Home » Accessories » Camera Accessories » Lenses & Filters » 2751B002 » 93 Reviews

Canon EF 2751B002 70 mm - 200 mm f/2.8 Telephoto Zoom Lens - 77 mm Attachment - 0.21x Magnification - 2.8x Optical Zoom Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 93 reviews)

95% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Super-sharp Images (60), Fast Auto-focus (60), Superior Build Quality (59), Sharpness (4)

Cons:

None (9), Heavy (5), Cost (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

A great Lens

By wesser from San Diego on 09/24/2015

A world class lens. Finally it's mine and I can't wait to shoot with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great easy to use lens

By Uinta from Mountain West on 05/29/2015

This is a great lens. Very easy to use. So far it has been used at soccer games, softball practice, and to take pictures of birds. Thanks Canon for creating such a nice and useful lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing & Speechless

By Donny from CT on 04/24/2015

it is an expensive lens, but it is worth the price. Using it on 6D & 7D cameras, the clarity and fine details are amazing. This lens is a beast, its heavy, and the quality is amazing. but ability to hold that f/2.8 throughout the focal length really is the seller....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens. Very pleased I bought it.

By ksfundraiser from Erie, PA on 01/24/2015

I am a newbie to the DSLR camera world. This lens is everything that my experienced photography friends claimed it would be!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Now I know why this is called a portrait lens

By Some guy in Vegas from Las Vegas, NV on 01/09/2015

Wow, just wow! I've been shooting the 70-200 mm lens now for about 2 weeks. The one thing that really stands out is how effortless it is to get a beautiful rich bokeh when shooting. What sets it apart from all my other red ring lenses is the field of depth is truly preserved even as the background is blurred out. The 70-200mm lens really is a very different lens and now I can see why it's a go to choice for portrait photography.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Super lens

By b-bill from VA on 10/03/2014

Better than expected, can't think why I didn't get it sooner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding lens!!!!

By Dukeabuke from Discovery Bay CA on 09/16/2014

Amazing low light stage photography!! Beautiful bokeh!!! Fast action shots!! This lens does it all and does it with Tack sharp pictures. Its expensive and heavy and the best lens in my bag.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not durable

By Pastor J from Cambridge Springs, PA on 09/07/2014


Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

As an advanced amature photographer that has used Canon equipment for more than 30 years I am disappointed that this lens needed major repairs after 2 years of use. I protected this lens and there is not a mark on it. It it is that fragile it is not pro quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wonderful Lens for extended view

By Chrissy4605 from Portland, OR on 08/14/2014


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had the same lens in the f4 version it it was sharp as a tack. This one performs even better. The sad part is that my last one was stolen. But it was insured. I do suggest you insure your Canon products as well as register all of them. They are high quality product that deserve respect!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worth the extra cash.......

By Al S. from Saugerties, NY on 07/16/2014


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Quiet Operation, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After doing lengthy comparisons to other quality 70-200mm lenses through numerous review sites, forums and renting, the Canon EF70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM was my choice, hands down. This lens has superior sharpness I couldn't get anywhere else and during high speed motion, it was second to none. I used this lens in a theater during a live show and the low light capability was awesome! I highly recommend this lens!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sensational

By Jordanf1 from Sydney Australia on 07/15/2014


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, No Heavy !, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens 2 months ago, ive shot alot of sports especially surfing, this lens is very sharp ! and id say the best lens ive ever owned.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Top lens in it's class

By sabre95521 from Arcata, Ca on 05/22/2014


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I rented this lens before I bought it to see if it was as good as what I was hearing. The 70-200f2.8L is II USM exceeded all my expectations for it. It might be pricey but it is well worth the price. I bought it to go with my new 5DmkIII and my well used 7D and is a perfect fit with both.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Finally got it!

By Godb from Boynton Beach, Florida on 04/26/2014


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Very Heavy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After five years of Web-Window shopping I finally got this 70-200 lens! At first I was somewhat deceived as my pictures where not as clear as I had expected. But as I got more and more use to this new lens, the better the pictures became. So basically when you start out with this lens it takes a bit of getting use to it!! 2.8F gives me the extra edge from 4F in order to be able to do clear pictures without having to compensate with other functions. I do not wish to repeat all that has been said is provisos reviews about this lens, it is truly a great piece of equipment, you feel the quality build and when its mounted on your camera you know the output will be upscale. Beware, its a heavy lens to carry around. On trips, it is a huge consideration. Handling it becomes somewhat of a challenge because of its size and weight, handling it is almost a work out. I rented one before spending the huge dollars and decided this lens was for me, and I do not regret it. When you gear your camera body to full servo with high shutter speed, this lens quicks butt! Its a work horse with the finesse and speed of a leopard!! Love this lens and strongly recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

THE BEST Lens in the world

By M.A.F Photography from Undisclosed on 02/24/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I cant believe what I can do with this lens. It's best to buy a lens that photographers can. This lens is made with the highest quality images for a perfect shot you can.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best L Lens...ever!

By 5d3-shooter from Maine on 01/28/2014


Pros:

Best Lens Period

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the best lens I have ever used in 20+ years as a Canon user. I use this lens more than any lens in my collection! Everything is great about this lens. If you can...Just go buy it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The BEST "L" lens on the market

By Zapper from Rohnert Park, CA on 11/07/2013


Pros:

It Is A Canon Product, Superior Build Quality, Constant F/2.8, Dust And Weather Sealed, Great Image Stabilization, Super-sharp Images, Full Time Manual Focusing, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I upgraded my Digital Rebel to an EOS 7D and was taking many a photographs of both of my sons playing different sport and family and friend get togethers, Night time shots, Landscape, wildlife and every now and then just shots of my dogs playing!!!! I thought my pictures came out really well with the lens that I had owned with the Rebel, boy oh boy, what a difference a lens makes!!!!!!!! After reading reviews on the Canon website, fantastic and really helpful reviews by the way, the review on PhotoPlus, great magazine for Canon users, and a very glowing recommendation from my cousin who is a top notch and successful wedding photographer, and owns the MK I of this lens, I decided to bite the bullet and purchase the EF 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS II USM lens and to this day, I have absolutely, and I do mean ABSOLUTELY NO REGRET spending the cash for this fantastic awesome lens. Taking action shots with this lens is so awesome, quick auto focus, sharp shots and even panning shots when they run, I could not have gotten a better lens. When my kids go swimming and jump off of the diving board, I use a fast shutter speed and get the splash after firing off about 16 shots in 2 seconds, The 70-200 catches everything!!! Indoor games where flash is not allowed, with the f/2.8, who needs a flash. Night time photos of the sky and moon, I have got some really cool shots and made even better with HDR software. I HAD an EF-S 18-200mm as an everyday lens but in reality, the 70-200mm has never been taken off of the 7D, it isn't as heavy as some folks say it is, I have a sling strap and is much more comfortable than around the neck. I like the fact this lens focus is all internal and not a push pull design, one of the reasons I did not get the 100-400mm or 28-300mm "L" series lens, even though they getter longer focal lengths than the MK II 70-200mm. Great build quality on this lens and I am hooked on any and all "L" series lens!!!! I am saving up for another "L" series, most likely the 24-105mm, but that is a different story. Back to this lens, there is no downside to this great lens, I recommend this lens to anybody for any occasion, you will not be sorry!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No brainer

By Clevelanddawg99 from Central Ohio on 10/22/2013


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, "is" Just Remarkable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

No need to write a four page documentary about this lens. Quite honestly the image produced by this lens is the precise definition why inexpensive lenses are inexpensive. Its a complete injustice to use any other 2.8 70-200 lens on the market.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

awesome

By asaugusto from Brazil on 09/04/2013


Pros:

Silent, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

simple the best that I ever got Incredible quality of images


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Simply the Best!!

By Techguy from Irvine,CA on 07/26/2013


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

DO NOT HESITATE TO PURCHASE THE LENSE!!. SIMPLY THE BEST!!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Fast and Super Sharp

By SeeMyPixels from Bethel Park, PA on 04/26/2013


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My main reason for this lens was for sports photography but it has really amazed me with portrait work as well. I used this lens recently at a very poorly lit night baseball game and I came away with A LOT more in focus images than I thought I would. Keep in mind I was shooting in manual mode and pushing the limits of my camera but this lens is incredible and worth five times what I paid for it based on the 100+ keepers I was able to capture at that game alone. With good light you will find the auto-focus and clarity blows away any other lens with the same specs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sharper then most primes

By bvbfoto from Washington, DC on 02/09/2013


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just made the switch back to Canon after four years on the "darkside". I had borrowed the previous version of the 70-200 for the 5D Mark 3's but purchased the EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM this week and used it really for the first time today for a conference and the images are incredibly sharp and the auto-focus was super fast and accurate.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Smartest Purchase. Ever.

By shutternut from Dayton, OH on 12/24/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Versatility

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Shooting super-fast, poorly lit, professional indoor sports is not for the timid photographer. After a LOT of research, I decided to purchase this lens and... WOW! While not inexpensive, this lens delivers every penny's worth. If you're on the fence or in a hurry.. let me save you some trouble: Do Not Skimp! Save your pennies, empty the couch cushions or whatever you have to do, but accept no substitute for this great piece of equipment!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Superb lens

By Timmy The Great from NY on 11/07/2012


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I questioned buying this lens as it is a shade expensive. But it is soooo worth the price. It is fast. It works well with the 1DX body. Imaging is super crisp and bright. I have found nothing disappointing in this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens

By Douglas from Russell Springs Ky. on 10/15/2012


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great lens, I can't say one bad thing about it. Some people complain about the weight of the lens. But lets face the fact the construction of the lens is why it's so heavy. The images are super sharp, the auto focus is quick and quiet. I wish that I would have purchased one sooner. This lens performs as well on my 50D as it does on my 5D Mark III. If you're considering one of these lenses go ahead and purchase one you wont be sorry that you did.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent lens!

By khanh from Texas on 10/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I waffled for a while before deciding to buy this lens. I did a lot of research, read online reviews, weighed the pros and cons, and tried to see if the 24-105L would be "good enough". In the end, lust for the 70-200mm won out, and after using the lens, I have no regrets at all. This lens comfortably outresolves the 24-105L f4 lens that came with the 5D Mark III. The sharpness is amazing, even at f2.8. It is brighter and faster than the 24-105L, obviously. The colors are more accurate and purely "Canon". The "bokeh" and background blur are also much better, so much that portraits make the subjects "pop out". Cons? Size, weight, and cost.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Lens Choice

By Silverado from Philadelphia suburbs on 09/27/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the first L lens I have owned and I could not have made a better choice for wildlife, pet action, and low light theater photography.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing Lens

By Dana S from AZ on 08/15/2012


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this lens for nature and wildlife photography. I also use it for candid pictures of family and friends in home, without flash, without any problems. This lens is wickedly sharp as stated in every other review, and I was amazed with the IQ from 70 to 200mm especially at f/2.8. The sweet spot appears to be between f/6 and f/8 for birds and animals. I would recommend this lens to anyone that is serious about sharp images. This lens is heavy and built like a tank but you get what you pay for.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stellar image quality

By NotAnselAdams from Chicago on 08/07/2012


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an extraordinary lens. For aviation photography, the image quality, color, and auto-focus speed of this lens have been superb. Portraiture in low and available light (indoor shots with natural light) has been similarly excellent, with out-of-focus-rendering not unlike that of fast primes. Nighttime shots of lightning have been astonishingly sharp. On numerous occasions, non-photographers have asked whether photographs taken with this lens have been "faked", as the images have looked "too good to be real". In my view, the worth of this lens exceeds its cost, even for a non-professional.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens

By paulre from S,F Calif. on 07/03/2012


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is scary good. Very fast, sharp and am getting used to the weight. the images it generates are better then real life. What more can I say then that. The Bokeh is by far the best I have ever seen. It's been hard to leave F2.8 lol.. Buy it if you can afford it. You won't be disappointed!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Purchase

By Steve from Colorado Springs, CO on 06/25/2012


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Quiet Auto-focus

Cons:

Heavy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an amazing lens. Yes it is bulky and heavy but built with superb quality. I mainly use this lens for portraits and wedding shoots but I have used it for landscape and animals. There are times where the auto focus has to search but it doesn't take long. It works great for wedding photography especially indoors. This lens creates a nice creamy bokeh. Overall I enjoy using this lens as it creats the perfect image (of course with a little photo editing) but does great. It might feel a little heavy if hand held and around the neck.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quality better than primes

By felixtm from miami, FL on 05/16/2012


Pros:

Sharpness, Is, Focus Speed

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just added this lens to my arsenal. I must say that I'm loving the lens and finding it to be as sharp or sharper than my 85mm 1.2L. It's pretty heavy so if you work with two bodies at weddings you'll get tired real fast and it's big so it will get in the way. The IS works fantastic and the sound is not all that loud. I mostly work outdoors so I cant hear it. I was also able to test the IS with video and it makes a world of difference if you need to get some editorial video at 200mm and you dont have a tripod. The focus is faster then any other lens I've ever used and it's accurate. No micro adjustment was needed with this lens. The hood is very solid and has a matte finish and a locking mechanism.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Superb quality and results

By Anonymous from Los Angeles, CA on 05/09/2012


Pros:

Superb Optics Rugged Well Made Responsive.

Cons:

No Cons

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned scores of high end Canon lenses and professional bodies over the years. I have also owned other top brands in 35mm and medium format. Several 70-200 Canon lenses. This last one is, as was the previous model, my most used lens over which it is a definite improvement. It offers the sharpness and creamy quality that gives a rich, professional image. It is a high end product. Great for portraits, fashion, outdoors, action, it is extremely versatile. The stabilization system is excellent. The lens is rugged and very well made ! I am extremely satisfied with this purchase. It will be in my bag of tricks for a very long time. If I can only take one lens with me on a shoot for a mixed bag of distances and styles, this is the one I will take, not a shorter zoom or prime lens of which I own several, but this one has become my most used lens since I purchased it. Unmatched versatility !! It truly is several lenses in one !! Uncompromising quality. Non, I don't work for Canon but I appreciate a great product !


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The best of the Best / TOP GUN

By Auburnflyer from Northern CA on 04/18/2012


Cons:

Heavy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens about a year ago and it has set new standards in quality detailed pictures. It is as good as it gets for detail and sharpness. I would purchase it again but the weight is just close to being way too heavy. I used it with my 50D for some time and lately with the new 5D Mark III. This combination is hard to beat!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent product

By JRphoto from Pleasant Hill CA on 04/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I shoot with a 5D Mark II, and prior to purchasing this lens, I have been using the 17-40 L 1.4, another amazing product. In order to truly appreciate your own photography, this lens is a must have. You forget about the price as soon as you start shooting and reviewing your own photos.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

everything and then some

By Anonymous from Ocala, FL on 04/01/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Took the lens to the final 100k Grand Prix HITS show in Ocala FL. Shot the jumpers for a practice run. Images are better than the ones for sale. AF captured horse and rider every time. Shot hand held w and w\o stabilization. Even images too far away cropped are very good. Much heavier than off brand lens I had before but AF is faster by two or three times. Took awhile to convince (force) myself to spend the money but it was worth it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Field Evaluation = Purchase

By TUK from Las Vegas, NV on 03/23/2012


Pros:

Great Canon Service, Excellent Build, Fast, Sharp

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As a CPS Gold member, I requested this lens for a critical photo shoot. The performance was exceptional. Very fast and extremely sharp images of fast moving aircraft. A must have lens that I will be ordering very soon. It's true, you get what you pay for. You will not be disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I wish everything was made this well

By ZincPhoto from Philadelphia, PA on 03/20/2012


Pros:

Build Quality, Af Speed, Sharpness

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is by no means a cheap lens but it is definitely a worthy purchase. To me this is the pinnacle of Canon lenses. Extremely sharp, fast, and unbelievably reliable from 70-200. If you are deciding between the 4.0 version and this one I suggest you hold both in your hands. While some may be put off by the weight, the solid feel and balance (with a pro DSLR or a DSLR with grip) make it perfect for me. Light makes photography and no Canon lens I've tried manages light better than this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

More impressed every day

By Sifu from Oregon on 03/15/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this lens for around 4 months now and I am more and more impressed with it all the time. Image quality is supurb. Auto focus is great, I can shoot through trees to a subject that is moving and nail it consistantly. I took some shots of cars coming straight at me doing around 50 and it consistantly nailed the focus using AI Servo. It produces and pleasing bokeh. I use it for weddings, protraits, landscape and street photography and it consistantly produces great results under varied conditions. A number of people say it is too heavy, yeah there is some weight to it but it feels just right to me, I like the weight, it just feels good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best lens in this class

By camphoneguy from Corvallis, OR on 02/08/2012


Pros:

Fast Focusing, Excellent Image Stablization, Great Color Rendition, Great Build Quality, Sharpness

Cons:

Expensive But Worth It

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I replaced a fixed Canon 200mm L f2.8 with this lens and although that is an EXCELLENT lens, I missed shots that required me to get closer. At first I though I was noticing the excellent color that this lens produced but as I looked closer I realized that the refined color was due to the sharpness of the images. You will love the color rendition as a result of the sharpness. The focusing speed will also aid in getting fast moving subjects. I use the lens for baseball shots and love how I can cover most of the field from 3rd base now. Of course I wish it was less expensive but compared to other lenses like this the price is in the range. Less expensive after market lenses I tried were slower to MUCH slower in focusing and as a result of less lens sharpness the colors looked not as rich as this lens. If you want the best 70-200mm f2.8 image stabilized lens on the market today, the latest Canon 70-200mm L f2.8 II is the one to get.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens

By Meech from LA, Ca on 01/27/2012


Cons:

Price?

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After highly investigating this lens on various respected photo test websites and reading reviews from people who know what they're talking about, I bought this lens. It is amazing just how sharp it is. Fantastic for studio portraits! It is also a great medium lens for sports photography. Expensive, but you always get what you pay for.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst lens in 30 yrs.

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 01/23/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I can't say much about this lens as the quality is nil. Of all the lenses I have used and owned, this is absolutely the WORST Q.C. I have ever seen in a lens at any price. It is full of dust particles, spots, small chunks of an unkown material stuck on the lens or lenses. I have used and owned the other major camera brands, etc and NONE have had or have the amount of junk inside the lens as this one, even lens that I have owned for over 30 yrs.. Disgusting - this cost over 4 times as much a regular lens and it is junk.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing truly amazing

By Salmonator from Atlanta, GA on 12/27/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was saving for the old 70-200 2.8L lens and when the series Ii came out I ended up purchasing it. if you are on the fence whether or not you should spend all that money just rent one for a weekend shoot to try it out. Do some bright light and some low light shooting. But I warn you that you will end up buying it because it is truly amazing. When viewing the image you just captured it often looks better (crisper, brighter, sharper) that what you were viewing in the viewfinder. This lens is one you need for indoor or outdoor close-ups when you cannot get close to your subject. Truly amazing...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Expensive and heavy, but worth it

By Wise-guy from Phoenix, AZ. on 12/22/2011


Pros:

Everything That Is Required To Take A Great Shot.

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am no professional photographer, just love to take pictures of my family. This is my second L-series lens...My other lenses are EF-S and regular EF lenses. This is sharp and I mean very sharp lens. No wonder everyone likes it. The IS is good, but I think all canons have great IS. I liked the clarity of the lens. Nothing compares to it. Well, it is expensive and heavy lens...but it is worth every penny and every gram. You would not repent if you buy this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wow...

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 11/22/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is the only reason that I can't leave Canon


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Long Lens on Planet

By Gram from Spokane, WA on 10/20/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Bokeh

Cons:

Cost

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens as an investment in the quality of my images and it has not failed to exceed expectations. Beautiful and built like a tank. Takes great pictures, beautiful bokeh, fast, crisp, can't begin to pay it adequate praise. Purchased with specific challenge of taking ill-lit images of intricate ceiling detail of cathedrals in Europe without flash or tri-pod. This lens delivered!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

You get what you pay for !!!

By rtphilli from Wichita, KS on 09/29/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The old adage of you get what you pay for is especially true for this lens. I use it for sports photos, wildlife, and scenery combined on a Canon 7D and it is as close to the perfect lens as one can get. AWESOME.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I am amazed

By fm48 from College Park, Ga. on 09/14/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am amazed that Canon was able to improve on a already great lens. I owned the 70-200mm 2.8 L lens ,which is a very good lens and so I was skeptical about what they could improve on .I had wanted the older IS model but I just never got around to purchasing it. So when the IS ll came out at an even higher price I asked what makes this lens so special .Well one came along at a great price so I sold my 70-200 mm 2.8L and purchased this lens. It is amazing how much faster focusing ,the color and contrast this lens has .Thanks Canon for improving on a already great lens.I am so happy that I made this purchase.. I love the IS and the weather sealing that this lens has over the non IS version


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wow...

By Dinosaur Jr. from Undisclosed on 09/08/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Slightly Heavy If Not On Tripod

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If you need to shoot anything fast action or from a distance, this is it. this lens takes such nice shots, i really can't say enough good things about it. the fixed 2.8 is a dream, especially when shooting sports. the only downside, and i really can't even call it a downside, is that it's a little heavy, but when you're using a 2.8 it goes with the territory. i absolutely love this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Expensive, but Best in Class

By viktas from Wharton NJ on 09/08/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Sharp At F2.8

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For me this lens is best in class first off because of Image Quality being Superior to previous version. Second the Stabilization is also steped up being very useful when hand held or using a extender. Third the Ergonomincs are slight improved but in the proper manner for manual focus and not tripping one of the switches by accident. I was most impressed with the fact that I found it much easier to get better close up shot with this lens then my new 100mm f2.8L macro IS. Out doors that is. Honestly the macro is still a bit sharper but, the versitility of this lens is what its designed for. We all aready know about the famous Canon L glass color output and best in class constrution with adds to the attractiveness of owning this lens. One much improved area is the fact that this lens is sharp at f2.8 ! very important when shooting in low light! What I didn't like, well the price is high, and everyone knows you are using L glass because of the color.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Real Deal

By TJ Newton from Glasgow, Scotland on 09/07/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Feels Great, Fast Auto-focus, Amazing Colours And Contrast

Cons:

Not Very Discreet!

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens far exceeded my expectations. I was not prepared for just how good it was, how fast it operated and how sharp and beautiful the images produced by it were. It's an amazing piece of machinery and from a selection of images on screen, from a variety of lenses (all L), I can spot the images produced by this lens. They have a certain look; a classy, professional look. Amazing sharpness and contrast, dense colours and beautiful out-of-focus rendering makes for stylish images. It does draw attention from passers by and is not discreet in the slightest, the off white finish giving away it's pedigree whilst offering no property for disguise whatsoever. The speed of the lens operation helps in this respect. Lift camera to eye level. Look. Focus. Commit. Couple of seconds tops! You can pick up a sneaky image on the fly before anyone is aware of what you are doing. It's great for bird photography on a 7D - the autofocus tracking/ speed is excellent and the detail rendered is superb, plus the ability to throw the backgrounds out of focus really helps isolate the target. I have just picked up a 2x extender III to help give me the reach. Already I have seen how well this performs at 400mm. I am very very pleased. It is extremely fun to use, the keeper percentage is high and it is a great purchase which I do not regret at all. Could it have been cheaper? Maybe, but this is an example of getting what you pay for.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wow For Portraits.

By idigphotography from Undisclosed on 08/19/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If you are into portraits, I'd recommend this lens with the 85mm. I've been shooting portraits with my 85mm for awhile now, and now that I have this guy, it's like a treat and a half. Really good depth of field, and you can actually squeeze more into a shot with super sharp results, something that the 85mm has a hard time with. Also, if you enjoy hummingbird shots, this is the best lens I've used for them. The IS is pretty spot on, and it helps with lightning fast AF, and it also works well in MF. I'm really impressed with this lens, and I'd say the price is perfect. You pay for what you get. And with the glass in this baby, I'd say it's right up there with the 85mm.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WOW!!

By Wane from Omaha on 08/03/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I recently upgraded from the EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS I USM . Vacationed in Coloradro Rocky Mountain National Park one week later. I was amazed how macro this lense is. Using this lense with a Canon 1D Mark III I captured pictures pf dragon flys and humming birds impossible to capture before. Very nice and I look forward to using this lense for sports and other fast action. Highly recommended. Upgrade if you can, you will not regret it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing Lens

By Jersey John from South Jersey on 07/15/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Heavy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Believe the Hype. This lens delivers. Although it is expensive, it at least is worth the price. It can reach through a crowd and quickly focus on your intended subject. Good in low light, although it does have its limits (it can't see in the dark) Actually, performs well as a portrait lens provided you have some space. Images are tack sharp, much like a prime lens throughout the range. Great for sports, action Downside, this lens is big and heavy. My kids call it the Hubble Telescope. Impossible to be discreet when using it in public. Be prepared for comments, gasps, and questions when you show up with your camera hanging off the end of this. . The only problem is that this lens raised my expectations. Why can't every lens be this good?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens

By Stan from California Desert near Death Valley on 06/23/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens Nov. 2010. Only used it a little for the first four months. Then set out to get some use before I went to Alaska. Went to Alaska on a cruse in June 2011. While sitting on my verandah I saw whales blowing off in the distance. I got my Mark 5 out with the lens and started shooting. I could see whales but still far. I then down loaded the photos to my Mac and saw what I had gotten. I caught whales out of the water, flukes (whale tails). Yes, I had to use the computer zoom to really get close up but what a great job this lens did. I wish I had an extender on it, but it still worked out.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Must have this lens

By DJL50D from Kenosha, WI on 06/18/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Cost, Heavy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used the first edition of this lens, this edition is well worth the investment. Be prepared to get a workout if you are going to use it for nature photography. This will be your go-to lens. I have made the decision to upgrade to all "L" series lenses and have not been disappointed yet. This is one of 6 "L" lenses I currently own.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

You need this

By len from Sneads Ferry, NC on 06/16/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Will Help Pick Up Chicks, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Buy it. You won't regret it.No buyer remorse with this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No complaints

By feeblefool from Illinois on 06/06/2011


Pros:

Lens Hood Rocks!, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This replaces my MkI version which I used since 2004 without any complaints or faults. The MkII version is simply flawless. I must spend time covering the new lens hood: please make all L lens hoods like the one included. The matte plastic and hood lock is simply a grand-slam.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not impressed

By 1golfer from Undisclosed on 05/31/2011


Cons:

Semi-sharp Images, Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens along with the EOS 7D and I have not been impressed by any means. I'm hoping i just have a fualty lens. I struggle to get crisp pictures and shooting in low light is even worse. I like to do a lot of birthday parties and I've had to go to my cheap little 50mm lens because i just don't trust this lens. I ahve gotten some good pictures with it but I don't find it reliable..I really hope it either me doing something wrong or a faulty lens!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Couldn't do w/out

By big boy from Ohio on 05/23/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very sharp and great colors. Well made. Have had this lens for a year and have no regrets about buying it. Have used it for everything from grand kids to wildlife. Great lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Unreal....

By Maxx from Boston, MA on 04/24/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Not Having One Ofcourse

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is absolutely .A.M.A.Z.I.N.G. I know I seen so many positive reviews here but is all about how you feel with its results and take it from me, This lens is so super fast when it focus. It produces super sharp images, the colors are so accurate, vivid and natural.. The f/2.8 helps so much in low light situation and low shutter-speeds. I truly recommend this it is definitely worth having it. I know is pricey but I can see why. Thanks Canon for making a superb lens...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The best telephoto zoom ever

By Doctor from Athens on 04/20/2011


Pros:

Excellent Is, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had the version one of this lens for over than 6 years... I only had good things to say about it, and i still do... Amazing lens!!! But then i read all the reviews on the mark II and they say it's much sharper wide open... A friend of mine wanted to buy my lens so i sold it and bought the new one... At first, it is very expensive. When i heard the price i went "What???" But then you take pictures with it and you realize that this is a better lens in all aspects... It handles better, it feels more robust (if that is possible... The mark 1 was already like a tank), the IS is better, the hood is better, the sharpness is excellent, the zoom ring feels better... My first impression was "so much more money for one stop of IS and a little more sharpness at f/2.8... is it worth it???" But now, i say YES!!! If anyone can afford it, they should buy one... It is the best telephoto zoom lens ever made, by anyone... That says it all... Still don't like the price though...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

the best of both worlds

By flash80 from new york,city on 03/29/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

new to the game of sports photography ,and was looking to add my first lens to my mark iv. bought this lens because it was the best for what i wanted . what a team .... lebron and wade .. photos were crisp and the colors was amazing .. heavy ,but you pay to get the picture right and the best. love it and would dig deep in my pocket every time for this lens. thanks canon for making my dream lens!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Performer!!!

By Rouse from Philadelphia, PA on 03/22/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After using the lens I couldn't help but to appreciate this lens. I thought about purchasing the series I lens over the II because of the cost, but it was money well spent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quality #1!!!!

By freedombird from Wheelersburg, Ohio on 03/07/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lense was purchased in a package with the Canon 7-D. The salesman was very good and guided us to the product we wanted. Like a lot of people, it took a while before we could purchase, but the wait was worth it!! We are very pleased and would be honored to recomend Canon to any one that was looking for a Quality Camera and Lense!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens for Seniors

By McC from San Diego, CA on 02/13/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Dependability, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Canon 70-200 F2.8 IS II is the best overall lens a senior citizen can own. You will find the F2.8 and IS will significantly improve the quality of your photos. The highest quality photo optics are like a pair of glasses that allow you to see things tac sharp. In my opinion the versatility of this lens covers 70% of everything most photographers will shoot. Yes is it heavy, but you can buy a tripod for extended photo shoots. People say that equipment does not make a great photo. This is true but, it suuuure helps.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sharpness satisfaction

By Gus from Kansas City, MO on 01/21/2011


Pros:

Super Sharp, Fast Af, Quiet, Quality Build

Cons:

Heavy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a detail OCD. I explore images with a magnifying glass. Unlike most zoom lenses, this lens is crystal clear from 70mm to 200mm. All the features are as promised, sharp, bright, quick autofous, quality build, and very quiet. But it's still under-rated. It is sharp to a fault. For portraits, I have to soften the images. I am constantly impressed by this lens. I use it on my 7D for almost everything; macro narrow DOF still life shots, to landscape and architecural images. I love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

AWESOME AWESOME LENS

By OLeePhotography from Sacramento, CA on 12/22/2010


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Weather Sealed

Cons:

If You Don't Have One! =0)

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

What can I say about the legendary 70-200 2.8? I recently bought this lens and it's absolutely a beauty, the optics are clean and crisp, the quality put into the build of the lens is at the highest, and the lens isn't that big for how much glass is built into it. I have used the 2.8 MK1 of this lens and this lens makes all the greatness of that lens even greater. The fixed 2.8 is not the fastest of lenses but it does the job indoors and outdoors is perfect. This lens is just amazing.. that's all I can say...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What a lens!!!!!!

By guido232 from Ogden, Utah on 11/04/2010


Pros:

Fast, Responsive, Compact, Sharpness

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned this lens for a year now. It has performed beyond what I expected. I have been shooting for many years, so the weight actually feels good. It is well balanced when shooting on the move and following action. I am using this on my 40D, it has been a great combination. The sharpness is so crisp. I was on a whale watching trip and shooting gulls flying around the boat. When I pulled them up on Photoshop and even found the tail feathers crisp I was impressed. I have a thing for large gloss prints. I have printed some at 13 x 19 on gloss paper. To see the detail in the photo, you can almost reach out and run your fingers through the hair on the lions main. I own the 17-55 IS 2.8 lens and this one. They have held true to the lens quality that makes Canon. Great job Canon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stellar

By Poojamer from Bergen County New Jersey on 10/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have never added an optical improvement of this magnitude to my stable of Canon lenses before this recent addition.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

There is a difference

By mascot from St. Louis on 09/27/2010


Pros:

Crisp Photos

Cons:

Pricey

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used the "version 1" model of this lens for the past 2 years and was completely satisfied with the wonderful photos I captured. I wondered if there was really a differnce between the old and new versions so I went to my local camera shop and took photos with my camera using both lenses. Tho the results weren't earth-shattering, I found that the new version's images were a little sharper and the colors a bit more vibrant........I bought the lens having received a more-than-fair "trade-in" for my old.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

king of kings

By DAVE from NEW ORLEANS, LA. on 09/12/2010


Pros:

5 Star Lens

Cons:

Not Having One On Your Camera

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Do what ever it takes to buy this lens new lens ! Wish they would upgrade &do it to the EF-24-70mm L lens--------it neeeds IS bid time..., & i would also like to see a f ~stop of 1.2 on the 24-70 :-)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Faster, Better....

By ppro from North-Easterner on 08/10/2010


Pros:

Convenience, Build Quality, Image Quality

Cons:

(unavoidably) Weight, (unavoidably) Size, Cost

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

In my work there's an expression - One only gets to choose two of the following: "Cheaper, Faster, Better". There's no "cheaper" about this lens. Having said that, Canon went out of their way to make sure "faster" and "better" really counted. I cannot compare this to the previous version , though by all accounts, it too was a fine lens. But I can easily see the quality of this one - It's built like a tank, and in my preliminary shooting with it, I found everything that's been said to be true: Fast Focusing - the lens focuses very fast and accurately. Whether "One Shot" or one of the two AI modes, focus is found very quickly with my EOS 5D Mark II. Sharp - I have a vintage zoom lens that covers this range. It's a lot lighter and quite sharp. But to use it with the EOS I have to manually focus, which can lead to errors and soft images. No such problems with this lens. This lens is sharp! Great Color - the colors recorded through this lens are accurate, vibrant, without anything added by the lens - a pretty incredible achievement for Canon given its 23 elements. Nice background blur - because of the long focal lengths and large maximum aperture, throwing things into soft focus in the background is one of the strengths of this lens. Some have commented about the nature of the blur but this has not bothered me. For me this lens covers the range where my 24-105 leaves off, and replaces the manual zoom that worked so well for me, but adds the automation (Image Stabilization, Auto-Focus, Auto-Exposure) these cameras and lenses are known for. If you're looking for an incredibly flexible, rugged, fast operating lens, it would be hard to pass this up. I expect I will be seeing muscles develop in my forearms and shoulders - this is one heavy piece of glass. If you want light and compact consider the f/4.0 version of this lens - said to be an incredible optic as well! Update 7/28/10: After some time with this lens I have come back to repeat my earlier praise and express how incredibly useful this lens is. I shoot close-ups of people and plants - this is great; I like to shoot things from a good distance either to gain better perspective or to capture more natural behavior - again, this works for me; In terms of color, sharpness, and overall handling, this lens is world-class!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens

By Zhao from Austin, TX on 06/25/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just get the lens, some thoughts: 1. IS works, I can get very sharp image at 1/10s F2.8, 200mm with this lens. That is the main reason I upgrade from my NON-IS. 2. The image feel crispy. 3. Feel much heavier than my non-IS. 4. The zoom ring is too tight for my taste 5 Bokeh seems not as smooth as non-IS 6. It seems the infinity of the lens is set to be at hyperfocal distance, so if I try to AF on very far object, the sharpest point will always be somewhere in front of it. The reported AF point is NOT the sharpest point. This is a rare use of the lens and I probably can fix it by manual focus, but somehow I feel for a lens of this caliber and price it should be able to do better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfection!!!

By doc suzi from Southcentral Alaska on 06/19/2010


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, 4 F-stop Image Stabilization, Color And Contrast, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I owned the Series I for several years and it produced very good images. Then came the Series II. Portraits, corporate events, scenery, animals, low light; this lens does it all. I was skeptical about the 4 F-stop IS, but became a believer the first time I was out in the Prince William Sound on a rocking boat. The images are razor sharp, and the bokeh is soft and lovely. The autofocus is silent and very fast. with a battery grip on my EOS 7D, the weight really isn't a problem. Why is it so heavy? The thing is built like a truck. I swallowed hard at the price, and the first photos proved the lens is worth it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

VERY SHARP PROBLEM SOLVER

By PCPHOTO from Fargo, ND on 06/18/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Great Hood Design, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Sharp At F/2.8

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Having owned 4 different Canon 70-200L zoom lenses, this one is the best yet! I was very dissapointed with the series I f/2.8 IS lens wide open, and I ended up purchasing 3 "L" primes in its range to obtain sharp photographs in dim light. That all changed using this new version. The generation II f/2.8L lens offers even better performance than the f/4L IS version, (which is excellent, but a bit too slow for available light photography) and is much more effective than my non IS "L" primes in this range due to its awesome image stabilizer unit. What a problem solver! Wedding/portrait photography for me will never be the same. Highly recommmend!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worth every penny.

By Butter from Los Angeles, California on 06/14/2010


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Image Stabilization, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Honestly, I don't know what to say other than this. It's worth every penny. This is an amazing lens. The clarity, the color. The bokeh. I have yet to have any CA issues even in strongly backlit shots. The IS is incredible - super sharp results even at unprecedented shutter speeds. Very fast focusing that is whisper quiet. It's also tack sharp wide open all the way through from 70-200mm. It is big and heavy - no doubt about that. I'm a very small woman though and I still think it's more than worth it. I'll do the pushups necessary, gladly. And there isn't really any way around it, a reduction in weight would mean a reduction in quality and it's certainly not worth that. If you're on the fence, don't be. Just buy it. You will not regret it in a million years. This is an absolutely incredible lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

amazing

By manny from albany new york on 06/04/2010


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Love The Way The Hood Lacks On The Lens, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Pricie

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

just got my first l series lens . and it is truth you get what you paid. The first day i shot a wedding on a baunquet hall at very dim light , i realize i left my flash home so i took a chance and i could not believe the amazing resorts . This lens allow a begginer like me look like a pro.The blutleted backgrouns on the pic at 2.8f are incredibly beutifull. The fallowing monday late afternoon i shot a soccer game with similar results . all i could say It Worth every penny i paid for it .


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sport lens choice

By IRAD from Undisclosed on 05/08/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Flexible

Cons:

Weight, Cost

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this lens for taking photos of my daughter's swim team. It has performed above and beyond expectations in all respects. Have used it with 20D, 5D and now 7D. Fast & accurate autofocus. Photos are ultra-sharp throughout the zoom range. IS has worked well in my shaky hands. Indoor shots in poor lighting still amaze me. 2.8 allows fun short depth of field affects outdoors as well. Have used with 1.4X extender and again the results are spectacular. A bit heavy, you don't want to carry this lens around all day. But for sports events where you want to see the individual water droplets with each stroke, this is the lens. The real question is would you buy the lens again. The answer is unquestionably yes. Having left my first in the DFW airport, I had no hesitation buying the same lens again. Hope you enjoy it as much as I do.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

AWESOME! But is it worth the price difference?

By vman from Parma, OH on 05/05/2010


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Closer Focusing Distance, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is definitely a worthy new contestant for Canon's best portrait ZOOM. I've been spoiled by having the luxury of buying all the lenses that I wanted. This lens is hands down better than the first version- autofocus is fast on both lenses so it's impossible to tell the difference. Sharpness leaves a little to be desired, and once again - I am spoiled by my 85mm f/1.2L II that features sharpness of a Samurai sword. Image Stabilizer is much the same- hard to tell the difference until I get a hardcore run with this baby through a wedding. Minimal focusing distance is where my happiness levels started to rise- EVERY INCH COUNTS. That little bit of improvement differentiates these lenses for me. The only BIG complaint I have is the $600 difference (yes, 600, not 500 in retail value). At this price difference, one must really think: is it worth it? I am starting to realize it wasn't. I had to sell 2 lenses and add $400 to buy this baby. So before running out to your camera store: consider my words of wisdom.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Significant improvement!

By Steve D from Georgia on 05/04/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned Version I of this lens for quite sometime and have always been very pleased. I was reluctant to upgrade but decided to go ahead. I am happy that I did. I was able to compare side by side before selling my Version I. Both are so good that you have to look hard to find improvements. The IS is improved and I noticed a big difference when doing handheld video with my 5D mk II. Also, when shooting wide open at 200mm at f/2.8, I noticed a huge improvement in edge detail which was not noticeable until >200% magnification was used to view. However, the difference was significant. Most people do not crop their images that much but that edge detail can play a huge roll when sharpening. I did not experiment much further as I was already sold and knew I made the right decision. I have continued to be amazed by what I can produce from this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The lens is quicker than the eye !

By SoccerShots from Atlanta, GA on 04/21/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I picked up one of the first available in Atlanta and I am glad I waited for the IS II. I shoot local high school soccer games and this lens will produce details and action like no other I have ever seen. I am using the new 7D body and together these make an affordable high end results package for the advanced amatuer. Even at night at 2.8 and ISO of 6400 the shots are very good with little noise. It is fun to be able to give the Moms and Dads of these players shots of their kids that just blow them away. Thanks Canon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Emphatic and the best

By Shuvo from Dhaka on 04/15/2010


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Low Noise, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Great Field Of Depth

Cons:

Weight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just after the launch of this lens i grabbed my hands on it and I must tell everyone one thing that CANON is the best in the market. I am suprised to see the picture sharpness at the maximum level and its robust built quality. Even without the tripod in a very shaky situation super steady shots can be taken. Furthermore, noise is very low at maximum zoom level. Even at very low light it can take the fastest steady picture. Your physical fitness is another important dignity to do freelance with this monster.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sharp, Sharp, Sharp Lens

By 70-200 Lover from Atlanta, GA on 03/30/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Sharp Images Even At 200mm

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my second L lens that I have purchased and all I can say it WOW! This lens is so sharp at max range. At 200mm your pictures will be sharp and clear. Deciding between the MK1 and MK2, the MK1 f2.8 or f4 is still a very respectable lens. The MK2 just improves on that, it takes sharpness to a new level when shooting


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Extremely satisfied

By Bill from Quarryville, Pa on 03/27/2010


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

What a great combination, the new sharper EF 70-200 f/2.8 USM II with the EOS 7D. I would highly recommend this lens. It is a pleasure now to be able to shoot wide open. Thanks Canon!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Lens

By ErnieM from PENNSYLVANIA on 03/27/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned the 70-200mm f4 IS lens and the 70-200mm f2.8 IS MK 1 before buying this lens and all I have to say this lens is just amazing it is super sharp at 2.8 And has amazing detail that I did not notice with the MK 1 version I would definetly would recommend it to anyone you will not be dissapointed!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Quality

By golf88 from Kelowna, BC on 03/25/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Tripod Ring Removal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I recently purchased this lens and I am extremely impressed by the image quality and superb autofocus. The ability of this lens to handle low-light situations and deliver up to 4-stops of image stabilization is simply unmatched. Even though Canon makes some very excellent prime lenses, I feel that the 70-200 Mark II is almost like a collection of 130 prime lenses. The image quality is just THAT good. The use of Canon Extenders (both 1.4x and 2.0x) coupled to this lens are very nice additions and give the 70-200 a lot more versatility. One thing that I would like to point out is that the tripod ring is a bit tedious to remove in that it requires the lens to be detached from the body first. It would be much more convenient if the tripod ring could be attached or removed while the lens is still attached to the camera body. I look forward to shooting more with this lens and am eagerly anticipating more fabulous results. Thanks Canon!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Absolutely excellent

By Aaron from Undisclosed on 03/25/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I strongly recommand this lense, which worth else penny.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great, as always

By ModelPhotog from Englewood, NJ on 03/13/2010


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a classic, and better than the first. Love this lens just as much as the first. Do love the new locking lens hood which is great and the closer focusing distance is good for indoor model shoots. Would have liked it closer to the original price as I can't believe that even a few new things added that much more $$


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dynomite Combo

By hilljo1 from Los Angeles, CA on 03/12/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have have my EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM for a week now. When combined with my new 1D Mark IV, it is an unbeatable combination. I can get quick focus and tack sharp at a 2.8 wide open aperture!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Supreme IS and sharpness!

By Ulso from HK on 03/11/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I took shots with the 2x extender II (400mm)and still have sharp picture by 1/8 sec. hand held! Excellent performance!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Superb !!!

By shootingseattle from Seattle on 03/11/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just purchased this to compliment my 7D. I've had the series 1 70-200 F/2.8 IS, and this new series II is beefer, a little heavier and the lens barrel is all the same size. Very easy to handhold, and the auto focus is noticably faster. I also believe that the image quality is a notch up, and that is saying something, considering the original model was superb. Neat little change in the len shade. I look forward to Canon upgrading the rest of the 'white whale' series in the near future. I will be shooting the AKC show this weekend, and I'm looking forward to working in so-so lighting, and doing 8FPS and getting alot of 'keepers'. A tip of the hat to the folks at Canon!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I LOVE THIS LENS!

By FILTHYSANDMAN from SAN DIEGO, CA. on 02/09/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS LENS TO ANYONE WHO CAN AFFORD IT, IT IS PURE BLISS. NO OTHER LENS EVEN COMES CLOSE TO THE QUALITY.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Canon Lens Ever!!!

By Hotshot from Orlando on 01/20/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

How do you improve on perfection? You release the Mark II version of the best Canon lens ever. Image stabilization is incredible in low light and slow shutter speeds. Do you need the upgrade? You bet!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved