Home » Photography » Accessories » Strobe Lighting Accessories » 2478A002 » 12 Reviews

Canon 2478a002 Speedlite Transmitter St-e2 Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 12 reviews)

58% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Good Exposure Performance (5), Superior Build Quality (4), Quiet (5), Fast Recycling Time (3)

Cons:

Poor Build Quality (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

It's an excellent trigger for 550EX

By Sam from Torrance, CA on 07/30/2012


Pros:

Good Exposure Performance, Superior Build Quality, Quiet

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have 3 550EX and 1 580EX for photo table setup with Harbor Digital Diffuser on each unit. This trigger works quite well with 1DS Mark-2 and flash setup I have. I don't have any AF cover fall off issue. And the hot shoe mount works quite good with a locking pin. It doesn't have a knob that you can tighten the unit on the camera but the unit is very light, and there's enough friction between the hot shoe and the trigger mount, so you don't really need to tighten it. I haven't tried long distance setup in the field as I use this for mostly product shot on the table. But it handles most indoor family gathering shots with no problem. It uses a special battery but it is readily available in many places where common batteries are sold. I always have an extra battery in the bag for just in case. This is an indispensable tool for my need and it is very reliable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Looking for the next generation model

By pphoto422 from Phoenix, AZ on 01/12/2012


Pros:

Small, Light, Assist Autofocus

Cons:

Limited Features, Obsolete

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've used this product for about a year now, and I have a complaint about how outdated this seems. I find myself using 580EX II's set to off for master flash work more than I use this. I am noticing that the only times I use this is when I need autofocus in low light conditions. It's not very cost effective for the price. The 580 EX II can do more than this can as a slave master and it's only a marginal cost more expensive. I hope that Canon updates this product, because it's useful, but appears to have become obsolete.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor Build

By disappointed x1 from Suffolk VA on 02/13/2011


Pros:

Good Exposure Performance, Quiet, Fast Recycling Time

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I had been happy with performance but now very disappointed in build quality. The AF filter came off while walking through a park. Unbelievable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Skip it.

By Joko from Undisclosed on 08/20/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've tried using this thing for a variety of different shoots, from portraits to action sports and it simply does not work well. The line of sight needed for it to work is frustrating. I love you Canon, but can we get a radio transmitter instead? For the price of this transmitter, save up a little extra and purchase two radio transmitters instead.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lacking features/poor build design

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 07/31/2010


Pros:

Easy Controls

Cons:

Special Battery, Loose Hotshoe Connection, Limited Functions, Line-of-sight Limitations, Size

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Although this is a necessary complement to Canon Speedlites, it has a lot of room for improvement: - In terms of build quality, it is a little too big in size. - Connection to the hotshoe is loose, and lock is of poor design. Would prefer a locking system like the one on the 580EXII which is weather sealed. - On the good side, controls are simple and easy to visualize. - In terms of functions, it lacks many of the options in a 580EXII when used as master. For example, shooting speedlites on manual (the 580EXII can set the individual power remotely for each of the 3 flash groups A,B,C). - Also, you can only control ratios for 2 groups (A:B). - Uses special batteries (I would prefer AAA) - Lastly, the issue of radio vs. infrared and line-of-sight limitations. I usually need to run an extension cord from the hotshoe to the ST-E2 to point the unit so that all speedlights are fired. Another limitation is when using speedlites with softboxes (many times it is impossible to get line-of-sight).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not a good purchase.

By Photogamy from Oregon on 07/22/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use

Cons:

Tfails To Work Mos Of The Time.

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

When I get a shot off with this transmitter it is usually awesome. Problem is that it seems to work less than a third of the time. I can shoot once then try to shoot a similar pic with in a few moments and it won't work. I have changed batteries rebooted the system, reconnected the transmitter, checked slave settings, with no luck in the field. Then I can get it home and using the same settings as out in the field and it will work. Then back out to the field and it will work for a while then stop working and back around to the start of the circle of frustration with this thing. I shoot with a 40D and 430 EX Speedlite in Tv at 125 to 200 sec in ETTL, Distance ranges from 6 inched to get it to work and I have been up to 30 feet when it did work. The lights seem to all work fine and the IR seems to beam.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great device for ...

By QBall from Undisclosed on 07/08/2010


Pros:

Good Exposure Performance, Fast Recycling Time, Quiet, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Runs Down Batteries When Shut Off, No Rechargeable Batteries On The Market

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Great device for activating my 2 Speedlites 430EX IIs. Works good. Nice and light weight. One Major Problem: I have noticed this device tends to run down the batteries, even when the power is shut off, and that there are no rechargeable batteries in market for this model. Bad move on the designers part. Fortunately for me I have rigged up my own rechargeable batteries and modified the switch to prevent it from drawing current. I'm not going to spend anymore money buying new batteries for this. I would give it 5 Stars if it did not have this battery problem.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad AF Cover Design

By SpartonX from North Dakota on 10/11/2009


Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just got the ST-E2 and I lost the AF cover first day out... I noticed earlier in the day that it comes off really easy. I have lost the cover...Bad design. It should have snap in tabs to keep it in place. Overall it works OK. I would rate it a c+


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's ok.

By @TheDif from Philadelphia on 08/19/2009


Pros:

Lightweight, Wireless Control.

Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Ratio Isn't Intuitive.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm a fine art wedding and portrait shooter and I use Radio Poppers in conjunction with the ST-E2 alongside 3 580EX II's. This means I never use the optical IR flash by itself. Only with Radio Poppers. As a team this becomes an excellent Non-Line of Sight Wireless High Speed Sync master. The feature set is lame compared with it's equivalent competitor but it does three things simply, reliably and well: AF, command flash and it's lightweight. With the Radio Poppers the ST-E2 and 580EX II's leap over the competitors stuff. Plus you can High Speed Sync and ETTL with this thing so that's a huge deal. The 4 channel thingy is handy but I've never had cause to use it. The ratio control bit is also nice, I guess, but I've never used it, either in pro conditions. Either Canon isn't intuitive enough for me or I just don't get it. Regardless I just control ratios manually. The battery is kinda weird but you can get 'em cheap through the internet. It's lightweight so that's a big deal if you're schlepping a MkIII around all day like I do. After heavy use the AF plastic shield thing fell off and I lost it. So that was lame. Now I lost my AF assist and I don't know how to get a replacement piece. Overall this is a simple but reliable tool with a limited feature set. I'd recommend it to a friend.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very satisfied with mine.

By Jarhead5811 from Madison, MS on 08/15/2009


Pros:

Lightweight, Great As A Focus Assit

Cons:

Poor Performance In Sunlight, Non-standard Battery, Line Of Site, Battery Dies Without Warning

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use mine to trigger three 430EXs. I've no complaints, performance wise, that are not inherent to optical triggering. (Although a native Canon RF based wireless solution would be AWESOME!) I also use it as a focus assist when taking lower light natural light pics. It'll make a lens that likes to hunt snap to as if it were plenty bright. (Makes my Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II seem like a much better lens.) The only real complaint I've got is that it has no battery life indicator, it just dies, and it takes a somewhat unusual battery. (Why not AA or AAA?)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love my ST-E2!

By Music Man5 from Normal, IL on 12/08/2008


Pros:

Good Exposure Performance, Fast Recycling Time, Quiet, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Line Of Sight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As an event photographer I occasionally need to place some speedlights in odd places to light the event. The ST-E2 works great for this and for portrait work. It's easy to set up and I still get my ETTL. My only drawback is range. Occasionally I will need to get a shot in a room to large for the ST-E2 to work properly. But that is the only problem I have had with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good flash control

By Doctor from Athens on 11/15/2008


Pros:

Good Exposure Performance, Superior Build Quality, Quiet

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use the ST-E2 for my portrait work with a couple of Canon flashes like the 550 and the 420. So far the control the ST-E2 gives me is excellent. I think i can do everything with it and it never lets me down. It is a little expencive but it's worth it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved