Home » Accessories » Camera Accessories » Lenses & Filters » 2514A002BA » 91 Reviews

Canon Ef 50mm F/1.8 Ii Standard & Medium Telephoto Lens - 50mm - F/1.8 (2514a002ba) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 91 reviews)

86% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Lightweight (7), Light (4), Super-sharp Images (45), Superior Build Quality (9), Fast Auto-focus (13), Amazing Value (3), Cheap (3)

Cons:

Poor Build Quality (31), Slow Auto-focus (15), Semi-sharp Images (5)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

very impressive sharpness. excellent crisp , fas

By Jake from CA on 07/10/2015

This little lense is exceptionally crisp and sharp! Will be using it as my primary "glass".


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best 50mm for the money

By SuzyTBo from Colorado on 04/29/2015

Is this the highest end 50mm lens you can buy? Nope. Is it one of the best anyway? Yep. I had been wanting to add a new lens to my gear bag for a while and read a lot of reviews of different tiers of 50mms. I decided on this one because, despite the comparatively low price point, it had a ton of really good reviews. I am so glad that I did. Color and clarity are impressive. Focus is sharp, (although out towards infinity it gets just a little softer than I like). Autofocus is spot-on, but not the fastest (I think mostly due to it not being a usm). The body doesn't Feel super quality, but it definitely is well-made. I love it for portraits and nature photography and it is fantastic for low-light situations. I currently have this lens paired with my T2i, and I can't wait to see its potential when I upgrade to a full-frame model. If you are even vaguely considering this lens - go buy one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very clear pictures

By classiccastoutfit from Florence, WI on 02/27/2015

This lens is one that works well for taking portraits, or in my case, clients holding fish that they catch. The image quality is great, as one would expect from Canon. It takes a relatively long time to focus when shooting in the AF mode. This is the first lens that I have ever owned that us not a USM lens. Perhaps that is why it takes longer to focus. If that is the reason, then I would recommend that anyone purchasing this lens get real familiar with the creative settings, or get a lens with the USM. You will be frustrated if you don't. Other than that complaint, the picture quality is very good and makes this a very functional lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very satisfying purchase

By KGR from Undisclosed on 02/23/2015

I have an older Canon DSLR body (XS Rebel) and this lens has made a huge difference in the picture quality. Well worth the little investment for huge payoffs when shooting.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

High quality, low weight and low price

By Journeydog from Southern Arizona on 02/13/2015

When I first purchased my Canon 60D, I ordered the kit with 18-200 zoom lens. This is a perfect all around lens, but not necessarily the best carry around lens. It gets a bit heavy on a strap or even in a backpack if you have much other stuff. So, I added this basic 50mm, Perhaps the best value of all the Canon lenses. It makes my 60D a much better carry around, and it is also better in low light than the 18-200. Nice addition to my slowly growing lens collection.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Lens!!!

By Doctor from Athens on 02/11/2015

I own this lens for over a year now. I also own a lot of L lenses so I know a few things about the best glass there is for Canon users. This lens is not very well made, in fact it is in the opposite side of the L lenses. It is all plastic. It is very small and light, it fits in your jacket pocket easily. And then, there is the image quality. That is truly L grade. It is absolutely amazing. Super sharp, fast AF (although noisy). The only downside of this optic is the bokeh. It is not that creamy bokeh you find in other lenses, like the 85 f/1.8. I would recommend this lens to anyone using a Canon camera. It is so cheap and so good, you can't help but own it... Seriously, go out there and buy one...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Super Lens

By JK from Upper Freehold, NJ on 01/16/2015

Price is deceiving.It is a fantastic lens, sharp and fast.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazingly great lens

By rickymare from Portland, OR on 01/14/2015

I am new to photography and I was just using the 18-55mm lens and thought that was great. Until I received this lens! It is great for indoor and low light situations. I live in the Pacific Northwest and we hardly ever get light so this has been ideal! my only gripe would be the build quality, could be better. aside from that, its wonderful!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

EF 50mm f/1.8 II

By AP from Phoenix, AZ on 12/24/2014

Review Guidelines Focus on the product and your individual experience using it: This specific lens got stuck on my brand new EOS camera and rendered it inoperative! I am writing this review to let other people know about this. Provide details about why you liked or disliked a product: I dislike this lens because it got stuck on my camera the first time i used it. I checked online only to find that many more people had the same exact problem. Do not mention competitors or retailers by name: I didn't. Do not mention price: I didn't. Do not include links to other sites: I didn't Product reviewed must be available for purchase in the U.S.: It was purchased in the U.S. Words must have meaning, i.e. no dummy text: Done. Review must originate in U.S.: I am in the U.S. This is the 3rd time i am trying to post a review and they keep deleting it, saying i did not follow the guidelines (basically because i am posting a negative review, so this time i made sure to do this).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Thrifty Fifty Rather Than Nifty Fifty

By Boin Loin from Ohio on 12/16/2014

I purchased this lens for my 60D, attracted to the image quality I had read about in reviews and the impressively large aperture for such a small price. For the most part, this lens met my expectations. The image quality it produces is the best I have experienced thus far with my 60D; images have minimal warping and aberration (but some vignetting), and are crisp as the mid-winter air on a sunny day. The biggest letdown with this lens is the build; be sure you're aware it is plastic before purchasing it. Although the plastic build allows for a surprisingly light lens (one of Canon's lightest), it also exudes a sense of cheapness and will make you afraid to do anything other than handle it with great care. As for the aperture, there are few situations that require more than f/1.8 and you'll find it produces some righteous bokeh. Overall, this lens is a slam dunk for the price, but if you're looking for a sturdier build, consider investing in a more expensive lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great results

By JAB from Fombell Pa. on 12/05/2014

I bought the 50mm f1.8 II for portraits after seeing the reviews. The results are great so far. The lens looks fairly cheaply made, but the images are sharp and it has great saturation and rich color.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens that doesn't last.

By kuhlcrew from Wisconsin on 11/21/2014

I LOVE this lens especially for portraits. But I have purchased 2 of them, going on 3. Both after about 1 1/2 years started saying there was trouble with the connections. It BOTH TIMES ended up in a repair that costs almost as much as a new lens...which is why I keep having to buy them. SO frustrating!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Be gentle with this lens....

By johnnycaps from Long Island, NY on 09/04/2014


Pros:

Very Inexpensive. Buy 2, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Poor Build Quality, It's Delicate., Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this lens and I hate this lens. The images you get with this lens are amazing. But this is NOT military grade design. Handle this lens the way you would an egg and it will work wonders. I made the mistake of putting the lens in my camera bag without a hard cover case for the lens -- bad idea. Apparently there must have been a little jostling of my camera bag while I was walking and the next time I examined the lens it was essentially in 2 pieces. Darn. But I love this lens so I bought another and now keep it in a hard shell case (unless I'm using it) and all is good. BTW as you probably already know, this is NOT a "normal" lens for a crop factor DSLR. It's probably closer to an 80mm lens on a full frame 35mm film camera or full size sensor DSLR i.e. Canon 5D, 6D, 1D X etc. So if you want "to see what your eye sees" on a crop factor DSLR i.e. Canon 7D, 70D, 60D, 50D, Rebel, etc. you want to get a 35mm focal length lens (or zoom your kit lens to about 35mm). So you might be wondering.... What's the easiest way to tell if a Canon EOS camera has a full sized sensor? Well, you can't really tell by how Canon refers to the camera (at least I can't). So the easiest way is to look at Canon's "Estimated Retail Price". As of this writing if it's over $1600 (body only) it's a full sized sensor. Simple.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens and sharp ...

By np from Undisclosed on 04/18/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great lens and sharp pictures. Love the pictures from this lens


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great value!

By Bojo from Ann Arbor on 03/18/2014


Pros:

Small & Light, Tack Sharp, Quick Focus

Cons:

A Bit Loud, Too Much Plastic

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I debated about purchasing this lens becuase of the plastic build quality, but I have been amazed at the sharpness and quality of the pictures - particularly for portraits. The super fast F1.8 lets you get that nice, short depth of field & bokeh, without spending $$$$. I also love the small and light package - it completely changes the feel of my 6D, making it feel much more compact, portable without getting the attention that some larger lenses get. Sure the focus motor could be quieter, and the materials better quality - but you can't expect a perfect lens for this price. But this is a great value for a hobbyist on a budget.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Performance and Value

By D. Boone from Dayton, OH on 03/16/2014


Pros:

Ease Of Use, Value, Picture Quality

Cons:

Small Manual Focus Ring

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this item because I wanted a prime lens to complement the two zoom lenses I already own. I have been very happy with the quality of photos. Some indoor shots of my pet have turned out well, as the object has been sharp, with a nice amount of background blur. So far, I have experienced no installation problems that could be attributed to the lens' plastic mounting flange. Finally, even though this lens has a simple, plain appearance, it looks really neat attached to my Rebel SL1 camera. In fact, the combination makes for a light, easy to use system. I recommend this lens for anyone who wants a prime lens for minimal cost.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Multipurpose lens

By Anonymous from New Hampshire on 02/23/2014


Pros:

Great Portrait Photos, Easy Manual Focus, Sharp Images

Cons:

Slow Auto Focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens about a year ago near the time I bought me rebel t2i and I've used it to take great portrait photos! The auto focus is slow but the images are sharp and look great!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Thought a good purchase!

By ljb from Bowling Green, KY on 01/11/2014


Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought this lens used it several times at first loved it for the moneyI didn't want to invest a lot! Had for several months; but, did not use it a lot.probably 6 times... Used again today and when trying to remove the lens it was stuck to my Canon EOS 60D.I thought my camera was done for.came home and after typing in my problem found lots of complaints with this lens and this problem on the internet. This lens is now in the garbage from having to tear it up to get it off my camera. Placed the other lens back on and it works! Thank Goodness. I have learned a valuable lesson! I do love my Canon camera and ease of using it but this lens in my opinion is a NO NO.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Do Not Buy This Lens

By Twirldesigns from Texas on 12/06/2013


Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This lens worked for three months before it started binding whe focusing. It got to the point where the lens does not move at all to focus. It is all made of plastic. Go look at the higher priced 50mm lens and you'll see metal is used for the back of the lens versus the plastic in this one. This lens is a throw away lens. Do yourself a favor and save your money and get the higher priced quality 50mm lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Incredible maximum aperture for a low price

By canonmister from Lima, Peru on 12/02/2013


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We should know that the 50mm is what we see with both eyes opened, giving us the posibility for great portraits and difussed backgrounds when the aperture is completely wide open (f1.8).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Inexpensive Lens

By bigron452 from Hopewell Junction, NY on 11/11/2013


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Brought this lens with my T3i almost 2 yrs ago and have used it many times. I've since upgraded to the 70d and it's still going strong. For the price it can't be beat. Yeah it's plastic, but the optics are great and it takes really good, clean pictures. Focusing is sometimes a little slow, but I really love the pictures. I'm not a pro, but take a ton of pictures. Because of the low cost, you don't really worry about damaging it. Absolutely wonderful for portraits .. a must have for a hobbyist !!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Possible Lens for the Money

By Munasaur from Tennessee on 10/03/2013


Pros:

Light, Small, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The is my first upgrade from my kit lens, the 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6. To get straight to the point, this lens has incredible image quality, and an extremely low price. The cheapness of the product only comes from the plastic build and the original auto-focus motor. To sum everything up, you get the superior image quality, for a low price because of things that don't affect the quality. (loud, semi-slow auto-focus, cheap plastic build). As long as you take care of your lens, this is the perfect lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great little lens

By linear from Sacramento, CA on 05/06/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this to experiment with and didn't have any long terms plans with it. After shooting with it on a Rebel T3 and an EOS 50D I can say this is a staple in my kit now. I love it. It's color, detail, and sharpness are amazing for the price. On an APS-C camera it can be used as a portrait lens. It does not rely on software later to fix the image; corners, edges, all sharp and not distorted; no CA that I can find. CONS: noisy motor and hunts in low light. Otherwise, none. That aside, this is one of my favorite lenses now.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A must have lens.

By Just me and my 7D from Michigan on 04/11/2013


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this lens. The good: Tack sharp images effortlessly, light and compact, super affordable. The bad: The auto focus is laggish.. especially in low light conditions. This is easily avoided by using manual focus. The build is very plasticy.. but honestly, who cares? Its not a con, more of a fact. I have no complaints about this lens, it keeps right up with my much more expensive lenses.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Totally satisfied

By wv_kid from West Virginia on 03/21/2013


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Takes wonderful indoor photo's. All of my other lenses have IS in them, and i was concerned that this lens didn't have it . It takes great pictures hand held even without the IS in the lens. I couldn't be happier. Great price too!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best bang-for-your-buck lens EVER!

By SjaakdeSloper from The Netherlands on 01/10/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Versatile, It's A 50mm, Decently Sharp Pictures, Did I Mention An Aperture Of 1.8 Yet?, Dirt Cheap, Aperture Of 1.8

Cons:

Af May Hunt Occasionally, Slow Auto-focus, Poor Build Quality, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had my copy for about 3 years now and it never ceases to amaze me... It just works wonders on a full frame camera and (especially considering the price) it can really producre some fantastic images! f/1.8 on a full frame is all you ever need for throwing the background out of focus in most cases, unless your subject is really far away... The build quality is nothing to rave about and some caution while using is advised, it won't survive whenever you drop it for example. I don't find it as flimsy as suggested by some people, but keep in mind that it's plastic with not-so-tightly assembled moving parts ;) The AF is generally slow and may hunt occasionally, but only when it's really dark... All things considered this is certainly a must buy lens if you don't own anything similar or when you cannot afford to spend a ton on another lens!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent lens

By M.Mania from California on 12/19/2012


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Cheap, Super-sharp Images, Light

Cons:

Poor Macro

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is perfect lens. Good price, light and wonderful.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

50mm F1.8 or 1.4 or 1.2 ??

By Anonymous from Chicago, IL on 12/18/2012


Pros:

Great Bokeh, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Noisy, Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Honestly, F1.8 is fast enough for most occasion. If you're not making money from your photos, this nifty fifty F1.8 will do. Sure, its light, plastic feels cheap, loud but I still believe its a steal for the sharp images I get out of it. I have to say thou, the focus ring is a little weird being at the very end.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good but not great

By Ole Timer from Undisclosed on 12/08/2012


Pros:

Great Bargain

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens to have something smaller in the 50mm range. I have the Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM but needed something less intrusive without spending too much for another L lens. I found the image quality was close but not quiet as good as my 24-105 so since I'm a stickler for sharpness, I returned it. If I had purchased this lens first, I probably would have kept it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens, little features.

By Manolis from Santa Cruz, CA on 11/18/2012


Pros:

Cheap, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus, Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The quality of this lens is very sharp. The pictures come out really well but the body is lacking. Not too plasticy however. No features on it besides af switch. Focuses slow and sometimes can't catch a focus but it is usually due to low light. Over all great buy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Plastic!

By ultrafox from Somerset, KY on 11/09/2012


Pros:

Great Bokeh, Super Light, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus, Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

There is a reason this lens is called the "nifty fifty" and "the fantastic plastic." This is the best lens you can buy for the money you pay. L-lens quality images in a tiny, plastic lens. If you want a great portrait lens, but don't want to spend a lot of money, this is for you. Yes, the build quality is cheap and it doesn't have an ultrasonic motor (which means it can be noisy when focusing), but at 1.8 it produces great bokeh and sharp images. The autofocus isn't the best and tends to "hunt" in low light. You need to have this lens if you are on a tight budget.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing lens!

By David from Chicago, IL on 10/06/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this lens. I bought this lens when I bought my Canon 60D. This is my go to lens. Every picture I take is with this lens. Every single picture that was taken with this lens came out spectacular! There are no cons about this lens. It takes amazing pictures. And it's definantly well worth the money!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome

By norm from new haven, ct on 09/04/2012


Pros:

Compact Size, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus, Not For Video

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Had this for about 5 months now and this is my go to lens. I always try to use this first unless I need a telephoto lens or am doing action shots or video. My wife is blown away every time I show her a picture taken with this lens. It's super clear and brings out better definition than any other lens I've used. Can't use this for video or action shots as it blurs up, but for portraits it can't be beat, for the price you need one. Haven't had an issue with the threads as some reviewers have noted. Don't be afraid of a fixed lens if you're a casual user, the clarity is amazing!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Why didn't I buy it sooner?

By thephotogirl from Harrisburg, PA on 06/25/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Versatile

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this lens! It's a good, standard type that's perfect for taking along on day trips, or for if you're a street photographer, like me. It works for pretty much any subject matter, so you don't need to lug around a ton of different lenses. While the auto-focus is a little slow, I'm a manual type of gal, so it really doesn't bother me much. It's lightweight, of decent quality, versatile, and is one of my favorite lenses. Overall, it was a great purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Unbeatable value

By jcolo from Houston, TX on 06/05/2012


Pros:

Great Value

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Unless you're investing in a similar focal length prime with a wider aperture, there's no excuse for not having this lens in your bag. The price is unbeatable, and the image quality is plenty good enough to justify it. If nothing else, it's a versatile lens that you can bring somewhere demanding and not worry too much about damaging it since it's rather inexpensive. I've used this lens for about 5 months now and I have no complaints. Sure it's super plastic, but it's lightweight and takes sharp images. Excellent for portraits - you almost can't take a bad one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Inexpensive starter lens

By Zee from Undisclosed on 02/14/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Resolution

Cons:

Build, Af Problems

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very good lens for its price, image quality is excellent. However it suffers from front-back focusing problems. Using it for portraits (cropped sensor) with shallow depth of field makes it worse. You will never know what part of your subject will be in focus. Manual focus is OK, but the focus ring is terrible. Still, an affordable lens to start with.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Price/performance > any other

By Dave from Oregon on 01/09/2012


Pros:

Lightweight And Small, Wide Aperture, Great Price, Super Sharp

Cons:

Plastic Body And Mount

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

No problems with this lens. On a APS-C camera like my T1i, the view angle is a bit narrow for much use indoors. It is superb in low light situations, but unless you have a lot of room inside it becomes a little difficult to compose shots. Mind you I'm shooting super active kids. Perfect for outdoors and on the go shooting.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

plastic miracle

By turtle from San Diego, CA on 01/06/2012


Pros:

Beautiful Pictures, Super Fast, Astounding Value

Cons:

Plastic Could Break

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have access to a very wide variety of canon and off brand lenses including the 85mm 1.8 usm and i still reach for this lens whenever i leave the studio. This lens may be plastic but it will take some insane abuse; i know of one that is in a high school photography classroom and it has so far survived 5 years of torture and hasn't skipped a beat. As a film photography addict using a canon A-1 and the old fd mount 50mm 1.8 i find myself gravitating twards this lens wherever i go anywhere and i need the convenience of digital. With a 20 or 40d this lens is masterful in the studio, perfect for portraits or full and 3/4 shots. All in all this is an absolute steal


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Plastic Fantastic

By Film Fan from worcester, MA on 12/24/2011


Pros:

Image Quality

Cons:

Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great piece of glass, my 1st prime for my Canon Rebel G. Yes, it is plastic, and maybe almost too plastic. But it is razor sharp, and almost made for the Rebel G.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Canon 50d and 50mm 1.8 usa

By Broken Lens from NY on 10/31/2011


Pros:

Bokeh, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The lens optics just fell out while shooting pics of my newborn. Lens was less than 2 months old and only 100 or so images taken. I treat all of my equiptment like gold. I know its an inexpensive lens but I really loved the results.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

love this little guy!

By rebel1 from New England on 10/27/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Plastic Mount

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I shoot a lot in crowds at live shows, usually at iso1600 with the aperture wide open, and get sharp photos every time! Best thing of all, if it gets smashed in the pit, it's cheap replace!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love It

By G from Montreal, Canada on 10/05/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It is a real good lens, i use it for wedding and portrait and it is simply amazing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stuck on Camera

By mr_earl from Memphis, TN on 09/19/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The lens got jammed when the camera was dropped. It otherwise continued to work ok. I was not able to change lenses until my daughter dropped it again, this time breaking the lens. Her boyfriend then was able to remove the lens. The camera is OK, and I may buy another one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I never leave home without it!

By Dinosaur Jr. from Undisclosed on 09/08/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Light! Light! Light!

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I picked this lens up not thinking i'd keep it because it was a fixed lens. thought i'd give it a try, but had already convinced myself it was going back to the store in a few days. i was big on telephoto... truth be told, in a few MINUTES i knew it was love! the depth of field with this lens is superb. the sharpness, speed and lightness is excellent. wide open or closed aperature, your shots will be beautiful.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Things Come In Small Packages

By Anonymous from Maine on 08/25/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the first lens I have purchased and used, other than my kit lens. I was nervous to buy such a small lens, but I have dainty hands, so I figured manual focus wouldn't be a problem for me. And I was right! I read all the reviews (pros and cons) of this lens before buying it. There really are not any cons that I can think of with this lens, unless you live by auto-focus. Mine worked for about 3 weeks and now it only works whenever it wants to. Other than that, this lens is a perfect starter lens. GREAT with a tripod!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The lens broke.

By Todd from Oregon on 07/21/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Cons:

It Broke., Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The photos are excellent but after 5 months the lens froze up and is no longer working. The lens will be returned.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome GP lens for the money!

By Scuzbucket from Cincinnati, OH/ Helmand AF on 06/25/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Affordable, Lightweight

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is easily one of my favorite lenses that I own. Super affordable, and it packs a big punch when it comes to image quality. This is a perfect lens to take to a party or any social event. I often use this lens for portraits, and I'm never disappointed. With a maximum aperture of f/1.8, it's easy to get a nice blurred background and create stellar photographs. Highly recommended, especially for the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing and why so cheap...

By sheckwel from new york NY on 06/05/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Light, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is canon little secret, this 50mm f/1.8 is great, super sharp, great optic, i don't care about the built quality, i love it how it looks like or feel like, the price is terrific, Seriously this lens should cost more than $1000 because of the sharpness, you do not have to get the 50mm f/1.4 or f/1.2 because there is not big difference on the Bokeh, all canon DSLR users must have this lens! I am so happy for the purchase!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Plastic wonder

By Happy chappie from Cape Town, South Africa on 04/22/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Super Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Im using this lens on my Rebel T2i and am simply amazed! Truly a great buy and very nice for hand held movie making. The thing weighs nothing and is super sharp. For portrait shooting it delivers way beyond it's price. Don't complain of build quality, (or anything else) after all, consider the giveaway price. Be careful how you handle it, it's pure plastic and needs to be pampered especially when attaching it to the camera body. Indeed Canon's plastic wonder lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect for TV/ Film production!!!

By Jonathan from Houston, TX on 03/14/2011


Pros:

Great In Low Light, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Awkward Manual Focusing System

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is awesome for shooting film and video productions! It's got a great shallow depth of feild, perfect for creating a high budget film-camera look with limited funds. The footage is crystal clear, even in low light. Great for shooting close-ups in dark interiors. However, it's very hard to follow-focus actors while moving through scenes. The focus ring is almost too sensitive, and not as smooth as I'd like it to be. Also, the ring itself is small and located near the lens, making it awkward to rack-focus by hand and difficult to attach a follow focus system. I'd sugest they move the focus ring closer toward the camera body and make it wider. Some of us have big hands... None the less, the footage that comes back is well worth it's awkward use. Hey, it's only a little over 100 bucks!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellent for the $$$$

By french02chris from Florida on 03/12/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i have been reading reviews about this lens..some bad and some good..so, i decided to buy one. i have a Canon 7d and a few prime telephoto lens,but i needed something for everyday use... for the price (about $100 online)..you get a great lens that is pretty fast and create some nice portrait photos ( i use it for pets). yes the autofocus is noisy and Yes, the lens has some plastic that might not be strong...but like everything else that i own, i am very careful when i put the lens on or off,so i know that it will last a long time for me... so basically..it is a very inexpensive walk around lens, but not a "cheap" lens!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Canons little secret

By hardcoreboy from Illinois on 03/04/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Lightweight

Cons:

Plasticky, Focus Ring Is Too Small

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Canon ef 50mm 1.8 mk2 is the ultimate in value lenses. More accurate focus than the 50mm 1.4 with 1/3 the price. Sharper than the 1.4 version in the 1.8 aperture mark. What more can you ask for? The value of course comes with a couple of downsides such as the build quality and the focus speed. Feels like a toy when handled. The manual focus ring is nearly non existent, plus the af is a bit loud. But hey, add USM plus a metal mount and this lens would be like twice the price it is right now. I don't really mind the plastic mount and the loud motor. I'm not using this for shooting wildlife anyway. For a hundred dollars you can't really let this one pass by. It's a no brainer. I'd use this lens all the time instead of the kit lens. It also is FF and crop body compatible. THE BEST VALUE LENS OF ALL TIME.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

that's really good to me

By naraboja from va on 02/15/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

good quality i satified everything cheapest lens lightly using


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Great Lens

By Marusya from Arizona on 02/09/2011


Pros:

Handy And Light Weight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

During the "film" days, I learned how to use my first Canon A-1 with a 50mm lens. Now that I have a digital camera, I find I use the 50mm extensively. It is light weight, easily portable, and doesn't "put people or animals off". Plus it takes great photos. It is the lens I keep on my camera to get everyday shots.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This lens took good ...

By Harlem from New York, NY on 02/02/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This lens took good pictures while it lasted. The lens is made out of plastic and not metal. Historically the plastic can break off and cause the lens to stick to your camera. Which is what happened to me. The lens would not come off of my camera which resulted in me taking it to a camera shop and having them break it off. Unfortunately they broke the lens off and the camera in the process. If you google it, you will find that it's a recurring problem with this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No better lens for the Price.

By Andrew from San Francisco on 01/30/2011


Pros:

Flexability, Best Lens For The Price, Good For Low Light, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Bad Manual Focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Canon 50mm F/1.8 I am currently a photography student and shooting with a Canon T2i. For the price you get a true wonder. Images are sharp. You can shoot in low lighting. Its a fast lens and a fast focus lens. With this lens I have shot, horses, landscape, portrait and mainly rely on this lens for any low light shooting. Very poor lens for any manual focusing. The manual focus on this lens is about a 1/8th of an inch wide and if you don't have small fingers, it proves quite difficult to actually use the manual focus while looking through your viewfinder. I am going to most likely replace it with the 50mm F/1.4 only because it has a much better designed manual focus. The 50mm F/1.8 is an excellent lens, but I wish it had a better manual focus.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Preferred Prime

By Dave from Undisclosed on 01/04/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When I started photography, in 1975, 85 percent of all photographs were taken with a standard lens, according to the photography magazines of the day. In film days, standard meant 50 or 55 mm. It is an old habit that I still can't abandon in favor of Zooms, and they still gives me my very best photographs, albeit "50" really means "80" on my Rebel. You know how that works. A 1.4 would be nice, but my budget wont let me go that high. I often see the mention "cheap" in regard to this liens. To me that means price, and not build quality. The plastic housing certainly isn't cheap. It must be some type of tough lexan polycarbonate plastic, which, in my hands, seems plenty tough.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens, great price!

By pilotincommand from Springfield, OR on 12/06/2010


Pros:

Compact And Light, Super-sharp Images, Nice Bokeh, Attractive

Cons:

Af/mf Switch Is Stiff

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this lens to take pictures of my kids. The bokeh I get is very flattering to the images. I also use this lens to do videos with my T1i. I am always amazed at how well this nifty fifty (actually nifty eighty due to the 1.6 crop factor of my Rebel) performs in low light scenes. I'd recommend this lens to anyone, it's a must have. Don't be fooled by the low price tag. It's worth much more!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Extremely Please with my Second Lens Purchase

By JoshJoshua from Tempe, AZ on 11/28/2010


Pros:

Great Lens, Super Light, Great Depth-of-feild, Affordable

Cons:

Loud Focus, Video Picks Up Focus Motors, Af/mf Switch Is Stiff

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my second Lens for my Canon T1i, and I am extremely happy with my purchase. This Lens offers superior Depth-of-Field, I see no point in getting a f/1.4 or 1.2 for a amateur professional. This lens makes my kit lens feel like its worth a couple dollars. The quality of pictures are much clearer. However if you are upgrading from a kit lens it'll take awhile to get used to it. The 50mm focal length feels like 80mm on any Rebel DSLR since the frame is cropped. Expect to stand 10 feet away from any full figure person for a photo. The focus is loud, and will be heard in video if in manual focus. However I dont do video, just wanted to do it for this review. I still highly recommend this lens for anyone who is looking to replace their kit lens, it gives you a much different effect to your photos if you are more into close ups, and no zoomed in photos. ALSO, THE CANON PHOTO PROVIDED ON THIS PAGE DOES NOT DO THIS LENS JUSTICE, PLEASE GOOGLE THE LENS FOR BETTER PHOTOS.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this lense

By Mhech from Nm on 11/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If you are a beginner to manual mode this is a great lens. I have been extremely satisfied with the flexibility it allows in low light. Some of my best photos have been taken with this lens. It works really well with Rebel xti. It is loud, but that has never bothered me. Neither has the plastic body. For the price, you cannot beat this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cheap & Useful

By RA from Queens, New York on 09/10/2010


Pros:

Bokeh Is Great, Fast Lens

Cons:

Auto Focus Can Be Slow

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this after buying the Canon Rebel XS. Needed something for portraits that blurred the background greatly & allowed the shutter speed to be fast so shake causes no problem. For the fact it's so cheap, it produces very good results. Even during a concert with only stage lights this lens helped more than the 18-55mm with IS on. Although this lens has no IS, it doesn't need it. Indoor shots tend to be at 1/60 or higher at 1.8 and if you use a tripod for indoor most of the time anyway, you'll be glad it has no buffed up price for a feature you'll never use. Only real gripe is the Auto Focus which can be a bit loud and slow but other than that if you want a cheap and effective fixed lens that gives good results for the money, this is the way to go.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Glad I bought this lens !

By nyweb2001 from Albion, NY on 08/10/2010


Pros:

Sharp, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I read reviews all over the internet about this lens.....a lot of negatives ! After using this lens for the last month, I'm glad I went with my instincts and purchased it ! This lens suits me just fine as a portrait and general walk around lens ! As far as some people complaining about the plastic housing....I don't mistreat any of my equipment ! This is a sturdy, sharp lens !! AF gets confused sometimes, but I've seen this with most lenses regardless of the price !! Definately worth the money !!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Affordable quality lens

By Melo from Undisclosed on 07/22/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Best Bang For The Buck, Amazing Value

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is back in action after two years' storage. It was replaced by the fast and quiet 50/1.4 but that didn't focus well when it worked. There is nothing wrong with the 50/1.8, its cheap plastic feel is the worst part but with its corresponding price tag I can't say anything more about this. Its AF is very noisy, fairly slow but very accurate and spot on. It produces very sharp pictures and f/1.8 is large enough for the vast majority of shooting environments. It is not an ideal lens for action but definitely adequate for low light. The plastic mount (like the kit lens) looks a bit odd but at only 4.6oz/130g its just like the body cap so there is no problem with mounting the lens. Overall, I am far happier with this f/1.8 lens than the 1.4 mainly because of AF reliability issues. It is well priced and very handy to carry around.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not a bad lens

By Canon T2i user from Undisclosed on 07/03/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Cheap

Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Slow Auto-focus, Auto Focus Does Not Work At Times

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is great for the price. It misses when autofocusing at times, but mostly it is right on. The pictures it produces are very sharp. I can take pictures at all apertures and get a great result.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best value out there

By caleb from SW MN on 06/25/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Amazing Value

Cons:

Poor Low-light Af, 52mm Filters, Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an amazing lens. In regards to sharpness, it has been compared to the 24-70 f/2.8L (when stopped down to 2.5/2.8 or lower). I've had a slight issue with ghosting, but only on very rare occasions. Low light performance for Canon's cheapest and lightest lens (you barely even notice it on a 7D) is amazing, if you have a kit lens and are on a low budget, get this lens, if you have the money, get the 50 1.4. I would recommend going with this one and putting that $$$ that you just saved towards another lens. AF is good and sharp, although not quite as fast or quiet as a ring-type USM lens, noise is not even noticeable unless it cannot focus (when it searches to both extremes). Speed is plenty enough for me on my 7D. One of the biggest things to note though: this thing feels like a toy. And if you treat it like one, it will not last you very long. The focus ring rotates during AF, if you're not careful while handling, you can strip the AF gears over it's life span. If you respect this lens as it deserves, it will last you. Although I wouldn't expect it to last years and years if you travel a lot, but you will certainly get your money's worth with the shots you can get! The focus barrel moves and rotates. You also must use an adapter if you want to use a hood (not supplied with any non L series lens' as of the time of this review). I do not see the point in getting a hood for the price of this lens, heck, a cheap filter is 1/4 the value of this lens. The plastic mount is plenty enough to support this lens. All-in-all, this is the best purchase I have made for my camera!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just buy it!

By nsd from San Jose, CA on 05/24/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Average Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a first time DSLR user. Got this for my new T2i (with kit lens). Given the price, I think this is an absolute must if you are taking portraits. The images are really sharp and the DOF is great. An order of magnitude better than the kit 18-55mm lens. Build quality is average, but I have no complaints. Just get it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens for the money

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 05/16/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Although, this lens feels cheap it does a great job. It's perfect for low light situations. Does great indoors and outdoors. It gives very sharp images too. This lens is worth the money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A real bargain w/comparable quality to "L" Lenses

By Microtech from Sacramento, CA on 04/25/2010


Pros:

Good Color, Good Contrast, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Sub-par Background Blur

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens 2 weeks ago. I just got my first roll of pictures back and i must say i am very satisfied with this lens. I went through my neighborhood taking test pictures to see the color and sharpness and contrast this lens can produce. With the 50mm, I took pictures of flowers, people, bricks, and cars etc. I took all the same pictures with my EF 70-200 F/4L. I compared the pictures side by side. The quality difference was not noticeable at first look. A second closer look proved the L lens to have much nicer "Bokeh" and very slightly better color, everything else equal. If picture quality is of high importance then this lens or any other canon prime will produce images that rival "L" series zooms. You don't have to spend a lot of money to get high quality picture. I am very impressed with this lenses' optical performance. Build quality is inferior, you must handle it with care. Auto focus works well 75% of the time but i find myself manually adjusting the focus at times and almost always in low lighting or low contrast situations.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Lens for the price

By Carol from Florida on 04/11/2010


Pros:

High Quality For Low Price, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Yes, there are superior lenses to the 50mm 1.8 in the Canon lineup, but I have had wonderful performance with this crystal clear lens. When hobbyists ask me advice about upgrading to a DSLR, I tell them to purchase this lens along with the camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Got stuck to my Rebel.

By archietf from Des Moines, IA on 02/16/2010


Pros:

Great For Portraits

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Got stuck to my Rebel XT. Tried forcing it to come out and it ended up breaking. Unfortunately it damaged the sensors in my camera and now I'm out of a lens and out of a camera. Definitely spend the extra bucks and buy the f/1.4. Other than the quality of the build, the lens did help me take some excellent portraits of my two kids.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stunning shots for amazing price

By taytaymarieski from Remer, MN on 02/09/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I borrowed my uncle's 18--55mm kit lens when I bought the XTi until I got this 50mm lens. I have used the "Nifty Fifty" for over a year and up until recently, it was the only lens I owned and used. I was very satisfied with the outcome of the photos. The f/1.8 is a great feature of this lens. I now also own a zoom lens and the biggest drawback I find on my new lens is that it's f stop is from 3.5/5.6 which is hard to get used to when you are so lucky to use the nifty fifty with a 1.8 f stop. I would say the biggest drawback for having the nifty fifty is that I find myself backing up to get more in the picture because 50mm is pretty "close". I LOVE this lens though. It is WELL worth the price. I hope to have this lens forever.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Bang For Your Buck

By Pilot850 from Undisclosed on 01/21/2010


Pros:

Light, Simple, Great Value/ Price, Fast Auto-focus, Compact

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was short on money, and needed a good short length prime. I decided to get this one. With it's low price, I didn't expect much, but it was much better than I thought. It is light, inexpensive, and it most importantly provides good shots. I like the soft backgrounds they provide. These are great for portrait and candid shots of people. I would recommend to anyone who is on a budget.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Be warned...

By trancefusion from Ventura, CA on 01/19/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Inexpensive

Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Gets Stuck On Camera Bodies

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Used this lens on my 40D, and after a few uses, it got stuck on the camera body and would not come off. This was in the beginning of my Yosemite vacation, when I really wanted to use my 17-40L for landscapes. I read about this common problem online, this has happened to a few others others. I learned that since the mount on this lens is plastic instead of metal, I could break the lens off, probably without damage to my 40D. I did just that, twisted HARD and broke the lens right off. Then I was able to use my other lenses. Not sure why this got stuck on my body - probably cheap construction or shoddy tolerances. I will not re-buy this lens. Instead, I'll get the 50mm f/1.4


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome for specific shots

By DawoodBC from Vancouver BC on 12/30/2009


Pros:

Using Focal Length To Blur Backgrounds, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I Just bought this product and so far I am quite impressed. The image quality is at least a 25-50% imporovement from the lens that came w/ my Canon Rebel XS. Colours are much better, it works great in low light situations, picture quality is awesome. So far I have noticed that it's great for macro shots, there is a wide range of focus options so you can really be specific with close ups, etc. It also works quite well for portaits, etc. Only thing is that you might have some difficulties including all of the background (might be hard to keep it in focus). This is the right lens if you are looking to have the subject of your photo in perfect focus and the background out of focus. This may not be the right lens for ppl who want to take shots and don't have a lot of room to back up. 50mm is pretty close up. Also the lens really can take a while to focus in low light situations. Other downsides is that it does not have image stabilization, so if you need to take shots without flash in a low light situation, you'll probably want a tripod. (I think that the cons mentioned can also be pros when using this lens in the right situation).. All in all, for the price, this lens is a great addition, but probably not the lens to leave in at all times. For close ups and macro it's a great choice especially for noobs like myself..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Value lens

By jgo75 from Los Angeles on 12/22/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Best Bang For The Buck

Cons:

No Wider Lens Available With The Same Price, Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just got into photography a couple of months ago with my T1i. You will get your money's worth with this little lens. It certainly outperforms my kits lenses. It's very fast, very sharp and very cheap. Everybody should have one these. You will hear everybody say that the focus ring is very small and loose but it is actually perfect for shooting video with the T1i because you can adjust focus with your left index finger with ease. The focus ring is very close to the camera body so you can hold the camera and adjust focus very comfortably. And since you won't be using the autofocus while capturing video, you won't have hear the irritating auto focus motor during playback. Perfect! Con: the one thing I wish for is an exact lens in the same price point but wider (28mm or 35mm)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Low light on a tight budget?

By Peej Studio from Undisclosed on 12/10/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images, Only 5 Blade Aperture

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great little portrait lens and for low light situations. As long as the aperture is not opened past 2.8 on a 1.6 crop sensor camera, this lens produces sharp images.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not the best, but great with its price!!

By g9 from Arlington, VA on 10/16/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I never think about to use a standard fixed focus lens before 'till I tried this little lens. With the price, there is no surprise for the low quality build. However, the body would be plastic or metal does not really matter to me, my job is not to drop or make damage to any lens. The best point of this lens is price. For me the only problem is auto-focus (which I rarely use). On my 50D, auto-focus won't work at all when I turn on live-view mode.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Beginner Lens

By RSP from Houston,Tx on 09/12/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this lens with my Canon 40D and it's not slow at all. Focus is in seconds and talk about crisp images, wow! I also started doing shots in niteclubs with this lens and it does tend to focus longer in dark environments but the quality of the images is amazing. This lens is worth every penny!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works for me!

By Mom of Two from Estero FL on 09/02/2009


Pros:

Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus

Describe Yourself:

Hobbyist/enthusiast

Best Uses:

General Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great everyday lens! Can't go wrong for the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Frustrated with auto-focus

By Ashley from Pennsylvania on 08/13/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Terrible Auto-focus On Vertical Shots, Poor Build Quality, Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

If you are trying to focus this lens while in the vertical position, good luck! I could not get it to take a picture to save my life in the vertical position with the autofocus. I had to use the manual focus, which doesn't work out too well because I am near-sided. However, it does take fantastic pictures every other time. The picture quality is amazing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Buy

By Mirza from Chicago on 06/16/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great lens for starters. I sold my kit lens after very bad experience with first couple indoor/outdoor shots (i.e. over/under exposed with/without flash, issue focusing, etc). Got this lens and it bought out the true capabilities of the DSLR camera. I have read many many many review about this camera and its best (sharpest) performance is at F/4 and little soft on corners in/around F/1.8 stop. Very essential playaround kit lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fun

By Nicho from Nashville TN on 06/08/2009


Pros:

The Ideal Portrait Lens For The Rebel Xti, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was my second digital lens purchase and is my second most used lens. Wide open without a shade it will flare and is soft enough to be the classic Sonnar portrait lens. Stopped down with a shade it is as crisp and saturated as the Standard Canon normals are famous for being. It is so light and plastic-y that it will make you wonder where those quality images come from. If you have been using multi-multi element huge and heavy zoom lenses it will be a revelation what a fixed focal-length lens can do for you. This "cheap, plastic" lens, a "plastic" Rebel body and a 2 Gig card will make you a better photographer over the weekend. It did me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awful lens

By SPW from Columbia SC on 05/09/2009


Cons:

Slow Auto-focus, Plastic Lens Mount, Poor Build Quality, Semi-sharp Images, No Lens Hood

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I had this lens and tried hard to get decent photos from it on both my XT and my 30D. It never ever seemed to be able to focus sharply. Focussing was slow, inaccurate and the lens was a haze magnet. I'm saving up for the 50mm f1.4.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Prime!

By CanonMan from New York on 05/04/2009


Pros:

Great Low Light Shots, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was my first lens, though borrowed, I also own in today and it's a keeper. After you use it, you get spoiled with nice crisp images in any light condition. Pictures it produces are the best. Shallow depth of field very useful if that is what you are after. It is simple and beautiful. It takes very little space as well. It is cheaply-made, no question, and that is why you can just buy it and not think about it twice. One thing I wish is the metal mount instead of plastic. First version of it many years ago had a metal mount, and it costs much more if you find one. Other than that, it's a great prime, great starter lens, and if you don't mind walking it will do some amazing things for you. Enjoy it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good practice lens

By Duke of all the West from Kansas on 04/05/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a good lens for those interested in lenses with a wide maximum aperture. It's good to use this lens as a springboard for other prime lenses as well. Those making the transition between the kit lens and this prime will notice a good deal of difference. This lens is much faster than the 18-55mm kit lens. One complaint I have about this lens is how in lower light situations the AF may have to hunt around a bit before it finds a focus point. Another issue is while the lens is focusing, the gears make a good deal of noise as well. I should certainly hope Canon fixes these issues when they make a new 50mm f/1.8. All issues aside, I have made some excellent images from this particular lens. A word of caution to those new to wider aperture lenses: don't always shoot wide open. Some problems may arise due to this: 1) You may not have as much in focus as you may have initially wanted. 2) If you have a slow shutter speed (usually under 1/50 sec.), and if you move forward or back while taking the photo, your subject may come out of focus. 3) In the bright of day, shooting wide open may cause your photo to be overexposed (i.e. too bright).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Lens for Beginners

By js311 from Huntington, WV on 02/14/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus, Build Quality Isn't "poor" But It's Not The Best

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is ideal for beginning photographers and students and not a bad backup lens for professionals. It's lightweight, affordable and makes super-sharp images. For those who want to explore photography a little more in-depth and achieve more creative freedom that a kit lens allows, this is the lens to purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Super Sharp Image Quailty

By Izzybee from Jersey Shore. on 02/10/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased this as a knock around Lens for my 5D Mark II I was very impressed with with the Super Sharp images received with this lens mounted on the 5D Mark II. This is the lens to use when you don't want to use any of your L GLASS. SUPER CHEAP


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fast, Clear, and Cheap

By Analytics from Overland Park KS on 01/19/2009


Pros:

Big Aperture (fast!), Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Auto-focus Doesn't Work Well In Dark, Poor Build Quality, Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens for my Rebel XSi, because I wanted smaller f-stops than the lens that came with the kit (EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS). Here are my thoughts: Positives: The optics on this lens are nice, and the big aperture is fantastic. Ive been able to take some incredibly sharp photos with a really nice background blur to bring out what Im focusing on. I took the lens to a party with pretty dark club lighting, and was able to take great photos without a flash. Negatives: The auto-focus doesnt work very well in dark environments when you need the big aperture and really need the auto-focus because of the narrow depth-of-field youre working with (the auto-focus was awful when my camera's auto-focus was set to One-Shot, but was passable when set to AI Servo). It also has a cheap, plastically feel to it"much more so than the EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS that came with the camera. Other: One interesting thing I noticed with this is that when I spontaneously pointed the camera at people, theyd instinctively move too close to the camera to pose. When taking photos of people in small or crowded rooms, this lens doesnt work very well due to my dSLRs crop factor. I like the depth of field that a 50mm at f/1.8 gives you, but it would be more handy on a camera with a full-size image sensor.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is your second lens

By Paul C from Wesley Chapel, FL on 11/20/2008


Pros:

Amazing Value, Great Learning Tool

Cons:

Af Misses

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This isn't the lens that you go pro with, but it's a great learning tool. The fixed focal length means you have to think a good bit more about positioning yourself to take the shot. Also, with the wide aperture you will be able to take natural light photographs and put away that awful pop-up flash. Once you start paying attention to how you compose your shot and what light you have to work with, I assure you will you improve your skills. This is the primary reason this should be your first additional lens for anybody starting out with an SLR (after the kit lens that is). While this happens to be Canon's cheapest lens, it is also one of their sharpest. It can be a tad soft at f/1.8, but by about f/2.2 it's more than you need. f/4.5 is ideal, but often unnecessary unless you need the additional depth of focus. That being said, sharpness isn't the only quality of a lens. For just about all other attributes that makes a lens a lens, this piece of glass falters. Focus is noisy and inaccurate, it's built like a cereal box toy, the 5-blade aperture can make for some jumbled background blur, and it seems to soak up crud inside. However, what do you want for the price? My #1 issue with this lens is the accuracy of the auto-focus. I have a lot of shots that are misses. Part of that is the fact that I tend to get very close to my subject and shoot with a wide aperture for a shallow depth of focus, which is a challenging condition for the lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Low Quality Optics

By Don from Undisclosed on 11/11/2008


Cons:

Slow Auto-focus, Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Before I go into the negative aspects of this lens, I will look at the positive aspects. If you want a lens based only on the aperture settings (like myself), then this may be the lens for you. The aperture is very large, allowing for beautifully blurred backgrounds which come in handy for portraits. Also, the lens is very lightweight, which may come in handy for field or location work. But for professional work, this lens just dosen't make the cut. The images are not clear, the build quality of the lens is plastic (as is the lens mount, which may stretch over time), and the optics are low quality. Not to mention the AF which is quite slow and noisy. For beginners, it is a great choice. But for anyone who deems himself more than a beginner, he or she should look into a higher quality lens. Believe me, if you pay more now, you will reap the benifits of higher quality images later. And higher quality images recreate timeless memories that can last a lifetime.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Every Canon SLR user should have one

By Blake from Washington, DC on 11/08/2008


Pros:

Wide Aperture Does Things No Zoom Will Do, Extremely Low Price, Lightest Lens Canon Makes

Cons:

Have To Buy Lens Hood Seperately

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

There are two things that any new Canon SLR owner should acquire as a bare minimum along with their new camera if they are at all serious about learning creative photography and making pleasing images, no matter how restricted their budget or how small their bag. One of them is the 220EX flash, and the other is this 50mm f/1.8 prime. They are both so small, light, inexpensive, and just downright useful that any photographer can carry them in any situation. Let's get something straight here: this lens is made of cheap plastic, it's got a noisy autofocus motor from the '80s, and the manual focus action stinks. But it also has several very good arguments in its favor (listed in the "pros" part of this review). The strongest point is that the optics are very close to being as good as its f/1.4 USM cousin (at 3x lower cost). The build quality is really not that bad, and the autofocus could not be called slow. The wide aperture is excellent for low-light and portrait work: two areas in which zoom lenses (even professional "L" zooms) are not very useful, and the narrow-aperture kit lens on your Rebel absolutely falls flat on its face. This is Canon's lightest lens, and I find using it on a Rebel camera is an absolutely liberating experience after dragging around a bunch of heavy zooms & a bigger body. "It's a crime to go without a prime". The EF 85mm f/1.8 USM lens is the best bargain of the non-L lenses (see my other review on it), but if you can't afford the 85, get the 50mm f/1.8 (personally, I have both :-). New SLR users are often put off by non-zoom lenses, but the whole point of having an interchangable-lens camera is being able to use the right tool for the job. Seriously, if you're going to stick with the kit lens for the rest of your life, do yourself a favor & get a RAW-enabled compact instead!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved