Home » Photography » Digital Cameras » 4217B001AA » 70 Reviews

Canon Powershot Sd1300 Is Point & Shoot Digital Camera - 12.1 Megapixel - 2.70" Active Matrix Tft Color Lcd - Brown 4x Optical Zoom - 4x (4217b001) (4217b001aa) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 70 reviews)

71% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Bright Lcd (33), Easy To Use (41), Lightweight/portable (43), Excellent Image Quality (31), Simple Controls/menu (31), Good Low-light Performance (24), Nice Features/settings (24), Durable (18), Good Battery Life (30)

Cons:

Poor Image Quality (10), Poor Low-light Performance (7), Flimsy Construction (4), Missing Features/settings (12), Complicated Controls/menu (5)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Survived ATV Drive-Over!

By Mare from Sheboygan, WI on 09/02/2011


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Durable, Easy To Use, Good Battery Life, Good Low-light Performance, Simple Controls/menu

Cons:

Missing Features/settings, Wish To Create Folders To Organize Pics By Subject

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Rec'd this, 1st digital camera, as a gift in Dec '10. Thought I'd never find something good enough to replace my Canon Elph--but I was wrong, this has been it! It's obviously small, and it takes very good pic's (esp compared to lesser 10- & 12-megapix cameras some friends own). BEST part: While 4-wheeling in Tucson's Box Canyon this past weekend, my camera slid out of my pocket & onto the dirt. Didn't realize it until approx 10 mins later...I turned around & trailed back until I found it--laying in the sand/dust/dirt/pebbles, pressed down HARD so that it was flush w/the surface. It had obviously been driven over per it's position & abrasions on the exposed top--the shutter side of the camera was up. (Either I or my husband who followed me had driven right over it!) I blew off the dust, opened the shutter, took a picture, and voila! WORKED PERFECTLY! I'm THRILLED about this. Thanks!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So Disappointed.

By Angela from Midlothian, TX on 07/26/2011


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Poor Image Quality, Poor Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We had an awesome compact digital camera by Canon, and then we dropped it. And the lens messed up. I figured by the time we paid someone to fix it, we could almost buy a new one. I thought, since we were upgrading to a newer model, I would be even happier with this (newer, upgraded) camera. I should have just paid to have the old one fixed. This new one is so grainy, I can never get a good photo. It takes me hours of editing before I can even post them to facebook because they come out so dull/grainy/blurry/all of the above. I miss my old camera. And the money I spent on this one!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Broke Two Of These In Four Months!

By starlet__14 from Cokato, MN on 07/21/2011


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu

Cons:

Breaks Randomly And Easily, Missing Features/settings

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I got this camera about four months ago. Seemed pretty good at first...nice, portable, fairly good image quality, easy to use. However, about 2 1/2 months later, it broke. The lens refused to open, therefore not allowing you to take pictures. I sent the camera in, a little frustrated, seeing as how I didn't do anything unusual or wrong. However, customer service was very plesant and the next week I recieved a new camera, the same kind. This time I noticed how awful the zoom is--it barely zooms at all! Still, it's a camera and I'll use it. Then tonight I was using it like normal, and it did the same thing! First the lens wouldn't go all the way in, and now it won't go out at all. I am super frustrated. Don't waste your money on this camera!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great compact camera

By birdfeed from Nebraska on 07/15/2011


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu, Good Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Recently our SD790 camera was damaged while on vacation, so purchased the 1300. Very similar to the old one except much better indoor photos, and the dial to change settings is much easier to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Enjoying My Camera

By photobear from Dayton, Ohio on 07/01/2011


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Simple Controls/menu, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

No Printed Users Manual

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had my Canon PowerShot SD1300 camera for about a month now and have enjoyed using it. I recently took it on a trip and shot many pictures. It was easy to use and the photos turned out very nicely. I wish there were a printed manual to use while learning about the features instead of a 165 page manual to read on the computer. It would be much more useful.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great little camera

By Casey from Florida on 06/17/2011


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Simple Controls/menu, Good Battery Life, Durable, Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just got back from a two week vacation and used this camera for the first time. I loved it because it is so easy to use and and takes really great pictures. The color is true and focusing was easy even when taking pictures out my car window going at 70 mph. The subject was always very sharp and clear. This was lightweight so I could carry it everywhere in my purse. I highly recommend this camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Inadequate Instruction Manual

By syrbint from New Mexico on 06/15/2011


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Good Battery Life, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Complicated Controls/menu, Poor Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like the camera and quality of pictures. What I don't like is that the instruction manual is inadequate. The camera has MANY other functions and DISPLAYS on the screen. I don't know what all of the symbols stand for. Or how to use all of the functions. NO INSTRUCTIONS OR EXPLANATIONS. Manuevering between screens is not always easy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not my favorite Canon

By Biz from Chicago, IL on 06/09/2011


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Easy To Use

Cons:

Poor Low-light Performance, Poor Image Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have only used Canon Powershot cameras since I first bought a digital camera. I was excited to upgrade to the Powershot SD1300is. The first day I used the camera extensively (at a wedding) it kept producing hoorrible blurry shots. I switched to manual which worked better but not great. After the wedding I went back to the local camera shop and brought my camera and my images. They thought there was something wrong with the autofocus and replaced it with the same model. Next weekend I was at another wedding and I had the same issues with the new camera. After a few months I realized that the feature that automatically switches the functions was slow to adjust. For instance, if you are holding your camera at your side it switches to the macro mode and when you quickly return it to take a picture of somebody it's slow to adjust back to automatic. While this function is something I was excited for, it has made this camera virtually impossible to use to capture unexpected moments. While I will still buy Canon (the Powershot s95---wonderful) I wouldn't recommend this model. After I realized the issue it was too late to return the camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No Manual?

By Beverly from Massachusetts on 06/02/2011


Cons:

No User Guide

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I cannot rate this camera because I don't know how to use it! Sure, I received a "Getting Started" guide within the packaging, but no User Guide. Is any one else missing the Guide? I suppose I could download it from Canon's website...and print 148 pages on my own printer...but why should I have to?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I originally got my sd ...

By ALM from Undisclosed on 05/22/2011


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Simple Controls/menu, Durable

Cons:

Limited Manual Settings, No Viewfinder, Poor Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I originally got my sd 1300 as a replacement to my sd 1000. (Apparently they have a maximum drop number of a few hundred times.) I've had it for about a year now. Pros: Anyway, my sd 1300 was everything I expected for a $150 point and shoot. It's small and portable. The wide angle lens is a VERY nice bonus. It has a fairly close macro range. It has a pretty good battery life, and even an indicator for how much batter is left. (Took them long enough.) Cons: Like any cheap camera, the manual settings are limited. You can't change shutter speed or aperture, or even manually focus. ISO is also pretty noisy, as expected. Light filters are pretty bad as well. I would also have liked a viewfinder. . . All in all, it's a great little camera. I have an S5 IS for more camera-friendly occasions, but I never leave home without my SD 1300!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Overall great performance ...

By stinky from Seattle, Washington on 05/01/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall great performance and apparent quality (only used a short time). Only negative at this time is that the software, Solution Disk 57.0, will not load on Windows 2000, SP4. The systems requirements shown on the package indicate that Win2k,SP4 is compatible. Not true at my level of effort.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good camera - I would like more control though

By DeStan from L. A, California on 04/30/2011


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable, Quick Shot-to-shot Time., Good Magnification To Check Image Sharpness.

Cons:

Missing Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Basically I am happy with this camera, though I would like more control. I miss being able to select White Balance for example (to control the color with different light sources). But my complaints about control are really more about my failure to fully investigate this camera's capabilities before buying it. The small size is great, and in every way it seems an excellent point and shot camera for the average snapshot shooter.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Problems with1300 Power Shot

By Songbird from Sarasota, Florida on 04/29/2011


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased the Power Shot SD1300IS in Oct.2010. It worked fine for 7 months then it started to shut down by itself when I was trying to take a photo. Or it would not open. or the lens would not retract when shut down. Having had cannons before I was very surprised at this problem. Luckily I purchased a warranty from the store I bought it at. Brought it back and they gave me a new camera. They no longer carried the 1300 so I put the difference to it and got the 1400. I am hoping that this problem does not arise again. I know Cannon has quality products so I am hoping for the best. But I will always take out that extra warranty that the store offers from here on in.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Another generation, another advance in features

By RatMan from Charleston, S,C, on 04/24/2011


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

See capsule review checklist. This SD1300is replaces a previously used SD850is which I passed along to my 15 year-old niece. These "SD" model point & shoot series with "IS" (Image Stabilization) are the bomb! Perfect pictures even if you don't have a clue - serious!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No Image Stabilization!!

By Jeff from Syracuse, NY (purchase in Los Angeles) on 04/09/2011


Cons:

Missing Features/settings

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The specs and even the manual say this camera has image stabilization, but it does not. The menu option is not available. It does not exist. The manual describes it as being between Disp Overlay and Date Stamp. It is not there nor anywhere else, Very difficult to get decent pictures.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Pictures

By cadaverp3 from St.Louis, MO. on 03/19/2011


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Good Low-light Performance, Simple Controls/menu, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Easy To Mishandle

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a very good camera. Takes great pictures in all situations. Camera is very slick and easy to mishandle.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great products

By canonfan from NY on 03/18/2011


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Nice Features/settings, Simple Controls/menu, Bright Lcd, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I can not express enough satisfaction with ANY CANNON product, my first canon product was an all in one printer, did not have to break the bank to buy cartridges, that all printer still work after all these years of use. I had to get another one now but still canon... the reason i bought this camera is because my old 5 years plus canon camera unfortunately was broken by me... I dropped on the floor inadvertedly and even so still my camera was working, to my disblief after that episode my camera was still WORKING... that is why I LOVE CANON,ANY CANON PRODUCT just PROOF YOU ARE BUYING LOOOONG LOONG TIME QUALITY


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Value for the Price

By Chris from El Paso, TX on 03/13/2011


Pros:

Durable, Good Battery Life, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Simple Controls/menu, Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings

Cons:

Lens Broke

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Camera is very attractive, the screen is nice and large, The hardware is easy to install and use, however, when I plug in the camera to the computer to transfer the images, it takes a while to connect. I purchased the camera in October and now (March) the lens is broken and will not open when I turn the camera on. I need to call customer support and hope it can be fixed. Also, its easy to figure out except the size of the pictures, they're automatically largely pixelated, so, it takes a while to upload to facebook/ myspace and it takes up a lot of storage on my hard-drive, so I need to look at the manual on how to change that.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Erase All Option

By VTRod from Fort Myers on 03/07/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I previously had a SD1100 IS which I liked and was gifted a new SD1300 IS. The biggest difference btw the two is that the 1100 has "erase" picture options, such as by date, by folder,etc which is very very useful. But in the 1300, the only "erase" option is "Erase All".....Wonder if the firmware will ever be updated to re-include better "erase" options for this model (like in the 1100)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is my 4th Powershot!

By polebarnnorm from Almont, MI on 03/07/2011


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight/portable, Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu, Good Battery Life, Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings

Cons:

Body Has Angles Added A Little Harder To Hang On

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my 4th Powershot! They keep getting better! I gave my older models to the kids, they are still working and take great pictures, but I like keeping up with the Newer features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disposable Camera

By Rich from Undisclosed on 03/06/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Flimsy Construction, Failure To Operate

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Overall the camera was nice but it failed in less than one year with no notice. Construction or quality control is severely lacking. With no notice, one moment it's working then the next momenet (a few minutes later) when we try to power it up it will not, DEAD! The camera has been used to take just several hundered pictures and has NEVER been abused, it looks just as good as it did when I had pulled it out of it's box.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great little camera. Felt ...

By Anonymous from Texas on 03/04/2011


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Durable, Bright Lcd, Simple Controls/menu, Best Price For A Quick Camera., Good Battery Life, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great little camera. Felt like a pro at the baby shower. Was able to enlarge all pictures and quality was perfect.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

poor quality

By JOHN from TEXAS on 02/12/2011


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Good Battery Life

Cons:

Flimsy Construction

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Camera lens has failed to retract many times. Have given up on using it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent value

By ma50rc from Philadelphia, PA on 02/11/2011


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Good Battery Life, Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd, Durable, Good Low-light Performance, Simple Controls/menu

Cons:

Missing Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like everything about the Canon SD/1300IS, with one exception. I'm an older camera user and still like having a view finder, which this camera does not have. That said, I'm getting accustomed to the screen for my pictures.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Camera for the price

By Spidermon1 from Lake Worth, FL on 02/11/2011


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings, Simple Controls/menu, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Poor Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera has the best quality photo for the price that I've seen to date. I've used other brands but always had one family camera that is a Cannon. The close pictures come in so crisp, clear and clean that it looks like a professional photographer took them with a $10,000 camera. The only thing that I don't like about it is the low light distance pictures don't come out well at all. There must be a way to remedy that and maybe I'm doing something wrong.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

there is HOPE

By blue chicklet from Saint Cloud,Florida on 02/10/2011


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd, Durable, Good Battery Life, Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings, Simple Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am retired at a young age with a very bad back. I never thought I would ever be a photographer again. As an artist, I have become limited, painting and drawing is very difficult on the neck and back. I now own a powershot sd 1300 and I find it to be a substantial performing camera , even for a workaholic like myself who has always pushed my work to the extreme. Best of all it is never too strenuous to use for someone who has become physically limited. I have renewed HOPE, it gets me out of the house sunrise and sunset without fail, even though it has been too cold in Florida lately.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor picture quality

By Whaler from Pittsburgh, PA on 02/09/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Good Battery Life, Simple Controls/menu

Cons:

Poor Image Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

For super close ups, pictures takened fron less than two feet this camera is great. But for normal pictures like scenery this camera is poor. The pictures are very grainy and seen to have a haze. The colors never have that "pop" that other cameras I've used have had. Even using a lower or lowest ASA setting the pictures are grainy. Even if you adjust the brightness up a level its too bright . I can never get it just right. I have older 5 megapixel cameras that just blow this one away. I do like the size and shape and how the controls work, just not my pictures.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Camera

By Hot Rod from Missouri Ozarks on 02/09/2011


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Zoom Capabilities, Nice Features/settings, Simple Controls/menu, Bright Lcd, Easy To Use, Good Battery Life, Excellent Image Quality, Good Low-light Performance, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The SD1300 IS camera far exceeds our expectations as casual users. The ease of use, clear photographs, excellent zoom capabilities, outstanding downloading, and sharing via e-mail or print are fantastic qualities.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

clear extreme close ups

By Queen Purru from Seattle, WA on 02/09/2011


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 1st digital camera. I can't say enough good things about it. I wear glasses. My old SLR had to have a special attachment to sort of compensate for that. Not an issue for the wonderful large LCD screen. I've printed photos at a drug store with good results. It has been easy to learn how to use it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Canon Quality in your hand

By Gratefullrolf from Puget Sound, Washington on 02/09/2011


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Durable, Good Low-light Performance, Bright Lcd, Simple Controls/menu, Good Battery Life, Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had been looking for a digital camera with good quality before the 2010 holidays and with many sales to consider I was very pleased to see this Canon PowerShot SD1300 IS in a bundle pack for a very economical price. I was very excited to see all the great features of zoom, and auto mode, and video which were key features that I wanted. This camera has re-opened the enjoyment of taking pictures and videos of the outdoors that I love, and catching candid shots of my family and friends. I am very happy with this Canon digital camera. Thank you.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Camera I've Bought

By Sam from Fort Atkinson, WI on 02/09/2011


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Durable, Bright Lcd, Good Battery Life, Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Screen A Bit Small

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I LOVE this camera. It really is all I was looking for when shopping for a camera. I was originally going to be getting a camera from a different company that I seemed to love but when I saw this one, I knew I would get it. I got the SD 1300 IS Digital Elph in Green and it is a gorgeous color. I also bought insurance for it when I got it which I would strongly recommend to anyone who takes their camera out anywhere. I recently sold my SD 1300 IS Digital Elph to a friend because I won a nicer camera in a sweepstakes but I really would recommend this camera to anyone. Great for photo and video.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I carry it everywhere

By Minnerdunker from North Richland Hills, Texas on 02/09/2011


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Good Battery Life, Durable, Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I researched small cameras on line and found this one had very high marks. The sales person at *** **** said she owned one like this and I couldn't go wrong with it. Boy! Was she right. Best pictures I have ever gotten from a camera. Fantastic prints from my printer. Way to go Canon. Great product. I carry it every where.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Unhappy

By Anon from Undisclosed on 02/08/2011


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings, Durable, Good Battery Life, Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Poor Low-light Performance, Poor Image Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I owned the 1400 IS and then lost it and replaced it with the 1300 IS, when I lost my 1400 IS. At the store there was only a 1300 IS so I thought it would probably be the same. Big mistake. The photo quality is very poor in low light conditions in my opinion, and makes pictures look worse in photo then in real life. The 1400 IS made my pictures look equal or better in quality than in real life. Taking the same automatic pictures on both cameras I noticed a substantial difference.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I LOOOOOOOOOOOVE it!!!

By jiggy80 from Struthers, OH on 01/24/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great camera! Fits in my pocket or in my purse. Great pictures. Fast recovery time even after flash pictures. I found it extremely easy to learn to use! Couldn't be happier!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Confusing, but good

By MixedEmotions from Undisclosed on 12/28/2010


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

Missing Features/settings, Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just recently bought this camera. It has very good quality and I'm pleased with it. However, I've encountered a few issues. The instruction manual covers VERY little. I also can't figure out how to turn on about half of the features, which I'm very dissapointed about, consider I can't turn on low light or long shutter. There are occasionally random lines of light that show up, but they're never in the final product. I'm keeping the camera, and I'll use it A LOT, but a few things just get frustrating.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Camera

By AwesomeGirl from Minnesota on 12/27/2010


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Durable, Simple Controls/menu

Cons:

Zoom Makes Pictures And Video's Un Clear, Difficult To Set Up

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera is a great buy! It takes great video and pictures. The video is easy to use and can be taken for a very nice amount of time for the memory amount. The camera is a bit hard to set up but after you try it out for a while it's easy. The pictures are nice and clear! The blue color of my camera is really cute and cool. The only con is zoom makes the pictures unclear.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor color in CFL lighting

By Anonymous from Austin, TX on 12/21/2010


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Good Low-light Performance

Cons:

Missing Features/settings, Complicated Controls/menu, Poor Image Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Wanted a point and shoot camera upgrade to 10Mp Canon ELF. This isn't it. You can't use the auto function if you have CFL lighting - colors go yellow. The previous Canon in side by side shots has great color. I don't want to mess with white balance and program/scene selection. The SD1300 is going back to the store.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

megapixel confusion

By megawhat? from Idaho on 12/19/2010


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance

Cons:

Zoomed Images Dark, Poor Image Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have always been told, "the more Mega Pixels the clearer the picture." Well my last digital camera began to loose picture quality and the flash died. It was a 5 mp camera, so I was hoping for better quality pictures with this 12.1 mp. To my dismay, the quality isn't any better than my dieing 5 mp camera. The macro shots seem fairly clear, but for general photography the images are fuzzy and grainy. It is a nice size and fairly easy to use, but I am disappointed in the photo quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fuzzy for a 12 megapixel camera

By Dave Esq from NY on 12/15/2010


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use

Cons:

Poor Image Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The pros - not a bad pocket camera for snapshots. The cons - I had a 3 megapixel camera for years. I replaced that camera with this one and hoped it would offer much clearer images. I am sad to say the images are just as grainy and fuzzy as with my old camera. The menu is also cumbersome.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing Camera

By NDSUBison4Life from Undisclosed on 12/12/2010


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Good Battery Life, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Durable, Good Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this camera for my birthday and love it. I got the brown camera and love the color and size of the camera. It's the perfect size. The one thing that kinda bothers me is the wrist strip isn't adjustable, but that is definitely not a deal breaker. I would recommend this camera to anyone looking for a everyday type of camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

okay

By blah from Fremont,CA on 12/11/2010


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Good Low-light Performance, Good Battery Life

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Missing Features/settings, Complicated Controls/menu, Poor Image Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I found it kind of confusing to use, the menu wasn't the best. The quality wasn't the best and was sometimes very fuzzy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

bad image quality

By headman from Kentucky on 12/08/2010


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Easy To Use

Cons:

Poor Image Quality, Poor Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Of all the cameras I own and I own at least 25, this is by far the worst image quality I have ever seen.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

best camera for a point and shoot

By mike from ohio on 12/07/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance, Good Battery Life, Bright Lcd

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I droped it in the lake and found it dried it out and rechaged the battery and it worked! takes great pictures also!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it!!!

By Mom of 5 from Middletown, Ohio on 12/05/2010


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Good Battery Life, Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd, Simple Controls/menu

Cons:

Missing Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this camera as a early Christmas present, I played around with it all day yesterday. It replaced my Canon PowerShot A470, which still works and will be my back up camera. I take lots of pictures and the only thing so far that I have noticed is that I can not take b/w pics on this camera, you can use b/w in video; I'm hoping that I just haven't figured it out yet. It takes great low light pics, I had to turn the flash off on most of my pics other wise it was to bright. I also like that the feature to voom in after a pic has already been taken it easier to use. If you are replacing a Canon it will be easy to figure out everything. I would recommed this camera, Love It!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not a bad camera, but...

By smj from Undisclosed on 11/28/2010


Pros:

Decent Price

Cons:

Needs Better Design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Could be better designed. Got it for a vacation trip and was less than happy with the options and operation. Didn't like the fact that you have to go into the menu to change the zoom, and once it is set, if you want to change it, you have to go back into the menu. Used to buttons on the camera that you can adjust the zoom as you are looking at the object. Also, only 3 levels of zoom. My main issue was that you cannot take ANY pics without a memory card. Used ot cameras that have a small amount of built-in memory.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointing

By Wickwire from Grand Junction, CO on 10/31/2010


Pros:

Menus Easy To Use, Slim Design, File Size Smaller

Cons:

Poor Zoom Quality, Button To Switch Modes Ackwards

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

While this camera is easy to use and compact enough to slip into a shirt pocket. The quality of photos taken at full zoom is very poor. Could be that it is because the finished file size is smaller. (Have a SD890 IS that makes bigger file sizes and zoom photos turn out much clearer. It takes 10 mega pixel photos.) Having the wide angle is useful at times but don't care for it to be the starting position for photos.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent camera

By Mikeythed from Sarasota, FL on 10/11/2010


Cons:

Sometime Hard To Locate All The Features

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very easy to use and print photos. The ZOOM feature is excellent, makes cropping easy. Exposure adjustment makes it easy to go manual if circumstances require.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A great camera - value ...

By Eddie Paulos from Boston, MA on 09/25/2010


Pros:

Sturdy, Great Picture Quality, Value For Money

Cons:

None So Far

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A great camera - value for money with the kind of features and the reliability of the brand!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A great camera

By kittycanon from Undisclosed on 08/31/2010


Pros:

Very Detailed Images, Small Size Great Photos, Nice Lamp/flash, Long Battery Life, Easy Menu Navigation

Cons:

Won't Always Focus Forground Object On Macro Mode, Lcd Lags In Darker Enviorments

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm starting to learn about photography because I've had quite a huge interest in the art for awhile, and this was my first camera. It's very cool looking, and though I wanted the chocolate color, I am still satisfied with the light pink as well. A wonderful product! :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

PowerShot SD1300 IS

By Paula from Undisclosed on 08/25/2010


Pros:

Simple Point And Shoot With Good Technical Quality

Cons:

Limited Documentation Software That Doesn't Work.

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this camera with high hopes after having read numerous reviews and specs. Previously I had owned a PowerShot 870. The 1300 IS is a simple point and shoot, with good clarity and ease of use. It comes with minimal documentation and instruction booklet, which is adequate for getting started. There is no indication as to where to go for more documentation or guidance, however. The downside has come in attempting to use the software in downloading the images to computer. On neither my laptop or desktop have I been able to get the software to work. The troubleshooting tip or two in the online manual was of no help. This had not been a problem whatsoever with the PowerShot 870. There seems to be no viable means of support, which is deeply problematic. Generic downloading works on my laptop, but is of limited utility for anything more sophisticated.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellent point and shoot

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 08/21/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is about the best, compact point and shoot camera available. It only has 4x zoom which can hinder what you are able to capture. Also, the cannon software is difficult to use, but overall the image quality is very good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic image quality and speed

By Richard from Dickson,Tennessee on 08/18/2010


Pros:

Speed ... This Camera Is Fast!, Picfture Quality And Battery Life

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am an EOS DSLR camera and lens user as a professional photographer. My back up and personal pocket camera was the wonderfully engineered Canon PowerShot S60 ... many of it's features were the same as my EOS digital DSLR. When it died I was desperate for a camera that was equal to or better than the S60. What a pleasant surprise when I put the little SD1300 IS to work. Many of the professionally used features that had to be manually set before are automatic with the SD1300 IS. On full auto this camera detects faces AND automatically switches to MACRO mode. This camera goes with me in my pocket, on my Harley or on my horse rides when it is impossible to carry my EOS and it's "L" series lenses and I get the most professional results. Picture quality on full AUTO is amazing. Features shooting on Program Mode are easy and fast to set up. Image Quality in any mode is AMAZINGLY fine and professional looking, in as much as this camera shoots at 200DPI. Shooting in low light there is less noise than in most small digital cameras. I really never thought I would be using the movie mode much but I have had occasion to use it and the picture quality is excellent and the sound is good. I would strongly recommend this little camera or any that come after it ... I believe Canon has hit on one of their best products ever.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Value!

By Angus from MO on 08/12/2010


Pros:

Price Is Right!

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I needed a small easy to pack camera that would take video as well as still pictures for our upcoming Alaska trip to catch Halibut. I have not only been pleased with the easy to use camera. But, also amazed at the quality and clarity of the pictures. I have already recommended it to everyone, after they saw the pictures of the big fish, and the beautiful scenery of Alaska. It is easy to charge, and lasts on a long trip. I love it being ready to go anytime I want to catch my grandsons in action, which is always. Would buy another, inexpensive too!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I wanted a point and ...

By DT from Salem Oregon on 08/11/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I wanted a point and shoot that I could take pictures of my grandchildren with . I was tired of taking a picture and by the time the camera responded they were walking away. Beautiful close ups , incredible color and easy to use. Long battery life. We love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Purchase

By Pie from Largo, FL on 08/11/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera replaced a Canon Powershot A430 that was my first digital camera. I love the ease of downloading and it takes excellent quality pictures. It is very easy to use and I would not have any other brand.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Camera, but one omission

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 08/10/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Compared with the earlier model SD 1200 IS, the 1300 has lost its optical eyepiece viewfinder, which is a real mistake. This viewfinder even matched the optical zoom (though not the digital). Canon used to stand out by keeping the eyepiece viewfinder, which other manufacturers had dropped long ago - now Canon has made the same error. With a viewfinder, you can hold the camera firmly at your face - which is much stabler than holding the camera at arms length to view the screen. And you see the whole image in a very easy way. And the viewing image does not "jiggle" around as your arms sway! And you see it as a large image, not as a small one at arm's length Yes, Canon has IS - but seeing the image at your eye is very nice.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just what I needed

By Kat from Midwest on 07/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Let me start by saying I am a professional photographer. My interest in digital photography started about 10 years ago when I purchased my first digital camera, a Canon G2. I loved that thing and it showed. By the time I finally gave it to my sister years later the case was cracked, it was roughed up, but it still worked perfectly and gave great shots. She is still using it today. Upon buying my first DSLR I was encouraged to buy a competitor's brand which I used for a couple of years with mixed results and then switched back to Canon, I now use a Canon 50D EOS for my business. But the 50D is quite a monster for carrying around and taking snaps of my kids so I needed something pocketable, in not wanting to lug around the 50D I was missing a lot of shots so I purchased this camera, the SD1300is. While It's not a DSLR it does what I ask it to do, faster than any other point and shoot digital I've used. The pictures come out clear and the 12.1 mp allows me to print wonderful 8x10's for the grandparents. Thank you Canon for providing superior products. I am a loyal fan and will continue to use Canon in my business and my personal photography.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great camera

By ANSOS from Texas on 07/19/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was pleasantly surprised with this camera. It takes wonderful pictures even in the dark. I was even able to take some fireworks pictures on July 4. That is amazing!!!! It is also smaller than my previous Canon and I like that very much. I wish it had an optical viewfinder but I am getting used to that. It is a great camera for the prize and I enjoy the pictures from it very much!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One Wonderful Camera

By Marly from Undisclosed on 07/14/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a dilletante when it comes to photography, but my photos come out beautiful with this little gem. I am a big fan of night photography. Although normally you would need an expensive camera to get these shots, the sd1300 manages them quite well, so it is a great value. Great design as well. This is the second powershot i have owned, when the first one died, I was quick to replace it with another.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LOVE !!!

By halloweenmom from MA on 07/02/2010


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have always owned the competetor camers that begin with "K" , I bought this because I had tried a friend's Canon and loved it. I have to say, my pictures are so clear and bright. So easy to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Camera!

By Inuan from Nevada on 07/01/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable, Good Low-light Performance, Simple Controls/menu

Cons:

Poor Image Quality, Flimsy Construction, Missing Features/settings

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After using the SD 300 ELPH, for a couple of years now. I decided to switch to a new updated camera. Apparently, I have to say, I am very disappointed. Although the screen is wide, the material is horrible. Some features is missing. Sports etc. But that doesn't really material. The worst part is the "SHUTTER" it became so slow. I have to wait it to stabilized the picture before I can take the next picture. I tried changing all the settings, but nothing helps make it faster. It takes a few seconds "busy" before the next. I don't think you even need the stabilizer in my opinion. As long you focus it half way pressing the button and then click. Done next. When you want to take a picture of a theif for instance, the thief is probably gone. It does have good image but you have to hold your hand for a period of time to keep it extremely clear without blurring the image.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best camera for the price

By littleman from Dallas, TX on 06/18/2010


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Bright Lcd, Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality, Durable, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great camera for the price. We bought it to take to Hawaii and it did great. It captured the colors that we saw and that impressed me. It is very lightweight and compact and I kept it in my pocket most of the 10 days we were in Hawaii. We took about 1100 pictures with it and it captured what we saw. I even took about 10 videos of the ocean and was also impressed with how they turned out. I really like the auto function. I could take close ups without having to change any settings. We got this camera on the recommendation of my daughter and son-in-law and they were right!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent purchase

By New Photo Guy from Undisclosed on 06/13/2010


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life, Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Did Not Find Anything Yet

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Used for 1st vacation in 3 years, very good quality pictures. and very easy to use


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great buy

By Alfy from Edison, NJ on 05/19/2010


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Durable, Bright Lcd, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Simple Controls/menu, Good Low-light Performance

Cons:

Short Battery Life, Missing Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera is really good in low light conditions. The display is crystal clear and the battery life is ok. So far all the pictures i have taken look amazing on the computer. Keep up the good work Canon !!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Can't delete photos by date

By Melissa from Undisclosed on 05/12/2010


Pros:

Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Missing Features/settings

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I used to have a Canon SD1000, which I loved. This camera appeared to be comparable, but one major issue is that you can't delete photos by date. You either can erase one by one, or all. When I'm out and need to delete photos to make more room, I often want to delete certain dates, but instead I have to waste time sitting and deleting them one by one. I don't understand why Canon wouldn't include that feature on this camera...very disappointing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stupendous camera

By Bigdog from Connecticut on 05/09/2010


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu, Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Good Low-light Performance, Bright Lcd, Good Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was a little hesitant after only using pro line cameras. But the idea that i would be able to carry a camera in my pocket and not have to lug stuff around was appealing. This camera rocks. I took it to a concert a couple of days after getting it and got some pretty darn good action shots of the stage. I was about 6 rows back and the zoom out performed itself. This camera offers quite a good deal for the price and i would highly recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

almost ruined a trip

By jubeed from San Francisco, CA on 04/11/2010


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

Short Battery Life, Flimsy Construction, Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i was on a trip and every night i had to charge it for minimal usage. then when i went to the beach a small piece of sand somehow got into the camera (i never set it down) and it didnt work for the rest of the trip.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Tiny Camera

By IAMSLICK from Undisclosed on 03/31/2010


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Simple Controls/menu, Lightweight/portable, Good Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Nobody does digital point and shoot as well as Canon in my opinion, and the SD1300IS is just another example of maximum feature/functionality in tiny little package. I have owned or still own the Canon S3IS, S5IS & Rebel XS. Those three cameras are Ginormous compared with the SD1300IS. I bought this camera for my wife to carry in her purse so she can shoot pictures and video of the kids while they're out and about, or when she drops in on them at their school. No camera bag needed, this camera fits in a zipped interior pocket of her purse. I gave it to her and she was able to successfully power it on/off, shoot pictures, shoot video, zoom, delete bad shots, and navigate the menu system without referring to the manual. The point here is if you currently own a Canon point and shoot and are looking for an upgrade, the learning curve on the SD1300IS is almost zero. If you've never owned a Canon point and shoot, you will figure this one out very easily. The 12MP pictures are stunning, but to be honest I can't tell the difference between the ones that are 12MP and the ones that are 8MP on my Canon S5IS. The pictures the Rebel XS takes are a notch above the others, definitely a noticeable difference there. The video quality is 30fps 640x480 (plenty), same as my S5IS. The image stabilization is a must for this to be of any use, and works like a champ. A 4GB SDHC card holds about 32 minutes worth of video, 8GB 64 minutes, 16GB more than 2 hours! The video is very easy to transfer to your computer and burn to a DVD or upload to Facebook using the included USB cable. There is also an included cable that allows you to play video on your TV via the yellow video cable port. The appearance of the camera is so cool. I bought my wife the green one, and it looks great. I like how the lens completely retracts into the body and covers itself with a protective layer. A handy camera strap is also included, which is good because this thing is so small I could see it slipping out of your hands. All in all, a very easy to use, functional, attractive camera that I have no hesitation recommending!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It is classy and it takes great pictures

By Campjeep from Columbus,Ohio on 03/30/2010


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Durable, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd, Simple Controls/menu, Good Battery Life

Cons:

No Camera Is Perfect

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am going to try to share what I have discovered about this camera. These are just my thoughts. Some things I am compairing to a canon SD1200 and the SD940. The flat button arangement is the same as the SD1200 all but the power button on top is larger and easier to turn off and on,I like that but be carefull it does not come on in your pocket. I have not had any trouble using any of the buttons even with my big old hands. Some will miss the viewfinder that the SD1200 had. I like that the mic for the video is in the frount of the camera instead of being on the top (where I put my finger) like the canon SD940,it picks up less noise being in the frount. I like the func menu(where you set iso, white ballance, my colors) better than the SD940 because it lets you set things with one less step like the SD1200 and it has a better color skeem(the color of the menus) than the canon 1200, thats just me tho. I can not tell any differnce in shot to shot or flash shot to shot times between the SD1300 and the SD1200 which is (1 and 1/2secs) to (2secs) with out flash and 3 to 4secs with flash on(up to 6secs for full flash recharge). Shutter lag is good for a canon point and shoot but if you prefocas that will help even more. I never tested the continuous shooting( but see my battery test) but canon says it is 0.9 per sec where the sd 1200 is 1.4 shots per sec, if that is important to you. I did test the battery (NB-6L same as SD1200) by using continuous shooting with the flash on and got well over 400 pictures and still had 3 bars left on the battery icon and it was taking 1 picture every 2 seconds or less if that helps you out on the continuous shooting part and when I turned the flash off it seemed to be very fast. I am getting about the same image quality as the SD 1200 which is very good for this size point and shoot camera and getting a 2.7inch very clear LCD screen and a 28mm x 112mm lens a little better (than the 35 x 105 on the SD1200). This is just me but I would stay away from the auto mode indoors(it works good outdoors in good light tho), it seems to want to use a very high iso indoors in auto which makes your picture look grainy or snowy looking, it would be ok for 4x6x prints?. I use program mode and set the iso to 100 or 200 iso (if possable).For some reason canon has done this with all thier newer point and shoot cameras the last year or two, I know (((it is a bummer)))... With the SD1200 and SD940 I would use program mode and auto iso but when trying to do that with the SD1300 it wants to go to 500iso some times where the 1200 and 940 would go to 250iso ,go figure? A lot of the review sites blow thier pictures way up and look for defects, your likely to only make 5x7 or 8x10s and not see (what they see). If you are going to make larger prints or need a low light camera you could go to a canon (S90) or the bigger (G11), but much more money I know!>Just keep the iso down and you will do good...) Just a thought I wish they would of stayed at 10 megapixles because of the small sensor... The SD1300 has a touch more style, larger LCD and a little more virsatle lens, but the 1200 is also a very good camera. You do not get a SD card with the camera and if your new to this digital camera stuff remember to low level format the SD card . I mostly take pictures of bear in the Smokey Mountians (CADES COVE) and love chaseing the grand kids around taking their pictures.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice Pocket Cam

By motorsport_mike from Connecticu on 03/28/2010


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When my Canon SD400 finally decided to call it quits, I was deeply saddened. That was an excellent camera that served me well for years. After a little research, I ordered the SD 940, which on paper seems to have all the bells and whistles available today in a very small pocketable camera. I was very disappointed in the picture quality and the fact that all of the buttons are flush withe the body, making them very hard to manipulate with my man-sized hands. I returned it after a few days. I then ordered this SD 1300, and after a few days of playing with it I can say I am very pleased. The fully auto mode works very well, and it remains very small... small enough to slide in my front jeans pocket. The only con is that it feels kind of light and cheap(?). That could actually be a positive, but I'm used to equating quality with a solid, almost heavy feel. Only time will tell. Overall, I really am liking this camera. So far, I recommend.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved