Home » Computers » Input Devices » Scanning Devices » Scanners » 2925B002 » 46 Reviews

Canon 2925b002 Canon Scanner Canoscan 5600f 4800dpi (canon Canoscan5600f) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 46 reviews)

97% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

High Resolution (30), Fast Connectivity (20), Easy To Use (31), High-speed Scanning (24), Durable (16), Compact Design (6)

Cons:

Large Footprint (10)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Great slide scanner

By Sophie from Seattle, WA on 04/25/2015

I've been looking for 20 years for a quality slide scanner to copy my 4000 family slides. The Canon 5600F has been amazing! Scanning through Photoshop at 2600dpi, I have been able to revive old faded photos to nearly perfect condition. I just leave 4 slides to scan at a time while I do other things, then save them to printable size after fixing the color and flaws. The software installed in Windows 7 easily.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

CANOSCAN 5600F SCANNER

By Richard L. from Texas on 02/19/2015

I have a computer with Windows 7 on it, and my Visioneer one touch ccd scanner would not work with it anymore. I like to scan coins in slabs, and raw coins, and items that are a little 3-d . I emailed Canon , and even though it is not offered by them anymore, I found one on line, and used the drivers avaliable from Canon, they worked great with the MP Navigator download also still on Canon site. I tried to find drivers for visioneer, no luck. Wish Canon still offered this scanner, works perfect, makes PDF, and You can do JPG images with the steps Canon sent me. THANK YOU CANON.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A solid Scanner

By Crusader from Flyover country on 12/30/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, High Resolution

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got the Canoscan specifically to scan slides and negatives from my film camera days. It really delivers the goods. My only gripe is that it only handles 35mm film (only the 9000 model handles medium format). I knew that going in, but I don't think it'd be a big deal for Canon to include the capability at this price point. Satisfaction I downgraded because the scanner driver install interfered with my printer drivers and I had to reinstall them on all my computers.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Magical Machine

By mjb from Tempe, AZ on 11/10/2013


Pros:

High Resolution, Fast Connectivity, Easy To Use, High-speed Scanning

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love, love, love this scanner! So easy to install and easy to use. The best part is, I can put multiple photos on the scanner bed at one time. The scanner detects and scans each separately and automatically, all in under a minute. They all pop up on my screen and then can be saved to a folder of your choice or edited with the included software. My life just got 100 times easier!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

econimical scanner

By 1492tc from Great Falls, MT on 11/03/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Durable, Fast Connectivity

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I found about 1000 slides in an old box out in the garage. Also a bunch of old black and white pictures and negatives. All these things are almost 50 years old. Since I no longer have the slide projector or any darkroom equipment , I wanted a way to view and save these images on my computer. After searching on line through several sources I decided on the Cano Scan 5600F. The price is reasonable and the specifications fit my needs perfectly. Set up was easy, and the operation is quite simple. I am very satisfied with this scanner


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very happy.

By electron from Westland,Mi on 10/06/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Durable, Negative Scanning, High Resolution

Cons:

Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I cannot remember how many photos I `ve scanned from old family pictures. Add to that, 33 reels of slides. But I`ve found out I can `fudge` old negatives by laying them on the opening for slides and scanning 35mm worth of them. So far I`ve brought back images from as far back as the `30`. Some look like they were taken yesterday! So by accident, Canon has added another feature to this wonderful scanner! Thanks!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy to set up

By blueoctober from Oregon on 08/10/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Fast Connectivity, High Resolution, High-speed Scanning

Cons:

Unit Is Big

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Our IT director bought this brand new and then our office went to tiny scanners so I got this for the very good price of freeeee. It didn't come with a disk so I was easily able to download the driver on Canon's site (needs the driver installed first I found out, hey I'm still learning here). As soon as I did that and then plugged the unit in it was asking what I wanted to do! And away I went scanning like a fiend. Being able to access the manual online is a total plus. Thanks Canon for being uber friendly to a slightly computer savvy user.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mixed Feelings on 35mm scans

By Slide Collector from Delaware on 07/01/2012


Pros:

High Resolution, Easy To Use

Cons:

Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I already owned a Canon MX700 multli-function printer which has a fine scanner, but I purchased this scanner, based on the many favorable reviews, for its ability to scan 35mm film and slides. I have many thousands of slides and negatives taken over the past 40-50 years, and I wanted to digitize some of them before the colors faded too much. I had tried an 1800 dpi scanner which scanned one frame at a time, and very slowly. Then my daughter gave me another scanner, which quickly scanned by photographing the slide or film. However, it did not reproduce the depth of color in the slides, and highlight areas were badly washed out. So I looked forward to using the Canoscan with its better resolution and quality. Using the Canoscan 5600F, I scanned at 2400 dpi about 60 slides from 45 years ago, which I had previously scanned using the snapshot scanner. The colors in the slides were still good, and the colors came through fine in the Canon scans, unlike the earlier scanner. The highlight detail that was missing with the earlier scanner was now fully present. However, when I compared the two sets of scanned images, there was shadow detail that could be seen with the earlier scanner that was lost in the Canon scans. The scans seemed to have too high contrast. If there is important shadow detail, editing the final image is necessary I then tried scanning a 35mm negative from about 10 years ago. I scanned it at 2400 dpi. I also had a 4x6 print of the same shot which I scanned at 600 dpi. In comparing the two scans, the scan from the print had more pleasing color balance. I then scanned the negative again at 4800 dpi, and there was only a little more detail apparent at the higher resolution. Taking all 3 scans into Photoshop Editor, I adjusted the color balance on each by adjusting the skin tone on the subject. The result was that all 3 were good, and close to one another. It would be difficult to say which was the best. The film and slide holder seems well designed and easy to use. Scanning a group of 4 slides at 2400 dpi takes up to 10 minutes or so, but it can proceed while you are doing other things. It takes about 30 seconds to replace them and begin scanning the next set of 4. In summary, I am fairly happy with the scanner's performance, but in many cases editing in Photoshop is necessary to adjust the contrast and possibly the color balance..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great slide/photo scanner

By JDB from New Jersey on 05/26/2012


Pros:

High-speed Scanning, High Resolution

Cons:

Photostitch Software

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this scanner to continue my multi year project of digitizing over 30 years of slides and old family photos. After several years of constant use, my old Canoscan scanner was in need of replacement and due to availability issues due to the weather in AP, the 5600F was the only one readily available. My original choice was the 9000F. I have been using this scanner nearly daily, splitting my scanning time between slides, negatives and old photos. the 5600F has worked flawlessly for everything I have asked of it. The only place where I encountered a problem is more due to a piece of Canon software rather than the actual scanner. I wanted to scan an 11X14 print and enlarge it to 13X19. I encountered no problems taking the 2 high resolution scans, but when trying to merge them into a single image using PhotoStitch I encountered a problem. The program created an image for me, but it seamed the images together right in the middle of someone's face and created a lopsided eye in the process. I retried creating the final image several times using different resolutions and rotating the image, still no good. Finally I decided to try Photoshop CS5's PhotoMerge feature and was rewarded with a perfect image on the first try. PhotoMerge placed the seam between 2 people where it only affected the background.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great value

By charlesb from phila, pa on 11/28/2011


Pros:

The Scanner Does All The Work If You Let It

Cons:

Rather Large But Not A Real Issue

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

after receiving my 5600 scanner today, I had the software loaded and was scanning within 30 minutes. I love the auto scan feature. there are lots of features, but if you take the time to experiment, you'll find scanning photos is pretty satisfying, and not at all a challenge. this was one of my better purchases for certain.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for Slides

By Dad'sOldSlides from Milwaukee, WI on 10/26/2011


Pros:

High Resolution, Durable, Fast Connectivity, High-speed Scanning, Easy To Use

Cons:

Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this scanner, after reviewing several on-line, to scan a bunch of my Dad's old 35mm slides. It works great for this purpose. I was up and scanning in a matter of minutes. It is a little loud when operating and does take up a fairly large space on the desk, but I see no other negatives. Dad wasn't the best photographer so the photo editing software that comes with it is very handy (anybody with a basic knowledge of PhotoShop should be able to jump in and be adjusting brightness and fixing red eye in no time). I think it is pretty quick too. I'm averaging a little less than a minute per slide (after an hour of use) including editing and saving to a separate file on my computer. Highly recommend this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does exactly what I wanted it to

By TN Scrapper from East Tennessee on 07/21/2011


Pros:

High-speed Scanning, Easy To Use, High Resolution, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Years of photos that need preserving and my best solution would be digital scrapbooking. My Canon scanner did a beautiful job on an 80 year old wedding picture of my parents and is easy and fast to use (I can scan four snapshots at one time and file them in folders for later use. I am up to the 1980s with scrapbooking and would not be able to complete my goal without my scanner. It has done an admirable job of scanning newspaper articles and pictures as well as old slides. One of the best purchases I have made and it was so easy to set up and service has been available when I bought new computers and needed drivers to make the switch. Thank you.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Limitations for film scanning

By don from Brookville, Indiana on 07/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I thought the 5600F scanner would scan negatives larger than 35 mm. I have glass negatives, e.g., which are 5" x 7". Otherwise, I am very satisfield with the scans of old photographs


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Canon means quality

By Sci Fi Junky from Westmont, IL on 04/29/2011


Pros:

High Resolution, Seperate Power Supply, Fast Connectivity, Easy To Use

Cons:

Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this product to replace another Canon scanner that was not compatible with Windows 7. I also wanted/needed one with its own power supply as I connect it to a laptop. The scans, even on the default settings are true to the originals. I use it to save important documents to pdf files and for saving old photos in digital format. Another great use for this, or any scanner is for enlarging those pesky wallet cards with way too much information on them to be read by a normal person. I can scan my pocket baseball season schedule and print it as a 4x6 photo, and it is easy as pie to read. I have not tried the negative/slide scanning yet but expect the results to be just as good as I have already experienced. It is quite a bit larger than my previous scanner, but since it has a dedicated shelf, this is not an issue.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great buy

By CD from NY on 03/04/2011


Pros:

High-speed Scanning, Fast Connectivity, High Resolution, Easy To Use

Cons:

Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was purchased as my first scanner purchase in about 15 years. Thing shave improved. The scanner is faster with better resolution. The connection to my Mac was nothing, the software loaded perfectly and is intuitive and easy to use


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A good purchase for the money

By Jr from Kansas on 02/12/2011


Pros:

High Resolution, Easy To Use, Fast Connectivity

Cons:

Slow-speed Scanning

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the Canon CanoScan 5600F in February of 2011. One reason I chose Canon was I have a Canon digital camera that I get very good pictures and over the years have purchased Canon products. I know the quality of Canon products. I am very pleased with the quality of the scans of photos and 35 mm slides with the CanoScan 5600F. The ability to scan 35 mm slides was the main reason I purchased the ConoScan 5600F. The software and the scan driver was easy to install. It was easy for me to connect to the computer. I was up and running within 10 minutes. I have scanned approximately 500 35 mm slides and a few photos. The only shortcomings, in my opinion, the Quick Start Guide was not very clear as how to setup the scanner for 35mm slides. I almost took back the scanner for a refund before I figured out myself how to set it up for 35 mm slides. The scanner is not a speed demon. It takes 3 minutes to scan four 35 mm slides. I have thousands of 35 mm slides to scan. It is going to take some time. But it isnt any slower than my old scanner. As the old saying goes, I have more time than money. The speed is what one should except at this price. The scanner has several other functions and options I havent used yet. I would highly recommend this scanner to a friend noting the speed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy to use

By Gray Wolf from Undisclosed on 02/09/2011


Pros:

High-speed Scanning, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We bought the 5600F scanner to save our old 35mm slides. Many of the slides are 50 years old and fading. The scanner made it easy to view, sort, and save the ones we wanted. After saving, the software made it easy to enhance and size in order to make a slide show so others can view. I have not tried to do film, but plan on working on old pictures now that the sildes are complete.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Pleased

By Steve from Silverton, Oregon on 02/09/2011


Pros:

High-speed Scanning, High Resolution, Durable, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this scanner approximately 6 months ago to replace an older scanner. My primary use is scanning photos, slides and negatives. It's very easy to set up and use. Fast one pass. Automatic and adjustable resolution settings. Separates pictures when scanning multiple photos, slides, and negatives. Since my purchase, I have scanned in excess of 1,100 photos, slides and negatives with excellent results and no problems.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My lifeline.

By Swabbie from Westland,Mi on 01/26/2011


Pros:

Fast Connectivity, Easy To Use, High-speed Scanning, High Resolution

Cons:

Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have used it to scan ,not only pictures and slides, but have figured out how to save images from negatives from the 1930`s! Only 35mm wide, but priceless all the same. I wore out a 4400f doing the same thing. The slide/negative setup is much better then the one on the 4400f. And the addition of an on/off switch is really convenient. One thing I don`t understand is when sitting idle for a long period, the scangear software doesn`t recognize the scanner!? Still, I love it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Who needs a fax machine

By Brucine from Las Vegas, NV on 01/08/2011


Pros:

Durable, Easy To Use, High-speed Scanning, High Resolution, Compact Design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought my CanoScan 5600F when I was in the Middle East working for a defense contractor. There were many times when I need a fax machine to take care of personal business. I decided to buy the Canon scanner and it made things very easy. The scanner is very easy to use, the documents are as clear as the media from which it is copied and once I scanned a document, I could email it and also save an electronic copy just in case the hard copy was lost. I am now back in the US, and I still used my scanner. I have to scan my timesheets and expense reports and send them to my company's headquarters since I work out of my home office and this makes my life so much easier. This was one of the smartest investments I have ever made. Thanks, Canon! J. L. H.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love it. That's all I ...

By Lu from United States on 11/26/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love it. That's all I have to say about it. I plan on buying two more to give away at Christmas.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding product

By DynoDon from San Clemente, CA on 10/30/2010


Pros:

Ease Of Use And Scan Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Like all Canon products the 5600F is of the highest quality. I own four Canon digital cameras. The scanner is easy to use, is reasonably fast, and the scan quality whether documents, photos, film or slides more than meets my expectations.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

glad I made the investment

By flame402000 from Lynnwood, WA on 10/29/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this product. It was easy to set up, easy to begin scanning my negatives. After scanning and viewing the photos, I was amazed at the brilliant colors and the high resolution. They looked every bit as good as the original photos. The higher the resolution, the longer it takes to scan. I did 8 negatives in about 20 minutes, but it is worth it. The PhotoShop software that comes with it is not very good, according to my son who is a big PS user. I'm hoping to find an accessory so that I can scan my old 110 film negatives.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Scanner purchased in this price range

By flying_high from Phoenix, AZ on 10/02/2010


Pros:

Excellent Product For The Price.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent scanner. Really like the minimal warm up time. Software is easy to use. Easily email scanned douments as a PDF attachment in one easy step. Great product and software.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy to Use Scanner

By zig from Columbus, Ohio on 09/06/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This scanner is so easy to use. No problems setting it up. The manual is somewhat difficult to navigate. It would be better if you could view it in a full PDf format where you scoll down to a certain page based on an index - more like a printed one rather than jumping from one function to another. I viewed an You tube video to find out that you needed to take the white piece under the lid to allow light come through when you scan negatives. The product feels steady and has good results.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Finally, No Glitches

By Gunny from Chattanooga, TN on 08/26/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After owning another popular brand name flatbed scanner, it's nice to now own one(CanoScan 5600F) that is responsive, quick, and accurate in its operation. Photos and transparencies are beautifully reproduced. Documents are legible and identical to the original. The scanner accurately differentiates multiple slides and prints and places them in the proper files. Operates beautifully with Mac OS X. Highly recommended


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So far So Good

By Paschal from Southeast U.S. on 06/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this scanner to replace another CanoScan unit that I have been very pleased with for the no wait LED document scan feature, which works quite well. Almost every day I have 1-10 documents I need to scan and save to an encrypted pdf data base, but not all at once, so several times through the day I had to wait out the warm-up time, which was often frustrating. The 5600f filled my need on that front, and waiting is no longer an issue. My 4200f is being deployed to another PC in the house, and is still working quite well. I do have a massive slide and photo project that covers a ton of inventory, but I knew going in that it used the warm up flouresant tube, but that is different because it is a project where you scan non-stop until you are tired of scanning. For those who have used Canoscan Toolbox for a long time, like myself, will find the new software package very, very, different. I had the Toolbox doing what I needed without much thought, and slowly the new version is starting to click.....I will future post should I find problems with it. I will also future post to give my opinion on photo....so far, only done a few, but the quality looks pretty high end considering the price of the 5600.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I have an accumulation of ...

By moishe99 from St. Louis, MO on 03/17/2010


Pros:

High Resolution, Easy To Use, Great Software, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have an accumulation of several thousand slides and photos taken over the past fifty plus years. To date, I have scanned 29,185 and have more to go. All digital pictures are as clear as any taken with my 9.1MP camera. The software is terrific. You can scan multiple photos at a time. The old instant pictures will copy 6 at a time. Each picture is in a separate file and the orientation can be corrected before saving. This scanner has done everything that I could have wanted it to do


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Supports Windows 7

By Texdawg from Undisclosed on 02/22/2010


Pros:

High Resolution, Easy To Use, Fast Connectivity, High-speed Scanning

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this scanner for three major reasons. One, it is fully Windows 7 compatible. Two, great reviews. Three, I got it at a good price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Value

By Ed from Undisclosed on 02/05/2010


Pros:

High-speed Scanning, Easy To Use

Cons:

Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the product because I wanted a good quality scan of old photos, slides, and film at a reasonable price. The CanoScan 5600F met these needs and will more than pay for itself as I digitize and preserve the photos my family has taken over the years.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Got My Money's Worth

By Anonymous from Kelso,Wa. on 12/06/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, High-speed Scanning, Compact Design, High Resolution, Fast Connectivity, Durable

Cons:

I Can't Think Of Any

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love everything about this scanner. It does all I want it to do. It looks classy, it has a fairly small footprint, it warms up SUPER fast and has performed flawlessly. It produces great looking color copies and photos. The price was also well below what you would expect to pay for a scanner of this quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Rocket science at it's best!

By eveready from malibu, CA on 11/08/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, High Resolution, Best Deal For Your Buck, High-speed Scanning, Compact Design, Fast Connectivity, Durable

Cons:

Slow-speed Scanning Above 2400

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

finally, a scanner that's made 35mm slides. The Canon5600Fis simple and basic that i scaned, croped, edit and categorized into custom files over 200 by the next day. these slides weremy chilodhood slides from the sixties and seventies. i used the middle resolution setting which is 1200. At this setting it will scan 4 color 35 mm slides and film in under 4 minutes. The program puts all scanned items in one area for renaming , editing, and file for easy viewing. The hardest thing to do is pick which slides to scan. After buying a 5600F i came home, unpacked scanner, connected cable and cord, and briefly glancede at a quick manuel and within 5 minutes had my first set of slides scanned. This scanner will match up to any other at half the price and without headaches. Here's simple, i forgot to use the start up disk, ooopps! this one is a No Brainer!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding scanner!

By Dyno Don from Undisclosed on 10/10/2009


Pros:

Durable, Easy To Use, High Resolution, High-speed Scanning, Fast Connectivity

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

UPS delivered my 5600F yesterday. After spending an afternoon with this scanner I have been totally impressed. This is the fifth scanner I have owned since 1997. It's easy to use but the bottom line is......the scans of pictures and film are fantastic.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Rainbows Everywhere

By lj from New York, NY on 09/22/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Great Scanner, if it didn't have a rainbow strip going down every scan I make.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Buy!

By Yuridia from Undisclosed on 09/11/2009


Pros:

Fast Connectivity, High Resolution, High-speed Scanning

Cons:

Flimsy Construction

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This scanner was purchased for professional use and it is great! The pixelation scans beautifully and its Fast!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pretty decent value

By John from Texas on 08/30/2009


Pros:

High Resolution, Easy To Use

Cons:

Slow-speed Scanning, Software Is Very Basic, Advance Settings Can Get Complicated, No 110 Film Scanning, Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This scanner provides excellent quality scans, but the software included is pretty limited. Not being able to correct 48-bit color photos is a bit puzzling. I guess that's part of the trade-off for a lower price. Higher resolution scans are painfully slow, but the results are pretty spectacular when they are done. By the way, you can only scan at the highest resolutions using PhotoStudio. Settings need to be tinkered with to get the best results. I don't like the Unsharp Mask being on by default, since it can make photos and negatives that don't need it look grainy. But that is easily changed. Unfortunately, this scanner, and virtually every other scanner out there, only allows scanning of 35mm film, which is a HUGE drawback. Hundreds of my older family photos were taken with 110 film and the scanner leaves no option for those negatives. It really wouldn't be hard for Canon to create an adaptor and re-write the software to enable it to accept such negatives. I tried putting 110 negatives in the 35 mm holder, to try and crop and save, but it won't read them at all. The 8800 is faster and has better software, so if I had a "do-over" I'd buy that one. But nonetheless, this scanner really does do an excellent job and I am happy with the results I get.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Value

By Lucky from Union City Ca. on 06/25/2009


Pros:

High-speed Scanning, Easy To Use, Fast Connectivity, High Resolution

Cons:

Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like many other people bought the canon scanner to archive the family photos. I'm happy to say that the Canon 5600F works great and does everything it says it does. I found it very easy to use and in fact began to scan negatives as soon as I took it out of the box. You can't go wrong with this purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I'm Happy

By Gma from Eastern North Carolina on 05/04/2009


Pros:

Fast Connectivity, Easy To Use, High-speed Scanning, Durable, Compact Design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this scanner to scan pictures my Dad took when I was a teenager. I have boxes and boxes of slides. I am happy with the time it takes to scan the slides. I have not been able to master the tools to enhance the slides. The online help hasn't helped much!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My research paid off

By Snoop from Arlilngton, TX on 05/03/2009


Pros:

Compact Design, High Resolution, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 5600F scanner is producing high quality digital copies of slides and pictures that date from the 1950s and before. The software makes the process very simple and easy to use. This is the perfect device for people who need to save pictures before time destroys them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Reliable quality scans

By KRyan from Georgia on 03/14/2009


Pros:

High Resolution, High-speed Scanning, Fast Connectivity, Durable

Cons:

No Availability Of Updated Plug-in For Import, Smudge Appearance On Underside Of Glass

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this scanner on my iMac and have not encountered any issues with using, I gave scanned negatives, photographs, newspaper and magazine articles along with correspondence. All images have proven clear with good color reproduction when originally clear.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love it

By Grammy from Undisclosed on 03/07/2009


Pros:

Fast Connectivity, Compact Design, High Resolution, Easy To Use, Durable, High-speed Scanning

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been scanning old 35mm slides and the 5600f works really well. It's fast, easy to use and quiet. I have been satisfied with the quality of the scan at 2400dpi, but it will go higher if need be. I like that it has an on/off toggle. The last scanner I had several years ago (not a Canon) did not have one and this may have contributed to its early demise.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good with Mac

By daddy from Tucson on 02/19/2009


Pros:

Durable, High-speed Scanning, Easy To Use, High Resolution

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It works good with my Mac. Separates multiple photos into one j-peg. I have scanned over 2000 old photos.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Good Scanner!

By Tom from Twin Falls, ID on 02/16/2009


Pros:

Fast Connectivity, Durable, Easy To Use, High-speed Scanning, High Resolution

Cons:

Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This scanner is fairly fast. It comes with excellent software that crops images from the scan very reliably. It is a good unit for the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Received it as a ...

By Grandma from Pennsylvania on 02/14/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, High-speed Scanning, Fast Connectivity, High Resolution

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Received it as a Christmas present for 08. So far I have scanned old photos from the 40's with it and was able to email them to cousins. I have copied documents for the tax etc. and got nice clear copies. So far I have not done anything with negatives but will. It is a little big for my desk but I will find another table or shelf for it. But It was a great gift.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent scanner.

By maddmax from North Ridgeville, OH on 02/13/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, High Resolution, Fast Connectivity, Durable

Cons:

Unit Could Be Smaller

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was looking for a versatile scanner that scanned documents as well as photos and negatives. The scan time is better than others I have had or tried. The overall quality is above reproach. They say, "you get what you pay for." I say not this scanner. It is worth the price of more expensive scanners I have seen.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great for slides

By richard from columbus ohio on 12/10/2008


Pros:

High Resolution, Easy To Use, High-speed Scanning

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

we have about 5000 slides from 1963 thru 1980. we have been using this scanner for a week and love it. the resolution is excellent and it only takes about 10 minutes to process 4 slides.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved