Home » Accessories » Camera Accessories » Lenses & Filters » 1242B002 » 53 Reviews

Canon Ef-s 17-55 F/2.8 Is Usm Standard Zoom Lens - 17mm To 55mm - F/2.8 (1242b002) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 53 reviews)

80% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Superior Build Quality (10), Super-sharp Images (32), Fast Auto-focus (33), Fast Focus (3)

Cons:

Poor Build Quality (11), Heavy (3), Semi-sharp Images (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Superb Lens

By bigron452 from Hopewell Junction, NY on 09/08/2015

I've had this lens for 5 months now and I find it to be outstanding. My photo's are extremely sharp, vibrant and colorful. The focusing is fast, though not as quiet as an STM and works beautifully. I use this lens with the 70D and recently went on a trip to Jamaica .. I took along one of my primes and the 55-250 stm and this lens never left my camera. I've become much better at reviewing the details of each picture and I'm pretty impressed. Being an enthusiast .. and nowhere near a pro, I can only share what I see. Would easily give this lens 5 stars if not for price and the weight. It's heavy .. and its cost is pushing the L series .. but since I don't shoot in extreme situations, where I need weather sealing - mainly family events, vacations etc .. this is the right lens for me. In low light, with the image stabilizer it's hard to beat .. If you value your pictures, and it's an investment .. but boy will you be happy. I wish Canon would update this lens and build more of this quality for the APS-C users out there .. I have 5 Canon lenses now and this has quickly become my go to lens ..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A True Pro APS-C Lens

By Visceral Image from Tampa, FL on 11/18/2014

I've owned this lens for over 6 years. In that time, I've realistically taken over 100,000 images with this very lens - and that's a conservative assumption looking at shutter counts. This is it for me. If I never purchased this lens, I would have probably abandoned the APS-C format all together because, honestly, there is no other lens I can think of that provides the useful focal range, fast aperture, and terrific image quality. I will use this for indoor and outdoor events and leave the thing at 4.0-7.1 all day long - depending on how much DOF I need. Then, when you wish to get a little creative, stop down to 2.8 and zoom out to 55mm for performance that honestly rivals some of my primes at that aperture. Image quality honestly rivals some L-series lenses - the 24-105 in particular. To make this lens even better, it's built like a TANK. I flat out neglected to secure down my RC2 tripod mount properly and within a few seconds, my 7D had fallen on to the filter ring and cracked it! I was concerned it would be a problem, but I was wrong. The lens kept on truckin' for the rest of the shoot, and several years after that. It's currently off to CPS to finally get repaired, and I already miss it. I have a large selection of lenses, but this one has always been my APS-C workhorse. I want to get it back ASAP to shoot on my 7D MkII and I can't wait. If you plan to use the APS-C format, this is the lens to buy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great lense

By suegogh from Las Vegas on 09/26/2014

I just love this lens. It's great for night shots. Don't hesitate buying this. Worth every dollar.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lense

By 7D from Undisclosed on 11/07/2013


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I decided to buy it as standard zoom lense, instead of having recommended kit lense for EOS 7D. I am glad I made a right choice, otherwise, I could have spent twice both on kit lens and EF 17-55. Its a great buy, stable with 2.8 gives a great changes to enhance the quality of work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

surprisingly good!

By Ivan from Lilburn, GA on 05/28/2013


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens, even with the EF-S format and inferior build quality, produces surprisingly good images, outcompeting even such "L" lens as 24-105/4 L IS USM. Particularly related to chromatic aberrations which in this lens are neglegible.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good and quite bad...

By Lurcus from New York, NY on 05/20/2013


Pros:

Image Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Stabilizer

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've hade this lens on my second body (7D) for nearly one year and I still think that's the best APS-C standard zoom on the market, as far as optical performances and focal range are concerned. Distortion at shortest focals is an issue and corner sharpness wide open is not impressive at all, but that's to be expected considering the kind of lens. What you wouldn't expect from such a lens, considering its price, is the poor built quality. It's not terrible, it's just not in line with the price. Same thing for the expensive hood, sold apart. I really hope for a "Version II" with a better built quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding Lens

By KennyDNY from Undisclosed on 04/06/2013


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I read all the negative on this lens but after carefully weighing my options, I purchased it and I have to say, I'm happy I did. Let me say first that it should be obvious that any zoom lens will have dust issues as they get older. Pumping the focal length in and out will carry dust into the lens body. It's cant be helped. If there was some unfortunate folks that got a lens that didn't live up to the Canon name, well that's why we buy from reputable sources, warranties. All and all I'm ultra pleased with this lens, wishing there were more constant aperture, internal focus , fast lenses in the line up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Buy

By Rj from Columbus Ga on 10/05/2012


Pros:

Works Well In Dim Light, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Lack Of Weather Resistance, Lack Of Resitance Of Focus Ring

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Having used this lens for over a year as a primary go to lens I find that it has it's place . i also own the 70-200mm f2,8is mk 1 i use this lens every chance i can. you have to compare apples for apples... the dif in a L lens well what can you say it's a L lens ....that being said this lens has nice weight and balance the manual focus ring is quite sensitive but after repeated use its managable The auto focus is fast enough to perform as built. i use this for weddings , events , portriats product and it always serprises me when i see my images on screen . the color capturing of this lens is wounderfull. I am never left without enough color detail . because of the light weight, operating without (IS) you have to really look very very hard to even notice any camera shake .which helps a lot in very dim light arenas Somtimes the focal point would fool you but that could user error at times . for the money if canon would just make it water resistant give the focus ring a do over like adding just a tweek of resistance this lens would feel more expensive and make you feel good with the cold cash your layin down .. although i would love a 24 - 70 mk2 and its fabulas glass for another k which also is in another class , useing this on the my 7d's with it's crop sensor give 's an equal range in those tight locations . I just love my 70-200mm which is in a whole nother class also . for the money, the wounderfull color in the images , and features. if you own a crop sensor camera this lens needs to be in the top five lenes in your bag


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent carry around ...

By Hari from Undisclosed on 09/16/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent carry around lens with sharp picture and fast focus. IS is excellent and probably the only f2.8 lens in this range. Dust creeping into the lens is an issue though and needs to be watched carefully.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Versatile very sharp lens

By ak troutbum from Anchorage Alska on 07/03/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have used this lens for approx. 4 years. Most of my other lenses are "L" types, it has produced results that are equivalent to those expected from an "L" lens. I use it for indoor large group social activities, both with and w/o flash--good depth of field for both folks close to the camera and those farther away. I also use it for flowers and'/or still life subjects where a macro is just too confining. It is also superb for scenic work here in Alaska and the Canadian Rockies. I would take it w/ me for my fly fishing but it is just too heavy w/ a fly rod!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

happy :)

By real07 from Birmingham, UK on 06/23/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Hello there.. Just wanted to leave some feedaback. I got into DSLR photography less than 1 year ago out of passion/interest. Bought the 60D body together with this lens 17-55 2.8 from Canon after reading loads of reviews. My main interest was good capabilities in low light and fast AF. I am happy to say this lens delivered. Sharp pictures, very good outcome in low light and I personally never had any problems with the dust (installed a Hoya UV filter as soon as I got my lens). USM is nice and IS is very handy. Although it felt a bit plastiky when I first laid my hands on it I had no problems with the construction and it never bothered me afterwoods. The weight does not bother me too much - I realised I ll have to put up with lots of gear when I decided to go into DSLR my aim being good image quality. It is difficult to compare this with other lenses - my only other lens is the nifty fifty - but the quality is considerably better compared to the 50 mm 1.8. Overall I am happy with the lens and hope my rookie input was helpful to some of you :P


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

sharp, fast, IS, wish it was internal zooming

By PVL from Bangor, ME on 06/18/2012


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Is, Fast

Cons:

Not Internal Focusing

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this lens for 4 years now, and it has gone through my "crop-sensor" evolution. Started with with Rebel XT, then Rebel Xsi, now on the T2i. It looks a little large on the T2i but it produces outstanding images. it is fairly sharp at 2.8, really sharpens up at 4.0 and the IS is quite useful. Canon makes the 10-22 with internal zooming, don't know why the didn't make this one that way, but I don't understand complex optics and marketing decisions. This lens is expensive, but it's very sharp and is the standard zoom for crop sensor for Canon crop sensor cameras. It's sharper than the primes Canon makes 50mm 1.4, 28 mm 1.8, etc. Those lenses don't sharpen up till f4, so there is no need to buy them, this lens will give you all the ranges of current Canon primes with IS to boot. One other gripe is the tendency of the front element to sag out when the camera is carried around for a long time. I accept that this is a big lens, but it is sharp and has IS. I just wish it had internal zooming.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love the IQ, confused by sealing

By Dave from Milwaukee on 06/10/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Adjustments Needed, Dust

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After making micro-adjustments for focus, this lens is dead on. Canon support generally indicates micros are not needed, but I've had to fine tune three lenses thus far. Right not, the IQ is superb in terms of sharp lines. I now use this as my standard for lens comparison. However,the dust has also affected my experience. Clearing the particles is relatively easy (5 minutes), so it doesn't affect overall performance. But for this price point, would expect a bit more sealing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens

By gt0077 from Medina, Ohio on 05/04/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great Great Great Great Great Great Great Great Great Great


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad distortion

By Art Fan from Saginaw, MI on 04/23/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Warning! This lens suffers from BAD barrel and pincushion distortion. It is the only Canon lens I've ever returned. The EF 24-105 f/4.0L IS USM is FAR superior.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good lens, dust inside

By Mr_Carlos from New York, Elizaville on 03/21/2012


Pros:

Constant Aperture, Fast Autofocus, Sharp

Cons:

Dust Inside, Not Sealed, Overpriced

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Good walk-around lens, sharp images, good performance in low light conditions, fast and silent autofocus... BUT after a few days of use I got big dust particles inside the lens, for the price that's just unacceptable


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

since 2007

By wizray from Ohio on 03/06/2012


Pros:

Reliable, Fast, Excellent Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens, to replace the kit lens on my 30D, for a trip trip to Alaska in 2007. It has seen almost constant use since then and is now on my 7D. I have more than 5000 shots on this lens. I love it! I have never had a problem with it. It is changed often for my long lens in the field. I have no dust issues. I like the way it feels when in use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens!

By DrJP from FL on 02/21/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great walk-around lens. Never disappoints.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed

By manu from Boulder Colorado on 02/11/2012


Cons:

Broken Auto Focus On 2nd Day

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Purchased the lens and within 2 days and about 100 photos, it broke. The Auto Focus feature stopped working.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My go to lens

By CHurc from Indiana on 01/30/2012


Pros:

Low Light Shots, Image Stablizer, Fast Focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an awesome lens for indoor and low light shots. The IS is worth it's weight in gold. I bought this to replace the kit lens and it is obviously a huge improvement. I have had a filter on the end of the lens since it was new and have had no problems with dust in the lens. The lens definitely gets more attention because of it's larger size which can be a pro or con depending on the person. The focus is fast and quite. I use this to take pictures of my newborn without a flash. As he has started to move around I have come to appreciate the IS and fast focus. The zoom is a good range for candid indoor shots. This lens can be handed to a average person to take picture on your camera without fear of super blurry pictures.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Incredible optics but poor seals

By DoNotUseYourRealN from Sunnyvale, CA on 11/27/2011


Pros:

Fast Focus, Bright, Sharp

Cons:

Heavy, Dust

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This becomes your everyday lens with extraordinary abilities. You can have a shallow depth of field, you can capture fast action, you can take closeups, you can use a polarizer in a forest, you can shoot indoors with ambient lighting, and you can even take pictures by the light of a campfire. It is extremely heavy but its sharpness and large aperture will often eliminate the need to cary primes. My big gripe about quality is that the lens barrel attracts dust then sucks it inside. Dust is, by far, the biggest factor in depreciation.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Better Than What's Reviewed

By Dyluck4 from Georgetown, Indiana on 09/19/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this Lens in 2009 because of the Optical Image Stabilization IS potintial and price Originally; and it's use low light is good added that you know how to use your Camera's settings correctly too! I have had no problems with the construction as discribed in earlier reviews and have had no dust issues. I been able to take great photo's with this Lens in my Rebel XTi and XSi but I can't use it in my 1Ds Mark lll because it is an EF-S Lens, so make sure your camera can use this Lens through the Compatibility Chart. My wife now uses it with the XTi and she Loves it as she's tryed my 28-200 mmm and the 85 mm 1.8 which was even lighter than the 28-200mm as we were thinking here picture taking problems were the weight of the Lens, so when the 85 1.8 didn't help I let her try my 200 mm f/2.8L ll which was really too heavy but she was taking great shots with a few bad ones. I then thought, hey try this, it was my 17-55 mm f/2.8 IS and suprisingly she has no problems with the weight and her photo's are better. She even Loves this Lens for the several obvious reasons and it's still on the XTi. She uses it for all her indoor shots and I had used it wants for a Fire Works display at my sisters with no problems.This is a great Lens if you're budget is at that in between mark!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Update to 3/23/2010 entry

By fryedleo from Lynchburg, Va on 07/25/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Here's an update to my entry a little over a year ago. I'd like to reiterate my commentary on the build quality. I was taking some pictures of an old family portrait that was laying flat on the kitchen table with the camera pointed down to get the picture. The front len bezel came apart and landed on the portrait. Fortunately the glass wasn't scratched . . Had the Canon guys not put it back together correctly when they cleaned the excessive dust out of in March of 2010? I can't answer that, but still stick to my "poor build quality" assessment, especially for a lens that costs as much as this one does.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good but...

By AlvisMedia from VA on 06/15/2011


Pros:

2.8 Is, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Got this lens a long time ago. Its great for an EF-S but if you are wanting to go full frame buy the EF 24-70L or the EF 16-35L, EF-S lens won't work with full frames cameras. Lucky I have a 7D and can still use this lens. It is a great lens for what it is and it has IS which the other two lens don't, but I would buy the 24-70L over it all the same. Just wish the 24-70L and the 16-35L had IS.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Average lens

By mircea from Marina del Rey on 02/05/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Average quality lens. After 2-3 years of using it moderately and taking good care if it, dust appeared inside the lens... If you pull a bit the zoom rubber ring you can actually see inside the lens... As someone else said maybe 28-105 f/4 is a better option, did not try it though.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Better than Kit Lens, but Heavy

By Doug from Indiana on 01/09/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Constant F2.8 Option, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Heavy For This Range

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm not a professional. I don't agree with the comments about poor build quality. This lens works, looks and feels just fine. This lens is faster and sharper than the 18-55mm kit lens, and is vastly superior if your goal is better pictures, especially indoors without flash. It may not equal an L lens but in general they cost more too. The only L zoom lens in this range doesn't have IS, which is important to me. This lens is big and heaviy for this range and it isn't a joy to carry around all day on a neck-strap. So there are trade-offs. Indorrs, I'll always use this lens and I'm glad I have it. On a vacation trip in bright outdoor light all day, I would probably compromise and carry the kit lens. I haven't seen any dust yet but it's too early to know how that will play out. No regrets about my purchase, as the faster lens makes beautiful indoor shots that were grainy with the kit lens since the camera used a higher ISO speed.!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Distortion!

By Bill from Saginaw, MI on 12/03/2010


Cons:

Semi-sharp Images, Pincushion Distortion!

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This lens has terrible pincushion distortion! At any focal length above about 20 mm, a rectangle that fills the screen will be severely distorted. Using this lens to photograph artwork is nearly impossible, and the focus is not great, either. This is the only lens I have ever returned. I would recommend the EF 24-105 f/4L IS USM instead. (The only "feature" of the lens, as far as I can tell, is the image stabilization, which works fine - hence 5 stars for that.)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best APS-C lens available

By 7duser from Salt Lake City, UT on 09/11/2010


Pros:

Usm Motor, Image Quality, Focuses Well, 2.8 Aperture, Construction, Image Stabilization

Cons:

Zoom Function Not As Smooth As Possible, Dust Gets In The Lens Somehow

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is the apex of the crop sensor camera lenses. The 2.8 aperture, IS (image stabilization), and good quality makes it the best lens I can think to get. I would have purchased an EF mount lens if there had been one with IS and all other features. The zooming is a little less smooth than I would want from a lens of this price but it's one of the only faults I can find. You may have read the lens gets dust inside on the front element. It's true. I have dust inside mine after 4-5 weeks. I hope it does not get worse. Canon needs to fix this "leak" but all things considered...great, great lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Loved it, Hated it, Hoping to Love it Again.

By GoHawks from Pittsburgh, PA on 06/30/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Image Stabilization Died On Day 2

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I was in love with this lens - it captured vivid colors, had wonderful saturation and clarity. But the IS died on it during my second full day of shooting. Very frustrating. I sent it back to the retailer and I'm hoping that my next copy does not have the same problems.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It delivers images with ...

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 05/17/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Heavy, Semi-sharp Images, Poor Images At Wide End

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It delivers images with relatively poor quality at 17mm end. Chromatic aberrations is not corrected as advertised/reviewed. Vigneting is severe at wide end, and is troublesome to use software to correct it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome lens

By Voyager13b from Central NJ on 05/15/2010


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this lens. I have owned it since the 30D was the latest APS-C camera, and it is currently shared between several cameras including the 7D for work and play. It is by far the most often used standard range zoom that I own. It has fast, silent, and accurate AF. It is rugged, it's controls are smooth, and fall to hand perfectly. The lens also captures beautiful, contrasty images without having to worry about stopping it down. The body material is very durable, and will not dent, crack, or show off-color wear spots. My lens has been around the world, and still cleans up like new. Mechanical feel is excellent, and does not become sloppy over time. The IS works like a charm, and maintains a steady viewfinder image as a bonus. Between the fast f/2.8 glass, and the amazing IS performance, this lens delivers a greatly extended range of creative possibilities within the ISO "sweet spot" of any APS-C camera. I have never had any dust issues with this lens at all, so I cannot relate to the troubles others have reported. I do keep a filter on the lens though, which might be the key. I don't use a filter on most lenses, but this one sees lots of use, and gets knocked around quite a bit, and it's just easier to wipe dirt and fingerprints off of a filter than the front element. I always use the lens hood. Always. It is cheap in the long run, as it keeps lens performance at it's best, and takes years of bumps and bangs that would otherwise go directly to the lens itself without complaint. The hood is nearly bullet proof. The lens can stand snow and drizzle as well as any other lens that isn't weather sealed, but I would stand in line to pay a premium if Canon offered it with full weather sealing like my 70-200 f/2.8 IS L lens. That would be perfection.... Meanwhile, I'm thrilled that Canon built a fast standard zoom for crop bodies that is almost perfect. Even after years of use, and a market loaded with fresh competition for a place in my kit, this lens continues to stand alone as the best standard range zoom for an APS-C camera that money can buy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not a good lens for outdoor photography

By fryedleo from Lynchburg, Va on 03/23/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I could really love this lens . . it's fast, it's sharp, it worked great on my 20D and even better on the 50D I upgraded to. It's a great size and the range is a sweet spot for my hiking photography. It stays on my 50D . . sharp enough that what I can't reach with the 55 range can be cropped to without sacrificing a lot of quality. BUT . . . it just collects too much dirt & dust for Grand Canyon (and other) hiking. I would have rated this higher in EVERY category if it wasn't for this dust issue. Yes, I see where people say the dust doesn't impact the picture quality, but I disagree. I see it . . It's not an outdoor lens. I've had this lens for three years (or so) and had to send it off for cleaning twice. For the money spent maybe I should have saved a few $$ and gotten the 17-40L . . . not as fast, but hopefully better built.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Most used lens in the bag!

By Mac from New Castle, Delaware on 01/22/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Dust Seals

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens was the first EF-S series lens I purchased and found it to be very dependable. I've finally got the results from a wide angle that was able to be appreciated. My clients have been very impressed with the sharpness.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Performance beyond expectations

By Guido232 from Ogdem , Utah on 12/06/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Not A Single Thing I Can Find

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens for a trip in Sept. 2009 to Eroupe and upgraded my 10D camera to a 40D for this lens. I really liked the speed of f2.8 and the wide angle, the IS made the rest to get some great shots. I knew this was worth every penny when I printed a 24 x 36 gloss print of a sail boat on a lake in Italy. It was crystal clear and sharp. It was beyond what I expected. Enoughy that I just replaced my other telephoto with another 2.8 IS lens. I have been using Canon for over 35 years now, the camera and lens performance is what I count on. I shot over 1800 photo's in 3 weeks, as can be said, "The MoneyShot" !!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great prime wedding lens

By servispg from Terre Haute, IN on 11/10/2009


Pros:

Light, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Expensice

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this as my main lens at wedding on my 40D with nice results. This is a great lens if you shoot indoors and need a fast lens that get the full picture.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome

By Andrew from Richmond, VA on 11/04/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using this lens for appox. 4 years and I am completely satisfied with what the lens produce. I feel confident with this lens and the results are awesome. I only wish that I could use the lens on my full frame bodies. I do not understand why canon makes two sets of lens, other than staying in my pocket.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

overpriced - should be a l lens

By grsthegreat from idaho on 10/12/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Should Include Lens Hood Soft Case

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

overall im happy with the lens, but for a lens as expensive as this one is, it should be a L build lens , have a carry bag and at the very least it should include a hood. Other than thatm im happy with the performance....so far


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Overall Lens for Cropped Sensors

By Coog from Nyack, NY on 10/09/2009


Pros:

Versatile, Fast Auto-focus, Good Build Quality

Cons:

Dust Magnet

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this lens for 3 years now and it's my "go-to" lens, my default lens. The large 2.8 aperture allows me to get those low-light shots. It's relatively light-weight and built well. However, it is not weather and dust sealed. This is wear it falls short. Because of the way it zooms in & out, it's a siphon for dust!!! I cant tell you how much LARGE particles I have INSIDE the lens!! I have to photoshop the dust specks out of images that are backlit!!!! Just what I need, more post processing! But that's my only complaint, unfortunately, I think it's a major one considering the COST of this piece! I came across this review page because I was actually looking for REPAIR INFO to get it cleaned. So now I either put up with the extra photoshopping or shell the money to get it professionally cleaned. =\


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Huge bang for the buck!

By G-Dave from Leavenworth, KS on 10/08/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So glad I made this investment for shooting weddings! Dimly lit churches are no match for this awesome lens. Superior shots from start to finish. No more worries of blurred shots using this 2.8 lens. If you do weddings or other indoor shoots where flash is a no-no, you must own this one! This will pay for itself in no time!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Terrific

By BridesChoice from CA on 09/07/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Low-light Excellence

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a beautiful, great performing lens. It can be the only lens in your "bag".... replacing wide-angle, normal and portrait lenses. It's an f 2.8 with IS, so you can shoot in very low light like a you would with a 1.4 or even a 1.2!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Few problems

By Luke from Portland, OR on 09/07/2009


Cons:

Semi-sharp Images, Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This lens performs great but collects dust easily. The stabilizer makes pictures blur. This is a serious problem. With the IS turned off, pictures are very sharp. Warranty just ended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Sharp Lens

By bobster75 from Los Angeles, CA on 09/07/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Kinda Heavy, The Price Is Pretty High

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens around 4 months ago and I used this as my all purpose lens for now.. It takes very sharp pictures and the f2.8 is very fast.. Mine focuses very quietly.. I took this to Europe with me and it was excellent for landscaping shots all around.. The only 2 problems I have is that this lens is pretty expensive but it's worth every penny.. And its pretty heavy carrying it around all day.... But I highly recommend this lens... Two thumbs up..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens

By P from Minneapolis, MN on 08/27/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Not An Ef Mount.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this lens for over a year now. It is my favorite lens by far and stays on my camera (50d) almost all the time. I have not had a single issue with it. It is ultra fast and the blurr you get is wonderful. I have not seen any dust in my lens like the other reviews and I think the build quality has been exceptional. I would not want to add any additional weight since this is already a big piece of glass.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best for croped Frames

By jrphoto from Sanger, CA on 07/19/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For those Wedding Photographer who are using the 1.6X format DSLRs such as the Rebel line or 20D-50D. This is the best lens for those cropped formats! And is all you should use for such and important event, when it comes to using Standard Zoom lenses. The wide F/2.8 aperture and the glass quality of this lens are as good as they can get with a Standard Zoom lens so far. It allows faster shutter speeds in low light situations, such as Churches and allows you to use low ISO settings, in most cases. Sharpness, contrast and image quality are excellent. Oh and dont forget about the fast, accurate and quiet focusing. The USM is what you need for Weddings. No IS? Well its not needed on this zoom range. But if Canon decides to make an EF-S 55-150mm F/2.8. Then I would expect them to add IS, as well as all the features I just mentioned. Canon needs to make more EF-S lenses with the quality of this lens, but to cover all the following zoom ranges. 55-150mm 2.8, 30mm 1.4, and 10-22mm 2.8


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Take your APS-C to the next level

By His Ripness from Undisclosed on 06/13/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Low Chromatic Distortion, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Yeah, this lens is very good. Just got finished with a full day of shooting with it. Razor-sharp, low chroma distortion, wide aperature, good build quality, ultra-fast focus, useful zoom. Arguably one of the best lenses available. If you're still shooting with the kit lens, you have no idea how good your shots could be looking.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NIght owl

By PF from Reading, PA on 03/16/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Dust Magnet

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I needed a wide angle lens worthy of indoor event and group shots for my 40D. After much research, my only alternative was 16-40mm L. Heavy and more expensive. Even for a guy like me, every .oz counts and can be felt at the end of a long day. EFS was the way to go, and the 17-55mm F2.8 was a perfect fit. I also shoot with a 1Ds and L glass for products, but I like the weight and feel of the 40D, and the 17-55 was a perfect compliment for flashless, indoor shooting. Shooting folks on a spotlit stage is not a difficult task, but those whom walk into the dark or pace just outside the light is a challenge. F2.8 and Image Stabilization combination was a life saver, in fact, it was the only way to get the shot without using flash. 55mm of reach on a 1.6crop was just enough range to keep me on the sidelines (third row back), but still get a reasonably tight shot (full body) on the podium. A constant f2.8 and the camera could see well enough to focus, and with IS, I could get adequate shots at ISO 500 and down to 1/30 sec. When enountering a moving target, I could dial in ISO 800 and bump up to 1/80 sec. Image stabilization is very important, even with my 135L F/2, wide open, I was getting 1 out of 5. Switching to the 17-55 and moving closer I was getting 3 out of 5 for keepers. Needless to say, the 135 F2 L stayed in the bag. Between shows, and times when I could venture outdoors or about the resort, I found the 17-55 to be the perfect walk-around lens. It is also tack sharp, and like the 100mm Macro F2.8, it's a sleeper "L" lens. That is, iIf it had a stronger build, it would qualify for a red ring. Outside, when used with the hood, I found little issue with contrast robbing flare. My only gripe is that this lens gathers alot of internal dust, which does not affect image quality. Otherwise, my final take is that It's a winner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"Vacuum cleaner"

By ogb from St.-Petersburg on 03/14/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Poor Dust Protection

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Insufficient dust protection taking into account the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worthwhile Addition

By OlderUser from Louisville, Colorado on 02/22/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Got this lens in place of the kit lens for the 40D. Also have the 24-70 f2.8L. Have matched them shot for shot. Miss the 70mm, but the size, weight, and IS make this the lens of choice for most of my walk-around shooting. Recently tried it with an infrared conversion. Forgot to use the lens hood - really noticed the flare. Couldn't see it in the viewfinder. Without the flare, this lens competes well with the "L" glass in the 24-70. If you're sticking with a small chip, that is, one that can use the EF-S lens, this is a terrific addition/replacement.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great GP Lens

By BB from CA on 02/11/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great in low-light situations. Images are sharp, and built well for non-L lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Have workout will travel

By vman from ny ny on 02/02/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Heavy, Big

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Heavy, Big, and Large comes with this lens. its a unique and stunning piece of eqiupment to say the least. Say good buy to your little pop up flash friend and hello to biceps made of steel carrying this thing around. It's your choice, quality pics, or quality of life?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One of canons Best

By TJ from Michigan on 02/01/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After about a year of use, mostly weddings, I would say this is a very nice lens. I use two lenses in my work, this lens and the canon 70-200 f/2.8L IS. The blur is perfect and low light is no problem for either. I use a canon 50D and the crop factor (1.6) works well with both. The quality of photos under all conditions has been nothing less than perfect. Many weddings I only use the 17-55 and leave the 70-200 in the bag for a back up. The size, weight, and balance are nice. Portraits are perfect. Has zoom, IS, 2.8, fast focus, and great performance, but should be offered in a L seies for weather and dust. No problems yet but for the money it could be built better. Considering the choices Canon offers, It is a must have.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great EF-S lens

By Flick from Undisclosed on 01/03/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Not A Sealed Lens Dust Enters Easily

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Fantastic results from this lens. I have two now. One for over a year with over 25,000 images shot from it. This is as close as it gets to "L" glass quality with EF-S lenses folks!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Lens!

By photogeek133 from Kansas on 10/28/2008


Pros:

Fast Focus, Works Great In Low Light, Sharp!

Cons:

Plastic Parts Not L Spec, Lens Flare!

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an excellent lens and the cream of the crop for the EF-S line of lenses. The lens is very sharp and clear under most situations. I rarely have to apply any sharpening to the images in editing. The lens balances well on my 30D and BG-E2. It focuses fast and silently and the Image Stabilization works like a dream. I use this lens most often shooting weddings and the IS along with the constant f/2.8 aperture make this THE lens for low light shooting. Paired with the 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM I am hard pressed to find a lighting situation that I can't work unencumbered by tripods/monopods. This lens represents an excellent value when compared to other lenses in the Canon line and other brands. The only negatives to this lens are the build quality and lens flare. After working with L quality lenses, it's a step down in quality construction but a huge step up from the entry level kit lenses and mid-level variable aperture lenses. The lens flare is very noticeable. I can't escape it even with the (not included) lens hood. Less expensive lenses perform much better at blocking flare compared to this lens. I suppose that's the price you pay for the extra lens elements introduced for the IS to work. Overall, I am very pleased with this lens and will keep it on my 30D all the time when I move to the full frame 5Dmk II.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved