Home » Accessories » Camera Accessories » Lenses & Filters » 1257B002 » 31 Reviews

Canon 1257b002 Ef 50mm F1.2l Ii Usm Medium Telephoto Lens (1257b002aa) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 31 reviews)

77% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Fast Auto-focus (12), Super-sharp Images (12), Superior Build Quality (19), Bokeh (4)

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images (6), Slow Auto-focus (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Absolutely amazing! ...

By Hakim from Allentown, PA on 04/24/2015

Absolutely amazing! Whatever composition I want to achieve when taking video, the Canon EF 50mm f/1.2L USM does the rest! With the newly installed Dual Pixel AF in my C100, I am taking my work to a higher level. I must admit, I wish the prices were more competitive though. I already spent a fortune on 4 Canon EF L series fast lenses.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It put most of my other lens on the shelf

By Freddo from Undisclosed on 12/05/2014

I am not a one to write reviews but this one made me do it. After seeing pictures that I took with this lens I am having hard time using any other of my lens. I was looking for something that would make my portraits sweeter and dreamier and this lens surpassed expectations. Maybe next step will be 85 1.2 (no, definitely) but for now I have or know of no other lens for my gear that gives so much color and dreams and character to my pictures. What I was looking for. If you need sweet smiles with sparkling eyes looking out of a creamy bokeh and surrounded with outstanding outdoor colors, that is it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awsome lens

By Ferjuca from Fl on 11/09/2014

I love this lens so much it is great bokeh rules I would recommend this lens to anyone who loves quality pictures


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing piece of glass

By auflor from houston on 09/17/2014

This is the best lens I have used. I own multiple L-lenses and this one is the one that finds itself on my camera most of the time


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Images

By adamh from Northwest Indiana on 08/29/2014


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Not Cheap!

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I upgraded this lens from my 1.4 for a trip to France where I assumed (correctly) that flash would not be permitted in museums and churches. I am extremely happy with the images captured; I have great images inside the Notre Dame Cathedral in Paris while all those around me were struggling with their 3.5 - 5.6 zooms. OK, it's a heavy and expensive lens, but the images are perfectly clear and have a warm and personal feel. Haven't tried serious portraiture with it yet so can't comment on Bokeh, but I sure like the build and feel of the lens. My 1.4 was good, but this lens is a real keeper.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lightning fast

By Shooter from Kaunakakai, Hawaii on 06/26/2014


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

In a lens fight the 50mm 1.2 would be my first choice. Big, ultra fast and very good looking lens. Creating works of art in photography any L lens would be great to have. And the 50 1.2 has the potential for creative works or art in photography. I had this lens for one month and only beginning to see impressive results in image quality. The colors achieved at f1.2 are amazing. Creating works of art is doable with this lens. Any Canon 50mm is a good choice, but the big 50L is worth the experience. And if it works for you at your level of expertise then keep it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

just as expected!

By rl from greenwich,CT on 03/29/2013


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

love this lens. i have a 5D mark 1 w/ came with the 24-105L as a kit so im used to the vivid colors of the L lens. been using it for awhile but got tired of shooting indoors! so i bought a 1.8 just to try out, love the result, no stalling , quick focus etc. since using this for a awile i decided the 50mm is all i need for what i use the camera for so then i sold the 24-105 and the 50 to get this. im so glad and happier eversince! plus love how it dwarfs the camera, this thing is huge! but i love it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens

By Liberty from Missouri on 02/02/2013


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been putting off purchasing this lens for a while because of it's back focus (focus shift) problem which occurs only when photographing at extremely close distance using the center focus point of the camera. However, once I found out that this back focus problem can be overcome by simply using a different focus point, I went for it and bought the lens. I absolutely love the lens and I'm very happy with my purchase. I simply love the contrast and sharpness this lens produces. And the bokeh is so beautiful. At 1.2 f/stop, the images are a bit soft because of the extreme width of the aperture, however, the lens gets sharper as you stop down. I've taken some great image at 1.2 f/stop that look beautiful and sharp, and contrasty.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent lens if you know what are you getting

By sy from colorado on 08/25/2012


Pros:

Image Quality, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Back Focus Problem

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My copy had strong back focus from f1.2 out of box. This shouldn't be the quality of the lens at this price range. I had to micro-adjust to -14 to focus correctly. I tested about two to three feet distance. It seems to me more you stop down, focus moving backwards in a very small increment. I was aware of focus shift issue on this lens before the purchase and found out to be true. Its there. Now I micro-adjusted focus right on spot at f2.0. So its very slightly front focus on f1.2. You start noticing back focus from around f2.8 on until DOF kicks on. To me focus shift won't be too critical in most cases. Ive read other reviews and I guess some people had the same issue as my copy, which made me feel a little better knowing that Im not the only one. It is reasonably sharp from f1.2. Its definitely sharper when stopped down. It sometimes creates color fringe ghosting at f1.2 that makes images look quite soft, but Ive shot some images that are definitely not soft. At f1.2 DOF is pretty thin, and I've got some hit and miss on focus but that could be cameras lack of auto focus capability also. _ In real life shooting, this lens produces fantastic images as I expected. Now the focus is adjusted, its been such joy playing around with it. Bokeh is very nice and creamy. I love the colors that come out of this lens. Portraits with wide aperture create a certain atmosphere. Built quality is of typical L lenses. _ I have been using EF 50mm f1.8 Mark I. This is also one of my favorite lenses I ever owned. My copy is an old lens from 1987. Its noisy but very sharp and performs good focus ability. (In fact if you can find a good copy, I highly recommend it.) Comparing these two lenses, theres no question that f1.2L is superior in every way. But f1.8 Mark I isnt all bad at all. So the question is f1.2L worth ten times more money? Its hard to justify if you dont need wider aperture, better bokeh, USM, or rugged built. But you surely get the satisfaction of owning one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My favorite lens, bar none.

By e-d0uble from Newtown, CT on 03/29/2012


Pros:

Superb Build Quality, Great Contrast, Beautiful Bokeh

Cons:

Expensive, May Be Slow To Focus For Some

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is often maligned as extremely fast glass sometimes is. I feel it absolutely does not deserve this reputation. When used (and possibly configured) properly this lens produces gorgeous results. I never leave this lens behind. If you're shooting a portrait wide open from 1.5 meters away the depth of field is so shallow that while the subject's eye is in focus the tip of her nose certainly won't be. If the photographer isn't aware of this behavior she probably should stop down and use a flash. That being said, if you do stop down this lens behaves like a high quality slower normal (50mm!) should. It's sharp as heck. I've shot some (unexpected) landscapes and even some action shots with it, despite its heft. AI servo isn't explicitly recommended with this lens, but I've gotten away with it. Regarding my statement about properly configuring: I found that to achieve optimal results on a full frame body (5d mark II, and now my new mark III) I had to micro-adjust the the body to the lens. This was imperative to achieve sharp shots at f/1.2-f/1.6 or so. Some also say this lens focus-shifts at approximately f/2.0-f/4.0 or so due to it not having a floating rear element. I've not noticed this behavior but this phenomenon may be real for some. I do feel this lens is a little too spendy, but after experimenting with the 50mm f/1.4 I'm happy I bought the most expensive of the three 50s Canon produces. The build quality of this lens is fantastic, and it's definitely rugged. I've dropped my copy on a hardwood floor at least three times and it's none the worse for wear. If you like low-light photography and shallow depth of field.. do yourself a favor and get this gem. If you're used to shooting with what used to be called normal focal length (50mm) get this gem! You'll be happy you did.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Top-flight piece

By NotAnselAdams from Chicago on 02/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens has performed well. Photos in low and in available light have been outstanding, and substantially lower to free of the noise I have encountered with slower lenses (e.g., f/3.5). Photos of city streets and scenes at night are finely captured. No AF issues to report. Rendering of out-of-focus areas is as expected--excellent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

focus issues

By alex wedding phot from Florida on 02/25/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Slow focus, annoying front focusing issue (on 5D MkII and 60D). better built than 1.4, but in terms of images no different than 1.4. will try another copy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens if you know how to use it

By Jethro from Tucson on 01/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens for two reasons, focal length and depth of field. I have had the lens for about 6 months now and shot a few thousand images with it. I did have some difficulty using it at first but found that it was due to my technique and not the lens. With other lenses that have a larger depth of field, or the 50mm 1.2 set to F4 or larger I can focus and recompose and get sharp images. I've found that the depth of field with this lens set lower than ~F4 requires me to compose my shot, select the nearest focal point to what I want to focus on, and then crop the image later if necessary. If I forget to do this the shots are less than 50/50 on getting a sharp photo. By selecting the focus point I want my keepers go way up and the sharpness and contrast are great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not for the faint of heart

By ABQ.Joe from Albuquerque, NM on 12/12/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Low Light Superstar, Good Contrast, Fast Focusing, Accurate Color, Perfect Bokeh

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the Canon EF 50mm f/1.2L to use on a 7D body for events where a flash is considered intrusive, but I find myself trying to use this lens anywhere I can now. This lens makes me money. On a crop body, the 80mm range is makes it very similar to the 85mm f/1.2L on a full frame body, except the focusing is at least twice as fast and far more accurate. It's a great (almost perfect) portrait lens. To say that the Canon EF 50mm f/1.2L's background blur is amazing is a ridiculous understatement. Even better still, the quality of that blur (bokeh) is without peer. BUTTERY CREAMY SMOOTH BOKEH! Mmm-mm yummy! IMPORTANT: a 1.2 lens wide open has a VERY narrow DOF. SUPER narrow. If you don't choose your focus point very carefully, your image is fuzz, game over. I highly recommend using a single AF point when composing, to make sure you're selecting your EXACT focal point; there's no 'almosts' with this lens when it's wide open. You need to consider your uses and your skill level very carefully before you drop the sizable chunk of cash this lens demands; if you're up to it, so is the 50mm 1.2L: it is a superstar in the glass arena. Regardless of what some say, this lens outperforms the 50mm f/1.4 hands down. Its got almost perfect color rendition and contrast --I own the 1.4, and it doesn't. Its color reproduction is flat, and the contrast is lacking too. The 1.2 at least as sharp as the 1.4 at f/1.4 and maybe even at 1.2. The 50mm f/1.4 is a dull, boring lens that collected dust in my bag; the 1.2 is a lens I find ways to make fit in a shot. If you're skilled and want the ultimate in low light performance and stunningly beautiful narrow DOF, have low light needs and just love beautiful bokeh, you will love this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is my absolute ...

By Digital Artwerks from Seattle, WA on 07/14/2011


Pros:

Weatherproofing, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Bokeh, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my absolute favorite lens. I love to shoot with it in low light conditions w/o flash. It is always attached to one of my rigs when on a shoot. It's perfect for portraits, weddings, and concert photography. The ability to shoot at f/1.2 is something you have to experience first hand. There is definitely a big difference between the canon 50mm f/1.4 and f/1.2, I don't care what others say. That half stop creates a superior, and beautiful shallow DOF , as well as bokeh. As good a build quality you can get from a canon lens other than the white lenses. I live in the Pacific Northwest, where it rains a LOT. But I never worry about that, due to the weather proofing from the gasket on the mount. When shooting models and they give me a "certain look", and I always say ... STOP!, stay just like that. Then I grab my other rig which has the 50mm f/1.2 (sometimes the 85 milly) attached, and I just start to walk all around and shoot. It seems to accentuate facial expressions, add emotion, and the isolation from the background is BUTTA!! When I get on my computer and start grading my images, a higher percentage of my favorite shots were taken with the 50mm f/1.2 or 85mm f1.2. I would never shoot a wedding (too much work/headache), but this would be my primary lens along with a 85mm f/1.2. And I could't take a wedding/event photographer too serious without either the 50mm or 85mm in there arsenal.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing Bokeh and DOF

By JT from Undisclosed on 05/03/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Bokeh

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a must have lens, no substitutions. The image clarity is out of this world and is now my new portrait style lens. Bokeh is smooth and creamy, never looked better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't quibble about the 50mm f/1.2

By RLM from Denver, CO on 01/30/2011


Pros:

Excellent Af At Middle Distance And To Infinity, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fantastic Bokeh

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've read a lot of quibbling about this lens and very little of it makes sense. With this kind of speed (isn't that why one buys this kind of lens?) you will always get a degree of distortion. If you want near perfect rectilinearity, buy a macro or the 14mm, not a high-speed optic. Complaints about physical size and price strike me as silly and the kind of comment only a novice would make. The 50 f/1.2 is large and sturdy, necessary traits to support such an optical formula, and that kind of optics doesn't come cheap. The lens balances beautifully on my 5D Mark II. Bokeh is sensational, but yes, you must be mindful of the very swallow field of focus at close distances: this is characteristic of such a lens. If a test shot reveals an error with the AF, shoot again using the manual focus ring. This is not brain science! I love the feel and quality of this glass and wouldn't part with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Followup to first review

By Stuart from Greenwood, IN on 01/08/2011


Pros:

Less Vignette Wide Open Than The 50/1.4, Creamy Smooth Bokeh, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Inaccurate Autofocus, Fringing Under F/2.0, Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is a followup to my first review on July 7, 2009 titled "Disappointment". I returned the 50mm f/1.2 lens that I had reviewed for a full refund. Several months later I purchased a second copy, which I am reviewing here. In the same manner as I had evaluated the first copy, I used the second copy with my 5D II for a day. I snapped about 400 images of my kids and objects inside and outside the house. What I liked about the 50/1.2 was a 1/2 stop light advantage over the 50/1.4, creamy bokeh, and less vignette than the 50/1.4 when shot wide open. The biggest problem with the second copy, which was the same problem I had with the first copy, was that autofocus was inaccurate. When I focused on a person's eyes, for example, something else would be in focus in front of or behind the person's eyes. Not all the time, but often enough, like about 30%. When I encountered these problems, I would immediately switch to the 50/1.4 and shoot the same settings and conditions. I didn't have any autofocus problems with the 50/1.4. And, the images that were in focus with the 50/1.2 generally weren't as sharp as those from the 50/1.4. I eventually returned the second 50/1.2 for a refund and decided that the 50/1.4 was good enough. For reference, the autofocus method I used was center point AF with recompose. Also, the 5D II camera I used has no autofocus problems with my other lenses, including the 85/1.2, 35/1.4, 24/1.4, 70-200/2.8 IS Mk II, etc.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Burgeoning Love

By Chris from Long Beach, CA on 01/04/2011


Pros:

Shallow Dof, Bokeh, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Weight, Shallow Dof, Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Who am I and what is my experience with the lens: I am not a professional photographer, I am a hobbyist and primarily take pictures family. I purchased this lens a month ago and have about 1,000 frames on it thus far using my 5D. Compared to my other appropriate lenses: In comparison to the 24-105mm f/4L, this lens is incredible. It is sharper and i will take the faster lens over IS any day. It doesn't appear as sharp as the 85mm f/1.8 though I haven't measured this by any scientific means. The 85mm is a bit long for most of the situations I find myself in however. This lens is the same weight as the 24-105mm! How did i rate each category: Features - Its a prime lens and has a focus ring and MF switch ... Hard to miss on this one. Wish it had IS ... (please don't hit me, just like being able to shoot with a long shutter when desperate) Performance - Focusing: Not fast in low light though not usually noticeably slower than my other lenses. I have read about back focusing issues and don't think it will EVER be a problem for anyone hand holding. Just focusing and re-framing messes up the focus more than that! I take one star away for the slow focus ... Price/Value - The f/1.4 is right in there at one third the cost. That makes this a tough pill to swallow. I haven't used the f/1.4 but it deserves some serious consideration. Read on though, I don't think these lenses are equal. I take another star away (being generous) ... Build Quality: Excellent ... seems stout and like it is ready for a long tough life. Picture Quality: Sharpness seems to be quite good especially for how wide it goes. I cant vouch for the sharpness in the corners ... I haven't taken a single picture with this lens that be negatively impacted by that. Boke is AMAZING. I didn't know it could get this good. Could this have been a major design driver for the lens? CA ... I dont notice much at any f-number. One issue I have noticed is internal reflections. I came across it when shooting Christmas lights with low ambient light and wide apertures. This had me concerned for a while, but in real world shooting I have not seen a single problem. Vignetting is very real but haven't seen a single picture negatively impacted by this either. Saturation is quite nice and contrast is really good. Both noticeably better than the 24-105mm. Satisfaction - This lens is not what I expected. I wanted a super fast lens that would allow me to take images in the dark. Ok, i knew it was going to be hard to focus at 1.2 but WOW ... it is near impossible with a moving target, especially with the slow focus. The low light capability is good but isn't the strong point of this lens, i wouldn't buy it for that. I am learning (hence the title) how incredibly powerful the images created by this lens are. The low DOF combined with the excellent boke and some pronounced vignetting ... these are some of the best pictures I have ever taken. Ok, the f/1.4 is cheaper, and I haven't used it ... but if its anything like my 85mm f/1.8 then these lenses are NOT the same. Bottom line is: If you want a sharp fast 50mm, the f/1.4 should be on your list. I think these lenses are quite different. Even though this lens is REALLY hard to focus and can be really frustrating, it has produced the most powerful images I have taken. I didn't get what I was expecting but am learning what this lens is all about ... and I like it ...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A specialist lens

By Melo from Undisclosed on 12/23/2010


Pros:

Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Too Bulky, Slow Auto-focus, Semi-sharp Images, Over Priced

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This lens is a specialist lens, perhaps good for scientific applications but its size and weight as a 50mm lens makes it impractical as a "standard" lens. I decided to try this expensive lens as a replacement for my faulty 50/1.4 after the AF motor stopped working. Having used it for a month I am afraid to say that this is certainly the Canon lens that I am least satisfied with. With the 1.2L's powerful ring USM it should, in theory, focuses much faster than the 1.4's micro USM. In practice, the difference in AF speed is not that obvious at all, it seems to me that the more refined focusing distance ring (compared to the 1.4's) makes the 1.2L travels much farther to hunt from infinity to 0.45m. Also, the image quality improvement over the 1.4 (at comparable aperture setting) is only very slight. Its much bigger and heavier than the 1.4 so even that 1/2 stop aperture difference doesn't really help with hand-held shooting in the dark. In summary, I don't find any practical advantage for "general purpose" photography and considering the practicality and price difference I have decided to give the 50/1.4 another go. Having owned all three 50mm f/1.8 II, 1.4 and the 1.2L, I personally think the 1.4 offers best compromise in terms of image quality, practicality, price, and focusing performance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Minimum Lighting & Maximum Coloration

By Tim from Honolulu Hi on 09/25/2010


Pros:

Exceptional Detail

Cons:

Exacting To Focus At Night

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Canon 50 f/1.2 exceeds my expectations for detail and coloration: It is also difficult for me to focus at night in low light conditions. At night the auto-focus searches, manual focus is better but far from easy to accomplish. I have had best results at night using manual focus, f/1.2, ISO auto, the U/V filter removed to avoid lens-flare, and this is on the 5D MII. This lens works well in the daylight with the normal daylight f-stops. Using a B+W circular polarizer will add a nice depth to daylight shooting while hiking. The images from this lens seem to be of a higher quality than those shot at the 50mm setting on either the 24-70mm L, or the 24-105 L lenses. Canon prime lenses are worth the trouble of renting and examining in your individual shooting conditions: I found them of value to me as a landscape photographer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

super lens....

By dave from NEW ORLEANS, LA. on 09/19/2010


Pros:

Super Lens

Cons:

Over Priced

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Best prime lens if you got the extra bucks. I said good-by to the sorry CANON ef 24-70 L lens .


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst Purchase Ever

By 3bb from Undisclosed on 05/08/2010


Cons:

Semi-sharp Images, Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Terrible lens because of the price point. At 3 times the price the image crispness and durability is almost the same.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor Build

By Chris from Jacksonville on 04/24/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This lens has been loose around the hood and and outside frame. I love the shallow depth of field and super low light photography for indoor photography, especially weddings. Would not buy this 50 mm L f1.2 go with the less expensive 50 mm.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My Favorite

By J_M_R from Orange County, CA on 11/16/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Bokeh, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I couldn't be happier with this lens. This was clearly my best lens decision and would purchase again in a heart beat if it was ever lost or stolen. Can't say I would do the same with some of my other L glass.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

You Con People Are Crazy!

By Snipes from Orange County, CA on 10/21/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I recently purchased this lens. After reading threw all the pros and cons I still have nothing but good things to say about it. I own a Mark III and Mark II and with both cameras, this lens by far is the sharpest and most amazing lens to work with. Its fast, and very diverse. I shoot for major companies and hit industry with modeling and action sports.Trust me buy it and add it to your collection you cant go wrong. Its ability to hit 1.2 and have a ISO or 50 or 100 just sucks in the light making every shot perfect and fast really fast.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is why I stick with Canon!

By kcwell from USA on 10/16/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Versatility

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i really went back and forth between this and the 85mm 1.2 I those this because I knew I would be using the vid feature on my 5D MKII. Boy, am I glad I chose 50mm 1.2! Not that 85mm is worse, but the 50mm is so versatile. I can use it for portrait settings, fast-action work, and video! It just performs every task well. This is my lens of choice! If you know what you are doing, the lens will get the job done, period.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointment

By Stuart from Greenwood, IN on 07/07/2009


Pros:

Less Vignette Than The 50mm F/1.4 Wide Open, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Creamy Smooth Bokeh

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images, Noticeable Fringing Under F/2.0, My Copy Back-focused By About 3 Mm, Softer Than Both The 50mm F/1.4 And The 85mm F/1.2, High Miss Rate In Good Light

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Out of the box, back-focused by approximately 3 mm on my 5D II, which is fixable with either micro-adjustment or sending it in for re-calibration. Compared to my 50mm f/1.4, it had superior bokeh, less vignette, and about the same autofocus speed. But, it was softer than the 50mm f/1.4 all around. Wide open, it had about 3 out of 10 autofocus misses in good light, which was suprisingly bad. Had noticeable purple fringe on the edges under f/2.0, getting better stopped down. I thought it would be like my 85 mm f/1.2, but it was not.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens

By lpurp from Bellingham, WA on 05/18/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this lens, you can't go wrong with it. With the large aperture range you can set whatever depth of field you want for your subject, and always get a clean clear shot.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

For PRO Only

By Luca B from New York, NY on 02/04/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Versatile

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

You need to have a good level of experience to be able to 'push' this lens to the level of extreme performance that it's capable of. Shooting at 1.2 Aperture gives the most dramatic results with VERY shallow DOF but focusing needs to be accurate. Some missing sharpness can be increased quite dramatically in Photoshop. When used at 5.6 /8 Aperture for landscapes the quality and sharpness are extraordinary.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

this lens is a ...

By Anonymous from east lansing mi on 01/05/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Expensive For The Sharpness And Image Quality, Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this lens is a disappointment, not as sharp as i had hoped! well built and fast.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved