Home » Accessories » Camera Accessories » Lenses & Filters » 2044B002 » 22 Reviews

Canon 2044b002 Ef-s 55-250mm F/4-5.6 Is Image Stabilizer Telephoto Zoom Lens Reviews
Canon 2044b002 Ef-s 55-250mm F/4-5.6 Is Image Stabilizer Telephoto Zoom Lens

Canon 2044b002 Ef-s 55-250mm F/4-5.6 Is Image Stabilizer Telephoto Zoom LensAdded to our catalog within last 30 days

This telephoto zoom lens is designed with Canon's Optical Image Stabilizer technology while retaining compactness and lightness, in response to demands of photographers. This high zoom ratio lens is equivalent to a focal length of 88-400mm in the 35mm format (when used on Canon EOS cameras compatibl... <more> 

Canon Model: 2044B002

$275.31

3 in stock
This product qualifies for FREE Ground Shipping!

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 22 reviews)

85% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images (4), Slow Auto-focus (3)

Pros:

Superior Build Quality (4), Super-sharp Images (5), Fast Auto-focus (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Best Lens in the Box

By Iamretired from Justice, IL on 06/04/2015

I received this lens with my T5i camera along with the EF-S 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS STM. I hardly ever use the latter lens outdoors. The EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS II to me is a standard lens for all around use outdoors. I am a nature photographer, especially birds. I added a 2x telephoto extender to the lens and it is very difficult to focus manually and still get good shots of birds in flight. However, without the extender, I have had great success with the auto focus and have not used a tripod yet. Hand held shots are easy and come out great. I have also used this lens to shoot wedding photos. Mine came out better than the professional photographers. Maybe because I knew what I was shooting. I highly recommend this lens. It is one that should be in everyone's bag. The price is right and this is a great lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very nice tool in my bag

By raywzou from Undisclosed on 12/22/2014

Took a few shots with this on a dance recital, and was amazed by the focus and sharpness. Was thinking of upgrading the 18-55 and 55-250 combo to 18-135 and selling the combo after. Now have to rethink if I want to let this one go.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome detail at long distances

By dran_reb from Wisconsin on 08/19/2014


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Size / Weight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens can capture amazing detail at a distance. I love it. I really like how I can get a beautiful, soft blurred background and yet have every last fine detail of my subject stand out. For example, at the zoo, I was able to get beautiful images of animals where you can see all the fine details of their feathers or fur, making you want to reach out and touch the photo. The image stabilization feature really helps a lot. I can capture very sharp photos of fast-moving objects, even while zoomed all the way in and handholding the camera. It has been fun to take pictures of faraway objects and look at them later, to discover details that I couldn't see with the naked eye at the time. If you like to take photos of animals or fill the frame with distant details, this is a good lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great zoom for price

By upstater from unadilla ny on 05/01/2014


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I own this lens and use with T2i , i do mostly out door nature pix and find this lens light weight and good for close ups and short distances, i am not a professional so i dont know all the correct terms but the pictures are sharp and color is good,also the lens covers a lot of ranges so i leave it on my camera most of the time..so this is a good overall lens for everyday use ,


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best value & quality in a crop-sensor tele-zoom

By MEJazz from Austin TX on 12/27/2013


Pros:

Light Weight, Price!, Travel Friendly, Image Quality Better Than Expected

Cons:

Crop-sesnor Only?

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If you own a crop-sensor camera like any of the Digital Rebels or the Canon 50D/60D/70D or even the 7D then this is THE value telephoto zoom lens to get. Beside its intended use, Its ideal for travel due to its low weight, good zoom range, and low cost - even if you damaged/lost it, it won't be a big setback. Unless you're a professional, this lens is all you need. One of the best value lenses from Canon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

OK Lens for snapshots - poor focus at infinity

By JonB from Westminster, Colorado on 12/25/2013


Pros:

Price Is Good

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images, Low Contrast When Zoomed In

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have been using this lens for 6 months regularly. It was purchased as a refurb. Generally, it has functioned very well, mechanically. The focusing motor is good and I don't feel that it is noisy. I would use this lens much more often, except that for more distant subjects the focus is very poor at any aperture setting.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A decent telephoto lens for the price

By JSB from Denver, CO on 11/27/2013


Pros:

Price

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have used this lens for distant (tens of kilometers) mountain shots, as well as to get closer to wildlife that is relatively nearby (50 meters, or so). The quality of the build of the lens is good, and I have been satisfied with the autofocus and IS. However, I have been unhappy with the crispness of the focus of this lens - particularly for distant shots. For closer scenes, the focus is better, but still cannot be described as "crisp". I will "get by" with this lens until I can afford a better one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Underwhelmed

By LB from Fort Wayne, IN on 09/24/2013


Cons:

Semi-sharp Images, Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have to say, that after having used this lens for some time now, that I have not had the quality results that others have had with this lens. The older version of this lens was better, in my opinion...disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great lens

By yogiboy from tracy ca on 05/22/2013


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS II Compact, lightweight lens with Optical Image Stabilizer technology High zoom ratio lens equivalent to 88-400mm in 35mm format Can hand-hold at shutter speeds slow as 1/15th of a second UD-glass lens element to correct chromatic aberration


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sturdy and great lens

By Rayne from Oroville, CA on 03/27/2013


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When I got my T3 I knew I needed an upgrade from the kit lens. After a lot of research I knew this lens is the one. When I finally got it I tested right away and the results were amazing. I just love this lens overall. Takes amazing nature photos. And now I have a 7D the pictures are even sharper than ever.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this Lens!

By Geek46 from South Florida on 02/24/2013


Pros:

Manual Focus Ability, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

In love with this lens. First day of use this morning at Green Cay Wildlife center in Boynton Beach FL. Amazing ease of use. While Auto-Focus using the dc motors is way too slow, does excellant putting the unit into MANUAL FOCUS and doing it the old fashioned way..... very fast, quick pic taking with birds moving everywhere!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Kit Lens

By Captain Joe from Western NJ on 11/16/2012


Pros:

Well Above Average Sharpness, Good Build Quality, Relatively Inexpensive

Cons:

Slow Af?

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Been using this lens for over a year. I've found the AF is much faster, more accurate (sharper) when you choose a single AF point. You will be very hard-pressed to find a better Zoom Lens at this price. Important to remember that this IS a kit lens


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very happy

By Dtaf from Florida FL on 08/01/2012


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the lens a few months back when my "photography style" shifted to one that would require a lens with more zoom. After looking at countless reviews and comparisons I decided I was going to just go and buy this lens. I was immediatly surprised at the overall build quality of the lens, and for this price, im very happy. If the lens in fact lacks image sharpness, it's something that I am yet to notice. It produces a very sharp image on my t3i. If you're considering this lens I say go for it. P.s auto focus speed is nothing that makes the lens less attractive, quick and easy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Lens

By MainstreamRailfan from Lafayette, Indiana on 06/01/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Decent Image Quality, Good Zoom Range

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images, Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this lens soon after I purchased my first DSLR (Rebel XS). The lens is pretty durable. It has been in all sorts of weather and even accidentally dropped off of the kitchen table once! The AF is ok, but is a little noisy and pretty slow. Image quality is pretty good for the price although it obviously doesn't compare to the L-Series lenses. I am a railfan and therefore I shoot trains and other item of railroad interest. When a train is headed for you at track speed it is a little slow at first, but one it gets focused, it's Image Stabilizer holds on for the ride an does a pretty good job. Although, I don't use the lens quite as often now that I have upgraded to an EOS 7D with 28-135mm lens, it will still occasionally venture out of the gadget bag and onto the camera when I need to really zoom in on something. A pretty good lens that I would recommend!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great value, don't like the AF

By Snap-a-do from Florida on 05/14/2012


Pros:

Price

Cons:

Slow/ Inaccurate Af

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great lens for the price! My ONLY problem with this lens is the AF is very slow, and yes I know it's not USM but it is SLOW. My EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 kit lens and EF 50 f/1.8 are much faster also without USM. Then there is the fact that the AF is also inaccurate req the use of manual focus. Overall the images produced by this lens are amazing for the price!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great beginner telephoto lense

By cameraman101 from Canton, MI on 04/26/2012


Pros:

Good Zoom, Good Is

Cons:

Slow/inaccurate Autofocus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i picked this up when i got my first Canon DSLR (canon T3) and i loved it. i used it all the time and thought i was the coolest thing around. But then i got a 70-200 f/2.6 and this lens now just sits in the camera bag. The autofocus is loud and slow, however, the image stabilizer works great, even at 250mm. i wish the aperture was bigger, but 1:4-5.6 isn't bad.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good for an Amateur

By Colleen from Pennsylvania on 04/10/2012


Pros:

Good For Beginners, Inexpensive, Good Zoom

Cons:

Slow Autofocus, Not Sharp, 4.0 Minimum Aperture

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is a good starter zoom lens. However, after discovering prime lenses, I realized that it is not very sharp. Sure, it zooms in a lot, but the images cannot compare to a prime lens for sharpness. Also, it can't really be used easily indoors because of the minimum 4.0 aperture. Outdoors, it does a decent job in good lighting, but again, the pictures are not as sharp as they could be. I really would recommend this only to an amateur who isn't planning to shoot in manual. If you are planning on moving up the ladder as far as equipment, I wouldn't bother. Get a 50 mm, 85 mm, or 100 mm lens instead. Despite the price, it's just not worth it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent

By miked from Winter Springs, Fl. on 03/23/2012


Pros:

Quick To Focus, Light Weight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this lens as part of the kit with my T2i. I used it once in a while until Speed week in Florida. I spent the day shooting the stock cars and using it at all zoom lenghts. The results were great, I could not be happier and the feel of plastic is a non-issue. This lens is a steal for the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it !

By Forch from NC Beach on 03/22/2012


Pros:

Ease Of Use, Performance

Cons:

None Yet

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Used on a T2i and it works like a point and shoot at Lacrosse games. Purchased as package with 18-55 IS II so price was all together with bag. Only addition I need to add is a hood because of late afternoon glare. So far this is a fantastic lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Start

By Mathew from Michigan on 02/16/2012


Pros:

Sharp

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens in a bundle with a T3i. The IS on this lens is great, auto focus is spot on. Produces great shots throughout the zoom range. Great value for the money and a wonderful compliment to the T3i.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I bought this for my wife ...

By Anonymous from San Diego,Ca on 01/29/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this for my wife and she is thrilled, best setup ever when you combine it with the Canon EOS rebel went out to explore the safari park this morning, fantastic shots from 150 yards out.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't Let the Construction Fool You

By Big Al from Atlanta, GA on 01/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Don't let the plastic lens mount and entry-level construction fool you, this lens produces high quality images and a very low price. I have some "L" glass for more serious work but for kids' athletics, trips to the zoo, and for following my granddaughters around the back yard this lens is perfect. Sharp with good contrast, its also light weight with an excellent implementation of Canon's Image Stabilization. It doesn't take up much space in my backpack so I carry it every day. This is really a great Canon lens for the money. I shoot it on a Canon EOS 60D and the combination is just about perfect for everyday shooting.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved