Home » Accessories » Camera Accessories » Lenses & Filters » 2509A003 » 14 Reviews

Canon 2509a003 Ef 20 Mm F/2.8 Usm Ultra-wide Angle Lens Reviews
Canon 2509a003 Ef 20 Mm F/2.8 Usm Ultra-wide Angle Lens

Canon 2509a003 Ef 20 Mm F/2.8 Usm Ultra-wide Angle LensAdded to our catalog within last 30 days

Offers a focal length of 20 mm and maximum aperture of 1:2.8 Focuses as close as 0.8 feet for sharp images Rear focusing system with USM facilitates easy focus adjustment Designed for Canon EOS (SLR) Digital CamerasFix the Canon EF 20 mm f/2.8 USM Ultra-Wide Angle Lens to your camera and capture hi... <more> 

Canon Model: 2509A003

$652.72

4 in stock
This product qualifies for FREE Ground Shipping!

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 14 reviews)

69% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images (3)

Pros:

Superior Build Quality (4), Fast Auto-focus (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Perfect Real Estate Lens

By TomInJax from Jacksonville, FL on 03/11/2015

I played around with wide and ultra-wide lenses over the years. The best lens for a full frame camera that I have found is this 20mm lens. It seems to be wide without exhibiting extreme distortion. The nice part if the field curvature works well taking photos of small rooms. The plane of focus at the sides are closer than in the middle, thereby making the walls more in focus at each side of the frame. The sharpness is overkill for real estate photos. It is a shame that photographers do so much work to properly light the room, set the camera perfectly level on a tripod for maximum sharpness, and the listing services compress and soften the pictures on the web. Full screen photos on a large monitor are almost flawless! I am sure that the corners may be a bit soft in a 6 by 4 foot enlargement, but that isn't the way that real estate photos are shown. Focus is accurate, sharpness is wonderful (if you know how to use it), and f2.8 is fast enough for interiors without have to add tons of light. Here is a tip to photograph interiors: If you can replace the light bulbs (lamps) in each room's light fixtures, temporarily change the lamps to daylight LED lighting. I use 60, 75, and 100 watt equivalent lamps. You can also use supplemental lighting with some well placed strobes too. Remember to set your light balance to daylight. This helps when using a natural amount of HDR to show the view through windows in the room as your eye perceives it. if you shoot real estate photography and want to save yourself a bunch of time, get this lens!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good lens for serious amateur

By Cris from Middle Tennessee on 08/29/2014


Pros:

Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Short and simple. This lens is does exactly what I expected it to do - take great photos. One can get a balanced impression and make a judgment about this lens by reading all the reviews. It is made for the serious amateur, maybe not for the pro. I have owned my Canon 20mm for about three years, and have produced clear, sharp, award-winning photos. My interests are landscape contests and stock photos. I don't need to push my lenses like a pro. I use it with a 40D.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fast and Wide

By MakroMan from Washington DC on 08/25/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a very sharp lens. It quickly became my favorite for panoramic shoots and steadycam fly through. It allows for amazing flexibility because of its small size and fast aperture.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

nice lens

By east coast from New Yprk, NY on 03/18/2014


Pros:

Sharp, Light Weight, Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens used (1 month old )and was a little cautious about it's value.Took some pictures and was very pleased.Having other wide angle Len's to compare with 24-105,24-85 and17-40 I can say this 20mm lens is as good or better tan most of the other lens.I like the build quality and how light it is and it is very sharp.My 5D mark 3 helps with it's lens correction.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Skip it

By Denver Bryan from Denver, CO on 01/22/2013


Cons:

Color Cast, Intense Vignetting, Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've had this lens for several years. The images are soft at all apertures. There's a color cast. There's massive vignetting, though PIC removes it pretty well. You'd be better served to save your money for the 17-40 zoom.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not the best

By MountainPacker from Denver, CO on 01/02/2013


Cons:

Semi-sharp Images, Color Cast

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Images have a purple cast and are a little soft at all apertures. Save your money until you can buy the 17-40 instead, you'll get sharper images.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A great lens!

By =CB= from Florida swampland on 06/13/2012


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

A Little Big And Heavy For A 20mm

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had the EF 20mm/2.8 for about four years. Can't be happier with it, except maybe I'd like a smaller, lighter version. You just can't have it all. The performance is very good. Edge sharpness, on film or digital full frame, shows some softness wide open, but it crisps up very well by f/4.0. Focusing is fast and exact. I keep a filter on mine always, no signs of additional vignetting caused by the addition of a full thickness filter. The front does not rotate - polarization filters are not a hassle. Corner darkening does exist, but also cleans up in the middle apertures. I like this lens, I shoot with it quite a bit. More than the medium length lenses, I tend to shoot wide mostly. I currently use two EF 28mm lenses (2.8 and 1.8), a EF 24mm-105mmL, and this EF 20mm/2.8 for my wide angle lenses. For bodies I've got an A2e and Rebel-Xs for film, and a 5d-mk ii and Rebel XTi for digital. I am an avid amateur, but do shoot the occasional wedding and products commercially. Wish all the Canon lenses came with their respective hoods!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Panned by the press, So what?

By Canonfodder from Coconut Creek (SE) FL on 02/09/2012


Pros:

Excellent Close Ups, Great Dof, Light Weight/small, Very Sharp

Cons:

Falloff/vignetting, Can't Stack Filters

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have had this lens since the mid 1990's when the street price was high. Yes there is corner falloff and vignetting in a 5D MKll, so what shoot around those limitations and you have one fine lens. Stacking filters is not a good idea. I get tack sharp results very fast autofocus, great low light performance and you can stick it in someones face and get a nice shot that isn't so exagerated that it looks comic book. Takes great close ups with great depth of field. I recommend that anyone who has difficulty first try the autofocus lens compensation on the 5DMKll and see if that helps. I have used this on three other APS Canons also several film EOS's(remember film) with equally nice results You also may want to use the 10-22 ES for even better results..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lens Quality

By ktiepark from Undisclosed on 11/09/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Reading previous reviews about this lens, I was very timid to purchase this lens, but I needed a wide angle lens and this was in my price range. The auto-focus is a little slow in low light [but most lens are] and the crispness of an image at f2.8 takes a little more effort, but overall I think it gets the job done, takes wonderful landscape photographs, and for this price, I don't think you can get anything better. Yes, this lens creates some vignetting stopped all the way open, but it is an ultra-wide wide angled lens, almost fisheye so there's obviously going to be a little. There is also some distortion depending on your area of focus, but again at 20mm, it's almost a fisheye. The distortion is easily correct in photoshop, and like I said earlier depending on your composition and subject matter, most won't even notice. Overall I think its a great purchase for the ultra-wide angle, price, and quality. Like any lens, it has it's problem areas, and any knowledgable photographer can work their way around it. Like I said earlier, I love love love using this to shoot landscapes. It can capture so much information, and the color and detail it captures make this lens worth it for me. Seriously, you'll be shocked with how much information you can squeeze into one frame with this camera. I use it with the 5D Mark II - which I feel you would need a full frame camera to really make the most out of this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awful resolution

By Luigi from Undisclosed on 02/20/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I' ve used it for few days. Resolution on 5d mark 2 is horrible. Very fast the usm autofocus.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good value

By Lenoir from Hong Kong on 05/17/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Good Color And Contrast, Fast Auto-focus, Light Weight

Cons:

Vignettes On Full Frame When Wide Open

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was a great value for what i wanted. I started using it on my rebel XT, because it was 2.8 and a really wide angle. I don't really buy many EF-S lens because I knew I would eventually move to full frame. The images are really nice and sharp with good contrast. I didn't notice any Vignetting until I did move to a full frame 5D mark II. Bringing the aperture up a few stops controls this only draw back. (and of course fixing it in post) This really is a nice lens and I would highly recommend to any one looking for a sharp, fast, wide angle EF lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not Great, but better than the alternatives.

By FotoDuo from Denver, CO on 06/25/2009


Pros:

Inexpensive For This Focal Length

Cons:

Poor Corner Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Vignettes badly at f2.8 and f4. Corners not sharp at all at f2.8 and f4. Good central sharpness at f4, f5.6 and f8. Corners ok at f5.6, slightly better at f8. Nice modeling effect and bokeh quality at f5.6 and f8. Looks worse at f11 and smaller stops - diffraction? Distortion is much less than any of the zoom alternatives. Color rendition and contrast are good at f5.6 and f8. Not a good reputation, so very inexpensive second-hand. For extreme-wa shots at f5.6 or f8 it does the job, better to have than have not.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

this is a good lens. i ...

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 05/20/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this is a good lens. i first got the lens over four years ago. i've taken it with me everywhere, and am always happy with the image quality. however, it has slow auto-focus (an issue many canon lenses seem to have)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Unsharp at any f/stop

By ts from upstate ny on 03/25/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Very poor image quality, this lens is a dog. Lens sharpness fall-off at the edges is awful. This lens is always left behind.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved