Home » Computers » Printers » Multifunction Printers » MX420 » 18 Reviews

Canon MX420 Inkjet Multifunction Printer - Color - Photo Print - Desktop - Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax - 8.7 ipm Mono/5 ipm Color Print (ISO) - 42 Second Photo - 4800 x 1200 dpi Print ipm Mono/3.4 Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 18 reviews)

66% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Easy To Use (10), Reliable (9), Easy Setup (8), High Quality Output (5), Sharp Tones & Colors (3), Fast Print Speed (5), Durable (7)

Cons:

Slow Print Speed (5), Unreliable (4), Difficult Setup (3), Difficult To Use (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

I truly support Cannon products

By martha9 from upstate, New York on 10/17/2013


Pros:

Easy Setup, Easy To Use, Ink Cartridges Span Many Different Models

Cons:

Didn't Hold Up To Reg Home Purpose, Slow Print Speed

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have owned this model for approx 10 months was working ok for the money I paid. then last week when I needed it most the scanning light would not move making it unable to copy scan or fax. . I have purchased Cannon products for many many years and will continue to buy them in the future, maybe home printers are just not their best product, however they excel in others areas Will continue to support Cannon products, as a matter of fact yesterday I purchased another printer, ya know what they say " the 3rd time's the charm" thank you for allowing me a place to express my opinion.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

worst purchase

By jrmli from pa on 06/22/2013


Pros:

High Quality Output, Easy Setup

Cons:

Wirefi Not Dependable, Slow Print Speed, Unreliable

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

worst printer I've ever owned, very slow printing. Goes offline and stays off for months at a time, then all of a sudden it comes back.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect Printer

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 04/15/2013


Pros:

Reliable, Easy To Use, High Quality Output, Fast Print Speed, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is one of the best Printers/fax machine that I ever bought. The quality is awesome. I have never had any problems with my Canon and I've had mine for 4 years. Best product ever in my opinion.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great deal for the money

By happy customer from toronto on 04/09/2013


Pros:

Easy Setup, Reliable, Fast Print Speed, Easy To Use, Durable, High Quality Output, Small Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

just to clarify this machine is so easy to use i showed my 5 yr old how to use it, If you need it for business or personal it is a great machine for all and extremely easy to use. ink last's for awhile but also depends on how much its used for average user i would say at least 6months at least


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good product

By kimchi from south coast of texas on 11/06/2012


Pros:

High Quality Output, Easy Setup, Reliable, Durable, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

idk why these other people have given bad reviews, this machine does everything I have tried to do with it, and does a very good job at printing photos... very clear text with documents, easy to use and whoever said they couldn't upload the drivers is lying, I misplaced my cd when I bought it and just hooked it up and my pc installed everything for me, in a few minutes.. ;-)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

aha moment

By none given from Pa on 09/17/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Small Footprint, Reliable, Fast Print Speed, Durable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great product, have used it for about a year, and only recently went wireless. Required multiple attempts to achieve connection until I realized that the printer default was for IP6 not IP4. Needed to go into other settings, IP4/IP6 setting, and switch to IP4, and then the installation software could find the IP address, subnet mask, etc. I didn't see this in the instructions, hope this helps someone else.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Do NOT Purchase

By upset consumer from Undisclosed on 08/03/2012


Cons:

Difficult Setup, Difficult To Use, Unreliable

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Lousy. Cannot find drivers to get the scanner to work with MS Windows7 64 bit computer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Affordable and Functional

By Cougar from Pittsburgh, PA on 06/12/2012


Pros:

Durable, Easy To Use, Reliable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a Grad Student and bought this for its Options and Price. I set my DEFAULTs to the lower quality and the cartiridges last a very long time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

big mistake

By ron788 from Chicago, Illinois on 05/23/2012


Cons:

Low Quality Output, Difficult Setup, Difficult To Use, Messy Support, Not Available B/w Print Direct From Printer, Slow Print Speed, Unreliable

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Printer work slow, use to much ink for maintenance. B/W. print only avaiable from software Cost print in color is high. I would like printer who get more reliability, focus only photo print and web side.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

love my wireless canon printer

By babbles from Etna, Maine on 03/26/2012


Pros:

Has Every Function I Need, Clear Printing, Pictures Are Crisp

Cons:

Doesn't Print Remotely From My Android Phone, Ink A Little Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had to buy a new printer , was looking around and it always came back to the canon mx420 all in one ... I have had 2 other canons ,this time i got the wireless and love it, now my whole family can print on every computer other than on mine...it has so many different options and i now have a fax which is one thing i have wanted in the past...my cat even loves it, as soon as someone starts printing something he comes over to watch the paper move out of it...LOL


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Model MX420

By Somedude from Waco, Texas on 03/07/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Smooth operation. Somewhat fast printing. I raised the top to install the ink. I got the ink installed, then the top would not go down. There is a hinge on the left that was obstinate. I finally had to push the hinge about one eigth of an inch toward the inside. The top finally came down. A tiny bit louder than my Canon MP470 that this model replaced. The MX420 is a good value. I am happy with it and recommend for it's basic features and overall value and price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

VERY GOOD BUY

By jamaicanprincess from REISTERSTOWN MD on 02/25/2012


Pros:

Space Saver, Easy To Use

Cons:

Ink Is Expensive, Too Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

VERY GOOD BUY FOR YOUR MONEY SPACESAVER EASY TO USE


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MX420

By mc from washington DC on 01/09/2012


Pros:

Wi Fi Works Well

Cons:

Poor Ink Capacity

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Nice looking lines to the printer, but it lacks a print draw for paper so all your paper gets fed in through a shoot, paper gets dusty if left out for very long. Print ink capacity is a joke, ran through 100 pages and it already was reporting cartridge was 1/2 full. wi-fi is nice and it works well


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not a satisfactory product

By theMLA from New York, NY on 11/03/2011


Pros:

Sharp Tones & Colors

Cons:

Unreliable, Difficult Setup, Flimsy Construction, Difficult To Use, Heavy/bulky, Slow Print Speed

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

this is the second try. if not accepted again i will write about this experience on electronic products reviews. this printer has big problems, not user friendly and the settings are very difficult. don't try to set wi-fi or fax. wi-fi doesn't remember the settings and fax doesn't have the normal way to set it. really bad product. i copied my review to publish on USA sites of electronics reviews, not outsourced.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT printer!!

By Deb from Arizona on 10/20/2011


Pros:

Sharp Tones & Colors, Easy Setup, Easy To Use, Fast Print Speed, Reliable, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I LOVE this printer and got mine for under $100 (tax included) at Walmart. It's easy to set up and works flawlessly. So, far this printer has not dropped the WiFi connection. Another user said that one of the cons was high ink consumption. I cannot comment on that because I am still on the first set of ink cartridges that came with the printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice printer for the money

By beeman from San Antonio, TX on 10/10/2011


Pros:

Reliable

Cons:

Inadequate Documentation

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer arrived in good condition and was fairly straightforward to set up. Documentation was inadequate. Basically did not even use it. Strange to have such a seemingly good product with this sort of documentation. The printer works every time and works well. Have had it about a month now.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent little All-In-Wonder

By phlewyd from Sequim, WA on 09/27/2011


Pros:

Low Overall Cost, Easy To Use, Compact Design, Reliable, Lightweight/portable, Lower Maintenance Cost, Wifi Memory Card Reader Usb Storage, Easy Setup

Cons:

High Ink Consumption, Slow Print Speed, Feels A Little "flimsy" Or "hollow", Flimsy Construction

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Ever since I was first introduced to a Canon camera many years back, I have been impressed by the company's attention to details and devotion to producing quality devices, each having innovative features, and each item was a great value for the asking price (functionality for dollars spent). We have several Canon products throughout the house, including digital cameras, lenses, computer equipment/accessories, software, and several other items I'm sure I'm forgetting. I invested in this printer, due to it being offered by a major retailer, new, for HALF the suggested retail price. Thus far, it has proven itself to be worth TWICE the SUGGESTED RETAIL price, in my opinion. We use it to fax documents, scan photos, scan documents for editing (OCR), make copies, etc. It does just about everything for less than what you'd pay for most All-In-One Inkjets with twice the "options." Overall, I highly recommend this little gem for casual, everyday home office use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great to buy it

By Levidiaz from Providence, RI on 06/27/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Easy Setup, Compact Design, Durable, Low Ink Consumption, Reliable, Fast Print Speed, Sharp Tones & Colors, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

High Ink Consumption

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

In one word I love it. It's great The price a little expensive but it worth the money


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved