Home » Accessories » Camera Accessories » Lenses & Filters » 1910B002 » 34 Reviews

Canon 1910b002 Ef 16-35mm F/2.8l Ii Usm Ultra-wide Angle Zoom Lens (1910b002aa) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 34 reviews)

93% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Fast Auto-focus (13), Super-sharp Images (15), Superior Build Quality (15)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

A Wonderful Engineered Product

By Macp from Alexandria, Virginia on 09/26/2015

It is hard to expand upon the positive reviews others have said. This lens adds great versatility to the range of pictures I am able to capture. It complements by EF 24-70mm f2.8 that I have used for years. It is well engineered. I have used for family/friends pictures in tight locations inside, as well as landscapes I was never fully able to capture before with my other lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Must have for 5D Mark iii

By Vinnie from San Francisco, CA on 03/25/2015

I bought this lens for my 5D mark ii and saw some of the issues others have raised. When I moved up to the 5D mark iii a few years ago I have had nothing but spectacular results from it. So if you have the 5D mark iii (or the upcoming hi-res bodies) do yourself a favor and buy it. If you have a different camera body I would save some money (and weight) and get the new f4 which is also a wonderful lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wish it was sturdier

By PJ from Dallas, TX on 01/22/2015

The good: lens is very sharp for a zoom. Of my 6 L lenses, I use this one the most. The bad: mine is going in for repair for the 3rd time. The bayonet plastic is too weak for this heavy of a lens. All 3 incidents occurred while the lens was attached to the camera. None of the occurrences were high impact.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

no sharp at all

By Leonardo from NY on 09/11/2014

This is the third time i try to make a review. Honestly i don't understand why do you reject. Anyhow let talk a bit about this lens. I got a brand new lens, and i think it is defected and not sharp at all. Today i tried to take a long exposure picture on a tripod and even that didnt help with the sharpness at all. I've read lot of people having problem with this lens but couldn't believe it until i use it. I'm so disappointed that i don't know whether to make an effort to return it to canon or not. Really im not happy. I spend lots of money and loved this lens because it was my first L lens. Yes it is my first L lens. So what? I cannot force anyone to buy it or avoid it, what i can tell is that this L lens is not at the same level to prove that belongs to the L family. But who am i to say that? Good luck. P.S. I'm going to copy this message and make a screen shot as well. So in case you reject it i will upload the image to all the internet reviews. I very unhappy and very disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Professional Performer

By Crosswind from Orange Beach, Alabama and Gatlinburg, Tennessee on 03/31/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used this lens for almost four years. With the understanding that objects at the edges will have wide angle distortion. This lens is a "professional performer." It produces images that sell and please the most discriminate... excellent color, contrast, sharpness... Canon engineers have created a lens that can exaggerate or render true the images you are capturing. I highly recommend this lens for the novice or skilled professional. Well worth the money spent. A precision image capturing instrument.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's Worth The Money

By The watchman from Framingham Ma on 03/12/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love to take a lot of pictures lighthouse and a lot of landscape shots. I also have the EFS 15mm to 85mm lens as well, and even though I love that lens. The ef 16 to 35mm extra wide angle l series lens is a superior lens for landscaping and also if a person wants to take indoor low light pictures for a function it worth it. I am going Israel this year and I am going to be taking that lens with me. It's my one of my favorite Lenses that I have and I use the most. I recommend this lens to anyone. Plus you can't beat canon products, and also because I have two cameras an EOS 60D and an EOS 6D, and I love both cameras and all my other lenses from Canon Also Canon tech support department is great also. When I was looking into purchasing this lens, the tech person had said if your going to spend this kind of money, then he wanted to make sure I knew what I was buying. I am very pleased this lens and also pleased with them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Why did I wait so long? Who knew?!?

By QAZ111111 from Southern Calif. on 04/13/2013


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have several L lenses. They are so heavy and I am paranoid about knocking them out of alignment. I read how much people loved this lens for landscape and interior shots. I bought two used and they were dogs. So I popped for a new one. I am so happy with it. I have taken it to Spain, France and England. This lens is fabulous for vacationing. You can shoot huge vistas and the inside of small spaces. The image quality is terrific and the photos are worth every bit of the trouble to bring it. In retrospect; If I had to have only one lens for my 5DmarkIII it would be this lens. Yes it is quite expensive but buying it new is the only way to go (and yes I have spent tons of money with CPS on cleanings, and recalibrations on lenses and cameras.) If you want to know what to buy... you will never be disappointed having this 'go to' lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Superb Lens at a Premium Price

By Benthic from Honolulu on 09/13/2012


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Premium Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a large, heavy, high quality lens. Focus is fast. Build quality is in line with other Canon L-series lenses. This lens is sharp from corner to corne, and has excellent contrast. If you're shooting with a high quality full frame sensor, the lens is so sharp in the center that you can crop 50 to 90% and still retain reasonable sharpness for small objects. Last week, I shot a one-inch long harlequin shrimp with the lens at 35mm in a fisheye dome port, and was able to crop the image to the shrimp with enough detail to where it was suitable for posting on the web. It's expensive, but if image quality is paramount, is worth it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Performance Does Not Compare to Primes

By Utopia from Undisclosed on 05/15/2012


Pros:

Decent 'all Around' Lens, Well Constructed

Cons:

Not Nearly As Sharp As The 14mm 2.8 L Or 24 1.4l

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a well built, good quality lens, but the image sharpness does not compare to the primes. For wide angle work I tend to use the 8-15 L fisheye, the 14 mm 2.8 L, and the 24 1.4L. I thought that this lens might eliminate having to carry both the 14 and the 24. I was wrong. If you are an amateur, you will most likely be thrilled with this lens. It produces acceptable images, and gives you a decent range in one lens. If you are a pro and sharpness is critical to you, stick with the lenses mentioned above and forget the wide angle zooms. For situations like weddings where you often do not have the time to change lenses on the fly, this lens is a good choice. (although I still find that the 14 and 24 work just fine. If the 14 is too wide, it is so sharp you can simply crop it in later.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Completes the Golden Three!

By Motivation! from Ridgeland, MS on 04/07/2012


Pros:

Super Sharp Images!, Colors Are Great!, Fast!

Cons:

Should Have Purchased Sooner!, Didn't Purchase Sooner!

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

No distortion with this lens like I have read about on some of the other reviews. Must be OE on there part. Lens works great on 50D (1.6 x Crop Camera). I plan to go FF one day with maybe a 5D (Mark II or III). This lens completes my needs for wide angle, and lens needs that you would expect from a lens with the Red Ring around the end of the Barrel. I previously purchased the 24-70mm 2.8, 70-200mm 2.8 IS, 50mm 1.4, 24-105mm 4, and now the 16-35mm 2.8 (in that order). This lens lives up to the L! Never shot with the 10-22mm or 17-40mm so I can't compare this lens to those... so read there reviews. If you are reading this review; I'd say that you are considering the purchase. If you can stomach the price; "Purchase this Lens"! It was stated earlier in a review; but You Get what You Pay for! Invest in the Glass!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Lens Except One feature

By Revup67 from n/a on 01/31/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Sharp, Fast

Cons:

Filter Size

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is truly a fast and fantastic lens. I've reviewed the MTF charts beforehand and as compared to its predecessor (Mki) the edge detail is greatly improved. it's lightweight, comfortable to hold and works well in low light. My one and only and biggest gripe is the 82mm filter size that is needed. 82mm is not only the most expensive but also very difficult to find as of 1/31/12. As an example try and find the B&W #110 neutral density 10 stop filter..forget it and if you can find it the price is over $200 as with the polarizers being about $100 and the list goes on. This would be my only caution to you on this lens before buying. Not s smart move on Canon's part.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just get It!!

By Bentley from Undisclosed on 01/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just got back from vacation in Vegas and I have to say this lens is phenomenal. My wife is also in awe at how colorful and accurate the pictures are. Went to the Grand Canyon and also Red Rock Canyon and this lens performed splendidly. I had the 17-40 L before and sold it. It was a tad too slow even though the range was more usable. I can't say enough about this lens. It is a bit on the expensive side but with pictures like I have gotten so far it was money well spent. My wife loves using the 24-105 L which is also an awesome lens also but I like the wider range and speed of this lens better. Everywhere we went we got the look of camera envy from everyone. Would definitely purchase again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It is not bad, but it is not good too.

By ET from New York, Ny on 06/12/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall this lens is not bad. I believe Canon should make IS to this lens. So the quality of the photos would be better. Some 20-35mm photos are out of focus or not too sharp. So this lens is still need to make some improvement. One more thing about this lens. It is over price. The photos quality, and performance are not good enough. Plus NO IS.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent for what it is

By feeblefool from Illinois on 06/06/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Ultra-wide lenses like this are very difficult to do, and the MkII version scores. I just upgraded from the MkI version which served me without fault since 2004. The MkII does it all better however the lens gets 4/5 Feature and Performance stars for the following: The lens hood, while excellent, needs to be made of the new matte plastic as the 70-200 IS MkII lens and should include a hood lock button.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this lens

By Mick from Rochester, NY on 03/21/2011


Pros:

Versatile

Cons:

Expensive, Edge-to-edge Image Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been a dedicated Canon owner since 1978 and still have my F-1 and arsenal of lens. Moving into the Digital era with an EOS-1D III, EOS-1DS and a new arsenal of L series lenses including the 16-35 F/2.8L II, I am more than happy with the performance, quality and images it has to offer. Partnering in support with alternative energy, corporate and industrial imagery I find this lens to be versatile and equal in most cases to my prime lenses.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

In Love!

By BB from Princeton NJ on 02/21/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've found a new love, & it's this lens. Everything I thought it would be. I'm so happy I finally just purchased it and stopped thinking about buying!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hard to Beat!

By ppro from North Eastern USA on 01/14/2011


Pros:

Rock Solid Construction, Great Image Quality, Useful Zoom Range

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

One of the reasons I purchased a full-frame DSLR was to benefit from super-wide-angle lenses. For most of my career I have owned prime lenses that includes 17mm, 20mm, and 24mm focal-lengths. I also own 28mm and 35mm lenses as well, Looking at how I was going to approach digital imaging, I decided that zoom lenses have made some incredible advances in image quality and mechanical quality. I reasoned it would be worthwhile to try a wide-angle zoom that would give me the range of all those primes. This would enable me to reduce the number of lenses carried. Now it's still valid to point out that most primes are going to give better image quality and certain ones are going to be faster. But if you're like me and spend a lot of time outdoors, you might be willing to make slight image compromises in favor of having the focal length and getting the image instead of a bad back... I don't feel I have compromised on image quality with this lens. It's fast enough for everything I've thrown at it, and like all the "L" glass I own, it's rock-solid. I have no regrets with my purchase of this lens. It's everything I expected and more! I can use the circular polarizer with both this lens and the TS-E 24mm f/3.5L II. Not cheap but well worth the price of admission!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Like it so far!

By Silkline from Phoenix. AZ on 10/29/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's opened up a whole new world of imagery. Highly recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Versatile Performer

By Tim from Honolulu, HI on 09/17/2010


Pros:

Colors

Cons:

Pricey

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Superb landscape lens and fast enough for low-light conditions when hiking in the rain forest. Rugged build with a speedy and silent auto-focus. Very useful range for a variety of landscape shots. The color is amazing and a circular polarizer makes it even better. Using the lens at 16mm requires some tenacity to avoid vignetting: try a slight reposition of the intended shot, f/8 helps, although I have managed some 16mm shots without vignetting at f/2.8 if I took the time to position the camera with care. I often shoot all day without taking this lens off my 5D MII. Highly recommended for advanced photographers.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Canon Wide Lens

By Bear from Pittsburgh, PA on 07/10/2010


Pros:

Very Wide, Sharpness, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is spectacular. Even though I use it on a 50D, it is still very wide. I have used it for sports, portraits, concerts, and other subjects. It is very much worth the money, and is very sharp. I highly recommend this lens over most other wide angle lenses.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I have other favorites

By Mr. Picky from Los Angeles, CA on 06/01/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Distortion, Price

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

If your used to the image quality of a prime lens, this isn't the lens for you. All of the pros combined can't overcome the one con, distortion. I spent a lot of money on this lens; however, I think I'm going to trade it in on the faster 24mm prime.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding Lens

By Tripod from Tarpon Springs Florida on 12/26/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Used this lens for one year now (primarily on my 5D Mark II) and it is absolutely amazing. Ultra sharp images and minimal barrel distortion at the edges. I don't think there is a better wide angle lens in the world. Expensive, but well worth it for the professional or amatuer wanting the best possible image quality to complement both the full frame or APSC camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Super perspective for both film & digital

By Pellix guy from Tampa, FL on 12/06/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Having had the 17-35/2.8L, I was able to trade up to the 16-35 for a small $ investment. It seems that this lens is better suited to the wide angle needs of both the film photographer AND the digital photographer. While it is NOT inexpensive to purcase outright, anyone who IS serious sbout their photo results AND needs a quality wide-angle lens should look no further than this lens!!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

top ultra-wide

By bob/s from Ohio on 11/19/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Well Corrected, Uses Screw On Filters, Superior Build Quality, Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the best ultra-wide for canon full frames one can buy, you here others tell of lenses that require adaptors and cost 2 to 3 times as much and only work manually, This is a sharper lens with better color and contrast than the 17-40mm that I got rid of to buy this lens! I have used this lens with a regular screw on filter and no filter at all and it did not interfere with the image at 16mm wide open, no need for slim filters, this lens is very very well corected for a lens of this ultra-wide zoom range!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Wide Angle

By will from Dayton, Ohio on 11/08/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, F/2.8

Cons:

Pricey But Worth It

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent build quality, ultra-clear optics, fast auto-focus, and f/2.8! This lens was originally purchased for wide-angle landscape photography but it doubles as a top-of-the-line 35mm lens for portraits, products, etc.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

one of the best

By j from Calgary, AB on 10/14/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have 3 L series lenses: A 70-200mm f2.8L, a 24-70mm f2.8L and the 16-35mm f2.8L. Of the three, the 16-35mm has become my lense of choice. It is on my 5D I'd say 70% of the time. I love it's crispness and lighter weight. It is a great lense for composing pictures where you want to control depth of field.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

after 6 month manual ...

By Io from Europe on 10/10/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

after 6 month manual focus ring stop working, and the front lens seems to fallen down. I'm dissapointed with build quality of a such lens


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Boat sank and bought another lense

By bbq from Douglas Island, Alaska on 10/02/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I fell in love with this lense. I run a charter boat in Alaska. My rudder malfunctioned and we hit a reef and sank. I bought another lense to replace the one that sank. With the price of the lense it hurt a little. I could not do without one though. The best lense I ever used on a boat!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't get it for the 16mm

By FCS from North Carolina on 04/24/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Distortion

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very expensive, fast lens with great feel and build. Its too bad that the corners distorts so much on the widest angles.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Gets everything you expect to see

By LifeIsDesign from Scottsdale, AZ on 02/14/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I remember looking at Canon's sample picture taken by this lens and thinking "that's nice" and "I would like a lens to do that." Then I got the lens and took my own picture, WOW! It delivered an image better than I expected. I love using this lens indoors. It really helped me capture the size of a customer's showroom. I prefer zoom lenses and enjoy the range this lens provides. It stays on my 50D for about 75% of any hike I go on, and you have to really look to see any major distortion in the final pictures. Great lens for outside and indoors. And L series lens is the only way to go.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best wide zoom you can get!

By Ihoe from Southern Florida on 02/13/2009


Pros:

Super Wide, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

I Can't Say Anything Bad About This Lens!

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this for over yr now and it's the best thing I did to go with my 30D and my 5D Mark II. Sharp, fast and love the versatility of this lens. It's great and I can't do without it when I want those wide shots!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens

By Ben from Traverse City MI on 02/13/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens for landscape photography and group pictures. Boy does it deliver. The auto focus is great, the image quality is among the best. It is an expensive lens but you get what you pay for. The 2.8 aperture is great for low light photography. It's one of my favorite and I couldn't be with out it. There are other lens options out there but I am glad I paid the extra dough for this one. Over all probably the best lens I own.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Superb lens!!!

By Doctor from Athens on 11/15/2008


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

82mm Filter

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I own this lens for a few months now. I bought it to replace the older 16-35 mark I which looked a little soft at the corners wide open. This one is fantastic! Wide open or not it is sharp from corner to corner, it is build to last and the autofocus is excellent. The only downside for me is the 82mm filter but you can't have averything in life, can you?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great wide angle lens

By Dan Verified Purchaser from Las Vegas, NV on 05/16/2007


Describe Yourself:

Hobbyist/enthusiast

Pros:

Easy To Use, Good Build Quality

Best Uses:

Sporting Events, Portrait Work, Landscapes

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall the quick auto focus and switch from auto to manual make this a great lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved