Home » Computers » Printers » Laser & Inkjet Printers » 2868B002 » 39 Reviews

Canon 2868b002 Printer, Canon, Pixma Ip3600 Photo Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 39 reviews)

79% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Easy Setup (24), Reliable (19), High Quality Output (4), Fast Print Speed (16), Low Ink Consumption (6), Lightweight/portable (7), Sharp Tones & Colors (20), Compact Design (13), Durable (8), Easy To Use (26)

Cons:

Slow Print Speed (7), Unreliable (3), Difficult To Use (4), Flimsy Construction (4), Large Footprint (3), Difficult Setup (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

waste of money

By Linda Z from Lisle, Illinois on 07/18/2014


Pros:

Okay Photo Prints

Cons:

Paper Feed Doesn't Work, Cheap Construction, Poor Value, Communication Issues, New Ink Cartridges Won't Work, Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I wasn't happy with this printer since the time I took it home from the store. Wish I had returned it immediately for a refund. Copies of photos are not too difficult to make, but when printing documents the paper tray does not insert into the printer correctly and therefore the paper needs to be pushed in at the exact time the printers ready otherwise it fail to print. I've spent as long as 30 minutes trying to print 1 copy of a document. The ink constantly had to be re-seated. If not the printer does not recognize the ink cartridges. I'm throwing it in the garbage today as I have spent countless hours trying to troubleshoot reasons as to why it won't print due to numerous errors.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I have been using this ...

By Sorge from Windsor Ontario CA on 02/09/2014


Pros:

Greta Value, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using this printer for the last two years, and love it. Great value for the money


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is the Canon printer to buy

By Cforhappiness from San Jose on 06/26/2013


Pros:

Easy Setup, Reliable, High Quality Output, Fast Print Speed

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very fast print speed. Clear ink cartridge allowing users to see ink level. However, ink is too expensive and cartridges are now smaller than previous generations of Canon ink cartridges.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Printer

By CDP from North Wales, PA on 04/05/2013


Pros:

Reliable, High Quality Output, Easy To Use, Easy Setup, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this printer now for 2 years. Very dependable with good photo quality output. We have several canon printers throughout the house. This is our least expensive one the is my "beater". I lug it from work to our basement. Cant tell much difference in photo quality between this and our more expensive ones. This printer does run a litter slow but for the price and reliability you cant beat it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great printer

By GR from Michigan on 02/03/2013


Pros:

Fast Print Speed, Easy To Use, Reliable, Easy Setup

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

bought this as a replacement for 6600. Great printer and very affordable!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worked fine for three years, then...

By MACH37 from Wyoming on 11/16/2012


Pros:

Small Footprint, Reliable, Fast Print Speed, Easy To Use, High Quality Output

Cons:

Flimsy Construction, Incomplete Maintenance Instructions.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer was as good as other printers I have owned, including E, H, O, P, and maybe a few other brands. The 'Photo Print' quality was outstanding, although I have not done very much of that type of printing. For three years text print quality was outstanding, but now the black ink nozzles cannot be cleaned, even with repeated deep cleaning. I understand that there is a "print head" that can can be replaced but there is no mention of this in the maintenance instructions. Searching eBay I find new print heads listed at prices higher than that of other brand new Canon printer models. I chose to buy one of those instead, since I do so little Photo Printing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By jay from Detroit, MI on 09/25/2012


Pros:

Easy Setup, Durable, High Quality Output, Easy To Use, Reliable

Cons:

Slow Print Speed

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A friend of mine who sells office supplies recommended this printer to me and I am so glad he did. The print quality is superb and it is very durable. I use this printer for my business and it has gone though roughly 20-30 ink sets and it still as good as when I first bought it. The only caveat is to be sure to select the proper level of print quality to conserve ink. For business forms I select "draft", while for family pictures I select "high". It does a great job of both.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good, small Inkjet Printer

By Pogo from Beaufort, SC on 08/30/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

One of three Canon Inkjet & Laser Printers, this is a good, inexpensive Inkjet Printer. Color Management is ok, speed acceptable and overall print quality satisfactory. Having tried other brands in the past 10 years, Canon is the only brand I use and recommend.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome pictures!!!

By Ryan6980 from Apache Junction, Arizona on 01/02/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer is amazing! The price is amazing! The pictures are amazing! A+++++!!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Printer is great, chip on cartridge is not good

By edison from Anaheim CA on 06/14/2011


Cons:

Not Allow Refill Ink

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For years, I have been telling people to get Canon printer for its ink tank for easy refill. But they put chip into their printer to make it harder for refill. Even I select disable the ink level monitor, it still from time to time telling me the ink tank was bad, when it was actually a good tank. I hate that!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for Graphic Design

By top__banana from Towson, MD on 05/10/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Compact Design, Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, Reliable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had my 3600 since September 2010, and I been loving it since I first set it up in my dorm! I'm studying Graphic Design, so I'm constantly printing comps and final projects every week or so. This thing DELIVERS. I've never had a printer that can print so precisely and with such rich colors. Plus, the driver has many presets that make choosing the correct settings for the multitudes of paper I own easy. Both of my professors for Graphic Design 1 and Typography 1 constantly say that they're impressed by my printer & were surprised that I got it for such a low price. I'm just glad that my printer has always kept me from needing to run over to the 24-hour Kinko's when I'm finishing up a project!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just Missing One feature-Otherwise very good

By Tinkerbell from New Jersey on 04/19/2011


Pros:

Easy Setup, Easy To Use, Compact Design, Med Speed, Reliable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the Pixma iP3600 to replace my wonderful Pixma iP4500. I really liked the double-sided printing of the 4500 without having to take out the paper and reverse it, as you have to do with the 3600.That's the only big difference I can see so far. I haven't printed any photos as of yet, but I am happy with the color saturation when copying from the internet or documents. The paper tray doesn't seem as sturdy as my old one but I don't expect any problems with that. The best feature are the separate cartridges, and yes, they are a bit smaller than the previous ones, but isn't everything? I would like to add that the e-mail customer service I received when trying to fix my old printer was excellent. They even sent me a new cord to try just in case that was the problem. I also think their Customer Loyalty program is a very positive way to thank their customers. No complaints at all.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

a good home printer

By Jim from Undisclosed on 02/09/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had to replace my Pixima 3000 because of mechanical problems and found the IP3600 to be a very good replacement. The performance of this printer is about the same as the IP3000 but the photo software is much better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

beautiful quality pictures

By randi from salem or on 02/09/2011


Pros:

Reliable, Easy Setup, Lightweight/portable, Durable, Sharp Tones & Colors, Easy To Use, Low Ink Consumption, Compact Design

Cons:

Slow Print Speed

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this printer prints beautiful quality pictures. absolutely stunning. and it makes editing prints really easy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

nice printer

By user from Undisclosed on 05/19/2010


Pros:

Compact Design, Easy To Use, Easy Setup, Reliable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great printer. Some people say that they were having problems with the paper cassette and were having paper jams. I was having the same problems with loading the paper at first, the problem was that I didn't extend the tray, once I figured that out everything went well!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

PRINTING PROBLEM

By Tom from Chicopee MA on 04/10/2010


Pros:

Sharp Tones & Colors, Easy Setup, Fast Print Speed, Low Ink Consumption, Easy To Use, Compact Design

Cons:

Unreliable, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The printer is nice, compact and provides many options. I love the print and color quality of the printer, once I can get it to print. Every time I click to print from the cassette, I get the report that there is no paper in the tray. There is, but in closing the cassette tray in the machine, the paper moves so that it can't be picked up to print. Also, at times the paper jambs and has to be cleared before trying to print again. This happens EVERY TIME I attempt to print.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product

By Marjah from St. Coud, FL on 04/04/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, Compact Design, Durable, Easy Setup, Reliable, Fast Print Speed

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is another great printer from Canon. I Just purchased this printer. It replaced a IP 3000, I had that printer for 7 years and printed every day on it. I have did my research on printers and Canon is tops. My family is Canon all the way. If you want a good reliable printer, do not hesitate, purchase this one it is great. You can not go wrong with the price. I am thinking about purchasing another, for a spare. I love Canon, and will not ever purchase and use another printer. I also have Canon Cameras. Yes the ink can be pricey but you only get what you pay for, and the ink quailty is great. Thanks Canon for another great product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So glad I chose Canon Pixma IP3600

By junebugg from Trussville, Al. on 12/06/2009


Pros:

Easy Setup, Fast Print Speed, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, Reliable, Compact Design, Durable, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had others in the past, but so far this Canon is the very best. It prints off copies so easy, was easy for me to install and the price was very econimical. I can also get help anytime I need it from you guys and what could be better than that...As of yet I haven`t worked with the picture taking devices, but I will and I am sure that that will work like a charm also. I am very pleased. Thanks.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exceptional Printer

By Teiga from Tennessee on 11/09/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors, Fast Print Speed, Easy Setup, Lightweight/portable, Compact Design

Cons:

Nothing To Mention Here

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been a fan of the Canon products for years now, having tried others such as HP, Lexmark etc. None have come close to the professional photo capabilities that I have grown to expect from Canon, I am very pleased with this particular printer and will highly recommend it to my friends seeking a new printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pretty good for the money

By Gwen from Florida on 10/29/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Easy Setup, Durable, Fast Print Speed, Sharp Tones & Colors, Compact Design

Cons:

Constant Misfeeds

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've used Canon printers for years and have been satisfied overall. The major problem with this model is that it constantly misfeeds paper, resulting in an "out of paper" cue. You can not set a multi-page document to print and then walk away, expecting it to be done when when you get back. Other than that- it's wonderfully easy to set up, prints fast (especially in B/W), and is easy to program for special effects.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

OK product

By Anonymous from Traverse City, MI on 10/23/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

we bought 2 of these for our office, one works fine but goes through the ink real quick, the other has trouble printing all the time and right now only works with the top paper load which is supposed to be for picture paper only...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

never again

By lesgirl from Silicon Valley CA on 09/20/2009


Cons:

Slow Print Speed, Unreliable, Difficult To Use, Flimsy Construction

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I read lots of reviews about this printer and expected a fairly good product. It is cheesy (flimsy) and the smallest thing seems to "upset" it. I spend a lot more time trying to figure out why it won't print than printing! (Right now i have 9 items i can't print.)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best printer I've used

By photogal from Colorado on 09/03/2009


Pros:

Reliable, Easy Setup, Easy To Use, Sharp Tones & Colors

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the best printer (quality and price) I've had ~ the quality of the photos it prints are the closest to being lifelike I've ever seen!! I'm now hoping it will last longer than the other brands I've had in the past so I can look forward to saying "The best overall value for money in all areas"!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good purchase

By jrdphotog from Albany, NY on 08/26/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Reliable, Compact Design, Lightweight/portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, Easy Setup

Cons:

Slow Print Speed

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We use two Pro 9000 printers for our regular work. The purpose of buying this printer was for portability on certain assignments where we are required to show a client an immediate contact sheet or a quick print. This unit is ideal for the purpose, makes a good clean print that shadows the Pixma Pro9000. My ONLY criticism is that an 8.5x11 print or contact sheet takes a little over 2 minutes - but the quality is there!.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

iP3600

By Timo from Colorado Springs CO on 08/13/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Fast Print Speed, Durable, Reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors, Low Ink Consumption, Compact Design, Easy Setup

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this printer for several months now and I'm very happy with it. I haven't had any problems at all, and the print quality is excellent. I have printed all kinds of different things using this printer, and I'm happy with all the results. It takes a few seconds for the printer to prepare for printing, but once it starts printing, I think it's quite fast. For the price, I think that it is an excellent printer. Thanks, Timo


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Average printer but don't regret purchasing

By LZworker from Chicago Suburbs on 08/10/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I use this for documents at work. Rarely will print photos on it so I can't comment on photo printing. For document printing, it is what I needed at the price I needed. Very happy in that respect. Overall, I don't like some of the features too much compared to the Canon i550 that I replaced. I can't stand the lower paper tray because it's covered by the output tray. I swap paper a lot to print on the backside of paper, use different colors of paper, etc. It's highly irritating to have to fold up and close the output tray to pull out the input tray and see what i have loaded, and would be even worse if I used the extra smokey gray colors plate/cover on the lower paper tray you are supposed to use, etc. On the i550, paper was fed through the back/top tray so I easily knew with a glance what was loaded. I also don't think this printer is quiet when printing documents, and it seems slow compared to my memory of the i550. It also has a glossy black surface that gets fingerprints and smudges easily. The one thing that is a huge improvement over the i550 is printing business envelopes. I'm fine with this printer because I press print and my documents come out looking nice. But I am not in love with it. Hope it lasts at least the 6 years my i550 lasted. Cant beat the price for all the features, but I miss my i550 for the items mentioned above.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

More than as advertised, ...

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 08/07/2009


Pros:

Low Ink Consumption, Reliable, Fast Print Speed, Easy Setup, Easy To Use, Sharp Tones & Colors

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

More than as advertised, easy set up, easy use, works well with vista


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cannon iP3600 Photo Printer, Very Nice Machine

By J.R. from Undisclosed on 08/02/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Sharp Tones & Colors, Fast Print Speed, Easy Setup

Cons:

Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The iP3600 was esy to install and align. It is the quietest printer I never heard working! The alignment process is a little time consuming, but worth the wait. The pictures produced are comparable to any of the more expensive printers on the market. It fit easily onto the same shelf as my previous printer, and the front loading tray for plain paper is very conveniently located, especially if one uses a lot of plain paper. The rear tray, for photo paper is slightly more trouble to load, but still within reason. Unless one prints large quantities of pictures, it is adequate for most average users. The front catch tray is a little flimsy, but if closed when finished printing, should be good enough. It catches pages from the printer very well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The printer head doesn ...

By RF from NJ on 07/23/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The printer head doesn not work. On the phone with customer support and they need to mail me a new one. This is a new printer, WOW! Very disappointed. Set up is complicated too, it shouldn't have to be. Very flimsy construction.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What happened

By Photog from Tulsa, Ok on 05/01/2009


Pros:

Compact Design

Cons:

Difficult To Use, A Drop In Quality, Dull Tones & Colors, Difficult Setup, Slow Print Speed

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought a Cannon printer five years ago, and lost it during a move. I bought the IP 3600 thinking it would be an upgrade from the other opne I had. The quality of prints is less than the older one, slower, less user friendly, a real drop in quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent choice

By Drumstick from Osterville, Mass. on 03/10/2009


Pros:

Easy Setup, Lightweight/portable, Reliable, Easy To Use, Sharp Tones & Colors

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had another brand for many years and it finally gave out. I asked my computer technician what to buy and he said get a Canon. My first machine and for the price and quality of the print I was amazed. It does everything I want and gives beautiful color. I use a lot of black ink and it's good to see a separate container just for this purpose. Don't drop this model.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best for less

By mendo from Philadelpha on 03/07/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Durable, Low Ink Consumption, Compact Design, Fast Print Speed, Sharp Tones & Colors, Easy Setup, Lightweight/portable, Reliable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

great print resolution, 2 black inks make for exceptional BW photos. 2 paper inputs, best value 5 individule see thru ink tanks.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is a replacement for ...

By Walker from Springfield, IL on 02/17/2009


Pros:

Sharp Tones & Colors, Easy Setup, Easy To Use, Fast Print Speed

Cons:

Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a replacement for an older Canon model that simple wore out. This new printer is exactly what I was looking for. Print speed is very good in both black & white and color. Picture quality is as good as high volume sources like drug stores, department stores, etc. I am very pleased with almost all aspects of this printer. The only thing I am not real fond of is the paper load cartridge is right underneath the page discharge shoot. This is very minor though. For the price, I don't think you can find a better printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good buy

By Scribner from Woodbridge, VA on 02/13/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Sharp Tones & Colors, Easy Setup

Cons:

Slow Print Speed, Flimsy Construction

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The set-up was easy. The print quality is very good. The only problem I have is that the paper cassette occasionally "loses" the paper thinking that it is out of paper. You have to remove the cassette, adjust the paper and re-insert it before it recognizes that there is paper in the cassette.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Value for the price

By Dvldog01 from Cuyahoga Falls, OH on 02/13/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, Fast Print Speed

Cons:

High Ink Consumption

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was looking for a basic wireless printer, but for the money this multi-function printer was a great deal for the price. It was easy to set up and I have been using it atleast once a day since I got it. It does seem to go through Ink alitte faster than what I am used to. but with that being said it also gives great print and copy clarity.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Difficult set up, jams frequently

By Nikki12 from Undisclosed on 02/13/2009


Pros:

Sharp Tones & Colors

Cons:

Slow Print Speed, Unreliable, Heavy/bulky, Difficult Setup, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It seems to never realize that there is paper in the tray when you first load it. I have had it one day and it has already jammed twice. It was difficult to set up. I'm not looking forward to dealing with this printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Satisfied Customer

By robruth from Las Vegas, NV on 02/01/2009


Pros:

Fast Print Speed, Sharp Tones & Colors, Easy Setup, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have just retired our PIXMA iP3000 after almost 5 years of constant use and really liked that printer. Do not know why other reviews state that our new PIXMA iP3600 is difficult to set-up, it does take a little time but it isn't very difficult at all. We are very pleased to find a really great replacement for our reliable iP3000.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I receive this printer as ...

By Dave from Easley, SC on 01/01/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Sharp Tones & Colors, Reliable, Fast Print Speed

Cons:

Difficult Setup, Heavy/bulky, Large Footprint, High Ink Consumption, Flimsy Construction

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I receive this printer as a Christmas gift in 2008. Print quality is great, but seems to be a little difficult to setup compared to other printers I have owned. I do not like the top loading of the photo paper, front loading is better. When I place the unit on a shelf in the computer desk the top will not open without interference.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best for the money!!

By Chico from Fresno, CA on 11/04/2008


Pros:

Looks Good, Exact Colors And Tones, Quiet, Fast, Works Perfectly

Cons:

Bottom Tray Paper Feeder Is A Bit Confusing

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Right out of the box it printed perfect photos without adjustment preference settings. It is smooth, quiet and fast. I bought it when it was first released but had to wait a while for them to get distributed and finally receive it. It was well worth the wait.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved