Home » Computers » Input Devices » Scanning Devices » Scanners » 4508B002 » 38 Reviews

Canon Canoscan Lide210 Flatbed Scanner 48-bit Color - 16-bit Grayscale - 4800dpi Optical - Usb (4508b002) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 38 reviews)

67% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

High Resolution (16), Easy To Use (17), High-speed Scanning (15), Compact Design (20), Fast Connectivity (15), Durable (9)

Cons:

Difficult To Use (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

The software update is terrible

By reversaldoctor from Louisville KY on 08/06/2015

Updating the software is impossible. I've installed and uninstalled several times to no avail. Can only scan thru my Apple device and not with the Canon Software. Will never buy Canon again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good value

By Ken from Iowa on 05/31/2015

I just bought my 2nd model, this time to replace a Lide 220 that died after 5 months. My first 210 lasted 4 years used in portable and desktop applications. For my needs this is a very good product. I liked the original software much better then the current variety. Highly recommended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exceeded expectations

By Sonny from Los Angeles, CA on 11/07/2014

Better than expected! Installation was a breeze and operating it was so simple and intuitive. The accompanying editing software was easy to use and effective. Canon has done a fine job with this product. Highly recommended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great with Windows 8.1

By Boatman from Amelia Island, FL on 10/26/2014

Works GREAT! Using with Microsoft Windows 8.1 . Also works GREAT with Nuance PaperPort V14.5 scanning software. I bought one for at home, and one for the office.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Value

By Super Chief from Omaha, Nebraska on 08/09/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, Durable, High Resolution, Fast Connectivity, Compact Design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I scan a lot of photos and other documents for genealogy purposes and this scanner is the real deal. It is small enough to fit in my laptop case and still leave room for the computer. It does not require a clunky separate power supply allowing me to set up and scan anywhere: libraries, family homes, etc., so it goes with me on all family and vacation trips. The CanoScan model 200 I purchased in 2010 quit communicating with my computer so when I went looking for a replacement, a new Canon was my first choice so I bought the CanoScan model 210.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Be a techie to use

By MD Terp 66 from Omaha, Nebraska on 08/05/2014


Pros:

Compact Design, One Cable Operation

Cons:

Poor Documention, Difficult To Use, Low Resolution, Slow-speed Scanning

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Better be a techie to install and use this in Windows 8. Installation can't find Windows 8 as OS (doesn't offer Win 7 either). Has addendum for running on Windows 8. Installation does not build a icon, so you have to create shortcut yourself, by finding a file name not used in the documentation. Box stated 4800 dpi, but I have not found a setting greater than 1200. Box states runs in Win 8, but documentation is terrible. Box states 10 second scans, but best I did was 30 seconds.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BEST job, little scanner!

By The best there is from IN on 04/21/2014


Pros:

Durable, High-speed Scanning, Fast Connectivity, Easy To Use, Smart Design, Compact Design, High Resolution

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had no idea I would use this scanner so much nor did I realize how nice it is to scan directly into a PDF no more GIF or JPEG - scanning of documents.. This scanner is light, easy to plug in and out if you don't want to keep it around it is light weight, VERY efficient and SUPER easy to use as easy as "push this button that says PDF" or "scan and email" no worries.. need to print from scan? Go ahead push "print" and it will send the scan to your printer... need I say more? Go ahead spend on the best investment out there.. I had another one I gave away to a friend, that's how much I love this scanner... I bought this one and had it for over 3 years!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Unusable

By kathy from Undisclosed on 03/08/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Installation was easy and was looking forward to organizing the paperwork until I tried to scan the first document. Every document had a 1/2 inch of unscanned material. A solid black area was in it's place. Will return.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not for advanced users

By Tom from Undisclosed on 02/25/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros - Easy to use for average users. Single cord - no need for a power cord or power supply brick. This is a major plus if you're traveling with this scanner, or occasionally need to place it in the middle of a large table to scan large items. Neutral - Not any faster than the 12+ year-old scanner it was replacing. Cons - The simplified driver software is too simple - you have to go through multiple screens to find the settings you want, and even then, there isn't much control over the settings. (what if I need to disable auto-color balance?) Overall, this makes it slower and harder for me to use. Recommendation: Best for normal users, not for advanced users.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LiDE 210 Software Incompatible with Win 7

By Mohabee from Undisclosed on 01/09/2014


Pros:

Compact Design, High Resolution, Lightweight, High-speed Scanning

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Software Not Compatible With Win 7

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this scanner for its "easy set up and satisfactory scanning," which was touted by an online retailer. Reviews seemed favorable at that site, and the price was right. Unfortunately, the software that accompanied the scanner is apparently not compatible with Win 7 Home Edition,on a 64 bit laptop computer. The hard drive on this machine is empty, and this software was the second installed, after the security software. I get a continuous "Navigator has stopped working" error message, when I try to use the scanner with its factory software. Many attempts to restore or remove the software, updates via the Canon wevsite, and consultation with Canon service reps have not solved this problem. So I'm going with a laborius work-around, which is unsatisfactory for scanning multiple photos or documents in one "session". Not satisfactory, since this is not fast,and my time is money. Overall, the scanner is compact, is lightweight, and has features I wish I could use. So I give this scanner a "2" for its overall lack of usability.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great scanner, lousy software

By Tom from Undisclosed on 10/03/2013


Pros:

High-speed Scanning, Compact Design

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Lack Of Simplicity

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Horrible software packages. Finding the right way through complicated, over-sophisticated menus to find a simple way to scan a document and save it is a big hassle. After reinstalling my PC I thought it would be a shortcut to download the software, but I still had to download, try, delete a couple of packages. Why does it have to be so time consuming to get going with this scanner??? I don't want any of the sophisticated geek features, I just want to scan a document and save it as a jpeg - simple and easy!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

easy works great

By loveit from Florence, KY on 09/16/2013


Pros:

High Resolution, Compact Design, Fast Connectivity, Durable, High-speed Scanning, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this scanner, simple and works great. This is the second one we owned, both were cannon's. we couldn't get new drivers for the last one but it never did wear out. I like that there isn't a separate power cord. I use it with my laptop. windows 7.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ideal for Travelers

By Tomah Cheesehead from Wisconsin & Arizona on 04/19/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Compact Design, High Resolution

Cons:

Clunky Software

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As a snowbird traveling in an RV, I bought this LiDE 210 scanner because it is light, compact, and USB powered (no power brick}. The excellent quality of scans surprised me. I use it for scanning documents, photos, and checks for electronic bank deposits. Altho the GUI interface appears clunky to a Mac OS X user, it gets the job done - that is the only "con" I have noticed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does what I need it to

By Bushman from Lauderhill, FL on 02/27/2013


Pros:

Creates Pdf's, High Resolution, Easy To Use, High-speed Scanning, Compact Design, Fast Connectivity

Cons:

No Encryption Available, Flimsy Construction

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought the 210 for it's compact design, not knowing that it feels a little fragile. I suppose if I wanted sturdy there were other bulkier models available.... and hand scanners - no way, I shake too much. When I took the scan for the first time it seemed to be of poor quality until I enlarged it where I could see that this was exceptional imagery. 4800 dpi means nothing when the pdf's can only be 300 or 600 but for pictures you'll get your money's worth.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not Satisfied

By Tom in Acworth GA from Acworth, GA on 02/10/2013


Cons:

Low Resolution

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Never would scan @ 4800 dpi as claimed 1200 dpi was max and then only a few times. Downloaded driver and software from Canon but 300 dpi is best it will do. It is out of warranty and I am either going to throw it away or give it to someone who needs another problem in his/her life. My next scanner will not be a Canon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Scanner

By Mom50 from Undisclosed on 10/25/2012


Pros:

High-speed Scanning, Compact Design, High Resolution, Easy To Use, Durable, Fast Connectivity

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've used these little scanners since the Lide10, have upgraded a few times. I am able to take this with me on trips as it fits right in my briefcase with my laptop and allows me to copy photos or book pages at the library, able to scan multiple photos and keep as seperate files without having to cut, paste and save. No need for a seperate power cord. I just pack and go.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's Windows 7 compatible!

By larrym3711 from Austin, TX on 09/07/2012


Pros:

Fast Connectivity, Compact Design, Easy To Use

Cons:

Noisy, No Mention Of Win 7

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Received the product OK and installed easily. It worked immediately after the CD was finished (and the system was rebooted). It will default install on drive C. If you want another location, go for the custome installation. Worked as expected just using the Microsoft Scanner Software (Document Imaging)...however, they include a lot of different applications should you want custom scanning. Registration asks for the user O/S but does NOT include Windows 7 in the list. Product is somewhat noisy compared to previous models. Good Function for cost.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

REPLACEMENT SCANNER

By PASAPPER from Warminster, PA. on 08/30/2012


Pros:

High Resolution, Fast Connectivity, Durable, Compact Design, Easy To Use, High-speed Scanning

Cons:

Control Software Confusing

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Scanner purchased to replace an exvellent, working LiDE 30 scanner that was not compatable with a software upgrade. This is an excellent scanner but there was no good reason that my LiDE scanner should not work with an upgrade to my operating system.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Can't beat it fir the price.

By wolfgang53 from Haverhill, MA on 07/14/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, High-speed Scanning, Fast Connectivity, Compact Design, High Resolution

Cons:

Clunky Manual

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Except for the rather "clunky" repetitive on-line manual, I have no complaints so far. The software is pretty straight-forward and the scans are great. I think the built in OCR is a great feature, as is the direct to e-mail function. I haven't used this unit to it's full extent yet, but if it lasts as long as my last Canon, a 620B, I'll be quite happy with it. I'm running Win 7 and had no trouble with installation.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bulb out after a month

By Matt from Undisclosed on 07/09/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This scanner was great while it was working. Problem is it doesn't work anymore. I had it for about a month, used it very rarely, and now the bulb is burnt out. The scanner basically sits in one spot on my desk so not sure why this would happen - it's not from being jarred or anything. I saw someone else had the same issue so I assume they just have poor quality bulbs in them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Broke after 20 scans

By INeedToScan from Undisclosed on 06/09/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The bulb in the scanner would work on an off. Now after about 20 scans the bulb never lights up. How can this thing be broken after barley being used.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Correcting Misinformation

By turtle from New York on 03/25/2012


Pros:

Usb Powered, It Just Works, You Can Stand It Up Sideways, Quick Compared To My Old Scanner!, So It Stays Out The Way, The Other Is A Fujitsu Scansnap 1500m, I Now Have Two Scanners, Its An Auto Doc Feed Absolute Heaven, Small!

Cons:

Pretty Good Machine.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just to state that As a mac user, you can definitely take this scanner out the box, plug it in to USB only (huge plus, powered by the usb) and scan to iPhoto, Aperture, or anywhere you wish. Image Capture is the built in software that allows this. Run software update, as Apple provides the drivers instead of you having to go find them on the Canon website (where they are also available.)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LIDEs just keep getting better

By Dandi1 from Washington state on 03/23/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using Canon's LIDE scanners since @ 1999. Each time I have been very happy with the purchase as this is a very low cost scanner with a very big end product. I do genealogy and am currently digitizing all my documents for use on a tablet. I have just upgraded to a new computer with Windows 7. Then I checked out the Canon LIDE 210 and discovered it had a PDF capability needed for docs to be read on tablets. And it was still at the same price as the first one I bought in 1999. The PDF capability works like a charm. I have always used my Canon LIDEs for both documents and photos. My only problem is that I read where non-windows users have some options, I don't for direct scanning. to a "Cloud" program on a different Canon scanner. Hope to see that capability in a LIDE 210 update in the future.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Completely met expectations

By Rocky from Undisclosed on 02/14/2012


Pros:

User Friendly Functionality, Easy Setup, Excellent Quality

Cons:

Little Noisy But Tolerable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was extrermely pleased with this purchase. It has helped tremendously with document filing. Wished I would have purchased this sooner. Functions very user friendly, light weight but still durable and adequate speed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great stand-alone scanner!

By Geektex.net from Oxnard, CA on 01/18/2012


Pros:

Allows You To Make Direct Copies, Great Features, Great Design, Fast, Can Stand Side Ways, Simple To Install

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great stand alone scanner. My old all in one ran out of ink and I bought the ip2702 printer which prints great so I needed a new scanner to go along with my Canon printer. I did not want to spend money on another all in one printer so I decided to give this scanner a try. The thing I like the most about this scanner is that it allows you to make direct copies to your printer by the push of one button. Basically makes my little printer and the scanner act as an all in one. It looks really neat standing sideways on my desk gives it a very professional look. I would recommend it to anyone who already has a printer with no scanner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mixed Response

By schimmel1885 from Yellow Springs, OH on 12/30/2011


Cons:

Manual Not Well Presented.

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This scanner was easy to install (Windows 7, 64-bit). By trial-and-error I found out how to do the things I wanted, The manual and instructions for use were of no help. The scanner is lighter than two used prior to Windows 7, but not faster. I would like it if buying descriptions included more specific information about the ability to copy (using any installed printer) and the programming of the Auto Scan to change any file to a .jpg. These are two functions that I use a lot and was specifically seeking. Happily, I've been able to do both with this model. My chief criticism is of the cluttered and poorly presented manual.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

For the money, the ...

By gracie from CA on 12/29/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

For the money, the CanoScan LiDE 210 is okay. I am a Mac user and have had other scanners that scan directly to iPhoto. This scanner does not do that. You must scan to the desktop, several steps involved here, or use the e-mail function and drag from the e-mail to iPhoto. Either of these steps is time consuming when a large number of photos are being scanned. I supposed if you are a Windows user, it might be okay. I am very disappointed in this. My old CanoScan did scan to iPhoto. I can't imagine why this is missing in the new one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I Like It!

By ark from Undisclosed on 12/13/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using this on the road for six months and have yet to find any faults. Like the fact that I don't need power to operate. Image quality is great. Works with MAC, two thumbs up!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor product support - drivers doesn't alway work

By techguy01 from Undisclosed on 11/19/2011


Pros:

Physical Design, Price

Cons:

Poor Driver Support

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Too bad to order this LiDE210 to replace the older Canon scanner that only supported up to Windows XP... because I have all desktops and laptops upgraded to Windows 7, hoping this will work. Unfortunately, this new scanner only works in the 32-bit Windows Ultimate in my desktop, and doesn't work for my laptop with 64-bit Windows 7 Enterprise. Drivers download from Canon site indicated that was for 64-bit machine... I am a tech guy though; no clue why the driver just didn't work, and spent quite a bit of time try to do troubleshooting but still no luck.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GOOD ALL AROUND SCANNER

By TV from Anaheim, CA on 10/20/2011


Pros:

Durable, Compact Design, Easy To Use, Fast Connectivity

Cons:

Could Be Faster

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This one is a solid workhorse. Perfect home business use. Easy set up. Ready for use in under 5 minutes. I'm completely satisfied.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Little Scanner

By Big-D from Undisclosed on 10/20/2011


Pros:

Fast Connectivity, Easy To Use, High Resolution, High-speed Scanning, Compact Design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My old scanner was really slow. It seemed to take forever and I kept having to reload the included software every time I wanted to use it. But my new CanoScan LiDE210 warms up almost instantly, scans my object within just a few seconds, whether its a photo or document and I like how it assigns the completed scan within its own category. I have not owned it long enough to determine its durability, but it is the best scanner I've had to date and I've own 8 scanners. The included software is simple, not complicated and functions like you think it should. No hassles or disappointments. I rate this CanoScan LiDE210 a full 5-Stars.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

for sure - best purchase ever !

By stand in from Houston on 09/18/2011


Pros:

Portability, Easy To Use, Fast Connectivity, High Resolution, High-speed Scanning, Compact Design, Durable

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

i work in say 25 different towns in a year & i need to be on the move all the time - i COULD NOT FUNCTION without this EXCELLENT scanner


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed that ...

By by1120 from New Jersey on 08/15/2011


Pros:

Compact Design, High Resolution

Cons:

Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Disappointed that scanning is not as clear-cut or easy to use as an older model (LIDE 55) that I use at work. Reading the manual is a "must" to even get started whereas older version's Toolbox simply asks: copy, print, save, file?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellent product

By deed from Pennsylvania on 08/15/2011


Pros:

Fast Connectivity, Compact Design, High Resolution, High-speed Scanning, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was looking for a better easier option for the smaller scanner I had ,which took along time to scan pictures . You could only scan up to a 4X6 inch. With this one you can scan more then 1 picture at a time and up to a 8 x 10. It is simple and easy to use and set up and the quality of the pictures are great. Thank you for making my life easier.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Scanner

By Melanie from California on 07/18/2011


Pros:

Fast Connectivity, Easy To Use, High-speed Scanning, Compact Design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the best experience I have ever had setting up and using a scanner. Lightweight, quiet, and literally, by following 3 steps"on the box"I was scanning! My impression is that someone who has to do a lot of scanning designed this scanner. And, you can pop up the built-in stand and it takes up even less room. As a designer, everything has to be done on budget and on schedule. This scanner does both, and gracefully.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Happily surprised

By auntsue from Tulsa, Oklahoma on 06/16/2011


Pros:

High Resolution, Easy To Use, High-speed Scanning

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The CanoScan LIDE210 is so simple to use that I was sure I was getting it wrong, but happily it worked well even for a beginner. I used it to scan pictures and word documents and both came out clear and sharp for the reports I needed. Since then I have used it to add old family pictures to my computer and they come out looking very good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Scanner

By James from Berkeley, CA on 02/10/2011


Pros:

High Resolution, Durable, Compact Design, Fast Connectivity, High-speed Scanning, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This Scanner is excellent for home and office use. It works with ease and reliabiity.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great scanner

By satisfied from New Port Richey, FL on 02/09/2011


Pros:

Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Connectivity, Flexible, High Resolution, Compact Design, High-speed Scanning

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When I purchased this scanner I thought that that was all it could do. Boy was I wrong. This little scanner is a dynamo. It can scan text, photos, prints, everything.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved