Home » Accessories » Camera Accessories » Lenses & Filters » 2750B002 » 27 Reviews

Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L II USM Wide Angle Lens - 2.4mm - f/1.4 Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 27 reviews)

61% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Fast Auto-focus (13), Superior Build Quality (14), Super-sharp Images (13)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Very good lens

By JMB from Undisclosed on 05/13/2015

I bought this lens second hand, 2 years old but in excellent condition. I found the focusing to work correctly the majority if the time. I mean majority of the time when you go in and pixel peep at 100%. Large aperture f1.4 lenses will not have 100% accuracy in real life shooting. Not sure if all reviewers take this into account but this is a technical challenge I have found with large aperture lenses, even my 85mm f1.8 which is one of the fastest and most reliable lenses I have used on full frame. Just needed to make this point clear. I find color rendition and contrast to be fantastic. Sharpness across the frame is so good that I do not need lens optimisation in post processing. This lens does not need it, when my 24-105mm f4L often does. Bokeh is also very nice, for a non-dedicated portrait lens. I think this lens is worth the money, despite the high price tag.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A small space workhorse

By NotAnselAdams from Chicago, IL on 04/18/2014


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens has served me well in small spaces for 3/4 and full-body portraits. It has allowed also for effective use of shalllow depth of field as a compositional element. Whether with natural light or strobes, this lens has not presented any sort of limitation in terms of framing or of photographic composition generally. With wide-angle lenses, certain distortion is not unexpected--particularly at closer distances to one's subject--but it is also not an issue if, for example, one shoots RAW and makes appropriate corrections in post-processing. As shooting with this lens may not be necessarily a "point and shoot" undertaking, skill sets may have bearing on individual results. I find the 24mm f/1.4 II USM to be a tremendous lens, and I cannot imagine not having it in my kit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A super rad lens

By Pistol Pete from Seattle, WA on 08/30/2013


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Low Distortion

Cons:

Plastic Lens Hood, Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I wasn't sure about purchasing this lens at first due to the steep price tag but am really glad now that I did. This lens can be described in one word, Quality. Exceptional quality throughout the optics, build, design and AF to be more specific. The color of this lens is the best I've seen in any lens. The contrast and clarity is super deep and nicely defined. The sharpness is very well kept fully open and, when stopped to 4, is perfect. The light fall-off is pretty hard fully open but obviously your camera/PS can correct that pretty well and mostly goes away when stopped down a decent amount. The distortion is very minimal and easily corrected also. The build quality I absolutely love, very solid metal body, weather sealing and just good all-round feel. I dropped it onto a very hard floor from about 2.5 feet and it still works fine (obviously an accident). I wish the lens hood was metal though, but what are you gonna do. If you want a lens in this length and are debating the price, just go for it, you'll be happy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Way too expensive

By Lurcus from New York, NY on 05/21/2013


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Corners Sharpness, Price/value

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

For this price, I would expect a much better lens. Sharpness is very poor at the frame corners, unless you stop down to at least f/2,8. Vignetting is as visible as in much cheaper and older lenses. Built quality is excellent and distortion is very well controlled, but that's not enough to justify this price. At present, the 24/2,8 IS is probably a better purchase for most people.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Maybe Not for Professionals

By Scott from Redmond, WA on 01/11/2013


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Full Frame Distortion

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens for shooting small black box theatre productions without a flash, and these venues are typically not well lighted. This worked wonderfully with my Rebel. When I upgraded to a 5D and a 5D MkII I found this lens to be lacking. It still functions wonderfully, however the very pronounced distortion with the full frame boxes creates a poor fish-eye effect. Considering the investment required, it is an unforgivable drawback.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

24LII, 35L, 24-70L

By sy from colorado on 01/04/2013


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Performance: 24mm f1.4 L II is very similar look, size, and weight to 35L though it has a weather sealed metal body so it does not have plastic feel of 35L. Focus speed, accuracy, sharpness are also similar to 35L. Its faster and a bit sharper than 24-70L Mk I at f2.8. There is chromatic aberration (color fringes) between f1.4 and 2.8 but it is much better controlled and not as ugly as 35L. But on the other hand it tends to get more flare than 35L. Images sometimes look soft at f1.4 because of color fringes, but other than that my copy produces quite sharp images from f1.4 and gets sharper when stopped down. And it also does pretty good job on corners. Bokeh is a little bit nervous and sometimes you may call it ugly. I dont know if it is something to do with its focal length. 35L shows that tendency sometimes but 24L II does it more significantly. But you still can get creamy and soft bokeh. It depends on backgrounds. Even at f2.8 it seems softer than 24-70L. Another thing that I like about this lens is that it has a very short minimum focus distance. - Value: Since Canon released a new 24-70mm L II which Ive read about how great and almost as sharp as primes are, I can see many people grab this zoom than those high priced prime lenses. And for the most of cases this new zoom will do the job. Ive got my 24L II as a used with a very good price, so its well worth it for what I paid. But I might have picked a new 24-70L II if I didnt have my old 24-70L. - Bottom Line: First of all I say that this is still a great lens but there are some other choices for this focal length. If you love to shoot at f1.4-f2.5 then this is the lens for you. And it is simply awesome.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

All around excellence

By Chitown from Chicago IL on 01/02/2013


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Cant Think Of One

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I rented one of these to travel to South America. I spent 5 days in Colombia and 5 days hiking through the Andes in Peru. This is a tough lens. Well built, professional grade. The image quality is absolutely fantastic. I can't speak highly enough about this lens in terms of image quality. The shots I took at f/8 were so sharp I didn't even touch them in post. Contrast and clarity are the absolute best (every bit as good as the 35L and 135L). I was using this on a 1D mk iii. I have seen some reviews of the auto focus being off, but my experience is nothing short of positive. I only shoot at f/1.4 when I have a single autofocus point selected anyway so then it's my fault it the right thing is not in focus. I don't trust any camera that much. Speed is excellent. Manual focus is great, I always use the hyper focal length and manual focus when shooting landscapes. The focus ring is really smooth. Distortion is next to nothing. Spend the money, learn to use it. The image and build quality is everything you would expect out of an L prime.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Egg-cellent!

By Photomonkey from NYC on 05/26/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I scrutinized the specs and reviews for this lens for months.. then finally jumped and bought one. It's not quite like being 21 again, but awfully close! It is a gorgeous wide, fast lens which makes you think of places where you might not have bothered in the past as viable subjects.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing Lens

By Moni from Undisclosed on 01/12/2012


Pros:

Super Sharp, Well Constructed, Nicely Balanced With 7d

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens 1 month ago. I was shooting plenty of portrait and landscape. It works they way i want. Strongly recommended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Auto focus fails

By Amy from Undisclosed on 11/28/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have wanted this lens for a long time and finally ordered it. I just received this lens today. I have taken about 100 photos using my 7D using various focus points. Only about one third of these did the auto focus work. It's getting returned.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Image Quality but Poor Autofocus

By Sdiver2489 from Peoria, IL on 10/13/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Unreliable Autofocus

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens as a 35mm equivalent lens on a crop camera. I loved the field of view offered by the lens and obviously the F1.4 aperture. The problem came entirely from the autofocus. I found it to be completely random in its ability to focus on objects. Sometimes it would come through, other times it would repeatedly miss. Very disappointing overall.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome lens

By Zunghn from Texas, TX on 10/11/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The copy I receive performed beautifully. Fast focus, Rugged build quality, Sharp images, produces great color and contrast. The price...... very expensive, so either have money to blow or do your research before buying this lens (if its right for you). There is a small amount of vignetting on my 7D but gone by stopping down to f/2.8. The copy I recieve is a little soft in the middle and sharp in the corners, but sharp once stopped down to f/2.8 and slightly sharper at f4/0. There is a slight problem when taking images at f/1.4 at night picture seems to be expose properly, but once exported to Apple Aperture 3 the picture is under exsposed, but this most likely software and not the lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

design flaw

By scott from Houston on 09/24/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Build quality is high as expected for this lens. However the focus is inconsistent and the lens has severe front focus around 1.8. I owned the mark I predecessor and loved it, so when it was stolen I immediately replaced it with this one. Today I am returning the fourth copy in an attempt to get a good one. I thought it was a bad batch or simply bad quality control, but now I believe it is a design flaw.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

bad af

By The Sky from Texas on 08/19/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

AF often missed. Compared it to 85L, it's night and day. *%L of course is magical. AF Often breaks down. More things to say but everytime I submit this review, it doesn't get published. funny how my 85L review got published once I wrote them. This is my third time writing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic lens, if you have the money for it.

By Nick from Boston, MA on 11/17/2010


Pros:

Great Image Quality, Very Sharp Below F/2.5, Good Build Quality, Fast Auto Focus

Cons:

Very Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am an advanced amateur photographer and professional retoucher who has been developing an appreciation for prime lenses over the past year. I was on the market for either the 35L or the 24L, and ended up going with the latter via the second hand market where I picked it up for a great price. After shooting several thousand frames with this lens over the past month I honestly can't say enough good things about it. At 22oz, the 24L feels like a feather in comparison to my 24-70. It's obviously heavier than, say, the 50 1.4, but I certainly didn't feel tied down by it like I often do with many of the f/2.8 zooms. The pictures this thing takes are probably among the sharpest I have ever seen. As expected, it is a little softer at the widest apertures, but sharpness steps up dramatically once you stop down to around 2.5. f/4.0-5.6 seems to be the sweet spot, sharpness-wise. I haven't tried printing anything large that I've shot with this lens as of yet, but am confident that pics taken with it will re-produce nicely at those sizes. Color and contrast are also amazing, probably the best I have personally seen with any Canon lens (and I've used the 85L and 135L). When doing post-production work, I find I have had to do less levels and curves adjustments in Photoshop afterwards, the 24L II produces beautiful saturated colors. If you are expecting silky smooth bokeh, I would recommend the 85L or 135L. At a wider angle, you aren't going to get nearly as much as the narrower lenses provide. However, there is still plenty of subject/background separation here. The addition of the extra blade, and circular diaphragm of this model, are definitely a plus over the past version. Chromatic abberation? Non-existent. Even near the edges. A stark contrast from what I hear plagued the original 24L. Focusing is fast, quiet, and reliable. It focuses literally inches away, although I wouldn't venture into saying it covers macro territory. Weather sealing and overall build quality is nice. Similar to the 35L, I like the thicker band for manual focusing. Cons? It's expensive. Very expensive. I got mine for a good deal, but the fact alone that it saves me time in my post-production work will ultimately probably pay for itself in the long run. Plus, this isn't a lens that is going to depreciate in value much in the near future. Many say Canon's holy trinity of lenses are the 35L, 85L, and 135L. However, the new and improved 24L is well deserving of a spot in that fraternity too.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

AF Issues

By m2bear from Berkeley, CA on 11/07/2010


Pros:

Sharp, Superb Optics, Good Build Quality

Cons:

Af Issues

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I am using this lens with my 5D Mark II. There are AF issues with the lens out of the box. Probably 80% of my images missed focus. I have the precision screen- so I can see the AF locks at regions that are not correct- even at high contrast regions (e.g. keyboard) This is a bit fustrating because when I use manual focus- the lens is amazing. I own the 35 1.4L, which did not have this problem. The issue is not backfocus or frontal focus problems- I cant never know! It just misses most of the time and hit some of the time. I sent it back for repairs- will update.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens.... loving it...

By Jay D from Stafford, VA on 11/07/2010


Pros:

All As Advertised--that Is Rare, Very Low Flaring..., Very Flat Field On 5d2

Cons:

Some Distortion But Correctable, Fast Memory Needed For Full 1080p Video Fps, Walkabout... Too Close For Candid Shots

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I went to calibrate AF and it was dead-on... no adjustments necessary. I am getting all the almost unbelievable claims made in advertising. Not using a flash and taking hand held night shots that are clear edge to edge and little flaring. Day shots are clear and flat and using 5D2 with built in lens compensation for vignetting, etc. but not noting anything. I show the photos to friends and their jaw drops. What else can I say? Focus is smooth, accurate in AF though I did mess up some night photos that I couldn't get a good long distance AF lock and so set to infinity... later determined out of focus. My own technical fault. No issues to report I am very happy with this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad AF Out-of-the-box

By Anonymous from Virginia on 11/02/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I just got this lens and put it through its paces on my 5D Mark II. The first few test shots seemed very blurry, so I went to manual focus. I was then impressed with the lens. Only just a touch of softness at 1.4, and only a bit of chromatic aberration in the corners that I could see. Then I went to figure out why I wasn't getting good focus. Sadly, I could not resolve this issue. My camera allows for an AF adjustment, and setting that to its maximum value only got me through about half of the AF error of the lens. So now it gets returned.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The lens seems fine

By Tim from Honolulu, HI on 09/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens after renting one to try it out after the reports began to surface regarding the clarity of images. The lens worked well, very well at night and the colors were spectacular. There was no vignetting using a slim u/v and a slim circular polarizer, however there was vignetting when I tried a thicker Canon uv & cp filter. I must commend Canon for the rugged construction of their filters which work well on lenses larger than 50 mm. I should add that I used my Canon 5D mark II camera. In light of the observations of many photographers about semi-clear images and my positive experience, I have to look further. Because we use a variety of cameras with this lense I can look to other causes: I suspect that there needs to a soft ware adjustment made to the Canon software. I hope Canon makes any necessary adjustments.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Returning my SECOND 24 f/1.4 II lens - Focus Issue

By L to the T from New York, NY on 08/15/2010


Cons:

Add A Con

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Not sure what's going on with this lens but I'm now mailing back my SECOND Canon 24 f/1.4L II because of focusing issues. I'm very surprised by the focusing issue found in two lenses which, in my opinion, can't possibly be coincidental. Not happy at all and I'm not one to leave negative notes but this really got on my nerves and had to share with others. Warmest. -Just a NY Pro.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great lens

By macZiggy from California on 11/13/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been a professional photojournalist for almost 30 years and this lens is so much fun to use. The 1.4 aperture makes almost anything you shoot look really cool in an abstract way, although with the sharp drop-off of the depth-of-field, you have to be very careful what you are focused on, especially if there's a person involved. I like to use it particularly with still life photos, such as landscapes or food. I use 5D camera bodies and the images are super sharp with great resolution from this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens

By low light shooter from California on 03/29/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had the opportunity to shoot with both the 24L and 24Lii. Although the heftier price tag may give reason for pause initially, the fantastic results you get with this lens will instantly erase all doubts. (That is unless you get a bad copy like one of the reviewers above.) The focus is very accurate. My images are quite sharp wide open @ f/1.4. Overall, I can really see and feel the improvements from its predecessor. If you're looking for a fast 24mm, and have the budget for this lens, you will not regret it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easily bests the previous version in every way

By hiprophoto from Hawaii on 02/10/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Unfortunate Sample Variation

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had to send the first copy back because of back focus problems. I have never had a quality control issue with any of the dozen L lenses I have owned and used so I was very surprised to find the 24L II not living up to my expectations. The second copy performed flawlessly! This lens is better than the original 24L in every way: center and edge sharpness, chromatic aberration, smoother bokeh, weather seals, nicer build quality. It performs at least as good as my 35L. I highly recommend testing your copy first or buy from a dealer with a no hassle exchange/return policy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect at every stop

By pas from Annapolis, MD on 02/10/2009


Pros:

Excellent Bokeh, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Since I purchased this lens about 4 months ago it has been fixed to my 30D. It took me a while to get used to utilizing the 1.4 f-stop because of how little depth of field you have to play with, but, if done right, the effects are amazing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

24mm 1.4L 11 USM

By MG from HAWAII on 02/08/2009


Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The lens I got was unusable at 1.4 to get a decent quality had to close down two stops. This now is the third time in one year I have returned L glass for sharpness issues. If you are a serious Pro I would advise never buying a high quality lens on line. Not that the vendors are bad, but you will not know what you get. Then you are faced with fees for restocking and shipping at you expense. Not all lenses are equal and seems like this is a new thing with Canon, As I have not returned or had a bad lens in the past ten years. Now three. So BEWARE JUST CAUSE IT HAS A L ON IT IT DOES NOT MAKE IT GOOD MINE WERE REAL DOGS.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My intended use is for underwater photography.

By wally in oklahoma city from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma on 01/25/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I recently purchased the new D5 Mark II Canon camera. My intentions are to replace my current Canon camera with the net D5 for my underwater photography. Last week I purchased the Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L II USM lens to use in an Ikelite housing with dual DS160 Ikelite strobes. Over the last few days I have taken lots of images with the new D5 and the new EF 24mm lens. I love the lens and think that I have made a great purchase. The lens will focus as close as about 9 inches which is important in underwater photography. My images are clear and sharp. Don't kid yourself by "settling" for a cheaper lens as the higher cost is worth the money, assuming the quality of your images are important to you. I would recommend this lens for any wide angle close focus use in underwater photography.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

rocks

By winer from alaska on 11/17/2008


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

it is the best purchase i ever made it wrks relley well for angles and fast i loveeeeeeeeeeee it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved