Home » Photography » Digital Cameras » 4182B001 » 95 Reviews

Canon Powershot Sd1400 Is Point & Shoot Digital Camera - 14.1 Megapixel - 2.70" Active Matrix Tft Color Lcd - Orange 4x Optical Zoom - 4x (4182b001) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 95 reviews)

73% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Lightweight/portable (53), Easy To Use (45), Simple Controls/menu (34), Excellent Image Quality (40), Nice Features/settings (45), Good Low-light Performance (24), Good Battery Life (40), Bright Lcd (43), Durable (29)

Cons:

Poor Image Quality (8), Poor Low-light Performance (11), Flimsy Construction (6), Short Battery Life (4), Complicated Controls/menu (12), Difficult To Use (5)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Canon is the better choice

By mikecomp from west palm beach on 06/20/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Good Low-light Performance, Durable, Simple Controls/menu, Good Battery Life, Nice Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera will let you change the format of the photo from normal to; sepia, black and white, Vivid, intence red or green and light skin tone or darker skin tone. It will let caterlog the photo or photos. In addition to the picture quality this camera has many other features that you can change including piture size. The new ones are Wi FI capable and the soft ware is easy to use and wonderful to use for all you photo needs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Canon PowerShot SD1400 IS

By montanakaren from Montana on 12/11/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Megapixels and photo quality good. Like a lot of people, I've neglected to read the instructions so it's taken me a while to figure things out. I wish the camera had a view finder rather than just an LED screen. Also, no matter how I set the camera I can not take a photo when I hit the "take" button. It is always delayed regardless of the "action" setting or not. I wouldn't recommend it for taking photos of your kid making hoops or touchdowns as the moment would be gone. However, it takes fantastic photos of most everything else. I can get seriously great up close photos of flowers with spectacular color.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not happy

By Elle from California on 09/01/2011


Pros:

Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Poor Image Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I always want to keep updated with the new canon cameras, so I have been a loyal canon customer for 10 years and have maybe had 6 different cameras. I have always been happy with their products except for this one. I purchased this camera 3 months ago and was really excited about the light weight and sleek design especially for the price that it was going for. The pictures don't come out as clear as the other cameras I've used in the past. One night for my birthday all the pictures came out horrible, my iphone took better pictures than the camera did. This camera really made me want to change and see other camera companies.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An Excellent Little Camear

By SandyC from North Topsail Beach, NC on 08/17/2011


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Simple Controls/menu, Bright Lcd, Good Battery Life, Nice Features/settings, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera is a gem. It takes great pictures and offers a range of settings that make being creative and capturing great shots a joy. My camera has been put through the paces this summer, and it has fared incredibly well. So worth it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

While I love the small, ...

By Sara from Undisclosed on 08/12/2011


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Good Battery Life, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Easy To Use

Cons:

Poor Low-light Performance, Flimsy Construction

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

While I love the small, sleek shape of this camera, I do not recommend it. Mine broke 4 times in just over a year (lens issues that were not my fault). Luckily I bought an extra warranty through the store I purchased the camera from. Each time the malfunction was deemed unreparable and I received a new camera. I appreciated that but seriously-- what a waste! I'd much rather buy a better quality camera that doesn't break, thereby saving me 4+ trips to the store and saving 4 products. Also, I was never impressed with the focus on close-up objects-- sometimes it worked, sometimes it didn't.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Do not buy

By Maggie from St.Paul on 08/11/2011


Pros:

Good Battery Life

Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu, Flimsy Construction, Difficult To Use, Poor Low-light Performance, Dim Lcd

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Software disc did not load, poorly constructed, access to ports is clumsy and seems like access panel will break easily, the access panel to the battery compartment already broke and I only opened it twice, labels for menu and other function keys are printed in a small font in a dark color so the keys are very difficlut to read especially if taking photos at night or in dim lighting. This was a gift, I would not have selected this camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Camera EVER

By Spotter from Austin, Texas on 08/08/2011


Pros:

Color Feature, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Good Battery Life, Good Low-light Performance, Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Durable, Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my third or fourth digital camera, all of the previous cameras have been of various makers. But this by far is the best camera I have ever had. I have taken it on multiple vacations, with varying settings from busy traffic to landscapes and every picture comes out clear and perfect. I have recommended this camera to my friends, my parents and even my co-workers. I would highly recommend this camera to ANYONE who is interested in beginning to learn photography or anyone that just wants to take a great picture in any setting. If you get a chance, check out the color features, which allow you to choose one color to focus on while all the other colors are blacked out. This is probably the most amazing extra the camera has to offer, but again it was something i found after i bought the camera. So just another plus. Again... HIGHLY RECOMMEND TO ANYONE... Easy to use, easy to maintain, great photo quality and some additional advancements for those interested in photography.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Surprisingly good

By Richard from Washington, DC on 07/29/2011


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings, Bright Lcd

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am surprised that such good pictures can come from such a small camera. I've only used a few features so far and like everything I've used. My only complaint is the packaging. I was not aware that the camera had no memory and that it had to be bought separately. Just as toys are marked "Requires 2 D batteries - not included" the camera box should have printed in easy to read letters "Requires memory card - not included". The camera as sold is not usable. But nevertheless I still think it's a terrific camera for the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Too smart for its own good?

By Bosco from Washington on 07/21/2011


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Good Battery Life, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable, Simple Controls/menu

Cons:

Missing Features/settings, Poor Image Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I was looking for a very compact point and shoot for traveling. This camera had all of the features - decent zoom with nice wide angle for indoor, fairly fast lens for lower light, very compact and supposed to be 'super smart' in figuring out the best setting for the picture you are trying to take. There are very few manual controls, so the camera needs to be smart. For me, I have a lot of problems with the settings that the camera selects. It often uses wide open lens (f2.8) and fast shutter speed when I want more of a landscape picture (more depth in focus). Also seems to chose shutter speeds to slow for me to hand hold (1/10th) while leave the ISO around 120. The result is a lot of less than in-focus pictures. Far more than I had with any of my other canon cameras (I have 5 canon total). I'm trying to figure out how to assure clear pictures, but it will definitly mean I will have to fight the auto features of the camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

AMAZING!

By Robster from Texas on 07/19/2011


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable, Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life, Simple Controls/menu, Bright Lcd, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is one of the best digital cameras out there. its lightweight,sexy, 14 megapixels and just the best thing out there canon is the best!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Like but with reservations

By Mami from Vero Beach FL on 07/16/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings, Durable, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life

Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu, Poor Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the bright color which makes it easy to locate in my purse and when others are taking pictures of a group, I always know which camera is mine! The photos are good, upload to computer is easy, the size and weight are perfect. I think the black on black on/off switch is a pain. In low light it is very difficult to find. I think I'll put bright nailpolish or Whiteout on the button for future use. Also, I find it very slow when trying to take a series of photos. If there is a way to make it react faster, I'd like to know.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SD 1400 IS

By raj from Falls Church VA on 07/08/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life, Lightweight/portable, Simple Controls/menu, Nice Features/settings, Good Low-light Performance

Cons:

Front Lens Pup Up, Poor Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

CAMERA IS HANDY AND PICTURE IS GOOD FOR POINT ANS SHOT. BUT ITS LENS PUP-UP SO I CANNOT USE IT I AM NOT SURE WARRANTY HANDLED PROPERLY OR NOT? IF NOT I WOULDN'T RECOMMEND TO BUY FOR ANYONE FOR FUTURE.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor quality hardware

By Margo from WIsconsin on 06/17/2011


Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu, Flimsy Construction, Poor Low-light Performance, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I took my brand new SD1400IS to Africa and came home less than impressed. The hardware on this camera is hard to use. The on/off switch is too small and awkwardly place. The battery container is covered with a flimsy piece of 'rubber-like' material that came off and was lost within the week. The TINY battery holding clip was most difficult to manage when inserting the battery. And this is the SECOND camera! The first one I had for two days, it failed altogether and when I returned it, the salesperson/expert called it a 'hockey puck!' and sent it back to manufacturer. I have just gotten home and intend to take this camera back after three weeks of using it in Africa.I'm disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good camera

By Anonymous from York, PA on 06/17/2011


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Good Battery Life, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a good camera for the price and size. It has nice features and is easy to use. It is small and very easy to carry but can be dropped easily. Use the carrying strap to help hang onto the camera. Being so small to change the settings is hard to do. If you need to change them quickly this is not the camera for you. It takes good pictures and the size makes it great to take with you anywhere.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So So Camera

By ced4511 from Illinois on 06/16/2011


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Good Battery Life, Lightweight/portable, Good Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is a good camera, but it has limitations. The low light performance is probably its best feature, but I find the image stabilization to be weak. In real bright daylight there is no problem though. The battery life is very good and the resolution is great. The LCD is bright and large enough for reviewing the pictures. As usual Canon makes cameras that take very good pictures in the right conditions. It is small and fits in your pocket, but beware of that. The previous Canon model this one replaced powered up in my pocket and jammed the lens. Canon charges an arm and a leg for repairs so it was easier to just replace the camera with this model. I don't put this one in my pocket at all which kind of defeats the purpose of it. If I were to redo this purchase I would opt for a model with more optical magnification.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

fantastic second camera

By edna million from boone nc on 06/15/2011


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Durable, Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this as a backup to my Cannon SLR, which is too big to carry around on a daily basis. My first digital was a Powershot, years ago, and I really liked it. I also recently took a trip to England with a friend who had just bought this same camera, and she got some wonderful pictures just on the auto setttings - and she is not an experienced photographer at all. I've been using it for about a month now, and am very pleased. The pictures are clear and crisp, and all the various settings are lots of fun. The battery life is excellent. It seems very sturdy for such a tiny camera, and it's so compact that I can easily take it with me everywhere. I did find on a recent trip to Charleston SC that it will not replace my SLR (much to my relief, really)- I like having manual control over the settings, and although this Powershot has a lot of options, you still don't have the control of an SLR, of course. But it is a very nice backup for those times when an SLR is too bulky/heavy/impractical. My only real complaint is that the controls are confusing. I think they could have simplified the Program settings. There are two entirely different locations to go to for settings under recording mode, and I still have a hard time finding the color settings. But that's the worst thing I can say about it. Overall, I am very very pleased.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad Buy

By sktigner from Texas on 06/12/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable, Good Battery Life

Cons:

Poor Low-light Performance, Bad Lcd Screen

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pixel burnt out within the first month and there is a shadow in the bottom left corner that appears.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good camera

By jcruplus2 from new jersey on 05/23/2011


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Flimsy Construction, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

great camera fast responses especially for kids got alot of great pictures of my fast moving toddler only bad this was the lens wouldnt go back in and when i tried to push it back the lcd screen broke


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Most Awesome Camera For ME!!!!!!!!

By Canon ROX!!!!!! from Undisclosed on 05/22/2011


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Awesome!!!!, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable, Durable, Bright Lcd, Simple Controls/menu, Good Low-light Performance, Good Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the best camera that can handle two things that I like. AMAZING image quality and extreme portability. This camera is probably the best blend of the two!!! (at least from my view!)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Smart and reliable

By Praetorianus_65 from Key West, FL on 05/08/2011


Pros:

Smart Auto Function, Durable, Lightweight/portable, Good Battery Life, Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd, Good Image Stabilizer

Cons:

Recharging Takes Long, Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera truly is a miniature workhorse. The best feature is the extremely intelligent Auto function which turns you into an instant pro, and the image stabilization makes you a human tripod - well, almost. The slick soap bar Design looks and feels good but makes the device easy to drop. Overall, a nice if somewhat pricey gadget.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

best camera of my 2 Canon cameras

By HowieWowie from Kerrville, Tx on 05/02/2011


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Good Low-light Performance, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Simple Controls/menu, Durable, Lightweight/portable, Good Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

it does excellent pics and easy to use and understand but when I bought it work with camera cord to upload pics to my PC but it quit and I have to remove memory card to upload from it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed & Confused

By Camera Freak from Huffman, Texas on 05/02/2011


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings, Color Enhancing, Good Battery Life, Color Swap

Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu, Poor Image Quality, Video Sound, Produces Blury Pics

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My 1st Canon was the SD1000 & because I use my camera A LOT (over 10,000 in a year) I had to upgrade due to excessive use & each time I've upgraded to the next model. I LOVE THE COLOR ENHANCING & COLOR SWAPPING feature on my camera & that's why I've stayed with what I know. I've recently had to upgrade to the SD1400IS & I did it prior to 3 important events to insure that my pictures & video were good. I am so disappointed now that I cannot go back & re-live these moments & that I have very few quality pictures. Most are blurred & the sound from the video is useless as it sounds distorted.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great camera

By Grisy from El Paso, Tx on 04/25/2011


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu, Durable, Good Battery Life, Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this camera. It's my second canon because I love my old one but wanted to upgrade to more megapixels. Have tried other brands and this is the best.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good stuff

By art from Undisclosed on 04/01/2011


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Good Battery Life

Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu, Controls On Power Shot A1100 Are Better

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

good quality for the size!!! good battery life. better lcd then past canons


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Another stunning camera from canon

By EJ from Georgia on 03/21/2011


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable, Durable, Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Great Image Stablization, Nice Features/settings, Good Battery Life, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use

Cons:

Buttons Slightly To Small, Needs Easier Play Back Controls

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product i bought was to replace another camera i had. This camera definitely has to be the best i have bought so far. With servo AF and IS, you can take crisp pictures of moving objects. Also, this camera has many custom settings you can choose(pictures and videos). This camera is a very compact camera, though not too small. This camera also has good video quality.This camera's macro function is amazing. i can focus objects 1.3 inches away. Over all i am satisfied with this product and canon and will recommend this brand to others.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent

By Quannie from Pittsburgh on 03/03/2011


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Good Low-light Performance, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable, Durable, Good Battery Life, Bright Lcd, Simple Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I received this little cute cam from my son for my birthday. Little did I know the powerful picture it takes, I dont go to any events without it. I love it! Best gift yet.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great little fried

By profsteam from Rochester NY on 02/28/2011


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Excellent Hd Video, Bright Lcd, Durable, Good Battery Life, Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use

Cons:

Monaural Sound

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera specifically to have a camera that I could carry everywhere in my shirt pocket. This was a great choice. It shoots very good hi-res photos. It has great features for such a small camera. I recently shot some HD video on the spot, hand held in a wind storm and posted it on Youtube. My friends who viewed the video could not believe that I shot this hand-held and with a pocket camera too. Highly recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great replacement camera

By Vignutz from San Antonio, Tx on 02/26/2011


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings

Cons:

Expensive To Repair

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this camera after 'discovering' the extreme price for repair of my other canon camera. For only a few more dollars, I upgraded to this camera. While using it for a 1 year old party, it captured the birthday boy and guests. For self-portraits, it also does an amazing job. I normally blink, and the camera detects eliminates it. Great Job. The nice thing is the fact I can still use my old battery in the new camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Another having focusing issues

By e46fan from Sacramento, CA on 02/22/2011


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd, Good Battery Life

Cons:

Poor Image Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I was looking forward to upgrading my sd800is to a smaller digicam with hd video capability. The professional reviews I've read have been ok but it seemed to fit the bill for what I was looking for--a pocketable camera that takes hd video and good quality pictures. I've had Canon's (A20, SD800is) and have been very pleased. This is a disappointing camera primarily because it has trouble focusing. Too many blurred pictures to count. I never had this issue with my previous cameras. It doesn't matter what setting I have it on including my videos are often out of focus. I will probably look at getting it repaired(?). A secondary complaint is that it isn't very easy to hold because of the curved edges and how slim the camera is. Maybe this is too compact of a camera. My only concern is being without my camera for an extended period of time which is delaying my need to get the camera looked at by Canon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

AMAZING would reccomend ...

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 02/20/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

AMAZING would reccomend to everyone got the old model and liked it and got this and LOVE the new model


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Picture quality has "floored" me

By Sam from Northeast Florida on 02/17/2011


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable, More Experience Needed To Check Remaining Aspects

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had gotten used to a bulkier 3megpix camera and maybe because of that experience I am astounished by the detail and color quality of the pictures, from this camera, that I see on my monitor. Shooting and downloading pictures to to my PC was simple. This Canon is little, fits easily in my pocket but packs a powerful scene grabber; and, the price is little compared to what I get out of it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A great starter digital camera...

By froboy from Knoxville, TN on 02/09/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Bright Lcd, Durable

Cons:

Short Battery Life, Missing Features/settings, Poor Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Cannon power-shot is a great starter camera. Besides being easy to use, it takes bright 14.1 mega pixel shots and offers full 720p HD video recording. It also very affordable for just about anyone. if somebody wants to get into photography, and or film, this is a great place to start!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very happy with this camera

By Mr Ed from Mesa, AZ on 02/09/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Good Low-light Performance, Simple Controls/menu, Durable, Good Battery Life, Nice Features/settings, Bright Lcd

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This item really has changed the way I look and feel about small cameras. The picture quality is great, I have no problems with low light, it compensates for light levels extremely well. I have used the Power Shot SD1400IS for everything from taking photos of my kids at the park, to taking pictures in various night clubs where light levels are pretty dim and the results were wonderful. Taking videos in places as stated above the results were also great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Digital Beginner

By tallpindo from Undisclosed on 02/09/2011


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Good Low-light Performance, Simple Controls/menu, Good Battery Life, Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I received my camera as a birthday gift from a lady friend who is a regional artist and modest camera owner over a long period of years. My first uses were on dreary snowey days in the North. I used it out the window of a moving car and eventually learned how to optimize a shot by zooming then waiting as the car moved toward the target and then zooming more as I was certain of the track and focus. There was spray on the windows and windshield of the car to be avoided but overall I was pleased with the candid travel shots. Once in the South I took some shots of color in the form of flowers but have not yet made any really dramatic color closeups. Flights of a red model helicopter flown by a not fully skilled RC operator gave another tracking task that the camera met and I got some video in one instance. I like it and compare it to a GBC color video camera I bought in 1978 for Low Light and a Bolex C-3 I bought in 1954 for quality. The grey world is an old 1940's Brownie bellows 820 x 8 shots and I love having lots of film in the form of a digital chip.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

nice little camera

By dimebago from douglasville ga. on 02/09/2011


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

love it,compact,good features,very easy to use! if something happend to this one i would buy another just like it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Camera

By J from Erie, PA on 02/09/2011


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Nice Features/settings, Bright Lcd, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great Camera. After being frustrated by a competitors model for 2 years this camera was a breathe of fresh air. Very easy to use, nice lcd and it takes very nice pictures. Auto mode works well and the other modes are much easiler to understand than with other manufacturers. If you want a easy to use camera that you dont have to fuss with, this is the one. Thanks Cannon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

sd1400

By pickle from ny on 01/27/2011


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Short Battery Life, Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

cannon is my best company and i think the sd1400 is a really good camra but i think there should be more colors to chose from other wise i love it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not a happy camper

By l8tbuggin from Pennsylvania on 01/27/2011


Pros:

Nice Features/settings

Cons:

No View Finder, Poor Image Quality, Poor Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After losing my Elph1100, my husband purchased the 1400 for me as a replacement. I love taking pictures and I carry this camera around in my purse to catch anything that my kids might do on a whim. After using the camera for a few months, my husband and I have agreed that this camera is not living up to the quality that we received with the 1100. The pictures are rarely in focus and if they are, it's focused on something other than the subject of the picture. This camera does not have a view finder either. I miss the view finder from the 1100 and would do anything to reclaim it. The 1400 is trash in my opinion.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Focus problems?

By Dreamdog from Undisclosed on 01/22/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I also had an SD1000 for years that I loved but dropped it and received the SD 1400 IS as a gift. I never had a problem with the 1000, but my photos of people with the new camera all end up out of focus. I love the look and feel of the camera but will be returning it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Tech regress and disappointment

By setin1 from Secaucus, NJ on 01/03/2011


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Poor Image Quality, Poor Low-light Performance, Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have had Digital Elph SD1000 for 4 years as an always at hand travel companion. It did quite good job. Unfortunately my children scratched the lenses. The SD1000 experience steered my choice and I expected that newer SD1400 would performed at list the same. I am quite disappointed. I compare photos taken almost simultaneously by my wife and I with old and new cameras in same indoor setting. The photos coming out not as sharp and crispy, as we still are getting from 4 years old predecessor. The shots made from tripod are still appear out of focus. Even at close range with flush there are notable noise (grainy photos), the colors are kind of milky-pastel, yellowish-green children faces. The menu of set up features are inconveniently cascaded, that takes additional time to switch mode. With great regret I will have to return this camera to exchange it for something better of that size and price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't forget to buy a MEMORY CARD

By novice shutterbug from Undisclosed on 12/30/2010


Cons:

Must Buy A Memory Card To Use For The 1st Time.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am new to the world of digital cameras so imagine how dumb I felt when I gave this as a gift to my daughter for Christmas an she could not use it because there was no memory card included!! Not even a small one to get us started. Put one in and charge a bit more. The lack of a memory card should be displayed for the purchaser. I certainly would have bought one to get her started. Even toy boxes let the purchaser know that batteries are not included.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

For the price, this ...

By roadrunner from Florida on 12/29/2010


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Good Low-light Performance, Easy To Use, Durable, Nice Features/settings, Bright Lcd, Simple Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For the price, this camera has everything an avarege person needs. Pictures are clear and videos sharp. It is small and sturdy. Anyone who has owned any Cannon digicams will not have a problem finding his/her way around the settings and features offered. This one is not for point and shoot on the go since the image will be blurred. Rather than that another great product from Cannon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Camera

By Cameras from Undisclosed on 12/26/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Bright Lcd, Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Simple Controls/menu, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this camera! It's perfect size so I can take it everywhere. It's a really cool camera and it comes with very exciting features such as "fisheye" which makes people and items boldge out and look funny, also "color swap" and color accent" are very fun to use. The quality of the pictures taken are really nice and clear because of the nice 14.1 megapixels. Some of the reviews say that people don't like this camera because it's complicated and hard to use and the images are blurry, but I completly disagree. The videos are in high quality. Another nice thing about this camera is that you can switch the quality of your image if you want to hold more pictures on your memory card. You can even edit some of your pictures on the camera. Something I don't like on the camera is that the videos take up a lot of battery, I don't mind as much though because I'm more of a picture person rather then videos. Other then that I love and I highly recommend it to someone who loves photography or just to someone who wants to take pictures for fun!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love this camera!

By Golfer from Des Moines, IA on 12/25/2010


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Simple Controls/menu, Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My SD1400is camera is the best camera I ever had! It's so small and fits right in my pocket or purse. I got pink, so it's easy to see when I lay it down. The various settings give me lots of choices for shooting modes. In truth, the camera is so smart I just leave it on auto all the time, and it knows what to do. I notice that it doesn't have a viewfinder, which I do like to use, but I suppose that it would have to be bigger if it had one. Canon cameras are the best, and I would never buy any other brand!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

AMAZING CAMERA!!!!

By canonlover from Nashville Tennessee on 12/19/2010


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Nice Features/settings, Good Battery Life, Simple Controls/menu, Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use, Durable, Lightweight/portable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been looking at this camera for quite some time and by far it is everything I have ever dreamed of!! I had a canon camera before and loved it but I wanted one with color accent!! I adore this camera!!! the size and the way it fits in a pocket are huge pros for me!! I love this and the color is amazing! The picture quality is wonderful! I have never taken a clearer picture! My mom and dad bought me this camera for my birthday this past weekend and I will tell you it is well worth the money!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Canon SD1400IS Not Bad For The Price

By Squafdonoboles from Deer Park, NY on 12/13/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Durable, Bright Lcd, Great Charging Unit, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable, Good Battery Life, Excellent Image Quality, Good Low-light Performance

Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu, Too Small

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

First of all let me say that I am a FILM user, not a fan of digital photography which tends to look two-dimensional. However I feel that for its price, this camera offers a lot. Yes, I too had trouble with that rubber battery cover. I don't even know why it's necessary. But a little press with the point of a toothpick snapped it back on. Auto mode depends upon your lighting situation. I have taken shots both indoors and outdoors, sunny and cloudy days and I've found that the lighting will affect the auto function speed but to me this is not a hindrance. If I simply want to "point and shoot", I will use a disposable camera. Of course Movie mode is dark! These are HD Quicktime movies that require to be edited in movie software, not the limited Zoom Browser that comes with the camera. I have burned many excellent DVDs in both wide-screen and letterbox formats, and have no problem converting them. I am not a professional, but when it comes to ANY equipment, audio or video, learning is worth more than the product itself. If looking to make great cinema movies, I recommend using a DVD camcorder. Perhaps my biggest complaint is that the camera is too small. I am used to using a full-size 35mm camera, which I still very much prefer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

disappointed

By traveler from Columbus OH on 12/09/2010


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Durable, Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu, Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings, Good Battery Life

Cons:

Poor Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Several months ago I purchased a PowerShot SD 1400 IS to replace my SD550. I loved the 550, but it developed some glitches. I expected the same quality with the new camera and have been sorely disappointed. The action is so slow that many shots are missed. If I am taking photos of stationary objects, it is fine. The quality of the photos continue to be very good, but I miss shots by seconds due to the slow action. I regret the amount of money I spent on this as well as the missed shots.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great camera

By purple lover from ny,ny on 12/08/2010


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality, Durable, Good Battery Life, Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great camera. . . takes good pictures and I love all the features on this camera


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Total disappointment

By Lilo from Taylors, SC on 12/07/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is my 3rd Canon PowerShot camera and I was totally excited about the purchase.... Until I started using it. What a horrible, horrible camera. "Smart Auto" is a complete joke. Not a single scene chosen is correct for the situation. All shots taken on Auto mode come out completely blurry. The camera takes forever to focus on anything. So by the time its ready, chances are you have lost the shot. Don't waste your money on this PowerShot. I had the 1100 model previously and this new model completely fails in comparison.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent choice

By Tulip from Cypress, TX on 12/03/2010


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this camera I've been wanting this camera for 8 months and now finally i purchased it..... this is the best product. would recomend to everybody. easy to use (need your intellegence) good price ( i got REALLY good deal on it.) looks good size is good. light weight. LOVE IT.............


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good for the price

By EriCk from Boca Raton, fl on 11/28/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The quality of the pictures are good if u take time to take them but if u want to capture a sudden moment the picture will come out blurry as the videos too. It takes to much time to focus.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Excited About this Camera!

By Love_Cameras from MI on 11/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just got this camera yesterday and i had been looking for a good camera for about a month or so. I stumbled upon the Canon sd1400 and it had almost everything i wanted such as a nice wide screen, cool shooitng features, great quality photos and hd video. I have played around with it since I've gotten it and i really do like it a lot! I would suggest it to anyone and anyone who might be on the fence about this camera!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great buy!

By philsphan from Philadelphia, PA on 11/22/2010


Pros:

Small, Clear Pictures

Cons:

None!

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the 1st camera i've ever bought ( i'm 17) and I love it. its so tiny, i can carry it everywhere, its easy to use, it takes awesome pictures, and the battery life is pretty decent. I think the auto future works fine ( i saw a review that said the auto feature doesn't work well) the price is very reasonable considering the quality of the camera. The next step up from a camera this good, you're gonna be looking into spending $400+. someday i'd like to own a camera like that but for right now i didn't want to spend more than $300. I would recommend this to anyone. all my friends are jealous - one just bought the same model. trust me you won't go wrong with a cannon powershot of any kind.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not good for concerts

By concertchick from Chicago,IL on 11/13/2010


Pros:

Shows If Someone Blinks

Cons:

Sound Quality Is Bad.

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I recently purchased this camera for my birthday and it was a bad choice. I go to concerts and mostly shoot videos instead of taking pictures which is why I got this camera becuase I read it had HD video and other features. I took it to a concert and it was terrible. The sound quality is horrible when the videos were played, and the pictures are always dark.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it!

By JM from Philadelphia, PA on 11/11/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was very pleased with this camera. I was looking for a cheap camera to replace my canon powershot a590 that got water damage. I wanted a pocket sized camera to carry around to places I wouldn't want to bring my DSLR. I was surprised at how good the picture quality is and how I'm able to focus and create depth of field as I would with a DSLR. Battery life lasts; I would say over 500 pictures. Colors are very vivid and you have many effects/ setting choices. I've used it to take pictures of pretty much everything, animals, children, landscape, plants/flowers. Takes great cropping photos. Video quality is great. I would definitely recommend this camera!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Camera - Not for the "Auto" shooter

By MDBK from Cleveland, OH on 11/08/2010


Pros:

Fits In Purse, Lightweight, Great Features For Small Size

Cons:

Auto Mode Quality Is Poor, Flash Location

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this camera. But - buyer beware. I had two goals when I purchased this camera - something I can easily travel with (throw in my pocket) and something with a good set of features (I didn't want to use auto mode). This camera is perfect for that. BUT...if you are the type of person who want to just shoot and go I do not recommend this camera. Auto mode takes horrible pictures that are always blurry. I use the camera with manual settings only, and for that it is PERFECT.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

AMAZING!

By Drummybooo from Las Vegas on 11/07/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the best camera I ever bought. I am not a professional photographer but the pictures really do look GREAT. The camera has so many features and it is very easy to use. It really does EVERY effect you could think of for your pictures (fish eye, black&white, sepia, panoramic view, wide view, saturation, drive shooting... And MUCH more) Let's also not forget the HD video (with every effects also, like sepia, black&white etc.), with HDMI output!!!! On top of that, it looks really nice and it's so small!! I mean, What else could you dream of ?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good camera - flawed mechanical design

By George from Washington, DC on 11/04/2010


Pros:

Compact

Cons:

Poor Design Of Cover On Battery/memory Compartment

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Had problem with camera right out of the box. The rubber cover that is attached to the lid of the battery/memory recess came off when I tried to open it the first time (to install memory card). I could not reattach the little rubber cover (camera looks 'broken' without it. Am sending camera in today for repair under warranty. I can't be the only one who has had this problem. It's caused by poor design. Other than that, I am satisfied with the camera. I really like its small size. The pictures look great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not as good as the 1100

By Bruce Leeroy from Denver on 10/31/2010


Pros:

Lightweight, Fits In Purse Easily

Cons:

Hard To Hold, Inferior Pictures Compared To Earlier 1100 Model, Slow Camera

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is a very compact camera with rounded edges. With that, it is very hard to hold even for a 125 lb woman like myself. The flash is in the uppermost corner close to your fingers, so many times it can get covered. The 1100 was my favorite, the right size, great features and was a lot faster that this model. This model does not take as good of pictures either. It takes longer to focus on faces. The Auto mode is very inconsistent in its selection of mode and chooses modes that may not be suited for the situation. All in all, I think if Canon at least kept the same size, it would not be such a nuisance using since it would be easier to handle. Overall, I would not recommend this mode.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Out of focus

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 10/30/2010


Cons:

Does Not Focus Properly Producing Blurred Images F

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I love Cannon cameras and have over 7 of them. This is the first one I am dissapointed with. The camera does not focus properly. Have lost many shots. It is in the repair shop to see if it is my camera or the series in general


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Consistent focusing issues

By Max from Undisclosed on 10/24/2010


Pros:

Lightweight And Sleek Exterior.

Cons:

Buttons Slightly Too Small To Comfortably Use., Cannot Seem To Focus On Subject Matter.

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I'm very disappointed in the SD1400. My SD990 was reliable and produced very good photos, and I was expecting the same or better performance by the SD1400. Instead I am dealing with consistent problems getting the SD1400 to take a single in focus picture even under perfect lighting conditions. In both program and auto modes, the camera simply fails to focus on subject material - even after waiting a good 30-45 seconds in hope it will settle on a range and pick the subject I'm trying to shoot. Quick shots are completely out of the question - all you get is blur. And any lighting effects in the foreground or background cause the camera to perform even worse. I'd say my camera is defective, but a quick web search turns up a number of people with the same complaint. I would suggest steering clear of this particular model.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A bit better than OK

By Picman from New Hampshire on 10/17/2010


Pros:

Image Quality Is Very Good

Cons:

Build/design Leaves Much To Be Desired, Too Expensive For What You Get, Poor Image Stabilization, Poor Battery Life If Using Video Capability

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've had this camera just over 3 months now. The picture quality is very good but if you want to use the video capability you better buy 3 extra batteries because it burns through batteries ultra fast. The build is a bit flimsy and the design is slippery and prone to dropping. If Canon had eliminated the video capability and put the money into a better build/design, they could have cut the price and had on really nice point and shoot for folks who wanted it for photos only. As it is, I don't feel the camera is worth the price. The only other thing I would recommend is that Canon needs to improve the image stabilization quite a bit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cool alternative

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 10/17/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was looking for a nice inexpensive camcorder that also took stills. I tried out a few of different brands and had big problems with all of them (bad video/audio quality, no still feature). Finally, I decided to just go with a digital camera (that also took videos). This was the best option! All the pictures are super sharp, even with dark lighting or without a flash, and the video/audio quality is amazing! It even has an HDMI slot. Overall, this is so much better than any of the digital camcorders I tried and around the same price, even though that's not even its intended purpose. I never thought I'd get this, but it was a great purchase!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wonderful purchase

By Okehart from Clearwater, FL on 10/06/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera back in August 2010. It is smaller than my usual cameras, and I absolutely love it. My husband bought a case for it, and I have it hooked to my purse, so I always have it when I need it. It is very easy to use. It is small and very light weight. The pictures are very brilliant color, and it is small enough that I can take it with me everywhere. The features are very easy to use, and I absolutely love this camera..... My husband feels very comfortable using this camera as much as I do. I would highly recommend this camera to anyone......


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great "Little" Camera

By Debbie from Conroe, Texas on 10/03/2010


Pros:

Takes Sd Cards, Small, Solid Camera Build Even The Battery Door, No More Chunky Aa Batteries, Easy To Transfer To Pc, Sleek And Professional Looking, Light-weight

Cons:

Still Looking For One But So Far Nothing.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just bought this Camera in Black today and I really like it. I've had 2 other brands of cameras and I like this one better than both. I've never been much on small keys or buttons, I can barely text but the buttons on this camera are surprisingly pretty easy to use for me. I charged the battery and played with the different features and only needed to refer to the Guide once. Very User Friendly, even for a beginner. The Video is really nice and the Image Quality is really great. I haven't produced a blurry picture except for when I manually put it on a scene selection not suitable for what I was trying to shoot. The Auto feature is pretty good all by it's self, but I like to play around with the other features, the color accent is really neat. The Camera is rather small, (maybe not suitable for those really big hands), the camera body feels solid, sleek and very portable. The zoom lens completely retracts back into the camera body to be completely flat. I'm really surprised it is such a great camera for how small it is, there was no sacrificing quality for this Compact Digital Camera. I rely alot on reviews so thought it was only fair to post my own. I would definately recommend this Camera. Hope this was helpful. =)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Impressed!!

By Brenygero from Texas on 09/09/2010


Pros:

Good Zoom Quality., Amazing Pictures.

Cons:

Buttons Are A Little Too Small., I Was So Used To My Previous Touch Screen Camera

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was very impressed when i recieved my camera, it was very small, but outstanding in quality, i absolutely love it, the Color of it doesnt come close to what you see on your screen, it is a bright gorgeous Pink!! i just love this camera, it takes really great pictures, i even got the underwater case for it, and i cant wait to try it like that too!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fabulous Camera!

By Elle L. from Charlotte, NC on 09/08/2010


Pros:

Smart Auto, Size, Picture Quality, Battery Life, Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera because I was looking for one that would produce great quality photos--plain and simple. The fact that it comes in my signature color (pink) was like icing on the cake! Everyone comments on it! The size is perfect! You can fit it in your pocket if you're on the go and don't want to carry a bag. I first used it at a friend's wedding and I took LOTS of pictures. Friends commented on how great the pictures were (thanks Smart AUTO!). With my old digital camera the battery would be depleted in no time. The battery icon on this camera hasn't changed yet, indicating that I will be able to get a lot of shots in before recharging. This camera is definitely worth the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Now the Preferred Camera with Ghosthunters

By sklpeartree from Macon GA on 09/06/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera for the simplicity of operating features, but it had plenty of power--great memory, long-lasting battery, ease of charging, digitial zoom, etc. I enjoyed it in family use, but when it went out ghosthunting with me, it has proved its worth over and over. It takes a very high quality flash picture, with its flash being SO superior to other cameras in our group. When we review pictures, the high quality of megapixels is almost unbelievable, since we have to zoom in on dark areas, and define from there. It now is THE camera in our group! It has caught things that others clicking away in the same area have missed! It's unbelievable, especially for the price!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Highly Impressed

By T-Mack from Port Huron, Michigan on 09/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this camera based off the review of a stranger I met in the store. He raved about how much his wife liked it over the seven other cameras they owned. Good enough for me! I was also influenced by the high rating it received from the store reviews. I have used this camera and now laugh at some of the other reviews. I have made some of the operator errors that others who have provided poor reviews of the camera, have made, then read the directions. WORKS GREAT! The huge number of functions and options may be too much for some people. I'm sure I will never use them all. It's a lot of fun for people like me who like to play with their camera as well as just turn it on and snap photos. If you just want to take a picture at Timmy's Birthday party, save yourself some money and buy a less expensive model, but if you like to be creative and artistic and like carrying your camera around with you so you can capture any moment, then this is the camera you want. Takes great photos. Battery will last for 200+ pics with flash on full charge. YES it has small buttons (Compact Camera Class), but I have had very little difficulty navigating and/or operating it. Printed out the Users Manual from the Disc provided, making sure I selected the correct printer settings. The guide printed in its entirety on 8 1/2 x 11 paper, full sized. I am very pleased with this purchase so far. And by all means, do use the wrist strap!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect choice !

By Heema from Undisclosed on 08/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Cool camera .. slim ,colorful ,fast and small . ..its just all what you need !!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Slipper Case - Cute Compact

By keylowlow from miami beach, fl on 08/21/2010


Pros:

Zoom

Cons:

Slippery Case

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

takes great pictures. always wear wrist wrap because case is extremely slippery - made to slip right through your hands and fall. decent size, not too big/small. battery gave me a problem once, it was charged, had to recharge for it to work. stylish, color options. love the "erase" option provided when reviewing a picture after it has been taken. have not used movie mode yet. it does have a slight delay after the picture is taken to load the review picture (my older model did not have that). when using auto mode, sometimes does not detect the best scene, and for some reason stays on macro scene. have to turn on/off for it to reset. overall, not a bad camera for size/functions. good zoom feature too.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Low Battery life

By Chris from sl on 08/16/2010


Cons:

Add A Con

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

hi i got this camera last week , itz so small and very hard to use. and battery life is so poor. when i shooting a movi with 720 p res , battery going down amazingly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Purchase Ever

By Kit Kat from Chicago, IL on 08/11/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the first digital camera I've ever purchased and I'm very satisfied with it. It takes very good and clear pictures. The zoom on the camera is amazing. One problem I am having is taking pictures at night/low light. I'm having trouble adjusting to the lighting and when to use the flash and how to use it. I think with more use I'll be able to figure it out. This camera also good videos the sound and quality of the video is great. I would definitely recommend this to a friend. This camera backsup the reputation of Canon cameras.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

love it

By jets dad from Nanuet,NY on 08/11/2010


Pros:

Price, Easy To Use, Size

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the camera before a family vacation.The photos came out great.I took pictures of the fireworks and the electric parades. The videos were excellent.Its small enough to be stored in my cell phone holder, which makes it so convenient to carry around.I would definately reccommend this camrea to others.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worth the wait!

By Filippa from Los Angeles, Ca on 08/10/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As a professional photographer, it took me 9 years to finally have found a point and shoot camera to own! The controls are extremely easy to navigate. I often check out new cameras that come out and it just seemed too complicated to browse through with all the added automatic features. When I got this camera in my hand, everything just flowed smoothly. The navigation took me to where I thought it would take me and with ease. I love the colors that it comes in. Very stylish and simple. I still feel professional using this camera for any shoots!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Too many megapixels?

By Smith2010 from Austin, TX on 08/10/2010


Pros:

Excellent Handling, Good Picture Quality

Cons:

Not A Significant Upgrade From Previous Models

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was supposed to be an upgrade for me from the SD1000. I wanted the IS function. I don't feel that the camera delivers on most levels. The build quality is not up to the SD1000 - the image quality is fairly typical Canon (that is, very good) but the extra megapixels really don't translate into better image quality (not too surprising with the same chip size). Handling (as with the entire SD series) is good. Just not a significant improvement over previous SD models.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Little Camera

By boman21 from Ks on 08/10/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just bought the camera a few months ago and used it extensively for recent trip to Colorado. Camera is easy to use and pictures have been outstanding. I shopped around quite a bit before buying this point an shoot and have not been dissatisfied. It is a little pricey but is packed with features that I still haven't used. I would recommend it. The only issue is it is very small. I knew this before I bought it and made sure to use the wrist strap. But, I don't regret the purchase at all.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is a stellar camera. ...

By OliveTree166 from Undisclosed on 07/16/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a stellar camera. Most cameras one sees today are 12.1 MP at most, this is one is sensational, with 14.1 MP. Fantastic quality and great features. However, many people i know, myself included, have run into a problem where the camera says there is a lens error when clearly there isn't and will not turn on. I feel that this is happening frequently, but not enough to stop my recommending it to people.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice tiny camera

By jef from Milwaukee WI on 07/10/2010


Pros:

Quality, Small Size, Lots Of Settings Options

Cons:

Slightly Noisy Images, Can't Zoom During Video

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a pretty nice tiny little camera. I was a little disappointed in the image quality. I think it's time to stop increasing megapixals on these little sensors. Noise in the pictures is what disappointed me with this camera. I turned the sharpening down all the way and it seems to have helped alot with the noise in the photos. I don't think the image quality is any better than my 3 year old 6 MP point and shoot. I do really like all the options for settings in this camera and of course the HD movies.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

AMAZING CAMERA!!

By Princess from New York on 07/09/2010


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life, Durable, Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just bought this camera yesterday. It was rated #2 on consumer reports. I looked at the reviews on many sites and decided to buy it. It is an AMAZING camera!!!! I previously had another canon powershot SD camera and I loved it, but it broke after I dropped it for the 8 millionth time ;). I am an amature photographer looking to expand my experience in photography. This camera has EVERYTHING you will ever need and it's crazy how smart it is! The picture and video quality is outstanding. The clarity and detail of pictures you get with this camera is better than ANY camera I have ever used!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing performance in a tiny package!

By paulymb357 from Orlando, FL on 06/28/2010


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Simple Controls/menu, Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Durable, Good Battery Life, Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings

Cons:

Awkward A/v Out Cover

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a work of art. I have used several cameras and this one is the best by far. I am a long time owner of Canon cameras. I find that the menus and user interface in Canon cameras are the most user friendly of all brands. This camera is made in same great way. And it is tiny! I use it on a tripod sometimes and it looks rediculous because it is so small in comparison to the tripod. Pictures look awesome. Options like Accent color and Color swap go way beyond sepia. They are very fun, neat features to use. I can't say enough about this great little camera. Battery life is outstanding! Very fast rapid fire processing. Nice zoom out of such a small camera. Video looks very nice too. I am so in love with this camera. No downside really! 5 Stars across the board.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Returned to Store

By Is from Raleigh, NC on 06/12/2010


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Poor Image Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased the camera for a special event (graduation) and ended up returning it to the store. I have one of its predecessors (SD600) and this camera had the same features and then some. I was already familiar with the menu system, and it was pleasantly lightweight. However, taking a picture was a slow process. From button push to actual capture, it was slower than my 5 year-old SD600. Action shots never happened. I tried to take a photo of a backflip and got the person standing, ready to go into the flip, and one of him coming out of it. Nothing in between. It constantly went in and out of focus, even when taking photos of something completely still! What could have been a series of perfect pictures came out blurry and unusable. I was disappointed with the low light shots as well, and my zoom pictures didn't come out as well as I had hoped. I had high hopes for this camera, but ended up thoroughly disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Camera but

By Anonymous from North Carolina on 06/08/2010


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Durable, Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Good Battery Life, Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We just purchased this camera and find that the pictures are great. If you keep it on auto you can not go wrong. I have not printed any put if they come out have as good as what I see I will be very pleased. The only complaint I have are the directions for the use. It just gives you very little information on how to use the camera in the instruction manual which I find disturbing. There are so many things that this camera can give you on choices. You have to look at the manuel after you load the disk but if you want to print it out it shows 180 pages and when you print it, it only prints out at about 5 inches on each page which is a waste of paper and bad for the eyes because it is very small. Please send out booklets with all the instructions like your other camera's. Other than that it is GREAT. Gail


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pros and Cons...Mostly Pros

By Lippe from Long Island, New York on 05/29/2010


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use, Fits In Your Shirt Pocket, Nice Features/settings, Durable, Good Battery Life, Simple Controls/menu, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Low Optical Zoom, Display Visibility Is Difficult In Sun

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been working with my SD 1400 IS for about a month. I love the size; fits nicely in my pocket and I don't have to worry too much about incidental damage with its sturdy case. Its even smaller than my son-in-law's SD 1200 IS which is where I got the idea to upgrade from my SD 720 IS. I like the features and choices available in the settings. On the negative side, I would have liked to see a higher optical zoom, and my fingers are a little too fat to operate the settings buttons sometimes, and I prefer disposable batteries to a rechargeable. Lastly, I was taking pictures of the Blue Angels today and images can get lost in bright sun on the display.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Cam

By Thecannonator from Philadelphia, PA on 05/22/2010


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Bright Lcd, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Flimsy Construction

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera is a great camera the HD recoreder is superb and the 14 megapixel still shots are top notch. Just dont drop it more than 5ft its a small camera so damage is prone if your not responible BUY a Case.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very happy

By kal-el1023 from houston, tx on 05/20/2010


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Durable, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i purchased the sd780 last year and had read the image quality was below par. i took a chance and determined that was true. i kept the camera as a back up and short range hd movies. if i play with the controls i can get a decent pic (readers, please use an image editor to critippue your pics and not the windows picture and fax viewer because it is terrible). i just bought the sd1400 and it is way better almost across the board. except battery life for the hd videos. i dont compare nor expect compact cameras to perform as well as dslr's. most compact cameras wont handle low light situations very well. i just want a camera that i can be happy with. the sd1400 was $50.00 less than my sd780 and that just makes me happier with the sd1400.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Generally beautiful but flimsy parts

By snapshooter from Orange County, CA on 05/10/2010


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu

Cons:

Flimsy Construction

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this for about a week and am generally pleased with its operation and results. The professional reviews will tell you that this camera has flaws that are typical of this class of ultra-compact camera - probably true, although most of the photos look very good to me. Any limitations are more than offset by the fact that you want to slip this thing in your pocket every time you go out, whereas you debate whether or not the chore of taking along a big camera is worth it. Why is it so pocketable? It's partly the tiny size, which it shares with some competitors - almost identical to my Razr cellphone, but just a tad thicker - but it's also because of the smooth, rounded-off shape which seems unique on the market. It just slides into a pocket or bag - no protrusions, no sharp edges, almost sensuous to the touch. To me it's a thing of beauty. Now the complaint. The hinge on the cover that conceals the USB and HDMI connectors is so flimsy and awkward, I thought it was broken. You pull the cover up with your nail and it pops up about 45 degrees from the face of the camera and just hangs there on its squishy plastic hinges, looking and feeling like it's broken, and still partially obscuring the connectors. If you are brave, you can twist it up and out of the way - it won't break off like you expect but will provide a rubbery resistance until the connectors are uncovered. It gives me a squeamish feeling every time I do it, like twisting a tiny finger in a way it wasn't meant to go. The first time I did it, I thought "if it wasn't broken before, it must be now", so I returned the camera for a replacement. Imagine my surprise when the new one was just the same as the old one. I called Canon support - a great service, by the way - and they confirmed theirs worked that way too. I'm still amazed that they would put such a flimsy part on something that otherwise works like a precision instrument. The battery/card cover works fine - Canon does know how to build a flap with a hinge. I guess I'll keep the camera. I love the looks, I love the size and shape, it's fun to use, and the photos are more than good enough, given the portability. But next time I buy a small camera, I might investigate build quality a bit more. One last thought - I admire Canon's marketing department for allowing unedited customer reviews on their site. That kind of company honesty will help keep me a loyal customer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great little camera.

By Kinbo from Truckee, CA on 05/04/2010


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings, Good Battery Life, Excellent Image Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

One reason I purchased this cam sight unseen is because I own an older Powershot and I find all of the buttons/menus to be very intuitive. You could figure out how to operate this camera very quickly without having to read any instructions. I opened the box, popped in a 16MB memory card (purchased separately) the battery and was taking photos of the dog in a few seconds. One cool feature that my older Powershot does not have is the ability to push the play button with the power off and view your photos/videos. I love the compact size. Now here is what I don't like: The body is beautiful but very slick and slippery. I use the wrist strap because it is very easy to slip out of your hands. The zoom button is too sensitive! It zooms in/out too fast so you can not be too precise about your zoom. The A/V Out cover opens easily enough but stays in the way when you're trying to plug in the cord. The circular button surrounding the FUNC/SET button is a little small which may make it difficult for someone with big fingers to accurately press. Having said all that - I really like my new camera and I would buy it again and recommend it to anyone looking for a highly compact camera that takes excellent photos and video as well. I got the orange and love it. PS: Have not tried low light yet so I can't comment on that but my last one was very good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

:]

By runner girl from Olympia, Washington on 04/17/2010


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got my camera for my sixteenth birthday and I love it. Picture quality is really good and I love the features like color accent :] I do sports year round and it's nice to have a camera that can capture all the action. Admittedly the keypad wasn't my favorite at first, but I got used it. Definitely worth the money :]


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing CLEAR shots!!!

By Buddy the Elf from Undisclosed on 04/10/2010


Pros:

Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Heavy/bulky

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this for my daughter out of randomness! I believe this camera was the best choice! i think eveeyoneee shoudl buyy it for kids! SIMPLY AMZING!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just dont waste your ...

By Mike from NY on 04/08/2010


Cons:

Poor Image Quality, Poor Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Just dont waste your money on this camera. Bad image quality, awfull HD movies. Only its specifications are nice on paper, it realy doesnt deliver it in real situations.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BIG let down. WEAK performance.

By BrianL from Virginia on 04/06/2010


Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Having been a longtime supporter of CANON Elph cameras, this one seemed the ultimate find. It isn't. It has quickly become a chore to deal with from day one. And I've only had it a few days. First of all, this camera is so tiny, light and overly compact, it is like handling a child's toy with hidden little buttons and tiny access areas for little tiny fingers. Features like zoom and even START are a task to find without looking closely. You almost need a pencil to move the buttons. The light metering/exposure setting is WAY off and doesn't adjust to where you set it. It makes it's own mind up where it should be when you deliberately tell it something else. It is very irriatating. The MACRO feature is continually wavering and very unstable. The camera has a hard time focusing, swinging constantly in and out of focus, no matter which setting. Talk about irritating. The "amazing" HD movie feature is no sharper or clearer than the CANON SD1100 IS 8MP. This HD video is jumpy and "catches" as you move from side-to-side in a scene. It has a "nervous" look to it. JUST AWFUL! The main reason I bought this camera was for the 14.1 MP feature. I have a 7.1 MP CANON already... and there is almost no difference in clarity in comparing high resolution shots from both. Also, instead of having instant access to a feature, you almost always have to go through secondary steps to get to that feature. It is a great loss of time when you are a nature photographer trying to capture elusive subjects... you are too busy going through the maze to find the settings you need. What should have been a stunning upgrade in purchasing this new CANON camera has been a very inconvenient and weak imitation of previous models. I feel let down, having fallen for the grand illusion that this HD 14.1 MP CANON SD1400 IS would live up to it's promises. Bottom line: IT DOESN'T! It is a jarbled, weak and confusing attempt at upgrade. I've no choice but to go back to my trusted and true SD1000.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fully loaded and user friendly

By Island Girl from Undisclosed on 03/07/2010


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Durable, Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just purchased the Canon Power Shot SD 1400 IS, brought it home and just had to check out the many features it has. Its very easy to use. Takes excellent pictures. Can't wait to use it outdoors. Love the option to adjust certain colors you want to highlight, like blue for the ocean. Great buy for the price. This is our second Canon digital camera we have owned. Thanks for a great product!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

By far the best one yet

By Will from New York, NY on 03/05/2010


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Bright Lcd, Durable, Lightweight/portable, Responsive, Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life, Good Low-light Performance, Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my 7th canon elph. it is by far the best! The responsiveness is quick, the picture quality is excellent, video is outstanding and it holds up to the high standards that canon's other camera have done in the past. I am not a fan of touch screen, so this is prefect.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

AWESOME!!!

By PictureGuy from Paragould, AR on 03/01/2010


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Good Battery Life, Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable, Good Low-light Performance, Bright Lcd

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just bought this camera and it's the best point-and-shoot I've ever owned. The high megapixels, ease of operation, and the assortment of settings makes this a perfect camera for both amateurs & professionals. I highly recommend this camera!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved