviews)

84% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Cons:

None (3), Poor Build Quality (3), Semi-sharp Images (10), Heavy (4)

Pros:

Superior Build Quality (64), Super-sharp Images (57), Fast Auto-focus (63)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Great ever.!!!

By Dimitrus from New York City. on 04/11/2015

Of my test,morning,noon,night,with or without my flash the pictures were superb. indep, shadows, shade, sharpness softness or hard beautiful simply beautiful. I am mostly manual sometimes Auto beautifully taken and done. I can not say no more,what can I say. I leave the rest to the others.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

If you are starting with just one!

By imboobookitty from Tucson, Az. on 03/22/2015

I LOVE this glass! If you are only able to start with one lens.. this is it!! It's universally great for so many situations. It can handle macro to telephoto.. great for videos and photographs, action and still. THIS IS HOW YOU START!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good wide range kit lens

By Quickm4 from Baton Rouge, LA on 03/20/2015

This lens came with the 5diii I purchased right before a trip to Puerto Rico. I also brought the 50mm1.2 and 70-200mm2.8 ii and out of the three for that particular trip the 24-105 spent the most time on the camera as being the most versatile. So far I have no complaints about the lens and will be definitely bringing it with me on future trips as an all around travel lens. The size and weight are not bad. it took a little punishment in the rain forest(rain) and some more at the beaches in the form of sand completely unharmed. Overall I beleive it will be a good lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good affordable all-purpose lens

By Ben from Colorado Springs, CO on 03/16/2015

If you are looking for an affordable lens that will give you very acceptable results, don't think about it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

just getting started with this lens

By Pasta from Long Island New York on 02/27/2015

I have only shot with this lens a couple of times so far, the pictures come out crisp clean and lens is very quiet fast and overall very nice piece.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sweet lens

By Voodooman from Chicago on 02/20/2015

I am very happy with this sweet lens. Very versatile and smooth!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Almost the perfect general purpose lens

By Xphile from Kentucky on 12/19/2014

The build quality and zoom range are excellent and the focusing is spot-on. My only real complaint, other than wishing it was a 2.8, is that the images are not quite as sharp as I would like. Don't get me wrong, the images it produces are very good to great, but I would not rate them as excellent. That being said, unless you are a professional photographer who demands the absolute sharpest images, this lens will do nicely. For this zoom range I have not found a better lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best walk around lens I've had

By KC from Portland, Or on 07/08/2014


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Very Sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is why I am shooting full frame (5DII) as well as crop (7D0. Very good performance, with filter on, is nearly waterproof. Great for shooting coast scenics in the winter, snow in winter, Portland gardens in the rain, etc Mt Hood, St. Helens. For backpacking, much lighter than f2.8 24-70 and more reach. I pair it with f.4 70-200L is. Also good for portraits because of f4.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My favorite walk around lens

By sabre95521 from Arcata, Ca on 05/22/2014


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My second purchase of this lens as the first one was stolen from me. That sentence should tell you how I feel about this lens. I bought this one with the 5DmkIII kit but would have bought the lens separately if it was not available as a kit lens. Make NO bones about it, people have a bad preconception of most kit lenses, that is not the case with this lens, it is after all an "L" lens for a reason The 24-105f4L is USM is my all time favorite walk around lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great walk around lens

By Dajoker from Boston NY on 05/01/2014


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Sharp fast lens only problem is my wife liked it so much I had to buy her one too! We have both had great success capturing superb images with this lens its a must have. Tack sharp even in low light.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is my first L lens ...

By Bojo from Ann Arbor, MI on 03/18/2014


Pros:

Excellent Image Stabilization, Quick Focus, Good Build Quality

Cons:

Less Sharp Than Hoped, Heavy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first L lens and I have a slightly mixed opinion so far. The build quality, focus speed/accuracy and general image quality seem fantastic. However, I have not found the sharpness to be quite what I hoped for; on center it's similar to my previous non-L tele, and not as good as my inexpensive 50mm f1.8 II. It is a versatile lens, but with a fairly significant weight & cost.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great All Purpose lens

By 5d3-Shooter from Maine on 02/14/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this lens...I use it often...even over my 24-70mm...with the IS this lens is as good as the 24-70mm. It is very light and on the 5D3 and 1DX it is very sharp at 70mm...it does have some vignetting at 24mm...but nothing that cannot be corrected in post processing...A great all purpose lens!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing all around

By yraunaj4102 from Miami, FL on 01/15/2014


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Aperture Not Fast Enough

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is great if you are just starting to purchase L lenses. This is amazing all around and great for video, basically an all purpose L lens. It allows you to experiment with many focal lengths to let you know what lens to buy next. My only improvement would be a hybrid IS system (like in the 100mm macro L) and a faster aperture like f/2.8.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Always a winner

By garlec from Oregon on 01/10/2014


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have carried this lens literally all over the world. Shot so many photos with it that the barrel had to be refurbed at Canon. Never lets me down. very sharp. Durable (has been dropped in safari trucks) and reliable. My walk around lens on my 5d MkIII


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A wonderful walk around lens

By exceptionaleye from San Diego, CA on 12/20/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this in a "kit" with my 5D "classic" when the price dropped (prior to the release of the 5D marl ii). I have found that when using it carefully it produces stellar images, especially in the mid range of focal length and f . Last year I purchased a 5D Mark iii body (trouble with that body, but finally fixed by Canon in warranty). This November I photographed a wedding and paired the 24~105 with the Mark iii and the results were outstanding. This lens continues to produce tack sharp images, but when I need true saturation and sharpness and pin sharp images I use Zxxxs 21 and 35 EF primes.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quick focus, good overall pictures, but

By Santhosh from Dubai on 11/17/2013


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Lens is faster auto focus, overall good photo results. But went to faulty in less than 2 years - power diaphragm issue. While search the issue on website, found this is common issue with this lens for many years. Why canon you didn't take an action - looks like only this lens is faulty for many in the L series.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Kit Lens

By xzoup from Little Rock, AR on 10/07/2013


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This lens produces soft images, I would be hard pressed to label it an L lens. I would think it would work well for taking photos of your kids while at the park, the IS and zoom lens will come ln handy, and even though the images will not be that sharp, they will be acceptable photos that the family will enjoy viewing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent lens choice, but why no lens lock?

By Jeff in Tucson from Tucson on 08/14/2013


Pros:

Bright Colorful Images, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

No Zoom Extension Lock.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have to agree with those reviews that recommend this lens as a good choice for the traveler or backpacker that really only wants to take one lens. I have this lens, the 70-300 and a 300 fixed-all L series and this lens is on my camera 80% of the time. I find picture quality very good with generally bright, clear pics. I really came to appreciate this lens when I finally upgraded to the 5D body. The reviews that call this lens heavy must come from people that only use fish-eye lenses as it is not big or heavy at all. My only real complaint is that I cannot imagine why this lens does not have a zoom extension lock like other zooms to keep the camera lens from extending as one waks about. Though when fully extended it only extends 4-6 inches, after just a few minutes of walking/hiking, the lens will be fully extended which could cause damage. Why is there no lock to keep this from happening? Seems such a simple thing to incorporate...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Traveling light without sacrificing quality.

By AGO from Istanbul, Turkey on 07/29/2013


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Balance With The Camera, Comfortable To Use, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Handling

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Sharp. Built quality is good. Quite silent. Good IS performance. Easy to use. Constant f/4 throughout the focal length is great. AF performance is good (even in low light). I have used this lens in different locations under different conditions (mostly architectural and landscape, also portraits, low light and night shots without flash, shots from a boat where IS was a life saver, etc). My experience shows that this is a good lens for travelers who wants to carry one lens only and prefer to travel light. There is distortion at the wide angle but this is acceptable with this focal length. It is easy to correct it with the provided software DPP if needed (I use distortion correction for architectural wide angle shots mostly. Landscape or other photographs usually do not need any correction). 24 mm covers most of the wide angle and 105 mm covers reasonable amount zoom for a traveler. When used as the only lens on the camera, there is some sacrifice below 24 mm and above 105 mm but, carrying many lenses when traveling means a very heavy backpack. Besides, there is always a higher risk of dust accumulation on the sensor when changing lenses especially during traveling. This simple problem may become a major headache if sensor cleaning is not possible during traveling. Recommended for those (especially full frame sensor users), who wants to carry one lens only and prefer to travel light without sacrificing quality. Final word; best kit lens I have ever bought!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Chromatic aberrations

By Ivan from Lilburn, GA on 05/28/2013


Cons:

Chromatic Aberrations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This lens is built relatively well, and performs relatively well, although I am very much surprised with chromatic aberrations which are too high compared even with EF-S 17-55/2.8, which is not L, and has worse build quality. Was taking images side-by sude with these two lenses (as well as with 70-200/4L IS USM and 100-400/4.5-5.6 L IS USM, and this lens was the significant outperformer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good general purpose lens

By Lurcus from New York, NY on 05/20/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

That's probably the best all-purpose lens I've ever used. Obviously, you can't compare it with a prime or with the 24-70/2,8, but if you're looking for a single lens to do everything, from landscapes to portraits, that's "the lens". Built quality is just excellent. Image stabilizer is quiet and works very well even in video mode. AF is fast, accurate and nearly silent. On the "cons" side, distortion is a big issue at shortest focals, it starts to be quite well controlled only from 35mm. What's more, the corners of the frame are a little bit too soft, if you use the lens wide open. You just need to close down one stop to get a much better image quality, but an f/5,6 lens is not so attractive... Anyway, all in all, I consider this lens one of the best general purpose zoom lenses ever produced for the full frame. So far...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

IS problem

By Dan from Chicago on 04/09/2013


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens with the 5D mark iii late November of last year. Recently though I have found to realize the IS doesnt work on anything past f4. I have found this to be a problem on their newer secletion of 24-105 lenses. I love this lens, but buy an older version if possible. I'm sending mine in soon, I will edit this after I get it back.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Review 24-105mm

By Teva from Singapore on 03/31/2013


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images, Wide Angle So So.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall performance, nothing to ask for, as it covers almost every require range for a single All-in-One. At 24, image seems a little light and soft, mid range fm 35 -100, pretty good, especially indoors when light are sufficient, example, seminars, conference, image quality remain sharp throughout.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love, love, love this lens!

By Stonewall from Dallas, Texas on 01/14/2013


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this lens for about five months now, and absolutely love it. It takes amazing pictures, with great color representation and contrast. At f/4 the background is a very pleasant blur. The build quality is great and it feels perfect on my T4i with battery grip. After purchasing my first body (T3i) with the EF-S 18-55 kit lens, I reluctantly refrained from buying a middle grade zoom such as the 18-200 or 28-135, knowing this was ultimately the lens I wanted. I am very glad I waited, it's worth every penny. Once you step up to an "L" lens you will not want to go back. I can't wait to use this in a full-frame body.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Canon ALL THE WAY

By Brax from Ohio and North Carolina on 01/02/2013


Pros:

Weather Resistance Is Far Superior, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Great All Around Lens, Feels Solid And Operates Smoothly, Ease Of Use Is Great, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Price Is Kind Of Steep

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I haven't had this spectacular lens for very long and i am using it with my new 5D Mark iii but i must say i am beyond impressed now the price well all i can say is save up to get this lens because although it is somewhat steep "it is a canon and you get what you pay for" says my friend and he has made a believer out of me it focuses great it handles great and the images taken are beautiful i would give it three thumbs up if i could so canon keep up the great work!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens! 5 out of 5!!!

By CanonMan from Hurricane, WV on 12/26/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the Canon EF 24-105mm F/4 L from a third-party retailer. I am very satisfied with the lens! I shoot outside, so the f/4 is no big issue at all.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Only multi-use lens you will EVER need

By Einstein from New Hampshire on 12/02/2012


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Reasonable Price For A L Lens, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an amazing lens, specially when paired with a full frame DSLR. On a full frame body, 24mm is very wide. On a 1.6x body, 24mm is only moderately wide (equivalent of 38.4mm). The lens' color and contrast are excellent. Chromatic Aberration is well controlled with some CA visible in area harsh contrast primarily at full-frame edges at both ends of the focal length range. It features a reasonably fast widest aperture setting of f/4 which remains constant throughout the zoom range. When combined with a Canon 5D Mk iii it really gives great exposures in low light. Eight circular aperture blades provide excellent quality defocused image quality (bokeh - foreground/background blur). While f/4 in this focal length range is not the best at creating diffusely blurred backgrounds, close subjects at 105mm can have pleasingly blurred backgrounds. Canon's latest generation Image Stabilizer (IS) provides an additional 3-stops of handholdability in the Canon EF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM Lens. This is definitely one of my favorite features of the 24-105 L. IS does not stop subject motion blur, but it is excellent for stopping camera shake. The previous reviewer gave it one star for distortion. All lenses in this focal length range will show some distortion. Also common with lenses in this focal length range is distortion. The Canon EF 24-105mm shows some barrel distortion from 24mm until disappearing near 40mm. Pincushion distortion begins at 80mm and becomes mild at 105mm. As usual, this distortion is most noticeable in a full-frame body only under specific circumstances and is a function of the breed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

fails on two fronts

By johnnyjohnny from lake balboa, calif on 10/30/2012


Pros:

Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Fair At Best Sharpness Fully Wide Open Aperture, Bowed Perspective

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

i think this is a great lens if you know where it fails and don't need it for those uses. 1. no matter what some reviewers have claimed, this lens will not shoot all that well fully open at night or in low light. at best i'd say at f 4 this will give you fair to middling resolution. 2. very bad distorted perspective, like a big bowing, when shooting anything with noticeably straight lines. if you are doing mostly people, or landscapes without buildings or a lot of horizon views, it will be ok. the lens is a good lens and people i know love it, but definitely NOT in these two areas. it is disappointment fully open, and a huge huge disappointment with bowed perspective under conditions where that will be noticed. aside from these two areas, you will probably enjoy the lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Second 24-105mm Lens Purchased

By Steve from Mid-Michigan on 10/21/2012


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I opted for the 5DMII kit which included the 24-105mm lens with the 5DMII camera body. I alreday have one 24-105mm lens in my system and wanted a second one as a replacement for the old lens that I was sending in along with my old 5DMII camera body for IR coversion. The 24-105mm lens is my workhorse lens and accounts for well over 75% of my captures. It is tack sharp. The only reason I gave the performance a 4 was because of the lens hood. I sometimes have difficulty securing the lens hood squarely, but other then that It is my go to lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best all around lens ever!

By The Peacock Speak from Undisclosed on 10/11/2012


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If you are buying a Canon DSLR and want one lens to use every day, this is the lens. It's expensive, but it takes sharp clear pictures, focuses quickly, and is reasonably portable. You will really see the difference in your images from this versus point and shoot. I use a Canon T2i and almost always mount this lens. Really great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Lens

By rg6guy from KY on 10/07/2012


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

One Great Lens! Tack sharp images. A good walk around lens. I really enjoy this lens. I use it on my 40D and 7D Its not to big or heavy but has a solid built feel. I like the f/4 through out the zoom range and the IS is another bonus. If you want L quality, buy this lens!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid performer

By David-eye from Texas Hill Country on 06/09/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Smooth And Solid Operation

Cons:

Soft In The Upper Range

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The 24-105mm IS lens is great quality piece of glass with a very useful zoom range. It is a joy to use for me as I like the feel of a relatively heavy, large lens and it balances beautifully on my 50D. Having said that it has a very useful range, I must add that the longer telephoto end of the lens is on the soft side, so the benefit of of constant f4 is somewhat lost as you need to be in the f5.6 or f8 to get acceptable sharpness. If it was sharp throughout the range, it would easily deserve the 5 star rating.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

prone to breakdown

By doc from Oakland, CA on 04/26/2012


Pros:

Great Image Quality For A Zoom, Smooth Quiet Operation, Nice Range For A Walkaround Lens

Cons:

Prone To Diaphragm Problems

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have used this lens with great satisfaction until, after about 3 years, it broke down completely in the middle of a shoot. It turned out the diaphragm needed to be replaced at considerable expense. A little internet research revealed that this is a known problem with this lens, although there has been no acknowledgement of that from Canon. I am a long-term Canon fan (40 years!) but I have to recommend avoiding this lens until its flaws have been corrected.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very soft @24mm

By Worg from Undisclosed on 04/15/2012


Cons:

Zoom Control Hard To Turn, Slow

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

While the lens is sharp @f4, the problem is the wide end at any aperture - it's very soft and mushy and does not render detail well. I'm exchanging it to see if i got a bad copy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT LENS!

By Visual Poetry from Columbus, Ga. on 03/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have to admit this a GREAT LENS. I do a lot of Wedding photography, and I was very leary about purchasing this lens. A lot of photographers say you need the 24-70 2.8L, for low lighting. I have to disagree due to the IS on the 24-105. Also the weight of a lot less heavy. It is a very very good product and with the 5D Mark II the photos are amazing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My go-to lens, durable and weatherproof

By DerekFoto from San Francisco on 02/17/2012


Pros:

Weather Proof (tested!), Smooth Operation, Durable, Image Stabilization, Sharp With Great Color, Light Weight For An L

Cons:

F/4 Limitation In Low Light

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The EF 24-105mm f/4 IS USM is one of my favorites. I shoot with a Canon 7D, which of course has a 1.6 crop factor. I slung my camera and this lens across my shoulder for three weeks of shooting in eastern Europe around Christmas and the new year, which meant heavy snow, continuous rain and very cold weather. I can't stress enough how important weather-resistant gear becomes when you're shooting in the rain or snow each day for 12 hours. The quality of this lens is superb and the focal range provides a flexibility for general-purpose shooting that cannot be matched. The 24-105 is 200-300 grams less than the 24-70mm (depending on whether you're comparing it to the newer 24-70mm IS II or the previous model) and thus quite portable for long hours of wandering around a city or going for a hike. The limitation to the 24-105mm f/4 becomes apparent when hand-held shooting in low light conditions. The image stabilization gets you another few F-stop equivalent, but this is where a 24-70mm f/2.8 will have a big advantage. When traveling, at night I would often switch out to my 50mm prime, but this is not to say that night shooting with the 24-105mm is impossible. I've steadied myself against a tree and shot sharp at 1/15, but that said, it takes some work and some luck. Overall this is my most used lens and the one I typically keep mounted to the camera for grab and go shooting. It gives the flexibility, quality, durability and value for the price that you would expect from a Canon L series lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent all purpose lens.

By bp from N. California on 02/15/2012


Pros:

As Close To An All Purpose Lens Avilable Today.

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used this lens for six years using it with the full frame 5D camera. It has been so successful for me that the combination of this lens and the EF 100-400 is the total of all of the lenses that I have purchased for this camera. Previous reviewers have criticized the narrow aperture of f/4. I find that this is more than compensated for by the amazing capability of the image stabilization system that permits much longer hand held exposures before any discernable motion blur occurs. I have usually found no blurring with exposures a long as 1/4 second when examined with high magnification on the monitor. Furthermore, test photos made on a tripod with the image stabilization left on or off were equally sharp. This indicates that the image stabilization is able to react to the smallest camera motion and has very low spurious noise. Until I upgraded to a newer version of PhotoShop, I was also bothered by vignetting, especially in making a panorama of multiple shots where the edge of one shot coincides with the middle of its neighbor. The newer version (CS5) came equipped with a lens correction filter and also a very complete and accurate table of correction parameters for this lens. My guess is that the parameters were supplied by Canon. Earlier I had corrected the lens where I could by using the chromatic aberration tool of Camera Raw on entry. After the picture was retouched, I would correct for geometric distortion where it produced straight lines as curves, especially those close to the image edge, by warping. Vignetting, I could only guess at. Now, with the corrections available in Photoshop, I have as close as anyone has come, to a perfectly rectilinear lens with no vignetting and absolutely minimal chromatic aberration. Sharpness is another feature where this lens excels. I use none of the cameras built in sharpening. In Photoshop I find that what blurring the lens produces is very regular and readily sharpened over the entire field using the unsharp mask filter. Focusing is very fast. Because of the lenses small apperture, Canon did not recommend using the lens with the 5D's critical focusing screen option. That makes accurate autofocus and the ability in the camera to specify the autofocus spot important in my work. Since owning the lens, I cant remember ever manually focusing it although I have let it focus and then turned off the autofocus feature to prevent misfocusing on a series of shots of the same subject. On top of the fact that it is an excellent piece of glass, it is also rugged. I dont baby my equipment at all and this lens has withstood my careless handling and raw weather with ease.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My go to lens

By Cononfodder from Coconut Creek (SE) FL on 02/09/2012


Pros:

Tack Sharp, Lite Weight, Best Carry Lens Ever

Cons:

What Con?

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If you are not getting great results with this lens; it ani't the camera or the lens. Sold my 24-70 2.8. I have owned this lens since 2006 and It went om my first Alaska trip (it's cool, I'm waiting for another). Tack sharp, light weight, good IS,great landscape and event lens. I wish Canon would would make a 2.8 version. They might canablize sales of the 24-70, however, even at a higher price I feel this combo would sell like crazy. If the hand of the almighty were to come down and say you can only keep one Canon lens; this is the one. Obviously I don't own a 500mmf4 (or better). If you don't own this lens, get one its worth every penny.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic lens

By Sheckwel from New York NY on 12/12/2011


Pros:

Sexy, Smart, Fast Autofocus, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was looking for an walk around lens for My canon eos 7d because I was using an 28-135mm which failed apart and the zoom creep was terrible. I decide to get an L lens or the 24-70 or the 24-105. I tried the 24-70 f2.8 which is an fantastic lens,super fast and a low light monster but heavy almost the weight of those 70-200mm f2.8. When I got to the store, I didn't even know which one to get but my eyes was seing the 24-105 because the longer range and has IS and I knew in low light it will works because of the IS and I just bought it. The next day when I put the lens on my 7d walked around central Park and started shooting, I was saying wow this Lens is super sharp, the color and Contrast are terrific, stunning, impressive and the most thing which impressed me in this lens is in low light the F4 act like F2.8 because if the IS. This is an fantastic lens, the built quality is amazing and has weather-sealing too. With my 70-200mm f2.8(non IS), 50mm 1.8 ii and 24-105mm f4 l IS I am good to go. I would recommend this canon lens to any eos body user from full frame to crop sensor, this lens stays on my 7d almost 90%.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Go-To Lens

By undrgnd40 from Minnesota on 11/19/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Really great overall lens for use with mid grade to high end DSLR bodies. I've manually set my auto focus points on Program mode on my camera and this lens gets a super crisp shot every time. In good outdoor light conditions, you can get nice background blur for portraits. Macro capabilities are surprising for a non-prime macro lens. I also have a 85mm prime and 70-200 L but this lens is on the camera most of the time. I've even taken some great night photography with the image stabilizer off! This is a versatile lens that produces quality images.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome lens

By Yepitsme from Washington, DC on 10/18/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I decided to upgrade from my kit lenses to something better. Previously I had the 18-55 & 55-250 lenses however after seeing so many casual/semi-pro photographers ooh and ahh over this lens, I decided this had to be my new walk-around lens. I had also looked at the 24-70 L however the longer focal length and IS on the 24-105 won me over. While I did lose some focal length on this from my 55-250, the superb picture quality and legendary L build quality more than made up for it. The pics from this thing are awesome, simply awesome. Pictures are sharp and clear and the AF on this is pretty good as well. While it doesn't work that great in low light situations, out and about in the daytime, this lens is a beast. The USM is super quiet and the lens just feels super sturdy. While it is a smidge heavier than the kit lenses, for all you semi-noobs looking to upgrade, the increased weight of the lens is worth it. All I need now is the 100-400 lens and I'm set.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great replacement!

By Mike K from Aurora, IL on 10/12/2011


Pros:

Is, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Ok For Indoor Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just recently I used to owned the legacy canon 28-70 2.8L lens before I had accidentally dropped it :(. So I was desperately was looking for a replacement general purpose lens. I was torn against this and the 24-70 2.8L lens. I decided to get the 24-105 4L IS lens and I did not regret it. This lens is very sharp and amazing with a circular polarizer for landscape pictures. I currently own a 5D full frame so it is very wide and no flare at the corners. The main reasons I had chose this lens over the the 24-70 is the IS and the focal length. The only flaw I am missing is the 2.8 aperture for low light situations. It is a great combo along with my 70-200 2.8 lens. If you shoot more outside pictures I would recommend this lens. If you shoot more indoors, I would look at the 24-70 or if you have an APS-C camera you should also look at the 17-55 2.8 IS lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Use it all the time

By Aj from San Francisco on 09/09/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Flexible

Cons:

Big And Heavy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It has enough flexibility and quality for me to use it as my primary lens when out and about. It is also tough I am not easy on it and it has held up beautifully and worked flawlessly all this time. I have taken closeups and landscapes, even some indoor events and with a little care and creativity can get great shots under a variety of conditions. The fact the you don't have to carry and change three or four other lenses makes up for its own bulk.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One of the best walk around lenses

By wish1510 from New York, NY on 08/13/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

A Bid Too Long On Crop Cameras

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have borrowed and used this lens for while before I went ahead and got one for myself. Overall I really like this lens with its L quality along with weather seal and IS, this lens probably gives the best value vs price performance. Using this on the crop body, though I do sometimes miss the wide end from 17-23 I also enjoy the extra range particularly in the portrait range around 85mm to 105mm. Overall knowing the limitations of lens technology, I believe this lens is one of the best offering from Canon. With that said, I believe this lens would be perfect on a full frame camera such as 5D.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My walk around lens

By Jersey John from South Jersey on 07/15/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Low Loight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my everyday walk around lens and is the one lens that is attached to my T2i most of the time. At first, I was not pleased with the sharpness. But once I learned to use this lens, I could not be happier. It is dependable and solidly built. Any bad pictures are my fault, not the lens. I find the range very useful, and yes, for me, it is wide enough on my crop body camera. Used correctly, it is tack sharp and delivers decent bokah. The IS works great, but this is not an indoor lens. Although it performs well at sunset, its one weakness is low light. This lens is a real work horse, well deserving of the red "L" stripe.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Decent Lens But Not Very Sharp

By Adam from San Francisco on 07/09/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've had this lens for about a month. Overall, it's alright, but certainly not as good as everyone else is saying. The lens isn't very sharp and often white will "glow" a little bit and bleed into black lettering, for example. My lens was manufactured in May of 2011, according to the serial code. Could have been a bad batch--the IQ is often ok but not great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fabulous Lens

By Cooper from Cooper City, FL on 05/27/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Favorite "walk-around" lens. Super sharp, accurate focus and great build quality. It was tough to decide between this and the 24-70, but I decided to go with the increased reach and felt that since it has IS I could do with out the faster lens, and I'm happy with my decision.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Essential Lens

By Fort Worth Photo from Fort Worth, Texas on 05/23/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Size

Cons:

Speed

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I own a couple of other L lenses and have used a variety of other L series lenses at different times. My only complaint about the lens is its speed. I think it is true to the f/4 advertised, but another stop would be tremendously helpful for a walk around lens. Contrast and color are great. My lens is very sharp, but with an APS-C sensor on a 50D, I can't comment on the corners at 24 mm. The lens is noticably easier to handle than the 24-70mm when shooting for an extended period of time. The 24-105 is also a better size for travel photos, especially when the primary fun on your travel is not photography. I chose the 24-105 over the 24-70 because I could process a photo to brighten it later, but I couldn't get all the shots I wanted without changing lenses. If you don't mind changing lens at 70mm, the 24-70 packs a punch. Really beautiful images. The 24-105 is worth the upgrade from the 28-135mm which I kept as my back-up walk around lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent standard lens

By Doctor from Athens on 05/06/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Versatile Zoom Range

Cons:

Light Fall Off At 24mm

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is one of the two best standard zooms anyone can get for their Canon camera... The other one is the beast itself (EF 24-70mm f/2.8 L USM) which i also have. I can only say good things for this lens... Excellent sharpness, Amazing IS, very good zoom range, super fast AF... I could go on and on... I will say you this. For the last year or so, i almost exclusively use this over the 24-70 for everyday. Don't get me wrong here. The 24-70 is the best of the best!!! Period... But when i started using the 24-105 i found it to be a more versatile and user friendly lens. It is lighter, the zoom range is more useful, it has IS and only looses by an f stop. If you are about to buy one of them, the only big difference between them is the light fall off at 24mm and wide apertures. If you use 24mm at wide apertures buy the 24-70. If at 24mm you stop down to f/11 or so for landscape like me, buy the 24-105 and you will be a very happy man/woman... In the end, your lens is the best, because you learn how to get the best out of it... I even like the light fall off sometimes because using it creatively helps you give emphasis to the main subject...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

24-105mm f/4 L

By mjm from New York on 03/11/2011


Pros:

Low Lens Flare, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Compact Size

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've owned this lens for about 2 months. I picked it up as an alternative to my 24-70mm f/2.8L for lower lighting outdoor shooting, especially at twilight in areas where a tripod isn't practical. This lens is an f/4 vs. the f/2.8 on the 24-70 L, but honestly the IS easily makes up for this. The compact design and lighter weight versus f/2.8 L lenses really pays off. The lens is heavy, but not in a bad way. It seems weighted right for good stability but not overly, and still retains the L quality. The sharpness is good, although not quite as good as the 24-70mm on a full frame body. On a cropped body, like the 7D I find the lens a much better performer. I've noticed this lens has a really good ability to cut down flare from headlights and the sun, especially when either are pointed at the lens. Great value, great quality and really good optics.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I have 3 L lenses This ...

By ogashi from Phoenix+NY on 03/04/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have 3 L lenses This one is not as sharp as the others and would like to have it calabrated to see if it makes a difference. I use it on my Canon XSI


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this lens

By Anonymous from Fort Worth, TX on 02/10/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Dust In Manual Focus Ring

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this lens for about 6 months now. I wanted a better lense than the kit lense I had. I was not sure if I should spend the money on a L lens but finaly gave in and I am glad I did. I use this lense all the time. It takes great shot and the images are 10 times better than the kit lenses. It is fast and clear, a little heavy but worth it. I did get some dust in the manual focus ring but does not affect anything. The only regret I have now is that I will mostlikly never go back to a non-L lens, which means I'll need to save up for longer lenses in the L series.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exelent lens

By Chris from San Diego, Califorina on 10/24/2010


Pros:

Lens Is Sharp

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As far as I am concerned this is an excellent lens. How ever you do need to stop it down at least one stop because at f/4 it will not be sharp. Now this I believe is true of any lens and I say this because I suspect that this may be why some of the reviews are not good. I recently shot a wedding and used the wide angle and it looks good to me with a fair amount of enlargement. I was at f/11. So don't expect miracles from a lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens

By BroMar from Baltimore, MD on 09/19/2010


Pros:

Build Quality, Clarity

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was torn between choosing this lens and the EF 24-70mm f/2.8L and I couldn't be happier with my choice. I'm shooting with the 50D and these two items are making the perfect marriage. No vignetting at any focal length with included lens hood attached. I've been using it for engagement shoots so far and wasn't really planning to use it at the actual weddings. But the performance has been so good, that I'll definitely be using it for the formal shots after the ceremony. The build quality is exactly what you'd expect from an L-series and the clarity is amazing. Get this lens, shoot in RAW, and take your photography to a new level.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An awesome lens

By Mr. Cong from East Orange, N.J. on 08/10/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased this lens BEFORE a digital camera was bought because the reputation of the 'L' 24-105mm lens is that great. Thereafter purchased a 50D body for the lens, not regreting either purchase. This lens has proven sharp along its entire focal lenth, with even light distribution throughout its f/stop range. Have been shooting with Canon lenses starting in the 1960s, and this lens has to be the sharpest zoom lens ever used by me. Everything positive told to me about this lens has thus far been true, with sharpness across the field, even at its closest focusing position. Truly, a remarkable lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Glass

By totalbizcut from Scottsdale, AZ on 08/10/2010


Pros:

Superb Build Quality, Great Focal Length, Is, Great Image Quality, Fast Autofocus

Cons:

Price, Not F/2.8

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens as an upgrade from my 18-55 kit for my rebel about a week before going to D.C. I took so many more photos once i had this lens. The constant f4, even though i wish it was f2.8, was great because coming from the kit lens if you zoomed in you would have to change your settings. The focal range is awesome for a walking around lens. It would be a good match for a 70-200. Overall if you are trying to decide between this and the 24-70 or just want to upgrade, this lens will not let you down.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

i bought a 7 d because of ...

By bernie from Undisclosed on 06/26/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i bought a 7 d because of good write ups and i bought a 24-105 and a 70-200 f/4,the 24-105 is a good all round lens and shoots very good in low light and out side during the day and the 70-200 was very good with my grand daughter sports,very good ,i read some write ups that are bad but very few,only god is perfect ,they are a lot of money but they operate good and canon has never over sold me ,the 580 flash is very good too. i have all ways gone 1 class and canon is that-,i shot photos a lot and canon helps me get every thing in a shot bernie


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I'm a believer.

By S. Vicious from North East, MD on 06/10/2010


Pros:

Sexy, No Cons, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I wasn't a believer in L glass, IS, or zoom. I believe that prime glass is very sharp, I wasn't going to pay for zoom capabilities since I would rather utilize my feet, and I wasn't going to pay for IS since I would rather have a faster lens. Chapter Two... Ok, so I gave in and I bought an EF-S 10-22 and I love the sharp images it produces. This lens is what got me off my high horse named "Prime." Shortly after I bought the wide angle I overheard from other users that the lens was "L" quality without the price. This enticed me to look into a mid range zoom L lens for my arsenal of soul hunting gear. Chapter Three... I struggled between the 24-70 and the 24-105. Since I'm writing a review on the 24-105, chances are I bought the 24-105. I landed on the 24-105 due to the extra length it offers while taking a gamble that IS would counter balance the low light capabilities of the 2.8. The IS isn't as effective as 2.8, but it isn't bad at all. The clarity of this lens is absolutely remarkable and well, I believe in L glass now. I WILL NOT buy any other piece of glass unless it has the letter L on it; this includes my living room windows. I also want to add that the red ring looks very stunning. To those that may be going through a struggle between the F4 and the F2.8; unless you enjoy very shallow DOF then I would suggest to save a couple dollars, get the 24-105.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is a outstanding ...

By fm from Undisclosed on 05/24/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a outstanding overall lens; however, It is the third time I have to send for a repair because there a recurrent problem with the diaphragm and the auto focus unit. For an expensive L quality lens this should not be happening so frequently.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

best all around lens

By gtm from Pittsburgh on 03/15/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Is Really Works, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Distortion Between 24-35

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using this lens well over a year now, for magazine work and journalism, and found that it almost never comes off of my 5d2. The slight wide angle distortion is a fair compromise for the zoom range and tack sharp images produced. It has survived probably over 30,000 images of use, and still works as if new. With the crop ability of 21mpx there is very little need to use my 70-200, therefore I can work much faster, which is critical when given only minutes to get the image. It is perfect for wide angle location shots to the short telephoto portrait image (90% of my journalism work)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Get this lens

By eddie from Chicago, IL on 03/12/2010


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If you can afford it, this lens will not disapoint you. I was a little leery about spending this amount on a lens, BUT it was money well spent! I knew my 450D was able to capture great images, but this lens really made the camera shine. The images are very sharp, and the contrast is outstanding. It is a bit heavy, but that's OK with me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 03/09/2010


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Pricey, High Distortion

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The lens is quite fast, has sharp optics, and is relatively compact. The only real problems are that it is a little expensive, and has quite noticeable distortion.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The infamous "L" lens

By Chazrr from Freeport, Pa. on 03/04/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's said that the "L" stands for luxury and I'm going to add another tag to it. I'm adding "Love". This lens, as well as the other "L" lens I have, (70-200 2.8), are GREAT! It makes me wonder how and why I waited so long to try them. Then reality sets in and I realize that's because I couldn't afford them till recently. I do "Love" the noticable quality and build of these lenses and the superior optics. I would strongly urge you to save your dollars and hold out for the "L" Series if you can.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pixel-peeper's Delight

By Swift 16 from Indianapolis, IN on 03/04/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Weight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've added this lens to my modest tool kit of lenses because I expected sharpness, durability, superior build quality, superior function in every feature. After months of use I can state that this optical masterpiece has exceeded my every expectation. I use it on my 50D camera body. It is hefty! I use it as a walk around lens and I certainly appeciate its solid feel and heft. All that good glass weighs a lot. It's worth it. Its real forte is imaging and it has no equal. If you're a pixel-peeper, this lens (like virtually all "L" glass lenses) will be the equal of your camera's imager resoluition.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Incredible Lens - LOVE it!

By Invertalon from Cleveland, OH on 02/16/2010


Pros:

Weathersealing, Excellent Contrast, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Range, Super-sharp Images, Excellent Colors

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens for my 7D to replace my 17-85 as my walk-around lens, and to compliment my 70-200 f/4 IS. I read many mixed reviews on this lens, which I believe come from the fact it is a kit lens, and people assume it may not be of the best quality. However, this a "L" lens after all, and it does not fall short, anywhere. The image quality is incredible on this lens. Sharpness is excellent wide open, very impressive. On the telephoto lens over 85mm or so at f/4, it does soften very slightly. However, with some minor sharpening this is a non-issue. I find the sharpness of this lens very comparable to the 70-200mm f/4 IS, which is regarded as one of Canon's sharpest lenses. I have been nothing but impressive with its output of high quality images. Build is solid and a pleasure to use. The lens has a very weighted, quality feel to it. I noticed some negative reviews on its weather sealing, however, Canon does state you need a filter to complete the sealing. Out of the box I placed a filter on this lens, and I have used this lens in dusty conditions along with winter blizzards with no problem. There is no internal dust at all, and it handled the moisture just fine. This lens has been stuck on my 7D ever since I got it. It blows me away with its quality, and really takes advantage of the 7D's 18MP sensor. Even viewing images at 100%, the images are sharp as can be. I really love this lens for its color and contrast. Colors are excellent, recreating very accurate and pleasing colors. Contrast is great, like most L lenses. Overall, this is my favorite lens easily. Nothing but excellent results. I would recommend it to anybody, full-frame or crop-sensor. The range is great on both!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Choice

By Ricardo from Ohio on 02/04/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Would Like One More F Stop

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great pro lens that performs outstanding. Great focusing speed and excellent durability, which is what we expect from an L series lens. Only complaint is that I can't get F /2.8 which would make the one of the best.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I sold my 24-70 f2.8L and ...

By Mike from CA on 01/15/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I sold my 24-70 f2.8L and bought this lens. I thought the zoom range and IS would be great. I very much wanted it to work for me using it with my 1ds Mark II. Love the range, love the IS but very unhappy with the lack of contrast and sharpness that I had with my 24-70mm. So I ended up buying another 24-70 having great contrast and sharpness back and making 24"X36" and larger prints again. A friend had the same feeling about his 24-105 and sold his. My wish is for a new 24-105mm F2.8L IS with the color, contrast, and sharpness of the 24-70mm. I do love my Canon equipment!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My favorite lens

By Bill in Perrysburg from Perrysburg, OH on 12/09/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this lens for about three months. It stays on my camera 90% of the time. It is a very good walk-around lens. Extremely sharp and lightning quick focusing. This lens goes very nicely with my 70-200 F/4 L IS. Both are relatively compact and lite weight compared to the F/2.8 L series equivalents.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not Sealed

By Anonymous from Bellevue WA on 12/06/2009


Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The lens worked well for about a year, but then I found that dust had gotten into the lens itself. I'm very careful with my handling and storage of this lens and I am very disappointed because this lens is suppose to be sealed. I now have very obvious dark spots on my photos only with this lens and I can visibly see dust particles on the inside of the front lens. Costly repair leaves me with a poorly operating L lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best all purpose lens for one lens owner.

By Firefighter from Wausau, WI on 11/28/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Good Size & Weight, Fast Auto-focus, Great Image Stabilizing

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Best all around lens period. If you decide on one all around lens, this should be it. Image stabilizing allows for slower shutter speeds with crisp pics. Some of these can be taken while the camera rests on your knee or lap. Dark edges are coming from people who stack filter lens, UV/skylight and polarizer on top, or use wide polarizer filters. If you stack lenses like this, just back off on the zoom a little or remove them. This will take care of those dark edges. Otherwise this should be in Canon's top 5 lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great all around lens

By eyeidea from Undisclosed on 11/23/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have an 85mm, a 100-400 and this lens is my favorite walk around lens, at 24 it seems like I can get anything and the 105 is nice when things are a little further away.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worth every penny!

By Visions from Rapid City SD on 11/22/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've used this lens for about two weeks and have found it phenominal. I will not buy anymore lenses unless their L's. Did some comparison test with lenses in the $400 to $600 range and its like comparing apples and oranges. This lens is built like a tank, great weather sealing, IS is outstanding and the IQ is incredible! Very happy i bit the bullet and made this purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A good solid lens

By Dave_135 from Rock Hill, SC on 11/16/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Full Time Manual Focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use an APS-C sensor camera and I put this lens on it. Those dark corners people speak of don't exist on my pictures. If you have full frame cameras maybe this lens is not for you. APS-C seems to take care of that in the crop factor--the dark edges are not used--eureka!!! Everything my camera captures is pure gold(in my opinion)--straight in the middle of the lens where everything is sharp. This lens performs well and I love full time manual focus--don't think I could do without. IS on this lens works as advertised. Don't forget weather sealing---L lens greatness! My only IF ONLY -- If only this could have been a 2.8 aperture -- I know it would've been heavier but still 2.8 could've been awesome.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Too much for one lens, I guess

By Craigsakid from San Diego, CA on 11/08/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Is Is Great, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Heavy, Dark Corners At Widest Point

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens to have as a good single walk around lens. I have to say I am disappointed. I read a lot of reviews and thought I was making a good informed decision. However, you can't go to 24mm on the Wide end, as there are dark corners at the widest point. You have to go up to about 35mm to get them out of the picture! This should be a 35 - 105mm rated lens, and not sold for something it cannot do. It is really a shame, as the rest of the range is solid. Canon should have also made this one a DW-R, since it is intended to be an all around lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Camera heaven

By Greg from Undisclosed on 11/04/2009


Pros:

Low Light Performance, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A have many camera including 2 or 3 film SLR's, but held off buying a DSLR for a long time (although with my wife and kids we have 8 to 12 non-SLR cameras including the SD890, SD900 and one or two EOS). This camera was well worth the wait. For my the greatest feature is the amazing low light performance and low pixel noise. Low noise makes the big pixel array really useful too. It's a real pleasure to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding General-Use Lens!!!

By JT from Fresno, CA on 10/27/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Excellent General-use Lens

Cons:

Slow Aperture., Limited Telephoto

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

There are 2 things that this lens could use improvement on. One would be a wider max aperture (f/2.8 would be a VERY welcome improvement). The second would be to extend out the focal length a little, particularly on the telephoto side. Okay, negative critique is over, everything else I would have to say is positive. This is an OUTSTANDING general-use lens. If you are only going to have only one lens for a full-frame sensor, you absolutely need to give this lens very, very strong consideration. Just a word to the people at Canon...Please come up with a 20-200mm f/2.8L...I think you'd be surprised how many would be willing to send you some serious cash for something like that!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not so sharp as expected

By Xanth from Undisclosed on 10/23/2009


Pros:

Great Contrast, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm a little disapointed. After I've read some reviews I expected top performance, expecially conformance with MTF charts. It is really good, but only in the very center of image. Corners (on APS-C!) are as soft as EF-S 18-55 IS! It is also very blurry for 105@f4. I've checked 3 copys of that lens (from bundle with 5d) and all had the same softness, so it's not just a bad luck. It doesn't comply to MTF charts (an some reviews) that let me expect sharp picture on whole APS-C imaging area! All other parameters are as great as expected (exept well known CA problem). Lens gives great contrast in the whole picture area, AF is really fast and acurate even in low-light condition. Also IS works exceptionaly sure much better then IS built in canon cheap lesnses.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

24-105 fuzzy

By Surf-Dog from west coast on 08/29/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Over all I would give this lens a 50% grade. At the wide zoom the edges are soft and out of focus (24mm to 35mm). Beyond the wide zooms it performs excellent, razor sharp, great contrast, fast auto focus. I have been using canon lenses professionally for 30 years and every now and then they put out a bad lens design. This is one of them. Other professional photographer I know have also reported the same problems I have noticed. Need a wide angel sharp zoom ....look for another zoom.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this lens

By VW Guy from Central Nebraska on 08/07/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, And It Looks Good...

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens separately from my Canon 5D Mark II recently. If you are reading this, you know that they are in short supply. This lens is perfect for weddings, group portraits, and even head and shoulder portraits. I don't normally need the wide angle view, but it is good to know that 24mm is there if needed in the future. The build quality is superb and the lens is tack sharp throughout the zoom range. Maybe I got a good copy because I have read a report saying their copy is soft. The zoom and focus are smooth and useful. I wholeheartedly recommend this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Consumer Grade Lens

By ShutterBug from Blanco, Texas on 06/18/2009


Pros:

Flexable, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Chromatic Halos, Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This lens came packaged with my 5D MK II. It fit great between my 16-35mm & my 70-200mm both of which are wonderful lenses. But the 24-105mm images at 100% can best be described as "Soft" and chromatic halos appear around object edges. After reading the other reviews it looks like I'm one of the few to get a lemon. If you don't need to print/crop to 100% then the sharpness and chromatic halos are not a problem and the lens works fine..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Opinions Confirmed

By Nevada Motorhead from Henderson, NV on 06/14/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I recently attended an outdoor photography workshop led by one of the current top outdoor/adventure photographers and had a chance to ask him, his assistant, and three Canon tech reps their choices for the three best lenses if they're the only ones you own. Performance and versatility were the only criteria and price was no object. This was the only lens chosen by all five so I came home and bought one for my 50D. They were absolutely right. I've had it a couple of weeks and found it razor-sharp and plenty fast for my needs. Build quality is excellent and it just has a top-quality feel about it. I shoot mostly desert/canyon landscapes and action (air racing, powerboat racing, rock climbing and grandkid soccer) and couldn't be more pleased. I am currently massaging my budget to see when I can add it's 70-200mm f4L IS big brother.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best All-Around Lens

By Ron from Long Island, N.Y. on 06/12/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Great All Purpose Versatility, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Maybe The Price.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I traded in my old Canon F-1 "film" gear and purchased a Canon 30D with EF-S, 17-85mm, F/4.-5.6, IS, USM lens. After a while I felt I needed a faster lens with better and more durable quality. I purchased the 24-105mm F/4L and never looked back. It is the best all-around lens I have ever shot with. Great versatility and range, fast focus, great low light performance, just an excellent everyday, all purpose lens. Some say it's heavy, but I like the feel of a solid lens and the 24-105 gives that feel. The price is in the upper range but worth it, plus I received what I thought to be a very fair trade-in value for the 17-85mm kit lens. If you are looking for a high quality, solid every day lens, this is the one!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Luv this lens!

By Who_Knew_Too from Portland, OR on 06/08/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Excellent For Macro Use, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Only F/4

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had excellent results using this lens. So far, I've used my 24-105mm F/4 L lens on sports jobs, on landscapes, some macro work, and on a few portraits. On all of this differing kinds of work, my results have been consistently excellent. I've used this lens with my 5D and with my 50D, with equally excellent results. I highly recommend this lens with confidence, it is an exceptional everyday lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Incredible, Professional Lens

By Magnum1 from Tampa, FL on 05/19/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought my copy of this lens in late 2005 when it was first released, and it's been on my 5D 90% of the time (now my 5D MkII) since. I have used this lens used for many, many published newspaper and wire photographs as well as three magazine covers and many magazine features. It has been used for weddings, portraits and a two year photo project during very hot Florida summers every day at the beach (in salt air) and has performed flawlessly (I never babied it). I have probably used this lens to shoot close to 100,000 photographs and have banged it around so much that the red "L Series" ring has been broken off. I have also shot sharp pictures at shutter speeds as low as 1/8 of a second, and shoot it wide open at f/4 at least 50% of the time without worry. The bokeh is beautiful and the lens is amazingly sharp. Do yourself a favor and purchase this lens now, you will NOT regret it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

wise purchase

By fredy from maine on 05/06/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i purchased this lense for an all around use. I just find it outstanding. sure its a bit heavy but only what you should expect for a superior lense. its matched to a 50d. great combo. highly recommended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

best all around lens. a ...

By Anonymous from vail, co on 05/04/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

best all around lens. a little heavy, but worth every bit of it. a little expensive but still it is worth it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just excellent

By AVshooter from South Carolina on 03/19/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Heavy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I wanted an 'all-around' lens that would provide great performance, and this lens does not disappoint. Quick and sharp focus, combined with the IS function produces outstanding quality images. My two most used lenses are now the 24-105 L and 100-400 L. The L series is expensive, but when people tell you to put your money into the glass, you should listen. The performance is worth the investment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

heavy but worth it

By my first was the A 2 E from ohiio on 03/10/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Heavy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have always told people spend money on the glass when deciding what camera to buy. This lens is where people should spends their money. It is perfect for every step from the rebel to the really high end cameras. It is a bit heavy but you can afford to carry around a little extra weight!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Terrific lens

By Scott DR from Cincinnati, OH on 03/03/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The lens is very sharp and well built. It has seen a good deal of use from me with no problems to speak of to date (1.5 years).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT lens

By Que from Colorado on 02/19/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I wanted an over-all, carry about, multi-purpose lens and THIS IS IT! Overall, this lens is perfect for my All Around Lens. I use it on my camera 95% of the time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Travel Lens

By Dublo from Prince Georges County, Maryland on 02/15/2009


Pros:

Image Stabilization, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens was purchased in response to my attempts at going the cheap route. I purchased the Superzooms. However, I was disappointed at the sharpness and slow focusing. I was initially hesitant because I thought I needed a great zoom. Nothing could be further from the truth. I am constantly surprised with the amount I can fill in the frame. It is sufficient for approximately 95% of my shots--for a crop camera too, Rebel XT. It provides the ability to capture grand images. Also, I have the reach to isolate people or objects. With a little exercise of either moving forward or stepping back, you'll discover you do not need the 10+ zooms. Also, more of your images will be keepers with the faster focusing and crisper shots. Lastly, the IS provides the extra stability in low-light so you do not have to increase the ISO as much.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

solid feel

By Davoid from St Petersburg, Florida on 02/13/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my favorite lens I've ever worked with. The 24-105 f/4 IS is a very high resolution lens, and edge to edge sharpness is very good. Both the zoom collar and the focus collar are amazingly solid and smooth. The Image Stabilization works well, and the autofocus works better than any other lens I've owned.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My favorite lens

By Anonymous from Arcata, CA. on 01/26/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

A Little Pricey But You Get What You Pay For., Not "l" Whie

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my walk around lens for the 40D. if i could only have one lens this would be it. Solid build, quick and quiet focus. This lens should be in your kit. If you need a really fast lens go for the 24-70, but for me this lens is perfection


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A bit disappointed

By rdbvideo from Cincinnati on 01/21/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Sharp In The Center, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Lower Contrast & Chromatic Aberration At Edges, Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This lens came with the 5D mkII as a kit. At first I thought this was the best lens I've ever owned, but I was shooting mostly low light. I loved the stabilization and center sharpness. Once I took it out in daylight, it was a different story. Tree branches in the corners of the photo were less sharp, had lower contrast, and with chromatic aberration that I haven't seen in years. I'm guessing I got a lemon. After some testing with a good lens chart, I'm going to take it up with customer support. It's just too expensive of a lens for this poor a performance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

If you have to choose only 1...

By Spongy from Tequesta, Florida on 12/14/2008


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Great Contrast And Saturation, Big Lens Features With Managable Weight, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was looking for the best all around carry lens for extended travel so many factors were in the equation. Besides the obvious speed, focal length and aperature, I wanted something stabilized and with enough flexibility to go from indoor candids to landscapes as needed. I am a longtime Canon user and while the 70-200 L 2.8 was one of my initial options, the weight was an issue hence forth, the 24-105 L was my choice. In short, this lens offers fabulous apochromatic performance with no chromatic abberation of note, superb contrast, sharp to the edge throughout the zoom range and great speed in auto-focus. In the last 3 years this has become my travel lens on my well used 20D (over 40,000 actuations to date) and has been a faithful performer and solid reliable piece of equipment from the jungles of the Amazon to the well above the Arctic Circle. It has been exposed to moisture and humidity that would kill lesser lenses and frozen in the North Sea yet has always come through. To sum it up, "quality is remembered long after price forgotten" Do yourself a favor and never skimp on optics, you get what you pay for...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Unexpected

By Capt. Matt from Olympia, WA on 12/09/2008


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Great Zoom Range, 77mm Filters

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After reading the reviews on line I expected a fair to mediocre lens. I was very surprised by its sharpness, distortion correction, color and bokeh. It is fast becoming my favorite lens. I use this lens in a maritime environment, subject to sea spray, rain and snow in Alaska. It has served me well with no problems in my first year of ownership.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My number 1 lens

By canonmax from San Antonio, Texas on 12/04/2008


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Balances Out Weight With My Eos 1ds, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

A Little Pricey But Worth Every Dollar.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After I track down my EOS 1Ds, everyone told me the lens I needed was 24-105mm. I was not disappointed. The clarity and sharpness the photos I took astounded me. This lens completes my investment along with 100-400L. When I place it on my EOS 1Ds, I could feel the solid contruction that went into the lens. And I can say this for a fact, that this lens will be my number 1 lens for years to come.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Superb All-Around Lens!

By Theo from S.E. La. on 11/27/2008


Pros:

Excellent Color Rendention, Quiet & Fast Is, Great Bokeh, Excellent Walk-around Focal Range, Balances Well On My 30d

Cons:

Not "l" Series White

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The 24-105 f/4L IS stays on my 30D 98% of the time! It is just wide enough and with just enough reach to cover the majority of my shooting styles, All with Excellent resolution, color and clarity! IS is rock solid and fast, just as is AF. Build quality is similar to all of Canon's "L" glass, Superb! Indoor\outdoor results have yielded excellent results!! Complimenting this on the wide end is my 17-40 f/4 L and on the long end, 100-400 f/4.5-5.6L IS... what a Great Trio set for the investment. I've researched long and hard and haven't found any to be better. Great job, Canon!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

first "L"

By xtreem from New Orleans on 11/25/2008


Pros:

Looks Cool, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Pricey

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

after buying this lens, I now know why the L series cost so much. You will never use your old EF-S lens again.This thing is AWESOME, i never knew a lens could focus that fast and take such clear, true pictures. In a word,I love it. Want some lower priced lens? I will gladly sell you mine. Remember that this is coming from a no nothing camera dummy, you can not go wrong with this "L"!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best walk-around lens

By Vishnu G from Houston, US on 11/22/2008


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Amazing Is, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Probably the best walk-around lens. The weather sealing is superb. The IS works as advertised. The zoom range makes ideal for everyday use. The picture quality is excellent (its an L after all). I use this lens on my 40D and it balances well with the weight of the camera. Not too heavy but heavy enough to make you feel in control. No complaints whatsoever.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One of the best EF Zooms

By Blake from Washington, DC on 11/08/2008


Pros:

Shares Filters With Many Other Ef Lenses, Versatile On Ff & Crop, Weathersealed, Fast Auto-focus, Great Ergonomics, Superior Build Quality, Just Big Enough & Well-balanced, Super-sharp Images, Stablilsation Works As Advertised

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Whether used on full-frame or crop cameras, this is one of Canon's best performers, especially considering the resolution at the 24mm side where many other EF lenses can let you down (even more expensive ones). The IS works as advertised (about 3 stops' worth) and makes the f/4 maximum aperture much less limiting for low(er)-light work. It's still no substitute for a fast prime for portraits (where maximum background blur is needed) & low-light motion (no amount of IS will prevent blur of a moving subject), but this is the trade-off one makes to have the convenience of a do-all zoom (I find that f/2.8 zooms are still too slow when I need a fast lens, and too heavy to drag around). As a "main" lens on full-frame/film or crop cameras (on which I don't worry about the 38.4mm equiv. max wide angle as I usually have a dedicated superwide with me) it's hard to think of anything that would surpass the 24-105L at any price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved