Home » Photography » Digital Cameras » 4255B001AA » 30 Reviews

Canon Powershot A3100 Is Point & Shoot Digital Camera - 12.1 Megapixel - 2.70" Active Matrix Tft Color Lcd - Silver 4x Optical Zoom - 4x (4255b001) (4255b001aa) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 30 reviews)

76% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Easy To Use (20), Lightweight/portable (18), Good Low-light Performance (13), Nice Features/settings (13), Bright Lcd (10), Simple Controls/menu (18), Durable (9), Good Battery Life (12), Excellent Image Quality (15)

Cons:

Missing Features/settings (3), Poor Image Quality (3), Dim Lcd (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Really like the camera

By SLC Traveler from SLC UT on 06/23/2011


Pros:

Durable, Good Battery Life, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

Slow Recovery Time For Action Shots

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this camera because of my experience with Canons and had used my son's Elph. I have a G3 Powershot with incredible features, but it's big and heavy; I wanted a small camera with excellent image quality. I took it on a European trip and took 450 photos, charging it twice. The only thing I don't like is using the computer program and the lack of ease in grouping photos into folders. The Zoom Browser program I got with the G3 was a lot more user friendly for modifying/editing and sorting my photos. The recovery time is slow, so it isn't particularly good for action shots, but that's seldom an issue for me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointing Action Shots

By Vinny1ear from Arizona on 04/18/2011


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Good Low-light Performance, Bright Lcd, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use

Cons:

Long Write Time Cycle

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Got the 3100IS for those times when I didn't want to lug around my Rebel. The camera fits in my pocket, has a top notch viewfinder, good zoom and resolution. Image stabalizer is helpful on action shots, But in spite using a San Disk 4GB Ultra card, write time was very slow, which resulted in either missing or blurriing key shots at a gymnastics meet. Also, if it's in your pocket, the dial is easily changed to an unwanted mode (i.e. Video instead of Auto), so remember to check! I'm a Canon loyalist, and this camera does everything I expect from Canon - except on action shots in pt & shoot auto mode.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

flash

By baka from Undisclosed on 03/11/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

camera is almost new. flash doesn't work now. been treated like a baby. you do the math.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love my camera!

By Anonymous from MA on 03/08/2011


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use, Good Battery Life, Lightweight/portable, Simple Controls/menu, Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love this camera. Bought it for vacation, and only "practiced" with it briefly before we went away. Very simple to use - battery lasted the whole week away without recharging. Took sunrise and sunset pictures and the whole range in between with great performance no matter the lighting conditions. No blurry shots, either. Easy step by step directions to upload to computer. Great vacation pictures - Could not be happier!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The best feature is image stabilization

By PhotographyAddict from Alabama on 03/04/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable, Good Low-light Performance

Cons:

No View-finder, Missing Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had a PowerShot A530 that I was perfectly happy with. I took it with me literally everywhere in case I saw a scene I wanted to capture. When my children gave me a PowerShot A31000 IS for Christmas I was puzzled at first. I did not need or want a new camera. However, I discovered its best feature that very evening when all my indoor 1/8 s exposures with no flash turned out perfectly clear. I later learned that was due to the image stabilization feature. I also like that the flash stays turned off when the camera is turned off and on and does not default to on. Only thing I don't like is lack of viewfinder.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Now that I've adapted to ...

By Happy Owner from Florida/Ohio on 02/10/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Good Low-light Performance, Bright Lcd, Good Battery Life, Simple Controls/menu, Durable, Lightweight/portable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Now that I've adapted to the slimness of the camera, I appreciate it's light, thin design. I recently used it for a Panama Canal cruise and am very pleased with both the still shots I took and the video with audio. The rechargeable battery avoids the need to carry an unknown quantity of batteries, and this camera has good battery life. I would recommend it to friends, without reservation. Thanks, Canon, for another great product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

replaced A70

By javelina from Cottonwood, AZ on 02/10/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable, Simple Controls/menu, Good Battery Life

Cons:

Poor Image Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera just before Christmas to shoot family scenes. Comparing previous holiday pictures taken with Canon A70, 3.2 mpix (still works, just playback function failed) I found most image qualities better. Example; the A3100, using the Auto setting with Auto flash, gave me one indoor picture really blurry. Found out camera speed was 1/25 sec. With my old film cameras I never shot slower than 1/50. Also, with camera set at "L" image size, I get jpg size of 4-5 mb, on A70, "L" gave you about 1mb .


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great snapshot camera

By old snaper from Portsmouth on 02/09/2011


Pros:

Durable, Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Good Low-light Performance, Simple Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Got the 3100 for Christmas. So far I haven't been able to take a "bad" picture. It is almost fool proof. Light and easy to use. Good battery life. Excellent micro mode for those really close up pictures. Read complaints about the plastic body, but that hasn't been a problem. Very happy with the camera's performance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love it

By joycie from Paris TX on 02/09/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu, Good Low-light Performance, Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Good Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love my little camera. And it's red. It's easy to use. I've been taking pictures for family, friends, & facebook. I've even learned to use the video feature. I have Parkinson's so the shake feature is important to me. I have had no trouble.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Pleased

By Rjand from Angier, NC on 02/09/2011


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This little camera is awesome ! So easy to use and the picture quality is great ! Have printed some photos to 8 x 11 that were good enough to frame and display. For the price it's a real bargin. Would recommend this camera to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Photos from a Simple Camera

By Mike from California on 01/16/2011


Pros:

Easy On Battery Usage

Cons:

No Viewfinder

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I received this camera as a gift from my employer for my years of service. I also own a Canon Digimax 420 (4 Mega Pixels) that I've been using for about 7 years. It continues to work well, but has a voracious appetite for batteries. Everytime I turn the camera on it charges the flash, whether I want it or not. The A3100 has a feature where the flash can be turned off and it will remember this setting until it's changed. So this is a big plus for me. My first use of the camera, aside from a few hours of experimentation was at a birthday party for one of our grandchildren. He's an active little guy at age 2 so many of the shots were of him in motion. Almost all of the shots taken of him in motion were clear - w/o flash, although taken indoors in a well lighted room. Perhaps the thing that I was the most impressed about, aside from the battery life thus far, was the quality of the videos. I took several short (1-2 minute) videos of this active 2 year old and when I returned home and viewed the results I was astounded. The videos were clear as was the sound quality. The only thing that I miss is not having a viewfinder. Taking photos in bright sun outdoors will be difficult as the screen is hard to see clearly. I am completely pleased with the performance of this camera and at this point would recommend it to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

CANON'S GOOD COMPACT.

By FIJIMAN from LAS VEGAS/HENDERSON NEVADA on 01/14/2011


Pros:

Various Shooting Modes, Shoot Vga Movies, 2.7 Inch Lcd, 4x Optical Zoom, 12 Mp

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

VERY VERY COMPACT VERY LIGHTWEIGHT VERY PORTABLE EASY OPERATIONS 12 MEGA-PIXELS 2.7 INCH LCD SCREEN 4X OPTICAL ZOOM VARIOUS SHOOTING MODES CAN SHOOT VGA MOVIES BUILT-IN FLASH RED-EYE CORRECTION BUILT-IN


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So disappointed

By Anonymous from annapolis, md on 01/05/2011


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Easy To Use

Cons:

Poor Image Quality, Missing Features/settings

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We bought this camera after I accidentally dropped our SD890IS on the floor and cracked the lens. I have been so disappointed. THe pictures constantly come out blurry and we have little kids, so imagine trying to take pictures repeatedly only to find they are blurry. I never had this problem with the other camera. I also tried to use the movie feature and it too was blurry unless I was 2 feet away. I am really considering ordering a different camera. Such a shame, I have only had canon cameras and been happy up until now.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Point and Shoot Camera

By PhotoRick from Los ANgeles, CA on 01/02/2011


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Simple Controls/menu, Good Battery Life, Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera to replace another point and shoot digital camera I had recently broke. Since most digital point and shoot cameras have a variety of functions for different scenes, I mainly chose this one because of the Canon name and the attractive style of the camera. I have had the camera almost a month and have put it through a variety of shooting conditions including landscape, indoors, macro, moving subjects and low light. It performs real well with sharp pictures. Image stabilization works great. The Program mode has lots of options and the Vibrant Color mode and Foliage mode produce intense colors. Some things I found as cons were you can only choose long exposure for very dark scenes or you totally overexpose the whole shot. Also there is NO Panorama mode or stitch assist mode- but the software does a good job of stitching photos together without much effort. Would prefer manual control of this operation. The battery lasts a fairly long time- I took about 160 pictures on 12 different days, not including about 5 minutes of video, plus all the time I turned it on to play with the functions and settings when I bought it. The downside was the power level went from 3 bars to low level (flashing) pretty quickly. For a point and shoot, it works great and is a great value. If you want to be more creative, consider a higher priced model with more features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Camera

By Didi from New York, NY on 11/11/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Best Camera ever, specially for seniors who are not so much familiar with modern technology. I would recommend this camera to everyone. It takes great pictures and movies.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

OK Camera

By jackhammer from Florida on 09/11/2010


Pros:

Good Price For All Of The Features In The Camera, Nice Looking Camera

Cons:

Can Be Complicated For A Beginner, Too Many Features, For A Replacement Battery Too Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought camera home. Did not work. Returned to store


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I bought this camera a ...

By Sammy from Georgia on 08/13/2010


Pros:

Add A Pro

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera a few weeks ago and I am very, pleased with it. What I am most thrilled about is this. In total darkness (out in my garden, no moon) I took a picture in Auto of my flowers, the result was outstanding, just like a beautiful sunny afternoon.no adjustments at all, I have never been able to do that before. A great camera indeed .


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Little Camera

By Anonymous from Boston on 08/10/2010


Pros:

Fun Colors, Size, Quality Of Photos, Ease Of Use

Cons:

Haven't Had It Long Enough To Find Any Cons Yet

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this camera as a supplement to my SLR. I wanted something uncomplicated, easy to use, but with features and quality that I could count on. Canon does not disappoint. Had this camera out on a fast moving boat on choppy water this past weekend, and got some great, stable shots. Very happy with this relatively cheap, practical, consumer friendly camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No viewfinder!

By Mayr from MI on 08/06/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The Power Shot A3100IS is similar to my previous Power Shot cameras but has a desirably larger view window, all of which cameras produce excellent pictures, but I seriously dislike the lack of a viewfinder (especially when there's bright images behind me outdoors that reflect in the camera window and make it nearly impossible to identify the image for the picture (I may return the camera unless I learn there's a solution to that problem). Also, I don't appreciate the re-location of the zoom controls and dislike the tiny on/off button on the top that needs a finger smaller than mine for quick and easy access - don't know why it has to be so small and so recessed - unable to to locate it by touch, must visualize it to try to push on it!. Canon technicians should have "left well enough alone" instead of making changes listed above to previous Powershot models in my opinion.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not this model

By sunflower from Maryland on 07/10/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Stick with the older Canon models (A-series, with batteries - more rugged has held up over years). This newer model - Shutter button and power button conflict. LCD screen is poor during daytime. Had trouble with zoom lense and unit power button, took product back, traded in for same model - within a couple days, lost display (went black), camera would not take pictures, battery fully charged.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Spend a little more and get a different camera

By easalways from Maryland on 07/03/2010


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Easy To Use

Cons:

Poor Low-light Performance, Slow Shutter Time, Poor Image Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera as a replacement to my canon that was stolen and am very disappointed. I even thought about taking it back. The shutter time is slow. I have a toddler and it takes too long to take multiple shots. The video feature is nice. It does not low light shots very well. I have taken more blurry pictures then I ever have, the focus can be slow. Spend a little more money and buy something better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great camera

By mike from new york on 06/13/2010


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality, Durable, Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use, Good Battery Life, Lightweight/portable, Good Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this is the best powershot camera i,ve ever had! the pictures are awesome, the features are easy to use, & battery life is great! also takes great shots in low light !


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great camera

By happy from ___ on 05/05/2010


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd, Good Low-light Performance, Easy To Use, Durable, Simple Controls/menu, Good Battery Life, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Slow Multishot

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am pretty happy with my camera and have only one complaint, the multishot setting on my camera is to slow it takes pictures 15 seconds after each-other.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Super little camera

By love photos from Undisclosed on 05/01/2010


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance, Simple Controls/menu, Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings

Cons:

No View Finder

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am use to a SLR and wanted a little digital for light weight and ease of carting on trips & long walks. Excellent photos, image stabilization worked great - no trouble with burry images. Great options with lots of choices of which you may use but AUTO does a great job making it very simple to use even for beginners. On AUTO it Automatically goes to MACRO setting for super close up shots, like for small flowers. Allows control of photo compression ratio which changes how large the photo files are (effects image quality -- the larger you print a photo the higher you want this). No viewfinder. LCD outdoors, a too dim, but still see enough to use OK. Has backlight capabilities when bright light is behind subject.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointing, Inaccessible Zoom button

By OrlandoDFree from Los Angeles on 04/20/2010


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Simple Controls/menu, Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable, Menus All Have Useful Explanations

Cons:

Dim Lcd, Lousy Zoom Control, Poor Low-light Performance, Missing Features/settings

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I was so unhappy that I decided to return this camera. The biggest problem is the placement of the zoom switch. I can't reach it while I'm shooting unless I use both hands, which gets very annoying. Pushing the button also shakes the camera, making videos more jarring than they need to be. I was also disappointed with the features. My previous Canon camera (now broken) has a lot more fun features like color-swap and single color mode, time lapse video, and a sound recorder that was surprisingly useful. Even features that it does have are more poorly done. The Red-eye correction does a lousy job of finding the red eyes that need correction. (My previous camera let me tell it where to correct.) The menus do a much better job of explaining the features that you can set, which I really appreciate. The picture quality was mostly pretty good, but got very fuzzy without the flash, even in well lit rooms. But it often exposed for the background, so the people in the foreground were washed out. Overall, they've redesigned these cameras and made them less fun, less flexible, and less useful.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Used for One Day

By Destin Fish from Emerald Coast of Florida on 04/11/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

Dim Lcd

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Yesterday was the 75th anneversary air show at Eglin AFB. The pictures were shot by pointing and taking a picture because at 900 FPS time fot he planes to pass the reviewing stand ti did not allow time to focus and set up a shot. I believe the results are astounding from viewing the playback feature.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Upgrade!

By 92wardsenatorfe from Kentucky, USA on 04/04/2010


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight/portable, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this camera after I accidentally broke my old Powershot when I fell into the water at a lake doing some bridge photography. I just purchased this camera, took it out of the box, and I was astonished by how similar the controls and design was compared to my other 3 year old powershot. So far, this camera has taken excellent pictures and I couldn't ask more from a camera than what I have right here.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great little camera

By GNO from Undisclosed on 03/28/2010


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings, Durable, Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Simple Controls/menu, Good Battery Life

Cons:

Dim Lcd

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera is very easy to use. It's got a lot of nice features, excellent image quality and takes great photos in low light conditions. I used this camera on a trip to Sedona and the Grand Canyon and I'm really impressed. It's a great little camera,


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The A3100 IS is a great ...

By Anonymous from CA on 03/23/2010


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use

Cons:

Dim Lcd

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The A3100 IS is a great value, outstanding quality shots and easy to use!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Best Ever

By Lady-T from Houma, LA on 01/21/2010


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Durable, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really enjoyed this camera its very satisfying and its a classy small camera...and I like totally love it...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved