Home » Accessories » Camera Accessories » Lenses & Filters » 3558B002 » 50 Reviews

Ef-s 18-135mm F/3.5-5.6 Is Zoom Lens - 18mm To 135mm - F/3.5 To 5.6 - Canon 3558b002 Reviews
Ef-s 18-135mm F/3.5-5.6 Is Zoom Lens - 18mm To 135mm - F/3.5 To 5.6 - Canon 3558b002

Ef-s 18-135mm F/3.5-5.6 Is Zoom Lens - 18mm To 135mm - F/3.5 To 5.6 - Canon 3558b002Added to our catalog within last 30 days

Ef-s 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 is for 7d 50d 40d 30d 20d rebel t1i rebel xsi/ xs. Covering a range from 29mm-216mm in 35mm format canon's new ef-s 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 is offers a winning combination of size range and features and is a perfect complement to aps-c cameras. With high-quality optics de... <more> 

Canon Model: 3558B002

$525.69

3 in stock
This product qualifies for FREE Ground Shipping!

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 50 reviews)

69% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images (8), Poor Build Quality (6), Slow Auto-focus (6), Lens Creep (3)

Pros:

Superior Build Quality (10), Fast Auto-focus (16), Super-sharp Images (14)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Great Lens

By CHMac from New Windsor, NY on 01/30/2015

Friends of mine talk me into getting this lens with the 60D body. I am glad they did. It does everything you would need for normal shooting for close and far objects.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Kit Lens

By DOHCHP from Virginia on 01/23/2015

I got the lens when I purchased my Canon 60D. For being a kit lens this thing is a great value. Images are sharper than most other kit lenses I have used. The only negative thing I have to say about the lens is the amount of dust that can get inside of this lens is amazing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not For Anyone but the Pure Amateur

By Boin Loin from Ohio on 12/16/2014

I purchased this lens in a kit along with my first Canon DSLR, the 60D. Just starting off, the lens satisfied me - its focal range is ideal but I wasn't quite sure what to look for quality-wise. As I have continued to use the lens, its low quality has started to become more and more apparent. The build is a bit weak; the focus ring has become loose and the silver design taping has begun to peel off. Additionally, the auto-focus speed isn't quite up to par. In post-processing especially, the low image quality stands out. There is a good deal of vignetting and warping around the edge of the image, noticeable aberration, and the images are of sub-optimal sharpness. In addition, zooming in to 5.6 can be painful in anything less than broad daylight. On the positive side, the IS makes this lens ideal for documentary-style filming, which I've done a good deal of. Anyone who considers themselves more than an amateur should consider investing more in a different lens for higher image quality and build.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A grat and timely purchase

By The Duker from San Diego on 11/14/2014

I purchased a Canon 7D Mark II with this lens. I went to a surf contest the next weekend and shot well over 2000 pics for the day and both lens and camera performed flawlessly and I am very pleased with the pictures taken. A great purchase!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Starter lens

By Gphoto from Undisclosed on 05/25/2014


Pros:

Good Focal Range, Quick Image Stabilization, Sharp Images

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus, Vignetting

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens has a good focal range but with a constant vignetting problem. The auto focus works well in daylight, however searches too much in less adequate outdoor and indoor lighting situations. The lens is built well despite the other issues and would make a good starter lens. I like how this lens and other canon starter kit lenses have metal connection points to the lens bayonet, it increases durability when compared to lenses that have cheap plastic connection points.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice on clicking

By mh from Dhaka, BD on 05/08/2014


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Nice to have it in my bag for my Canon 60D. Can able to use for portraits and landscape.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My Favorite Canon Lens

By Bud from Los Angeles on 11/26/2013


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have seven Canon lenses and this is my favorite. 18 - 135 covers 95% of my photography. I also have the 18 - 200 but prefer the 18 - 135 for the lighter weight. In situations where 135 is not as much zoom as I'd like, I simply crop the photo to get the area I wanted to zoom in on. With an 18 megapixel T4i I can crop and expand a surprisingly small area and still have amazing quality in the finished photo. I travel a LOT, and this camera and lens go with me everywhere. I feel it is the best choice for a one lens travel kit. Lightweight but no compromise in picture quality. I have done extensive testing comparing my T4i with the 18-135 lens against a 5D Mark II with the 24 -105 L lens. Very little difference. You really have to crop and expand very small areas to find a difference.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mostly satisfied

By Joe from Florida on 05/29/2013


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Nice Zoom Range

Cons:

Poor In Low Light

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like the 18-135 mm range, it covers most normal scenarios. It is fast focus and reliable. However, when taking pictures in low light, does not performes well. Ex: museum with low light, old paintings etc...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It was fuzzy? No... That was my fault.

By Beliven from Yuma, AZ on 05/05/2013


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I read many reviews before I wrote this to try and figure out what I should say. First of all my pictures were slightly fuzzy and the focus was slow... Um hello self, have you checked your cameras settings? No? Maybe you should. Now that I have checked them, the fuzzy shots with lots of graininess are completely gone. So anyone who reviewed this lens as being anything but sharp needs to fiddle with their camera settings some more and read the manual or another how to book.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good lens

By Eddythepixer from Undisclosed on 03/24/2013


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Good lens, Good quality pictures... The stabilizer works well


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad quality images

By X-san from Undisclosed on 02/02/2013


Cons:

Semi-sharp Images, Color Aberration

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The power that gives you the lense's range in great. Images are not that great. Seen lot of color aberration, not sharp as wanted images.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An Average Lens, Barely, Barely Acceptable

By Emily Jane from Chicago, IL on 11/09/2012


Pros:

None

Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Auto Focus Mechanism Jerky, Slow Auto-focus, Not Sharp, Poor Color Reproduction

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens to use with my 50D. I wanted a lens that had a good zoom range, which this lens has. However, the lens has issues which doesn't make it a good buy for the price Canon is asking. First of all, I'm not at all happy with the sharpness of this lens; it just isn't there, no matter what shutter speed/f-stop you use. The first one I received was returned for not being sharp, and the second one I received wasn't any better. There just absolutely isn't any 'snap' to the images. When taking portraits, it looks like a mild soft focus filter was used, with facial features not being very well detailed. Various images taken with both lenses, never rendered colors very accurately at all. This was still showing to be the case even with camera settings at their defaults. I tried all the white balance settings, and still nothing reproduced colors accurately as was showing in my original scene. I could go on about the terrible auto focus and its noisy working mechanisms constantly heard inside the barrel while focusing, and the jerky image shifting that occasionally occurs while focusing. The barrel also drops constantly on its own when pointed downwards, very annoying. Bottom line, don't buy this lens. You'd think Canon would make a better lens, considering the popularity of this zoom range!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens and value

By LaPix from Burlington, VT on 10/31/2012


Pros:

Good Value, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I find this lens to be a great value. It produces sharp images, focuses well and has the basic features of image stabilization and AF switches on the lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good overall lens

By tomalan from Davenport, IA. on 08/10/2012


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens works in everyday shooting. Good zoom and close ups too.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Lens for Starter

By bigron452 from Hopewell Junction, NY on 06/04/2012


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought the Canon T3i 3 months ago as my first DSLR. I wasn't impressed with the 18-55mm kit lens, so I decided to upgrade. Now I'm just getting back into taking pictures after years of point and shoots. The AF is very quick in good light, but slows down alot in low light. That aside, the lens is light weight, has good range and takes fantastic pictures. I used it on my trip to Florida, took 350 shots .. I have a 50 mm 1.8 that I also picked up at the time of my purchase, but it doesn't get much use and this lens seems to stay fixed on my camera. Now I'm not a pro - (and don't look at the extreme details), but I'm an active user and take a lot of pictures on vacations of friends and family. I love the detail, sharpness and the vibrant colors of my pictures! If you're a beginner and want versitility, take a look at this lens - you won't regret it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great walk around lens

By Osompurno from Bangladesh on 04/13/2012


Pros:

Lightweight Cheap Sharp And Crisp Pictures.

Cons:

Slow Focusing At Low Light

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using this lens for about 3months with my 60D.considering the price its a great value for money, Due to its good range its a great walk around lens.Focusing is fast and accurate, but in low lights focusing is a bit slow but not that bad. as it is lightweight you can talk with it all day long without feeling tired.The images are very sharp and crisp within 24-85mm range. i would recommend it to anyone who wants a walk around lens of great value at a reasonable price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Everyday companion

By MickeyD from Winter Springs, Florida on 02/13/2012


Pros:

Light, Good Focusing, Quality Construction, Very Stable At Distances

Cons:

No Zoom Lock

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this lens for almost 2 months. When I got my T2i, I was not impressed with the 18-55mm kit lens, so I bought this lens. It has the focal length that covers most of my shooting needs when I travel. It is light weight, quick AF and feels good in my hands with the camera. I use it mainly for landscape, buildings, wildlife and I have not been disappointed. I do not use it indoors or in low light, for that I have the CANON 50mm, f/1.4 USM. I am very pleased with the photo's, very crisp, excellent color and depth.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I'm Upgrading

By Saatchi from Minneapolis, MN on 02/10/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight

Cons:

Auto-focus Sluggish At Telephoto End, Autofocus Doesn't Function Well In Low-light, Doesn't Have Distance Measure On Body, Soft Focusing

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this when I bought my 50D last spring. I travel and need a good travel lens. What I found is that this lens focusing capability was sluggish, especially in low light/flash and when at a greater focal distance. It struggles to focus in these conditions. There is a distortion around the edges that I don't like either. So...since I have my first big job coming up, I am going to trade up to a nicer lens ( or two).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good quality lens makes the photograph.

By Nan from Tokyo, Japan on 01/31/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This canon EF 18- 135 is just like a fixed lens on my camera, because it provides mostly of what i need in capturing a photograph. For a standard zoom lens, i recommend this one for you, this is efficient and fantastic.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic

By Payson from Undisclosed on 01/30/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Lens has great clarity and precision. The focal lengths are incredibly convenient and has great optics for the price. Great lens for any serious amateur.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid Mid Level Zoom

By FD Nut from Pensacola, FL on 12/26/2011


Pros:

Price / Value, Light Weight

Cons:

Not Compatible W/ Full Frame, Semi Sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have just started with digital after 60 years of film, with the last 50 using Canon equipment. That being said I am spoiled by using mostly L Series, both prime and zoom, on my F1's and A1's. For my trial jump to the "Dark Side" (digital) I went with a T2i & the 18-135 kit lens, which has better build quality than the 18-55 kit lens. My initial impressions based on shooting over 1,000 shots and printing about 50 8X10's in a week are: (1) the sharpness is very good except some marked softness around the edges, (2), the autofocus is spot on except in very low light and extreme distances, (3) colors as recorded are exceptional, (4) the IS is amazing, I hand held @135mm and 1/15 sec with no visible shake (I have hand held my FD 400mm F4 L at 1/250). The major short coming that I observed is the front focusing and zoom seems sloppy compared to my FD 20-35mm L zoom, and an EF 24-105 F4L IS USM that I borrowed to test. Overall a very capable lens with more than adequate build quality, and performance for most applications. If you need more lens than this in the wide to short tele range spend the extra $$$ and buy an L Series.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

18-135 lens, have concerns

By photoeye from South Carolina on 11/28/2011


Pros:

Good Walk Round Lens

Cons:

Disappointing Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've been shooting digital as an amateur for 15 years. Stepping into the Canon world I bought a 60D with this kit lens. I thought I would like the reach plus wide angle. I got this but I am very disappointed with the quality of the pictures. Color saturation is only OK, there's no snap to the results. I have reset the camera in different ways to increase saturation, changed other settings, etc, but still disappointed. Compared to the 18-55 kit lens this one falters. Compared to the 55-250 there's no comparison. Sharpness is only barely acceptable. I suspect this lens was developed for video shooters, which I am not. Get the body but not the lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice walk-around lens

By Babenyu from New York,NY on 11/16/2011


Pros:

Good Picture Quality, Lighweight

Cons:

Barrell Distortion

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If you're looking for the perfect long zoom lens, there's probably no such thing. All of these zooms are composed of compromises. This Canon lens is no exception. I found the build quality to be very good. It is relatively light in weight. I had the 28-135mm and found it very heavy. The 18-135mm has the additional benefit of being image stabilized. I've found the picture quality to be quite good. I've taken some beautiful , sharp nature shots at 135mm and been very pleased with the results. The only negative I've found is that there is considerable barrel distortion in the 18-24mm range. For me it hasn't proven to be a significant problem, I usually just crop it out. I also have a point and shoot that fills that gap nicely. Overall, the price was right and the lens performs well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Save your money

By Anonymous from Ft. Collins, CO on 11/03/2011


Cons:

Unreliable Focus, Poor Build Quality, Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I got this lens with my 60D as a kit. The lens has better build than the cheapest plastic mount lenses, but rattles a lot and has loose front elements and doesn't feel very sturdy. I find that frequently the lens is much sharper with the IS turned OFF when shooting on a tripod. Sometimes this is very pronounced. Image quality is at best so-so, but most of the time images look smudged, even when on a tripod and fired with a remote cord. The very center of images can be fairly sharp, but the sharpness falls off quickly toward the edges, even at f/8. On occasion I get fairly good images (never great), but it's so hit-and-miss (mostly miss) I can't trust it fully. Buy the camera, but don't buy the kit with this lens. Spend your money on a different lens. I suspect even the cheap 18-55 might outperform this lens optically.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not a great kit lens

By Gram from Spokane, WA on 10/20/2011


Pros:

Discounted As Kit Lens

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus, Poor Build Quality, Slow Lens

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought with my 60D at recommendation of authorized Canon Dealer store salesman as "great kit lens". Great perhaps as 18-135 is good theoretical range. Don't care for lens as image quality seems poor, too slow to use indoors without flash, find autofocus slow and noisy and basically feels cheaply made.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

dont be fooled by the metal mount

By aretalha from Undisclosed on 09/17/2011


Cons:

Slow Auto-focus, Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've had this lens for 3 months and all images produced using this lens was not good at all. autofocus performance is not so good, produces a lot ghosting, CA, and vignietting. loose front element. zoom ring was smooth enough but focus ring was too light. contrast and color representation is so bad.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fine Lens

By Rusty from Lowell, MA on 09/13/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is a great value, especially if you are willing to shoot RAW. It produces good sharpness across it's range of focal length, peaking at about 35mm. Stopping down to F/8 produces the sharpest images. Color and contrast are very good. This lens does produce noticeable chromatic aberration, distortions and vignetting at certain focal length/f stop combinations, but these can be completely rectified by shooting RAW and processing with Canon's software or even within the camera body itself for vignetting if your camera supports peripheral illumination compensation. I have used this lens for 4 month now on my Canon T2i shooting outdoor scenes, portraits and my grandkids playing. I am very happy with it. If you don't mind putting in extra time/effort processing RAW images, I would highly recommend this lens to the amateur photographer. It will produce very nice results.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

darn good lens

By Steve-O from Minneapolis on 08/21/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is one of the best kit lenses I have ever used. I would not hesitate in recommending it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

worst kit lens

By Anonymous from bloomington, Ilinois on 08/07/2011


Pros:

Nothing

Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This lens has been a big disappointment, very soft focus, loose front barrel, and after three months of use it is full of dust inside of the elements. I do realize that this is a kit lens; however it is the only one that has filled with dust and has that soft of focus. I cant find any f-stop combination that works, cant wait to buy a new L lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great kit lens

By rhoaje10 from Philadelphia, PA on 07/28/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this lens with my 60D, it is a great starter lens. As a kit lens the range is a big plus. When I am not using the LCD srceen the auto focus is fast, I have since started using manual focus becasue it seems to be better for me. The lens is pretty sharp, not the sharpest but still really good. Took this lense to Vegas, the Grand Canyon and Singapore got great picutres with it and I dont have a single complaint about the lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Okay, but I'm not thrilled

By iamacamera from New Mexico on 07/14/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have used Canon glass for over 30 years having owned most Canon lenses from 20mm to a 300 f4 lens. They have all performed very well and were consistently razor sharp. By comparison, this lens is a disappointment. Not throwing it in the trash wishing I'd never seen it before unhappy but just not overwhelmed; maybe underwhelmed. It has barrel distortion and chromatic distortion on the edges of the image at 18mm. I will probably replace it with Canon L glass very shortly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good not great

By Scuzbucket from Cincinnati, OH / Helmand, AF on 06/25/2011


Cons:

Terrible Vignetting, Semi-sharp Images, Poor Build Quality, Lens Creep, Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The only reason I have this lens is because it came with my EOS 60D. There is a plethora of zoom lenses that are 10x more functional and all-around better than this lens. That being said, there's nothing wrong with this lens for someone as an introduction to photography. This would make a stellar lens for someone who is taking more pictures for fun. The lens is very sensitive, and the slightest pressure will rotate the zoom. For someone who is a serious photographer, I would not recommend this lens. When I go out on a shooting project I do NOT use this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Versatile Lens

By Nom De Guerre from Burlingame, CA on 06/12/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Is Feature Works

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Instead of bringing along several lenses on a trip, having this lens will solve carrying extra baggage. With its wide range, this lens covers 95% of shooting possibilities which makes it great for travelling. It has a decent wide angle for landscape and shooting pictures in tight situations and a good zoom reach for head and distance shots. You can also have good macro shots with it. With less lens changes, I minimize dust getting into my camera. I am happy with the sharpness, color saturation, AF speed of this lens. The only set back I see is that it is not a fast lens for indoor shots when the object taken has movement under low light. That is when I have to use my flash to compensate. For pictures of steady objects, the Image Stabilization (IS) feature enables lower F stops for tack sharp pictures even in low light. What I most like about this lens, is that you get great value for its capabilities.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fine Walk Around Zoom

By GVGeorge from Southern AZ on 04/20/2011


Pros:

Highly Flexible

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I primarily use this lens for event coverage with output used for web and newspaper. The wide zoom range and macro capacity are consistently useful. It's not as sharp as a L prime, but plenty sharp enough for a wide variety of purposes. It's not super fast but fast enough. It's not a macro but provides close up views. It's not a super telephoto lens, but is long enough to be useful. Walking into an unknown event, this is the lens I want in front of the camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fair upgrade from the 18-55, but far from the best

By Photographer from Orlando, FL on 02/13/2011


Cons:

Terrible Chromatic Aberration, Lens Creep, Poor Build Quality, Slow Auto-focus, Extreme Vignetting, Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've had this lens since it first came out and I'm not very impressed with it. Vignetting is horrible, as is the chromatic aberration. If you love dark corners in your photos, as well as a purple fringe around your subjects, this is the lens for you! I can get the advertised 4 stops of image stabilization, which is a great plus, but the non-USM micro motor AF is very slow, and constantly searching in low light. As far as image quality, the word "disappointing" comes to mind.. I own several Canon lenses, and this one gets left at the bottom of the bag, unless I need quick access to a wide zoom. Build quality is, in a word, terrible. Focus and zoom is very loose. Tip it slightly and the barrel fully extends; no creep here... it flies out. The silver ring started peeling off the barrel, which gives a nice touch to the junky, plastic feel of this lens. If you compare price vs. quality, you would do better to look elsewhere. I am a Canon nut, and shoot with nothing but Canon glass. Canon makes extraordinary lenses. This, my friends, it not one of them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Too much vignette

By Brazilian photo from Brazil on 01/07/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Do Not Come With Lens Hood, Vignette Too Much Visible

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

As a general purpose lens, it may works good. But the vignette amount is too much visible, specially at good light conditions. I need to crop a little my images to use them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Supercalafragalisticexpialidocious

By C-Squared from Dover on 12/26/2010


Pros:

Lets You Have The Option For Vignetting, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Yea I used that word.. I am a improving amature photographer. I do mainly events for the USAF and personel shooting i.e. buildings, landscape, tunnels, roads, bridges, and people. I have some issues with the lense but over all i again like the others want this in a L series lense. My one and only complaint is doing forensic style (camera on tri-pod facing down) photographs the lense doesnt stay focused. I have to hold it to take a photo.. which others has stated in there reviews also so I know my lense isnt broken. but if this lense came out white with that red stripe on it i would sell my fish to get it..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice image quality!

By GoUsfBulls from Undisclosed on 10/23/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this lens with my 60d and am very happy with it. It's a great daytime outdoor lens - a walk around lens. I'm very pleased with the image quality. If you have the option, I'd definitely upgrade to to this if you're getting a kit with the 18-55mm lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A balanced, allround lens

By An007 from US on 09/28/2010


Pros:

Great Range

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

First of all, this is not an L; so didnt had very high expectations, when i picked it up for my new T2i. After a few weeks of usage, this changed the thoughts - all the pics taken were real sharp, no quality issues, no vignetting. Once this is attached, it gives sufficient range - from 18,, till 135, which is versatile. For APSC this range is still good. The images taken - portraits, landscapes, a bit of wiled life - all rendered sharp, crisp images. This lens is a good addon and the key advantage is it is a good walk-around / multipurpose lens. If canon release an L version of this lens, it will bet many - including 24-70 or 24-105 L (I love them- just thoughts..!! )


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

the 28-135 for the APS-C but better

By JIF from Miami, FL on 09/14/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i decided to upgrade to this lens from my 28-135, which is a great lens, but its aging, and the IS is old school. all i lost essentially was the USM, which was fast, but it was a small sacrifice. i did have a chance to compare both lenses in a period that i had both, and there is a noticeable difference in some aspects 1)its sharper. i always have been wondering why my nifty 50 and 18-55 had always produced better pictures at horrid apertures than the 28-135 at its sweet spots, but the 18-135 does show much sharper images too, than the 28-135. then i learned how to distinguish MTF charts :) (thank you canon!) 2)color reproduction. i couldnt tell if its a good or bad difference, but there is a definite difference in color reproduction, again, it probably has to do with the MTF and how it resolves fine detail 3)barrel distortion. at comparable wide angles (hence 28mm) the 18-135 is much flatter, a problem i had with the 28-135 most of the time. now, about the lens barrel itself, its a one piece extension, and not two, like the 28-135, so barely any play on this one. 4)IS. 3-4 stops vs 1-2 stops. nuff said it doesnt go to say its a perfect lens, but for anyone on a budget like me, its a really good option as an all around lens. the 18-55 is a really good (if not the best) budget lens with good "everything", but its 55mm is very limiting in most situations. the 18-135 fits the bill pretty nicely without breaking the bank my only gripes are that the filter threads are weird. i would have to buy new filters to fit it. that and no USM, but w/e i dont mind it, at least it still had the rear focusing element :).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good all around lens

By old photo from Nebraska on 08/16/2010


Pros:

Nice Size For A Telephoto, Light Weight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this lens since April 2010 and have taken about 200 pictures with it. I purchased a circular polarize filter and a lens hood also. The lens is fast focusing and very sharp. I have not noticed any vignetting or out of focus unless it is my own fault at shooting the shot and not paying attention to correct settings or the focus points. It is a very good all around lens for me as I don't switch lenses as often (not since I got it) because of the 18 mm for close in and the 135 reaches out well for most occasions. It can take some pretty good macro too. The build quality seems to be pretty good for this price range.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Vignetting when a polarizer is used!

By Gengineer from NJ on 06/28/2010


Cons:

Vignetting When A Polarizer Is Used

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It is a nice, general purpose lens. BUT, when I added a polarizer (yes, I removed the haze filter first) there was noticeable vignetting in the corners, so much so that I had to remove the polarizer. I would also be nice if Canon would update the T1i for correction of this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Non L I have ever used

By NPT from Indiana on 01/20/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens for my 40D and am amazed by the quality. I have the 24-105 L which I use on my 1D so I have been able to compare the 18-135, 24-105 L & the 70-200 F4L I compared the 18-135mm & 24-105mm at F5.6 and the sharpness is the same on most images. The 18-135 was actually sharper on a couple of images. I compared the lenses at 24, 50, 70 & 105. The color was on pair with both L lenses. The 70-200 F4 was a little sharper than the 18-135 but not much. The picture quality was so close compared to the L that I had to look at the properties to figure out which picture was taken with each lens. The auto focus was fast an silent. The only small complaint that I have is the the autofocus ring turns when focusing. (This isn't a big deal just something to be aware of) The build quality isn't as good as my L lenses but for a 1/3 of the price it's just fine. This is by far the best non L lens that I have ever owned. I highly recommend this lens for APS-C cameras. I only wish that I could use it on my 1D. I have owned/own the following Canon lenses: Canon 24-105L, 28-80L, 35-350L, 70-200 F4L, 28-105, 28-70, 28mm, 50mm f1.8, 135mm S/F


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Decent Low Budget Lens

By PhotoGuy from Florida on 12/26/2009


Pros:

Price/quality Factor, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Ca At The Long End, Vignetting And Barrell Distortion At Wide End

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The new EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS is a fairly new product and you won't find many reviews just yet. I got is with a recent purchase of a Canon 7D, which I suppose makes sense from Canon's perspective to include a low cost kit lens to keep camera kit prices down. However, the 7D (among other bodies in the Canon lineup) really needs a sharper lens to reach its full potential. That said, the EF-S 18-135mm actually takes some decent shots. In hand, the lens feels cheaply made, but the light weight can be a plus for some. The focus is smooth, with very little lens creep. Others say they have had problems with creep in this model, but I haven't seen it with mine. There is no play in the barrel, so the initial "cheap" feel of the lens is somewhat allayed after shooting with it. The newest generation IS on this lens may be its biggest seller. Canon advertises 4 stops of IS functionality, but in average use you can expect to get three. Even with the micro motor AF, this lens will compete with USM for speed. It is louder, but not bothersome. CA, as already mentioned, is problematic at the long end of the focal length range. Vignetting is noticeable at the wide end of the lens, but stopping down helps this. There is strong barrel distortion at 18mm, gradually decreasing to the 50mm range. Price will be a selling point in this lens compared to the 18-200mm IS, and the 18mm wide end definitely wins out over the 28-135mm on the APS-C sensor bodies. The EF-S 18-135mm has a nice focal range, making this a good everyday lens, not sacrificing IQ for a long focal length like some super-zooms. Image quality is sharp, but I can't say it's tack-sharp. I'll reserve that language for the L glass. All in all, I would say this is a decent, above average lens targeted to the non-professional market. Not the best in the line of Canon lenses, but their lower priced glass is making great strides in overall image quality. As one of Canon's newest lenses, the amateur SLR photographer will not be disappointed in this purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So so...

By Osva from Berkeley, Ca on 12/21/2009


Cons:

Semi-sharp Images, Hi Levels Of Chromatic Aberrations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have used this lens in my 7d camera because is included in my pack and I`m very disappointed. The focus is not so fast but is not the main problem. The images are, in fact, sharp when you have ideal conditions and if you use in a nonfull- frame you no get hi distortions. The big problem is very very hi levels of chromatic aberrations!! It kills a lot of pictures and you must run on RAW to fix the problems.. I`m a landscape photographer and when I try to use it in a forest or a nat park I get always purple shaped trees very traditional in C.A. problems. Probably I`ll run to a 17-40L lenses because I know the powers and low distortion levels.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great upgrade from 28-135mm!

By Peej Studio from Undisclosed on 12/04/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Cannot Be Used On Full Frame Body, No Usm

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Shooting with the 7D, the 1.6 crop was killing me on wide angle shots with the 28-135mm lens. So, I took the plunge. Great upgrade from the 10 year old design of the 28-135mm. Compared to the 28-135mm... 1. The UD glass improves image quality. 2. Autofocus is faster. 3. 18mm is much better with 1.6 crop sensor. 4. Better/newer image stabilizer. I do miss the USM, but not as much as I thought I would. And, since I'm not upgrading to a full frame body anytime soon, no reason to miss the EF series.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Universal Lens

By Larry from Ponte Vedra, FL on 11/24/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have Canon XSi and have evaluated the 18-55mm IS great for indoors/parties; 55-250mm IS great for sports and recently the 28-200mm good travel lens but heavy, no IS and insufficient wide angle for landscapes. This 18-135mm IS lens fits my ideal all round travel and universal lens. The 18mm provides the required wide angle for landscapes and the range to 135mm provides adequate zoom for portraits and close ups. The macro feature is also adequate for clean hand held close up nature shots. Also the lens is not too heavy. Perfect combination for the price and my favorite lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Travel Lens

By 808armada from Wailuku, HI on 11/18/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Smooth Zoom Action, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Would Prefer An 18 - 200mm Range, Still Has Lens Creep, No Onboard Corrections Like Perspective., Somewhat Awkward Lens Hood Snaps In A Little Hard

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens came with the 7D kit. I like the lens and will keep it in my bag. My only gripe is the perspective is a bit skewed up to the 50mm range. Almost as if it has a fisheye lens on. But the included software can correct it if you use it. Fast focus with the Live View and good solid built. Smooth action through the zoom range. Lens creep is still a problem so I would suggest a bag or harness instead of using the strap to carry the camera. But do use the strap to support the camera while you shoot. You NEVER want to drop your camera by accident.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens but not an L lens

By My7d from Tacoma Wa on 11/06/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Sharp Images

Cons:

How Well It Is Seaaled, Lens Creep

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this lens on my new 7D camera. It does take sharp images and I love the 18-135mm It is the perfect everyday lens. Focus is really fast cons it has lens Creep and I wonder how sealed it is. I would love this exact lens in an L version. I called canon to see if I could get some more info on this lens. ie) does it have L glass, is it sealed, etc. but they were not much help I am looking at the 17-55 as it has great reviews for a really sharp image but has dust problems so the jury is still out I would really like to know how this lens stacks up to the 17-55 for image quality. Maybe I don't need a new lens For a kit lens I think it is a great lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Complete all around lens

By MNWII from Minneapolis, MN on 11/01/2009


Pros:

Great Range, Excellent Is, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

It's Hard To Find Used!

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens off a friend who got it as a kit set with his 7D. Awesome lens, great stability, prevents you from having to change lenses all the time, no cons except it's new and thus hard to find used.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved