Home » Accessories » Camera Accessories » Lenses & Filters » 2537A003 » 8 Reviews

Canon Ef 50mm F/2.5 Compact Macro Lens - 50mm - F/2.5 (2537a003) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 8 reviews)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus (3)

Pros:

Super-sharp Images (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Bargain Macro!

By PJC from Fargo, ND on 01/01/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens mainly to use in copying my vast library of color slides. Paired with Canon extension tubes, a competitors slide holder, and a decent light source, it works terrific! My Canon 5D III makes much quicker files since I don't have to wait the several minutes for a regular scanner to do its scan, and I can see the results on the cameras LCD screen histogram right away. In addition doing white balance for the light source is a cinch. Since both type of copies require final retouching in Photoshop, the Macro is a much better way to go. It's much less costly since you already own a DSLR! Of course it works fine for traditional pictures too! The lens has been unchanged for years, so brace yourself when you hear the sound of the focusing motor... its from the beginning of EOS so just marvel at the fact that it's still around. However, it still has metal filter threads, and the optics are great!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Primary Lens

By Jim from Paso Robles, CA on 03/23/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens to complement the recent purchase of a Canon T2i. I had the choice of getting the 18-55mm lens or this 50mm f/2.5, I selected this lens as my first lens purchase because of reviews noting its sharp optical quality. As for the zoom, I figured I could use my feet to zoom in and out accordingly. I have used this lens for about three weeks now, and could not be happier with my choice. Since I use this lens mainly for still life projects, the motor focus noise criticism noted by others is not bothersome to me. In fact, what noise there is, is a nice audio clue that the lens is working for me. Hard to find fault with this lens, I like it a lot.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best 50mm budget lens

By Praveen G from Undisclosed on 02/13/2012


Pros:

Picture Clarity, Versatility, Build

Cons:

Hunts At Low Light With Af On, Slow Autofocus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If you are planning to go for a 50mm lens, I would suggest this lens. It not only takes sharp pictures wide open, it is also well suited for all purposes from landscape and portrait to macro. Though it is not a complete macro lens still it fairs well with 0.5x magnification. I have used my friend's 50mm f/1.8, which is no where close to this lens. 50mm f/1.4 can be a good competitor to this lens but still considering the price and the macro ability on this lens, 50mm f/2.5 van be considered the winner. The only difficulty with this lens is that it hunts @ low light situation where I can't trust AF and I will have to go for MF. And the AF is quite slow apart from that this is one heck of a versatile lens. A best buy for the money without breaking the bank.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens

By photographer14 from Undisclosed on 02/25/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

just bought the lens a week ago and absoulutely love it! i have got amazingly sharp images with it. the only thing that is difficult to photography with the lens is insects because of the close working distance and most insects are usually frightened by the loud auto focus. but overall it i would recommend it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worth the Price

By SU from NJ on 09/15/2010


Pros:

Light, Great Image Quality

Cons:

Noisy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am very much into macro photography and I really like this lens. Its great for taking photos of plants and flowers and things of that sort. Its also very lightweight. It can be little loud when focusing, but thats not a very big deal in my opinion. Overall, I am very satisfied with this purchase and it was well worth the money I paid for it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

older design

By windy from Annapolis Maryland on 03/24/2010


Pros:

Light

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus, Distortion

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

50mm macro f 2.5 Good sharp and light- handy for those reasons slow focus has a lot of distortion when photographing flat art- requires correction in Photoshop to straighten the curvature.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for Portraits

By Urbanmythx from Jacksonville Florida on 01/03/2009


Pros:

Portraits, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lense for portraits as I read that it is a good lens for that purpose. I have used it for macro shooting only a few times and was really impressed. Although it is not a true lifesize macro lens it is well worth the cost and fun to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Canon's Dual Purpose Prime

By BJD from Phoenix, AZ on 12/20/2008


Pros:

Dependable Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Auto-focus Motor A Bit Noisy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If you are looking for a sharp 50mm prime lens that offers decent build quality and outstanding close-focus capabilities - the EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro should be on your short list. This lens is a chameleon in versatility. Use it as a "half-size" macro that will catch every detail of small subjects. It doubles as a great standard prime and low-light performer. This is a great lens to place on your camera for a museum visit or a trip to your local botanical garden venue to catch subjects both large and small. The auto focus motor is a bit noisy, but extremely accurate in macro shots. As a "standard lens" focus becomes a bit slower, but stopped down to f/4-f/5.6 the superb sharpness and contrast is worth your patience. The EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro is a great value at the given price point and well-worth consideration by anyone seeking a solid and versatile performer that won't break the bank.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved