Home » Accessories » Camera Accessories » Lenses & Filters » 2539A007 » 12 Reviews

Canon 2539a007 Ef 180mm F/3.5l Macro Usm Lens - 1x - 180mm - F/3.5 Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 12 reviews)

91% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Superior Build Quality (6), Super-sharp Images (6)

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus (3), Heavy (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Macro

By dc from Undisclosed on 05/01/2014


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Of course, macro is always with tripod or also with some focus adjuster. When this is heald steadily, images come up amazing. Again, you should balance depth of field with speed according to what the light allows!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it

By jt from Herndon, VA on 11/06/2012


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens to focus on macro photography. I am not a professional photographer but I wanted my pictures look great. I saw one of the reviews saying it doesn't have this and that, its all written in specs and wonder why it was purchased. Any ways, I got great shots of flowers and butterflies. When I compared my shots with the professional photos, some of them are on par with them :-) (not bragging, it is true). Yes! it is heavy on CC and to hold as well, but I learned to use it without tripod for portraits. I don't think I would use any other lens for portraits except this. Once; I removed the tripod ring and had hard time to fix it. Then I realized I had to align the red dot same way as aligning red dot when changing the lens. Only the bad part is - all the compliments go to the lens than to the photographer, that makes me feel jealous :-)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens

By pjcd from Long Island New York on 04/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very pleased with this lens, sharp images, easy to use. The lens is a bit heavy and is more suited for use with a tripod, slow to focus, but that isn't an issue for me. Over all very happy with lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

EF 180 Macro

By DN from Raleigh, NC on 03/14/2012


Pros:

Great Photos, Beafy

Cons:

Not A Price Point Lens, Heavy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Heavy and the auto focus does not work well with macro in low light-USE THE MANUAL FOCUS! This lens takes beautiful pictures and will get a lot of use. The macro photos are really something else with this lens and it doubles as a telephoto lens. Either way, the photos are incredible. It is a little pricey, but the quality makes it worthwhile. If you want IS and to take hand held shots get another lens. A monopod comes in handy, if fact, you may consider a tripod that has a removable monopod. Once again, fantastic photos!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best macro lens ever

By jpcgpdx from Portland, OR on 11/06/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Stunning clarity and detail. I can't say it enough - the detail is simply staggering. Super sharp! It will exceed your expectations. Bokeh is mind bendingly creamy. Simply put, the finest macro lens I have ever had the chance to work with and almost the best lens I have ever worked with (and I've shot everything from 35mm to 4x5). Do yourself a favor and invest in this lens. Prepare to be blown away!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Did Somebody Say Bokeh?

By PhotographyByNC from Jacksonville, FL on 10/07/2010


Pros:

Build Quality, Image Quality, Bokeh Quality

Cons:

Does Come With 72c Adapter For The Macro Flashes, Quite Slow To Focus, A Bit Pricey

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I still hold firm that amongst all of the other L lenses and sharp primes I've owned, this is the sharpest lens I've ever used. The image quality is incredible and the background blur this lens gives pictures is second to none. Sure the focusing is a bit slow, but if you use the focus limiter it becomes bearable rather quickly. Even then, don't expect to pan on anything as it generally won't keep up. That said, if your subject is small and you are unable to get too close, this lens is PERFECT for the job.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

i use this lens for macro ...

By suvra from Undisclosed on 09/12/2010


Pros:

Excellent Macro Function, Sharp, Good Color Reproduction

Cons:

Heavy, Auto Focus Is Not Good

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i use this lens for macro photography, excellent lens for macro photography, specially when need to shoot from a distance. as it is a classical macro lens, needs tripod for macro shooting, manual focusing is also required. i bought new 100mm IS macro lens for hand held macro photography, but that can not replace 180mm macro.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent for what it was designed for

By Anonymous from Madison, WI on 10/14/2009


Pros:

Excellent Macro, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Needs Tripod Mounting, Heavy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great macro lens, and can even be used as a telephoto in some cases. The build quality is well within what I expect from L series lenses. This IS NOT a AF lens. The MF is great but extremely precise (if not some times picky). The 3.5 is a decent plane but at macro is finer than even some 1.2 lenses. Telephoto can be used if tripod mounted and the 3.5 gives good depth of field at distance. A great macro (and occasionally telephoto) lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Macro For Serious Photographers

By rogerthephotographer from Sainte-Sophie, Qubec, Canada on 10/11/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been using this lens for over a year now, as a replacement for the 100mm macro, because I wanted more precise images and a greater reach. It does that beautifully. The results are outstanding but one must never forget that this is a rather long lens. You will need a tripod for best results. It's sometimes difficult to find the subject (say an insect) because the angle is small (it goes with the focal length after all). The lens will sometimes search annoyingly for focus, but when it focuses, it's dead on, even with the 1.4x multiplier that I use often for greater reach. BTW, it's also a beautiful telephoto, more precise than any L-glass zoom I've used.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best macro ever

By eimages from Portland, OR on 09/17/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Creamy Bokeh, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Exceptional lens. Image quality is spectacular. Bokeh is amazing. I am consistenly blown away by the results this gives. One of the finest SLR lenses I have used in 25+ years. Worth its weight in gold.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

First Macro Lense

By Wane from Omaha on 07/05/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first Macro lense, and I want to add a positive review. This is not a lense for point and shooters. This lense is for anyone who wants flexibility with a macro lense. I researched all the macro lenses Canon offered and a few other brands. Once I tried this lense I was hooked. You are not going to totally microscopic but you can zoom in on a target from a distance without disturbing them and receive outstanding results.. It is important to at least use a monopod but a tripod works better and with a shutter release or the shutter timer. I have used it for hand held for distance shots and the results were amazaing for a macro. With good light conditions it is a great hand held. The colors are sharper than any of my other L lenses. You can get action to a point but this lense is not designed for that. Overall I am very impressed and pleased with this lense. I only wish the butterflys would keep still a little longer. Anyone who wants macro with some flexibiltiy should be well pleased with this lense. Your exposures are going to be the sharpest ever!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

disappointing

By weasel wirefly from Undisclosed on 05/27/2009


Cons:

Semi-sharp Images, Mf Is Not All That Great, Slow Auto-focus, No Is

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

for having spent this much money i would think that an image stabilizer should be a built in feature. by not having one shooting without a tripod is not recommended. it also autofocuses painfully slow and the manual focus is soso at best. for Macro MF is generally the recommended approach. however this lens does lend itself to a bit further away shots than macro only i am not sure why it was adorned with the red band. certainly in my opinion not deserving. would not recommend it over the 100mm that is for very certain.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved