Home » Computers » Input Devices » Scanning Devices » Scanners » CS9000F » 42 Reviews

Canon Canoscan 9000f Flatbed Scanner 48 Bit Color - 48 Bit Grayscale - Usb (4207b002) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 42 reviews)

85% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Easy To Use (25), High-speed Scanning (21), Fast Connectivity (18), Durable (9), High Resolution (23), Compact Design (7)

Cons:

Large Footprint (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Great scanner

By spoton from sacramento, CA on 06/28/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This has been an easy to use, reliable scanner for the past 2 1/2 years. I bought it because the reviews said it was good and that if there were problems, Canon's support would be very helpful. The first one I received worked intermittently. But Canon support courteously shipped me a new one and paid for return shipping on the old one. The replacement has been easy to work with and totally reliable. I use it mostly to scan black and white and gray scale. The images are clean, focused with no shadows. Easy to use menu is included in the software.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good, cost effective scanner

By Old soldier from Missouri Ozarks country on 06/08/2014


Pros:

Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When my old dedicated photo scanner died, I replaced it with a competitor's top of the line scanner from the same company. It had a cloudy film on the platen underside. I then ordered the 9000f as it had excellent ratings. Glad I did!! It does a credible job for a flatbed on film, prints, and documents. It's control tools under the top tier of control aren't my favorite: too clugey for me. It isn't hugely fast. But acceptable. The main complaint is the film carriers. Cheap, flimsy, and lacking in support for 120 and large formats. The included 120 carrier is rather a joke. There is no carrier for mounted 120, and 35mm in glass mounts doesn't work well, either. I had to manufacture cardboard carriers for odd formats like 28x60mm panoramic camera film. The inability to scan my old 4x5" and 8x10" negs and positives is problematic, but can be handled through various companies....but I prefer keeping them in my control rather than shipping them off. As a flatbed, it appears a good compromise between cost and performance despite the lack of decent film carriers. And yes, I understand it is a consumer grade scanner, not a professional scanner. Canon makes some good equipment, especially dedicated scanners like this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Useless

By maltbread from Palo Alto on 04/18/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Tried to download software. Slowest site on the planet. It knew my OS (good) but I seem to need to download 4 separate file. Actually seem to require only two but one will not open so cannot use my scanner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Software failure

By Reidsy from Salt Lake City, UT on 03/08/2014


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Software Driver Won't Boot Up

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The scanner itself works fine and I like it. But starting about 6 months ago the software failed -- it will not even start up, so in order to use the scanner I have to use Photoshop Elements 11 since the Canon software is gone. Canon support is unable to figure out what is wrong and the suggestions they make -- to remove other scanning and imaging software from TWAIN32 is of no use because there is no other software there. The other suggestion relates to changing administrators but this is a sole user computer and the administrator has not changed. Why would either of these matter since the Canon software worked fine for six months and then stopped but the computer setup has not changed? The Canon software must no longer be compatible with Windows 7.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Family Photo Friendly

By Chris from Maine on 03/09/2013


Pros:

Fast Connectivity, High Resolution, Versatile, Easy To Use, High-speed Scanning

Cons:

16mm Negative Capability

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought it to scan hundreds of family photos including vintage prints and slides. Some early photos dated to the 19th century and slides from WWII. Scanner is versatile, fast and handles everything with precision. Software can help clean-up most photos with minimal effort or experience. This is a great machine for amateurs and pros alike. Especially impressed with the slide and 35mm negative capabilities. Only wish it could handle the instamatic (16mm) negatives--unless I am missing some trick or additional film holder that would accomodate this popular (in the 60s - 80s) format.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding!

By Wick from Venice, Fl on 09/30/2012


Pros:

Accurate, High-speed Scanning, High Resolution, Easy To Use, Fast Connectivity, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Best scanner I've owned and I've had a few. Fast, silent, accurate and true to the original. I challenge anyone to tell which photo is the original and which is the scanned copy. Remarkable, really.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bravo!

By Quilp from Scottsdale, Arizona on 09/17/2012


Pros:

High Resolution, Easy To Use, Fast Connectivity

Cons:

A Tad Loud

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Cannon 9000F captured and restored thirty years of priceless memories with no fuss, no muss. Over 500 slides were scanned and edited producing a more vivid and enhanced finished product than the originals slides which in many cases were faded and yellowed. This is an excellent choice and very affordable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Canoscan Shines Again

By pinpgaul from Austin, TX on 09/14/2012


Pros:

High Resolution, Easy To Use, High-speed Scanning, Lid Buttons

Cons:

Requires Close Proximity To Computer, Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The scanner works perfectly. Just one little thing to learn vs. my Canoscan that wore out: B&W documents scan as TIFF or BMP. Grayscale gives smaller JPG as an output option. Also, the scanner has to be located closer to the computer. My old Canoscan was at the end of an 8-ft. USB extension. This would not work unless we used just the USB cable it came with. I had to move the printer to a new location.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good bang for the buck

By VanderPix from Jersey City, NJ on 09/13/2012


Pros:

High Resolution, Fast Connectivity, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Nice scanner that I purchased recently because previous scanner had died. Handles all formats well, but is especially good for snapshots and B&W negatives It is easy to use and install and a great value for the money


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is an easy machine ...

By dp from Stillwater, OK on 09/06/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an easy machine to use: fast, quiet and versatile. I am pleased with my purchase decision.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product!!!

By Max from Norhten California on 08/30/2012


Pros:

High Resolution, Easy To Use, Durable, Compact Design, Fast Connectivity, High-speed Scanning

Cons:

Manual

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The scanner is easy to install and is immediately ready to use. The scans are good quality for both photos and film. I find the manual a bit tricky to understand. It would be beneficial to include more general guidelines for scanning and describe precisely what the actual resolution restrictions are. The scanner is an excellent value for the price is more than a casual use needs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Objective achieved

By Cindycat from Atlanta GA on 08/16/2012


Pros:

High-speed Scanning, High Resolution, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I traveled extensively during the 1960's and 1970's and recorded these travels on 35 mm Kodachrome slides. Recently i visited some of these places again and the changes were mind boggling! I want to do a pictorial comparison of the changes. My internet searches led me to the decision to buy the CanoScan 9000F.I have digitalised my slides without a problem and I am very pleased with the results. The scanner has been very easy to use, and I was really pleased at the speed at which I got through copying all my slides. Now that I have copied all the slides I want to spend time experimenting with the various features. I have not yet attempted to use the scanner for photos or documents, but the instructions for using the scanner for slides were easy to follow so I anticipate it will not be difficult following the instructions for its other features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Review of Canon 9000F Scanner

By Rick M Verified Reviewer from Mahwah, NJ on 06/05/2012


Pros:

Easy To Set Up, Easy To Use

Cons:

Low Quality Scans

Best Uses:

Personal Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very easy to use and set up. Was dissipointed with the quality of the photos scanned. They needed to be retouced up a lot with photoshop to get them to look good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Okay Hardware, Terrible Software

By Ex Slider Hoarder from Central Florida on 05/13/2012


Pros:

None Evident

Cons:

Terrible Software

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this machine to digitialize a lifetime's collection. I guess the machine is Okay, but the software is beyond terrible. On one hand, it talks to you like a 3 year old, on the other hand, it is incredibly obtuse, leads you around in frustrating 'Do-Loops', and you REALLY REALLY have to work at figuring out how to actually save your scans. Should have just taken my slides to a local processor and paid for the conversion.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product, great service

By Jim in Marquette from Marquette, MI on 03/11/2012


Pros:

Easy, Fast, Versatile

Cons:

Needs 2 Each Of Film Strip Holders

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this scanner because I couldn't find a film scanner which would handle 120 film. This is my first scanner. So far I have done a collection of 40+ year old B&W negatives and some far older family negatives. All of the scans have turned out beautifully. Even odd sizes can be done with a little work around. The provided software is flexible enough to let me do most things. The color transparencies I have done have also come out very very well. When I ran into a problem, the Canon service folks were quick to respond with just the answer I needed. I have a very large collection of color transparencies in both 35mm and 120. I can't wait to get to them. Fantastic product and pretty easy to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best thing I purchased in a long time.

By eagle110 from Houston, TX on 09/23/2011


Pros:

High Resolution, High-speed Scanning, Durable, Fast Connectivity, Easy To Use

Cons:

Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have about 10,000 slides from the old days to scan and was not sure about an inexpensive scanner but this one has changed my mind. I have been impressed so far with the products easy to use and learn. I have never used Photo Shop Elements but within hours I am comfortable with it and doing some great corrections and keeping photos that I may have lost otherwise.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best money I ever spent !

By RP from PA on 09/22/2011


Pros:

High-speed Scanning, Durable, Fast Connectivity, Easy To Use, I Set It Up Myself In 5 Minutes Or So I Am A 78 Ye, High Resolution, Compact Design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just finished scanning 30 or more carousels of 100 each 35 mm slides These slides were from 1948 up until 1979. The quality of the scanned product is unbelievably good. I have printed some out from 1948 and they are very good. The scanner is user friendly and sooooo easy to use. When you scan the four slides at a time they come up on the monitor large enough to see the images in detail. It is so great to bring back all the memories from the past and know the photos are preserved. I plan to transfer them to DVDs and flash drives for my family I love this scanner!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One star from perfect

By Tim from Yelm Washinton on 09/15/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Compact Design, Good Engineering

Cons:

Neg. Size Limited To No Bigger Than Med. Format

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This scanner works great! Excellent quality. Very easy to set up and use. The only minus of one poins is that if was cable of large format slides or negatives this woulb be a excellent scanner for all uses. (example 4x5 or bigger negs.) It does cater to 35mm and medium format which is nice but one star from great!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An excellant product

By JIM from New Jersey on 09/09/2011


Pros:

Compact Design, Easy To Use, High-speed Scanning, High Resolution, Fast Connectivity

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The product was purchased because we wanted to scan several hundred 35mm slides and transfer the images to DVD's. So far, the device has performed very well and we are almost 50% done with the scanning. The output quality is excellant particularly considering the age and questionable quality of the slides. It is a rather slow process (four slides per scan), but it works well and as advertised. Learning to perform this task was easy for an inexperienced operator.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I Could Not Be More Pleased

By Dr. K from US on 09/05/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, High-speed Scanning, Advanced Scanning Features, Durable, High Resolution, Fast Connectivity

Cons:

Didn't Get It Sooner

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used a Canon 8000F for many years and did not want to replace it-I loved it. However, I was not able to obtain a driver for it for WINDOWS 7-64 bit. Since I was a little upset with Canon over this, I shopped around extensively for a new scanner. I soon reached the inescapable conclusion that Canon still makes the best home scanner and purchased a Canon 9000F for a large scanning project--six large bins of a hundred years of family photos. The MULTI-PHOTO, AUTO-ALIGN advanced features along with the speed of the 9000F are making short work of this project! We scanned over 10,000 pictures in just two afternoons. (Only 20,000 to go!) The pictures, negatives, and slides all produce high resolution crisp, sharp, acurately colored photos. The new one-botton features are also so useful that we use them daily. The installation was flawless, and the 9000F has not missed a beat through this heavy use. I COULD NOT BE MORE PLEASED. I hate to say it, but thank you Canon for not having a driver for my old 8000F.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

from an illustrators point of view

By corida from Undisclosed on 08/29/2011


Pros:

High-speed Scanning, Fast Connectivity, Durable

Cons:

Can Not Scan At 8.5 X 11 At 1200 Dpi

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

DO NOT BUY THIS if you are an illustrator and need to scan at 1200 dpi on a consistent basis. this scanner WILL NOT allow me to scan my illustrations at the resolution i need to make the images the size i need for the end result. other than that, this scanner is excellent. if you need a scanner to do the basic stuff it is a fine purchase, but if you need it to go above and beyond don't get it. you will have problems... and they are problems that can't be overcome (i know this because i just spent 40 minutes on the phone with a very helpful support tech).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works wonderful for negatives

By tinkerbell from Virginia on 07/28/2011


Pros:

High-speed Scanning, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I haven't used the scanner for anything but negatives, but it is wonderful for that. I scrapbook and finding old negatives is such a treasure. I am most impressed with the quality of the photos.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HIGH PERFORMANCE - GOOD PRICING

By LOUP from Ringwood, NJ on 07/14/2011


Pros:

Fast Connectivity, High-speed Scanning, Easy To Use, High Resolution

Cons:

Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this unit specificlly to scan 35 mm slides. I scanned 1500 slides and I am extremely pleased with this unit's performance. In all cases, the scanned images were faithful to the original slide and sometimes even of better quality. The unit was easy to use and the scanning ran in the background freeing me to do other tasks.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

my second canon scanner

By jfwphotos from pittsburgh pa on 06/20/2011


Pros:

Compact Design, I Got Mine For A Great Price, High Resolution, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Connectivity, High-speed Scanning

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

after owning a canon 8800 and wanting a second scanner, I had to look no futher than the 9000f. and I was right, superb in every way, I've had the other brands, but always go back to canon. very satifed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great scanner and easy to use!

By Kristi Verified Reviewer from McKinney, TX on 05/13/2011


Pros:

Inexpensive For Abilities, High Dpi Still Scans Fast, Can Auto Fix Pictures, Clear Scanning, Fast Scanning, Easy To Use

Cons:

Won't Scan Some Negatives, Bulky

Best Uses:

Old Pictures, Copies Of Pictures, Negatives

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really like this scanner. I was very skeptical because of the price but was extremely satisfied with the results. It took me a long time to choose a scanner until I found this one. I am very happy with my purchase. Negatives of odd sizes won't scan but all other negatives have been very good. Scan your negative because they will fade over time. Whether you are scanning pictures or negatives, this scanner is actually very fast. Even when you increase the dpi my time isn't greatly increased. Truly the only negative is that it is a little bulky and doesn't travel easily. Most people don't have that problem. I LOVE THIS SCANNER!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I have scanned several ...

By Ed from Seattle on 03/04/2011


Pros:

High Resolution, High-speed Scanning, Easy To Use

Cons:

Doesn't Know How To Handle My 127 Size Film Slides

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have scanned several hundred (of 7-8,000) slides and 50 or so documents. I was wowed when it turned a scan of four 80 year old snapshots into four separate files of digital slides! I am well impressed with the ease, quality, and speed of my CanoScan 9000F. My biggest problem is that many of my slides are 127 size film, square pictures that fit in the regular 2x2 slide. I've learned, from Canon's support crew how to stretch the cropping (or is it UN-cropping) to get the whole slide scanned, but that works one at a time and is very slow. If it can scan 35mm in portrait or landscape, why can't I get a square picture? And when it does scan my 127s, it tries to find the best direction to crop it: portrait or landscape, often missing what think is best, so I sometimes cover the 127 slide with an empty 35mm slide to frame it. Without that, the scanner sometimes crops the 127s surprisingly narrower or wider than expected. The only other improvement I'd suggest is a special bell or sound at the end of the scan to alert me to get on with scanning. Thanks for a fine piece of equipment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An excellent scanner

By scotmama3 from St. George, Utah on 03/04/2011


Pros:

High Resolution, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My only other experience with a film scanner was with an older model Acer scanner. In its day, it was OK but this 9000F Canon scanner is wonderful. I have many slides and black and white negatives. I have tried both with this scanner and it does a great job. I thought that I might never be able to replace my darkroom and the tedium of printing images but this is almost better than the darkroom. It scans the negative into a positive image and then with very little manipulation with a photo program, I have a positive image that is as good as I could ever have printed. The only thing that I have noticed is that most images need to have the sharpness tweaked. I know that the slides are good so I am not sure why this is happening. As I become more facile with the scanner, I will probably be able to determine what I am doing wrong.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Pleased

By Turkey from Tennessee on 03/04/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works great, processes the info well, used for photos and to file forms, data, etc. Would buy it again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Scanner ... Mechanicals Need Help

By books-n-coinz from Mount Joy, PA on 02/27/2011


Pros:

High Resolution, Files Easy To Save, High-speed Scanning, Fast Connectivity

Cons:

Film Guide, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned this scanner for about two months and it has worked flawlessly. I just finished scanning 150 120mm format negatives and the output pictures are stunning. The 100 or so slides that I have done so far have also produced excellent results. I like the large menu of adjustments that can be made to get the output the way you want it. The one hang-up I have with the unit is the difficulty involved in placing the film guides. I have the scanner set up so that the controls are nearest to me. Therefore, putting the film guide in place requires putting the (black) tab hole over the (black) pin in the film symbol slot which is at the far eend of the scanner. How hard would it have been to paint the top of the pin white and put a white circle around the tab hole so that one does not have to hunt and peck to align the film guide. The guide already has white silk screening anyway. Alternatively, Canon could put the tab and pin at the front of the unit (i.e. closest to the operator). Even better would be to replace the hole in the tab with a slot having a generous lead-in so that it would guide itself onto the pin. I also would like to see a film holder that could be pre-loaded and then put in the film guide. It would save a lot of time loading negatives. All in all, this is a beautiful scanner and i would have given it five stars, except for the film handling shortfalls.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cannon Fan

By Steve from Sun Valley, Idaho on 02/24/2011


Pros:

High Resolution, Easy To Use, Fast Connectivity

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been using the 9000F for a little over 2 months now. I bought it for scanning my Kodachrome slide collection. Kodachrome is one of, if not the hardest type of slides to scan. After a bit of trial and error, I am getting about 92% success rate. Scanning night scenes and skin colors seem to be where the scanner has the hardest time. Because it is packaged with Photoshop, you can work those pics into a useable jpeg. I find the learning curve of Photoshop pretty steep, so I have to keep reminding myself to scan and save, you can work on it later. I've been using the 9000F on my MacBook Pro, and store and edit on Aperture 3, which is much quicker to edit in than Photoshop. The ScanGear, Canon's TWAIN driver, works great with my Mac.This scanner is amazing at the quality of scans it can put out. It really will enable you to scan a 9600X9600 dpi, with 48/16 bit color output scan! But......it takes a while to scan such a large file (close to 62mb) and as such you will need a lot of storage space. After my first few scans at max resolution, I realized I could cut that way down and still get great results from a much smaller size (9mb). If one needs to make an enlargement the size of your house, this machine can do it! You can always go back and rescan those images later for that. Once I got my workflow figured out, I have been averaging about 2-3 minutes per slide, since this machine can scan 4 slides at a time, about 10-12 minutes for the scan. When you add the loading and unloading, it take about 15 min. a batch. I noticed someone wasn't happy with the dust removal tool built into the ScanGear(FARE). I have been having great luck with it, but remember slides are a magnet for dust! I dust each slide off before I load them on the scanner bed. Be sure to keep the glass clean too. A little searching on the web will help you get the most from this scanner. Canon has done their homework, and some of it's power is hidden in the software, when you aren't familiar with slide scanning (like I'm not) you can learn a lot online, about what it takes to get the highest quality scans out of the 9000F. The important thing is, the 9000F can do it! Not to say you can't get a great scan from this machine right out of the box. It is easy to set up and you can start scanning right away with good results. I hope this helps someone who is looking for a scanner to get those old slides out of the box and onto your computer. With the 9000F I've been able to scan and edit slides that were almost unusable (to dark or over exposed) and that alone makes this scanner worth buying. Now I just hope it's as easy to scan photos with as others say. Steve


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product in this Price Range

By Jodi from Idaho on 02/19/2011


Pros:

High Resolution, Compact Design, High-speed Scanning, High Quality Images, Fast Connectivity

Cons:

Software Takes A While To Master

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This scanner produces high quality images and is relatively fast at higher resolutions. Set-up is fairly easy as well. My only criticism is that the software is a bit clumsy since you have to toggle back and forth from one menu to the scan driver menu. Also, they need to have cheat sheets for scanning to pdf, scanning slides or negatives, and other functions. There is a lot of trial and error involved in figuring out the resolution needed, and general work flow. That is all. Otherwise it is a stellar piece of technology and I love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Superior Product worst instructions ever

By griffin from Florida on 02/10/2011


Pros:

Compact Design, High Resolution, Durable, High-speed Scanning

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Had this scanner for two Weeks, It will do anything a several thousand dollar scanner will do, It is not simple to use and the instructions consist of many pages of midium size print. Be prepared to spend considerable time trying to figure out where to look for the instructions for the task your trying to accomolish . Frustrating!!! The indivual task guides don't need rewriting just editing and reeorganizing. Mean while, use your old scanner for the more simple tasks. The only thing I can think fof to make the scanner better is to make it wirreless


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great quality consumer scanner

By pajd318 from Yardley, PA on 02/09/2011


Pros:

High Resolution, Fast Connectivity, High-speed Scanning, Easy To Use, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have scanned documents and photos before. I bought the scanner to scan slides. It is all new to me. Yet, I found the setup and use to be very straightforward and the results to be quite good. I am sure the results could have been better. However, the real proof was when I created a slide show and did a presentation for the family on my large HDTV. I was amazed, and everyone else was quite complementary. The Scangear interface is what really makes the task of scanning slides work well. At first, I had the resolution set to the default of 6 (medium). I found that I had to increase the resolution to 8 or 10 (high) to really get the quality I was looking for. The increased file size of the JPEG files was not really that large. Also, I found that I really needed to save each set of 4 slides instead of trying to do a batch, because there were times, when doing more than 4 slides, the PC memory would fill up and I would lose my scans. I really like the fact that Adobe Elements 8 was included, especially for the price. It does a great job of organizing and edting the slides. There is even a complementary online backup option included. The only real problem I have had with Elements 8 is getting rid of the Welcome Screen on startup. I finally created desktop shortcuts for both the Organize and Edit programs by pointing directly to them (a workaround I finally found on the Internet).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

just get one

By rick from Undisclosed on 01/04/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, High Resolution, Fast Connectivity, High-speed Scanning

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

well i'm a huge fan of my other canon products. lets just say this dosen't dissaponit. quick/easy set up. logical interface with my windows7 / elements 8 photo stuff. i was stunned by the quality of scans from slides with difficult lighting conditions i.e. low light or sun / shadow conditions. can't wait to start bringing back to useful life the countless slides i have from the dinasour age of film cameras


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An amazing performer for the price

By Dr. Don from Exeter, CA on 12/15/2010


Pros:

High-speed Scanning, High Resolution, Easy To Use, Fast Connectivity

Cons:

No Mounted 6x6 Film Guide

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been very hesitant to try a flatbed scanner for my medium format positives & negatives. The 9000f has been a most pleasant surprise; it has far exceeded my expectations. I have a 35mm/medium format dedicated film scanner that will not function with Win 7 and there are no updates available from the manufacturer. The 9000f cost less than 10% as much and has much higher resolution. So far, so good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Photoshop Elements OLD

By StarChip from Sacramento, CA on 12/14/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, High-speed Scanning

Cons:

Old Software Included

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

From the website and product box it states Photoshop Elements is included. Well it is but it is an old version. When placing a call there is no newer software, you will get version 6 or 8 depending on when it was boxed. Also there is no newer software being boxed. If purchasing and expecting the latest software think again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

White Dots

By Thinking from Undisclosed on 12/04/2010


Pros:

High Resolution

Cons:

Alot Of Dots On Pictures.

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Good for the most part. But the scanner generates alot of white dots. Alot have said it is very sensitive to dust but this is brand new so you would think there would be no dust. Even those that clean it report some white specs and the software doesn't address this due to the high volume of these (theer will always be some left).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

howkola

By Anonymous from Salado, TX on 11/18/2010


Pros:

Excellent Quality

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I wanted a scanner that would scan both negatives/slides and was a flatbed to save space. The quality of reproduction with this scanned is superior to a dedicated scanner I owned. It also has the ability to make adjustments after the preview is complete which saves time in photoshop.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Finally - a fast and easy to use photo scanner

By FamilyPhotoGuy from Jersey Shore, PA on 11/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have thousands of family photos to scan and organize. Some have been literally "stuck" in "magnetic" albums for years. When I remove them from the albums (a better description would be peel), the photos curl. I can place 2 to 4 of the curled photos on the screen and scan them. The included software separates the photos into different files which can be saved and named in batches. The photos do not have to be lined up square with the scanner window, they can be at an angle. This makes the scanning much faster. A scan at the default resolution takes about 10 seconds. This includes processing and separating the photos into individual files. A 3.5" x 5" photo results in a 400KB file size, perfect for my pupose. The resolution is adjustable. I am very satisfied with the scanner and have made significant progress on the oldest photos. When i get to the newer photos that are in window albums, the speed of the process will increase substantially.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Canon Scanners NOT for hobbyists

By Jonathan from Michigan USA on 10/01/2010


Pros:

Stylish Design, Decent Speed, Good Dpi, Tech Support Friendly And Available, Decently Quiet

Cons:

Scanner Interface Is Not Easily Usable, Led Did Not Increase Scan Speed, Canon Is Not In Tune With Numismatic Collectors, Too Many Steps Involved With Scanning And Saving

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The overall design of the scanner is nice. The LED lamp is touted as being quicker, but i didnt notice any increase is spead compared to my last (non-canon) scaner. The images i was able to scan were decent, but i would have expected alot better quality considering the price tag. I bought this scanner because i literally melted my last scanner beauce i used it too much, it was not a canon. I bought this scanner because at the price range, i was told its intended use was for alot of scanning. The scanner interface is adequate, but cluncky, non-intuitive and hard to use. With patience and practice, i was able tofind what i needed, but controls for lighting, colors and effects are not what you would expect. I have seen much better on much cheaper machines bought elsewhere. If you are a Numimatic hobbyist - DO NOT BUY CANON SCANNERS. They participate in the CBCDG CDS program. This means they imbed software on the scanner that prevents you from scanning world banknotes - even though it is 100% legal to do so. I have read alot of reviews from people who use this scanner for slides - it may work for slides, but it will not work for alot of world banknotes printed after around 2002 +/-. Euro, USA, Canada to name a few.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fabulous performer in this price range!

By Gecko from Ashburn, VA on 09/30/2010


Cons:

Won't Handle Medium Format, Slow On Slides & Film

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I sold a competing professional scanner that cost me more than double the the price of the CanoScan 9000F. The 9000F has been phenomenal. I'll divide my review into three categories: speed, quality, and user interface. ____ SPEED: I just couldn't get around to scanning anything with the other one because the wait with every scan is just agonizing. It sounds like it's has to rev up its engine every time. On the other hand, The speed and agility of the 9000F are impressive. I place several pictures at a time on the glass to scan, and the software lets you independently select the settings for each picture, mixing resolutions and corrections. Then it goes and scans each one separately. And because the LED light requires no warm-up time, it works immediately you can just get so much done! I scanned over 150 pictures in the first few days of having this scanner -- more than I did in the two years I had the other one. However, do keep in mind that when scanning film and slides, scanning speed will be reduced drastically -- that's just the way it is, regardless of the scanner. _____ QUALITY: The other scanner actually did a slightly better job with dust and scratch removal using Digital ICE. The 9000F uses FARE, which works well, but seems to not be quite as effective. Scans on the 9000F tend to be slightly more blue, but you can tweak that correction easily. ______ INTERFACE: The user interface is a bit clugey (sp?), but it does everything it needs to, and while you're scanning a large number of pics it stores them in its own catalog until you're finished, then saves the files in one single sweep. The software seems to not retain some settings (I keep having to uncheck a box to create subfolders by scan date), but overall works very well. _____ CONCLUSION: If I had to choose on one hand between having the best professional scanner and never using it because it's just too slow -- and on the other hand having a great scanner like the 9000F and using it like crazy, I would definitely take Option B. I highly recommend the 9000F for its beautiful design, easy setup, very good scanning quality, easy photo correction settings, ability to scan several pics at once, and impressive speed!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best 120 Scanner on the market

By Big Red from Abilene Texas on 08/10/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For any one scanning 120 for mat,this has to be the best on the market for the price and ease of use. Been useing it for about a week scaned close to 200 120 for mat film with ease color and contrast controls vary easey to use.if i could sagest one thing that canon could emprove would be a film adapter for mounted 120 slides.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved