Home » Accessories » Camera Accessories » Lenses & Filters » 2569A004 » 25 Reviews

Canon Ef 70-200mm F/2.8l Usm Telephoto Zoom Lens - F/2.8 (2569a004) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 25 reviews)

78% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Superior Build Quality (16), Fast Auto-focus (18), Super-sharp Images (14)

Cons:

Heavy (6)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Incredible!

By Dubber from Santa Barbara, California on 12/23/2014

This was my first L lens purchase and I could not be happier. I debated for awhile between this and the IS version but decided on this one. I shoot mostly sports and portraiture so my shutter speeds are always high enough to negate the need for IS. With the money I saved by not getting the IS I was able to pick up a slightly used 24-105 f4L. The first thing I noticed when using it for the first time was the ultra quiet and lighting fast AF due to the Ultra Sonic Motor. USM has seemingly ruined my cheaper EF-S lenses as I can no longer stand the difference in AF speed. If this is your first experience with USM you will love it too,. Chimping my first few pictures taken revealed an image quality that I had only seen on the web but never on my viewfinder. The rich vibrant color seem to pop off the monitor! The hype about this lens' Image quality was well deserved. This lens will not make you a pro photographer, that's on you, but it will not be because of your image quality. Buy this lens now! Do not pass go; just go buy it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Super Lense

By Pierre from LaCrosse WI on 10/17/2014

I love this lense...I treat it like a newborn....I bought my new baby a better tripod for better stability but I love hand held for action photos


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

First L lens - fell in love

By A from Adelaide on 07/01/2014


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am writing this partly in response to the previous reviewer (October 2013), who didn't like it, and couldn't use it to take sports shots - claiming it doesn't autofocus well, and he'd rather get a longer lens or one with IS. The latter comment is telling - IS has no effect on fast moving action! The shots I have of humpback whales breaching off Tasmania would suggest a 10% keeper rate is due to "operator error" - one shot doesn't work so well on horses. This was my first L lens, and I used it a lot on my 60D, and still use it on my 5Dii. It is still my favourite lens. I would have loved the f2.8 ISii version, but am glad I went with this rather than the similarly priced f4 IS - image quality is just fantastic (razor sharp, great contrast), and the extra stop is invaluable when freezing action. Shallow depth of field and decent bokeh - useful for portraits as well as really isolating your subject. I used it to a fault, before I acquired more L glass. It focuses quickly, even in low light - noticeably better than the 100-400L for instance - although better on the 5 rather than the 60 in low light. I know that some prefer the lighter weight of the f4 70-200s, but I'm a big strong lad, and prefer to have the dof and shutter speed advantages over IS and low weight. I can't see myself replacing/upgrading this soon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

sorry I even bought it

By equestrian13 from palm beach, Florida on 11/06/2013


Pros:

Good At Night, Works In Sun

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images, Not Sharp Photos, Heavy

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

From the time I have upgraded to this lens, There have been many instances where pictures will come out either fantastic or heavily flawed by being blurry and not focused at all. It took me a while to upgrade because it was a large jump from the rebel t3i and its corresponding lens to a 7d and this lens. i use this lens for action photography involving horses and I am having a serious problem with the auto focus. While all this time it is focused to the jump, the second I take the photo it becomes blurry and a waste of a good timed photo. One out of every 10 photos or so are a good quality and I am thinking about getting a new lens with a longer zoom and IMAGE STABILIZER. Not having the stabilizer kills me sometimes. But I do not want to buy the expensive lens that has it because I cannot afford it. I am stuck in a bad spot but am overall very unhappy with the lens and do not look forward to using it at shows.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My first L lens!!!!!

By Canonfan from Austin, TX on 10/01/2013


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Attracts Unwanted Attention, Heavy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So this is my first L lens and I'm extremely satisfied with it. The quality of my shots blew me away. Perfect focus. Extremely crisp. The only complaint I have is that it is HEAVY! My wrist hurts from supporting the lens. Another thing is that people stare at it. A lot


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice lens

By Scott from Lapland Finland on 08/22/2013


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Wish I Bought It Earlier

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Doesn't feel at all heavy, I thought this might be a problem. I debated over the 70-200 4L IS model and this one, decided on the 2.8 L. My wife didn't understand why I wanted to spend so much money on a lens, after she has seen the pictures it takes ..... well she didn't talk about that anymore. :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

EXCELLENT lens

By Evaniezer from Huntsville, AL on 04/19/2013


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Price, Heavy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had a 70-300 tele before purchasing this lens. In every single way it is better. No chromatic aberrations have been noticed. I normally use this telephoto lens for sports and auto racing. It's got very fast auto focus which is a must when shooting sports. The colors are much richer. So far I haven't had any complaints with it, other than the heaviness of the lens. Some days I will be out for 6-10 hours shooting sports with this lens and after a while my back starts to hurt from lugging around this lens. The price is another issue, but honestly you get what you pay for and this lens is completely worth the money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Images are just stunning!

By Jon from Undisclosed on 08/11/2012


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Heavy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I wish that I had made this investment much sooner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic

By Sheckwel from new york NY on 11/17/2011


Pros:

Smart, Built Like A Tank, Quiet, Fast

Cons:

Pricey, Heavy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is Fantastic,has a fast autofocus because of the f2.8, i had the 70-200mm f4, which was super fast but this one performs much better. The built quality is fantastic, i would recommend this lens to all canon eos users who want to put Telefoto on their bags, wow!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Lens

By Thunderbird from Surabaya on 05/16/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

the lens had a fast auto-focus, because of the f2,8 surely it won't need flash for indoor use. But i think it is to heavy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Overall a great lens

By news&sportsphotog from Little Rock, AR on 02/09/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Sharp Images

Cons:

Lens Hood Design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the second of this lens I've owned. Personally I find while the IS version may be sharper in places, the non-IS is sharper overall throughout the zoom range. I sold my original to upgrade to the IS and wasn't pleased with sharpness, so sold it and purchased another non-IS and am much more happy with it. Typical L build quality, solid feel, fast and quiet AF and quite durable. My only complaint is the design of the lens hood attachment, a problem I have with most of my L glass - after a while they get loose and won't stay put, but I know I'm tougher on equipment than the average or casual shooter.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Over Priced

By sy from colorado on 12/29/2010


Pros:

Sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Excellent Image Quality With Nice Bokeh

Cons:

Expensive, Heavy

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I sold mine and bought EF 200mm f2.8 prime. It was too heavy for me to carry around. Normally needs a tripod when you shoot at 200mm. That's the same as the prime but the prime is much lighter. IQ is excellent. As far as sharpness you might get almost same result with 70-300mm f4-5.6 IS, but this one has very nice bokeh. AF is fast and quiet. L quality built. But if you can find a good used IS version for a similar price, you might want that instead of this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I have had and used this ...

By ccpix from Central City,Colorado on 12/05/2010


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Tripod Or Flash A "must"

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have had and used this lens for around a year now.I am disappointed in the sharpness of the images it produces.And from other reviews,it seems like other photographers have the same problem.You HAVE to use a tripod or flash to get a decent sharp image.I guess the good reviews come from the lucky ones who did not get stuck with a lemon or they do not care about the quality of the images.I regret purchasing this lens.Could have gotten 2-3 comparable quality lens for same.Might as well spend the extra for the IS and have something that works than spend less for a lens that may not work the way that you would expect.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed

By RocCityPhoto from Rochester, NY on 10/16/2010


Pros:

It Focuses Fast, F2.8, Durable (i Think)

Cons:

Lack Of Sharp Image

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Considering the amount of money this lens cost, I was surprisingly disappointed with the quality of image it produces. When you expand your image to 100%, details are blurry. There are exceptions. Shooting portraits at a distance of 15-25 feet produces great results. Shoot a bird 50 feet away, it's blurry every time. I've tried using a tripod, different camera body, same results. Other than that, I think it's a super lens. But if you can't get a quality image from it, what good is it. I also have used a 70-300mm f4.5 - 5.6 canon lens. The inexpensive version and the quality isn't far off from that. I'm really really hoping it may just need an adjustment.In fact, I'm praying an adjustment corrects the problem, otherwise the purchase was a total bust. I wish I had taken it back right after I purchased it, but I wanted to believe.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Go to lens..

By Seattle Slew from Seattle on 04/27/2010


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The 70-200mm lens can hold its own on pretty much any film/FF/crop frame digtal. The versatility, image quality, speed, color, contrast make it my go to lens for all my non-studio work..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst lens I've ever owned

By Johan from USA on 04/15/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Terrible Sharpness, Falls Apart

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The images at f/2.8-f/8.0 are not sharp at all. In fact at f/2.8 you can not even see wrinkles in someones face in a portrait. Also, my lens is falling apart, from the focus ring forward is going to break off soon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Real Gem

By lancelot from minneapolis, mn on 03/19/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Vivid Colors, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Weight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is 1 0f 4 L seriies lenses that I own, with more to follow. I love the versatality of this lense, and recomend using a tripod when you can. Great colors, super fast focus, and quiet. I had a Tamron, 70-200 2.8, much less money, but I can see why. The focus on this lens is second to none, Very sharp, and is so fast. Great all around lens. If you can only afforde 1 lens, invest in this one, you won't regret it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome and crisp!

By Gelderland from Orlando, FL on 06/18/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Built like a tank. This lens is my main shooter. I am an entertainment photographer for a number of publications. I have never been disappointed with the quality, the accuracy or the reliability of this incredible lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

awesome

By mko from hobbs, nm on 06/02/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just got the lense like 3 days ago.. and the first picture helped me realized that this lense will take me in a great direction. If people write reviews its because they are satisfied,, i am glad i make this purchase, whooohh


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Lens

By someone from Undisclosed on 01/04/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is an amazing lens from canon. The build quality is superb and so is the mage quality. It is also 600 dollars cheaper than the IS version. While it is heavy the pictures you take will definitely justify the weight. If you buy an L you will not be let down. This lens is just great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens

By Tate from Undisclosed on 12/25/2008


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just got back into SLR game since everything went digital. This lens is a wonderful all around lens. Cant say enough good things about it. All my lens will be "L" from now on.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Canon's Best Zoom

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 11/20/2008


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This thing does it all, sports portraits, travel. Blazing fast focus, super sharp, great color rendition. If you don't need IS, this lens is it. I use it for action sports and fashion and it is a wonderful performer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Sports Lens

By Makboz from SF, CA on 11/17/2008


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this lens for kids' soccer games - always sharp, fast AF, and incredibly sharp, vivid pictures. I don't shoot a lot of stills (nature, wildlife, etc) - but when I do I use a tripod and the shots turn out great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great lens

By vpnd from Fargo ND on 11/12/2008


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Images are great even wide open. This lens always performs under any condition. I use it for portraits and sports.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Canons BEST lens

By Joe from Detroit, MI on 10/31/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

What can I say the ultimate portrait and low-light lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved