Home » Accessories » Camera Accessories » Lenses & Filters » 2752B002 » 48 Reviews

Canon Ef-s 18-200mm F/3.5-5.6 Is Zoom Lens - 0.24x - 18mm To 200mm - F/3.5 To 5.6 (2752b002) Reviews
Canon Ef-s 18-200mm F/3.5-5.6 Is Zoom Lens - 0.24x - 18mm To 200mm - F/3.5 To 5.6 (2752b002)

Canon Ef-s 18-200mm F/3.5-5.6 Is Zoom Lens - 0.24x - 18mm To 200mm - F/3.5 To 5.6 (2752b002)Added to our catalog within last 30 days

Compact, lightweight and a wide magnification range. This standard zoom lens features a wide focal length range from normal to telephoto equivalent to 29-320mm in the 35mm format. It features an Optical Image Stabilizer for up to 4-stops of effective correction even at full zoom. Since Canon's optic... <more> 

Canon Model: 2752B002

$698.50

20 in stock
This product qualifies for FREE Ground Shipping!

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 48 reviews)

80% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Fast Auto-focus (25), Super-sharp Images (19), Superior Build Quality (21), Versatility (3)

Cons:

Poor Build Quality (6), Lens Creep (3), Semi-sharp Images (9), Slow Auto-focus (3), Price (4), Heavy (5)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Does a Nice Job

By Retired User from Colorado on 01/30/2015

I haven't used this lens much, but so far I have been very pleased with it. It seems a little heavy, but I need just a single lens to carry on travels. So far I have nothing bad to say about the lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

superb value , maximum coverage

By ecar from Portland Oregon on 07/29/2014


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My first DSLR was the Canon kit which included the 60D w/ the 18-200 Lens. I still own the lens, but not the camera. I've read all of the reviews, and would like to say that the cons on this lens are not a big deal, and easy to live with, considering what this lens does, especially for the money!! And YES, if you take care of your things, it makes all the difference in the world. This lens may not take the abuse that other more expensive lenses do. I don't consider this lens a poor build at all, it's just not an "L" lens, which causes some to rate it down. I now use it on my 7d and love it. I also own a 5d mrk III. The lenses I own are: (all Canon) EF-S 15-85 / 18-135 / 18-200 EF "L" 16-35 @ F-2.8 "L" 24-70 @ F-2.8 "L" 24-105 @ F-4


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great general purpose lens

By Doug A from Nashville TN on 06/16/2014


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens in Oct, 2008 to replace the Canon 28-135. I like the longer focal length so I do not have to change lenses. Less chance of getting dust on the sensor. After 5 1/2 yrs of using it, I have had no problems to speak of. Barrel is still very tight, very very few specks of dust in the lens. I and my wife travel extensively and the lens is always used. Auto focus is as fast as with the lens with the USM. Some people complain about chromatic abberation, however I have not had any problems with that even with enlargements. Yes, there is lens creep but then if you know that up front, which a person should from looking at the lens prior to buying it, then it is not a problem. Quality wise it is not an L lens but then neither is the price. If people take care of their equipment and don't abuse it, then the lens should last a long long time or until Canon comes out with an upgrade you would want. I have used this lens with the T1i, T2i, 60D, and now the 70D.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Perchase

By M.J. from Tampa, FL on 03/07/2014


Pros:

Fast Auto Focus, Great Quality, Sharp Images

Cons:

Heavy, Lens Creep

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens has become my favorite to use. I use it for a bit of everything from landscape to weddings and everything in between. though I dislike the fact that the lens will not stay at the zoom I am at if I tip the camera forward even slightly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Zoom Lens

By Shutterbug from Arkansas on 11/11/2013


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Heavy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this lens with a 60D camera 18 months ago. Wanted something that would work for most shooting situations. Do not like switching lenses. This is a great lens for anyone that wants to use just one lens to shoot in almost every situation they encounter. Has worked out great. Have taken over 2000 pictures so far. Could not be more satisfied. Yes the lens does creep. Yes it is a little heavy. So far these have not been major problems. Would recommend this for anyone who wants to take great photos.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Professional allrounder

By Architect from Ottestad, Norway on 06/23/2013


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Lens Creep

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a good lens for my general use as a professional architect. The weight gives balance to steady freehand shots. Substantial lens creep is the only drawback as there is not allways a time for using the lock.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best lens

By Morris mania from London on 11/30/2012


Pros:

Super Zoom Lite, Superior Build Quality, Unexpensive, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This lens has very good zoom lite and each kind of zoom in it is very good. 18 is very good WIDE and 200 is very good TELLE.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love the lens, hate the creep

By Kay from Undisclosed on 11/11/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Versatility To The Max

Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Lens Creep

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great walkaround lens. It takes suitably clear and sharp photos and can go from sem-wide angle to a good zoom quickly with quick focus. So I like the lens. What I don't like is the lens creep. I've put up with it because I don't have the warranty card (don't know if I EVER had one!). Don't know what lens creep is? You know how you walk around taking shots, with the camera over your shoulder, and the lens creeps out to its max zoom if you don't have it on lock? Or, using the Canon 60D with its vari-angle LCD monitor that you can twist around so you can focus on your target while holding your camera up over the target - but you can't do that because the lens creeps down to full zoom when you want it to stay at 50mm? I've read this on other reviews so have sort of let it go. I have an EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM that I've never had this problem with. Trouble is, Canon doesn't have any other lenses with this versatility other than the 18-200 that I'm complaining about now. So wake up, Canon! If you can do a superb EF 70-300mm, why not do a superb EF 18-100mm?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very convenient lens

By D314 from Undisclosed on 10/13/2012


Pros:

Takes Good Pictures, Convenient

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens after having been to Mt. Rainier and been frustrated by having to switch back and forth constantly between the two kit lenses (18-55 and 55-250). It might be a little less sharp than those two lenses, but it's good and convenient. The 18-200 lens is the one that will be on my camera 90 percent of the time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Chrome ring is falling off.

By CA Retired from So California on 08/03/2012


Cons:

Low Quality Material

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Chrome ring around the lens is a cheap tape and peeling off. Low quality material used to make it look sturdy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great lens

By Bri from Phoenix, AZ on 07/06/2012


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

I Can Not Think Of Any

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this lens because I got sick of kit lenses. Images are sharp and clear throught the range. Took pics of fireworks from a half mile away and they were outstanding in clarity and quality. I really like the lens lock feature as it does not allow the lense to move when not in use and it takes only a second to unlock it and focus. I put a UV filter on it and I'm stunned by the images I get now.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

All rounder

By Iron from Undisclosed on 01/16/2012


Pros:

Wide Angle Is Good, Great For Beginners, Good Quality Image, Acceptable Zoom Level

Cons:

Lens Needs To Be Locked When Not In Use, Focus Can Be Tricky At Times

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

An amazing choice for an all purpose lens. This was my first lens along with the 60D model, and I found it to be very versatile and took all kinds of photos. Being a nature lover, I also enjoyed taking wide angle sharp images, without having to spend that much for an L series. Overall, its a good lens for general use, and it has a good zoom @ 200mm. The images are of good quality, I would recommend it for beginners till advanced amateurs level.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My 18-200 Review

By Shayne from Salt Lake City on 11/01/2011


Pros:

Super Versital, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Zoom Lock Is Poor Design, Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Many great things about this lens, zoom, speed of focus, compact size verses zoom. Once in a while the auto focus get's confused on trickier shots, but the manual override can fix that when necessary. It's a heavy lens and the zoom slides out when pointed down if you don't have it locked, which wouldn't be terrible but the zoom lock is very poorly designed and cumbersome to use. Apparently a screw came out inside my lens, which I learned is a known issue. Canon will be repairing it at no cost to me. If all is well following the repair, I would rate this lens as a must have for the casual to semi serious photographer. It's a "one-lens" solution for me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

beginner lens

By rudeboy from cleveland on 08/24/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus, Poor Build Quality, Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The lens is big and heavy but feels good and balanced on my 60D.......but my tripod wasn't strong enough to hold it up while i was shooting video of a model. The thing attracts dust like crazy and the 200 side isn't long enough. Autofocus is not bad and images are sharp but not great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lens lock

By Larry from Melbourne, Florida on 08/22/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a nice lens but the locking mechanism for zoom is fragile. Mechanism will soon wear out and this will make it impossible to keep the lens in the retracted position while carrying the camera from place to place.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good all-around lens

By bouldy from Boulder, CO on 08/17/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Sturdy

Cons:

Bulky, Heavy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've taken many amazing pics with this lens and others not so much. The auto focus is spot on about 95% of the time, but at other times I switch to manual just to make sure. Auto focus is very quick and works well with rapid fire shots. I have no complaints about the image quality. The lens is pretty heavy and large, but if I'm only taking one lens with me it has to be this one. It is very shock resistant. I'm a mountaineer and have taken this up many peaks while banging it against rocks (on accident of course). The picture quality has not suffered in the least. Excellent lens for anyone who wants to own just one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

most fun lens you can leave on your camera

By mousepotato from Bay Area, CA on 06/02/2011


Pros:

Color Great For Non L, Fun Fun Fun, Nice Contrast For Non L, Nice Semi Out Of Focus Blur, Complete Photo Coverage, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Medium Build Quality, Not An Artsy Lens, Not Super Wide Aperature

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Sure, the fisheye is probably more fun, but you can't leave it on the camera all the time. This lens can be put on the camera at least 90% of the time unless you need super big aperature. I am not a pro, but do print about 10 photos a year at 30x40 inches. I have shot weddings, vacations, street art and landscapes with it. And I used to have a 5D+24-105 combo. That being said, looking back at thousands of shots, the 24-105 has more eyepopping shots due to it's slightly better contrast, but overall, the T2i+18-200 can get more acceptable shots total with less dust, better color balance, more effective stabilization, and the ability to snag the long shot is like having an ace in your pocket. Both lenses have terrible widest angle distortion, so no good for pure architecture. How useful is it? Well, everytime I slap on the 50 or 28 prime, I end up taking it off within the day for lack actual usefulness. The primes may be technically better, but we arent shooting for magazines here. Except for the absolute wide app blur, this is a great wedding lens. Great indoors, great outdoors. On a side note, I just went to Disneyland and got the dreaded loose screw problem. Good thing the Canon service center was within a 20 minute drive. I can't wait to get that lens back!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not to bad

By scotth from Undisclosed on 04/19/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So I'm not quite sure how to rate this. I bought it solely so I didn't have to take my professional quality L lenses on vacation to the mountains camping, or just out when we go see family and that. I feel more comfortable leaving the big $$ lenses at home. So I knew when i ordered it I wasn't going to have the same quality. I knew that going in. So here are my thoughts. I found the auto focus to be quick and quiet. It focused where I wanted it to. Now, I manual focus probably 95% of the time, but when I got it, i played around with the auto focus just to see how it reacted, and I was rather pleased. As far as the quality of image, I have found that when i am shooting distance the images turn out sharp. The closer I get, the softer the images become. Again, I knew I wouldn't be shooting with an L quality lens, but I was a little disappointed with the softness that it is providing. But, it's not so bad that it is going to ruin a family picture. You aren't going to be entering a major competition with the results. You can get some pretty good "macro" style shots. Always remember you can crop as close as you want, and depending on what camera you are using, you can probably crop even closer than others. So, for the money, i would like it to be a little sharper on the closer shots, but like i say, it isn't a deal breaker. Over all it's a fun lens. I don't have a need for any other lens when i take it out to use it for my purposes. For a professional lens, i would say save your money and get an L series. Always get the best lens as you'll be getting one eventually. I have a 28-135 that provides a much sharper image, but this is still a very nice entry level lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good for vacations

By RXTravel from Boston, MA on 03/29/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus, Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a good lense to have while on a vacation when you do not want to mess around with changing lenses. The images can be a little soft but you get what you paid for and for the price you really cannot complain. The major issue would be the slow auto-focus on this model. I would like to see this lense with USM, current auto focus is very slow and inaccurate.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really

By Bebba from Undisclosed on 03/17/2011


Pros:

Is, Perfect Zoom, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Needs Usm, Heavy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I recently purchased this lens and I absolutely love it! I am an advanced amateur photographer and I really love travel and I travel alot. This lens fulfilled all my needs for everyday use and for all purposes (mostly street photography & portraits). Honestly, it performs much better than I expected and I would definitely recommend it for anyone who wants an all-purposes lens and who loves travel. This lens also features an awesome focal length range. I only wish it had USM and was lighter (it's kinda heavy).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good at everything, but not great at any one thing

By Dj from Star, Idaho on 02/12/2011


Pros:

Great Zoom Range, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When looking at the Canon EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Standard Zoom Lens you see a lens that does a pretty good job at a lot of things, but is not perfect at any of them. It has a very nice zoom range, its wide angle ability is respectable, and its macro ability is adequate. All in all this lens does it all well and is the ideal first lens for any photographer. Then if you require a more task specific lens you may pursue at a later date. The AF is fairly fast, but a tad noisy. (it's not a USM motor, hence the noise) It handles low-light focusing well and the image stabilizer is very good. The lens lock ensures the lens won't be sliding down as it's slung over your shoulder provided you remember to lock it. All in all this is the ideal first lens for anyone. It works very well across the spectrum without any real problems.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good replacement for 18-55 kit lens

By ken from Oxnard, CA on 01/19/2011


Pros:

Good Quality

Cons:

Heavy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am an amateur photographer who prints mainly 4x6 images of family events. I use this lens on a Canon T2i dslr. Compared to the Canon 18-55mm kit lens, this one is heavy. The kit lens weighs about 7 ounces as compared to 21.5 ounces for this lens. This 18-200 lens is about an inch longer than the kit lens, for me, that makes it easier to use as my hand fits under it better. When mounted, it fits in my camera bag so I no longer need to fret about not carrying my 75-300 EF lens. I'm not sure I would want to carry this around mounted with a neck strap all day, it is a bit too heavy for that. For my 'grab and go' camera bag use it is perfect. The image quality, to me is good. I took some hand held shots of a full moon this morning, against a dark sky, with the kit lens and this one. I used various 18-55mm zoom settings, 1/60 - 1/750 s, at various f #s and ISO settings. No matter how I processed the raw images, this 18-200 was always clearer than the 18-55 kit lens. Although not very scientific, that was the only test I needed to convince me about the image quality. It even out performed my lower priced Canon 75-300mm, f4-5.6, EF lens, no surprise. I think the '-S' made the difference with that test. Conclusion: Although a big expense, for me, I am totally happy with this 18-200 lens. My 18-55 kit lens will only now be used when weight is of importance, as in a day long trip to Disney Land. Even in that case, it would be a hard choice not to carry this lens. :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

200mm is NOT 200mm

By suv from Seattle WA on 12/16/2010


Cons:

Focal Length Is Not Accurate

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I can live with all other shortcomings of the lens (distortion, vignetting, lack of sharpness etc) for the sake of the huge 18-200mm zooming range. But, I did some testing, and found that the zooming range is not a true 18-200mm. For example, I set the lens at 200mm, and took pictures focusing at a series of distances (4 ft, 5 ft, 10 ft, 20ft). When focusing 4 ft away, the 200mm focal length was found to be actually only 110mm. Similarly, the 200mm is actually 115mm (at 5 ft), 136mm (at 10 ft) and 159mm (at 20 ft). Sorry for the disappointment if you think you have a 200mm lens, Also, the zoom range is not 11x as it is commonly called. Just shot an object at 4 ft away with your lens set at 18mm and 200mm, and compare the two sizes. You will find the size ratio is only about 7x, NOT 11x. People who are reading this, you don't have to believe me; just do it yourself, or compare the lens with any other lens (for example Canon 55-250mm).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

decent kit lense

By Rex from South China Sea on 10/25/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I recently bought a 60D in Malaysia, replacing my Rebel XT(350D) that my son now owns.. The kit lense that came with it is the EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS. For your average user, this lense will be all that they need, but with 5 years of owning Canon products under my belt and 4 SLR lenses so far, I need to step up to a L class lense to get the quality that I'm looking for in my photos.. it's true, that the lenses can make or break the quality of your photos...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

decent all-in-one, when it's working

By rebel xsi shooter from Norfolk, VA on 10/11/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i use this as my standard lens because it works well in just about any situation but the lens has locked up on me twice and had to be repaired.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My most used lens

By evanger371 from Central New Jersey on 04/08/2010


Pros:

Range (short & Wide), Fast Auto-focus, Versatility

Cons:

Lens Walk

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using this lens over a year now and it has an intimate relationship with my XSi (soon to be T2i). At 18-30mm this lens is extremely useful for crowded places and where space is tight. At 50-80mm It has resulted in some of the best people pics I've taken and is also great for architecture, landscape and local critters. And for those times (think zoo, outdoor parties, beyond fences & walls) the 200mm reaches places that I cannot actually touch. The stabilization is a fantastic feature for these long shots as well and when coupled with a 1.4x teleconverter you've got even more capabilities. Given the resolution of most of the EOS line, cropping the image after the fact can result in some really dramatic pictures. The lens does have a tendency to walk (move by itself) when tilted at more than a 30-45 degree angle. If you are hand-holding your camera then this is less of an issue. However, if you are using a tripod and shooting up (birds, two-row panoramas, moon) or down with a remote shutter release or the timer then you'll need to be more mindful. Like I said at the beginning, this is the lens that spends most of the time on my camera. It is what I had hoped for when I bought it and it has fulfilled it's promise of versatility, quality, and all-around value.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Versatility

By Ostrich from Pennsylvania on 04/08/2010


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this lens for a trip to Africa and it was perfect - great wide shots and completely adequate zoom made it work on just about any occasion. If you are going to travel with one lens, this is the one to pack.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A MUST HAVE FOR YOUR BAG

By Senior from Wilmington, NC on 02/21/2010


Pros:

Cheap Compared To Two Lenses!, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is by far the most veristal lens your could buy. At 18mm focal range it is amazing how wide the field of view is. The zoom at 200 is well worth the extra money compared to the 28-135. This is a must have for every body that needs a wide range without the headache of switching lenses back and forth. This one is an A++++++.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

We have use this lens ...

By Bud from Campbellsville,KY on 11/09/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Price A Little High

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have use this lens alot it is avery good all around lens, its the one that stays on our camera most of the time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great All Around lense

By Bando from North Texas on 10/25/2009


Pros:

Compactness, Versatility, Fast Auto-focus, Replaces Having To Carry Multiple Lenses, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Lense Won't Stay In Retract Position

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great all around lense to keep on the camera where medium light and zoom might be necessary. I've taken this on many trips because of the versatility and relatively compactness all in one lense. Takes great photos and the 200 zoom is very handy for my needs. I have used this for sports and does relatively well in bright lighting but use the 70 - 200 2.8 lense for all other important low light , fast sports photography shots as this lense suffers for fast low light. The lenses after 2 months creeps and won't stay in place but for the overall versatiitly and compactness I just use the lock for the lense when not in use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Lens Overall, Quality Problems

By Canon User since 1997 from SF Bay Area, CA on 10/07/2009


Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Good travel lens, no problems with image quality. Quite heavy. This lens has a creeping problem. Plastic zoom lock, (intended to lock the lens to prevent creeping) got broken very soon, causing lens locked and not operable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor quality zoom.

By Michaelangelo from Raleigh NC USA on 09/06/2009


Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The lens is very versatile, but if you plan to use the zoom in the 200 range the quality of pictures are poor, pictures are not sharp. In the short range or portraits I had some really good pictures. I will definitely go with the L as soon as I can afford it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lock pin broke- Lens now stuck

By Richard from Wellsboro, PA on 07/27/2009


Cons:

Durability

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I loved this lens until I used the lock. The lens will extend under its own weight so they provided a lock to hold it. I found this feature after about 6 months when I read the manual. I turned the lock on and it broke immediately. There was a rattle in the lens and soon the lens stuck. This is just what happened to another reviewer. Too bad. I used to love this lens but the lock feature was defective.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great focus but too much vignetting

By Zark from Austin, TX on 07/21/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this lens for about six months now and it has certainly been my primary lens during that time. While I have other lenses, I really only use this or the 24-70 f/2.8. If I expect not to need the extra wide angle of the 18 or the telephoto beyond 70, then I definitely use the 24-70. But, of course, I often want the larger range. Using this lens is a pleasure. It focuses very fast and the IS is very good. The only real usability issue I have with it is that the zoom creeps quite a bit with gravity. The results, on the other hand, can be less than stellar. Not surprisingly, it can be a bit soft at full zoom, particularly since I'm often shooting action if I'm using full zoom, so I usually have the lens fairly wide open to keep the shutter speed high. The bigger problem I've had, though, is the fairly severe vignetting that occurs both at 18mm and at 200mm. While the vignetting is usually trivial to correct in post-processing (or even to crop away, as I often would do anyway), it still bothers me about the lens. When I purchased this lens, it was meant to be a vacation lens for when I didn't want to carry any other lenses. It fills that role very well, but a couple of months later I bought the Canon SX200 IS, which fills that need better. I expect to eventually get the 70-200 f/2.8 (IS or not) and I'm not sure what my usage pattern will become at that point.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Versatile For Out Door Shooting

By jrphoto from Sanger, CA on 06/13/2009


Pros:

Versatility, Price, Image Stabilizer

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images, Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I don't use flash so I rely on ambient light. For shooting Portraits, this lense is very versatila for out door shooting when the sun is up and when the sun is an hour away from setting. But because of the f/3.5 to f/5.6, this is not a lense for shooting portraits indoors. It has also been a great lens for city scape photography at night using a tripod.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent walkaround lens

By JTIII in Houston from Housto, TX on 06/09/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I haven't had this lens off my camera since I bought it. This is a terrific lens that does excellent telephoto and close up shots.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice Lens for a Beginner

By Wizard from Viera, Florida on 06/07/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The lens came with a 50D kit that I bought as an upgrade from an XTi with a 17-85mm. While the previous lens was an excellent lens, I was often disappointed with the lack of reach. The 18-200 works very well for close ups as well as mid range but lacks a little quality for the distant photos that don't seem to be quite as sharp as expected. As I gain more digital experience, I may think about trading up to an L lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Decent every day lens. Not very durable

By njphoto from Lyndhurst, NJ on 06/02/2009


Pros:

Price

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images, Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have owned this lens for about 6 months now. The lens is quite heavy so there is a zoom lock to keep the lens from extending. After a few months, this switch didn't work so well and the lens would extend on its own once in a while. Eventually something broke inside the lens and now it doesn't zoom out all the way. I can hear plastic rattling inside the lens. The optics were ok for the price. Definitely not the sharpest. I've decided to cut my losses with this lens and upgrade to a 24-105mm F/4L


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent walkaround lens

By JTIII in Houston from Houston, Texas on 05/27/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent lens for everyday purposes. Only lens I took on a recent trip-great versatility, excellent close-ups and great landscapes. Many compliments on photos.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

super zoom not up to par with canon optics quality

By hola! from gig harbor wa on 03/22/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Odd Artifacts Refected Into Images From Use In Bri, Semi-sharp Images, Focus Ring Sits On The Edge Of The Zoom Ring

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

this lens is bulit well but its sharpness and optics arent what i expected terrible quality pictures buy a shorter range zoom you will regret buying this lense


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worth the wait

By Camera Fun from Rochester, MN on 02/14/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have had our Canon Digital Rebel XT for over 3 years now and we have been waiting for a lens like this since then. We initially bought the 17-85mm IS lens, which was a great lens. This lens has not disappointed. It's great to have the extra range so that we don't have to carry 2 lenses like we used to (had the 75-300mm lens as well).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Lens

By Vinny from PA on 12/27/2008


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It takes great pics even in low light, and it's wide range and the fantastic quality of the images. In all a great picture taking and all around lens. Great lens that I'm happy. Nice features: High quality optics 4-stop Image Stabilizer No flare or ghosting


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lens might be faulty

By roundkat from Undisclosed on 12/24/2008


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this as a package with my 50D. The issue is when the lens is extended just a little and I am shooting something below me the lens extends fully.. so I have to hold the lens from extending.. It must be defective..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

18-200mm IS Lens as a 50 D package

By Keoni from Honoulu, Hawaii on 12/13/2008


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great lens that I'm happy I decided to get. It'll be my most used walk around lens until Canon comes out with something better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wary when first offered as a 50D kit lens

By Keoni from Honolulu, Hawaii on 12/13/2008


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Hello, When I went to pick up my 50D our dealer informed us of two kit lens available, the 28-135mm IS and the new 18-200mm IS. Since I already own a 28-135mm IS,16-35mm L, 28-70mm L, 28-300mm IS L, 70-300mm IS, 70-200mm IS 2.8L, 100-400mm IS 4.5L, 50mm 1.4 lens, and an 800mm IS 5.6L, my wife purchased as a surprise birthday gift, I was pondering whether to also purchase the new 18-200mm IS. Fortunately, I decided to take the 50D with the 18-200mm IS lens package. Upon getting home I anxiously put the lens on and took hundreds of shots along the beach fronting our yard. I have no regrets with the lens option and it seems as if it'll be my most used walk around lens. Off the subject, my wife and daughter also got me the new 5D II with the 24-105mm IS 4L package last week and that lens on the 5D seems like the combination was made for each other. Both are excellent walk around lens with their low weight, sharpness, quick focusing, and their IS properties. Of course, for specialized photo situations our other Canon lens are better suited when I need the zoom power, special situations, or for indoor portraits. My only and biggest gripe with Canon is they don't allow access to where we can purchase their proprietary apparel especially for men, such a shirts, windbreakers, caps, visors, product decals, etc. other wise I'd rate them a lot higher. Keoni


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens!

By YoungAtHeart from Alabama on 12/02/2008


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this lens when I upgraded to the 50D camera. I really didn't want another lens since I already have 6 ranging from a 10mm to a 400mm but since it came with the camera I decided to give it a try. In the 6 weeks that I have had this lens I have used it more than all my other lens put together! I find myself reaching for this lens instead of my other "specialty lens" when I'm going on a shoot because of it's wide range and the fantastic quality of the images I get. My only regret is that I didn't get this lens sooner!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens for the money

By Augie from Louisiana on 11/15/2008


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I think canon is on the right track with this lens. Everything about it just makes sence. When you do not have a full frame camera this is the way to go. Your bag and your back will thank you. It takes place of all the other lens. I still carry my 70-200 is usm 2.8 because it really takes the best pics. My wife loves the new lens it takes great pics even in low light you will be supprised. I have taken some great pics in low light without the flash. In all a great picture taking and all around lens. You will be happy with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very nice & sharp image

By SuperV18 from Bay Area California on 11/06/2008


Cons:

Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

just got it 2 days ago with 50D, totally satisfied with it. For those who travel a lot having a light kit like this lens is nice. This will eliminate the hassle of bringing several lenses when traveling and changing lenses in the of an uncontrolled.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved