Home » Accessories » Camera Accessories » Lenses & Filters » 2577A002 » 69 Reviews

Canon Cameras 2577a002 Telephoto Ef 100-400 F/4.5-5. Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 69 reviews)

92% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus (3), Semi-sharp Images (8), Heavy (3)

Pros:

Superior Build Quality (42), Super-sharp Images (37), Fast Auto-focus (33), Sharp (6)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Great versatility

By nathan from Birmingham, MI on 07/25/2015

We bought this lens originally to photograph our sons football but we have used it for so much more. I take great shots of my sons lacrosse team, the 400 has great reach to get up close action shots of the kids playing, good details. I have also taken this on my trip to Africa,Belieze for fly fishing and various trips, the photos we took were amazing and the ability to get close ups from safe distances was great and I did not sacrifice details. I love the versatility and durability of this lens in different environments


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

EF 100-400mm is Versatile

By Birdman from Davis, CA on 12/10/2014

I bought the lens for wild bird photography. I considered the EF 400 5.6, but I thought I better go with IS. I am a pure amateur hobbyist. I like the portability of the lens. The great close focus (5.9') has been useful in getting images of flowers and insects. Most of my use is at the 400mm, but I like the ability to shorten-up if the subject comes closer. I use it mostly from a monopod, and I am still working to get consistently sharp images of moving birds. I have seen the work of professionals who use the same lens, so I know what is possible with my Canon equipment.The EF 100-400mm is heavy! For me, the push-pull zoom feature is an interesting challenge - keep it too loose, and it creeps longer; too tight, and you miss a shot trying to shorten it. I'll keep working with it to see if I can give it 5 Stars.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A great value

By sabre95521 from Arcata, Ca on 05/22/2014


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my second purchase of this lens (the first got stolen) so that right there should tell you how much I like this lens. My favorite subject for this lens is Airshows but is a great Nature lens except in the darkest of conditions.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens, Know the Limits

By Len90 from New Jersey on 04/09/2014


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus, Vignetting

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens as I needed to give myself a bit more reach than my 70-200 could offer, even with the 1.4 extender. The versatility with the lens is great. The 100-400 range is perfect for photographing airplanes, wildlife, sports, etc. The images are sharp up until about 300mm and then there is a slight drop off in sharpness as you go beyond 300. The focusing at times can be a bit slow, which can be tough if you are trying to lock in on a moving subject. Finally the lens does seem to vignette a lot when mounted to a full frame, which is to be somewhat expected but maybe not so much to the degree I get at times. The lens is push/pull which is a bit uncommon now. However, the adjustment period really isn't bad and after a day of playing around it feels normal. The tension ring is great for allowing you to determine how much or how little force will be required to zoom in or out. I have had this lens for nearly 5 months now and it does seem to be what I utilize the most. I still use my 70-200 f4L IS at times when I know I will not need that extra reach. My 70-200 copy is amazingly sharp and I find it to be a bit faster at focusing. Overall, I do recommend this lens to almost everyone. It is a great versatile lens but does have a few limitations. It will be interesting to see if Canon does come up with something to replace it in the coming years as the current version is coming up on 16 years already. My version was a 2013 build, based on both the serial number and having come with the new center pinch lens cap. The design might be old, but Canon is still actively making them!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My favorite lens of all

By garlec from Oregon on 01/10/2014


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I carry two 5dMkIII camera bodies on my Cotton carrier and this lens is always chest mounted. I love this lens. It's a great portrait lens and at 400 mm will take portraits from across the square. I wish it was faster than f/4.0 but if it was bigger it would be a pain to tote around and hold. It's fast focusing, doesn't hunt much, and gives very sharp images at wide open. Just remember to use 1/400 sec or faster (I use 1/500 or 1/640) to avoid blur. I almost never use tripod. I even got great shots of Musk ox from a rubber zodiak in Greenland. Has two focal distance settings--remember to use the right one to avoid hunting.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Back to the 100-400L

By Mac from Indiana on 08/01/2013


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased with a 1.4 teleconverter and have just started looking at the lens sharpness. I have started using this lens with a full frame 6d and the images are very sharp and the focus is very accurate. The 1.4xIII converter does not appear to detract measurably from the sharpness of the lens at 400mm, very impressive so far. The lens feel and tightness of the zoom mechanism is much improved.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fills my needs

By KR from Texas on 07/16/2013


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this lens for night high school football games. It is very sharp action pictures.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Long range

By thetechhimself from San Jose, CA on 06/25/2013


Pros:

400mm, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Somewhat Heavy, Legacy Image Stabilizer

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Picked up a 100-400 after much thought on my next telephoto. Bottom line, I'm constantly pushing 300mm on my previous zoom so 400mm was logical. The L series glass produces much cleaner images than non-L, period. Push pull is actually nice, takes some getting used to. Heavy though, the weight does grow on you and is very hand held capable. Only beef? The IS isn't as good as newer IS, due for a refresh as this design is long in the tooth. Despite being old design, excellent image quality, excellent reach (especially mounted on a crop frame). Should warn, 400mm @ Av of 4+ in less than full light = ISO pump ie Full frame turf. Pairs well with cropped sensors in daylight as 1.6 x 400 = 640. Quality on the refurb is outstanding, it's on par with the demo model at the local Canon Reseller I played with prior to purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens

By Dan E from SE Wisconsin, the home of "low Light" on 06/22/2013


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Extremely Versatile

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned this lens for about 2 years. It is primarily used for Wildlife and Sports photography. I had read all of the negative reviews before I purchased the lens, and have concluded that there are a lot of people out there that really don't have a clue about lens choice and lighting conditions. No, a 4.5 F lens is not considered a "low light" lens, so don't try to use it as one and then complain about the picture quality. Use this lens for the awesome piece of equipment that it is, and it will not let you down. It has a very fast focus and is built like a tank. If you are considering the purchase of this lens, just go and do it. You will be very happy with it if you know anything at all about photography.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

still pondering purchase

By marion from mississippi on 05/20/2013


Pros:

Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Slow Speed In Low Light, Very Heavy, Slow Auto Focus In Low Light

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

been wanting a lens that would give me more coverage than my 55-250. been looking at purchasing this lens for some time. just received the lens and took it to the zoo to try out. I am a petite person with small hands and this lens was very heavy for me to carry on a two hour visit to the zoo. I also had problem in adjusting lens in and out due to my small hand size and the large size of the lens. the detail of the photos is outstanding. I realize now that I was very satisfied with the 55-250 and the weight and size of the 55-250 lens is more comfortable for my hand and body size. I also found the auto focus to be slow in low light conditions inside a building. the lens is also heavy to pack around in a camera bag.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dependable

By Apexshot from Pea Ridge AR. on 02/07/2013


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

At some race car tracks your allowed to be in the hot grid area while the cars are on the track. I used this area to capture eyes in the helmet while flat out on the straightaways The eye expression is priceless. This lens made that shot effortless. And as for wildlife this lens works well also. For me the wide uses of this less made the cost very reachable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Lens to Own and Use!

By texfstop from Carrollton, TX on 02/04/2013


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Versatile, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've only had this lens for about a week but it's been on my cameras 90% of the time. I've used it on a 60D with the 1.4x III and by itself. The auto focus is fast and reliable. The sharpness is outstanding. I shot some photos of a green winged teal duck this afternoon. Every feather is clearly defined. Yes, the push/pull design seems a little like a throw back, but nostalgia never hurt anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really COOL Lens

By Jrock from Milwaukie, OR on 01/10/2013


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Works Great Hand Held

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had my EF 100-400 for about three days not got a lot of use out of yet (because the weather has been poor) BUT I will. I got this lens because it was a zoom so it was more versatile than a prime lens and because it had the extra reach that my standard telephoto did not have. I cannot wait to get out into the field and give it a complete run down and a good days work and send it through the passes. I got it mainly because I like to take nature shot of wildlife and landscapes. I thought the price was a lot, but reasonable, considering that there are some lens that cost A LOT more than this one!! The Build is nice it feels sturdy and well made. So far the shot in the poor weather have been great, real sharp and crisp images and I have found that it is really easy to take hand held shoot with this thing. I have a Annas Hummingbird that has a territory outside my house and I have spent a good few hours taking pictures of him and they are great. I really cannot wait to see what this lens is capable of in better light conditions!! When you first pick it up it feel like it weighs a TON but once it is on the camera and have it on your shoulder it really is not so bad! I really like that the auto focus does not change when tracking subjects, many time with other lenses i have been following an subject and the auto focus will focus on something else and i would loose my target!! Overall good build quality and great lens to add to a kit, especially for wildlife nuts like me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

waste of money

By Agugslp from New Jersey on 10/18/2012


Cons:

Slow Auto-focus, Poor Build Quality, Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Started out ok, but after a few months this lense turned out to be a waste of money. Images not sharp, very slow. Not worth the money. It's been in for service several times. Image stabilizer burnt out twice. I think I received a lemon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Tele-zoom

By GreyWulff from Cadillac MI on 10/04/2012


Pros:

Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought the 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM (my first lens with my new 60D) primarily for wildlife photography. It was super for monitoring our nesting tree swallows this spring, plus hummers and butterflies. Just shot it tight across the valley to isolate fall color. Everything sharp enough for at least 8.5x11 so far. I do wish there was a zoom lock, to keep the tube from extending when carried pointing down - a minor quibble. Not fixed focal length, so probably incompatible with extenders, and not real fast - but plenty good/useful for me!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent outdoor companion

By ophiuchus from CT on 09/29/2012


Pros:

Fast Focal Length Change, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Could Use Better Sealing

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this lens mainly for airshow photography and it delivers great results. Even with my little experience. Solid built and fast AF assure me that the purchase was a good choice. The pump focal length change requires a bit of used to, but eventually gets very comfortable and fast. Great thing, though sealing could be a little better. And Image Stabiliser effectiveness could use improvement ;) Aside of that - fully recomend to anyone interested in wildlife or airshows photography.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Moon Shot

By Photojo from RIchmond, VA on 09/14/2012


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had the opportunity to shoot some full moon shots with 100-400 on my 20D. The results were excellent. The clarity of the craters and impact shock waves. The is lens allowed my shot to have much more detail than I was able to capture with my 24 - 105. A bit expensive but well worth it when you get the great shot.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The crisp images you get from the lens.

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 09/06/2012


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like the clear crisp images you get from the lens.I shoot all sort of photos and I love how clear my photos of eagles come out compared to other lenses.I have no complaints about this lens at all.I would recommend it to any one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best lens ever

By Grandpa "H" from Wisconsin on 09/01/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have always wanted a lens that I could get the most clear, detail photo's. I have found it with the 100-400 L iS USM. I have kept this on my 50D camera for all of my pictures of wildlife as I do like taking all wildlife pics. I also have a 24-105 L IS USM and that is also a great lens for wide angle shots. I don't really need any other lenses. It can be heavy but I don't mind it when you get such great photo's, ti is not even an issue for me. The IS and AF work very quick for quick captures. So , yes I would recommend this to any serious photographer. You won't be disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This lens needs to be learned.

By Aspdauk from Northwest Montana on 05/08/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I called Canon after I had this lens for about 5 months. I was complaining of soft images. Tech support asked me to submit some random images as some of mine appeared sharp and some soft. I learned two things. This lens is incredible if you learn what settings to shoot your particular lense. I found out several things. on a Canon 7D if you can shoot live mode zoom with a tripod and remote shutter release and manual focus with IS off this lens can produce stunning results. Incredible results. I also learned on one shot auto focus and spot metering If you set the lens to AF and focus the lens past infinity before you touch the shutter button to focus the images on my lens turn out incredibly sharp. Also my 100-400 lens is perfect at F8 to F16...and just short of 400mm. I shoot aperture priority all the time now to bring out the best in an incredible lens. Play with your lens...I think there are very few bad copies. I think a lot of us don't take the time to learn our particular lens. By the way...I took a friend out with a much less expensive 70-300 non L lens out and within 3 hours he had tack sharp images...Aperture first...focal length second...shutter to get the shot. Try it. I think you may be surprised.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't give up

By Anonymous from Northern Ca on 05/03/2012


Pros:

Great Value

Cons:

Test Lense Carefully

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Nature photographer. At first seemed to work fine. Began to shoot all out with distance and started to see much ghosting. Sent it back to canon. Everything checked out. Suggested a more quality uv filter. Shot without filter, same problem. Sent back again with camera. Facility was irvine, ca. They suggested sending it to New York corporate. After full review they told me there was an issue with the glass and sent me a brand new lens. Nothing but happy with lens now. Tack sharp is what I expect now and get it enough for me to be totally satisfied. Great bokeh and colors are always rendered to pop. Good experience with warranty facilities.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Superb lens, especially for wildlife

By Michael from New Jersey on 04/29/2012


Pros:

Silent Image Stabilization, Great Image Quality Over The Whole Range, Goes Out To 400mm, Really Nice Bokeh

Cons:

Push/pull Zoom Takes Some Getting Used To, Large And Heavy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been using this lens for wildlife photography and birdwatching for several years now, and has been an extremely valuable addition to my kit. Image quality is extremely sharp at 100mm and only a tiny bit softer at 400mm - I still get excellent shots over the entire range of the lens, but if you're planning on only using this all the way out to 400mm, you might see a marginal gain from the similarly priced 400mm prime lens. The bokeh is nice and smooth. For those who need the versatility of a zoom, this is, in my opinion, one of the best lenses which Canon has ever made. I consider it a particularly excellent choice for birdwatching. Only two cons: the lens is large and heavy, and the push/pull zoom is unwieldy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Reach

By Best Exposures from Chicago, IL on 04/12/2012


Pros:

Amazing Reach, Fast Auto Focus

Cons:

Push Pull Is Annoying, Potential For Getting Dust

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Where else can you get 400mm for such a low price, with the build quality of an "L" series lens? My main bread and butter income is from Wedding Photography. But for fun I like to shoot aircraft. With this lens and the crop factor of the APC sensor in the 7D I can get so close to the action if feels like I am flying in formation with the air show aircraft. The autofocus works great with this lens, its fast and accurate. When I really want to reach I attach the 2x teleconverter. It works great during the day, but I would not recommend it for night or dark situations unless on a tripod. With the APC sensor crop of 1.6x and 400mm with the 2x converter I now have equivalent 1280mm reach! Amazing! Just amazing. I've heard that the T3i has digital zoom as well, just imagine the effective focal length with this!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not up to par

By lorendn from Florida on 03/03/2012


Pros:

Size Weight, Cost

Cons:

Is System Is Weak, Image Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased the 100-400 f4.5-5.6L about 2 months ago and have never been satisfied with its sharpness. I have 4 other EOS L lenses and am constantly amazed at the quality of the images I capture with my 7D. This lens totally misses the mark and its performance is disappointing. The images are excessively soft and lack the sharpness of other L lenses. It is almost unusable at f4.5-5.6 and barely acceptable under ideal circumstances at f8-16. The quality is OK from 100-300mm but deteriorates at 400mm. I added this lens to get better reach for wildlife photography and nearly always use a tripod. When shooting handheld, the IS gives only about 1 stop of improvement. I am sending the lens back to Canon for inspection and repair or replacement. If it cannot be fixed or replaced, it will probably stay on the shelf while I shoot with my 70-200mm f2.8L ISII and a 1.4x extender.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Long Wait Worth It

By Architect from Williamsport, PA on 03/01/2012


Pros:

Love The Push-pull Zoom, Sharp, Good Weight For Size

Cons:

Weather Sealing

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I waited a long time saving up for this lens and followed the other reviews and rented this lens prior to making the purchase. I had the FD system with the 80-200L lens and loved it. This replaced the 100-300 and this lens blows that one away. My wife and I both fight over who gets to use it for pics of birds and other critters. Great color and sharpness with my 10D. The IS is amazing for us doing a lot of handheld shots. No it is not perfect, would like it to be weather sealed as my other L lenses are. But for the zoom range and flexibility and relative light weight just love it and recommend it to others.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Glad I own it

By kevin from Chicago on 02/29/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

love using it- great sharpness - tracks birds and race cars perfectly


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it

By CLICK from Phoenix AZ on 02/04/2012


Pros:

Quick Focus, Great Build, Focal Length Amazing, Push Pull Easy To Learn, Sharp, Locking Ring Does Not Let Lens Creep Happen

Cons:

No Weather Sealing Or Rubber Gasket, Wish It Was A F4 Or Lower, Heavy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is amazing I was holding off on buying it becaue it was a puch pull with very little weather sealing. I was also hoping in my own mind canon would update it weather seal it and make it an F.2.8 but I realized that probably would not happen for some time so I took the plung. I have taken this lens outside in AZ now for weeks and have not noticed any dust collecting in the lens. I carry a plastic bag and some rubber bands for windy days but that is all I have done. It take sharp images it focuses fast for this size of a lens and above all it an L. To all of you on the fence I held off for 4 years on puchasing this lens and have since realized how many photo ops I have missed out on. If canon ever does update the lens I will sell it and being an "L" im sure it will hold its value for a long time to come. I am very pleased with my puchase. Good job canon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

my bread and butter motor sports lens

By mistercarguy from NYC Metro on 12/28/2011


Pros:

Good Value, Lens Shade Included, Rugged, Tripod Collar Included, Sharp

Cons:

Push / Pull Instead Of Twist Zoom

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned this lens ever since it was released years ago. It has served me well for motor sports photography on both my EOS 1V cameras and now on my digital Canons. I bought it because race tracks keep moving photographers back from the track. They do this, of course, to help ensure our safety but I quickly learned that my 70-200mm and 300mm weren't going to be long enough for frame-filling images. The real test came when I shot the introduction of a new Ferrari at a race track (with SLOOOW Velvia), hand held, wide open, racked out to 400mm. My editor (a world famous photographer himself) gushed over the phone about one particular image and said, "you made the cover!" High praise indeed for the 100-400mm. Mine has been beat up pretty well over the years but has help up well with regular clean and checks through the CPS program (just completed one in October and came through with flying colors). I know this lens has been on the market for years and will someday be replaced with an improved model (and, I'm sure more expensive), but right now, it's a real bargain and should be in the camera bag of any sports and wild life shooter.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great all around zoom lens

By gordone from Red Deer, Canada on 12/20/2011


Pros:

Good Is, Nice Size And Balance, The Color, Sharp, I Love The Push-pull Zoom For Birds In Flight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When I first got this lens I was disappointed in the image quality, until I finally figured out it was the tripod I was using would not handle the weight. This lens takes very crisp pictures on my 60D and with IS I use it a lot handheld taking pictures of flying birds and other wildlife. With the F5.6 at 400mm, it requires good light for handheld, but I am willing to live with that given the size of the lens and the image quality available.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Big Bag O' Compromise

By ABQ.Joe from Albuquerque, NM on 12/11/2011


Pros:

Relatively Lightweight 400mm, Sharp, Versatile, Good Price Performance

Cons:

Limited Low Light Capability, Vignettes On Full-frame Cameras, Not Fully Weather Sealed, Odd Bokeh

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Canon's EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 is a versatile lens I use with a 7D body, primarily for wildlife shooting, along with capturing standoff candid shots at events and on the street. However, it's VERY conspicuous at 400mm. In a lot of ways this is a 5-star lens, but it tries to do a little too much maybe. I truly wish Canon had made thls their first 200-400, maybe allowing for 4.5 max aperature throughout the zoom range? When you're shooting early morning bird flights, that extra stop at 400mm would mean lower ISO and much better shots. That said, this lens performs well at all focal lengths, and that wide range often comes in handy. On a 1.6 crop body, your reach is equivalent to 160-640mm--that's pretty sweet. A lot of people hate the push-pull zoom, but I love it. You actually get a lot more zoom speed when shooting fast-moving subjects, like birds in flight and basketball, etc.; just remember that shooting those kind of subjects consistently takes a lot of practice! The zoom friction is adjustable, so you can zoom fast, or lock it down with no creep. The IS performs well, giving you around 3 stops as far as I can tell, and has 2 switchable types; one for standard shake control, the other for lateral movement, like tracking birds through the sky. Shooting a static subject at 640mm, don't be surprised if you're able to take shots at 1/30. The 100-400 is pretty sharp throughout the range, and gives me good color, with just a tad too much contrast in some situations, like during golden hour. I don't get much chromatic aberration or flare, but on a full-frame camera, you get some pronounced vignetting in the 250mm and higher range. As with any telephoto, you get a lot of background blur, but the quality of that blur (bokeh) is kind of strange when you have a complex background, like trees: the background gets kind of a spaghetti-like blur pattern that isn't always pleasing. I'm admittedly spoiled by the 24-70L and 50mm 1.2L, so I might be nit-picking. Canon kind of surprises me by only weather sealing around the switches. I find that kind of a bummer, since it's far more likely to be used outdoors than most Canon lenses. You can pull off a few shots in a light shower, but forget staying out in the rain--you will fry both lens and camera. The 100-400 is a hard lens to compare, because it kind of stands on its own. I guess the bottom line is that it's a great performing (if slightly flawed) 100-400 zoom lens: just remember that ANY 100-400 lens would be flawed; it's a wide range to cover, and Canon does it quite well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good value for wildlife photography

By BlueRidgeTourist from Undisclosed on 12/09/2011


Pros:

Telephoto Length, Well Constructed

Cons:

A Bit Heavy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I used this lense with my 7D in the Serengeti and Tarangire in October. I shoot high resolution raw usually in Av mode, so the shutter speed floats. Some of photographs were outstanding. I have prints at 16x24, and resolution is fabulous. Some photos, however, were not sharp, and shutter speed was slower than desired. This occurred at f5.6 and poor/low light, so understand this is not a 'fast' lense. Of course, you can't control the subject or light in wildlife photography. In general, this is a very good lense and I look forward to more outdoor photography with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not my favorite

By Utopia from FL on 12/02/2011


Pros:

Solid Construction

Cons:

Push/ Pull Zoom Is Annoying, Not As Sharp As It Should Be, Heavy

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

As much as other reviewers seem to love this lens, I have never been happy with the sharpness. Most people will likely not take issue, but I am very critical in this area. I love, love love my 70-200 2.8 ISL II. It is one of the best non prime lenses that I have ever used. Compared to that lens, the images from the 100-400 do not even rate. I would rather use a 1.4 or 2x converter with the 70-200 than use this lens. Even the 70-200 f4L IS is preferable. The push/pull zoom is awkward and I have never been able to adjust to it. I would deal with it if the image quality were better. I am a huge fan of Canon L lenses, with the one exception of this lens. If you need the longer zoom, go with a prime. I have used the 800L and the 500L and both have wonderful image quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it!

By Jdjohnson from Utah on 11/20/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use primarily for wildlife photography, I love it's speed and zoom. The push-pull is a little different to get used to but easy to get the hang of. The 1.4x III extender works amazing with this lens, however the 2x II extender does not work in auto focus. But I rarely pair them together any way. 400 mm really gets you close to the action. I have used this lens from the deserts of Arizona to the islands of Alaska and it has never disappointed me! It's an incredible lens!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Erratic Results

By Miguelito from Undisclosed on 10/06/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the 100-400 primarily to shoot soccer and surfing and though very happy with the range the lens allows me I have to say I'm a bit flummoxed by the erratic quality of the images. I use a 7D manually and find that when shooting action in good light at anything less than 7.1 the sharpness of the images is less than desirable. As well, if I increase the ISO to 200 or above in order to accommodate faster shutter speeds (I shoot at 800 - 1000) the result is a noisy image. Under ideal conditions, when I don't have to increase ISO above 160 and can lock in the aperture to 7.1 and higher, I get outstanding results. As we all know, ideal conditions don't always present themselves. I've worked tirelessly to use the proper AF settings to make certain I'm not failing on that end. At best, I can say my experience with the lens is somewhat tepid. Very well could be a flaw in the lens itself as most other reviews tend to rave. If you have any thoughts on my issue, I'm all ears.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best wildlife lens

By mrlotus74 from Honolulu, HI on 06/16/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Extremely Versatile, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Heavybut Manageable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Never comes off my 7D! Used for shooting butterflies to an orca. Even with a 6 ft minimum focus, achieves beautiful macro shots of insects and flowers. 400mm can handle most distant bird and wildlife shots and compared to 500mm plus lenses is so much easier to use and transport. Image quality has been excellent and I have not bothered switching to my Canon 24-105 lens for anything so far. While quite heavy, I have become used to handling it and can track fast moving birds comfortably. I have never used a tripod and don't see a need for one for my photography. The price is reasonable compared to other quality lenses. The odd push-pull telephoto actually works very well even when tracking fast moving subjects. I cannot report any faults or disappointments, but be prepared to answer a lot of questions at zoos etc.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

valu

By Dan from Colorado on 06/04/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Price And Quality, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Makes You Want All L Lenses!

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned it for 2 years and love it. I sold all my other lenses and purcahsed a L lens for wide and normal shooting. The color and sharpness is great with the L. Get some time in before the shot counts. I purchased my lense than went on vacation with my brothor who ownes one and helped me get great shots with it. The zoom and settings ar critical to get down before you go for the one in a lifetime shots. Get a set of tubes for great close up shots. Great lens at a great price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really wanted to like this lens but too many flaws

By Gadget Photo from Anchorage, AK on 03/31/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Poor Image Stabilization, Semi-sharp Images, Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I studied many reviews on this lens and waited over a year before finally purchasing it online. This was the first L series lens I've owned, although I had tried others before. I knew the 100-400 has some limitations, but I really thought it would work for me. I usually shoot with a crop format 40D, and wanted this mostly for general wildlife use. Sometimes on a tripod, often not. In my opinion, there are three major problems with the lens when compared with other Canon L series telephoto zooms. Firstly the early-generation image stabilization is not particularly effective unless you're in bright sunlight, even when braced. Secondly the focus just isn't quite as fast or as accurate as I would like, with a moderate success rate at best. And thirdly, once I started pixel-peeping I found the image quality of the glass simply isn't sharp enough for me throughout a significant portion of the zoom range at wider f-stops. I'm not sure how many of these issues are generic to the 100-400, or just my copy. Ergonomically I didn't mind the size, weight and bombproof build of the lens, and liked the nice padded bag and sturdy tripod collar. Although the push-pull "dust pump" zoom seemed to function OK, I think overall I really prefer a regular zoom ring. After a few weeks of shooting with this lens, I tried the new Canon 70-300 L at my local camera store and liked it a lot better. It's an excellent lens for about the same price, even though it means losing 100mm at the long end. Virtually any lens involves some compromise, but for the money I feel there are better options than the old 100-400 L. I returned this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome

By Ninja Snapper from Denver, Colorado on 02/19/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Balanced, Super-sharp Images, Fast Zoom, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My first L-series lens and I could not have made a better choice!!! From elk in Estes Park to bugs on blossoms at eight feet, and a myriad of sporting events like football, golf, swimming and track & field, this lens has performed flawlessly. Using it almost always in hand-held mode, from macro insect and flower shots, all the way to maximum zoom with a 2x extender, I personally feel that there could not be a more versatile lens out there. It comes to the fore for me when shooting outdoor sports - I've often carried it all day at track meets and soccer tournaments, craddling it like a baby [in the crook of my arm] between shots without noticeable strain at the end of the day. And the balance with or without the tripod foot seems perfect for me. As a side, it never fails to garner glowing comments at shoots, especially when being used in maximum zoom mode. Quite simply, I LOVE this lens - there's no better glass on the market for versatility and capability.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

finally able to buy

By Anonymous from St .Paul, MN on 02/11/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this lens when I finally saved enough for it. It took super sharp photos, but would drain the battery on my 40d as well as my sons xti. Canon had me return it twice before they found the problem. If it was left on the camera, the battery would be dead in less than 2 days. Still an awesome lens and would purchase one again. Canon techs were very helpful in fixing it even checked out my 40d at no charge and covered the shipping. They had not come across this problem before.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

the workhorse

By garlec from Oregon on 02/10/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Worth The Money, Fast Auto-focus, Superb Fast Is, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Af Is Slow With 1.4 Xtender, Long Heavy, F/5.6 Is Slow

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this lens about two years. I shoot birds, people at a distance, animals, and use it for macros from 6 feet or more. It's on my 5dMkII 90% of the time. I wish it was faster than f/5.6 at 400mm but the images are superb and I don't hesitate to shoot wide open aperture. If there's enough light to keep ISO below about 6000, the grain is not objectionable to me but I never enlarge beyond 8x10. I've used it in the dust of Africa and Egypt and the humidity of the Amazon. It's called the "dust pump" because the push pull operation can work dust into the interior. It's been cleaned twice by Canon in the last couple of years when it developed internal dust spots. It's tough but I always carry it with the lens shield in place. After awhile you learn which distance setting you need for fast operation and the IS is superb. I can sometimes get sharp images at 1/30 sec at 400mm but normally use speed priority at 1/500 to ensure sharpness. My best lens of about 9 different Canon lenses. The length with lens shield is an attention getter--wished it wasn't quite so obtrusive, especially with 1.4 or 2x extenders. I never use tripod with this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens

By Kcoabra from Pensacola,Fl on 02/01/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Awesome! I use it exclusively hand held. Even with the 2X II extender!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A must have!

By rawker25 from Redwood City, California on 11/07/2010


Pros:

Ease Of Use, Picture Quality, Don't Have To Be A Professional

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens for a trip to the Galapagos Islands & Macchu Pichu but unfortunately didn't use it because I was so close to everything! Since then I have used it with my Canon EOS 40D primarily for sporting events (including the Giants 2010 World Series parade), wildlife/nature and candid "people shots". While I'm not a professional photographer, the clarity and quality of my pictures have been gallery caliber and the envy of all who have seen them. Even though it's weighty and pricey, it's ease of use and picture quality makes it the best investment I've ever made and I highly recommend w/o reservations!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome quality lens, adaptable

By Mad-Snapper from Lincoln, NE on 09/26/2010


Pros:

Adaptability

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have taken this lens to Argentina and throughout the US. Its quality is unmatched (with my 7D). If you want excellent clarity in a zoom, buy this L-Series IS lens. It is heavy, but you're a fool not to use a tripod shooting with any telephoto. . . although sometimes I've done handheld shots of birds in flight and they have been amazingly sharp.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great all around lens

By Benn from Arkansas on 08/10/2010


Pros:

Sharp, Accurate, Fast Af

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I shoot sports and wildlife with this lens and love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just get it!

By tlenoir from Mobile, AL on 07/25/2010


Pros:

Built-in Tripod Mount, Solid Feel, Image Stabilization

Cons:

Had To Buy A New (bigger) Camera Bag

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

No buyers remorse. I take a lot of photos for a local community theatre: studio head shots, on stage action and back stage candids with varying lighting levels. This lens does it all with ease on my 5D Mk II. I also go fishing in the Mobile Delta and love to take pictures of the local wildlife but I dont care to get too close to the alligators, 400 mm comes in handy. Canon L quality can't be beat. I've been thinking about getting this lens for a while! Now I only regret the time and pictures I've missed. Just get it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice lense

By ILIABY from New jersey on 07/09/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Super Zoom System

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like this lense. It's doing great job. I tried it in different conditions. The best pictures are with aperture 1/500 or higher. But in overview it is said it is compatible with Extenders 1.4x II and 2x II. I have 1.4II extender. It works only with manual focus. And it is absolute differnt kind of photos. It is no razor sharp anymore. U can use only extender for immovable objects. I believe buying 2x is just loosing money at all.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great L Glass Lens for Birding,Airshows

By alanh073 from Pascagoula,Mississippi on 06/07/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Easy To Attach To Camera, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Easy To Use, 2 Is Modes

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have this lens on my new Canon EOS 7D,I had it on my 50D previously.I can't imagine not having this lens on my camera in my bag.I like the 2 IS modes.I mainly use it for Bird and Wildlife photography as well as Airshows.I used it yesterday to photograph an Oil Covered Pelican(06 June 2010)on our Mississippi Gulf Coast and it was published in the paper.It is rugged,sharp,has a quick auto focus.I don't understand why some people put rugged and then heavy.If it is built rugged.It is probably gonna be on the heavy side.I would definitely suggest this to a friend.A+ Canon.The only thing I wish they would do differently is build it like the 70-200mm 2.8L IS USM lens if it is possible.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My personal favorite lens

By Sandman from New Mexico on 04/06/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned this lens for almost two years now and I am as happy today as the day I bought it. Photos are sharp and contrasty, and the versatility of the wide zoom range is highly functional. What this lens lacks in sharpness (very little) over the fixed focal lengths in this range is more than made up for in its flexibility and versatility. It is fantastic for birding and very useful for landscapes. It stays on my 40D at all times. If you're thinking about getting one, don't hesitate. You will not regret it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quality wins the day

By Mightymite from Sanibel, Florida on 03/05/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first 'L' lens and I am blown away with the results. The pictures are sharp, the stabiliser works very well and the auto-focus works very fast.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing L lens

By Doctor from Athens on 02/09/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Excellent Is, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens about three months ago and i must admit that it's amazing. I have the excellent 70-200 f/2.8 IS too, but i wanted more reach so i added this to my collection. What can i say... Excellent in all aspects!!! Super fast AF, excellent IS, sharp like a razor even wide open, only minor vignietting and only wide open, amazing contrast... I can go on and on...... The only thing i would ad to this lens, is the newer 4stop IS. If you can afford it, just go out there and buy it. The only better lenses, i guess, are the fixed focal length monsters...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Second Lens For Distance Shots.

By Firefighter from Wausau, WI on 12/12/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Slide Type Zoom

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my go to lens when distant shots are hard to get. Lens allows good crisp pics at any focal length. One thing that was hard to get used to was the forward moving zoom. I had another lens like this, but it didn't zoom out as far. It is a small price to pay for the quality of the pics. The 100-400 has a zoom lock/tension ring to keep your focal length right on. I like to use a mono pod to help on slower speeds/longer exposures. Image stabilizing helps with this. This would be a good second lens for the person who wants to reach out.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great zoom, perfect shots

By eyeidea from Undisclosed on 11/22/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens helps me get in! I also have a 24-105mm and this picks up where that leaves off. Great price/value of 400mm! And versatile! Out at 400 with low light can get a bit soft.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Do Not Filter

By Benny from Lexington, KY on 10/26/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Great versatile range, 100-400 wow! At f5.6 it gets to be a little on the slow side, but that's only when indoors. It's impressive, but heavy. DO NOT use a UV filter on this, it's very prone to ghost imaging. The big hood will protect it fine. The push-pull system is hard to get used to, but when you do it's annoying.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A great lens

By Jim from Arcata, Ca. on 08/06/2009


Pros:

Very Versatile, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Not The Fastest Lens

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had a hard time deciding between this and the 70-200L F2.8 and this lens. After trying out both and with my budget I went with the 100-400. I shot nature, mostly wildlife and birds. Also shoot a lot of airshows. For me this is a great choice even though it is a slower lens it is very versatile. I am very pleased with the results of this lens with my 40D. Coupled with the 24-105L I can shoot most situations that come up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

4 years and going strong

By redjelly39 from North Bend, Wa on 06/07/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Beautul Backgrounds, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Lose Auto Focus With Extender Attached

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens in early 2005 and it has been heavily used and continues to produce incredible images today. I tend to use f/7.1 a lot and this renders my subject very sharp with great detail while providing a beautiful blurred background. I am careful to get a nice colorful background to compliment my subject. The 100-400mm f/4.5L IS lens was my dream lens when I bought it and I still feel this way about it. My photographer & camping friend immediately pried open his tight wallet to buy one after using mine and I can vouch for him that he also gets heavy usage & beautiful captures from his as well. It is heavy (but not more than my 70-200 f/2.8L IS lens) and I do use a tripod or monopod (with IS turned OFF) much of the time, although IS does work great for those times when I am hand holding it. With my 1.4 extender using f/11 & 1/125s @ full extension, I get some very impressive moon captures as well. A photo instructor once claimed that he went with Canon so he could get this lens and I thought at the time, he was pulling my leg but he was not and after 4+ years of use, I totally agree he made the right decision. The only negative I have is that you lose auto focus when using an extender with the lens but at that reach, I like to manually focus anyway. Great lens, you will have a lot of fun with it and capture some incredible images to sell or hang on your wall.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Almost a drem lens

By Edy from NY, NY on 06/05/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Light Weight, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Poor Design Internal Dust, Expensive Cleaning, Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The 100-400 zoom is almost the perfect zoom for wildlife photography. Great for action shoots. Canon bad design promote the lens to collect dust at the internal glasses. I have sent it to Canon shop for cleaning and few months later after using the internal glass get more dust. To expensive the cleaning for the price you pay for the new lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Superior Canon Products

By Slam Duncan from Florida on 05/03/2009


Pros:

Functional Controls, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My new EF 100-400MM L series lens more than proved its worth and quality while on a whale photo shoot in Maui. The seas were rough and a quick focus, controlled depth of field, and fast shot were required....this lens did it all. There isn't a blur and the Pacific colors were totally true. You can't go wrong with a Canon Product...from printers to the entire EOS system Canon products are superior.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens

By perdu from Houston, TX on 03/26/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Is, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

A Little Heavy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very sharp through to 400mm. Outstanding sharpness from f/6.3. Push pull is very convenient. Gen 1 IS works perfectly and has saved many of my images. Excellent value for what you get. Highly recommended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Absolutely Fantastic

By MiamiMathGirl from Miami, FL on 03/16/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Heavy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After saving up for months, I was able to purchase this lens. It was the best buy I've ever made. My photography has improved by leaps and bounds. I've been able to take this lens out for the last 5 consecutive days on all day outdoor wilderness treks since I purchased it and have taken almost 1,000 shots sofar. Biggest pros: spectacular image quality especially stopped down to f/6.3 or slower, the IS is just wonderful, the push pull zoom is very fast and efficient, the color contrast is absolutely phenomenal, autofocus is very good and quick, build quality is very solid. Biggest cons: price, the lens is very heavy, sometimes the push pull zoom, if not tightened down, does creep, lens is not fast enough for low light work (i.e. late evening shots, indoor, or night work). If you are looking for a super telephoto zoom lens that will give you versatility AND excellent image quality, then this lens is definitely for you! It is not as sharp as the prime super tele lenses, however, it is vastly superior to any other zoom lens in this range that is on the market. It is versatile, tack sharp, and lightning fast in most lighting conditions.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Wildlife Lens

By Geo-Ranger from Idaho on 02/28/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Fantastic Image Stabilization

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The image stabilization of this lens is nothing short of fantastic. It produces razor sharp images hand held even at 400 mm.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens, IS Flawed?

By Robert from San Francisco on 02/18/2009


Pros:

Solid Lens.

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images, Low Light Challenges Require High Iso., Image Stabil Flawed - Ultimately Failed.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I recall my first shots with this lens were in the jungles of Peru, and the macro shots astounded me. In the 5 years since, I have never been without the lens. The versatility of the lens is so great, I find myself with it on a city walk about. I did experience some of the much talked about softness in focus, along with many spot on shots, in better light. The reach is incredible and 400mm with a 1.6 kick from my 40D I can reach amazing places. On the downside, in my lens there has always been a shift in field upon initiation of the IS. Annoying at best, and, after 5 years of great experiences with this lens, the image stabilization gave out. I am now looking at repair or replace. I recommend the lens, and actually feel my IS issue to be an anomaly. I will buy this lens again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent wildlife telephoto

By Ramblin Man from Northwoods of Wisconsin on 02/14/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Heavy Weight, Soft Focus In Low Light Maximum Aperature

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this lens as it does most everything I want it to do in my pursuit of excellence in wildlife photography. The only drawbacks are less than perfect performance in low light conditions (that's a given with the f5.6) and its weight. I'm used to the usual smaller, lighter weight telephotos ,so when I started using this lens, it took some real getting used to. I've taken some award winning photos this past year, camera and lens handheld, of moving birds and couldn't be happier having used the 100-400 lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Superior... well?

By cptdrinian from Southern California on 02/14/2009


Pros:

Easy To Zoom, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was so enthused about my purchase of this lens, but after a year of ownership the honeymoon is over. First of all let me say that the manufacturing quality of the lens is unsurpassed. It is solid and will most definitely last for years or even through multiple camera bodies. Secondly, in spite of its weight, it is a surprisingly easy lens to use. Sliding the barrel back and forth rather than rotating a ring is very intuitive and amazingly fast. This feature is very well suited for action photography. The only thing I'm a bit disappointed with is the finished sharpness of the images. Now maybe it's me as I've read that each version of this particular lens has its own unique "sweet spot". Perhaps I've not found the one for my lens yet so I will continue trying differing f-stop/focal length combinations. Overall, I'm very please with the 100-400 L as it gives me the greatest reach with a company product for shooting aircraft. I would buy another one and I would recommend this lens to friends and colleagues.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best overall lens

By canon girl from Seattle, WA on 02/13/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is the best one I've ever owned. I've had it for over 4 years, and it still takes beautiful pictures. I use it for everything from birds and wildlife to performances and sports.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't leave home without it!

By Hambone from Powder Springs, Ga. on 02/13/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Low Light

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this lense to shoot wild birds and animals where ever I travel. I find the features to be very easy to use. The only draw back is, it is not to good in low light situations being f/5.6, but it is my favorite lense.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

100-400 critique

By ed from Jacksonville, NC on 02/09/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have gotten many great shots with this lens. The color is great(L lens naturally). I find the push pull zoom feature allows me to get many shots I feel I would normally miss. For the CONS I feel and have for some time that th elens is not tack sharp at 400mm wider than f/7.1 It seems to me that this lens excels at 100 mm and 350mm but when ou get to the 400mm it goes down and disappoints me right regularly. If you are in bright sunlight and the lens is getting readins of f/11 at 1/500 or 1/1000 then it is great but get into the lower light and it is disappointing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Superior Nature Photo Lens (for me)

By Memse from Seattle on 01/21/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I spend a lot of time in San Jose del Cabo where there is an estuary that I walk most mornings. I carry my 50D with this lens and have had the opportunity to take some fantastic up close and personal bird shots. What I find most attractive about this lens is its ability to focus down to 6'. I've recently started packing a new 500mm F4 that I bought last year and while it offers other benefits (particularly with a 1.4x) I find that I have to pass when a bird is closer than 15'. The 100-400 is an ideal trade-off on weight to sharpness to up close & personal shots that you might not get otherwise. While I have no with micro lenses, I can use this lens at 400mm and shoot tiny flowers, bees & butterflies in great detail from the minimum focus distance. I find myself almost always shooting at 400mm but need the flexibility to scale back when I find myself too close to my subject. PS I've dropped this lens twice (once on concrete) and it still works like a champ.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Zoom Tele on the Market!

By Theo from S.E. La. on 11/27/2008


Pros:

Very Manageable With The Canon 30d, Superior Build Quality, Excellent Focal Range, Push\pull Zoom-love It!, Quiet And Reliable Is, Fast Auto-focus, Great Color Rendention

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this "super zoom telephoto" lens with my 1st SLR purchase, the Canon D-Rebel! My first shoot was a USAF Thunderbirds Airshow and It is hard to describe the confidence and quality of performance I obtained with this wonderful piece of glass...WOW! That was 4 years ago and to this day, I still, "Love This Lens" ! Fast and Quiet with superb Color and Focus, the 100-400 has allowed me to capture spectacular scenic, action and nature photography. The only improvements I'd like to see could be a little faster glass with a higher stop IS, but in this design (which I Love), it might not be possible. I've rented the 400mm f/5.6 L prime and find it a tad sharper, but that is to be expected. The 100-400 is Still Sharp and performs admirably!!! Complimenting this, my walk around is the 24-105 f/4 L IS and on the short end, 17-40 f/4L...what a Great Trio set for the investment. I've researched long and hard and haven't found any to be better. Great job, Canon!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Completes the package

By pastel from Connecticut on 11/26/2008


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am an amature photographer who recently switched from an EOS 3 film camera. I find with the digital I am using (40D I use this lens more often and with greater confidence. I was never sure if the photo would be a little underexposed but with the didgital and instant feedback I have learned to adjust quickly. The quality of the prints are satisfactory to me and it compliments my 24-105. I also use the 1.2 extender with -out any real loss but some sharpness is sacrificed. I did have to buy a more secure tripod as when the lens is fully extended with the extender I had a little shake due to the length and weight. I also am using a remote but leave the stablizer off when on the tripod. With filters or low light I usually shoot manuel as the auto focus does not work at the higher stops. With this lens and the 24-105 I can have quality "L" lens set from 24 to 400 mm.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved