Home » Accessories » Camera Accessories » Lenses & Filters » 2562A002 » 71 Reviews

Canon Cameras 2562a002 Ef 28-135mm F/3.5-5.6 Is Usm Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 71 reviews)

62% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Cons:

Poor Build Quality (20), Slow Auto-focus (6), Semi-sharp Images (19), Lens Creep (7)

Pros:

Super-sharp Images (11), Superior Build Quality (13), Fast Auto-focus (33)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

4 stars

By Pabirder from Clarion co pa on 07/03/2015

Have been using g this lens off and on now for 6 months. it's a nice lens for the money pros: price is right, light to carry on trials auto Fucus is fast enough for people and pets. Nice to use in landscape shooting cons: the lens creeps down when shooting down. Not a problem when you learn how to use both hands to work it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

poor quality

By Gordo from Miami, Fl on 04/17/2015

Had to be send back to be repaired under warranty, outofocus didn't work. Now after one year, and very little use lens zoom is so loose that has to be hold by hand. when camera is left hanging in the shoulder strap lens opens all the way by itself.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Big good lens

By Roger from illinois on 04/08/2015

All my friends told me this lens was very big and that they like it they wanted to have one like this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My trust Versatile Go-To Lens

By M. Lee from Florida on 01/11/2015

I have been using this lens soon after it came out around the turn of the century. It was purchased with the film SLR Rebel 2000 and since 2010 on T2i. In addition to this 28-135, I also own a 50mm F1.8, a recent purchased 70-200mm f/4L IS USM, and the EF-S18-55mm IS kit lens that came with T2i. It is the primary general-use lens attached to my T2i. The other lenses are the alternates only used when the occasions demand their applications. I have taken thousands of shot with this lens on travel, in-door and out-door events such as orchid show, wedding, air shows and have been very happy with the results. I have also been shooting wildlife with it and have high quantity of superior results. Every lens has its own character. Knowing its strength is the way to take good pictures. I set the aperture at around 8 on T2i's AV mode and use this mode frequently when I ask for sharpness from this lens. It's excellent macro capability is often more convenient than the 70-200mm L for close-up shots. It's true this is not a perfect lens like some other reviews picked on it -- it's not wide enough (I found myself pulling out my smart phone often these days instead of changing lens for wide angle shots), and not long enough for some bird shots, etc. However, the 28-135mm handles most situations very respectfully and dependably. It's going to be as my prime go-to lens as it has been for the past 15 years.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Best All-Around Lens

By Cris from Middle Tennessee on 08/29/2014


Pros:

Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used a mid-range zoom lens as a primary lens for over 40 years. When I made the transition from film to digital I knew exactly the Canon lens I wanted, and haven't been disappointed in my choice of another mid-range zoom. In fact, the Canon EF 28-135mm offers me much greater latitude than my earlier film zoom lenses that didn't have new features and slightly broader focal range. The lens' range is all most photographers need 75% of the time. I watch all the show-offs with their phallic symbols, who don't know how to use them, and all I'm using is a utilitarian zoom lens (but, a Canon). For the serious-amateur, at least, if you are going to buy and use Canon, this is all the lens you will need most of the time. The pro, maybe not. I don't need to 'push' my lenses like a pro yet still come up with award-winning photographs using my Canon EF 28-135mm. My interests are in landscape competition, press/feature, and stock photography. I use a Canon 40D, primarily, with a select array of Canon lenses. I also own and use other Canon cameras depending on need, especially my G-12.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Decent all around lens

By Bulletz from Undisclosed on 07/11/2014


Pros:

Metal Mount, Image Stabilizer, Fast Auto-focus, Wide Angle To Short Tele

Cons:

Image Sharpness Varies, Heavy, Lack Of Wide Aperture, Mainly Plastic, Lens Slippage, No Lens Hood, Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am an advanced beginner in photography, shooting digital for the last 5 years. This lens is a good overall walk around lens, with sharpness being an issue only at the widest angle. The lens does zoom itself put, especially when carrying it on your shoulder or pointing it downwards. It tends to be a bit annoying because almost every time you need to take a shot, the lens is fully zoomed in. Aside from that, it does take pretty decent macro shots, and the bokeh is pretty good when you are zoomed in all the way. The only downsides are the not fast aperture, and lack of rounded aperture blades. Barrel distortion also comes into play at the widest angle, along with chromatic aberration unless you stop the lens down to around f6.3 or 7.1


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointing

By Mark McMillan from Undisclosed on 05/29/2014


Pros:

Image Stabilization, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Low Image Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

When I purchased my EOS 7D, I chose a package which contained the EF 28-135 IS USM lens because I figured it would be better than the EF-S option and because I wanted to be able to use it when I upgrade to a full-frame camera. Fortunately, it wasn't too costly a mistake. The good: The image stablization system works very well. Focus speed, as a result of the USM, is also fast and reliably accurate. The large-ish rubber zooming grip is also quite comfortable to use. The bad: Lens "drift" is not descriptive enough. I barely flick my wrist and the lens flies fo the telephoto end. Dust? Likely as a result of the looseness and general lack of build quality, the lens has dust particles inside and on multiple elements. This doesn't affect the image quailty too much, unless there's a light source in the frame. Images are soft, even when stopped down to f/8, color is muted and requires a rather large saturation bump in post processing, and contrast (yes, I have a lens hood) is lacking. I suggest that anyone thinking about purchasing this lens as a package consider purchasing the body only and applying the cost difference toward a higher-quality lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

After over 7 years of Use

By RedGoat Photos from Seattle, WA on 01/01/2014


Pros:

Sharp Enough When Stopped Down, Excellent Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Great Travel Lens

Cons:

None In My Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is a great travel lens. It works wonderfully with my 40d and 5d. While not the sharpest lens in my bag it is more than adequate for travel and snap shots. The image stabilization does it jobs and I can shoot hand held with out issue--I do bump up the ISO when necessary just because I like fast shutter speeds. I have not experienced the lens slippage mentioned so much in the other reviews. However, having read about the lens slippage issue several years ago--I do not push and pull on the barrel at all (as I don't want the lens to start slipping). The build quality to me is very good and the quality of contrast/sharpness is acceptable. The best way to tell if this lens will meet your needs is to head your local camera store for some test shots with your camera and review/pixel peak if you like at home. Also, if slippage is a concern inspect the lens at the store --turn it facing down--that will tell you a story. I really like my 28-135mm and based on my experience--I can recommend this as a very good travel lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent add to cabag

By kcrunchone from NY on 11/18/2013


Pros:

Works Great With My Modified Settings, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Lens Tends To Slide With Down Grade Shots

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

At first the lens challenged the areas that I wanted to shoot in. After a few minutes of toying with the lens and my settings in the camera I was able to learn to fully manipulate the lens to my advantage as well as my cameras advantage. The image quality in low light seemed to be an issue but proved to be user error and was easily overcome after a few shots and setting adjustments. The images are sharp and far far from soft as some have said but that is my experience with the lens and my experience shooting as well. Facial features on tight and close ups are absolutely amazing, super sharp and super tight. It has proven to be a great buy and I would not only suggest it as a great weapon in the arsenal in your bag but as a must have the macro and well as it being a great all around 18-135. Just amazing It would have been perfect if the lens did not slide with the downward angling of the camera to adjust to that you have to learn to hold it to keep the focus not a big deal only when you don't remember and it slides and the shot is off


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

much sample variation

By photorara from Boston on 10/17/2013


Pros:

Good Sample Works Well

Cons:

Variable Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this EF 28-135mm last year as a general purpose lens for my 5D. it turned out to be a bad sample and the right side of the frame was soft, yet the center and left were sharp. I sold it and tried another one at a camera shop(made in Taiwan) this was uniform but the edges were low resolution and dark. The sales person took one off of a used 7D kit, this one was Made in Japan and it was much better (sharp right to the edges) and no falloff,I bought it. It turns out that it was serviced and aligned by Canon. Unless yours was serviced by Canon-Who knows..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Barrel Slide

By TObE from Grand Haven, MI on 10/08/2013


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, All Of My Camera Equipment Has Always Been Canon, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Barrel Slide While Trying To Focus On Subject

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My comment is specifically addressing an issue I have with the Canon 28-135mm lens with Image Stabilizer, AF/MF, and Macro functions. I have been a Professional Photographer for over 20 years and I am happy with the image quality in the photo's I've taken, however when taking pictures on even the slightest downward angle the barrel starts sliding causing the image to be out of focus. This is very frustrating to say the very least, especially when I'm hired to take pictures at a Live Event where I may only get one shot at a high point moment and I find the picture out of focus because of the barrel slide issue. At the end of the day when I sort through pictures for the most exciting shots and have to delete many because the lens barrel was sliding, I feel that I let the client down because I didn't give them a complete set of pictures that represented the entire event. I had checked comment posting reviews about this lens and the number one main issue that kept reappearing again and again was the "barrel sliding" issue. As far as recommending this specific lens, I can't do so with a clear conscience because I wouldn't want someone else to end up disappointed because of the barrel slide issue. I do hope that Canon will address and correct the barrel slide problem. All of my camera's and many of my lens's are Canon and I am very happy and satisfied with their performance. I have and will continue to recommend Canon products.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Close but no cigar

By Bigbirddy from KY on 10/04/2013


Pros:

Focal Range

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images, Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've used this lens for around 2 years now and find it to be adequate at best. Haven't experienced the sloppy lens extension drop that others have but I am VERY disappointed in the focus quality in the 28 to 50 mm ranges. Once I zoom in beyond 50 mm or so the detail is very good. I've tried it on other photog's cameras with the same results. I realize most lenses are most accurate around their mid range focal lengths but the poor quality in the shorter ranges is a real pain.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Why is the barrel so loose

By Ken from Houston, TX on 09/03/2013


Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Ever since I got the 7D with this lens 28-135mm lens the barrel has been very loose when trying to shoot in a downward position. This very unusual for a lens barrel to be this loose. I have had some cheapskate lens before and they never lost their positions when in a downward position. Why is this lens so horribly bad at this one thing that is an annoyance to me and hundreds of thousands of people? Fix the problem so I can take my hand off the lens?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mixed Blessing Lens

By Quizicat from Maryland on 08/24/2013


Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Lens Creep+

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This kit lens has a nice range. Which makes it a nice walk around lens. But it has issues. It is built so sloppily, the barrel is loose and floppy. It was like this brand new. It lets dust in, so you will have specs inside the lens very soon. If you let the camera hang from your shoulder it will zoom out to full length. In spite of all this, I find that having this lens and my 10-22 I have pretty much all I need for vacations or anything else, other than the rare wish for a long lens. If you are doing professional work this is not the lens for you. Get an L. But for everyday it works, just be sure you know how to photoshop out the the specs that will be in your pictures.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice lense for the money

By MC from Westfield, NJ on 07/02/2013


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Price

Cons:

Chromatic Aberration

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Contrary to what others have reported, I don't have this problem of the lens zoom slippage. In fact, the lens is solidly constructed and handles quite nicely. Images are sharp enough for everyday shooting. It has excellent range, especially on a full frame 6D. It does exhibit slight chromatic aberration but can be minimized in processing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed - chromatic aberration

By Bee from hawaii on 03/10/2013


Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Chromatic Aberration

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I experienced constant chromatic aberration on high contrast shots using this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Truthful warning

By franz from Undisclosed on 03/09/2013


Cons:

Semi-sharp Images, Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Very poor quality in the range between 80 and 135mm, even for regular printouts. Very sensitive to sand and dust, barrel shaky. 24-105 L is so much better. If anyone considers buying a DSLR for reasons of image quality (over choosing a analogue or bridge camera), this lens is inadequate for the purpose. Sold mine after two years of disappointments on my first DSLR, the 20D.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Terrible lens creep

By Bill from New Hampshire on 02/05/2013


Pros:

Nice Focal Range On Full Frame

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The images on my 5d mk II look fine but the lens creep is awful. It's not even lens creep so much as it is lens flop. It falls right out when the camera is pointed down. Ker-plunk!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect for Nothing, Adequate for Everything

By BylarBear from Calgary, Ab on 01/29/2013


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images, Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This lense came as part of a package deal on my 40D. This lense has been sufficient for travelling and most types of photography. The images captured by this lense are neither super-sharp nor unacceptably blurry. If it is your first lense for your first DSLR camera it will do. Though as you grow and gain more experience as a photographer you will quickly desire a new, better quality lense.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fair Lens Package

By Bradsww2items from Anaheim CA on 01/09/2013


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This lens is a good lens but has a poor build quality. Lens does not hold in place so radles and zooms out if facing down. Takes good pictures and and are shape images. Over all a good lens when it comes to images but bad lens for build quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's decent

By JayJay from Undisclosed on 12/26/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images, Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The lens is loose so if slips when you point it down. It's not that sharp all the time and it doesn't take pictures in low light very well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Horrible lens

By Tanya from Westerly, ri on 11/19/2012


Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Semi-sharp Images, Soft

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Lens came in the kit with my 50D. Don't waste your money or time on it, if you want quality prints. Lens is not sharp all the way through, it is very soft. The lens creeps, it literally keeps sliding when you hold it, pick it up etc. Save your money and purchase a better lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great inntermediate lens

By Anonymous from Minneapolis on 09/30/2012


Pros:

Good Build Quality, Very Sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really like the USM lens. Great quality of product and pictures for those who can not afford an L series nor needs one. Much heavier than stock kit lens. Compared to stock lenses the auto-focus is fast to very fast and accurate. I use it a lot for high school sports, traithlons, marathons. It gives me a bit of wide angle but the ability to get closer if need be all with a single lense. I did rent an L lense for a weekend and there was really no difference between the USM and the L using a XSi. It would probably be different on a 7D or higher end full frame.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens

By KarismPhotography from Puerto Rico on 08/23/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Good In Low Light, Great For Video

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens are accurate, focus very well on low-light conditions, fast focus and sharp image. The color accuracy is awesome and the sharpness is superb. The blades make a really nice blur for the background in open apertures. I use it with my Canon T2i (bought this lens with it) and this is my choice l;ens for wedding, couple and sometimes video shootings. The manual focusing ring is very comfortable to work with too.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I got this lens with my ...

By Patrick from Undisclosed on 06/19/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Lens Slips Into Full Zoom, Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I got this lens with my EOS 7D, and at first, I thought it was amazing, probably because I recently upgraded and though everything about the kit was superior to my last kit. However, I noticed one MAJOR flaw right out of the getgo, THE LENSE ALWAYS SLIDES OUT INTO FULL ZOOM. This lens is nice but if you ever hold the lens (with or without the camera) at anything near a vertical angle, the lens just slides loose like its a piece of cheap plastic. All in all, it is an average lens. Not a great one, and GOOD is probably generous.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Decent Lens

By MainstreamRailfan from Lafayette, IN on 06/01/2012


Pros:

Good Zoom Range

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus, Lens Creep, Semi-sharp Images, Issues Focusing On Moving Subjects

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this lens with my EOS 7D. I am a railfan, and let me tell you, when a train is barreling toward you at 60 MPH, the lens you have needs to focus quickly! This lens is ok, when it comes to focusing speed. Some times it is a little sluggish especially when the train (or other moving subject) is moving at a good clip perpendicular to your shooting position. It has issues focusing on moving subjects, especially in low light, however, after re-focusing a couple of times, you can normally get it to focus where you want it. Lens creep on this thing is HORRID! I can let the camera hand around my neck and without moving or touching the camera in any way, the lens will creep instantly all the way out to full zoom! Photos turn out a bit soft to me. However, I can normally correct this to some extent in Digital Photo Professional. The lens has a USM motor which is nice. The Image Stabilizer is also pretty good. It can lock onto things pretty well. Another complaint is that the focus ring is easily moved out of focus when trying to zoom the lens. But I suspect this is only a personal problem given I have "Ball Park Frank" fingers. :D This is an ok lens and I would recommend it to a friend who shoots still objects, and/or portraits.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great bargain!

By Rob B from Jacksonville, FL on 05/22/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For the price, this lens is a great bargain. Image quality is very good, though the loose build quality does allow dust intrusion if you're not careful. If you don't have triple the money to spend on L lenses, this one will do the job very well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't drop it !

By shutterbug from ILLINOIS on 11/28/2011


Pros:

Image Stablizer But Don't Drop It., Zoom Range

Cons:

Is Vibration Repairs Not Per, Edge Fringe, Center Only Sharp

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When I first bought this lens in late 1990's, I love it. A few yrs. later, we dropped a Canon AE1 film camera ,the 28-135mm, & flash unit attached, from height of 4.5 ft...all needed repair. A few wks. after repair the Image Stablizing feature started vibrating (Buzzing) and was sent back in at least 3 times...this problem will not stay fixed. and using the IS results in badly blured images....so we use it with out the IS. MY POINT IS : IF YOU DROP THIS LENS IT MAY NEVER BE THE SAME AGAIN REPAIR OR NOT. Today 2011 we still use this lens with out the IS, but after putting my camera bag in an over head Airplane compartment, it now is getting stuck at the 35mm range and the 70mm zoom range...I think some one jammed their carry-on bag with wheels into the side on my Canon "padded" camera bag. I am going to replace this lens with the 24mm-104mm and hope I get a sturdy one. I will miss the zoom of 135mm though. I am now using s 5D Mark 2 Digital (Full frame). CONs....28 -135mm was only sharp in the center and had purple fringe on the edges with the digitals. I don't know if the age of my Lens would make this problem...I had this lens refurbished by Canon in the last 2 - 3 years.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good lens at a good price

By jondoe4 from San Diego, CA on 11/16/2011


Pros:

Quiet

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using this lens for over a year and haven't experienced any issues with it. Takes crisp pictures at all ranges. It's very quiet, you don't even notice it. Good for anybody and at a decent price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Decent lens

By CognizantPhotos from Miami on 09/11/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Budget Lens

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

If your on a budget its a good lens to start with, when you have adequate light its amazing. When it becomes low-light situations, might as well pack it up because its not worth it this lens is not suitable for it. Sold lens and got a 85mm and 24mm L, Primes are the best!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Real Workhorse...

By Dinosaur Jr. from Undisclosed on 09/08/2011


Pros:

Nice Weight And Feel, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens probably gets the most use of all the lenses i own... the focal range and speed make it one of the best for shooting in just about any situation. it's got a good image stabilizer, is quick to auto focus, and is a good weight. i beat that poor lens to death, and it still keeps going!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good but not Great

By sheckwel from New York Ny on 08/17/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Light Weight, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Lens Creep

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great walk around lens for all purposes. This lens goes wide and long, the 28-135mm focal lenght is nice, save for the 24-105mm f4 IS which cost almost three times. The image quality is nice, the bokey is good but not great, the only Con of this lens is it s too creepy! Canon should fix that!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What Did You Expect?

By CanonPro from NYC/WashDC/Paris on 07/19/2011


Pros:

Sharp Enough & Dependable

Cons:

Slight Barrel Distortion

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

To all those that think this lens is worthless, I take issue. I'm a veteran photojournalist and many of my published pieces were made with this fantastic but low priced, feature loaded lens. What did you all expect for under $400 street price... diamond sharp images? I guess that since I can remember when lens formulations were so bad and soft my editors would always fall for my tall tales of dense fog, nearby mortar rounds, or diving from enemy fire, I see this lens as a God-send. It performs well enough, sharp enough, and if its lost in battle, or drops to the bottom of the sea, it's not a major dent in my wallet! Thank you Canon for making a low priced performer I can really depend on.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

clean contacts error

By Tphotographer from Evansville, Indiana on 07/07/2011


Cons:

Unusable Lens

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

From the moment I got this lens with my canon 7d I received a clean contacts error. I clean them and I can take anywhere from 1 to 15 photos and I get the error again. itried the lens on my rebel camera and the same thing happens. No amount of cleaning fixes this. Wish I had saved the dollars and bought the body only.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great starter lens

By Caveman from Monroe, LA on 03/07/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Range, Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this lens with my canon eos 50D. It is a great kit lens. It is built solidly and takes very good pictures. With the 50D's 1.6 sensor this lens is translates to 49-216mm so it's great for everyday shots and medium telephoto photography. This is no L series lens of course, but It takes good pictures and has enough zoom for everyday use. it has a nice build quality and focuses pretty quickly (some problems in low light, but that's expected). For the price you cant beat it, but If you already own a lens or have the cash to throw around buy an L series. overall great starter lens. you get what you pay for.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good in-door lens

By ricketypix from STL on 03/06/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this on my EOS 50D I mainly use it for in-door sports the AF fuction is a bit slow so i use it on MF i wish i could afford the 28 x 300 lens just for the range


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Came with my camera. Thank Heaven!

By Marusya from Arizona on 02/09/2011


Pros:

Versitile, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens came with my Canon 50D. It took me a bit, after 20 yrs of NOT using a slr...my last camera was a Canon T90 which used film,...to get my hand and head back in tune with using a camera again. This lens was just what I needed. It is very user-friendly and versitile. The pix aren't as great as those from the "L" lenses, but very good overall. I am quite happy with this lens. It taught me a lot.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

OK kit lens, poor build quality

By onespdfrk from Indiana on 02/09/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Lens Creep

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is an OK lens. The build quality is lacking a lot, although the images are acceptable and the IS definitely helps when it's needed. I am very aggravated by the constant lens creep and the slop in the front element - at least 1/8". I received this lens in a 7D kit. If I would have known the build quality would be this poor, I would have just purchased the body only.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I was rather amazed

By sy from colorado on 12/27/2010


Pros:

Iq

Cons:

Lens Creep

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got it with my 50D. This was my first Canon non-L zoom lens that I got, so I didn't know what to expect. But I was rather amazed by the performance. Actually this is my first Canon IS lens also, It impressed me when I shot photo with somewhere 1/25 to 1/50 per second shutter speed hand held and still made clear images. Of course both its IQ and built quality aren't L class quality (I wasn't expected to be), but I was very satisfied with using as a normal walk-around lens, and with Canon IS system. I think Canon should add some kind of lock system on the zoom barrel.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good lens

By vpnd from North Dakota on 12/18/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Actually bought this lens for studio and personal use replacing the 24-70 L. In the 4 years of owning the 24-70(excellent lens), I didn't shoot at 2.8. I am pleased with this lens. My copy does not creep and image quality with full frame and 1.3 crop is very good. For the price, I am very happy with this lens.For cons, It does search a bit in low light even with my pro bodies.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

o.k. for a beginner

By Mr. Happy from chicago ,il on 12/04/2010


Pros:

Sharp Image In Studio Conditions

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus, Not Good In Low Light, Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

it`s a very nice lens in the studio and on sunny days but not so good in low light and i don`t like when you hold the lens down and it travels.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

canon should discontinue this one

By sami from MO on 11/14/2010


Pros:

Inexpensive, Img. Stab. Great

Cons:

Cheap, Semi-sharp, Poor Optics, Slow Focus

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Had this lens for 2yrs now and used mostly as a 'walking around' lens. The focus is poor compared to just about any other lens producing much-less-than-sharp images. Despite the low cost, it's just not worth the money. I'm in the process of choosing a replacement. Probably won't resell this as I wouldn't wish it on anyone, it's that bad.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

For what it is, this lens is good & functional

By pyewpyewpyew from Long Island, NY on 09/14/2010


Pros:

Easy For Beginners To Use, Sharp Photos

Cons:

Difficult To Focus In Low Light, Fuzzy Pictures Without Flash

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I received this lens as a hand me down, when I got it it already had a fair amount of use on it. I'm a beginning photographer, and I'm pleased with the quality that I get on pictures taken with my Canon EOS Rebel T2i. However at times this lens is difficult to focus, especially in low lighting. Also, without flash there is evident fuzz in the pictures.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

so so lens

By steve l from south carolina on 08/28/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have had this lens for about 2 years and had trouble with the barrel becomming loose ever since I got it. I had it fixed at no charge just after I got it. It is now very loose and I need to get it fixed AGAIN. I think overall it would be a great lens if it did not have this problem (note I did get this lens a few years ago and the problem might have been fixed by now) I hope


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Have had this lens for my ...

By Big D from Tarrant County, Texas on 08/11/2010


Pros:

Fast Focusing In Auto Mode

Cons:

None At This Point

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have had this lens for my Rebel Xt now for about a month. My use of the lens so far has been for a Mississippi Kite sighting in my neighbors yard. Using it to it's full 135mm has broght the family up close and personal. Cropping and enlarging on the computer has really enhanced what I shot. Without the sharp focus to begin with I wouldn't have the results I got. I will find many uses to use the lens for more vacation shots as well as people groups. I am really pleased with the results I have obtained and look forward to more of the same.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good when it was new

By flash from wv on 07/27/2010


Pros:

The Price Is Right

Cons:

Doesn't Hold Up

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The lens was good when new, but over time the lens barrel became loose, the photos became fuzzyer in time. sent it to have it fixed and calibrated the barrel isn,t as loose as it once was, but one side or the other of the images shot from it are extremily out of focas. I don't think it's a good lens for professionals that shoot a lot.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Alright Lens.....

By Brandon from Long Beach, LB on 06/24/2010


Pros:

Ultrasonic Motor

Cons:

Canon Warranty, Poor Build Quality, Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have been using this lens for about 2 weeks now. This is an amazing lens if you are planning to upgrade from a kit lens (18-55mm). The ultrasonic motor is awesome because it's quite and decently fast. The lens is very light weight. The lens broke on my when I was zooming down...... Horrible build quality, I have to pay 100$ to get it repaired, which shows Canon's awesome warranty.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome lens

By Soccer Mom from GA on 06/17/2010


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Colors Are Bright And Vivid, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am not a pro, nor do I need a pro (L) lens, but I was very unhappy with the kit lens (18-55mm). I also wanted an all around lens without having to change lenses when I traveled or visited family. This lens is perfect for that and works great. The quality and clarity of the kit lens doesn't even come close to this lens. It's sharp all the way out to 135mm, catches everything in action, especially my son's sports, takes great low light/inside pictures without any problem, pictures never look washed out and are always crystal clear. I love it! It made me fall in love with my XSi all over again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Got it used

By Ptrk from Buffalo, NY on 06/07/2010


Cons:

Slow Auto-focus, Semi-sharp Images, Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It was my first lens besides the 18-55mm that came with my Canon Rebel XSi. I bought it from a friend who had two of them for some reason. I tested it out and liked it and used it as my everday lens.When I bought it, it was only maybe 2 months old and I use it all the time. Im 18 and got picked up as an assistat wedding photographer and after one of the weddings I noticed my pictures we not coming out very sharp. After some portraits and another wedding my photos on the edges were turning out very fuzzy and blury. The lens starts out well but after it gets over used it really performs very poorly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

all around

By dradutu from Bucharest, Romania on 04/02/2010


Pros:

Great Value, Lightweight (considering Range Coverage Quality), Fast Quiet Autofocus, Good Image Quality, Good Build Quality, Stabilised

Cons:

Prone To Lens Creep, (for Video) Loud Is, Not The Best On Apsc

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I own a 5D Mark II and owned a 400D. I only recommend this for full frame as it's best feature is the great FF focal range. This lens shines when compared to others. Perfect balance of features. I bought mine used (...actually the guy didn't really used on his 40D due to the 1.6 limitation). Image quality won't be an issue even on Mk II (great for snapshots, better when stopped down in conjunction with flash or IS). If you shoot all day long or carry your bag everywhere you'll like it's weight. It's also great for shooting video, though some might hate the IS sound - beware, it's not quite silent. I don't know any EF quiet IS lenses (same sound on my 70-200 4 IS) but i've heard about more quiet EF-S ones.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Still Need More

By Jackson from Austin, TX on 03/25/2010


Pros:

Value, Low Distortion, Fast Auto-focus, Resistant To Flare, Exhibits Little Vignetting (crop Body), Low Chromatic Aberrations, Excellent Color And Contrast, Little Or No Zoom Creep, Good Telephoto Reach, Smooth Zoom Action

Cons:

Inner Barrel Wobbles, Image Stabilization Slow To Stabilize, Semi-sharp Images, 28mm Not Wide (crop Body)

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Reviewers tend to pigeonhole this lens as an average performer. However, it has been my experience that its various strengths and weaknesses are specific and significant. That is to say, where it might be stellar for certain purposes, for others, it can leave much to be desired. Consider the individual pros and cons carefully before making your decision.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SURPRISED AT IQ/SHARPNESS ONCE CALIBRATED

By duggy from Portland,ME. on 03/20/2010


Pros:

Sharp Once Calibrated

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images, Semi Sharp Without Calibrating

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the new 7D,which came with this lens.Took approx. 1000 test shot's,trying all sorts of setting's,I was not too pleased with sharpness.But I then read an article about the calibrating feature of the 7D.I did that, -5,and what a difference.I like extremly sharp photos,so any lens I've ever purchased,best being 70-200f/4L,I would always do +10 RAW and approx. +250 RGB sharpening in D.P.P.But I could'nt get super,tack sharp,even all the way to +500 RGB sharpness (with +10 RAW),but now that I used the calibrating feature, -5 for I,my photos are tack sharp.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

lovely choice

By mohammad from chicago on 03/08/2010


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this is a mid range zoom lens that I recommend to any amateur photographer . it is a good lens for indoor and outdoor photography.the only problem of this lens is high aperture of it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect complement to a 50 f1.4

By Canon Enthusiast from Denver, CO on 03/04/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Awesome Value

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have an XSi and the 50 f1.4 and have been searching for a zoom that could serve as the one lens that I leave on the camera body most, if not all the time. The 50 f1.4 still performs better indoors in low light, but the 28-135 zoom gives me freedom to vary my compositions more when there is sufficient light, especially outdoors. As such, this two-lens combination is serving me well for my focal length and environmental needs. Nowadays, I keep the 28-135 on my camera most of the time and only use the 50 occasionally as needed indoors. Two final notes ... first, you can purchase the 50 plus the 28-135 for much less than the 17-55, but still have the IQ and a lot of range, and second, the 28-135 is much better balanced for the XSi than the 17-55 in my opinion. I am very pleased with the 28-135 as a quality walkabout lens to complement my 50 prime.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great basic All Round Lens

By Ricky from Undisclosed on 02/23/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If you need a great all round this is not bad. I would say its great


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Extremely poor image quality

By SilverSage from Denver on 01/27/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Softer Than A Pinhole

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Lens focuses fast, IS works, I think but image is too soft to tell. Extremely poor image quality


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dependable, sturdy lens

By Dwardo53 from Iowa on 01/22/2010


Pros:

Great Is Lens, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've used this lens as my main portrait and wedding lens for the last 6 years shooting through 10d and 30d bodies. It performs today just as when I first purchased it. I've created beautiful edge to edge sharp enlargements with this lens up to 24x36 arial shots. The IS performed well in an airplane. I've recently replaced it with a 24-105 f/4 L IS lens. I use the auto/manual focus button on the lens almost for every shot. I focus in the autofocus mode first then switch it off to manual when subject is in focus, then recompose and shoot. The switches have never failed me. This lens is one of the best lens for the money purchases I've made. I'll hang on to it and continue to use it as a backup.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not sharp enough

By Fred from tucson, arizona on 01/21/2010


Pros:

Good Zoom Range

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images, Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is a good all-around lens if you are not blowing things up too big. Unfortunately, it is not sharp enough for big blowups. My copy in particular was noticeably blurry in the bottom right corner. It is fine if you are not too particular or if you are using it for standard prints up to 8x10. The IS is a big plus and the zoom range is ideal for a film camera or full frame digital.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome

By Gershon from Joliet, IL. on 01/16/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have this lens as part of my Canon 50D. This is an all around lens. I'll keep this lens as my primary as of now since i'm new to dslr camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Limited Usage Lens

By redmaplefoto from Gainesville, FL on 06/25/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This came with my 40D as the kit lens. It has good autofocus, I love the IS, and when in a controlled/bright light situation that doesn't require a fast shutter speed, you can really get some very nice shots with this lens. When zoomed to 135mm, however, the f/5.6 just doesn't let in enough light to allow for a fast shutter speed. Time and time again I've tried to use this at 135 and have been disappointed, even with a high ISO. At this point, I only have this and the 50mm f/1.4, and use the 50 about 90% of the time because I'm just not that satisfied with this lens and know that I can only use it in very specific situations.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good, useful lens

By Nevada Motorhead from Henderson, NV on 06/16/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Excellent Value For Money, Good Useful Range, Versatile

Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This came as the kit lens with my 50D and its overall performance has been satisfactory (great when price is considered). Most images are very good to excellent though it can get a little fuzzy when zoomed out to 300mm. Since I shoot everything RAW this isn't a big deal and I can fix it in processing. I have not noticed any chromatic aberation or distortion and it's fast enough for any daylight sports or fast motion shooting. The IS is very good, which is important to me because my hands seem to shake a bit more than most peoples'. I can hand hold it for almost any daylight shot. My only issue with this lens (and the reason I have upgraded to the 24-105mm f4L IS) is it's overall loose feel. Lens creep is very noticable, especially with a good quality UV and the hood attached, and the barrel is wobbly when zoomed out. This doesn't matter quite so much with normal to fast shutter speeds, but it has caused me some problems when I need to slow the shutter down. Using a tripod with the IS turned off can help, but I feel that Canon could have done a little better with either design and/or production. I've owned many Canon products over many years and they're usually built like little battleships and nearly indestructable. Maybe I got that very rare lemon. Overall though, this is a good lens and I will be keeping it to use on the XSi that lives permanently in the car.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Overall Lens

By zero photography from Laredo, TX. on 05/08/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Light Weight, Great Everyday Lens

Cons:

Lens Creeps, Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens came with the purchase of my Canon 50D. The lens is very good considering the price. This lens is always on my camera aside from my Canon 50mm 1.4 lens. This lens does creep as stated above and can be quite bothersome. The IS is great and helps alot indoors.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disapointed

By Boston Baked Beans from Boston, MA on 05/05/2009


Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Slow Auto-focus, Semi-sharp Images, Lens

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This lens does give sharp clear images most of the time, unless you are touching the outer barrel of the lens (which can move up and down an 1/8th of an inch) and can greatly distort or re-frame the picture you are trying so hard to capture. I expected more from a great company like Canon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great general purpose lens

By CanonMan from New York on 05/04/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Lens Creep, Build Quality Is Low

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is a keeper, and works well for outdoors and in well-lit environment. For the money I think it is an excellent deal, especially for an IS lens and its reasonable optical output. In fact I am surprised that Canon is including it as a kit lens for some relatively small additional cost. One would get spoiled very easy with IS feature, because I find myself being more relaxed when taking shots and knowing that minor motion is compensated by the IS and pictures are guaranteed to be fine. Zoom range is great, especially for 1.6 crop sensor, it covers most situations very well. One would still need more than this lens to cover wide angles and telephoto shots. I do own several lens from other manufacturers that are pro-grade, but find this lens of my 50D very often as a general use lens. Couple of things that probably explain the low price: lens creep and moving front element when zoomed in all the way. As soon as you let the camera hang on the strap and walk like that, the lens will creep almost all the way out, and that is a bit silly. It also feels nice and solid when in zoomed out position, but as you would zoom in, you notice wobble, which I think is a bit excessive for a Canon product. It does not really affect the picture quality, so its not a critical issue, and one can get used to it. Enjoy it, shoot lots of things, post some pictures for everyone to see!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Outdoor Lens

By John from Merced, CA on 03/30/2009


Pros:

Good Focal Length Range, Crisp In Middle And Telephoto Ranges, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Too Slow For Indoors, Is Isn't Too Helpful, Not Sharp At Wide Focal Lengths

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens has an awesome range of focal lengths that cover everything from landscapes to sports, and I think that that is pretty much what you are paying for. The image quality isn't that hot in the wider parts of the lens, but that goes away if you zoom a little. Its way too slow for indoors, even if you have image stabilizer I have found, but I would recommend a 50mm 1.4 for that anyways. Anytime I step outside this is my go-to lens though.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Budget Lens

By aabz from Undisclosed on 02/21/2009


Pros:

Good Images For The Price Point

Cons:

Poor Dust Seals, Lens Creep, Primitive Is, Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Lens produces sharp images for its price, Good zoom range, The Front lens element has tendency to creep when camera is pointing downwards. Overall build is avarage, dust seals are poor and you get dust inside the lens elements pretty fast. The Image Stabiliser though primitive compared to the canon 100-400 f4.5 5.6 L IS is rather useful is some situations. I had Bought this lens as a secondary for my 28-70 f2.8 L. For the four and odd years i've owned the lens I had to leave it at the canon service center for as many times, to clean DUST on inner surface of the lens element, to top it all the lens had fungus growth on its IS element and the IS element had to be replaced at the last service. Overall the lens is a good budget buy, but if you can extend your budget go for the 24-70 f2.8 L or the new 24-105 f4 L.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Low budget excellent ...

By Andante from Mountain View, CA on 02/16/2009


Pros:

Good Performance For Asked Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Low budget excellent lens. It's produces sharp images for good price. Good zoom range. Concerns: - front element has tendency to cripple when camera pointed down toward earth; - build quality is not up to L-lenses (not dust proof, not weather sealed); - 6-blade aperture is not producing pleasant bokeh; - wide open lens produces chromatic aberrations and gives noticeable barrel distortions; - Image stabilization gives 2 extra f-stops but it is first generation of Canon IS - it is recommended to switch it off when camera is set on tripod; Auto Focus is accurate but not quite fast because of the lens variable aperture design for the given zoom range. Lens is good choice for limited budged. For all-walk around lens I would go rather with 24-105f4 IS L.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Super Lens

By Johnnyt from Torrington, Ct. on 02/13/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Only lens you'll ever need. Covers all the bases and the picture quality is great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice lens, great value.

By GearHead from Rochester, NY on 11/20/2008


Pros:

Quiet Ultra-sonic Motor, Fast Auto-focus, Stabilization, Smooth Zooming

Cons:

Build Quality Good Not Excellent

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this to replace an EF 28-105 f/3.5-4.5 III. It's definitely a much better lens than the 28-105 and is well worth the price difference from it. It's not my sharpest lens, but it still does it's job well and produces quality images that need very little post processing. The focus is fast and accurate, especially on the 40D and the longer focal lengths can produce the soft, out-of-focus backgrounds that I like when taking snapshots of the grandkids. And the stabilization works extremely well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good All Around Lens

By Tom from Eugene, OR on 11/12/2008


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a good lens for those who want a step up from the Kit lens of a Rebel. It's not pro quality, but it's not bad either. Great to just walk around with. I use it as my "standard" lens now.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Overall good Lens

By Daniel from Los Angeles, CA on 11/08/2008


Pros:

Good Price, Good Focal Range, Good Af, Is, Good Image Quality

Cons:

Poor Seals Dust In Lens, Lens Creep, Only A 3-stop Is

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a good lens for the price. Overall build is good. You do get lens creep when point down. The seals are poor and you do get dust in the elements. What do you expect for that price! The AF is good but sometimes slow. It is not the Ring type HSM found on the L and higher lenses. But still good AF for this lens. IS on the lens is old and needs to be updated. Only a 3 stop IS. Still good when you need to shoot handheld or when losing light. Be sure to turn off IS when not using it. This will help the IS last longer. The 28-135mm (44-216mm @ 1.6 aps-c) is a good range. The canon 18-200mm lens is poor overall and especially in image quality compare to the 28-135mm (for those who are thinking of that lens). The image quality would be a 3.9 of 5. Five being a L-Series lens. At 28-70 mm range for highest image quality an f/5.6 to f/8.0 and at 70-135mm range f/8.0 to f/11 I would recommend. Any other ranges of f-stops not listed would be average to poor image quality. Barrel distortion at 28mm will be noticeable. At 70mm the pincushion distortion becomes noticeable and continues through 135mm. With the 40D vignetting is slightly apparent below 35mm. For the price this is a very good lens. Mostly suited for amateurs and intermediates, this lens is a top choice. This lens I use with my 40D.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved