Home » Accessories » Camera Accessories » Lenses & Filters » 3560B002 » 50 Reviews

Canon Ef-s 15-85mm F/3.5-5.6 Is Usm Zoom Lens - 15mm To 85mm - F/3.5 To 5.6 (3560b002) Reviews
Canon Ef-s 15-85mm F/3.5-5.6 Is Usm Zoom Lens - 15mm To 85mm - F/3.5 To 5.6 (3560b002)

Canon Ef-s 15-85mm F/3.5-5.6 Is Usm Zoom Lens - 15mm To 85mm - F/3.5 To 5.6 (3560b002)Added to our catalog within last 30 days

The new EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM sets a new standard for everyday photography on APS-C sensors. With a focal length range equivalent to 24-136mm in 35mm format, image stabilization and high-precision optics, the EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM offers stellar performance from wide-angle through to... <more> 

Canon Model: 3560B002

$923.46

3 in stock
This product qualifies for FREE Ground Shipping!

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 50 reviews)

97% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Superior Build Quality (18), Super-sharp Images (27), Fast Auto-focus (25)

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

It's OK

By unclewillie from Colorado on 09/06/2015

I've owned this lens for about 2 years and it is an OK all around lens however I would put performance at average. As one other reviewer said it is best at mid ranges which is to be expected. At its longer reaches and at small apertures it is fairly soft. I find it quite inconsistent. Also my biggest beef is that it has wobble and looseness in the barrel so that I am not sure if it's the wobble that makes some of the images soft. Otherwise I love the range it has and if I had the money I would buy the "L" series.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing Kit Upgrade - Near Pro Quality

By IceBurgess from Iowa City, IA on 03/10/2015

I've had this lens for a while now, and I'm pretty amazed. The sharpness is on par with the legendary 17-55 f/2.8 and better than some L lenses. Looking at how this lens is cheaper than the 17-55 and all L lenses, I'd say this is a pretty good deal. Colors and contrast are also great. Just beware of chromatic aberration, it is quite strong from 15-20mm and 70-85mm. 24 to 60mm is absolutely stellar. Also, this lens functions best from around f/8 to f/11 in terms of sharpness and overall image quality. Bokeh is definitely achievable, and results are very nice. Build quality is amazing. Finally, the image stabilization on this lens may just be the best on the market, so don't be afraid of using up to one second exposures handheld - they are tack sharp. Overall, this lens is universally a great performer and its price is a bargain. I highly recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It works great for me!

By Quiet Solo Pursui from Grand Rapids, MI on 09/15/2013


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm not an expert, nor do I do any pixel peeping, the only thing that concerns me is the quality of the photos that I have at the end of the day, and this lens works great for me. I'm a nature/landscape photographer and I have been extremely pleased with the photos that I have gotten from this lens.It's been used primarily for landscapes, and for close-ups of flowers and insects. Since it focuses down to 1 foot, it almost does the job of a macro lens, but only for larger subjects. I also own a 70-200 mm L series lens, and this lens comes very close to matching the sharpness of the L series. In fact, I get more sharp photos from this lens than the L Series when doing close-ups, as the auto-focus of this lens is more accurate up close than the L series is. I have to manually focus the L series to get photos as sharp as this 15-85 lens produces in auto-focus. It's also faster and quieter than the L series. I also love the larger diameter of this lens, it fits my hand better, and I don't have a problem going from my two long lenses down to this lens as far as it feeling good in my hand. The IS works extremely well, I've gotten usable shots at shutter speeds down to 1/4 second handheld in a pinch, although a tripod would probably have been better. I use this lens on a 60D, and I have the peripheral illumination correction enabled, which may be why I've seen no vignetting with this lens for the most part. I did stack a polarizing filter on the UV filter once, and saw vignetting then, lesson learned. Overall, I'm very pleased with this lens. The sharpness, color, contrast, and color saturation are superb, I couldn't ask for a better wide angle zoom for my crop sensor camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Gets job done, but...

By fn2p from Canada on 09/10/2013


Pros:

Good Quality Build, Reasonable Picture Quality, Easy To Use

Cons:

Heavy, Designed For Outdoor Mostly, Bulky, Hunts In Lower Light, Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Got this lens (separately) since the reviews were pushing it over any other lens for a crop body. The price was cheaper too, so why not?! I've had the privilege of using this lens for almost 2 years now and here's what I've noticed. It takes reasonable pictures. Not stellar, but far from bad. It does produce at times somewhat soft results which was a little bit disappointing. IS is always on (unless its on a tripod) and due to the weight of this lens, your wrists will be struggling after awhile. It seems to be designed for outdoor use. It doesn't do very well indoors, unless you're throwing immense amounts of light at it, and even then - better crank up that iso. Thankfully once you bump up the ISO this doesn't seem to be such a problem. Images are softish around f/11 (sadly). F5.6 seems to be the best bet. At f/8 its hit or miss. Any higher and you're going soft. Focal length wise - 15mm produces some distortion, but it's likeable imho. Quite a bit of vignetting at 15 as well, but not offensive. Starts looking much nicer between 35-85. As a matter a fact, this lens really shines at 50+. *thumbs up* Q: Would I recommend this lens to someone? A: Sure, but I'd also give them a run down of what they can experience using it. It's a nice walk around lens, but would benefit from being a little lighter, and maybe opening up too 2.8 at least. Then again, at that aperture, it would cost a lot more as well. Conclusion: If you really want a walk around lens to take pictures with your crop, then go for it. If you want tack sharp images, then look elsewhere.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Astonishing APS-C lens!!!

By Flying Scotsman from Lake Norman, NC on 08/19/2013


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

A Tad Bit Expensive Yes

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this lens several months ago but wanted to really put it to a severe test before reviewing it. Test just completed: A week on the Big Island of Hawai'i! Took a T4i body, this incredible 15-85mm, a Canon's 10-22mm and 50mm macro lenses. (The 10-22 and 50 macro never even left the camera bag ... ) As suspected, the EF-S 15-85mm performed flawlessly - it's a 24-135mm lens to us old film shooters - and simply "did it all" as far as taking in every possible scene. Colors are out of this world, clarity and sharpness beyond wildest expectations and in over 30 years of recreational / vacation photography in addition to a professional business, this was - easily! - the most complete and beautifully documented travel adventure ever. Impossible to give a high enough recommendation for this lens! If there was a 10-star category for performance and quality, this lens deserves it! Shoots on par with most 'L' lenses! (Wish we could have bought this lens with the T4i body instead of the excellent 18-55mm "kit" lens - which has just been sold off ... ) Dropping the images into Lightroom for conversion (we shot all RAW files) and a little post-processing, still cannot believe my eyes ...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome walk-around lens

By ArtGeo from Charlotte, NC on 05/15/2013


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very durable, good quality lens. Works perfectly with my 7D. This lens is always on my camera. Perfect for birthday parties, weddings, unexpected events, trips to the park with the kids, or a Saturday afternoon bike ride with the family. It's a bit pricey, but if you check around you can get a good deal on one. Highly recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hit and lots of miss

By linear from Sacramento, CA on 05/06/2013


Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This lens promises to be a great walk-around lens but I find the image quality to be lacking. And it has developed lens creep, such as when I shoot at 35mm and then tilt the camera down only a little to change settings by looking at the LCD on top of my 50D and 60D, it rotates on its own to 50mm when I bring it back up to look through the view screen. Also, its corner and edge image clarity at the short end (15-24mm) is poor, with lots of distortion, CA, and blur. The kit lens image quality in this range was better. On the plus side, it has a greater zoom range and is sharp in the middle. The front element not moving or rotating is very nice also. Its color reproduction can be very good too. But in the end, image quality outweighs features and I find that it is only satisfactory if i limit myself to f/5.6 - f/8 through the 35-85mm range. This contradicts the notion of a walk-around lens. Bokeh at f/8 is displeasing and f/5.6 is not much better. Perhaps wait until version "II" or pass altogether.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good for starters.

By DrParmesan from Portland, OR on 02/19/2013


Pros:

Good Value

Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use a 60D most of the time, but needed an extra camera while doing a wedding video, so I got a T2i with the 18-55 kit lens. This lens has a good overall zoom range, and it's good for somebody who only wants one lens, and doesn't want to spend much money. The downsides are that the images are not sharp. Even in the perfect light in perfect focus, the images are fuzzy compared to the other lenses I own. Also, it is plasticky and makes a triumphant roar when it auto focuses. (not as loud as the 50mm 1.8 though) Also, unless I'm shooting in the sunlight, f5.6 can be inconvenient. The upsides are that even though it's a little fuzzy, it's way sharper than what you'd get with a point-and-shoot camera. It is good value for money, and if you want to buy a cheap lens with a nice zoom range, this is a good product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's just Swell

By Wally Cleaver from West Coast on 01/10/2013


Pros:

Super Neato

Cons:

Don't Care For The Extendo Barrel Much.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great lens for outdoor photography. Pair it up with one of the the 70mm-200mm L models and a 50mm 1.4 and you can get most anything done you want. It is not the greatest for indoor stuff like school functions etc but then it likely wasn't built to be.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

as good as an L lens

By Timcredible from ohio on 09/22/2012


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Slow Is

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i have a t4i, and the 135L, and this 15-85. this 15-85 is as good as the 135L on my crop camera. i would assume that if i put the 135L on a 5d, it would outperform the 15-85, but on a crop, they're the same. the IS is very good, but takes a lmost a full second to spin up


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

15-85 mm Lens

By George from Houston, Texas on 08/09/2012


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the T3i with the standard 18-55 mm lens. After using the kit lens, it was decided that a higher quality lens was needed. Purchased the 15-85 mm and the difference is like night and day. Optics,ease of use and the outstanding photographs make this the best all around lens available in my opinion. The lens is as close to perfect as you can get. The lens costs more than the camera but after using you will understand why. A quality and superior lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really good outdoor walk around lens!

By StevenB from Oxnard, CA on 07/09/2012


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Focus Motor Started Squeaking

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really love this lens with my 7D. BUT, was really disappointed when autofocus motor started to squeak after one and a half years! And unfortunately it's no longer under warranty so it will cost to get repaired. I don't use auto focus anymore because its so embarrassing having a 800 dollar lens squeak like crazy when shooting photos! This is an amazing lens but sadly didn't end up so good for me after 1 1/2 years of purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great multi-purpose lens

By brysta559 from Auburn, AL on 06/27/2012


Pros:

Nice Range, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Variable Aperature, Sealing

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great walkaround lens, and also very good for landscapes, etc. While the 3mm difference between this and the 18-135 (or 18-55) may not seem like much, it makes a big difference on crop sensor cameras! I have a 24-70mm 2.8 L and love it, but this truly is near as sharp. I don't hesitate to use it at paying gigs. Plus, it has a much more useable range. 15mm is wide enough for landscapes with an 84 degree view, while 85mm brings you up into the portrait range, Nice! now, if it was only f/2.8 and made of metal & weather sealed. Oh, but then it would be large, heavy and cost 3x as much!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Lens

By Jay from Colorado on 06/18/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is great. I decided to get this one over the standard 24-105 mm lens based off of the excellent reviews on the Canon website, as well as many others, and boy am I glad I listened. I bought this to replace my 18-55 mm kit lens and man does it make a difference. The extra range, while 3 mm at the wide angle and 30mm at the tele end doesn't seem like a lot, really makes a huge difference. The lens is also sharp as a tack, regardless of zoom or aperture. The USM focuses quickly and quietly. Overall, this lens is basically an L lens without the extra price tag. Definitely the only lens I'll be needing for a while.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice color, good and sharp

By Reginald from Arlington, VA on 06/14/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am surprised at the reviews that say this is not a sharp lens or that the kit lens is sharper. Mine is very sharp. If I had to express one complaint that would be aperture size. It would be perfect if it was F2.8. The vignetting issue reported in some tests is not something I have noticed in real life. The other issue, barrelling is apparent in the view finder but less so in images. As it is consistent, it is not so noticeable. The sweet spot is from 60 to 70mm for sharpness.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A great lens!

By JHB from Muncie, IN on 05/27/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens instead of the kit lens when I bought my T2i and I have since upgraded my camera to the Canon 60 D. It is a great lens for general use and it is on the camera most of the time. I have used it to capture great pictures of the grandchildren and family, our dogs, kids in sports and plays and on a trip to Europe. Sharp, crystal clear, great color and fast focus are the best attributes.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent lens

By Wolf from IL on 05/23/2012


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Light Weight, Great Focal Range, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

No Lense Lock, Small Manual Focus Ring, No Weather Sealing

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really like this lens as a walk around lens, its not overly large or heavy and fits comfortably on my T1i. This is the lens I reccomend for anyone with an APS-C as a walk around lens. pros: Autofocus is fast and accurate, image quality is extermly good, especially compared to the stock 18-55 is II. While it lacks the feaures of a true L lens, it also doesn't have the price tag of an L. besides image quality, the best feature of this lens as a walk around is its excellent focal range. Cons: I have two real complaints with this lens, which for the average user might be no big deal. For me though, I find them pretty signifigant. First is the lack of weather sealing, I use my camera outside at shows and dust is a concern for me. That, above anything else, was a big reason for me to look at L lenses. Eventualy though, price and focal range won out. Complaint number two is the lack of a lock. I use this lens pointing downwards a lot taking vertical shots and I have to use a piece of tape to hold the focal length. A minor issue, but annoying to me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excited!...Then Disappointed

By ag986 from Chesterfield, MO on 02/01/2012


Pros:

Well Constructed, Focal Length Range

Cons:

In My Copy Optical Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

With a focal length range equivalent to 24-136mm on a full frame camera, this lens could satisfy the majority of my needs. I bought a used copy, thinking that it had the potential to replace my 24-105L. The 24-105L is a great lens but is not always wide enough on a cropped sensor body. I was satisfied with the quality of construction on the EFS 15-85mm and could forgive the occasional lens creep but the optics didn't measure-up. My copy was soft, particularly so at 35mm. My 18-55mm IS kit lens is sharper. I've read a number of reviews with raves about the lens and a few where people have had issues. Maybe my copy was not a good example or perhaps I was just expecting too much. The lens is now with its third owner and I have gone back to my 24-105L. I would recommend this lens to a friend with the caveat that it should be thoroughly tested before they decide to keep it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Standard Zoom Below 'L'

By stealthpigeons from Salt Lake City, UT on 01/27/2012


Pros:

Fast Af, No Barrel Rotation, Desireable Zoom Range, Quiet, Sharp Images

Cons:

No Enviromental Sealing, Narrow Manual Focus Ring

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Of the non-L lenses, this one stands head and shoulders above the others in the standard zoom category. The image sharpness and general quality is close to that of my 70-200mm f/4L USM. While I can still discern a difference in image quality between the two lenses, the 15-85mm f3.5-5.6 IS USM is closer to the L-series quality than what I have observed from the other EF-S lenses. Under some low-light conditions notable vignetting occurs, but generally is not noticeable. Some color aberration can be seen but does not generally detract from the photo. Adobe Lightroom 3 does have a lens profile for correcting images shot in RAW with this lens. The AF is fast and quiet. The lens "feels" good and has a remarkable performance to price ration.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GOOD PURCHASE

By THEO from LAUREL on 01/03/2012


Pros:

Just Point And Shoot

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I HAVE USED THIS LENS WITH A T3I CAMERA TO TAKE MORE THAN 500 PICTURES AND THEY ALL TURN OUT TO BE GOOD. FRIENDS CALL ME A PRO MEANWHILE I JUST USE POINT AND SHOOT. AGAIN I PRINT MY OWN PICTURES AT HOME WITOUT RETOUCHING THE PICTURES


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good all around lens

By Pam from Ventura, CA on 12/27/2011


Pros:

Sharp, Great All Around Lens, Fast Focus, Has A Good Feel And Weight, Quiet

Cons:

Lens Lock Needed

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens (I have two) about 5 years ago and I have shot a lot of weddings with it along with other photo sessions. It has been my all around lens for travel. It has been a great all around lens. I had other 3rd party lenses and they don't work half as well. This lens is quick to focus, quiet, and sharp. Like everyone else usually comments, this lens would score a perfect 5 if it had a lens lock. It has a little problem at times focusing in really low light (receptions), but many lenses do. It has really been a work horse for me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great non L lense

By Photoitman from Aurora, il on 12/16/2011


Pros:

Weight, Usm Focus

Cons:

Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I tried the kit 18-135, 18-200 and 50 1.8 and this beats them all. It is a very sharp lens on my 60d. I do like the 17-55 better but would really miss the range this covers. Very fast to focus and dead on.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great general-purpose lens

By Bob S from Undisclosed on 12/10/2011


Pros:

Versatile, Fast Autofocus, Feels Solid

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Used this for a week, it's fantastic. My new general-purpose lens. It's a big beefy lens, much bigger and heavier than the 18-55 kit lens that came with my T3i, so I'm more inclined to carry it in my hands than by the neckstrap, which in turn encourages me to take more pictures with it, which works out. The USM wastes no time in focusing, the IS enables some sharp pictures at full zoom with shutter speeds as low as 1/20. Can't really complain about the price. The sticker shock on this was already worn off from looking at L lenses. So if you feel like the kit lens is holding you back, go for this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Impressive.

By Lostway from Thailand on 11/29/2011


Pros:

Impressive Bokeh., Super Sharp Image., Versatile Focal Range.

Cons:

No Zoom Lock Switch.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

1 of 2 Best non-L lenses that I ever use; the other one is 60/2.8 macro.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good standard zoo,

By Devidah! from Milan area on 11/20/2011


Pros:

Good Build Quality, Fast Af, Effective Is

Cons:

Not Very Small, A Bit Heavy, Lens Hood Not Included

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the lens together with my 60D and I am very happy with the results I got. Nice and sharp images, very fast AF (one of the best in the market, if only contrast detect AF could be comparable....), effective stabilization. It is a bit heavy, considering it is not 2.8, but a good balance on the 60D. It is more expensive than the competition and, for the price, Canon could have included a hood.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens for everyday use

By MPKL from Klamath Falls, OR on 10/19/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Good Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this lens for almost a year now and am very happy with it. It takes great pictures on my t1i body and even better ones on my EOS 7D body. Fast autofocus, sharp images good colors.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brilliant Wonderful Lens

By Hendri from Sydney, AUS on 10/16/2011


Pros:

Perfect Range Covered, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Wish F 2.8

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is the best EF-S standard zoom that Canon has so far. the image quality is just perfect. the AF is quick, silent and accurate. I would strongly recommend you guys to have it. 15mm is really wide. and 85mm is far enough. the only thing that i wish canon could have done better is in the aperture. I wish it was a constant 2.8.. i really regret that i have sold this lens..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best walk around

By Gblader from Undisclosed on 10/04/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Best Range

Cons:

Double Barrel, Heavy For Non Const Aperture

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The BEST walkaround lens out there because of the range. 15 is equiv to 24 fullframe so itgets the same range as the L lens for the 5dii on the wide end, but has an even longer reach! I gave 3 stars for the price and value bc its expensive for a non constant aperture lens. Honestly, sometimes i wish i went with the 17-55 used for a few hundred more, but then i zoom all the way in or out and i am reminded why i bought this thing. And yes, its very sharp. Bc of thr aperture i bought a flash to use with it, and now i never think twice about the 17-55! Cant wait to take some landscapes pix with this thing as it is so sharp and veeeerrry wide! Kind of heavy though.... And yes, one mlre thing, greeeaaatt build quality...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best all around lens for APS-C Camera

By Backpacker from San Diego, CA on 09/15/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Ideal Focal Range, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Variable Aperature, Lens Creep

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am an avid, very advanced amateur photographer and use this lens as my one and only lens for backpacking for the past year. (don't have the luxury of carrying multiple lenses) Even when I scour the Canon website and look at ALL the other lenses, this one still comes out as my best choice single lens for landscape photography and travel. Images are sharp (especially while using a tripod of course.) If it were built from alloy, it would be an L series lens. (glad it's not, those are heavy!) Biggest complaint, as others have noted, is lens creep. This lens is way too loose. Also wish it had a constant Max Aperture, say f/4 would be reasonable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent performance, ...

By jdapena from Medellin, Colombia on 07/07/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent performance, provides a very high image quality and a vivid color. Very easy to use. Usefull for all the camera modes.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best walk around

By etiamson from Angono, Philippines on 06/11/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Lens Creep

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent lens except for the barrel creep. Effectively replaced my EFS 10-22 mm UWA for my wide angle needs, very nice colors and very little distortion at 15 mm plus plus the 85 mm zoom. The best combination my friends!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great all 'round lens

By marcurious from Arizona on 05/08/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Took me a while to purchase this lens due to price, but I have found it's well worth it...ranging from wide angle shots to portraits, the quality is excellent - even though it is not an "L" lens. It's quiet, and photos are top notch. Highly recommend it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

pricey but im happy on image quality

By cameraman next do from mi on 04/28/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Low The Price, Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i just bought this lens today and happy the results of the lens performance from wide angle to zoom it really good quality for the pictures... it tooks like a month before i decided which lens i should buy? and i didn't regret for this lens its good replaced for my kit lens. 15=85mm is my new walk around lens. i know it is expensive lens but it never let down...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

L Level Quality

By Felix from Columbus on 04/12/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Simply one of the best and most versatile lens out there on the market. The USM is quiet, fast, and accurate. I like the weight it adds to my camera, makes it easier for low-light shots. I have experienced some lens creeping when held vertical but is not that big of an issue. The images are sharp throughout all focal lengths. Very little to no aberration. It seems someone commented that there is no lens hood for this product, and I'd like to disagree because I have one. The hood is reversible which makes storage simple.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

super sharp

By flash from San Diego, CA on 03/04/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Zoom Drift When Vertical

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I chose this lens after looking at iEEE resolution chart results at various focal lengths and f stops. I compared it with other lenses. I was amazed that this lens stays so sharp even at large apertures compared with most others. Chromatic aberration is also low. I believe its strongest feature is that it keeps such a sharp image across its zoom range, making it a top-notch choice for quality and versatility. My only negative comment is that if held vertically, facing directly downward, the zoom setting creeps quickly around its mid-range. It must be held in position. Greater coverage around the barrel for the zoom range might have prevented this, or have a zoom lock.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

canon 15-85mm the GREAT

By horizon chaser from St. Paul, MN on 11/30/2010


Pros:

Built Quality, Fast And Accurate Af, Image Quality, Image Stabilization

Cons:

Variable Aperture, Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I read a lot of reviews before I bought this lens for my 7D. I will have to say that this is the best walk around lens for a crop (APS-C ) cameras, IQ is as good as the L series lens and better than some. IS is the best one I've seen in canon lenses. very fast and accurate AF and this lens isn't that bad during night shots or in low light situation. Price is a little high for this lens, but if you think about all of the pros of this lens you will forget about the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

ONE OF THE BEST ALL AROUND LENS

By Allan from Philippines on 11/01/2010


Pros:

Very Sharp Images Excellent Build

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm new in photography and started to search for a quality lens for my 450D, until one of my friends suggested the Canon 15-85 IS USM, at first I am quite hesitant because of the price of the lens, but when you started using it you will feel the difference compare with the kit lens, it is well worth buying this lens as you will be happy for the result of each single shots you've made. I strongly recommend this lens to all amateur photographer for us to develop the confidence while taking our shots. Having this lens will motivate you to continue to develop your skills at maximum level..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great walk around lens

By Daniel from North West Louisiana on 09/19/2010


Pros:

The Usm Is Smooth And Quiet

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this lens to replace the kit lens (efs 18-55) and never looked back. This lens is sharp and very well built. I've taken good clear pictures from its widest angle and zoomed all the way and it is sharp all the way. The USM is also the best i've ever seen.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Lens

By Buckeye Reviewer from Columbus, OH on 09/19/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this lens to shoot weddings and portraits on my 40D body. The resolution with this lens is simply outstanding. The images are bright and sharp. The color is very accurate and the auto focus is fast. It is the perfect all-around lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

superior quality and performance

By gerry from Seaside, CA on 08/11/2010


Pros:

Color Quality Is Superior

Cons:

The Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I I've only have this lense for over a month and had used it several times and already satisfied and happy with the perrformance. True and brilliant color. It works real well with my D40.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

what an upgrade!

By J O from Silver Spring, MD on 07/28/2010


Pros:

Generally Awesome

Cons:

Why Can't I Register This Yet?

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this to replace the 18-55 kit lens. Right off the bar I noticed the weight, which in my opinion is a good thing. Where the kit lens felt like a toy, this feels like a lens you should take care of. Auto focus is fast and smooth, the zoom is smooth and the are tack sharp when you're on point. If your considering this lens... stop thinking and go buy it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Rocks!

By JanK from Seattle, WA on 07/19/2010


Pros:

Great Stabilizor, Sharp Sharp Sharp, Fast Focusing, Nicely Controlled Ca

Cons:

Strong Corner Vignetting, Not Dust- And Moisture-resistant (as 7d Is)

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned many lenses but this is the BEST so far for EOS xx0D/x0D (APS-C Sensor body) with given focal length. I'd say the lens is on par with EF 24-105 f/4 L IS USM with EOS 5D. The picture quality is simply outstanding - it's so good that I have taken a red marker and changed the silver ring on the lens to red - the lens deserves it :) There's one thing that could have been done better - the corner vignetting, quite apparent, and seems to improve when you push the front lens element up while shooting. Tried only stills, no video as I own 40D.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent lens

By Nomad68 from Undisclosed on 05/28/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I sold my 17-55 f2.8 for this lens. Its almost as sharp and have greater reach. Image quality is comparable to our L lens in both color, contrast, and sharpness. Can give it higher praise than that!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great All Purpose Lens

By Bones from Long Island, NY on 03/29/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Heavy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lense to replace trhe 18-55 that came with the Rebel T2i. It takes great pictures, and the zoom range makes for a good all around lens. This combined with my 70- 200 f4L, and I have all the bases covered. The lens takes great, clear shots, and even if you zoom in and go to f5.6, with the stabilization, you can still get relatively fast shots. The only drawback is it's weight.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

super sharp

By Anonymous from Fl on 03/09/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like to take a lot of quick shots while walking around. I got this with my new Canon 7D. I was just amazed at the number or razor sharp candid shots I was getting. Was it the lens or the camera? I switched the 15 to 85 Canon lens to my old 40 D and used my Canon 24-105 L on the 7 D. So far it appears to be the lens. The extra image stabilization must be what is doing it. I can't wait until Canon puts this on all their lenses except we will all have to buy new lenses.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Glass for 50D

By bootsie2 from Morris Plains, NJ on 03/04/2010


Pros:

Excellent Image Resolution, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

More Money Than I Wanted To Spend.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased this lens as my initilal and only lens thus far for my EOS 50D. I'm told that a camera is only as good as the lens used with it. Well, the EF-S 15-85mm F3.5-5.6 IS is a perfect match for this camera. Images are very sharp. Colors and image resolution are excellent. It focuses fast and is very easy to use. It also balances very well with the 50D. I live for any images I can blow up to 12 x 18. This lens does that very easily with no noise at all. It is truly a very high quality lens that brings out the true potential of the 50D.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great walk-around lens for still and video

By Keith from Maine on 01/19/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens the first day it was available online. They didn't have it available at my local photo shops, so I went with someone who had it online. I was looking for a walk-around lens that had great optical quality and focal length range as well as image stabilisation. I have not regretted my purchase of this lens. The wide field of view and image stabilisation of this lens also works amazingly for video use. I have used it on a number of television commercials with great success. I would have to say the only cons to this lens are the price for a non-L series lens and the slight chromatic aberation in details toward the edges of the lens. Unfortunately, almost every lens suffers from this to some degree, so it wasn't a deal breaker for me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quality Lens

By johnny from Camp Lejeune, NC on 12/08/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens in Nov 09 i was happy with the overall quality of the lens although it put a decent dent in my wallet. My only gripe with it was that either my copy or due to my inexperience i was getting a deal of vignetting, aside from this i was quite happy with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A worthy replacement

By shutterboy from virginia on 11/27/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Weight And Size, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Replaced the kit 17-85IS and know I made this right choice. The wide angle is unique and the glass is sharp! I use the 40D and this lens is a match! I use the 70-200 f.4 as my other zoom but this new lens choice will remain on the camera as my walk around lens. I am thrilled with its perfection at both extremes. It really rocks!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens

By Photo guy from Undisclosed on 11/08/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

No Lense Hood, High Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this as my general use walk around lense. Photos are nice and sharp with great color. Build quality feels great. This is a definate step up over the 17-85mm in both build and image quality. USM gives extremely fast and quite focus. There is barrel distortion at 15mm but that is to be expected with a lens of this zoom range. My only beefs with this lens are no lense hood (as with all non L lenses) and it is a fairly steep price. But that being said I feel this is an excellent quality lense and would recomend it highly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved