Home » Accessories » Camera Accessories » Flash/video Lights » 2805B002 » 35 Reviews

Canon 2805b002 Speedlite 430ex Ii Compatible W/ All Eos And Powershot Pro Canon 2805b002) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 35 reviews)

87% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Fast Recycling Time (21), Good Exposure Performance (24), Quiet (20), Superior Build Quality (21)

Cons:

Slow Recycling Time (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Cool flash

By Abbey from West Palm Beach, Florida on 05/01/2015

Just purchased Canon 430 EX flash. Did some initial tests and found it perfect for my needs. It's compact and light and throws enough light to light a room at an ISC 400.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

General Flash

By Stevo from Oregon on 12/05/2014

Bought the flash about a month ago. So far has been very positive as a general flash. Lacks certain features, cannot be used as a master flash, only as a slave, no PC socket, makes it more difficult to use off camera, without additional accessories, and No support for HV external battery packs. Does have some good manual features such as power ratios, although would have preferred to have 1/2 settings instead of ..." setting, exposure compensation (+-) 2 stops. Auto settings get good results and custom setting on flash are good. Unit is quiet, recycles fairly fast with rechargeable batteries and easy to use once you learn how to use. Since I am not using this flash for professional reasons, the few features it lacks, was not important enough for me to buy the more expensive 600ex. For what I use it for, it meets my needs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great general flash

By Aliya from San Diego, CA on 10/10/2014

This is a wonderful all around flash. I carry this flash around with me all the time as it works great in most situations where I suddenly find myself needing the help of a flash. For the price point, it's the flash I have for general use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

plenty for me

By AlexOK from Oklahoma on 01/23/2014


Pros:

Refresh Rate, Size, Power, Battery Life

Cons:

Build

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used the 430 EX for a few years now, and have never found myself in a situation where I would need the much more expensive 580 or 600. I only use this indoors when shooting portraits, and even with my 135mm, I get plenty of light from this flash. The recycle rate works just fine, and this unit really stretches battery life. If you cannot justify spending the extra money for the larger flash, then don't. It is likely this will cover most of your wants and needs. In addition, the size makes for stuffing it in your day bag much easier and practical.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good basic flash

By Curt from Northern Ca on 11/05/2013


Pros:

Quiet, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

No Sync Cable Hookup, Slow Recycling Time, No External Power

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this as my first flash unit, not knowing a lot about flashes but knowing I probably wouldn't be happy with a generic off-brand unit. For a first go-round, I've been pretty happy with this flash. It does exactly as advertised and while the bigger ones may have more power and more features, I find this one gets everything done that I can reasonably expect. The controls, like most Canon controls, take a little time to learn. Once there though, it's pretty literal. Pretty much set it to ETTL and your camera will control it just fine. I've started using it for High School Football games and this is where I immediately found it's shortcomings... The unit just doesn't have quite enough power to be used at the distances I'm pushing it to. It also uses battery power at an exorbitant rate when pushed to it's maximum. I also found that it does not have provisions to use an external power supply which I find to be very disappointing. I'm forced to use batteries the entire time... Another piece I find missing for the heavier use is the ability to run a sync cord. All functions must be done either through the hot shoe or wirelessly. If I want to move the flash off camera, even incrementally, it must be done wirelessly. While the average person taking photos likely would not worry so much about what I cite as shortcomings, I wish I would have known ahead of time. Understandably, there is no list of what it doesn't have or do - one must compare and contrast ad nauseum in order to discover it all. Again, over-all this is a great little flash. I've just worked into heavier needs and this one is going to demote to a slave function...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

For the love of light

By Still miss my Ftb from Milwaukee, WI on 11/14/2012


Pros:

Quiet, Good Bounce At Close Range, Superior Build Quality, Good Exposure Performance

Cons:

Buttons A Little Hard To Use., Slow Recycling Time

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I discovered years ago that in order to improve my pictures, artificial lighting was essential, Most shots do not turn out as you envision them without the proper lighting. You can achieve excellent lighting in a studio atmosphere but when taking shots on the fly indoors/outdoors the natural light in a scene doesn't always cut it. The 430 EX II is easy to use for a beginner and has the features someone with more experience would like. It has great bounce capabilities at shorter ranges and it is quiet. It doesn't flash multiple times like some units to set the exposure. I find those types extremely annoying. And if you ever want to upgrade your lighting system or use it in a studio it makes a great slave unit. Nice unit for the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cant believe I lived without it this long.

By Slowpoke from Republic Mo on 09/08/2012


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Recycling Time, Good Exposure Performance, Quiet, Priced Right

Cons:

Adjustment Buttons Hard For Big Hand People

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is way past simple in ETTL mode. Makes pictures perfect at even 1/30 sec at ISO 200 hand held to freeze action of water droplets. Rapid fire keeps up also. Have not tried other features yet but WOW.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not powerful enough for bounce flash.

By WhiteFang from Scarsdale NY on 06/16/2012


Cons:

No Good For Bounce Flash

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

With my new 5D Mark III, I still have to go to ASA 800 or above to get acceptable bounce flash result in the 10 to 15 foot distance range. Controls are overly complex and except in direct flash with no defuser this flash is simply under powered. I will exchange for a more powerful flash from either Cannon or third party equipment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy to Use Flash

By bigron452 from Hopewell Junction, NY on 06/05/2012


Pros:

Fast Recycling Time, Good Exposure Performance, Quiet, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Pricey

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I looked at several flash units before making my purchase. I got the T3i 3 months ago, and was looking for an external flash for pictures at night. I looked at the smaller units but wanted more range. I'm not a professional photographer, just a person who takes lots of pictures of my family and friends. This flash has good range, can be used as a slave and adds life to pictures. It was so easy to set up off the camera in remote fashion. I learned to use the remote funtion from the manual and it was really easy .. especially since it was the first time I've ever used more than one flash at once .. I can now zoom, it has a built in light diffuser, it turns to bounce light and will get you good pictures. For a starter like me, you can't go wrong. It's pricey, but I would recommend this flash.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Decent flash at this price

By lee from Penang, MY on 11/30/2011


Pros:

Decent Wireless Range, Decent Price, Average Build Quality, Accurate Exposure

Cons:

Buttons Too Hard To Press, No Weather Sealing, Weak Flash Power To Fill Big Softbox

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use a Canon EOS 60D, I'm an enthusiast and part time wedding photographer. This is a decent flash at it's price. It also makes a really good slave flash, when I use the 580 EX II as my master. But, if you need a strong flash and a big softbox to fill, this flash dissapoints me. The power is not enough for a 80x80 softbox, around 5-10 metres away from the subject. I recommend the 580 EX II if you just want one flash to take with you. Otherwise, this flash is just good for a slave flash. I regret not getting two 580 EX IIs after getting this flash. But for an enthusiast and my budget, this flash is good enough for travelling (lightweight) and simple portraiture. This is not at all recommended for studio photography, as it's too weak. Other than the weather sealing, bad buttons( i love the dial on the 580 EX II ) and the weak power, I have nothing to complain about.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So happy I bought this product!

By Camera Catie from Lakeland, Fl on 11/28/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was getting ready to give a very special party for a dear friend of mine which would be inside. I have the Canon EOS 60 d with the built-flash. After reading everything I could get my hands on along with talking to some 'real photographers', I knew I wanted this flash. While I am very new to all things Canon, I have to say I am very impressed with the pix I took recently with this flash. I can't believe the clear, clean and perfect pix it takes without washing my subject out. I take this flash wherever I go, just in case a photo opt comes along. I am very new to the Canon products, I am now a big fan. I love every pix I take. Years of taking pixs, oh how I wish I had had a "real" camera and the right equipment, well I have it now and I would never go back to the old point and shoot. You will not be sorry you purchased this flash!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I Love This Flash!

By Michele from Denver, CO on 10/04/2011


Pros:

Fast Recycling Time, Superior Build Quality, Outstanding Results, Quiet, Good Exposure Performance

Cons:

No Battery Level Indicator

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I consider myself a "natural light" photographer. I have always avoided flash photography because most of my photos turn out too bright with an unnatural look and feel to them. One of my friends has hired me to shoot her son's birthday party which will be in the evening in November. In Colorado, this translates to an indoor party. I was horrified, but accepted the job even though I knew I would have to swallow my pride and begin exploring flash photography. I attached the flash to my 7D and started shooting. The results are unbelievable! My photos turned out beautiful and I am now a flash convert! I am so excited to explore the 430EX II and I can tell you right now, I am going to have so much fun with this flash. I HIGHLY recommend it to anyone in the market for a high quality, sturdy and versatile flash.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Overall a great flash, with minor cons

By Greengecko from Ashburn, VA on 09/15/2011


Pros:

Fast Recycling Time, Good Exposure Performance, Superior Build Quality, Quiet

Cons:

Battery Level Indicator, No Catchlight Card, Buttons Recessed To Deep

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This flash performs extremely well, recycles fast and lasts for hundreds of shots on good rechargeable batteries (those nice white ones). E-TTL works very well and usually exposes adequately, though I often have to compensate +1 or +2 when using bounce in larger spaces. I'm sure others have commented on the wide diffuser, which works nicely. Make sure you READ THE MANUAL, because there are features you will miss otherwise. The only obvious flaw on this flash is the center "Set" button, which is not so user-friendly because it is too recessed and hard to press if you have large hands. I often have to use a fingernail to get it to work. An easy solution would be to just make it bigger. One features they should have added, given its price tag, is a BATTERY INDICATOR.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great flash

By bacakdin1 from Alexandria, LA on 06/24/2011


Pros:

Good Exposure Performance, Fast Recycling Time

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

great flash for the price. With a D60 it has wireless sync built in and can use it off camera. This flash is very cool, I was able to fire off 6 to 7 shots with the flash firing each time. Used it to capture running water at 1/8000


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this Flash

By Mom of three from Oregon on 06/16/2011


Pros:

Fast Recycling Time, Good Exposure Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great flash. Very easy to use and pictures come out great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Canon : the name says it all

By thunderdog2367 from Youngstown , ohio on 06/15/2011


Pros:

Quiet, Good Exposure Performance, Fast Recycling Time, Easy To Mount And Dismount, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was looking for a serious external flash for my camera. I had a cheap version of the 430 ex which had trouble communicating with my camera and had to almost allways be put into manual to get results. Finally put together the money and got this unit. The build is solid as a rock and the performance is top notch. The instructions could have had a bit more information and tips but playing with this and learning what it can do is turning out to be half the fun. In short, you want Canon performance and quality buy the real deal.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice speedlite

By JIN from new york, Brooklyn on 03/29/2011


Pros:

Good Exposure Performance, Fast Recycling Time

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

very nice speedlite, no complain. but this speedlite can upgrade to weather sealing like the 580 ex ii. it is very good as a slave flash too.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very decent flash; thumbs up!

By Big Juicy from Jacksonville, FL on 03/20/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Good Exposure Performance, Fast Recycling Time, Rotating Head, Quiet

Cons:

Slightly Heavy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just bought this a couple of weeks ago and love it. Did quite a bit of research and ended up with this one and glad I did. Love the rotating head which offers tons of flexibility and the ability to capture shots with very soft light/exposure. Also happy with the ability to adjust the flash output based on needs. Fires very quietly and recharges quickly so you can still burst of you need to. Had read that it was too feature laden and it is but if you read the manual, you can learn how to operate it. Only beef would be the fact that it's a little heavy; may need a monopod/tripod for longer shoots. Buy a diffuser at the same time; you'll need it. Great first flash!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very happy with my flash. ...

By Preacher from St Joseph, MO on 03/04/2011


Pros:

Fast Recycling Time, Superior Build Quality, Good Exposure Performance, Quiet

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very happy with my flash. It is easy to use and works flawlessly with my Canon XTi.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great flash - suspect mount

By Anonymous from Northern lower Michigan on 02/08/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Quiet, Fast Recycling Time, Good Exposure Performance

Cons:

Unreliable Mount Lock

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased a Rebel T2i and Speedlite 430 EX II last year. The flash is powerful and easy to use - the bounce flash feature is very flexible and produces outstanding, soft illumination. My one complaint is that the flash does not stay locked into the camera shoe securely - there is a slight amount of fore-aft free play in the mount when "locked". The locking pin on the flash goes into a chamfered hole in the camera's hot shoe, and I believe that the locking pin may be too short and is riding up the tapered surface of the chamfer, allowing the flash to move rearward. I have had several instances where it had backed out slightly, which resulted in highly overexposed images due to contact misalignment and resulting interrupted communication between the camera and flash. I thought that the metal mounting components on both the flash and camera were supposed to be an improvement, but I NEVER had this happen with my old EOS Elan and Speedlite 430 EZ with its plastic mount and wheel lock.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Off the camera at last

By RDRA from Queens, NY on 02/02/2011


Pros:

Fast Recycling Time, Superior Build Quality, Quiet, Good Exposure Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Want portable lighting that doesn't cause your subject to look washed out? Then start off here. The fact you will be able to rotate the head will be a major improvement over any P&S flash you may have used. It also recycles quick so if you set your camera to continuous fire, the flash will keep up. Fiddling around with ETTL and Manual Modes will also help you grasp lighting and how you can use it to help your images and enhance other lighting, especially if indoors. It is strong, however, so your subjects will have shiny spots of light mostly in the forehead and nose. You may want to use the rotatable head or put the power down when using it or buy a diffuser. Although the light source is bigger, it is not a giant softbox so don't expect everything to be right the first time. Experiment like mad.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Could Be A Good Flash

By Roro from Illinois on 01/29/2011


Pros:

Good Exposure Performance, Superior Build Quality, Quiet

Cons:

Does Not Always Work With Camera, Slow Recycling Time

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Have had this flash for few months now. It takes great pictures they come out wonderful when it works. I am unsure as to why, but there is a bad connection with the canon camera. Even when the flash is fully charged and ready it will not always flash. Ive read other reviews and talked to others with the same results. I also found the recycling time really slow nothing like asking everyone to wait while it charges after one picture with new batteries. Otherwise when it works the pictures come out great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

When will Canon finaly..

By Anonymous from San Diego on 12/11/2010


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Good Exposure Performance, Quiet

Cons:

Slow Recycling Time

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

All the flashes work well but when will Canon develope a product thats truely intergrated? I want a flash that can be powered from the camera grip. I don't think thats too much to ask for considering the technicle capabilities of Canon. Or is there someting else I need to buy?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Rotation Problem

By Madeline from Undisclosed on 11/29/2010


Pros:

Good Besides The One Con

Cons:

Rotation Problem

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

For an $100 difference, it's so worth getting the 550. If it weren't for one particular problem (which I explain below), I'd say just get the 430 (unless you need to be in massive rooms and need the full power of the 550). Anyway, because of the problem, I absolutely recommend getting the 550. The entire purpose of having an external flash is to have the control to bounce it diagonally backwards at the white walls and ceilings so that you get a diffused light coming from that desired diagonal angle. But the 430 doesn't go backwards to the right, it only goes backwards to the left! You have to either rotate it straight back or to the right. Neither of which are useful for creating that desired modeling along the face. Straight back gives you head-on lighting and to the right doesn't really reach the subject if you're not right up against it. And if it does reach the subject, then you're getting very intense side-lighting, which is a very specific effect that shouldn't be the only option. In addition to the backwards to the right problem, there's more about the rotation problem--there are not many options as to where to point it, just a few, and that feels so limiting when trying to shoot an event and bounce the flash at the correct spot--whereas the 550 has many nuanced options. I regret not getting the 550.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A flash for everyone

By Melo from Undisclosed on 11/26/2010


Pros:

Quick-lock Metal Foot, Lots Of Useful Features, Wireless Slave, Small But Powerful

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this a week ago for my Christmas vacation and as a wireless slave. The excellent 580 II that I have used for several months is too big for my travel bag. It is powerful enough even for bouncing off the ceiling, although not much lighter than the 580 its length is more practical for travel. Its great for just about any application. If I must say something negative about it the tilt head and battery door built quality would be its only drawback. Somehow I feel these two parts aren't as robust as the 580 II that I'm so used to. I would certainly recommend this feature-packed flash for amateurs and professionals.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worth it !

By Peterthethinker from Iowa cali on 05/26/2010


Pros:

Slave, Metal Shoe!, Superior Build Quality, Fast Recycling Time

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was in the market for a replacement for my old dead 420 . I wanted a swivel head and a decent set of features but not the Over kill the 580 has.. I use a 1D mk 2 so I NEED a flash as i have no built in backup . so I got the 430. the layout was a tad confusing at first so I had to Read the book on this one . so At first I was over and under EXP but after I put in in ETTL AUTO I was good to go . the FULL METAL shoe is Awesome!!! No more flash falling off . BUT I am worried tho .. I shoot Basket ball . and I have a few close calls with my old one nearly being knocked off by a stay ball .. with a plastic base the flash will be broke but the SLR and its Hot Shoe will be OKk . I fear the SLR might be ripped to shreds if I ever get a direct hit .. I would rather replace a flash then a Whole Unit . Right now I only use it right on the cam . but I want to tinker with slaves and masters so this unit has RX on it so I can use it later for just that ..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing Flash

By Redglide from Richland, WA on 05/02/2010


Pros:

Good Exposure Performance, Fast Recycling Time, Superior Build Quality, Quiet, Versatility

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the 430EX ll after researching several other Canon flashes as well as some other brands. I take alot of food prep and and final presentation photos for several food specialty books I'm composing. This flash gives me a multitude of options for lighting effects. Absolutely perfect shots every time with little or no PS editing. I would highly recommend this flash for amature or professional use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Incredible Lighting Capabilities!

By Lou from Chicago, IL on 01/09/2010


Pros:

Good Exposure Performance, Fast Recycling Time, Superior Build Quality, Increases Auto Focusing, Quiet, Great Metering

Cons:

I Only Have One...

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This flash is absolutely amazing! That's all I have to say about it. The flash is also great with an off-camera sync cord and gives amazingly dramatic lighting capabilities. I would definitely recommend this flash to amateurs and profession photographers alike! I plan on buying another 430ex ii with the wireless IR transmitter while using color gels to expand the photographic possibilities.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it!

By 13yroldphotodude from Buffalo NY on 12/31/2009


Pros:

Quiet, Used As Master Slave Unit, Good Exposure Performance, Low Price, Superior Build Quality, Fast Recycling Time

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great flash for studio portraits, sports, and Everything else. Love it!!!! lightweight and is highly portable! Highly suggested!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

perfect

By Jen from Charleston, wv on 12/16/2009


Pros:

Good Exposure Performance, Fast Recycling Time, Quiet, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just purchased the canon speedlite 430EX II today. I've played with it for a couple hours and I love it already. I havn't had a chance to use it for portraits yet but I did try it out on my two cats and I was amazed at the results. I was always annoyed at indoor photos of pets because without a flash it they moved one little bit it would blur plus bad lighting it was grainy. With the pop up flash I have on my canon it made my cats look different. I had to photoshop alot with the color. I used this flash and I made the flash bounce off the wall and ceiling. The shots were unbelieveable! They had so much detail they were perfect. Took about 30 photos and didn't have to edit any. They actually looked better then when I do edit. I did notice you have to switch settings alot to get the right photo with different things. Some may turn out completely white and come may be dark. Takes some time to learn all the settings with your camera and the flash but it's well worth it to get great photos. I'm not sure about everything but I do know I'm super excited to learn more and have better photos.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product

By DJ from Phoenix AZ on 12/05/2009


Pros:

Fast Recycling Time, Good Exposure Performance, Quiet, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great product ! I take a lot of pictures using flash have used several other models,but this is the best buy far. Great features and performance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Nice

By Psuedocode from Denver, Co on 04/30/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Quiet, Good Exposure Performance, Looks Nice

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am impressed with the flash, it complements my camera nicely and provides good light in darker areas. The contious shooting is great. It was a litlle pricey but friends who bought less have been disapointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wow

By Tyler from Greenwood, IN on 04/06/2009


Pros:

Has A Swivel Head, Fast Recycling Time, Has Auto Zoom Functions And Sensor Size Compensati, Good Exposure Performance, Auto Metering Is Wonderful, Quiet, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I do portrait photography, and this is the perfect flash for my business. It is second in line with canon's flash lineup, and comes loaded with features. It can be controlled from the camera body itself and has manual capabilities. The high speed sync is also very useful as you can use your camera's maximum shutter speed and still use the flash.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great!

By ssk from Eugene, OR on 02/20/2009


Pros:

Good Exposure Performance, Fast Recycling Time

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great improvement over the 430EX, much faster cycle time, even longer battery life. The in-camera controls are great too. Well worth it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good flash

By Jim from Regina, Sk on 01/06/2009


Pros:

Good Exposure Performance, Fast Recycling Time, Perfect Size

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was planning on buying Canon's Speedlite 430EX II for myself as a post Christmas present. To my surprise and delight I received it as a gift. It worked flawlessly through the holiday season. The resulting images where significantly better than shots taken with the built-in flash. The Speedlite 430EX II was able easily fill the room/area with sufficient light to produce some impressive shots. I even feel that the built in assisted metering of the flash allow more successful shots: Fully in focus on the intended target, richer colors, excellent lighting. I take lots of photos - Christmas morning with kids results in nearly 200+ photos in less than 1.5 hours. I had typically used the camera's built in flash on my Digital Rebel and I often found that after about 5 or 6 quick successive pictures the built-in xenon flash would overheat/overloaded and takes astronomically long to cooldown. This external flash held up extremely well and was able to keep up with my shooting and I did not need to replace the batteries at all. The Speedlite 430EX II offers all the features that I find useful. The one thing is that it can not act as a master when using more than one flash but to me that is just fine. When/if I get around to requiring a second flash this unit with still be perfect. The size is great and fits perfectly in my camera bag - a Lowepro SlingShot 200 AW. The 580EX II is just a tad to big to fit nicely and felt a bit awkward on my camera. I think the Speedlite 430EX II is a perfect fit for me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved