Home » Computers » Input Devices » Scanning Devices » Scanners » 3297B002AA » 21 Reviews

Canon 3297b002 Lide 700f Canoscan Flatbed Scanner Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 21 reviews)

76% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Durable (5), High-speed Scanning (9), Easy To Use (11), Compact Design (14), High Resolution (14), Fast Connectivity (9)

Cons:

Flimsy Construction (4), Difficult To Use (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

excellect scanner

By sterven c from Gulf Coat retirement on 06/27/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, High Resolution, Compact Design, Durable, Fast Connectivity

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am scanning family photos for my family and my parents. I am up to 8,500 photos scanned and this scanner is still making crystal clear scans. For the price this has been a great buy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Software is Pathetic

By ElderGeek from Sacramento, CA on 05/25/2014


Pros:

Compact Design, Vertical Install

Cons:

Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this to upgrade from a LiDE 600. Nice, solid scanner absolutely undermined by software apparently designed as a high-school programming project. No logic or rhyme or reason for menu options, poor, slow results. I've had to buy third-party software (PaperScan) to make it usable. I know I'm a mere novice (57 years in the computer industry), but this scanner gets less use than the older LiDE 600 Ihave.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great fast scanner

By SamSpade from Kansas on 10/12/2013


Pros:

Durable, High-speed Scanning, Easy To Use, Compact Design, High Resolution

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been VERY pleased with this scanner for the cost VERY good, seems fast and accurate. Cannon seems to contine support for new drivers and software OS, some companies do NOT.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Problem understood

By Harry from Undisclosed on 06/07/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this scanner for 2 years, using it mostly for pdf documents. I had a problem with speed and disfunction as mentioned in a number of the negative reviews. I learned that the cause of the problem was my USB port. When I used my usb extension port the scanner was slow and disfunctional. When I plugged it into my Mac installed port it worked fine. You might explore this yourselves in such cases.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

was Disappointed

By I Babe from North Haledon, NJ on 12/28/2012


Pros:

High Resolution, Easy To Use, Easy To Transport, Compact Design

Cons:

Doe Not Do Slides Well, Slow-speed Scanning

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I went to use my scanner and realize it does not do slides. very well. I need the adaptor for the slides if it comes with one .The adaptor is only for negatives. I was told it was just like the one I had which did slides and was great . That why i went with this one .


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fills the Bill, Perfectly

By Pianist from Maryland on 10/11/2012


Pros:

Durable, Compact Design, Easy To Use, High-speed Scanning, Minimal Warm Up Time, High Resolution, Fast Connectivity

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Small footprint, low profile, big features....this unit beats the others hands down. Running exclusively on USB power, this unit has all of the advanced features. It is the most user-friendly scanner that I have ever used. The hardware and the software are both superb. Canon has a winner with this one!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Glad this was suggested by salesman.

By JJ from Kalamazoo, Michigan on 08/25/2012


Pros:

High Resolution, High-speed Scanning, Durable, Easy To Use, Compact Design, Inexpensive, Fast Connectivity

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this to scan decades old photos of my family, and am very glad I picked this unit. It was easy, and guick. My sister and I figured it would take all day, and were pleasantly surprised when we finished in less than 3 hours. Several hundred photos that would have been lost to fading or neglect are now saved in a digital format. I would buy it again if anything ever happened to this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Skip this one....

By Shayno from Southern California on 08/06/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My main dislike of this scanner is that when I want to use it it takes forever to get it to respond. I have to unplug it from the computer several times before it comes to life. This should not be---all you should do it click on the scanner icon. Definitely will not buy another Canon scanner!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

disappointed

By bpowell from Undisclosed on 04/21/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

was very disappointed. product was reported to do 9600dpi output, but the best it would ever do was 2400dpi, without erring. and that took 6 minutes for an 8x10 photo. Utilities provided only allow 600 dpi as output from the options menus. So had to use native utilities to even get that level of output.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

wonderful until it broke

By jt from portland, or, usa on 01/17/2012


Pros:

Top Quality

Cons:

Mechanical Failure 3 Months Out Of Warranty

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This was a wonderful scanner for the money and for the size. The software is a bit clunky, and had odd defaults but works just fine. The photo and document scanning quality and speed are superb. Mechanical failure 3 months after the warranty expired means it's going straight to be recycled.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great scanner, mediocre software

By jt from Portland, OR, USA on 02/10/2011


Pros:

High-speed Scanning, High Resolution, Compact Design

Cons:

Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The quality of the scanned images, and the speed with which the machine scans are both excellent. No complaints about the construction or operation. The scanner software leaves something to be desired. It is tedious to use and sometimes allows for only odd output formats for color documents (tiff). It's not terrible, but just not very well thought out.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The same EXCELLENT performance.

By Dr. Mike from Worldwide on 12/15/2010


Pros:

Fast Connectivity, Easy To Use, Compact Design, High-speed Scanning, High Resolution

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a factory rep / trainer for an oil rig manufacturer. I travel worldwide, and to VERY remote and rugged areas. My scanner operates flawlessly, portable or mobile. Powered through the USB, there is no need for line power, no silly transformer to lose, or fail when you need it most. It produces excellent resolution, and is certainly plenty fast. On occasion I need to scan a slide or negative. The results are very good. It is built lightweight, but is NOT flimsy. Use good sense and it will serve you trouble-free for a long time. This unit was bought in addition to a LIDE500, which has functioned flawlessly for years, and still does. I recommend this scanner without reservation.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

light duty best purchased ever

By danny from peoria ill on 06/09/2010


Pros:

High-speed Scanning, Compact Design, Durable, Easy To Use, High Resolution, Fast Connectivity

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i have used this scanner for nearly 2 years now and i and able to carry it within my computer case as requires only a usb driver too operate.i haved scanned alot af pdf, pictures film and slides. as well as jpeg pictures. it even divided out more than one picture on a sheet on paper and scanns them seperately. it is and all around carry aroung scanner that server any purposes.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very cool little film scanner

By Saggy101 from Long Island, NY on 11/11/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, High-speed Scanning, High Resolution, Compact Design

Cons:

Needs An Adaptor Kit For 35mm Slides

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Im quite impressed with this small but powerful film & photo scanner. After an initial calibration process, and a little instruction on how to operate it, the scanner worked flawlessly. Thanks to the help of Canons customer service which helped me work through the issue. I was very impressed with the helpful way they resolved the problem. This is a quality scanner, but be prepared to spend a little time scanning your negatives. For myself I didnt mind physically moving the adapter from one frame to the next. I like things that are simple and straight forward. The technology that let's this scanner work without a power cord is just outstanding. Just plug it into your USB input on your computer, and you are good to go. First you need to load the software provided, which by the way worked right out of the box with no confrontations with Windows Vista, or any other driver. The scanner is slender, and small enough to be portable. So if youre looking a film scanner made by a company that is known for its optics, this is the film scanner for you. Its probably not the fastest of all the film scanners on the market today, but its was not terrible either. The transferred photos were clear and detailed, but if their enhanced in Photoshop they look that much better. One more thing, if Canon could design an adaptor kit for 35mm slides this scanner would be hard to beat.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good job but slow

By idaspud from Wilds of Idaho on 11/07/2009


Pros:

Compact Design, High Resolution

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Slow-speed Scanning

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The software is very annoying in that it prescans then the scanner retracts all the way to zero, then there is about a minute of stall time before it rescans the negative. The results are great but another annoying item is everytime you save the files you have to redesignate where they are to go to. Just some annoying items that the software guys could take care of if they wanted to. I would give the machine a 9.5 but the drivers only a 5. Idaspud.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

could be better

By Pedro from Oklahoma on 10/25/2009


Pros:

Single Usb Cable For Power, Easy To Use, Fast Connectivity

Cons:

Flimsy Construction, Poor Film Handling, Poor Photo Editing Software, No 35mm Slide Support

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Lame image editing software is crippled - a double negative. At least include the full version! Can't scan 35mm slides, they must be removed from mounts to even be in focus. 35mm negative scans are slooooowwww. But the quality is okay.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pretty Good

By BJ from Denver, Colorado on 08/10/2009


Pros:

Compact Design, Fast Connectivity

Cons:

Use Directions Could Be Better, No Ability To Size Scan

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For the cost, it is doing the job. I wish I could size the scan so that I wouldn't end up with blank space. I think the directions to store you scanned images could be better. Most directions for electronics are confusing, these are no exception.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Scanning Negatives

By PicNut from Undisclosed on 07/11/2009


Pros:

High Resolution, High-speed Scanning, Fast Connectivity, Easy To Use, Compact Design

Cons:

Poor Film Guide Design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I would probably give this scanner a better rating had it not been for a glitch in their programming. I was able to scan 35mm negatives just fine for a while, then it just wouldn't do it anymore. After a little research I discovered that it had decided it wanted all the frames in the film guide to be occupied. It has six frames available, but I only have four frame strips. After filling the empty frames with black construction paper it worked fine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mixed Bag

By Indy from Indianapolis, IN on 05/17/2009


Pros:

Fast Connectivity, High Resolution

Cons:

Flimsy Construction

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros: Inexpensive & easy to set up. It produces a decent image and can be fast unless you want to increase the dpi. Cons: Lid is very flimsy. The instructions on doing film strips/slides is a joke. There is a detailed image of how to plug in the film adaptor unit but almost nothing on how to position the slide or film strip. You have to experiment with it to figure that out yourself. If you can do 10 slides/film strips in a hour you are quick. Becareful in closing the lid. It moves the items on the document glass.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great, but scans film "strips" not "slides"

By Mickey from NY on 05/12/2009


Pros:

Compact Design, High-speed Scanning, Easy To Use, High Resolution

Cons:

Can't Do 35mm Slides, Flimsy Construction

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm very pleased with the overall performance of this unit. However, I was hoping that I'd be able to scan old 35mm SLIDES on this unit as well, which apparently it will NOT do. It has a separate attachment to do 35 mm FILM STRIPS but that's simply not what I need (How many of you scan "strips" these days?). How easy would it have been for Canon to have simply included SLIDE scanning as well? Anyway, considered just as a document/photo scanner it's fast and simple to use with high resolution.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Scanner for all purpose

By Chewy from Dallas on 05/01/2009


Pros:

High Resolution

Cons:

Flimsy Construction

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Cant imagine anything else I would want a scanner to do. Resolution is outstanding and feature-set is perfect. Very please


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved