Home » Accessories » Camera Accessories » Lenses & Filters » 2578A002 » 78 Reviews

Canon Ef 70-200mm F/4l Usm Telephoto Zoom Lens - F/4.0 (2578a002) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 78 reviews)

98% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Light Weight (4), Superior Build Quality (56), Super-sharp Images (58), Fast Auto-focus (54), Lightweight (6)

Cons:

None (7), Price (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

No working for me

By rsw1 from Houston, TX on 08/02/2015

Hard to take a good shot with this lens. I keep reading reviews saying "crisp" and clear with great color saturation, yet I find just the opposite. Severe focus issues, poor color and overall cheap looking shots, Ironically, I switch back to the inexpensive 75-300mm that came with my camera (T3i) and I'm back to outstanding pictures. Very frustrating. Thought maybe it was my imagination, but this was my second half day shoot that produced suboptimal shots. Really want to like this lens. Maybe I'm doing something wrong? Have a lemon?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect images

By Safar from Houston, Tx on 01/30/2015

This lens produces amazing images on my 70D, detail and clarity is just awsome. The IS still leves me wanting a better performance so as the auto focus.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens at a great price

By SatcomRanger from Knoxville, TN on 01/30/2015

Absolutely love this lens. It's my first "L" lens and it works flawlessly. Image quality is superb with minimal vignetting around the edges which is easily corrected in post processing. The auto focus is fast, accurate and quiet. Even at f4 we can still get a nice blurry background but our subject is still in precise focus. It also has great contrast and clarity and the images taken with it are just spectacular!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Historic Telephoto Zoom Masterpiece

By Lionheart from Queens, NY on 01/12/2015

The Canon 70-200mm F/4 USM is quite an amazing telephoto zoom lens. I wanted to wait a while before writing a review, but I must say that I am thoroughly impressed with this lens. Although this version is an older model with no IS, it still performs very well and I am always impressed with the quality of my photography. This was my first telephoto lens and I knew I had to own one since the day I saw it at an electronic store through the glass display window; I was in awe! One of the main purposes of the 70-200mm F/4 is for medium range photography where subjects can be shot at a distance. The minimal focal distance already starts at 70mm, so more than likely indoor or close quarter photography may not by the best environment for this lens. Obtaining a shallow depth of field at maximum aperture F/4 produces really sharp results. The Ultra Sonic Motor (USM) helps the lens' Auto Focus (AF) operate very fast and quiet simultaneously; other standard models tend to make louder AF sounds and may struggle depending on what the camera is attempting to identify as the subject. If you struggle with the AF, MF is always to secondary option to manually control your own shots. I suggest using a lens filter to protect lens glass to prevent or eliminate scratches or worse. The 1.4x and 2x tele-converters can be used with this lens, I have the 2x version already. Even at 135mm to 200mm (which I hear is really 216mm to 320mm for my Rebel T5 APS-C 1.6x crop factor sensor), any perceived distortion is not even noticeable to the naked eye. However, I will admit that once the focal length maxes out at 200mm, hand held camera shake or other instabilities can blur potentially great photos. I do understand why IS was built into the newer models. Compared to other telephoto lens, the 70-200mm is very lightweight, but still on the long side, which I don't mind. The body is very well built and has a stunning cream white, black and red ring design, which looks very attractive, even to to onlookers. I do truly love the 70-200mm F/4 lens and while most of my environments that I take photos in do not warrant its use, it feels 'new' when I do I have the opportunity to use take great shots with it. By today's standard, the 70-200mm F/4 is quite affordable as well. Truly a masterpiece and most owners will attest to its quality craftsmanship and continuous dynamic results.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great portrait lens

By Blue Maui from Maui, HI on 12/12/2014

We used this lens for the first time yesterday in a beach photo shoot. The images are stunning...crisp and vivid. The image stabilization works very well. We chose this over the more expensive 70-200 lenses because we shoot almost exclusively outdoors in sunlight and this lens appears to be perfect for this. The build quality is fantastic so it should provide great results for our clients for years to come!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sharpest Lens I've ever owned

By Billyboy66 from Concord, CA on 08/19/2014


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Several months ago, I took two bags of lenses that I have, including several "L" lenses, and I ran them through my own tests to see which was the sharpest and second sharpest, etc. This was after a friend of mine, who does professional photo work, had a picture of herself taken with this lens and it was so sharp, it was almost too sharp. By far, this lens came out the winner! I now have a new respect for this lens. The only problem is that I wish I had more uses for it then I do. It's kind of an odd "mm" in that I find it too high to use for portraits and landscapes, except for close-ups of things far away, and when I shot the moon a few weeks ago, it came in a big blurred, whereas my really cheap 500mm mirror lens did okay. But when I've used it for shooting portraits of people, though they are further away, making it more difficult, the pictures are absolutely amazing! Likewise, I shot a mountain in a meadow a few weeks ago and that was amazing as well. I haven't found the exact best use of this lens yet, but if you're considering buying this lens, it takes by far the sharpest and most amazing color photos of any other Canon lens I've come across as of yet.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect Balance

By airborne from Germany on 08/16/2014


Pros:

Lightweight, Super-sharp Images, Great Value, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens for my 700D after reading multiple reviews and researching various lenses. This is my first L lens and I am very pleased with the pictures and the way the lens handles. For me, it is the perfect balance of quality (great glass and solid build), practicality (lightweight and ergonomic), and cost (especially with a rebate). I primarily shoot outdoor sports/action and have also taken some great indoor action pictures--yes, handheld without IS. I recommended this lens to a friend who ended-up purchasing the IS version (also a great lens) and has been very satisfied.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Simply superior!

By Lola94925 from SF Bay Area on 07/06/2014


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

None!

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Others have probably summed this lens up pretty well, but I LOVE THIS LENS! I have been using Canon SLR's since the late 1970's and have always been a big fan. I made the switch to digital in 2011 and have the 7D and 5D Mark 3. Both are super cameras and each lens I have is like having two when you consider the 1.6 crop factor of the 7D. I also have and love the 1.4x extender. On the 7D you now have a 480mm equivalent! Great for sports! I was strictly a prime lens guy for most all the years I have been shooting. I loved my Canon 200mm f2.8 lens! With this lens, I am now a huge zoom fan. This lens is just a super compact size and very light weight. Personally, I would choose it over the 2.8 model unless I really needed the speed or really shallow DOF. It is tack sharp and super easy to use. I love how the lens does not extend when you zoom. Always the same size and about half the weight and price of the 2.8 model. Aside from the excellent quality, what I like most is the size and weight. I can get this and my 24-70 f4 easily into a small bag and this is my go to run and gun package. I have several primes, but find myself not using them at all with these two excellent lenses. Buy one! You will love it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Made the right choice!

By Edward from Los Angeles on 06/18/2014


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Debated long and hard on this vs the 2.8 non-IS since they are very close in price. I opted for the f4 because I didn't want to lug around a monopod and the f4 is proven sharper. The 4 extra stops of shutter speed is real and more than makes up for the slower glass. Hands down winner!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing lens

By PhotoDoc from Cincinnati, OH on 06/03/2014


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Lightweight, Superior Build Quality, Price, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens last year and WOW. I chose the f/4 IS over the other versions of the 70-200 by Canon for several reasons. The first being the weight compared to the f/2.8 is roughly half of the IS II version (1.68lbs vs 3.29lbs). The second reason being the image quality. After reading around and looking at tests the f/4 IS version is the second in sharpness only to the flagship 2.8 IS II version in the Canon lineup. It does very well wide open at f/4. The image quality as well as the Image stabilization are well worth the difference from the non-IS f/4 and f2.8. The IS is fantastic and keeps images sharp. It doesn't come with a tripod collar but it isn't needed because it is so light. I use it all the time on my tripod with no problems just using the camera mount. Color rendition is wonderful as well. Certainly a giant step above the 70-300 f/4-5.6 IS I replaced. If you are an outdoor photographer and need a telephoto zoom this is your lens. I have used it for some outdoor portrait work as well and the bokeh was fantastic. Just a great lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens!

By Dajoker from Boston NY on 05/01/2014


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent lens I have had this for about 8 months sharp pictures even captures birds in flight! Very light for the zoom range, well thought out lens. Easy to focus or adjust the zoom while framing a moving subject. I use it with a 1.4xII and its still tack sharp even on off hand shots.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worth all the lofty praise?

By Flying Scotsman from Lake Norman, NC on 03/31/2014


Pros:

Everything To Do With The Image.

Cons:

Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Worth all of the lofty praise? ABSOLUTELY! This truly is photography's Platinum Standard - whether using digital or that old-fashioned stuff, film. I reserve the description "perfect" for almost everything; this lens is a rare exception. No questions whatsoever, absolutely tip-top marks for astonishing clarity, sharpness, colour & contrast; lightning-fast USM auto-focus. On an APS-C (1.6X) sensor body, this shoots like a 112-320mm f/4 lens. It is - basically - a "do it all" telephoto zoom. Considered the f/2.8 version but the added price for the one extra stop just wasn't worth it - to me. The added size & weight was also a factor.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

7D

By Taz from Norfolk, VA on 02/18/2014


Pros:

Best Price, Sharp Image, Easy To Handle, Suitable Weight, Better Built

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's my First Lens for 7D and I am happy with its super sharp colors and best results. portraits and other shots I have taken so far are remarkable. Happy to have it, an looking forward to play more out of it. Price, built quality and weight is ideal. Highly recommended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Almost Unbelievable.

By JAdams from Chicago, IL on 12/09/2013


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is so good it is almost unbelievable. The color this lens captures is beautiful and is very impressive. The lens zooms in and out with ease and focusing is precise and easy to work in manual setting. The only issue I have had with it is when using it with a t5i during a sports game the autofocusing is slow, but upon asking other owner's of this lens with different cameras, they as well as I believe this is due to the fast pace of the switching focuses that comes with sports and the t5i only having 9 AF points, rather than a 1D-X's 60-something. Because of this when I am doing video or am in a close up shot I use manual focus, which is not a bad second option, this lens makes it very easy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Can be a great lens

By Quiettsolopursuit from Grand Rapids, MI on 09/15/2013


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Auto-focus Not Always Accurate, Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the second 70-200 mm lenses for me, I returned the first after a couple of weeks because I could not get a sharp image from it. The replacement lens was much better, but I at the time, I still rated it as the least sharp of the three lenses I own. I couldn't see what all the hype over L series lenses was all about. A funny thing happened though, the more I have used this lens, the sharper it has gotten. The auto-focus has sped up, and become quieter as well. Now, I rate this as the sharpest of the three lenses, although the auto-focus is still slower and louder than the other two lenses. Why that is, I don't know, but this lens has gone from producing OK photos, to some mind blowingly sharp photos at times. I have found that when using this lens near the limits of its close focusing capabilities, I have to switch to live view and focus manually to get the awesome sharpness this lens is capable of. I can use the servo mode of auto-focus to come close to that, one shot auto-focus produces variable results, usually not good. At more typical working distances, this lens is blowing me away with the sharpness, color, contrast, and color saturation, but it was if it had to be broken in to get to this point. It's now producing photos so good that I can't imagine how the photos could be any better, and that's saying a lot. The photos are so sharp that you can "see" the texture of a bird's feathers, or the scales of a butterfly's wings. There's a lot to love about this lens, like the fact that it doesn't change length when you zoom it, it stays set at whatever focal length you set for when using it near vertical, it's fairly light for it's focal length, and most of all, the photos that it can produce. I use this lens on a 60D body, and apparently, there are differences in the way that lenses and bodies perform together. I purchased a second 60D body two weeks ago, and used this lens on the second body for a week, and the difference in the accuracy of the auto-focus is very noticeable, much better with body number two than the first. One more thing, I purchased the non IS version, it works fine for me, but I would recommend the IS version, even though it is more expensive. I wished that I had done so. My other two lenses have it, and you don't know how much you will like something until you try it. So, overall, this lens has a lot going for it, I have learned how to get some incredibly sharp images from it, I love it. But, I think that Canon should do a better job of making all their lenses work 100% with all their bodies, 100% of the time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best for Portrait Photography

By Mahyar from Iran on 08/22/2013


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Best for Portrait Photography and best for all photographer . Powered by CANON ..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My 1st L lens

By Cuda719 from Plainfield, IL on 07/28/2013


Pros:

Light Weight, Superior Build Quality, Amazing Is, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I debated for a long time before shelling out this much on a lens. I couldn't decide between it and the non IS version. I'm so glad I purchased this lens. A big plus to this lens is that it does not change length when you zoom. The images are really sharp, and the image stabilizer is a life saver when needed. This 70-200 is the best bang for your money, go buy this one. You will not regret it, that's for sure!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Unbelievable

By dugole from central NJ on 06/12/2013


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Light Weight, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Absolutely an unbelievable lens. My previous Canon 70-200 was the f4 non-stablized - I liked it but didn't use it often because it needed a high shutter speed (at least 1/250) and the results weren't quite as sharp as I had hoped (date coded as 2005). Eight months ago I upgraded to the stablized version (date coded as 2011) and I fell in love with this lens. A much, much sharper image combined with the stabilization allows a shutter speed as low as 1/15 of a second. This is an incredible lens and results in truly fine pictures - at any aperture there is virtually no distoration or CA and bokeh is also as nice as one can expect. This is generally my go-to, general use lens and it took that designation away from my 17-40 "L". I use a crop sensor 7D. I will also use the 1.4 Canon extender and am able to still get great pictures. Don't hesitate to buy this lens over the 2.8 - saves a lot of bucks!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Lens I Ever Purchased

By Len90 from New Jersey on 05/26/2013


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had my 70-200 f4L since 2007. I've used it on a 30D, 7D, and now on my 6D. I also sometimes attach the 1.4x III extender when using it on the 6D. This by far has to be the best lens I have ever used. It is coming up on 6 years and I have never had an issue with it. The lens is consistently sharp and always performs when called upon. Over the 6 years of owning my 70-200 f4L I have photographed everything with it including wildlife, sporting events, airplanes, and scenery. No matter what the subject matter is I always get images that are sharp and crisp. This lens was my first "L" series and because of it I will never buy anything else. I personally do recommend something like a 24-70 or 24-105 to complement the lens and to consider the 1.4x if using this on a full frame.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good purchase

By Lurcus from New York, NY on 05/21/2013


Pros:

Small Size, Color Rendition, Bokeh, Good Built Quality

Cons:

Corners Sharpness, Not "l" Built Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Sharpness is not so good at the corners of the frame and the built quality is not as good as you would expect from an "L" lens, but that's all you can criticize of this zoom. The 70-200/4 L is inexpensive, it has a unique color rendition (which I really love) it's light, compact, and it keeps its size even zooming. Considering its price, it is a very good purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for outdoors

By Wally Cleaver from West Coast on 01/10/2013


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens works great outdoors in normal light. The pictures are fantastic and the sharpness is nothing short of amazing. No need to think twice unless you need low light capabilities then go for the 2.8 version.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My go to Lens.

By Patrick from Ohio Valley on 10/08/2012


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Simply put this lens is crystal clear, lightweight and a perfect go to lens when only a quality print will due. I am totally happy with the addition of the 70-200 L. I also have the 24-105 and 100-400 L's to compare from.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding overall zoom lense

By osucowpoke from Northern Oklaoma on 09/09/2012


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens has the versatility to shoot close semi-macro and also utilize for great sports photography (and everything in between, e.g. portraits). I place it on a monopod lots and it makes it easy to move and change settings. Very pleased with the performance and picture quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Classic lens in EF-lineup.

By Pradeep from Cambridge, MA on 08/16/2012


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first L series lens and it took a couple of days for me to get a handle of it. Once we get used to the weight of the lens and feel comfortable, this glass soon becomes our friend. The AF is very fast and quiet, and the IS is very handy. You can actually see that the IS is operational through the view finder. The image tends to become more stable. There is a slight noise when IS is operational. The IS is still on for about 1-2 seconds after pressing the shutter button completely. This is a good feature when you want to quickly capture another shot of the same scene. I used it mostly for portraits and I am very much satisfied with its performance. At 200 mm and f/8, it gives some amazing results. Additionally, under good lighting conditions, the image quality in terms of colors and sharpness is so great that you cannot stop shooting! Wide open at f/4, with APS-C body, the image is slightly soft, but that is because of very sharp and narrow DOF, and any slight moment will become visible at 100% crop. This is a good lens for landscapes too. The color quality is exceptional. Overall, this lens is a valuable addition, and definitely worth the dollar you invest.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Get this lens!

By Max Bloom from Columbus, IN on 07/15/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first L series lens and I now understand what the fuss is all about regarding the L series lenses. I've had this lens for 2 years now and I couldn't be happier. Super sharp images, great color, and great contrast. I mainly use this lens for portrait work. While it needs a bit more light than its 2.8 brother, it is still a great lens. The lens weighs a little bit and I recommend using it with a tripod. Great workhorse lens! Try the L series lenses. You'll be glad you did and you will see a huge difference in your photos.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect

By Scaggs from Minneapolis, MN on 07/07/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Slower Aperture

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Incredible image quality and it's a very light lens. If you're doing landscapes, this is the lens for you. If you want to do sports/high action shots, then go for the more expensive f/2.8L lens only because it's got a larger aperture.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic lens

By RandyB from California on 07/03/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Doens't Change During Zoom, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I couldn't decide between it and the non IS version. I finally decided to get this one because it's been updated from the older non IS version with better glass. The reviews said this lens is very sharp from f4 up and even to the edges at f4. Wow is it! It's also sharp through out the zoom range. I wasn't sure the IS was worth the extra, but this is a newer IS compared to some of my older lens and works much better. It is much more useful then the older IS lenses are. Another big plus to this lens is that it does not change length when you zoom. When a lens changes length it's acting like a bellows and sucking in dirt. I love that this lens does not change length when you zoom. Overall I am super happy with this lens. I just wish it were a little cheaper. In this review the form ask where you use it most. There should be an "all of the above."


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect for scenic views

By maynardac from California on 06/28/2012


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We can start from it's quality... this lens might be heavy for some of the users but the quality speaks for itself... And it doesn't have IS, so this is not a perfect lens for sports, but I made some shot for 4th of July and the output was really awesome... took some good scenic shots as well using this lens, and you will never get wrong.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent quality and value

By climbhigh4fun from Southern California on 06/24/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Relatively Light And Compact, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This L series zoom has excellent build quality as well as excellent IQ. It is compact and light which makes it great for anyone needing to shed a little weight for things like hiking, mountain climbing (which is why I love it), or if one's wrists just get tired when holding a heavy lens. This lens provides L series quality in a lightweight package. I love the fact that this zoom does not change in length when zooming. Zooming takes place inside the barrel. This makes it harder for dust and moisture to get inside the lens or camera. Although the lens is light, one can still feel the rugged construction. Image quality is outstanding. I find that most of the time I don't need my image stabilized lenses when shooting during the day, in bright conditions. Color is superb, contrast is excellent and the lens works well for portraits to landscapes to wildlife and sports. This is the most affordable L series lens but with all the quality that Canon L series is known for, you can't go wrong with this lens!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Lens!!

By climbhigh4fun from Desert Hot Springs, CA on 04/19/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Rugged Build, Image Quality

Cons:

Should Have A Tripod Collar Included

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Dollar for dollar, this is one of the best lens purchases I have ever made. Image quality, rugged build, being lightweight and popular zoom range have made this lens a great purchase for me. Some say that the lack of image stabilization in a con and they prefer the IS version. For what I do with this lens, mostly wildlife which I shoot at high shutter speeds means I don't worry too much about camera shake, and landscape with it on a tripod, in which case IS is not needed. At nearly 1/2 the price of the IS and significantly lighter make this a great lens to have in my bag on long hiking trips where weight is an issue, which is exactly why I bought this lens. I do have and use IS lenses, but this is a great piece of L series glass at an extremely reasonable price. I have also used it as a portrait lens, especially outdoors. Oh, I almost forgot about the lightning fast, silent and accurate auto focus.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

awesome lens!

By Anonymous from Texas on 11/25/2011


Pros:

Fast Af Super Sharp Build Quality

Cons:

Could Use A Tripod Mount

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this lens is totally worth every penny! the images are super sharp, color contrast and bokeh are just amazing even though it's f4. highly recommended lens and great starter entry for L series lenses.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Tele-Zoom

By undrgnd40 from Minnesota on 11/21/2011


Pros:

Image Quality, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I enjoy using this lens for outdoor portrait photography, some wildlife and selective landscape photography. I've had many good indoor shots as well. The autofocus is fast and silent, the image sharpness is INCREDIBLE. The most surprising feature is how lightweight this lens is, despite feeling well built. At half the weight of the f/2.8 version, this one is easily handheld. Use a 1.4x or 2x extender for longer range. I also like the included lens hood.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this lens ` my first L

By Michgirl from Michigan on 08/08/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

A Little Pricey

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I debated for a long time before shelling out this much on s lens. But I love it, the quality, the vbuild, the feel. Absolutely love the IS; have gotten some great deer pics at sunset. Astonishing, Recently was taking my grandson's Senior Pix and threw this lens on at the end and thought "this is why I love this lens,"


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A truly outstanding lens

By Jim from Illinois on 07/26/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The image quality is impeccable from wide-open to stopped down, center to corner. It rivals Canon's primes at comparable focal lengths. Only downside is that it's expensive but truly worth the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Emergency backup lens may become #1 in my bag

By spiderwebmxpics from Wisconsin on 07/14/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Light Weight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Recently my 'Go to' lens began having focus problems and since I had some races to cover right away I purchased the EF 70-200 f/4L. I had borrowed a friends on the day my other lens acted up and was convinced it was a great backup. I opted for the f/4 non IS because my primary lens is an f/2.8 with IS and I couldn't justify spending the extra to duplicate that. First race out (motocross) I was very happy with performance of the lens in fast action shots and couldn't believe the color captured even in dusty conditions. Also carrying the camera/lens all day I was overjoyed by the light weight. I did miss the IS on some panned shots but wouldn't blame the failures on the lens entirely. In motocross the perfect shot is often gone as fast as you can focus and this lens was fast enough to beat the riders. As my first venture into L glass I was very happy and this lens is now on top of the list for daily use. I am looking to sell my 'go to' lens and purchase the 70-200 f2.8L IS to replace it as the 'go to'. This lens is being used in combination with both a Rebel XTi and Rebel T1i primarily to shoot motocross pictures used in publications and sold as posters


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Purchase Ever

By Nate from Valley Center, CA on 07/03/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, White, Superior Build Quality, Comes With Leather Pouch For Storing, Perfect Ergonomics, 4-stop Is, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The perfect lens. Sharp at all focal lengths and all apertures. It's funny... At f/22 where most lenses would be very, very soft, this lens is still unbelievably sharp. The IS on this lens is very helpful. At 200mm turning the is off pretty much means I won't get a sharp shot 80 percent of the time, especially with my aps-c body. Just do yourself a favor and buy this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens

By gtwhtgt from Shreveport, La. on 06/18/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

You can see the difference as soon as you put his lens on your camera. Everything is better. If you get one start saving for the next because you'll now be hooked on the "L"'s. Great for portraits or just about anything. Can't get the wife to take it off the camera, she thinks it was an original accessory and it has to stay on it. A major reason for lens envey from your peers and much lighter than the faster version.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worth all the cents I paid it with

By smithmaestro from San Francisco, CA on 04/09/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this lens for a couple of months, and this has been the most helpful and best lens I have in my arsenal of lenses. I'm not a professional, but I do take lots of pictures, and I can get up close to the things I need from afar. This lens has proven that it is worth every penny, for me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Absolutely Great Lens!

By grandpawrichard from Burlington, WA. on 03/22/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Tack Sharp Exposures From 70 All The Way To 200, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned this lens for about 3 years now and I am never disappointed in the results I get with it! Even with a 1.4X Extender you can get absolutely tack sharp photos! You can mount this lens on a camera and wear it around your neck all day long without discomfort! Great versatility with this lens all at a reasonable price for an L Series lens!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best for the price

By arturoy from Los angeles on 02/14/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Must Work On Manual Mode, Needs Falsh Or High Iso 800+, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Low Light A A-

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just bought it two days ago for a dancing performance, i took 200 Pictures and every single one is super sharp and very clear. When you crop them in your computer, it will also be very clear. Buy this one, you will not regret. The only thing is that with lower light, you will have to use a flash and set the ISO to 800+. This camera is not for the amateur that sets it on full auto. You have to work on manual mode.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Bang for buck

By Liz from Undisclosed on 02/12/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Having used the IS 2.8 version, I was a little nervous about buying this lens. However, the lack of IS has not turned out to be a noticeable problem, even in low light. The pictures have turned out great and this lens is much lighter than it's IS counterparts!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Lens

By dpetjr from Brandon FL on 02/09/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens for a European River Cruise over Christmas and New Year's. The results were outstanding. I am not a pro, but the night shots and the 200mm shots of castles along the Rhine were fantastic. Another photo-enthusiast was particularly impressed with the telephoto night shots. Great lens for the money and very lightweight.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So crisp. Great lens.

By Marusya from Arizona on 02/09/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My most recent purchase and I love it. It is undoubtedly the best lens I own. Very clear and crisp. I know it will be the most used in my bag.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

First L lens certainly not my last

By KZGuy from Maryland on 02/06/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Came With Lens Hood And Bag, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Did Not Come With Tripod Collar

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is simply amazing! It is the sharpest lens I have used to date, with amazing overall IQ. The AF is lightning fast, and always spot on. For what I am using this lens for, I did not need the IS version, but if you plan to hand hold in low light, or at full telephoto I recommend it. The only thing that would make this lens perfect would be if it came with the tripod collar, rather than having to purchase it separately (which I did)...and maybe a macro setting too...for 200mm at least. If all the L lenses are similar in quality to this one, I will certainly be replacing some of my other lenses with the L versions. Stop thinking about it and buy this lens already...you won't regret it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Tack Sharp Lens

By Ron in AZ from Arizona on 01/15/2011


Pros:

Solid Feeling Lens, Quick Focusing, Exceptionally Sharp, Wonderful Color Remdition, Well Balanced

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I traded a 200mm F/2.8 L lens (and a few $$ additional) for this lens. I thought the 200 F/2.8 was sharp, but this lens is even sharper and at all focal lengths. It balances well on my D-7 camera body. The IS works great. I have been able to take available light shots at 1/80 at F/4 at ISO 6400 and get exceptionally sharp images. Unless you really need the extra stop choose the 70-200 F/4 L over the 70-200 F/2.8 L and save some money and drop some weight.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Lens for the money

By M-dub_817 from Ft. Worth, Texas on 10/11/2010


Pros:

F/4 Through Lens, Internal Zoom, Value, Usm, Build Quality

Cons:

Usm A Little Louder Than Others, Could Be Built A Little Better, No Stabilization, No Ring Mount In Box

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is very quiet although not as quiet as others. the speed of the usm is great, optics are unbelievable, and the F/4 through the whole range is awesome for video because you dont get the lighting changes when you zoom. build is awesome but could be a bit better. the internal zoom is great so no dust or dirt can get into the lens if your outdoors. Overall, extremely satisfied with this lens and the value. After one day at the track it was totally worth the money. A huge step up from the kit lens or other telephoto lenses in optics and build quality. Plus it comes with a bag and lens hood.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

my favorite lens

By 6mikoy3 from NYC on 10/11/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

having an L lens is worth all the money! this lens is very sharp and has quick focusing system so if you are good with composition and techniques then expect to have a good or possible great picture.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A huge upgrade.

By Nate from Alexandria, VA on 08/04/2010


Pros:

Very Sharp Dof, Super Sharp Images, Is Works!, Beautiful Bokeh, Rugged

Cons:

Is Is A Little Pricey

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have a rebel XS, yes I know, that's the entry level DSLR. I was using the 75-300 USM kit lens to take tele shots. I would use it for everything from compression of DoF and Images to the moon. That lens is NEVER sharp! I thought it was me for quite a while and I would avoid using it because it made me think that I was doing something wrong. So I tried this lens out and then immediately bought it because I was so satisfied. I contemplated over the non-is and the 2.8 IS/not, but I think that this is the best value if price is a concern. The IS REALLY works! I was skeptical, but I can assure you that if you 'try' you can pull off .3 second exposures hand held(that is the limit IMO). The images are many magnitudes sharper than the 75-300. Turns out I was doing everything right, but the lens was the limiting factor. If you are on the fence about whether or not to buy a 70-300. get it! on a cropped body it's a 112mm which will compete with a 135L '2 for sharpness and even give you 320mm on the long end for more tele than you 'paid for'. On a FF I'm sure it will be even better. This is my first L glass and I think that I will be sticking to this series now that I see how much of a difference it makes. I have a 5d2 and a 24-105 on the way :D. P.S. In my opinion the secret is the lenses, not the bodies. What do I know though I shoot an XS with incredible results. :D


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I have this lens for over ...

By Toto from Maryland on 07/20/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus Super-sharp Images Superior Buil

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have this lens for over 6 months now and never been disappointed. The pictures are very sharp. Beautiful. There were times when I get blurry pictures but it's I whos at fault. 99% of the time, I shoot available light " both indoor and outdoor. I wish to have the f2.8L version. I loved it but because of the weight which is a big factor for me " decided to reject it. I am not a big person and I agonized between getting the f/2.8L or the f/4L. So I rented the 2.8L. Carried it with me for one day. Carrying it around was not that big deal (although my neck hurts since I have the camera strap around my neck) " but shooting with one arm cradling without support, tires me easily (the weight of this baby alone is equivalent to the camera body I was using with hand grip attached, 2 batteries and the f/4L IS). Since then, I have never looked back.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

wow

By radams060 from midwest on 05/18/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Incredible Difference Between Non-l Lenses, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just got this lens last week. I shot over 600 pictures at a sporting event, and was blown away by the sharpness and fast focusing of the lens. This lens totally blew me away. This is my first L lens, but hopefully not the last. I've always heard that the L lenses are worth the big $, now I'm a believer also. By the way, these first 600 shots were done from 6pm to 8pm so light was fading, and I was still blown away.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Deal on a Canon lens, PERIOD!

By GUSS from Ohio on 04/30/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Superior Blur

Cons:

Auto Focus Hunts On Overcast Days, Black Felt On The Inside Of The Lens Mount End., Black Felt Fibers On The Inside Of The Lens Hood.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

In just 3 days of use with this lens, I've captured over 650 images. I'm impressed with the superior quality of the glass, the build, IQ, bokeh and blur. The only cons that I've experienced so far, the little black felt fibers (inside the mount end of the lens and on the inside of the hood) LOVE to find their way to your mirrors and lens glass! I find myself CONSTANTLY cleaning my rig, even before a simple candid snap shot. Thank GOD for Dyson, I know vac the lens hood and mount end of the lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

High value for $$$

By triggertime from Jamaica on 03/16/2010


Pros:

Its A Cheap Priced L Lens For An L Cheapo, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

With It Had Is For Same Price :)

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love how sharp this lens is. It's amazing to see a lens sharp at all focal length. The AF is superfast. Coupled with the shallow DOF at higher focal length, make this perfect for portraiture. I use it way more than my 24-70 F2.8


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens at great value

By BobbyJ from Gainesville, FL Santa Fe College on 03/08/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Focus Switch

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens on recommendation of friend. It's been well worth it. I do like the sharp pictures it produces. It's heavier than I expected, but manageable. As a photography student it's what I needed for getting my shallow depth of field with the longer focal lengths.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Purchase

By J.R. from Hickory, NC on 03/05/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have wanted this lens for quite sometime but I will admit, the price was what was keeping me from making the purchase. After much thought and prayer I ordered it. What a great lens. Pictures are excellent. It's everything every review says it is. This is my first "L" series lens. It has been my main lens since I purchased it. I mainly photograph exterior landscape pictures and I am amazed at the quality of the pictures this lens produces. At 200mm, pictures are clear and sharp. If you are weighing the purchase as I did and if you can swing the price, you will not regret it at all.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's good, but is it worth it?

By OldTimer from Raleigh, NC on 03/01/2010


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images, Not A Good Value Compared To Standard Lens

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I just purchased a Canon EF 70-200mm f/4.0 L USM lens. I have a Canon 50D and have been using a EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens. I am not a commercial photographer; however, as a sideline to my job for the last 20 years I have been doing soil/landscape photography and have been published in several professional journals and textboks and presently have images on display in the Smithsonian Natural History Museum (Soils exhibit) in Washington D.C. Since retiring, I have started dabbling in wildlife photography. I have a lake nearby and a Great Blue Heron that begs to be photographed as well as a red-shouldered hawk that lives close by. The EF-S lens does a good job, but I want to get a little closer for that great profile shot. I was thinking about the Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens, but after reading several reviews, decided to go with the 70-200mm f/4.0 L USM lens. Since most reviewers agreed the L series lens produces a better image at 200mm cropped to approximate a 300mm image, for only a little more I decided on the L lens. I really like the solid feel and construction of the lens; however, after shooting about a hundred images from my normal setup position at the lake, I was disappointed with the end results. The image quality did not seem to be improved over my 18-200mm lens and the focus (manual or auto) was not as sharp even using a tripod and remote switch. Before returning the lens to the vendor, I decided to do a test. I set the camera on a tripod in my garage (used the remote switch) and shot a photo scale card from 25 feet and 75 feet at 70mm and 200mm with both lens. Only one shot was better with the L series (non-IS) lens. The text was clearer and the edges were cleaner with the EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens. The L lens was only better at 25 feet at 200mm. I know this is not suppose to happen. Maybe I have an exceptional EF-S lens or a bad L lens or maybe the difference is not discernable on my computer screen. As soon as the return is complete, I plan to give the Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens a try. (I shot the non-IS version for several years and was pleased with the results.) I know at 200 to 300mm the image may be soft (especially on the corners) and I probably will not be completely satisfied, but maybe I can make up the difference in Photoshop. Overall, I am disappointed with the results I achieved with the "L" series lens (especially with the added costs) and will stay for now with the standard lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My New Favorite Lens

By Peej Studio from Undisclosed on 01/09/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When I bought this lens, it had only been snowy, gray days. So, I was waiting for a really good chance to test it out. Well, I was shoveling a path to my car, and out of nowhere a hawk swooped out of the sky and grabbed another flying bird right in front of my face. I ran inside and grabbed my 7D with this lens. Result...amazingly crisp pictures. The autofocus was spot on and almost instantaneous! It was snowing and freezing cold...so, of course, I love the weather sealing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Get This lens and you will be happy!!!!

By Roman L from Brooklyn NY on 01/03/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Such amazing lens i love the sharpness i tried to compare two lenses F2.8 and F4 and to tell you the truth F4 have much sharper images! perfect for portrait nature and any kind of photography!!! weights 3 times less then 2.8 and gives you much more than 2.8. less expensive and sharper!!! IS works amazingly good!!!Autofocus is really fast and lens by itself have metal housing sealed good from dust and water.Comes with case and hood. if you are thinking about purchasing 70-200mm get F4.0!!! i tried both and 4.0 is newer and better!!! By the way in Low light works perfect! add some Iso And You are good!!! TOTALLY LOVE THIS ONE!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens for Travel

By Scig from Everywhere on 08/27/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Lightweight

Cons:

Timing On My Part.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a lightweight lens that's great for location and if you travel. I purchased this lens to compliment the 2.8 and pack this one instead. It's to bad I bought this lens just before the announcement of the IS model, however; I'm not disappointed and still impressed by the IQ.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

pure love

By NiteCap2k from Irving, TX on 08/23/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Heavy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Ive had this lens for about a year now..needed a good lens for wedding photography part of my business, this lens is sharp, quick and sweet. images are clear. i can shoot with this without disturbing the ceremony. the is is on par..i recommend if you can afford this lens get it..but understand this lens is heavy but worth its weight in gold


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Unbelievable

By GoneTomorrow from Undisclosed on 08/19/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've never owned an L lens until this one. I've had a lot of non-L lenses that I thought were good enough until this lens. I've had it for a month and I haven't taken it off my 40D yet. This lens really delivers the kind of color reproduction and sharpness that make it worthy of the L label. The focus is incredibly fast and the IS is the most effective I've used. Worth every penny. I was on the fence about this lens or the f/2.8 IS version, but the f/4 is almost half the weight and smaller, and even sharper.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Buy

By Anonymous from KCMO on 07/30/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Price, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Focus Switch Is A Bit Of A Pain

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Out of the 70-200mm lenses Canon offers it is the cheapest (priced) and still performs beautifully. Although it does not have the IS feature, after using it for so long you don't seem to notice. The quality of this lens is outstanding and it carries a good range for my typical style of shooting. Overall I would recommend this lens, unless you have a little extra money to spend, then I would go for the 2.8 IS.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing Lens

By mikephoto from Upstate NY on 07/26/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Your Friends Will Be Jealous Of Your Lens, You Won't Be Able To Buy Non L Lenses, Everybody Carrying A Canon Stops And Admires It, You Will Want To Throw Out All Your Other Lenses

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I wasn't sure I wanted to spend this much money on a lens but when I looked at my first picture, I knew it was worth every penny. I opted for the 4.0 as opposed to the 2.8 because everything I read says the 4.0 is sharper. I have other Canon lenses but since I got this one, I feel guilty taking it off my camera because the picture quality is so great. If you don't have this on your Canon DSLR, you better go get one. You will feel like a pro


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastically sharp

By AST from Seattle, WA on 07/02/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Lightweight For An L, Very Smooth Bokeh, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Some Of The White Paint Is Rubbing Off

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens was my first L-series lens. It is still one of my favorites. The images it shoots are extraordinarily sharp. Color and contrast rendition are both excellent. The autofocus is fast, and zoom action is smooth. It is very lightweight considering the L pedigree... Very easy to carry around. The only real con is that it's f/4, and not the f/2.8... But it's also half the price. If you're looking for a good, standard-range telephoto zoom, and aren't shooting indoor sports, this lens is an excellent choice. The price tag is similar to that of some of Canon's standard-grade lenses, but with L-class image quality. The autofocus is fast enough to track sports, or even a Blue Angels fly-by... Let alone wildlife. Four years after buying this lens, I am still very pleased.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lense

By Anonymous from San Diego, Ca on 06/22/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Non Found

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was a bit hesitant at first to spend so much on a lense, but after experimenting with the lense for a day it was worth every penny. The images are extremely sharp. The auto focus on the lense is lightning quick. After buying this lense I am a true believer of the L lenses and this lense has convinced me to only buy L lenses in the future.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lives Up To Reputation!

By mikeyL from Longmont, CO on 05/03/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Reasonable Size And Weight, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

rarely does something live up to such a lofty reputation as this lens has among users. But at least in my case, this lens certainly does. I have had it for about a week, and put it through both lens testing and many different real world shooting situations, and this lens is just stunning in it's ability to deliver exceedingly sharp, contrasty pictures, even wide open. And if you shoot wide open, especially at the long end, you will see some excellent bokeh performance! It is also really not too heavy or bulky, and has a nice balance on my 40D. The completely internal focusing and zooming are a nice plus too. It is also nice to get a lens hood included, but watch out, it's a pretty big one ;-) It is not a cheap lens, but it gives breathtaking results for the slightly premium price!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Lens!

By Anonymous from Chicago, IL on 05/03/2009


Pros:

Image Quality On Par With Other Canon Primes, Excellent Image Stabilization, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Excellent Build Quality; Not Too Heavy, You Will Get Noticed (color/length)

Cons:

You Will Get Noticed (color/length), A Tad Pricey (until You Take A Picture!)

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is simply amazing! It is tack sharp, not too heavy, and doesn't look out-of-place on a Rebel-sized body. The only potential downside for buyers would be the price; but it is offset by being an exceptional zoom lens that very nearly matches (and sometimes outperforms) primes and by the fact that it offers exceptional image stabilization. Canon claims up to 4 stops, but your mileage will vary somewhat (depending on how stable/shaky you hold a camera, etc.). IS kicks in when you half-press your shutter release, and you can feel and hear it kick in, but it's not loud enough to be annoying. (And you'll be the only one who hears it anyway.) Given that this is an "L" lens, the build quality is very nice; the zoom and focus rings are silky-smooth in their action, and even given the build quality, it isn't overly heavy. Autofocus is quick and quiet, and reasonably accurate with my 450d, but the full-time manual focus makes it a cinch to adjust the focus if the camera misses. Given the size and color of the lens (especially with the provided lens hood), you will be noticed. That can be a pro or a con - you get to decide. But it's quite nice to hear the frustrated whispers of other camera buffs who spot your lens and wish it were theirs! Finally - just buy it. You won't be dissatisfied in the least - it has fantastic image quality, the IS is absolutely wonderful, and the feel of the lens itself is excellent. If price is an issue, you could consider the 70-200mm F4 USM lens (non-IS), but realize that the IS and non-IS lenses are really two different lenses in terms of optics. So - get it. Your credit card may scream a little, but once you start taking pictures, that quickly goes away, and you'll smile with pride and joy at the images you capture!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lightweight & Versatile

By drguffey from Murphy, NC on 04/28/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Should Have Tripod Mount.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've used a 70-200 2.8L & a 100-400 F4-L. This one is a featherweight by comparison. Images are crystal clear! I shoot mostly outdoor sports in daylight and didn't feel the need for the bulk of the 2.8 or IS. Auto focus is lightning fast. My friends are amazed at the sharpness of my photos. Only lacks a tripod mount, which I will purchase soon. I highly recommend this lens!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lightweight Trooper

By DUSCRAFT from Southern Region of Texas on 03/05/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Light Weight

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus, Limited Macro

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I decided to purchase this lens after using a 70-200mm f/2.8 for a while because of the super build / glass quality accompanied by the light weight body of this lens. I've been shooting professionally for a few years now and having to hold a heavy bodied camera and a large heavy lens makes the shoot a very uncomfortable event for my back. This lens is great for what I need. The glass quality is stellar and that makes for almost perfect color capture. The peripheral vignetting is very minimal. The only downside (as far as I know, as of now) is that there is no Lens Peripheral Illumination data available for this lens on the 5D Mark II I'm using. I didn't feel the need for the added weight of the f/2.8 IS because I mainly use strobe setups. For what you get this lens for ($) it is a STEAL! I would highly recommend this lens to anyone looking for a lower priced / lighter weight alternative to the other larger lenses out there. GREAT BUY!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SUPERB LENS

By Digital Seeker from West Coast on 02/14/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Canon's L lenses are superb. I have owned such lenses for well over 20 years. The newest line of lenses, their EF L IS series, in my experience, surpasses even their fine L lenses in the FD (manual focus) series. Canon seems to improve their lenses with each new series. My FD lenses, some of which are 30 years old, have never required any service, and continue to deliver excellent results. My newest acquisition, the 70-200 f/4 L IS, is one of the sharpest lenses I've ever owned.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I am thrilled

By mtk from Minnesota on 02/14/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Pricey

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first entry into the L lens world and I will never go back. The sharpness is great and I love the attractive out of focus background available with the fixed f4 aperature, I have a Rebel XT and will look hard at other L lenses to replace current ones. I agree with another reviewer who said "you only cry once - when you get the bill". The cost was high, but I felt worth it given the exceptional performance. I have highly recommended this lens to my photographer friends.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding Lens

By Highcountry from Colorado on 02/14/2009


Pros:

Convenient Size, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

The Color Can Draw Unwanted Attention

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had a number of lenses over the years from different companies. This is my favorite zoom focal range on a 35mm format. I currently have 40D and 1Ds MkII bodies and this lens is constantly being switched between the two bodies as it provides a different perspective between the 1.6x crop and full frame sensors. The lens' build is top notch and its size is perfect for a walk-around lens. I find that it is quick focusing on both bodies with or without a 1.4x teleconverter. The IS mechanism is just simply phenomenal producing razor sharp captures. The lens is sharp at all focal ranges and works perfectly with my Canon 1.4x converter exhibiting no degradation in image quality. I cannot say enough good things about this lens, and highly recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Incredible!!!

By GTRMAN from Phoenix, AZ on 02/14/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Looks Cool On Your Camera, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Comes With Pouch & Hood

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm new to DSLR cameras & I was apprehensive buying a lens that costs more than some peoples cars(including ones I've owned). After reading 100's of reviews & researching other lenses I decided on this one. Let's just say that in 15min I took such incredible pictures of my daughter I looked & felt like a pro. that I can't think of a reason not to buy this lens. It's a plus that for the $ you pay that Canon includes a pouch & a hood with the lens. The Bokeh it produces while making your subject pop with such detail, color, & clarity will make you grin with satisfaction. I debated between this one & the non- IS version & am glad I bought this one. The IS is a helper for sure. AF is fast ! It can keep up with a 2 year old, which in my opinion are more action packed than any sport.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

First Pro Len

By photoguy from So Calif on 02/13/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As an amateure photographer, this is my first pro lens that I purchased and I love it. I have used it for family and community events. The clarity in the pictures are amazing. Although I have yet to make the transition to digital, I appreciate the fact that this lens is compatible to a digital camera and am looking forward to using it. I know I may be looosing some wide angles, but will be gaining more focal length. I would recommend this product to everyone. For the price, it's well worth it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

EF 70-200mm f/4L USM

By Floyd from Omaha, Nebraska on 01/07/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the first L lense I purchased. After researching and realizing how important glass is, I decided to purchase a L lense for my 300D Digital Rebel . However, prices were a little to steep. IS was an expensive feature I felt I could live without since I use a monopod most of the time anyway and a tripod for important stuff. I was very pleased. I have tried for quite a while to take a picture of the moon and was always disappointed with my standard 70 - 300 mm lense. It was so soft and the detail was missing. I tried the same shoot with this lense the results were fantastic. They especilly improved when I later purchased the new 5D Mark II. Even a better combination. I was able to keep the cost down and I was able to purchase another lense the EF 17-40 mm f/4L USM as well for a combined cost of one of the IS lenses. I was happy to put the money into the new camera. The photos are outstanding!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Best Zoom Lens EVER made... by ANYONE!!!!

By NuReality from Sunny Isles Beach, FL on 12/21/2008


Pros:

Super Smooth Zoom Ring, Fast Auto-focus, 4-stop Is, Superior Build Quality, Super Smooth Focus Ring, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is simply the finest zoom lens ever made. I've owned several lenses in this range and have used many more - including Leicas, Nikkors, Sigmas, and other Canons. This is the sharpest 70-200mm f/4 of them all, and is in fact sharper (wide open at f/4) than even f/2.8's I've tried including the Canon 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM. Its a great value, the image quality is without equal in this focal range, and the colors are crisp and contrasty. And theres the added benefit of it being much lighter than the f/2.8L's by a whole 1.5 pounds. Over the course of a long day of shooting that extra weight will fatigue you. The build quality is perfect if you ask me. The zoom ring is completely smooth which makes flashzoom shots a breeze, also any kind of zooming shot will have smoother zoom streaks. The focus ring is buttery smooth as well, making tack sharp manual a breeze as well. The 4-Stop IS works flawlessly making shots @ 200mm at speeds as long as 1/25 and 1/15 even possible. The only perceivable con is that you might not like the white/beige lens barrel or lack of an included tripod collar. I like the color as it doesn't absorb heat as much as black does making it a bit cooler to the touch on a long hot day of shooting outside. The tripod collar you don't really need as the lens is light and very well balanced, but it would be a nice detail to include in the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Glad I made the choice

By GearHead from Rochester, NY on 11/20/2008


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Contrast, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I decided on this lens after much testing of lenses at my local camera store. I decided on this one, rather than the IS version to keep the cost down. I knew going in that a tripod or monopod would be necessary if shutter speeds were going to be slow. I didn't anticipate that being a problem for me given the type of pictures I intended to take with this lens, but I was just blown away by the quality of the results. The first place I used it was at the National Zoo in DC - WOW, that's all I can say. Then I used it to shoot a nephew's Little League game. Shooting wide open (f/4) at 200mm enabled me to isolate the players against a softened, fuzzy background and everyone went bonkers over the shots. Needless to say I am very, very pleased.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"You get what you pay for"

By Joe from New Jersey on 11/18/2008


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Great Quality For The Money

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The saying "you get what you pay for" is true in this case, but in a good way. Rather fast AF, I blew an image up to 20x30 shot with a Rebel XT, and it barely lost any quality. The only problem is that if you break it... You're out a good sum of money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Lens

By ck from Carlsbad, CA on 10/29/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is by far my "most favorite" lens in my bag. I use it for nature shots and even have used it when there is not much light. The "IS" allows you to capture superb shots. I think this lens is even better optically than its f2-8 counterpart. ALL the reviews you read on this lens are positive. If you are thinking about a zoom with this range then this is it!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved