Home » Accessories » Camera Accessories » Lenses & Filters » 2042B002 » 43 Reviews

Canon Ef-s 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6 Is Zoom Lens - 18mm To 55mm - F/3.5 To 5.6 (2042b002) Reviews
Canon Ef-s 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6 Is Zoom Lens - 18mm To 55mm - F/3.5 To 5.6 (2042b002)

Canon Ef-s 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6 Is Zoom Lens - 18mm To 55mm - F/3.5 To 5.6 (2042b002)Added to our catalog within last 30 days

In response to demands of photographers, this standard zoom lens is designed with Canon Optical Image Stabilizer technology while retaining the compactness and lightness of previous models. Its stabilization allows sharp hand-held shots at shutter speeds up to four stops slower than otherwise possib... <more> 

Canon Model: 2042B002

$225.40

9 in stock
This product qualifies for FREE Ground Shipping!

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 43 reviews)

87% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Light Weight (4), Value (3), Super-sharp Images (14), Fast Auto-focus (13), Superior Build Quality (6)

Cons:

Rotating Front Element (3), Poor Build Quality (9), Semi-sharp Images (5), Slow Auto-focus (8)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

NO WAY...YES WAY!!!

By ClassroomDoctor from East Tennessee on 12/25/2014

T3i purchased after long consideration given to cost and options...Best choice in a camera for this 45 year plus career photographer among the last four digital purchased.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Throw away lens I should have waited

By saboken from Walhalla, SC on 11/18/2014

The lens was included with a kit and is no longer included with the T4i kits with good reason! If I knew how poorly it was built and noisy it was (useless shooting video unless you use a external mic) yes it's loud might as well shoot video next to a passing freight train, as for the build I have never seen anything made by Canon built so cheap! I though it was a counterfeit lens at first until I read others reviews if I knew canon was going to remove it from the kit and replace it with a STM version I would have waited! I had to buy a new STM lens to shoot video, I don't know what Canon was thinking when they included this piece of plastic pretending to be a Lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So Happy I did

By Reaelise from Botkinburg,Arkansas on 11/07/2014

Just by others reviews alone sold me on this camera. I have No regrets!! Takes Beautiful pictures. Having a Lot of Fun with this camera


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice lense

By kelkel from Milan, Indiana on 11/07/2014

I'm still learning how to use this lens but I'm very pleased with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good for landscapes, buildings

By dran_reb from Wisconsin on 08/19/2014


Pros:

Wide Angle, Lightweight, Takes Good Photos At Night

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Good all-around general purpose lens, versatile enough for many situations. Relatively light weight. Good for a walk in the woods because it can capture a decent wide-angle landscape shot, yet still take a great close-up photo of an object along the trail, such as a flower. Limited zoom means it cannot get a close-up of distant wildlife, so if that's your target, you will need to consider a different lens. This lens works great for fitting buildings into the frame when standing close. I have taken some beautiful night shots of cityscapes with this lens using a tripod and long exposure.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Okay lens

By asjs from Florida on 02/16/2014


Cons:

Semi-sharp Images, Slow Auto-focus, Poor Build Quality, Focus Easily Obstructed

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens came with the camera I bought. I found it to be easy to work with when adjusting the basic settings such as auto/manual focus and turning the stabilizer on and off. I found that when shooting, a lot of pictures did not come out as expected due to the slow lens. I'd suggest this lense for beginner portraits, but nothing moving. The focus is easily broken, and it is extremely slow on auto focus.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Kit Lens + for Learning DSLR

By merlexie from Undisclosed on 03/09/2013


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the kit lens that came with my Rebel T3i. Overall, I think it serves its purpose well. The T3i is an entry-level DSLR, and this lens pairs well with it as a learning lens while newbies to DSLR figure out what exactly they're doing. The lens + camera combo is a huge step up from my Canon Powershot ELPH 300; the image quality is excellent, and it's much more versatile. So, the pros about this lens: it gives you enough zoom to experiment with both wide-angle/landscape shots as well as portraits and other close-ups. People get into DSLR for different reasons, so it's reasonable that Canon would pick a kit lens with versatility rather than confining people to a one-trick wonder. The IS does wonders, especially in low light. Now, the cons--and not all of them are really cons. The build quality does, admittedly, seem to be on the cheap side. But come on, it's a kit lens, and its retail price-point is at the very low end of the range for all Canon lens. So this shouldn't come as any surprise, and isn't worth causing a fuss over. More critical, however, is the autofocus: it's very finicky, and frequently has to hunt (which is slow and time consuming), especially in low light or low contrast situations. Honestly, I've found it easier just to focus manually; but I think that's more a reflection of me being too impatient to learn how to tell my T3i where I want it to focus (it's rather tedious to change zones) than anything else. I'm also not generally looking to capture the big action shot, so a fast autofocus is less critical to me. All in all, I've taken some amazing photos with this lens and am very pleased with it. Is it the greatest lens? No. Will I be upgrading it soon? Absolutely. But that's probably part of the idea behind most kit lens: give you something that's good--even very good--at many things but not the greatest at anything so that consumers are tempted into purchasing upgrades. Recommended as a kit lens (on the assumption you don't own any other lenses of higher quality), but not as a separate purchase (since Canon makes better quality lenses that are more tailored to your individual needs at prices comparable to this or that aren't all that much more).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice Walk Around Lens

By BT from VA on 12/30/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this w/ the T3i. I actually have no complaints about this lens at all. It delivers sharp images almost throughout. It is very versatile, and can shoot Macro shots, okay portraits, and ok zoom shots. I personally do alot of outdoor photography, and this does pretty good, but doesnt zoom enough for Birds, deer, etc without getting pretty close. But for Macro shots, I have been enjoying this lens alot and was suprised that it could do so well! I have already bought the 50mm 1.8 prime lens, which is perfect for portraits, and shows better colors and Bokeh in images. But my next purchase will be a better quality telephoto zoom lens to get a little more distance on my shots for further away subjects. Overall a Nice Walk-around/all-purpose lens. No complaints and love the IS!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great kit lens. Slow ...

By D.T. from Twentynine Palms, CA on 12/09/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus, Semi-sharp Images, Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great kit lens. Slow auto-focus misses in anything less than perfect lighting. The images are good quality, but not as sharp as I'd like, even under pretty decent lighting. BUT, it's easy to use and to learn with. For the price, the images are great. It can be used in most situations, and I will probably keep it on hand because of that.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lense noise with auto focus

By cl from california on 10/25/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Noise While Taping

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

nice lense, however don't like the noise on auto focus when video taping. Very loud. The kit should of came with the better lense with less noise. Other then that great lense


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love My Lens!

By CindyH from Indianapolis, IN on 10/05/2012


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After years of loving my Canon SLR 35mm camera and the quality of my pics, but increasingly finding it difficult to buy the film and processing I wanted, I took the plunge into DSLR. I love my camera and lens. They aren't heavy to cart around, and I can switch lens in a flash. Have only had it one one trip, but can't wait for the fall colors to explore even more!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Camera

By Betsy from New York on 09/13/2012


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Not Good At A Distance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the camera, so far. I do wish I could take far awy pictures better. I wish is came with a strong zoom lens. they are very expensive. I was able to clear some distance pictures with the program that came with it. The pictures so far are beautiful but the camers is made for close-ups.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Purchase

By Love from Davis, Ca on 09/11/2012


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the second time I have Purchased this lens. I first bought it as a kit lens wit Canon 300D a few years ago. I have many fond memories of taking many fine photos encompassing portraits, landscapes, animals and birds. Right now with several L series lenses and some others I did not need this lens but it is very handy for walks with my dog. Excellent purchase for a very small price. photos come out very sharp.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

exp EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II

By Gil from Western part of Texas, hot& dusty! LOL on 09/09/2012


Cons:

Slow Auto-focus, Semi-sharp Images, Poor Build Quality, Read - Non Canon Reviews

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I gave the kit lens 1 star simply because I had little use for this lens. This is the kit lens: EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II. This would be better: Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Camera Lens + this hood: Zeikos ZE-LH52 52mm Soft Rubber Lens Hood (Black). Yes, BOTH are cheap lenses but it is more useful than the kit lens, for me. I shoot more kids, family, portraits, etc. & the bokeh is great, This is just my 2 cents. I had more use from the nifty fifty & T2i in 2 weeks than 2 months with the kit lens. Please give us a choice Canon. Gil


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

2ND TIME AROUND MUCH BETTER.

By FIJIMAN from LAS VEGAS/HENDERSON NEVADA on 08/30/2012


Pros:

Very Lightweight, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Sharp At 18mm, Image Stabilization

Cons:

Drop Off @ 55mm

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

VERY VERY LIGHTWEIGHT LENS FOR KIT BAG. GREAT IMAGE STABILIZATION SYSTEM. VERY VERY GOOD IMAGE QUALITY. FAST AUTO FOCUS WITH GOOD LIGHTING. BUILD QUALITY SEMI-DECENT. INEXPENSIVE EF-S WIDE ANGLE LENS FOR SHOOTING. DESIGNED ONLY FOR USE ON ALL EOS DIGITAL REBELS, 20D, 30D, 40D, 50D, 60D AND 7D DIGITAL EOS CAMERAS. THIS LENS IS VERY SHARP AT 18mm, BUT DROPS OFF QUITE A BIT AT 55mm.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's an ok lens

By Anonymous from Fredericksburg, VA on 08/10/2012


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I mainly use this lens for wide angle shots. I like the stabilizer, wish all my lenses had it. I am waiting to see how it does for landscape shots during the fall foliage changes.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sharp Pics, Low Price

By Jomaque from Southern California on 06/28/2012


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Hunting

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had bought this lens for my SLR body, and overall it is a very good lens. The outcome of the photos are very sharp and I enjoy shooting with it. However, I do want to point out that ,under certain conditions, that the autofocus will not work or will go "hunting". But I do recommend this lens as a starter who has just transitioned from P&S cameras to DSLRs


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great buy

By era1953 from Houston Tx on 04/08/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

First off, I get a little annoyed at reviews that don't tell you what system the product was used on. With some of the previous reviews I feel that the users that were complaining about the performance really don't know how to handle a DSLR or what to expect. Auto focus systems need a "contrasting image" to focus on so if you try to focus on an area that is blank it will have a hard time focusing and "hunt" for an image. The 18-55mm was a kit lens with a Canon T3i that I purchased as a second camera. The lens preforms beautifully giving crisp, sharp photos. Auto focus is fast and precise. I.S. is flawless. All together a great buy for a standard zoom


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens

By Bizziebill from Dunnigan, Ca on 03/21/2012


Pros:

Af Works Great, Great Lens, Easy To Handle

Cons:

Can't Think Of Any

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I used this lens & the 70-300 when I went to China. Took some good pictures. I am still new with this product, but I have to say I truly like both of them. The 18-55 was great for most my indoor shots, where as the 300 came in handy for the long shots I was taking. For even better shots when not using my tripod, I would turn the AF off, much better for the indoor shots of friends.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good at first

By Canon lover from San diego on 01/23/2012


Pros:

Nice Image, Wide Angle, Image Stabilized, Zoom Lens

Cons:

Cheap Built Quality, Focusing Easy To Break

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Men when I got my first camera the kit lens was nice.but after a year It broke the AutoFocus stop working .so now I'm using my other lens,the image quality was great but the built quality not so much


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed

By Ron from Atlanta,Georgia on 01/06/2012


Pros:

Can't Think Of One

Cons:

Poor Quality, Quality Of Photos

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Very disappointed with the quality of photos that comes with the use of this lens,should have just purchased the body of the canon t-3i and purchased the 17-55 lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great, At First

By wondersueak from Undisclosed on 11/13/2011


Pros:

Quiet, Value

Cons:

Durability, Non-sharp Images, Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I got this lens with my Canon Rebel XS for Christmas last year, and at first it was great, the images were very crisp and the auto-focus worked like a charm. Over time, the auto-focus started to get slower and the images weren't very crisp anymore, and even though I had never taken the lens off the camera body since I got it, somehow a bunch of hairs and dust accumulated on the sensor in my camera so I had to use a can of compressed air to clean it. The auto-focus barely works now and is slow and inaccurate, though it is a good value for its price and the fact it came with my camera, I just wouldn't get it again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BEST STARTER LENS EVER!!!

By AWESOME LENS!!! from Undisclosed on 10/08/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Awesome Lens!!! No Questions Asked!!!

Cons:

Sets Aperture To F/5.6 When Focal Length Is 55mm

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is an AWESOME starter lens! It has a pretty fast autofocus, the build quality is great, the stabilizer is awesome, but the best part is... EXTREMELY AWESOME IMAGE QUALITY!!! This lens has EXTREMELY high quality glass, (even though it's not an L) and I love the fact that it has a circular aperture! The only not-a-big-deal problem is that when you set the focal length to 55mm, it sets the aperture to f/5.6, which is not bad at all. P.S. Canon, you did an awesome job on this lens!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lense

By Anonymous from Naples Florida on 09/13/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought the EOS Rebel and it came with this lense.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ok for Beginners

By Jweavercma from Boise, Idaho on 06/04/2011


Pros:

Good "kick Around" Lens, Light

Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I received this lens with my Canon T2i as a birthday present. In the beginning, I couldn't really tell the difference between this and any other lens. As I gained experience, I found out exactly how limited this lens can be. I found out that it absolutely hates anything but the most perfect lighting conditions. If your subject is slightly too bright or slightly too dark it refuses to focus, leaving you to focus manually which can be a bother under certain circumstances. Even when the auto-focus works it is inaccurate, leaving you with blurry images. Overall- It is a decent enough lens for rank beginners who treat their DSLR camera more like an expensive point and shoot. If you are one of these brand new DSLR users, I would recommend an upgrade as soon as you gain some experience and develop your shooting style.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Upgrading Soon

By Skippii from Waupaca, WI on 03/28/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens as part of the kit with my T2i. Overall, I like the product as a entry level tool. However, after only three months of use, as I learn about the exposure triangle and the ins and outs of my camera, I now see a need to upgrade to a prime lens which will give me access to bigger apertures for more creativity. The lens is good comparable to price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good starter lens!

By Shooter from Salt Lake City, UT on 02/17/2011


Pros:

Low Cost, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I actually like this lens. But it's not my favorite. I've used if for about a year now. And have impressed myself at some of the shots I've taken. I've had the chance to try our a couple L lenses and the only thing that I think I have missed is the build quality, and the better apertures. I like the fact that it at least has IS. It helps in low light, but is not excellent. I find myself raising the ISO frequently to compenste for the small apertures even with the IS. I think the range is great for general purpose, although, it wouldn't hurt to extend it to 70 or 85mm. Basically, I'm glad that this lens is included in the kit, but if you are serious about taking good pictures, you will want to upgrade if you have the means.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cant really complain.

By Anonymous from New Orleans, LA on 01/23/2011


Pros:

Good Enough For Price

Cons:

Rotating Front Element, Slow Auto-focus, Made Of Plastic

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For the price of this lens i cant really complain. It came wit my Rebel T2i. There is little to no distortion around the edges while it is zoomed all the way out at 18mm. It delivers fairly sharp images. I cant really complain about it besides it being made of plastic and its rotating front element. Also the Auto-focus is not the fastest. Good wide angle for casual photographers and beginners.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

came with camra

By rawj7 from VA on 01/14/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchesed the EOS Rebel T2i for Christmas 2010. It came with this lense. I took it to an Auto show and the Pictures were kindof fisheyed. It's fast and good build but the pictures were as great as I expected becuase of the fisheye effect.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Decent Start

By RA from Queens, New York on 09/10/2010


Pros:

Quality Is Acceptable, Image Stabiization Is Helpful, Useful As A Walk Around Lens Outdoors

Cons:

Quickly Loses Usefulness, Not A Fast Lens, Aperture At 55mm Goes To 5.6 Automatically

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Though not great, this lens is a decent start into the SLR world. Unfortunately, you'll quickly realize why it's only so-so useful when you get another lens with a better aperture, especially one that zooms in & out like this does. Even outdoors with good light, that 5.6 aperture at 55mm does a number on your shutter speed and I'm guessing that's why IS is built into it. Indoors, unless you have a tripod, really good lighting or have a very steady form, you will notice some blur, even with IS on. If you buy this with a body, it's good to help you test and experiment, but if you get a body with no lens, don't bother getting this as your first. Still, if you're new and get this with a body, use it to help you understand aspects of photography & lens technology.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Highly Recommendable Lens

By Tats Me Not from San Francisco, CA on 07/20/2010


Pros:

Razor Sharp, Good Color Resolution, Angle Wide Enough, Light Weight

Cons:

Plastic-ky Look, May Need Flash In Low Light

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have a 28-135 mm IS USM lens that came with my 50D as a kit lens. The widest angle of this lens proved to be not wide enough to capture most of the images I want included in my landscaping shots or capture all subjects in a small room when there is no backing up space. Although my kit lens serve me well for telephoto purposes and in auditorium settings when flash photography is not allowed or in low light conditions. I decided to get a wide angle lens that will not break the bank, I got this 18-55 mm IS. To my surprise, it turned out to be the mainstay lens attached to my camera as its range met most of my day to day photo needs. It also has IS for good handheld shots and as extras, it produced surprisingly good quality pictures. The pictures I took where razor sharp, with good color resolution, and no aberrations. I now have it attached as my primary walk-around lens. My original kit lens has been relegated to sit in my camera bag. I also like the fact that this lens is light in weight, with a short focal length that makes it convenient to lug around when travelling. I highly recommend this lens. I was not dissappointed with it and I believe, so will it be with most of its users.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not Bad

By Rider from California on 07/01/2010


Pros:

Very Light Weight

Cons:

Mostly Plastic

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used this lens for the past year. It is exactly what it is designed to be. A simple light weight lens. I have "L" lenses and other EF lenses but still like to use this one from time to time. Not necessarily the sharpest but does pretty good. Best around f/8 and up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good starter lens but mine died after 11 days

By fugu from Bellevue, WA on 06/01/2010


Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Just got this lens along with my t1i. My son and I were having a blast learning all about D-SLR's. Unfornately the lenses AF feature has semmingly dies after 11 days of ownership. Switching it to MF allows the camera to take pictures. Dissapointing since its the only lens we own; I have emailed Canon about replacing it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Good Entry Level Lens

By goodlucksdk from Danvers, MA on 05/09/2010


Pros:

Price, Versatility

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens comes with many Rebel camera kits. Given its' price it is very capable and versatile and has also gotten quite a couple of positive reviews for that. I have successfully used it for macro, landscape and portrait photography. It does a decent job in all of these categories and therefore makes it a great learning tool for the beginning photographer. As one advances one may outgrow this lens but possibly with a good idea what one will find important in future purchases.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

best satisfaction

By mohammad from chicago on 03/08/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this is a wide angle lens that I recommend to any amateur photographer . it is a good lens for indoor and macro and outdoor photography.the only bad points of this lens are : lack of usm motor and small aperture of lens. and the quality is so good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Flexible Basic Lens

By Photografur from Gaylord, MI on 01/04/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For most shooting, this lens is ideal, it may not do everything but it can do a lot.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Good Lens

By Woody from Indianapolis on 12/26/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Light Weight, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a very good everyday lens. Great for touring through vacation sites and general picture taking. Light weight, not bulky, doesn't attract a lot of attention, and takes great pictures.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good but not great

By shootreadyaim from pennsy on 12/23/2009


Pros:

Survived In Desert, Survived In Backpack

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

had this lens for over a year and cycled about 5000 shots. the stabialization broke after about 3000 clicks a cheap lens relatively speaking.I will say this lens was not babied many shots on a monopod and in back pack in the desert south west so it may feel cheap and even though it is plastic it held up and thats what counts the biggest pain in the patoot is the rotating barrel it makes using polorizer and graduated neutral density filters a time consuming pain to use and those filters are essential and commonly used or should be by all serious photogs. the image quality is very good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's suprisingly good

By Ron from San Jose, CA on 08/01/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Sharpness: This lens is very sharp, even on the edges, 18-28mm. Starting at 35mm, sharpness starts to fall becoming least sharp at 55mm. I've compared this lens to 17-55mm and 24-105mm L. On my comparison, I saw slightly better performance of the 18-55 over the 17-55 @18 (@17) mm. I saw no major sharpness advantage for the 24-105mm. At 55mm the 17-55mm is much better. Focus: It is fast with low noise. Manual focus is not feasible for the most part. No full time focus. The focus is *sometimes* inaccurate (could be a camera issue too). Macro: 18-55mm can be used at 25cm distance from subject, for a 1:3 magnification. Which is significantly better than the 1:6 of the 17-55mm. Distortions: CA is not a major problem, but worse than 17-55mm, especially on the edges. Barrel/pincushion distortion @18mm worse than 17-55mm but better for rest of the zoom range. Vignetting is not a problem >= f/5.6. Other features: Very useful and silent IS Lens is light and very compact All plastic Delicate focus mechanism


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cheap average lens

By Logical from Pacific Grove, CA on 07/15/2009


Pros:

Light Weight, Value

Cons:

Rotating Front Element, Poor Build Quality, Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens feels cheap and basic, and noticeably lower quality compared to any camera body that it comes with. I thought mine came with sand in it, which really dampened the ownership experience for a while, but it turns out the circular flap that keeps particles out creates some friction with the moving front element, so there is some scratchy noise when zooming in and out. The pictures it takes have decent sharpness, but not comparable to more expensive lenses. The focusing speed is decent with bright and high-contrast subjects, but sometimes struggles in lower light. Manual focus is only possible with the AF is off, unlike some other lenses. There is no distance scale. The minimum focal distance is also good enough for some basic macro. The Image Stabilization is the saving grace for this lens, and is actually quite good at affording it some reasonable low light ability. But in my opinion the Image Stabilization should be inside the camera body like with many competitor models. I think this lens is fine for a beginner, or some casual outdoor photography. In the end the build quality might be bothersome, but the performance is good for its price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Value!

By John from Biddeford ME on 05/31/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For the price of this lens, there can seriously be no realistic complaints. First the build quality. Obviously it's chinsey. All plastic. Makes a little scratchy sound when it extents, almost like there's a grain inside somewhere. It's very, very light, which can be good, but it feels like you're holding nothing. Operation. It's got the standard zoom ring that works smooth enough. The lens extends and retracts durring zoom, so that it's physical shortest length is around 25mm. Focusing is done by rotating the end of the lens. So, if you have a CPL, you'll have to watch that the focusing doesn't throw you out of the color range you want. Performance. Obviously this isn't a very fast lens. The image quality is good, but nothing to rave about. For the price of the lens, it's actually a nice picture. The sharpness isn't comparable to more expensive lenses, but you will still get very nice shots with it. The IS works very well on this lens. For me, it's the lense's best feature hands down, for the price. You can take a steady shot at very slow shutter speeds. Focusing manually can be a bit of a challenge. You have to use the end of the lens, and it can be very touchy. You can shoot right past the focus point without a steady hand. The auto focus works quickly and efficiently. It usually nails the focus right off in good light. It does hunt a little in low lighting, but typically finds the right spot, just don't expect it instantly. So, for the price of this lens, there are no logical complaints. It does what it should, and probably better for the price range. I'd definitely recommend this to someone on a budget, or just getting started. It's where I started, and still does the trick when I need that focal range!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No complaints for a kit lens

By Anonymous from Princeton, NJ on 05/31/2009


Pros:

Light Weight, Value, Is

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images, Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Received this lens as part of an EOS kit. Really enjoyed having the image stabilization included, which helps make up for the average aperture range of the lens. The zoom range is very useful, and the lens is very capable on the wide end. As expected, sharpness is not excellent, nor is the autofocus quick enough to keep up with more demanding subjects. However, the overall balance of price, performance and features is strong. I'd recommend this lens to anyone starting out in photography, especially as part of a kit. Those who already have an EOS body might consider a faster lens or one with USM.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great standard zoom for Entry Level DSLR

By rkf from Stade near Hamburg, Germany on 10/30/2008


Pros:

Very Efficient Is, Very Good Price Value

Cons:

No Metallic Bayonet, Rotating Front Element

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens in October, 2007 as an replacement for the non-IS version of the kit lens of my EOS Digital Rebel XTi. Now, after one year of experience, I must admit that I'm very satisfied. The IS works as advertised, 0.5 seconds w/18mm and 1/6 seconds w/55mm are no problem. When I was in London last year, I was able to shot a bunch of free-hand panorama photos at the River Thames bank, which I merged into one panorama which decorates my office now.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved