Home » Accessories » Camera Accessories » Lenses & Filters » 0345B002 » 59 Reviews

Canon Cameras 0345b002 Ef 70-300 Lens Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 59 reviews)

89% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Super-sharp Images (29), Fast Auto-focus (22), Superior Build Quality (25)

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images (9), Slow Auto-focus (11)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Good for the price

By RMurray from Undisclosed on 07/25/2015

For the price, this lens is good. Has decent focus and a decent speed. For the price, the only thing I wish was available was that I could an extender with it. However, that is only available for the L lenses.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good for Sports

By Roger from illinois on 04/08/2015

My sports lens I'll try to get one of the white ones.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Addition To My Camera Bag

By Mojaveflyer from Denver, CO on 09/26/2014

I have been using a Canon 100 - 400mm "L" lens for several years and love it. The biggest issue I had with the 100 - 400mm lens was it's size and weight. A friend bought a 70 - 300mm lens and after looking at it I think it would fill a gap I had not being able to carry a long lens in my smaller camera bag. I'm pleased with the results of shooting with this lens as well as the ease of carrying it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens and price

By Fotosdenada from Undisclosed on 05/29/2014


Pros:

Image Stabilized, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When I purchased my 7D, I also picked this lens up for some wildlife and nature photography. With the cropped sensor, 300mm is close enough for animals that don't want to eat you... I'm impressed. Images are pretty sharp and colorful. The image stabilization works well, for the most part, and focus is usually spot on. The build quality is very nice, for a non-L. It's plastic, but it's solid plastic. The zoom ring feels nice and is just the right resistance. I was worried about lens creep, but I haven't experienced any with my lens. It's not perfect, of course... The focus is a tad slow for flying birds and the manual focus ring is somewhat loose and small. Over all, though, this is a lens I would have no problem recommending to most people.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid

By tm3308 from Des Moines, IA on 04/13/2014


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Versatility

Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Shifting Aperture

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm a photographer with a sports magazine. We cover high school sports, which means I run into a lot of less-than-ideal lighting. For state tournaments that are held in well-lit arenas, this lens performs just fine, and I've had a lot of success at outdoor events except when there is very little natural light (I shoot with a 7D). No complaints about the sharpness. I tend to get a little too much noise for my taste, but that's also a product of having a body that isn't as strong at higher ISO's as other bodies. Being on a tight budget and owning just one body, the biggest strength of this lens is its versatility. Shooting sports, I often don't have time to switch lenses, so being able to go from 300 to 70 mm on a turnover, etc., is a huge asset. I plan on getting better glass within a year (70-200), but this lens has delivered pretty solid bang for the buck. I'd recommend it to anyone who's looking to get started in sports photography.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sharp. Great outdoor sports lens!

By emxgarcia from Cooper City, FL on 03/20/2014


Pros:

Light, Fast Focusing, Very Sharp, Economical

Cons:

Prefers Well Lit Scenes, No Tripod Ring Space

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After initially considering 70-200 f4 non-IS, decided to give this bargain a shot. Look around and you can get this lens very very economically. This lens will perform extremely well on sunny outdoor scenes: kids playing soccer, windsurf, surf. Sharp under 210 and very sharp when stopped down to f/8 and up. You can't go wrong with this lens if shooting outdoors. This is performance-wise, along with the 50mm f1.8, the closest thing to an L lens on a budget.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I have used this lense as ...

By Davikes from Westchester ny on 03/18/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used this lense as the photographer for my sons football team and the results have been nothing short of stunning


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Decent upgrade from the 75-300mm

By petechman from Miamisburg, OH on 09/15/2013


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this to upgrade from the 75-300mm budget lens. I love the features with two modes of IS and the USM, it's also built very well. The IS is a bit noisy but not bad enough to bother wildlife if thats what you like to shoot. The USM is also not as quiet as other shorter lenses but this is to be expected. I do consider it an upgrade from the other zoom especially if you can find it for a good price. Chromatic abrasion is still a bit of an issue if you do a lot of cropping but it doesn't seem to be as noticeable as the other lens. Overall a very good upgrade for the IS modes if nothing else, the only other option is the 100-400 L which is a huge step up in price. Used with a T3i.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exceptional lens

By happy from Connecticut on 09/13/2013


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm using the Canon Rebel T4I and am loving my experience so far with this lens. I've read some negative things about this lens after I ordered it. They were saying that the picture were clear and crisp at 200mm but not at 300mm and they were also complaining that the lens is very noisy. I will say neither is the case. These must be people that don't know what they are doing. Even at 300mm I have a extremely clear and crisp pictures. I am amazed at the quality of this lens. I wish there was a way to upload my pictures to show you what the quality of this lens really is. well worth the money. Definitely buy one. you wont regret it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MAKES my Canon Camera come alive!

By Patrick from Baltimore, MD on 06/20/2013


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to operate . . . lightweight, exquisite quality results . . . makes the camera 10X more valuable than with standard lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very satisfied

By HPSF Design from Los Angeles, CA on 03/24/2013


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a professional photographer with a passion for street photography in my spare time. I own many L lenses but feel they are not necessarily the right tool for every shooting situation. When I combine the superb stabilization of the 70-300 mm f/4-5.6 IS USM with the amazing lowlight capabilities of my 6D body, I am able to produce tack sharp images in all shooting situations. The autofocus is fast and reliable and the lens while not exactly light, is not a burden to carry for long days of shooting. I am extremely pleased with this lens. Buy one!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good quality pictures, ...

By eddythepixer from Houston TX on 03/24/2013


Pros:

Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Good quality pictures, But the focus is slow Nice Stabilizer options...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not sharp

By Tomt from Bradenton FL on 03/16/2013


Pros:

Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This lens works well for shots that are close. Zoomed all the way out nothing is sharp. It's not much good for long distance bird shots. I also think it is a bit slow on the auto focus which I could live with if the pictures were sharp. Mostly a costly disappointment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not Bad at all

By Jackson from Atlanta on 03/15/2013


Pros:

Light Weight, Inexpensive

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this lens for two reasons: one, for the reach; second for the weight. Use 1D and 5D (gripped) and those two with L lenses get awfully heavy..sometime need to simply lighten the load without sacrificing too much IQ. This lens in not L, but not bad. A little slow in low light, but overall, a very usable lens for IQ and as a sub for the heavy big glass situations.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very unsatisfied

By wv_kid from West Virginia on 03/09/2013


Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This lense will not focus when zoomed at 300mm. Most pictures are blurry. I have an efs 55mm to 250 mm that blows the socks off of this one and costed half as much. I expected more from Canon than what i got.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens for my Safari

By LB from Buffalo, NY on 11/19/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am brand-new to dSLR photography and purchased this lens to go with my T3i for my African safari. I could not be any happier with the photos I got and it is all due to this lens. I found that it focused quickly, has a nice background blur when fully zoomed in and the the details on the photos are so sharp - I can see individual feathers on the birds I photographed and the sand in the mane of the male lion. The focal length was perfect and as an amateur, this lens was a very good value and very portable. Two other amateur photographers that I met on my safari also owned this lens and both had great things to say about it. I would highly recommend this lens and I cannot wait to continue my wildlife photography locally.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Outdoors Travel Lens

By kenrow1 from Fort Worth, TX on 09/19/2012


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Weight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Used this lens and my 40D on 2 week trip to NYC and northern VT mountains. Took 600+ pictures over two weeks. I really like the quality of the pictures but have to say that the camera and lens combination got heavy while walking around NYC. I would recommend this lens be used in multipurpose settings such as in the city and then in the mountains. Good value that generated excellent results.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Perfect Add-On

By Emma Mae from Rochester NY on 08/26/2012


Pros:

Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had been borrowing my father's Canon 70 - 300 DO f/4-5.6 IS USM lens. My main problem was that shooting handheld portraits with it was very difficult because of the lens weight. This lens is easier for me to handle because it is much lighter. I have been very happy with the results I have been getting.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens

By rehjr from Missouri on 06/05/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Heavy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have been using this lens for several months now, it is a big improvement over the entry level zoom lens. Have had great luck photographing eagles and other wildlife, as well as sporting events. The lens is much heavier than its cheaper sibling.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best lens I have

By Susan from Valrico, FL on 05/28/2012


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens 5 years ago and it is still the best lens I have. It is clear, clean, and crisp. The IS on this one works like a champ. It's heavy, but it's worth it. Not as fast on the initial focus as some of my other lenses, but once it has it, I can shoot 15 images of a fast moving object on high-speed continuous and every picture is clean.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Bank for the Buck

By Snaps from USA on 04/22/2012


Pros:

Image Stablization, Great Value, Sharp Images

Cons:

Loud Image Stablization

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Smartest lens by far in the price range. Delivers very sharp images. Find myself shooting with this more than any other lens. About the only gripe is the noisy IS - you basically have unusable audio when shooting video unless you use an external mic.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice mid-level tele-zoom

By Gram from Spokane, WA on 10/20/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My wife bought me this lens as a gift and it is nicely assembled and very easy to carry around. My challenge with the lens was I started surfing the net and reviewing reviews and determined it would be too slow for my goals of shooting low-light cathedrals in Europe. I didn't have the heart to take it back and I am glad I didn't, my wife uses it for her daughter's soccer pics on my back-up body (60D). I am ridiculously spoiled with a 70-200 F2.8...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens

By Cheeks from Missoula Mt on 09/26/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My Dad bought this lens for me for my birthday since he had one and i had enjoyed it. I use it mostly for sports photos and wildlife. It does a great job and i couldn't be any happier. The only downfall for the lens was that it was a little expensive. The lens hood was also a little expensive but over all i am very happy about it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens

By sysengr from Undisclosed on 08/19/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Weight Compared To L Glass, Price

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Really great lens. Why would I buy the EF-70-300mm f/4-5.6L other than the slower autofocus? OK, the tube comes out a long way, but otherwise f/4-5.6 is exactly that on both. Shot the Alaska cruise with this lens and the T3i and it was outstanding. For wide I have 24-105 L glass because you never have enough light at that focal range, but with 70-300 it's usually more than bright enough. Yay, Canon! One for the semi-pro!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very happy

By JK from Columbia, SC on 08/05/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am very happy I bought this lens. I have only used it for a month but love it. It is a go anywhere lens for me. No problems! I own 6 Canon lenses and they all operform.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great low-light zoom lens

By marcpbcup from Indianapolis, IN on 07/04/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Low Light Performance, Good Image Stabilization At Low Zoom

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus, Weight, Noisy Shutter

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I originally purchased this as a telephoto zoom to complement the kit lens on an xSi in order to photograph outdoor sports without a tripod. I have found that it works great at the 70-200 mm range- crisp images and good contrast. I'm not very confident with manual focus yet but sometimes it's needed because AF is quite slow. The biggest downfall of this lens is that at the 200-300 mm range image stabilization doesn't compensate well enough to go without a tripod. I also found that this is my best low-light lens. Concerts and festivals at night at the 70-100 mm range (F4) turn out much sharper than other zoom lenses plus I don't have to push my way to the front anymore. I wouldn't recommend taking this to a play or symphony...it has a very loud zoom and shutter so people may get annoyed. Overall this is a great value telephoto zoom lens with great glass. An upgrade to the focusing system would make this a real winner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It does what it does.A ...

By youtubetodd from tn on 05/25/2011


Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It does what it does.A little less than what I've come to expect from canon.Pic quality is sub standered at full zoom.It suits my needs but I would check out all options before buying.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sleeper Lens!

By J Chris from Detroit,MI on 03/26/2011


Pros:

Great Focal Length!, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Feels Plastic Like, Stabilizer Motor Loud!

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So my story is probably familiar to alot of you. Wanted a 70-200 MM and couldn't afford it so I decided to try this lens in place. That is for sure what I did. After 2 months of trying to save for an "L" lens, I finally gave up and went for this lens. Wow! What a sleeper lens for sure. Why a sleeper lens you ask? Well, very few people who have "L" disease look at this lens when they want a tele zoom. It was overlooked by me and alot of my friends as well.Actually, nobody even mentioned it once until I brought it up. Now, they are pretty impressed to say the least. Great photos and 100MM more range for under $675.00! Way to go Canon. I use this on my 7D. It's very very good for the price. The only 2 things I wish I could have had, were the non twisting barrel for a polarizer and better weather sealing. Lens is amazing for everything outdoors and with a good flash, you can achieve great results indoors as well. Until I can afford an "L" lens, this will do just fine!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Buy!

By Jester from Denver on 12/27/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Awesome lens! I have been using this lens with my T2i and have been loving it! Awesome picture quality and awesome stabilization built into it (make sure to turn it off when on a tripod because the stabilization can over compensate and cause some jitters). It is a little big and heavy but with the quality that you can get with tis lens it is totally worth it. My only complaint about the lens is that it can take awhile to get the auto-focus to focus in low light. I would have to assume that with a bigger body like the 7D with more focus points than my T2 that it would do a better job, but then again I don't mind clicking the manual focus on from time to time. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a zoom lens. I know it is pricy especially for it not being an L lens but trust me it was worth every penny to me. I have taken this lens to a couple Colorado Rockies games and have gotten some amazing shots. Jester


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome tele lens

By Drew from York, PA on 11/24/2010


Pros:

Build Quality, Super Sharp Images, Auto- Focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I recently purchased this lens along with a 7D. I absolutely love this lens! Fast and accurate auto focus, very sharp images, and has beautiful DOF. Weight is not bad at all and the "mode 2" stabilizer works very well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Good Lense for $$

By Anonymous from Hickory, NC on 10/17/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So far this lense has been nothing but good. The quality of the pictures are very nice. My 70-200 L lense just didn't reach far enough so this became my choice. The auto focus is a bit slow at times. The lense appears to be built well like all other Canon products. The lense has a lock on the barrel to keep it secure and from drifting out while transporting it. Thats a huge plus. I would recommend it to anyone searching for a FL of 300mm. It works very well on my 50D. A+


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Everything but the colors

By vinokurov from NY on 10/12/2010


Pros:

All

Cons:

Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like this lens! 70-200/4 too short for me, 100-400 is too big and heavy for me, probably (I don't) but, I don't like the color of this lens. beautiful color is very expensive. I wait 70-300L.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Non L Telephoto

By Hotrod from Atlanta Ga. on 09/06/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned this lens for a few years now and used it on three different camera bodies ,7D, 50D and 350D. It is semi-slow focusing on the 50D and 350D bodies in almost all conditions but is fast on the 7D in almost all conditions except for low light where it tends to hunt at any FL except 70mm. The servo follow focus is also very good on the 7D. I have used this combo to photograph the legends race cars at Barber Raceway and Petit Lemon racers at a number of different tracks and have gotten very satifactory results (85%+ keeper rate). This lens is really sharp in every case except at the very longest range (300mm) and even there it looks sharp until I compare it to shots made with the 70-200mm L IS lens. Overall this has been the best value for the money of any lens I have owned, even considering the hassle of the rotating and extending front lens element. I highly recommend this lens for any relevant application in good light conditions.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent lens

By Eloy from Los Angeles, CA on 08/13/2010


Pros:

Add A Pro

Cons:

Add A Con

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Fast focus, feels heavy, great build, again not an "L" lens but for the price and the quality you don't need one. Great quality photos through out its range 70 to 300 Sharpness and contrast a little soft on the 300 mm if shot at 5.6, but easy fixable if you have Photoshop or a ny other type of software, colors true to life, you cannot go wrong with this lens, excellent pair with a Canon 7d. I am really happy I bought this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great wildlife and wedding

By Redbeard from Tyler, TX on 07/30/2010


Pros:

Sharp Images, Price, Lightweight

Cons:

Aperature

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens mainly for sports and wildlife photography and have been extraordinarily pleased. The AF is fast and image quality is excellent. I recently took some photographs of Big Horn Sheep in Glacier National Park from about 100yds away. I was amazed at how crisp the details were of their faces and horns. I've also done some wedding photography with this lens. I've been able to set up in the church balcony with a tripod and get some great candid shots. The lens lock and low weight is wonderful when hiking through the wilderness looking for that perfect shot of a deer or rare bird. All in all, I couldn't go without this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worth it's price!!

By Tyke's Mom from Iowa on 07/22/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this lens. My friend bought an offbrand, that claimed to be the same. It is't. Clear, precise, powerful. I raise dogs. Most of my customers are from out of state. I must take great photos that represent my pups as they truly are. I then place them on my website. This lens does it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Superior lens for the $$$!

By Richard8971 from Tucson, AZ on 06/23/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens last year as an upgrade for my trusty 55-250 IS lens for my Canon XTi. While the 55-250 IS is a very nice lens, this lens produces some outstanding details that the 55-250 IS could never achieve. I shoot mainly wildlife and birds and this is an amazing lens for both uses. This is not an "L" lens, but it doesn't need to be. The IS is beautiful and so is the build quality. Nice and heavy, feels very solid. Yeah, you do get a small amount of barrel play, but that can be expected from just about any telephoto where the body extends to achieve maximum zoom. (Which is why I only gave the lens a 4 in build/quality) The optics are fantastic and really make use of all of the 10MP my XTi can muster. I am amazed at the sharpness and quality of the photos I have been getting since I have bought this lens. USM AF is super fast and crisp every time. I recommend shooting at F8 as your photos will be a bit more "crisp" than at a lower F-number. The 70-300 IS USM is more expensive than the 55-250 IS, but let me reassure you, the extra $$$ spent is well worth it and you won't regret it. I own both lenses and the quality of the 70-300 is so worth the investment. You wouldn't think that a lens could make that much of a difference in image quality, but it does! I really recommend this as a great walk-around action/wildlfe lens to anyone, regardless of what camera body you are using.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens for the price

By danl43 from Nashville, TN on 06/06/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've used this lens for over 4 years on my EOS 450d and 500d. I've taken about 1500 shots with it and have found it indispensable for birds and other wildlife, landscapes, and candid portraits. Autofocus is fast and quiet. But I recently took about 30 shots of an owl and and found that only one was tack sharp. This suggested that my EOS 500d wasn't autofocusing on the selected central spot and further tests confirmed this. I've sent the camera to Canon for adjustment and I'm hoping it will solve the problem. The sharp photo shows that the lens itself is capable of very good sharpness. My point is that if your results are not quite sharp with this lens, it might be your autofocus calibration that's to blame. Bottom line: I highly recommend this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A valuable outdoor lens

By John from Binghamton NY on 04/02/2010


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Great Lens For The Cost, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the lens for use with the 7D, and to take pictures outside. Birds and wildlife were my targets. The lens has been quick to focus, either in manual mode or in auto mode with either of the fantastic stabilization modes in use. I also appreciate the lens lock feature that prevents the lens from extending while not in use. I've been frustrated at the lack of sharp images at the full focal length. I expected stationary objects within thirty feet to be very sharp (ISO 100, f11 or better), but I haven't found that to be possible.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great bang for your buck.

By snappy from Undisclosed on 03/29/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Great Value

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images, Slow Auto-focus, Noisy Is

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Over all this is an excellent lens for the price. Images can be a tad soft at full zoom, but most of this lens's range is quite sharp. The build is not perfect but it is solid, and it is relatively light considering the focal range. The IS is a bit noisy, but it is not too bad. My biggest issue with this lens is that the auto focus does a poor job of tracking moving subjects. This can be frustrating since a zoom of this range is often used for wildlife and sports photography. Being f4, as opposed to say F2.8, further compounds this issue. That being said, in order to rectify all of those issues you have to spend twice the money, so I feel this lens is an excellent value for what you get.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great mid grade lens!

By todzilla from aurora,illinois on 03/02/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Compact And Light Weight, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

love the focal range,my most used lens! takes good indoor pics with low light and hand held.took some pics of seagulls flying and fishing at local pond and got some tack sharp images at all focal lengths! even 300mm looks sharp with 100% crops! works great with my 7d! great all around lens! only negative is focus ring a little loose but decided to go with image quality and not build quality.not L class build quality but image quality looks L class for a fraction of the cost.compact and light weight brings me out to 480mm with my 1.6 crop on my 7d. love it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Price for great quality

By Nicole from Allentown,PA on 02/13/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The lens is super fast auto focusing for sports/action shots. Sharp images. I've used this lens to shoot my horses playing with each other & some travel. The images are amazing & I'm very happy with my choice. I've used this lens for about 2yrs. From my experience using a tripod/monopod has greatly improved my photos. I did research this product before buying & don't regret it al all.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

2nd most used lens

By Peej Studio from Undisclosed on 12/04/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Great Image Stabilization

Cons:

Lens Creep In Low Light

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love this lens for nature and sports shots. This lens with my 7D is one of my favorite outdoor combinations.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for a novice

By Rawhyde from Alberta, Canada on 11/19/2009


Pros:

Light Weigth Won't Tire You Out Carrying It Around, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great lens for a beginner breaking into photography at a decent price. After a little experimenting my photos were taking on a "Post Card" type of quality. Light enough and with the IS, no tripod is necessary to get good results.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ok

By Eric from Grand Rapids, Mi on 11/12/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Blurred At Maximum Zoom, Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This lens was my first zoom telephoto purchase. Initially, I loved it. It has a fantastic auto-focus, the zoom range is great for wildlife, and it has a durable body. I have taken many excellent daylight photos with it, and although it gets more difficult at sunset, it can be done. The most striking problem with this lens and the reason I would not recommend it to anyone is the lack of sharpness at full zoom. It is so bad I don't take photo's at full zoom, I bring it down to 250mm to get a better quality image. The lack of sharpness is not initially noticeable, until you zoom into the image later. If you aren't planning on cropping, go for it, just don't make your image bigger than the standard 8x10, or you'll have problems. Happy Hunting


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Nice

By reverendiggy from Florida on 11/09/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just got my lens today and put it on my T1I. Took A few pictures and was amazed again at the quality of the pictures. This is a nice lens and is great. Well worth the bang for the bucks.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Semi-Pro Lens

By WMD from Bradenton,FL on 08/29/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Af Is A Little Noisy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a professional photographer and bought this lens as a carry-around (since it is lighter and smaller than the "L"s) for taking shots of family and friends for non-commercial use. I have since found that this lens is comparable to the "L" lenses in many ways, and has become a major part of my commercial work as well. The images produced are sharp and clear, AF is quick and the weight is perfect for normal use. The image stabilizer works wonderfully! This lens works equally well in both bright and dim light, image quality at max focal reduces a bit but is still highly acceptable. For the price, this lens is in my opinion, an EXCELLENT choice.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Lens, Period

By Sam7 from St. Louis, MO on 07/07/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Is Is Amazing On This Lens

Cons:

Slightly Noisy Af

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been using this lens for nearly a year now and am more than satisfied! The autofocus is smooth and fast as expected of USM. The image stabilization is almost unbelieveable! I've got shots of birds behind small limbs that would be impossible with out it. Using single, centerpoint autofocus with the IS and the incredible sharpness of this lens makes it the most used lens I own. By using the centerpoint even when trying to shoot through small branches, have had no problems with AF searching. I primarily shoot birds, landscape, and portrait and the only thing I wouldn't recommend this lens for is protraiture...there are better choices. This is an excellent lens, period. No if, ands or buts. It rivals and IMHO surpasses the DO version. The only thing I don't like is that the autofocus is a touch loud.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent lens for the money

By Pappy from Albany, NY on 07/03/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchase of this lens was a year or so ago to be used on a 40D. I find it to be one of the best lenses I own, it is used in conjunction with my "L" lenses in the daytime, mainly for quick moving subjects who are unaware of their images being made (used for legal, surveillance type work), it is quick, accurate and provides sharp images at any focal length. This is by far one of the better Canon lenses available at the price...too bad it was not f 2.8! However, I just added a 5D2 for my work and the result with this camera,high ISO and this lens is outstanding! The lens is also used with my regular work of weddings, editorial and event photography.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good for the money

By cameraguy from Colorado on 05/09/2009


Pros:

Good Shots For The Money

Cons:

Not A Sharp Photo When Zooming In, Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The lense is great for carrying aroud and getting most shots. However after seeing the quality of other lenses at the 300 or better zoom compaired to this lens i am shopping for a better lens for wildlife (I live in Colorado). I have decided on the EF300 f.4 to complement this lens. As stated for the price the 70-300 is great, the 300mm is much more money but if you want tack sharp wildlife shots at a distance study the MTF charts before making the purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

amazing lens

By kiki from Undisclosed on 04/28/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am so satisfied with this lens, the zoom is outstanding, and the image is crystal-clear. I would recommend this lens to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

FAST AUTO FOCUS WITH CRISP CLEAN SHOTS

By FILTHYSANDMAN from SAN DIEGO on 04/13/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Nothing Bad To Say

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST LENSES I HAVE EVER HAD. IT IS WORTH EVERY PENNY. THE AUTO FOCUS IS VERY FAST. I HAVE TAKEN LOTS OF BIRD PHOTOS AT MAXIMUM ZOOM AND THEY ALL COME OUT CLEAR AND VIVID. THE USM IS ABSOLUTELY SILENT. THE LENS IS VERY WELL BUILT. I WOULD SAY IT'S COMPARABLE TO L LENSES.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Value

By Don G from Orange Park, FL on 04/02/2009


Pros:

Relatively Light Weight, Above Average Sharpness, Lens Lock A Plus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus, Needs Usm

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Wasn't using my 70-200 2.8 because it was too heavy. Bought the original 70-300 but lens creep drove me nuts. This lens satisfies my long lens no tripod requirements. Well built, relatively light weight and sharp enough. Autofocus constantly dropping lock, have to use manual much of the time. Lens of this caliber needs USM.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Should have realized

By Lug Knut from clovis, ca on 02/28/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I should have realized what a quality lens can & should do. This lens has put excitement and satisfaction back in my picture taking adventures. 99% of my pictures are taken at car racing events, and at this point I am very pleased with my purchase and wonder why I waited so long to buy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Never Disappoints

By Bill from Saginaw, MI on 02/26/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was the first lens I bought in addition to the kit lens that came with the Rebel XT. I became really spoiled by how well this lens works. In two years, I have never had difficulty getting great shots. Other lenses, such as the 50mm f/1.2 or the 100mm macro can be really difficult to focus. But this lens always focuses well, and it is certainly worth the money. Compare the MTF charts for this lens to the charts for the 28-300 f/3.5-6.5 L IS.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Favorite Lens EVER!

By little bird from Indiana on 02/17/2009


Pros:

Lens Locking Feature, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I LOVE this lens! I have taken landscape and portrait pictures, plus various shots of animals. The pictures are clear and crisp. The lens is light in weight and the lens locking feature is great when carrying the camera/lens or storing in the bag. I can't imagine being without this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

love this lens

By debbie from Ohio on 02/09/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have had this lens for about a year now and I love it. I shoot a lot of kids football games and this is just big enough for me to handle. I can get the closeups when they are in the sidelines plus the action shots when they are on the field. Also use it to shoot motorcycle races. It has been a great lens for me and I see no reason to replace it anytime soon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mediocre Quality At High Zoom Range

By DigitalSeeker from East Coast on 12/13/2008


Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Purchased this lens to use with my Canon 40D. Found that it is not very sharp at longest focal lengths. Review of lens in Popular Photography magazine confirms this. Finally traded it in on the superb Canon 70-200 f/4 L IS lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great in daylight

By Verdect from Arlington Heights, IL on 11/26/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It is big when fully extended, and the apreature could be wider, but the image quaility is quite good and I have been very pleased with this lens overall. For daylight sports or telephoto needs I can highly recommend the lens. The IS is very effective, and it works both on 1.6 crop cameras and full frame/film slr's. If mounted to a smaller body like a Rebel I think it would be difficult to hold it steady at 300mm without the IS, but with IS shots are very sharp, given good light levels. I didn't purchase this lens for portraits, but to my surprise I have found it to be excellent for that application as well. When the light dims it reamins effective for still subjects, assisted by the excellent IS, but stopping action gets more challenging.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved