Home » Photography » Digital Cameras » 3635B001 » 72 Reviews

Canon Powershot S90 Point & Shoot Digital Camera - 10 Megapixel - 16:9 - 3.8x Optical Zoom - 4x Digital Zoom - 3" Active Matrix Tft Color Lcd (3635b001) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 72 reviews)

90% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Easy To Use (43), Nice Features/settings (47), Good Low-light Performance (47), Bright Lcd (50), Lightweight/portable (49), Excellent Image Quality (50), Simple Controls/menu (29), Durable (19), Good Battery Life (13)

Cons:

Short Battery Life (18), Missing Features/settings (9), Complicated Controls/menu (4), Poor Image Quality (3), Heavy/bulky (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Not the best purchase ever

By Lou from Port Richey,Fl. on 02/27/2015

I am surprised. Took a few pictures and a couple are not clear. I have an old Canon one that puts out beautiful pictures., only got a new one because I could not take far away pictures. Have to check into the new camera further.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So good I still haven't learned everything

By El Badasso from Los Feliz, CA on 11/24/2010


Pros:

The Sensor

Cons:

No Image Stabilization

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Basically this is an amazing camera in every respect. But the one that counts is the low light shooting. With that sensor you get the kind of pics the pros take and you can do it on the sly. No flashes required


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good pictures, horrible user interface

By S90 from Undisclosed on 11/09/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

+ Picture quality for such a small camera - Wheel is horrible, gets accidentally activated the whole time. It's even too loose to change the settings reliably. - by switching to 'view mode' settings like self timer and manual focus get lost. -- this even is the case in custom mode!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best digital compact camera ever!

By Wang from Catlettsburg, Kentucky on 11/06/2010


Pros:

Quality Of Pictures

Cons:

Baterry Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Used my camera to take pictures at dusk in DC. Amazed how it turned out to be. Beautiful detail clear pictures. Even when you`re walking while taking pictures, even if it's againt the light. And when I posted my pictures online, i had a lot of compliment. That's how perfect my pictures turned out ot be with this point and shoot camera. Awesome!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it

By Akii from New york on 10/08/2010


Pros:

Image Quality, Features, Great Sensor, Excellent Display, Nice Macro Mode

Cons:

Battery Life, No Hd Video Recording

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a excellent camera for those who are looking for image quality, manual mode, build quality. It has a very good sensor. This compact camera has image quality better than other expensive cameras. It has features similar to SLR. If you intend to buy an SLR this is the right choice to start with.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I just bought this camera ...

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 09/29/2010


Pros:

Night Photos Turn Out Great, Great Features, Amazing Quality Of Photos

Cons:

Battery Life, No Charging Through Your Computer

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just bought this camera for a trip to Italy. I love the pictures that it takes. The features are great and a wonderful variety. The night settings take great quality photos. I want to say I would like to recommend this camera BUT I have major issues with the battery life! If you are going on a vacation and like to take a large amount of photos, this camera might not be for you. I love taking tons of pictures but this camera's battery died by 7 pm. Lost out on pictures because I didn't realize that the battery was this bad. If you buy it, definitely get a second battery and carry it with you. Also, apparently the camera does not charge when it is plugged into your computer! Canon NEEDS to fix these issues. It is really frustrating and poor quality. Other than that the pictures this camera takes are AMAZING! loved it, when the battery wasn't dead.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great little pocket cam

By 2cents from greatest city every, chicago on 09/21/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

fits in your shirt pocket, start up fast, clear photos 2.8f lense works great for 'no flash' situations just a sweet little cam to tuck away for those "i gotta have moments". Yes, hit enter and just purchase it already!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice camera, but....

By Rhett from AL on 08/23/2010


Pros:

Quality, Pocketable, Good Photos For A Compact

Cons:

Cr2 Raw Format, Loose Adjust Wheel, No Viewfinder, Mov Movie Format

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Takes nice photos in evenly lit day scenes; just about as good as my DSLR. However, it's hard to see what you'll get if the sun is out since there is no viewfinder. This in the same as any other camera without viewfinder. The wheel on the back is easily knocked out of it's setting by simply dropping the camera in your pocket or an inadvertent brush of the hand. It should have light click stops. You might take a number of shots before you see the mistake.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Pocket Camera

By Svejk from Columbus, OH on 08/19/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

S90 produces excellent JPGs out of the camera, which means minimum PP fiddling. Camera fits nicely in shirt pocket, which I attach to a neck strap for safety and security. However, I've added a Franiec hand grip. Over time the rear control dial became too loose and changes EV settings; so I've added a control dial solution. While the LCD is excellent, I do miss a viewfinder. If it had a polycarbonate body it might be a bit lighter.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Super Quality, RAW Format, Small

By NewsGroupNet from Washington, DC on 08/19/2010


Pros:

Small And Shoots Raw Format.

Cons:

Cannot Think Of Any Faults.

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

There are several things I like most about the Canon S90 - It both shoots RAW format and delivers impressive images, especially in low light levels, and it fits easily in my pocket. Having carried larger cameras for years, I'm hooked on the S90 and recommend it to both pro and serious amateur.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exceeded expectations

By Lady Di from Upstate South Carolina on 08/15/2010


Pros:

Compact Size Is Easy For Travel, Zoom, Battery Charger Easy And Compact, Ease Of Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

What a welcomed experience to purchase a product that surpasses the promises from the manufacturer and performs better than all the reviews! I unpacked my new camera the night before a trip to charge the battery. Although I took my instruction book with me, the camera was so user friendly the book was used very little. My travel partner, an amateur photographer who had a large brand name camera with multiple large lens, could not believe what my little camera could do. She left her bulky camera in the room after the first day. We shared my camera for the rest of the trip and had double prints made. The zoom feature is amazing! I have begun some amateur shooting of my own because of the impressive results I have gotten with the S90. The only problem is that I get so many really good shots, editing is difficult. I'm not sure I have been as pleased with a purchase since my red hoop skirt evening gown in high school.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Best in its Class

By Jimbo from Bayside, NY on 08/11/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Before buying the product I did some extensive reviews on compact digital cameras exploring a wide range of cameras in the price range the S90 is in. All the reviews point to the S90 when compared with competitors. boy did I make the right decision buying this camera. It is a g11 in stealth mode. The image processing chip is the same as in the g11 as well as the manual functions. Image quality is great! It can save in RAW so you can have the pure image you captured. It has many modes in automatic and very easy to use in manual mode. It's awesome capturing images in low light, its known for that. I've been using it for a few months and It is a sweet camera. I'm using this to get used to manual controls to move unto DSLR's. Actually, photographers who use DSLR's carry compact cameras for when DSLR's become inaccessible. In that situation they recommend the S90 because of is fully manual mode and superb image quality. all in all I recommend this camera for those who want to play around with the settings, for people who just want to use it as a point-and-shoot in auto mode, then it might be a bit pricey for that. good luck, hope you make the right decision!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great camera for its ...

By ed s from Undisclosed on 08/10/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

great camera for its picture quality, esp low light. its a little slow for multiple shots. worst part is the power button and multi-function ring button are very similar and close--missed a few shots when I hit the function button by accident.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great little camera

By tobes from traverse city, mi on 08/10/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

a very high quality little camera with lots of flexibility if it were a bit longer on the tele end of the zoom, it would be even better


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Investment

By DanieB from Green Bay, WI on 07/16/2010


Pros:

Nostalgia Feature Is Neat, Adjustable Flash Intensity, Tons Of Modes To Shoot In, Great In Low Light

Cons:

Learning Curve, Wheel On Back Moves Too Freely

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I research my electronics like you wouldn't believe! This one came out on top for the camera I was looking for. I wanted something better than a regular point and shoot, but not as expensive or bulky as a DSLR. I scoped this out at Best Buy and loved it! Ive had it since March and am still getting used to all the customizable features, but there are so many to chose from. Only issues I have had was it focusing on super close things, like water drops on a car window vs outside of it. But I keep it in "P" mode and it's been great. I can't get over how great it is in low light, and the stabilization is perfect. It is an investment, but definitely worth it if you want quality and quantity! The scrolly wheel on the back is a bit touchy and moves super easily, but you learn to deal. The flash never gets stuck for me, it always pops my finger up when it opens, I don't CLAMP onto the camera so it's strong enough. My cons are very minor in the overall picture of the s90.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad Design

By mscada from Seattle, WA on 07/16/2010


Pros:

2.0 App

Cons:

Bad Flash Design, Bad Control Wheel Placement

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Would be a great camera, but... 1. Control wheel is always in the way in all "creative" modes. As a result settings get inadvertently changed all the time. 2. Pop-up flash is very inconvenient. It is too easy to cover it with your hand by accident before it pop ups. And then it gets stuck mid way.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Purchase

By Artist from NYC on 07/04/2010


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Excellent Camera And Video Images, Good Low-light Performance, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable, Durable, Simple Controls/menu, Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Fully satisfied w/camera and purchased extra battery.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Compact Camera

By PowerShot from Maryland on 06/22/2010


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Good Battery Life, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Durable, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Simple Controls/menu, Good Low-light Performance

Cons:

Missing Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love it very much! Best compact camera I ever used.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad Design for Cannon

By Nelson from Undisclosed on 06/18/2010


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings

Cons:

Flimsy Construction, Delicate Construction, To Pricy For Quality, Flash Delicate

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The flash construction is very delicate. It locks if you leave your finger on top of it very easily. For the price thi gitch is unaceptable !!! I DON'T RECOMEND THIS MACHINE IF YOU WANT TO LEAVE OTHERS TO USE YOUR CAMERA.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

S90 Flawed Genius

By Marauder from Boston on 06/17/2010


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Durable, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

No Superfine Jpeg, Missing Features/settings, Short Battery Life, Poor Image Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So have had the product now for 4 months, really like it but I would say there is one big drawback for me. There is no SuperFine setting for jpegs, so the only way to get really high quality images out of this camera is to go to RAW and then create my own jpegs with high quality. Why Canon only off Fine on this camera and have left out SuperFine jpeg quality is beyond me, lets hope they product a firmware update to fix this simple but annoying issue.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Focus problems

By Attofarad from San Jose, CA on 06/02/2010


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

Macro Focus Unreliable, Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera for general use, but mainly for underwater use in the Canon WP-DC35 housing. Everything pretty good, except for a couple of things. First, for scuba use, the battery life is a bit short. Still acceptable, but not good. Second, the focus in unreliable in Macro mode. As first, I thought this was caused by the difficulty of doing a shutter "half-press" in the underwater housing, but then I found that it is true out of the housing also. The camera will usually focus, but not often enough. Brighter lighting helps, but normal bright fluorescent office lighting isn't bright enough for reliable macro focusing. I though maybe I had a bad unit, so I got the camera replaced by the vendor -- same result. Now I guess I'll either have to keep this with the problem, or eat the cost of my underwater housing, which is only usable with the S90.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Liberating

By Jon S from Austin, Texas on 06/02/2010


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Durable, P Tv Avm And Custom Capable, Good Low-light Performance, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable, Good Battery Life, Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

No Hd Video, No Zoom While Shooting Video

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been a Canon SLR user for many years. I love, but lug, my 1D around with me all the time. When it comes to point-and-shoots, I have always been quite snobbish. Then a friend told me about the S90. I read a bunch of material regarding the pros and cons on the camera. Then I went and tried one out at a local store. I was just blown away. I shoot mostly in manual and the S90 fits my every need. The other things I like about the camera is that I shoot interior construction shots for my company. The flash fill lighting works great while balancing light and dark areas under very difficult shooting conditions. Low-light shooting is also great. The display is fantastic and the controls are intuitive and respond quickly. Then there is the lens-ring control! Wow, do I love this feature. Being able to program the function for the adjustment ring is a fantastic idea and it has become one of the most used controls on my camera. I don't shoot much video so not having HD is no big deal. I will say that the ability to zoom while shooting video would be a nice feature but it is not a deal breaker for me. With all cameras, there are some short-comings. The S90's short-comings are few and far between. The most important thing I would like to convey is the liberation I feel by having a camera I can fit in my pocket (or in the tank bag of my motorcycle) that does almost everything my 1D does. It is not a replacement for a great SLR but it is one darn good little camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Camera!!!! I have ...

By tdog from Undisclosed on 06/02/2010


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd, Good Low-light Performance, Durable, Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use

Cons:

Heavy/bulky

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great Camera!!!! I have been a Canon fan for quite a few years & this has sealed the deal. Easy to use, professional results with manual capabilities of much more expensive SLRs


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Slick

By creativejerry from Santa Fe, NM on 05/24/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Raw Capability; Auto Iso, Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings

Cons:

Loose Selection Wheel

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After an extensive review of online reviews, I selected the S90 and I'm very glad I did. It's great looking, has all the features I need including RAW and auto ISO and my shots are perfect (most)* every time. *The only shortcoming is the wheel on the back of the camera which is loose and easy to inadvertently change settings. I've had to do shots over because of this and for some it was too late.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Low Light Performance I've Ever Used

By PhotoJunky17 from USA on 05/20/2010


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Good Low-light Performance, Bright Lcd, Incredible Low Light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this camera this week and have benn amazed by the underwater capabilities while in a casing. It is above and beyond what I can express in words, and is by far the best point-and-shoot I've ever used!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

no all the time flash on feature that works

By lady jane from helendale, ca on 05/12/2010


Cons:

No Flash On All The Time Feature That Works, Poor Image Quality, Missing Features/settings, Complicated Controls/menu, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I love to take pictures and have had many different cameras through the years. this camera makes me feel miserable everytime I take a picture it is not a pleasant experience. It is painful because the flash never flashes when I want and need it to. I like a flash on all the time to fill in the shadows on the face. and make the flesh tones bright. this camera makes peoples faces look gray and filled with shadows making monster like features. I do not like it at all. I have to go lets try this angle but every angle is still terrible .. so I do not like this camera at all.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Shots

By G from Rochester, NY on 04/25/2010


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Nice Features/settings, Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great all around camera. Most of the features a pro would want without the bulk.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great camera, just needs one fix

By Macman from Tampa, FL on 04/06/2010


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just got back from a trip out west using this camera everyday. This is a great camera and one that I enjoyed using very much. It has a F/2.0 lens on the wide end which came in very handy in lower light pictures. I was amazed at how well this camera handles low light shots. Canon made the right move pulling back the megapixels from 14.3 on the G10 to 10 megapixels on this camera and the G11. I got very usable shots at ISO 800 in low light. I would not push it any further than ISO 800 though. For a camera of this size that is amazing. I really like the manual control this camera gives over any other (except maybe the G11) point and shoot I have ever used. The front ring on the camera is perfect for manual adjustments. I love the fact that you can set the function of the ring to many different things (ISO, lens zoom, WB ect.). The only complaint I have with this camera is the rear control wheel. It moves far to easy. It needs to be a click control wheel like the front one. All you have to do is touch it and it will change a setting. This happened to me while I was taking pictures more than once. I had it set to control exposure compensation and many photos turned out dark because I had brushed up against the rear control wheel and changed the exposure -2/3 or -1 without knowing it. CANON PLEASE CHANGE THIS! If it wasn't for this one fact, It would be the perfect camera!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Camera!

By Jon from Undisclosed on 03/30/2010


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The camera is great. Is is a great starting camera, and you can easily bring it around. It has a great quality, and the zoom is fantastic.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect...

By ssk44 from Gilbert, AZ on 03/24/2010


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable, Durable, Simple Controls/menu, Bright Lcd, Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The S90 is a superb landscape camera for the individual that demands excellent image quality in a small package. Don't let the small size fool you. The S90 delivers! This camera is all business with no gimmicks. The S90 is basically a compact G11. Magic cameras do not exist. Any camera will take a bad photo if not used correctly. If you have the knowledge and experience needed to take great photos, the S90 will hold up it's end and likely exceed your expectations. Images are excellent right out of the camera with very little enhancement/processing needed if photos were taken correctly in the field. I highly recommend this camera for the enthusiast photographer or for the DSLR guy that wants a great compact daily camera. Buy this camera!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Another Winner

By Macadoo from Henderson NV on 03/23/2010


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used Canon cameras and lens since 1970. I'am a retired wedding photographer and found that canon lens have consistently had great contrast. I purchased the S90 to carry in my pocket and found that the picture quality rivaled some DSLR'S. A close friend of mine asked me if I would shoot his daughters wedding, so I said OK. I used the S90 with the high power flash attachment. The results were outstanding and the available light pics were of Rembrandt quality. Well done


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The best ever handy digital camera so far

By taesean from LA, CA on 03/22/2010


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Good Low-light Performance, Durable, Simple Controls/menu

Cons:

Short Battery Life, Pricey

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

S90 has a bright & fast lens, fast on & off, clear & crisp screen, best indoor shot result, the best photo quality. It's a little pricey, short battery life, no full HD video. I love it. All my friends were shocked by what S90 can do. It makes almost same quality as my Rebel XSI. You won't regret to buy this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best point-and-shoot on the market!!!!

By dj from San Francisco, CA on 03/15/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings, Good Low-light Performance, Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this little camera. The image quality is fantastic and it is easy to use. Several great features: 1) direct control rings for access to settings you need NOW (not 3 seconds later), 2) largest image sensor that I know of for a compact on the market, 3) f/2.0 zoom for low light performance, 4) great resolution, 5) 28-105mm equivalent zoom range. I highly recommend this camera to anyone who is considering an excellent point-and-shoot.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great compact camera

By Bill from Louisville, KY on 03/04/2010


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Finally a camera that can be carried everywhere that takes fantastic pictures. I especially appreciate being able to take JPEG and RAW simultaneously. Low light performance is amazing and the feature set is everything needed to take great pictures in any situation. This camera exceeded my expectations.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Extremely satisfied

By LT529 from Dallas, TX on 03/04/2010


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Easy To Use

Cons:

Ergonomics

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I mainly bought this camera for the f/2 aperture, and it's size. After using it on my evening tour of Chicago, I was very impressed with the low light performance of the S90. One of the things that could be improved is it's ergonomics. When I'm taking a picture, I find that my thumb will turn the ring around the menu button without me knowing causing my exposure settings to change.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really Good Quality

By EGWO from New Jersey on 02/28/2010


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance

Cons:

I Miss A Viewfinder

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Although I'm not a professional photographer, I used to shoot and develop film so photo quality is important to me. I've had several point and shoot digital cameras but none provided the quality I was looking for and I did not want to go for the larger, more cumbersome digital SLR as I knew I'd never take it with me. After doing a lot of research, I'm very happy with this camera. It's easy to put in a bag, doesn't feel too fragile and takes really great photos without me needing to do anything special. I've experimented with the scene settings but in general have it on auto and it works great. I plan to explore the other settings soon but in the short term it's great to be able to walk out the door with an easy-to-carry camera that also takes high quality photos. My only complaint is that I wish it had a viewfinder. I've come to terms with the fact that most cameras other than digital SLRs no longer have one and I think it's a mistake on the part of the manufacturers. Although this may seem like an expensive camera for just using auto, if photo quality is a priority to you then you will probably be willing to spend the money as I did.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

best of 2010

By Rick from Japan on 02/22/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable, Good Low-light Performance, Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

Flimsy Construction

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I researched this in depth before purchasing, and I am very pleased with the results so far. As I write this, there are only a couple cameras which are shirt-pocket compact, have a relatively big CCD (about 1/1.7" in this case), and a wide-open F/2.0 lens. That combination makes it worth the purchase price. Go price an F/2.0 lens ALONE on a shopping site (about $500) and you will see what I mean. It has full manual modes, two programmable dials including the brilliant 'old school' lens dial, a custom 'C' mode, and a further customizable 'S' button. For the enthusiast, these make this camera 'yours'. Or, just leave it in 'AUTO' mode and get great shots that leave lesser cameras behind. This is not a pocketable DSLR to replace my CANON EOS Kiss, but unless you go to 3x the weight and 2x the cost, it is the best overall still camera at this price and weight you can get today and carry in your pocket. My only complaint is the loose control dial on the back, and loose control ring on the front. They function perfectly, but they feel loose and fragile. I'm sure they designed it that way for ease of adjustment, but the back ring really needs a little friction to avoid inadvertent motion, and the front ring needs a smoother feel. My 'quality' and 'satisfaction' ratings are a '4' because of this ergonomic issue. Other respected reviewers which you can easily find on the web are calling this the best compact camera to date, by any manufacturer. At least with regard to the box of cameras I have at home, I agree. Time will tell how long it survives in my pocket; but hey, it's IN MY POCKET, and I won't miss another shot, day or night.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome D camera

By Thunder14 from Tallahassee, FL on 02/20/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is what I really wanted to buy. Overall, I like all the features such as LCD, Design, and Image quality, just to name a few. If you are not for sure about your decision that which model you should buy, please don't hegitate to choose this PS S90. Price seems little bit higher than other PSs but You will be glad what a decision you have made.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Feature-rich Camera

By watcher1 from Atlanta on 02/14/2010


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Two Control Rings, Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings, Fast Lens, Bright Lcd

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased to replace Canon SD700 (which was still going strong). S90 has faster lens and two control rings that allow easier control. I use it when it is not practical to carry my DSLR and lenses. Excellent results all around: sharp images, excellent color (as always with a Powershot), and easy control of depth of field, shutter speed, and exposure. The two control dials (ring around the lens and rear wheel) are great if you shoot aperature- or shutter-preferred or manual. I particularly like that the image on the LCD changes when I make adjustments to exposure so I can see exactly how the image will be recorded. In program mode, I set the rear wheel for exposure compensation and can rotate it with my thumb to get the image I want. It takes a second for the LCD to change but it works. A great feature. This is my first point-and-shoot without a viewfinder, so maybe other cameras do it as well (I never used to use the LCD for framing the shot), but the convenience of the wheel on the back can't be beat. And the ring around the lens can be used to change ISO. This camera is small, so be sure it fits your hands. Better handle it in a store before buying. One minor issue: the flash pops up when activitated and I always seem to have my finger over it. Not a problem, but it is annoying (guess I have to change my grip!). Highly recommended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great camera!

By DLMdoc from Chicago on 02/12/2010


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Good Low-light Performance, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Simple Controls/menu

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this camera for 2 months now. I started a Project 365" on January 1st, so I have been using the camera every day. I've never had anything but a point and shoot camera, so I'm still learning about all the different features that this camera has! It takes wonderful, amazing pictures! The quality and color are terrific. I haven't taken a lot of indoor shots yet, but the ones I have taken have come out well - even the ones where I've forgotten to turn on the flash! The only negative is I have only been able to take somewhere between 200-300 pictures on one charge of the battery. Wish the battery had a longer life. I am very happy with this camera and would recommened it to anyone looking for some features of an SLR in a compact size!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

RECOMMEND 100% !!! EXECELENT PICTURE QUALITY !

By ALBERTS from Undisclosed on 01/31/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings, Simple Controls/menu, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Short Battery Life, Heavy/bulky, Missing Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

ACTUALLY I BOUGHT THIS CAMERA BECAUSE OF THE REVIEWS I READ......NOW THAT I OWN THIS CAMERA , I RECOMMEND IT 100% !!! EXCELLENT PICTURE QUALITY & ADVANCE FEATURES.. ...ITS THE BEST CAMERA I EVER HAVE SINCE I WAS LOOKING FOR A CAMERA WITH EXCELLENT CONTROL SYSTEM & BETTER PICTURE QUALITY ,plus IS EASY TO CARRY AROUND......


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Pictures, So-So Ergonomics

By AJS from Santa Clarita, CA on 01/28/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Versatile, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Great Results In Raw, Nice Features/settings

Cons:

Mediocre Ergonomics, Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm an advanced amateur that carries around a monster SLR, but I've always wanted a pocket camera that shoots raw and has manual controls -- and here it is. The S90 produces surprisingly good results in raw. The packaging, however, is another story. The control ring on the back is so loose there is no question that settings will change without me knowing it. Also, the camera has no "grip." It's basically a slippery box. Don't even think of using it without the wrist strap. Would I buy it anyway? Sure. It does what I wanted photographically. This is my first Canon camera and I'm surprised how little thought was given to ergonomics.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect for me

By Gman from United States on 12/28/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Bright Lcd, Good Battery Life, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings, Good Low-light Performance, Simple Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought the camera for myself for Christmas and used it extensively over the holidays. Takes beautiful pictures in all light conditions. Small and easy to drop in a pocket. Only hitch is remembering to keep you finger off the automatic flash. No big deal. I have other digital camera but this one is now my favorite and will retire the others.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

it's a CONON!

By V from Boston, MA on 12/28/2009


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Bright Lcd, Good Low-light Performance

Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great compact camera, best low lighting camera I have seen. 5*****'s 100%


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Pocket Camera!

By ericthedangerous from Undisclosed on 12/25/2009


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable, Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings, Good Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just got this camera for Christmas and put it through some harsh low light conditions; with or with out a flash it doesn't matter! It handles low light like it is it's job! The images are BEAUTIFUL! Almost every shot is perfect. It takes a little time to get the picture just right, but I am a really picky photographer. This camera IS a "dSLR" that can fit in you pocket! I love my 40D, but this camera is pretty close to the image quality.Great job Canon!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great purchase

By YX from Minnesota on 12/21/2009


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Zoom Could Be Farther, Looks Cheaply Built, No Hd Video

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After looking at other cameras out there, I went and ordered the S90. This is my third Canon digital camera. I have had it now for a couple of days, and love shooting! The LCD is very clear and make the images beautiful. I previously owned the Canon Powershot G10, and the S90 is comparable. Actually the S90 shoots better in low light, since that is its specialty. If you want a great compact digital camera, the S90 is for you. It's portable and takes excellent photos!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect for the size

By Z from Long Island, NY on 12/18/2009


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable, Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Durable, Good Low-light Performance, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I own a Rebel SLR and I wanted something that could fit in my pocket with the closest features of an SLR. Well, I found it! Not only is this camera small but it has amazing image quality along with advanced features for a point and shoot. Don't settle for anything less or you will be very very disapointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

wow!

By ohsoamazing from Los Angeles, CA on 12/14/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings, Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Love The Pop Up Flash

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased the camera because of the low light setting and I have to say it works amazing! This camera is simple to use and has great settings. Love it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Camera, Minor Drawbacks

By Eric from Metro Detroit, MI on 12/10/2009


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable, Simple Controls/menu

Cons:

Lens Not Wide Enough For Pocket Cam, Screen Scratches Easily

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really love my S90 - it has fast response times, a fast lens, and most importantly, great image quality. I only really have 2 complains about this camera: First, for situations where you frequently use a compact camera, I find the widest zoom to not be wide enough. Second, it seams that screen scratches very easily. I have been VERY careful with the camera - it was never against anything but soft fabric in my pocket, and was never set with the screen contacting anything, but within a day or so it started developing micro scratches. I would recommend picking up a screen protector for it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great little camera

By Nancy from Long Island, NY on 12/07/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Durable, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings

Cons:

The Manual Focus Doesn't Really Work., Complicated Controls/menu, Really Small Manual

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Before buying the S90 I owned an S60, which I loved. It died a few months ago and I've been looking ever since to replace it. When I saw that Canon had brought back Raw for this little camera I was hooked. I needed a camera with a wide angle lens for work and I wanted a camera that was more adjustable than the usual point and shoot cameras. At first I was disappointed that it didn't have a viewfinder, but I haven't found it to be a problem. I wish that it had a few more accessories, like a remote control but it is fun, light and does almost everything I want in a really small package, in fact the small size took the most getting used to. There is a bit of a learning curve to be able to use all of the cameras features, but it is easier to access the menus and setting than my S60 was. All in all I am in love.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this camera for the ...

By LandLights from San Francisco, CA on 12/07/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Good Low-light Performance

Cons:

No! Hd Video

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love this camera for the RAW, f2 stop and the settings it has. The S90 is not a replacement for a SLR but a great compact camera for all casual moments.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Power Shot S90

By Roberta from Boston, MA on 12/06/2009


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd, Simple Controls/menu, Durable, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

Camera Shake Visible In Low Light Settings, Short Battery Life, Only Shoots Jpg's In Automatic Settings, Jpg Quality Is Poor In Low Light Settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a fun camera with diverse settings which will be useful for the more experienced amateur. The RAW capture is useful if you have been using a more sophisticated editing program. However, if you want to use the low light and indoor settings you must shoot in JPG and the loss of detail and camera shake make it almost impossible to get good detail in a large format print. I like it as a casual camera but it is no replacement for a DSLR.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

best purchase ever

By believer from Texas on 12/06/2009


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable, Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son is turning one in two weeks so I was looking for a nice camera for about a week straight looking at reviews and I found the S90.When i received it I was amazed by all the things it could do and by the nice big screen(for me anyway)So far I haven't found anything wrong with it.While i read the user guide I just kept liking it more and more and was excited to use it!I don't regret buying it one bit!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

so far so good

By musicrider from Wisconsin on 12/06/2009


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu, Nice Features/settings, Bright Lcd

Cons:

None Yet

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Only recently purchased the S90. While I am still in the learning curve it is a camera that you can use in auto and get most everything you need while you learn other features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Compact To Date

By DexStory from Santa Rosa, CA on 11/28/2009


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've used the S90 for a month and have tested it in a variety of situations. For a compact camera, it performs quite well in low light with the flash turned off. I also like having Raw capture, and the bundled Digital Photo Professional software does an excellent job of extracting every bit of quality from those Raw files. The S90 sets the standard for high end compacts.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Where's the HD Video?

By Gotta have HD from Undisclosed on 11/23/2009


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality, Good Low-light Performance

Cons:

Missing Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great camera, but why no HD video? This would really be the ultimate camera with HD video for those who don't/won't carry along a dedicated HD video camcorder. Yes, still photos are the primary function of this camera, but there are times where a 10 second video captures the moment better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

King of Compact

By Mr. NC State from Raleigh, NC on 11/19/2009


Pros:

Durable, Good Low-light Performance, Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera is by far the best compact camera I've ever used. The low light performance is incredible for such a camera. Now I can take indoor and night pics without using flash. ISO 80 and ISO 100 quality are comparable to any entry level DSLR. Another thing that make me love my camera so much is the user friendly full manual control. With those external rings, changing settings is a breeze. The only thing that i feel uncomfortable is the battery life. I manage to get around 200 pics per charge. I wish it could around 300 but I already bought a spare battery.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Prosumer Compact

By Humble Bear from LA on 11/16/2009


Pros:

Able To Customize Settings In C Mode, Bright Lcd, Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality, F2 Lense, Manual Controls, Simple Controls/menu, Nice Features/settings

Cons:

Need Low Auto Iso Selection As Sd870, Auto Mode Not Good, Need Auto Iso In M Mode, Iso & Aperture Programming Not Optimal, Short Battery Life, Pop Up Flash Gets In The Way, Hard To Grip(slippery), Rear Control Wheel Easy To Be Mistakenly Moved

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my 5th Cannon digital camera. I've been looking for a high end compact camera offers f2 lense, wide angle, large sensor and full manual control and finally came the S90. I am generally very happy about the image quality of the camera. My #1 wish is to have auto ISO selection in M mode and the rest I wrote in the Cons. I wish Cannon can issue a fix for that.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Point-and-Shoot ever made, with exceptions...

By MagMan1979 from Vancouver, BC on 11/16/2009


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Nice Features/settings, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Durable, Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Missing Features/settings, Non-customizable Control Dial, Lens Ring "click" Too "tight", Poor Raw Image Quality At High Iso, Quirky Operation Of Flash In Non-auto Modes

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Hi there, Since there are a lot of Pro ratings for this camera, I wont go over them here, since I have to confirm they are all true! I will however go into some of the quirks of this model: The Control Dial on the back of the camera, as some have noted, cannot be adjusted to use different functions in P, Av, Tv, M, C modes, and is extremely easy to accidentally rotate during normal shooting, causing problems with photo exposure (its default setting in these modes). Canon needs to add a feature to the firmware allowing customization of this dial, and perhaps an electronic lock to prevent accidental actions. The flash will ALWAYS stay open in P, Av, Tv, M, C models, in any mode other than OFF. This is pointless IMO, as the flash should only pop up when needed if set to Auto, which it does in the other camera modes. Again, a firmware update should be able to address this easily. The lens ring is a fantastic idea, however its implementation is somewhat poor, as the click is so hard, that often it shakes the camera body, and makes it difficult to use during normal operation and composition situations, especially if used in Video mode. RAW image quality seems to suffer significantly once you go above ISO 400 on this camera, which is a super disappointment to me as the RAW capability was one of the main selling points of this unit. My only hope is once Adobe releases support for this model in their Camera Raw software, image quality can be improved, as the software that comes with it (DPP) offers results that are below the quality of the internal JPG engine. Thats pretty much it for the Cons of this model. Overall though, it is a magnificent camera that I recommend to EVERYONE I talk to about, and just hope Canon expedites a firmware update to address some of the issues being expressed by people.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Better than LX3

By FOTO POPPER from New Jersey, USA on 11/06/2009


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Durable, Excellent Image Quality, Raw Capture, Lightweight/portable, Solid Build, Bright Lcd, At Raw- Captures Clean Images

Cons:

Lens Distortion, Some Noise At Iso 80, Control Dial Is Flimsy, There's No "lock" Switch For Exposure Compensation, Missing Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Good Build, RAW capture, Fast lens & High image quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Canon has won me back!!

By ci-lee from Undisclosed on 11/02/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings, Good Low-light Performance, Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality, Elegant Design, Simple Controls/menu, Durable

Cons:

Short Battery Life, No Hd Video??, Sensitive Back Control Wheel

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the first Canon camera I've purchased since my old 35mm SLR bodies. Frankly, I had felt that the competition had caught up and been providing more compelling products in the P&S and amateur DSLR categories. I switched camps to Nikon for a DSLR and to Panasonic for their awesome line of compact zoom P&S. Its been two years since my last purchase and since then I had all but gotten out of photography...sold everything I had save a Panny P&S. I got the bug again on a recent trip and after much research and anticipation decided to "upgrade" to the S90. What a GREAT camera. Everything from the form factor to the ease of use, fast lens and the amazing low light capabilities add up to great images. I learned long ago that its not the camera that makes great photos but in the days of digital it certainly helps to have something as well designed as this S90. Whether you're a beginner, an aspiring photographer or a pro in need of a great backup/pocket camera, this is probably one of the best solutions out there. Its not a "system' camera given the absence of a hot shoe or lens mount but thats not the point of the S90. It is best P&S out there and in many ways beats Canon's own G11 out for best compact. Now if Canon would jump into Micro Four-Thirds and introduce it as a G12...I'd have my checkbook out!! Who knows, maybe I'll pick up a 7D in the meantime and truly build up a new Canon system. In any case, do yourself a favor and get this camera!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Small wonder

By Mellow yellow from Waterbury,CT on 11/01/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable, Durable, Good Battery Life, Bright Lcd, Simple Controls/menu, Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have a S80, G7,G10 and I wanted a camera that I could put in my pocket and take with me all the time. My S80 is very good,but ther controls of theS90 and the picture is just as good as my G10. In fact can't wait to get a canon 9000II printer to see how well with large pictures and conpare the two cameras.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice camera, with a few caveats

By DrMike from Portland, OR on 11/01/2009


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd, Good Low-light Performance

Cons:

Missing Features/settings, Slippery Hard To Hold

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've only had this camera two days, so this is a first impression. The quality of the JPG images seems very good, as does the low light performance. It will take a while to learn how to use this handy little camera to best advantage. I've run into two minor issues so far. 1. The Canon stylists chose to make the surface very smooth and without sharp edges. This is very much like a wet bar of soap! This can be fixed with the addition of various kinds of traction tape. I put four pieces in the areas where my fingers naturally fall and it works great now. 2. Many photographers will buy this camera because it records RAW image files. Unfortunately many image processing programs do not yet recognize these files. If you had close control over the JPG processing in camera, it would be a good temporary fix, but you don't have that option. I think the scene choices do some of that, but the manual isn't very clear about it. I also find that the camera does not record RAW files at some times when I think it is doing so. I'm sure I'll get that figured out. The copy of Digital Photo Professional that comes with the camera does recognize the RAW files of course, but it is not a great program in my opinion. While this is a very nice and well built camera, I think it is a bit overpriced for what you get. I'm going to keep it, but the initial impression is not outstanding.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

washed out LCD, inaccurate ISO, contrasty images

By CanonFan from USA on 10/26/2009


Pros:

Love The Aperture Ring, Fast And Responsive, "improving' Low Light Performance, F2.0 Lens A Creative Plus, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Iso Inaccurately Rated, Poor Image Quality, Short Battery Life, Images Are Very Contrasty, Washed Out Lcd, Lack Of Superfine Compression

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

1. Washed out LCD screen color 2. ISO rating one stop under listing 3. Overly contrasty images from RAW and JPG 4. Slippery surface The S90's LCD screen is very washed out making it difficult to evaluate one's exposure. Skin tones are particularly washed out. ISO rating is appears to be incorrect. The "Sunny 16 rule" does not work with the displayed ISO in Manual. Example: Metering off a grey card in direct mid-day sun should yield an exposure of ISO 80 with f5.6 and 1/640s. Instead the proper settings to reflect accurate exposure at ISO 80 are f5.6 and 1/320s. ISO set at 80 performs as if it were ISO 40. In fact, testing ISO 200, 400 and 800 all revealed that their true sensitivities appear to be ISO 100, 200, and 400. Hence, noise levels 'appear' lower at ISO 800 than normal for a PowerShot camera, when in reality, the noise levels should be compared to ISO 400 as this is the true sensitivity. Images appear artificially contrasty in RAW or JPG Fine. Shadows are nearly black with no detail without pumping them up in RAW images using Canon's own DPP software. Images shot with prior Canon models had smoother detail in the shadows. The S90 has a beautiful casing. It would benefit from some texturing. The surface is incredibly smooth and slippery making it challenging to hold. Overall, this platform has great potential. Love the 'aperture ring' and compact size. Would like to see the return of SuperFIne compression in Canon's PowerShot lineup. Fine compression simply has too many artifacts especially evident in flesh colors, and large areas of the same color. Very noticeable when viewed at 100%. f2.0 lens a huge plus. Thank you Canon for paying very good detail to the lens!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love It!

By Steve from Los Angeles on 10/25/2009


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Good Low-light Performance, Good Battery Life, Durable, Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's my first REAL camera. Love it!! Of course I will be 99 years old before I figure out everything it does. What I know so far is I have never taken a better picture!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great compact but slippery

By Anonymous from California on 10/18/2009


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd, Good Low-light Performance, Good Battery Life, Simple Controls/menu, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings

Cons:

Very Slippery And Smooth

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Like others I bought the camera and have been out experimenting. I have a SLR Rebel that I have been comparing it to, taking shots with both cameras at similar distances. I have not played with RAW yet but I have found that there is not much difference in quality between the Rebel and the S-90. Yes, you can do more with the SLR but from a point and shoot perspective there is not a huge difference in picture quality. I asked my wife to examine identical shots made with both cameras and she could not tell the difference. Of course if we were talking longer focal lengths that would be different. I like quality pictures of vacations but hate taking the big camera. This camera will work perfectly. It's small, takes great pictures, starts very fast and I thought the menu system was simple and easy. One big issue! This is a compact point and shoot meaning it will likely go in a shirt pocket and be used frequently. The camera is VERY smooth and heavy for it's size making it quite slippery. If your fingers are even slightly moist or sweaty on a hot day you will likely drop it as it slips out of your hands removing it from your pocket especially while you try to avoid grabbing the LCD screen that takes up most of the rear of the camera.. This was foolish in my opinion but easily remedied. I immediately picked up stair safety tape that is like sandpaper on one side and sticky on the other. I cut small pieces and stuck them on critical areas such as behind the flash on top, on the top right where you would hold it, on the battery door and the right front. These are all the spots that you would hold the camera or grasp it with your fingers while in your pocket. When finished it looks factory installed and VERY functional. There is just no easy place to grab this camera safely without grabbing the LCD but the rough tape solves the problem. Use the hand strap! Canon, you should fix this ASAP or you will deal with many dropped cameras. Other than that it's a sensational camera although a little pricey right now. No regrets at all.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MOST DISAPPOINTING S SERIES I HAVE OWNED

By KA from New Orleans on 10/18/2009


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Easy To Use

Cons:

Short Battery Life, Missing Features/settings, Imagewheel Needs Detents.

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Good build quality. Has solid feel. Good image quality. Control wheel needs detents like G series and DSLR cameras. It is maddening to avoid hitting the wheel and changing settings. Can't see logic in this feature. Battery needed charging after 50 images. This is unacceptable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Compact Available

By Gregg from California City, CA. on 10/14/2009


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Nice Features/settings, Bright Lcd, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality, Durable, Good Low-light Performance

Cons:

Wish The Control Dial Had Detents

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So far this is the best compact camera I've ever owned bar-none. Easy to use and takes fantastic photos even in low light conditions. Rugged and solid construction with a classy style.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Serious Compact Camera

By ISDN Man from San Francisco, CA on 10/14/2009


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Simple Controls/menu, Good Low-light Performance, Nice Features/settings, Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Apeture Lens Ring Works Backwards, Heavy/bulky, Custom Menu Holds Five Items Maximum, Fomatting Must Be Done With Menus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My first impressions of the Canon S90 Compact Camera are quite good although I do have some nits: Some functions should be easier to set. For example, Canon requires you to go into the menus to format the SD card. I would prefer to do that with buttons like I can on a DSLR. I also was a bit disappointed that I couldn't set more functions in my custom menu (only five custom items can be set at one time.) It's really easy to smudge the LCD because it takes up almost the entire camera back. And the manual setting of aperture is backwards. Canon set it to turn like you are looking at the camera, but it needs to be reversed because you are setting it from the back of the camera. It's counter intuitive--and there's no way to change the dial rotation to match what comes intuitively. Post processing tests show that the S90 shots easy to manipulate photos. The biggest drawback are with marginal photos (extremely under exposed, for example.) I can bring back mistakes like that in poorly executed shots taken with my DSLR. With the S90, however, the photos blow out and become surrealistic looking when I try to recover them. But in fairness, we are talking about shots that should be greeted by the delete key anyway. I shot some low light photos at ISO 2000 and 3200. Ridiculously high settings for a digital camera. And I must say that this camera handles noise extremely well. Sure, noise is there at high ISO settings. If you look closely enough you will see it, but it's not objectionable. The image quality and detail is quite good. Focusing, even in low light, is fast and spot on the mark. There is almost no delay from the time I press the shutter button to the time the camera takes the photo. The camera does well in write speed to the SD card as well. Plus, I love being able to manually set aperture and shutter speed without using menus. That's a terrific feature! And I haven't yet missed having an optical viewfinder. The S90 is a well designed, solid camera. The build quality is excellent. It's small, but easy to handle. It has features that aren't even on my DSLR and is quite capable. All-in-all, a very good camera and well worth the money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SO LITTLE BUT OH SO MUCH

By JERRY from Santa Monica, CA on 10/10/2009


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Lightweight/portable, Durable, Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings, Good Battery Life, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance

Cons:

Raw Editor Not Easy To Use, Buttons Are Small And Hard To Read In Dim Light

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera yesterday and so far have taken over 100 images. I wanted a little camera to go along with my dSLR and this just might replace my dSLR. It has just about everything I want but with three exceptions (1) I keep trying to press the mode control wheel in place of the shutter button. This will take some more time to master. I am not sure if they could have moved the shutter button all the way to the right and the mode dial more to the center, but that would have been nicer, at least for me. (2) RAW has me stumped so far. I can't seem to get the included software to work and I haven't located a new plug-in for my regular photo editor so that I can use that in place of Canon's editor.(3) The buttons on the back are small and not easy to read. I have large fingers which means that sometimes when I tried to press the SET/OK button I pressed something else. It is getting better but that does slow me down once in a while. Now to the wonderful features that make me so happy besides having a nice f2.0 lens and a decent zoom range. The camera is ready to go very quicklywhen turned on and the shutter lag is almost nil. I found that it to be almost as fast as my dSLR to use. The LCD is bright and very clear. I tried it in bright light it it works fine even for my old eyes. The colors and detail beat anything I have seen. The ring control dials (front and back) are an interesting innovation. Canon's back ring was (and to a certain extent still is) frustrating because it easily rotated. This one seems to be better in that regard. Now to why we buy a camera, the images. Stunning is an appropriate word. I shot at ISOs over 800 and the results are very very good. Yes, there is some slight noise in some shots at 800 and above but the images are very acceptable and should print easily at 8x10 and even larger for the 800 ISO shots and I noted a few would be OK even at ISO1600. The auto white balance is the best I have seen in any camera and I have owned over a dozen digital cameras, probably a lot more since I teach a couple of intro digital photo classes and have to stay ahead of the students. I just can't rave about the sharpness and detail in the images, very well done Canon. The menu and readouts on the LCD are heads and shoulder above anything I have seen. Extremely informative and make using so much easier. It is unfortunate that Canon printed the manual in such small type since they use a few new icons which I found hard to identify. Like I had AWB on and right below that icon was another icon on the screen that said WB and right next to it what appeared a wire fence. I finally figured out that I had inadvertently fine tuned the WB slightly. The battery charger is a one piece unit which is much appreciated since it is one less piece of stuff to carry when traveling.The battery seems to be good and is holding the charge well. I use the LCD a great deal in the playback mode and in just figuring out he settings. I suspect that under normal use I will get over 300 shots per charge. The playback mode seems to be further enhanced over my SD890 which I already thought was very nice. This camera met my needs for a camera that would fit a shirt pocket and could deliver stunning images up to ISO800 and perhaps even beyond.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellant camera in a small package

By Dave the camera guy from Alexandria, VA, USA on 10/10/2009


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just bought this a few hours ago. I got the battery charged up and have been playing around with it. Excellant little camera - its about the size of a pack of cigarettes. Very sharp clear pictures and much better in low light than my old camera! That view screen has a very good resolution too. Very happy with everything I've experimented with so far - even the video recording mode. The only thing I can say I'd like different would be the ability to recharge the battery in the camera, instead of haveing to take it out and use the recharger. My old camera had that feature, but its not that big of a deal.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pocket SLR

By Brad from New York on 10/10/2009


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Simple Controls/menu, Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Good Low-light Performance, Good Battery Life, Bright Lcd

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

What a nice camera. Great size ,wonderful low light pictures . So many setting (read the owners manual), yet my kids can put it on auto and take great pictures. I'm very pleased with it !!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved