Home » Accessories » Camera Accessories » Lenses & Filters » 2510A003 » 13 Reviews

Canon 2510a003 Ef 28mm F/1.8 Usm Reviews
Canon 2510a003 Ef 28mm F/1.8 Usm

Canon 2510a003 Ef 28mm F/1.8 UsmAdded to our catalog within last 30 days

With the large maximum aperture, excellent background blur is possible even with a fast shutter speed. The aspherical lens element makes the lens compact and corrects spherical aberrations. The image is sharp even at the edges. Lead-free glass is used.

Canon Model: 2510A003

$591.10

4 in stock
This product qualifies for FREE Ground Shipping!

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 13 reviews)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Fast Auto-focus (7), Superior Build Quality (4), Super-sharp Images (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Extremely Pleased

By LuLu from Fort Worth, TX on 01/30/2015

This has been my favorite lens so far. I have another fixed lens of Canon's that I fell in love with & both are great. The images are crisp and clear and they are sturdy/durable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quiet, fast autofocus. ...

By badkarma from Philadelphia, PA on 01/30/2015

Quiet, fast autofocus. Very useful field of view - I use this as my walk around lens on a full-frame camera when I go hiking. Wide enough for light landscape / architectural use (though, if this is a primary need of yours, you probably want something wider). Not so much distortion that shots of people are unusable. For me, it's in the sweet spot. It's plenty fast and I'm impressed with the sharpness.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Almost great

By Connor from south carolina on 12/24/2014

I've used this lens for some video shoots and have gotten some amazing results. On a full frame, it's great for wedding receptions, concerts, etc. Sunstars are nice and it handles light really well... for the most part. In some photos, I've gotten some really nasty chromatic aberration. However, I still love it. Everyone needs a wide angle and this is a good one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I LOVE THIS LENS!

By sigxbill from Colton, CA on 03/28/2014


Pros:

Quiet, Sharp, Light, Fast, Great Event Lens, Looks / Feels Well Built, Small, Quick Autofocus, Makes Beautiful Images Easily

Cons:

None - Just Buy It

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the 4th lens (all Canon) that I purchased for my full frame 5D Mk II, and I love it. This lens has relegated my slower mid-range IS zoom to the closet. In a side by side test at 28 mm in evening light, the images this lens produces blows those of my slower mid-range IS zoom away! I prefer this lens for walk around and events - basically anytime I am not shooting portraits. It feels light and not bulky, makes my camera much more enjoyable to carry around. On top of that, it looks great and feels very well built. The only reason I didn't 5 stars for: Features - is it is simple - which is a good thing. What more does it need? Performance - I have read that certain other fixed L lenses have very slightly more contrast at apertures wider than 2.8, which is hard for me to believe after using this one. If I hadn't read that, I would have given this lens 5 stars. Quality - 4 stars only because it is not metal, but it feels solid like metal, and thank goodness it isn't metal because otherwise it would be heavier. Since you are reading this, you obviously think you might need a fixed 28 mm. My suggestion is stop reading and just buy this lens - you won't be sorry - unless you feel like you want to spend more on an L lens ...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fast Primes Are Your Friend

By Major from Ohio on 06/05/2013


Pros:

Fast Aperture, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens because I wanted a fast prime. That's precisely what I got. As the other reviews have said, this lens works out to be very close to an actual nifty fifty focal length on a crop sensor like the T3i. In hindsight, I probably should have gone with a 35mm or a 50mm, but that has nothing to do with the quality of this lens, just my preference. When I pulled this lens out of the box, I was thrown off by the weight. Coming from only having kit lenses before, the weight for the size of the 28mm was surprising to me. It's still very compact and wieldy, which is very nice for just bringing a camera and a lens with you on a trip. The working with a f/1.8 lens is great. Because of the fast aperture and short focal length, IS really isn't necessary. As I mentioned earlier, this lens works out to be roughly a 50mm, which I like because I learned on a film camera with a fast 50mm lens. However, you will still end up with the wide angle distortion. On a full frame camera, the field of view is quite stunning. Great for medium to small rooms or getting a close foreground and distant background.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

You Can't Go Wrong.

By ImNotSam from Paris, France on 05/03/2013


Pros:

Great Price/quality Ratio, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is truly a great piece of engineering. I bought this lens with a wide-angle in mind, since I have a cropped sensor camera (T3i). The quality is great and the camera is perfect for street photography. I would personally refrain from using it for portraits... I use my 50mm for that. But that's personal choice! All in all, I'd say you cannot go wrong with this lens. The images are sharp, the focus is smooth. The only thing I could see people complaining about is the fact that it has a plastic body, which may make it feel a little cheap. But that is soon forgotten once your camera is turned on!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice lens on a EOS crop sensor

By robpossible from Undisclosed on 09/15/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

On a EOS crop sensor this lens works out to be a 44mm lens, which is probably why I like it so much. I've used it on a full frame camera too and it distorts on the edges, this is pretty cool too and makes the lens pretty versatile. The glass is nice and I'd buy this lens over and over just to make sure I had it in my bag.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect!

By Matt'sPhotoDesign from New Jersey on 10/21/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first lens away from T2i kit. It was a GREAT investment, the quality and feel of this lens is solid. The Focus is quick and silent and the focus ring is nothing to complain about. Before you buy, I suggest you do some research on Depth of Field. It will be something you will have to learn to understand if you plan on using F/3.5 or lower. I am more than satisfied with this lens, it's the perfect everyday lens. Don't let anyone tell you otherwise


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Little Lens

By Michgirl from Michigan on 12/24/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Lightweight, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

No Hood Included

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have a T1i and mostly use the 15-85mm lens. Recently faced with a holiday shopping weekend in Chicago, I knew I wanted to bring my camera, but not carry around a heavy lens all day. I also wanted something that would take great indoor shots, restaurants and bars, as well as wide enough for street shots. After much reserach, I selected this lens due to the f/1.8 and width of lens. The first shots I took were like "oh wow", the larger aperture that noticable. My weekend trip produced some wonderful pictures, and it handled all situations. It is now my indoor lens, while the 15-85 my outdoor lens. This lens has beautiful color and contrast, is very sharp and fast. I did outdoor night shots at 1/30 handheld and the shots are very sharp. I have not noticed much CA at all, only a shot or two, and it was only visible when enlarging the image to look for it. I am very pleased with this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great on APS-C

By ophiuchus from CT on 01/05/2010


Pros:

Great In Low Light Condition, Compact And Solid, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Chromatic Aberration, No Lens Hood As Standard Equipment

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens to replace the kit one, which came with my EOS450D. The difference is noticeable, esecially in focusing speed and low light performance. However the lens suffers from heavy chromatic aberration which is visible at almost any f-stop (easy to repair in post processing, but when using this lens on filmSLR - CA will be a problem). Yet I like it very much and currently it's my primary lens. I'd buy it again if had to ;) Shame, the lens hood needs to be bought separently though.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect for my T1i

By Prime lens lover from Highland, UT on 11/24/2009


Pros:

Fast Lens, On The T1i It's A 40mm

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens to use on my T1i instead of the kit lens, it's the only lens I use on it. The images are sharp, I shoot wide open much of the time for people in existing light situations and catching the moment and am very happy with the results. For scenics I will try to shoot at an f8 and the sharpness and quality are hard to beat. Would recommend this to a friend and would buy it again myself.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good wide angle

By Brandon from NJ on 07/07/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Heavy Chromatic Aberration

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

In short, this lens is great in low light, and not so great in bright light. The USM is very impressive, very fast focusing and locks on even in near dark conditions. It is a bit soft wide open but sharpens up at f/2.2 and at 2.8 it is very sharp. It's a little on the heavy side compared to a 50 f/1.4 but it is compact and easy to take into restaurants and places. Build quality is good and feels solid to use. I use this on a crop camera and love the focal length. It is wide enough to get a few people in a picture if you take a few steps back and has a nice minimum focusing distance for tighter shots. The only downside of this lens is the heavy chromatic aberrations produced in harsh lighting conditions. If you shoot in daylight with it, you're bound to have some. Not that it can't be fixed in post processing, but it is a bit of annoyance when shooting outdoors. Even stopped down a bit, there still remains some CA. Other than that, I love this lens and don't think I'll be selling it anytime soon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good low light lens

By Aequitas from 203, CT on 06/26/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Hood Isnt The Best

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I take alot of pictures at concerts, mainly punk shows or shows where you can be close to the stage so zooming isn't a huge issue. (If I'm at bigger shows I'll use my 100mm Macro lens because its 2.8f and usually fast enough in low light situations, and takes great pictures too.) This lens is great for concerts, I can generally take pictures at any show without the use of flash. I've used this lens on a Rebel XTi and Elan 7NE and had great results with both. I use this lens the most out of the ones I own just because you can use it anywhere and there's not really too much of a distortion problem, unless you're taking portraits. I would not reccomend this for portraits obviously. This lens is very sturdy and I have yet to have a problem with it. Its my main lens for urban exploring which means it gets beat up a little every now and then, I've even dropped it on a side walk and its fine! Only problem I've had with this lens is the hood, but oh well, you can just use your hand to fix light problems. Hope this was helpful. I would recommend this mainly for low light situations where you don't want to use flash, and its great for landscapes as well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved