Home » Computers » Printers » Laser & Inkjet Printers » IX6520 » 29 Reviews

Canon PIXMA iX6520 Inkjet Printer - Color - 9600 x 2400 dpi Print - Photo Print - Desktop - 11.3 ipm Mono Print / 8.8 ipm Color Print (ISO) - 36 Second Photo - 150 sheets Input - USB Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 29 reviews)

75% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Reliable (14), Easy To Use (23), Easy Setup (24), Small Footprint (5), Fast Print Speed (15), Durable (7), High Quality Output (23), Good Media Handling (6), Low Running Cost (4), High Productivity (4)

Cons:

Large Footprint (7), Unreliable (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Having problems with uneven white border

By tina from Undisclosed on 01/01/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, High Quality Output, Fast Print Speed, Easy Setup

Cons:

Unreliable, Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The printer worked great for about a year, but now I keep getting a small white border at the right and bottom of photos I print. I use this printer almost exclusively for photo printing and this misalignment makes it so I have to crop my photos down. I've tried cleaning the printer rollers and align the print head to no avail. I'm not sure why this problem suddenly arose, and I cannot find a solution.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good overall

By Anna from Minneapolis, MN on 12/16/2013


Pros:

Easy Setup, Fast Print Speed, Easy To Use, High Quality Output

Cons:

No Scanner, Needs To Be Plugged In To The Computer

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm a graphic design student and wanted an all-purpose printer to use during school. My main concern was when printing images I needed quality and color-matching, and this printer is great. I also love the ability to print on various page sizes, but for the price it would be amazing to have a scanner or Wi-Fi capabilities for sending print jobs. Be sure you do not want those extra features.. otherwise it is a great buy for students and casual use/photo printing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Limited paper compatibility

By indigo_dog from Boston, MA on 12/04/2013


Pros:

Fast Print Speed, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, Easy To Use, Quiet, Easy Setup

Cons:

Unreliable, Seems Fragile, Narrow Range Of Paper Compatibility

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

1. This printer absolutely will not make a decent print on anything except photo paper. Of course I'm a graphic designer so decent means something different to me than to an average user. It makes beautiful graphic prints on photo paper, so my portfolio looks fabulous but I cannot print on any kind of cardstock; it absolutely will not print well. So my Christmas cards look bad. 2. Also, it refuses to print envelopes; they always feed crooked. I have to print about ten to get just one to look decent. 3. I have had instances where the color will suddenly print wrong. I was printing a portfolio the night before a job interview and it suddenly refused to print high quality, and everything was purple. Thankfully I had a backup, but it's unreliable. 4. The print head will also skip around if there is a misfeed and you risk it coming off track and needing service. 5. Uses A LOT of ink. 6. The print driver will not allow you to add custom print sizes in some programs, including Adobe InDesign. In all, the print quality is excellent if you only need simple paper prints. If you are a designer and need more options, look elsewhere.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Broke

By PhotoMarketingUSA from Grand Rapids MI on 09/14/2013


Pros:

Low Ink Usage, Easy To Use, Easy Setup, Fast Print Speed, High Quality Output, Durable

Cons:

Unreliable, Case Shows Finger Prints And Smudges

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Well, to start with I found this printer on-line to replace a 6 yr old Canon iP6700 photo printer that died due to a surge. The iX worked for 8 days then quite connecting with the computer. The USB port on the printer is defective. Otherwise, it's a really nice printer when it first arrived.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Eye piercing blue LED

By zeek from USA on 09/04/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The eye piercing blue LED is a big distraction. They should've done red or green for a power on indicator.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Unit But an Ink Hog

By cinema retro from NJ on 08/26/2013


Pros:

High Quality Output, Fast Print Speed, Reliable, Easy To Use, Easy Setup

Cons:

Uses Ink Up Fast

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I wanted a no frills basic printer, as I print a lot of photos. This one is very good. Prints fast with excellent results, though I have not had need to try printing in oversized formats as of yet. The one complaint is that this is an ink hog. The canisters are very small and thus run out very quickly. The expense adds up very quickly. I've had to do basic printing in B&W from an old Canon unit and it still feels like this one sops up the ink incredibly fast. If you only print sporadically it will be fine. Just be aware of the ink expense.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What a disappointment

By hyundai guy from Oak Park Il on 01/02/2013


Pros:

High Quality Output

Cons:

Unreliable

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I ordered this on line from a shop that carried this . I received it on December the 6th . Printed up 20 of the 11x14 photos. They looked awesome . Today January the 1st I went to print up some smaller ones and the printer keeps flashing the blue and orange lights with ink running low. It will not center so that I can change them i had to physically move the head in the center to change all of the inks . Now they wont light up to show they are installed . I have unplugged and reinstalled the printer head and inks but no go . They unit appears to be defective in less then a month and only printed 20 photos . What a huge disappointment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer!

By Ralph from Undisclosed on 11/24/2012


Pros:

Fast Print Speed, Reliable, Easy Setup, Easy To Use, High Quality Output

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've owned my ix6520 for 3 months now. I wanted to give it some time to use it before my review, which is of course, my opinion of this printer. I cannot find ANY fault with this printer WHATSOEVER. It is a fantastic printer for the price. This is an especially great printer for someone who desires to print an enlargement as a 13x19 photo as long as their camera is of a decent megapixel rating, and not printing enlargements often enough to warrant an expensive photo printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stopped printing black after 6 months

By Vasu from Washington on 10/18/2012


Pros:

Fast Print Speed, High Quality Output, Easy Setup

Cons:

Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

At first I was very happy with this printer. The print size of up to 13" x 19" was a great feature. It printed fast with vibrant colors. As I print a large amount of color photographs, I thought that this was finally the printer that I was looking for. Unfortunately, after 6 months it stopped printing with the black dye ink. No amount of cleaning would fix the problem. I am on the hunt again for a good printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pretty Good Printer

By lichen from san francisco on 09/20/2012


Pros:

Fast Print Speed, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This pretty good printer has a major plus: it accepts 11x17 paper. It is also pretty fast, both in lettter sized paper and the larger size. With only Magenta, yellow and cyan tanks (plus black) it is pretty good at printing pictures, especially when printing with text. The price is right for the printer; however the price of the cartridges is steep. Three refills equals the cost of the printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Terrific Printer

By Stach from New York, NY on 09/20/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Fast Print Speed, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, Reliable

Cons:

A Bit Noisy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my fourth Canon printer. I also have an iP4000 and love them both. I use them to print my clubs small newsletter and am currently working on an album of my grandsons Bar Mitzvah. What I particularly like about the IX6520, is that I don't have to do much correcting of my digital photos. A bit of sharpening and then print. Very few reprints. Beautiful prints first shot. Saves time and money. THANK YOU CANON.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great prints for an outstanding price.

By Anonymous from Abq., NM on 09/10/2012


Pros:

High Quality Output, Fast Print Speed, Easy To Use, Small Footprint, Easy Setup

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Like I said in the title: Great prints (output) and for a great price. I use one at home, and one at work (engineering/manufacturing firm - for semi-conductor industry) for production floor. Small footprint, fits on my desk (cube desk). Can't beat it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

new canon printer

By Anonymous from washington, dc on 08/30/2012


Pros:

Easy Setup, Fast Print Speed

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Minimal use since getting it but so far so good. Some quirks in getting it to print on occasion, plus unclear why/when it automatically shuts down followng use. Hope to use it more for photo printing, esp. interested in larger format photos, but have been trying to get the hang of it first.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really First Class!

By Denny from Montgomery, Alabama on 08/16/2012


Pros:

Reliable, Two Sided Printing, Easy To Use, Looks Great, Easy Setup, Small Footprint, Fast Print Speed, Durable, High Quality Output

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first Canon printer, and I am really impressed. Excellent performance, great capabilities for the price, good speed, crisp printing with outstanding color. I am particularly impressed with two sided printing capability -- works like a charm and really saves on paper. I would recommend this printer without any reservations.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Simple and inexpensive

By Doughdh from Champaign, Illinois on 08/16/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Reliable, High Quality Output, Easy Setup, Fast Print Speed

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great, simple printer - no frills. I needed 11x17 printer for architectural design printouts and this fits the bill perfectly. Works fine with 8.5x11 as well. Quiet, fast, quick startup, easy to install. Photo printing is above average. If you print 11x17 size, you will need 30 inches of depth on the table with all the paper extensions pulled out. No problems so far after using for about 4 months. Highly recommend.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My BJC 5100 finally gets retired

By oshaal from Fairfield,CA on 08/15/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Reliable, High Quality Output, Easy Setup

Cons:

Much Bigger Than My 5100, Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This unit was purchased to replace my BJC 5100 that I've been using for over 20 years to print large scale patterns for cutting scrollsaw fretwork. To say it does the job is an understatement. Another example of why Canon printers are the only printer I'll use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love the printer

By Chief from Southern California on 08/08/2012


Pros:

Reliable, Fast Print Speed, Easy To Use, High Quality Output, Durable, Easy Setup

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this printer for a few months. I got fed up with one of the other brands for consistent paper jamming. This printer has not had a single problem from the first page. it is easy to operate, easy to change cartridges, and to feed paper. I'm even happy with how long the print cartridges seem to last. The photo printing is as good or better than any previous printers I've owned. Overall I am glad to give it a thumbs up and recommend it to anyone. Great product for the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really really great printer

By lrjff from Van Nuys , CA on 07/23/2012


Pros:

Fast Print Speed, High Quality Output, Easy Setup, Easy To Use, Reliable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was planing to get a ip9000 mark ii printer for photography, but I found this printer at a local retailer and decided to give it a chance. I was really surprised with the print quality. I've tried canvas, cotton rag paper, luster photo paper, etc. all with beautiful and sharp (really sharp) results. My only concern is that it seems that it uses the color inks to print in greyscale and I can't find an option to make it use the black ink only. Either way, It can make some really beautiful B&W prints.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer! (one reservation)

By TypeGuy from Eastern Oregon on 02/22/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been using my iX6520 for about a month now (I purchased it to replace my aging iP3000 and expand -- literally -- my printing capabilities). The printer is gorgeous (I know, beauty is in the eye of the beholder) and seems very well made (heavy-duty plastic used throughout compared to the iP3000s of which I've owned a number). The printer is fast, paper handling seems great, and the quality for text, graphics, and photos it excellent. Very well done, Canon! Now for my complaint: This is a large-format printer, so can be expected to use quite a bit of ink. Unfortunately, the cartridges are small. I know Canon has to make their money somewhere, but the discrepancy in this printer is obvious and (to me) disturbing. Some heavier-duty desktop inkjets have high-capacity, remotely located ink tanks feeding ink to the print heads via tubing and that is exactly what a printer of this size should employ. I really wish Canon (and all inkjet manufacturers) would do the right thing and make their built-in inking systems economical and appropriate to the task at hand.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wow!

By garfix from Grand Prairie, TX on 01/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this as a replacement for my six year old S9000. This is just an absolutely great printer and the price was very reasonable. I would recommend this to a friend and my recommendations do not come easily.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I'm very glad I bought ...

By Mojo from Houghton Lake, MI on 09/29/2011


Pros:

Durable, Reliable, Low Running Cost, Optional Reffilable Ink Tanks Available Online, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, Easy To Use, High Productivity, Good Media Handling, Small Footprint

Cons:

Loud Paper Reel.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm very glad I bought this larger format printer. This larger size means I can print larger images, so my Christmas photo gifts will be the cream of the crop! This printer is fast and the colors in the photos are great, as well as the details. Everything comes to life.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer For the Price

By Solas from Bedford, NH on 09/16/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Easy Setup, Low Running Cost, High Quality Output, High Productivity

Cons:

Not Impressed W/matte Paper

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this printer about a month ago after my i960 stopped printing. So far, I've been very pleased with it. My only complaint is with the high photo quality on Matte Photo Paper. I prefer to use Matte paper for my photo printing, but I'm not 100% satisfied with this printer's output. The colors don't print as vibrant and the black seems to print as more of a dark grey. Nothing really pops, it prints really flat even for Matte paper. My old i960 did a MUCH better job with Matte. Aside from that, this printer is amazing! The colors are outstanding on Glossy paper. The colors print vibrant and the blacks are black. There's no noticeable noise in any of the photos I've printed using Glossy Paper. So, if you prefer to use Glossy Photo Paper anyway you'll be 100% satisfied with this printer especially considering the price. I saw some complaints over the web that the footprint is too large. Well, to that I say yes it is on the bigger side, BUT you have to remember that it prints 13x19 prints so of course it's going to be on the bigger side. I found the set up and installation to be easy and it seems to be a durable machine so far. Overall. I am glad I purchased this printer and I would recommend it, especially if Glossy Paper is your preference!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Value Low price ...

By Mr. Canon from olean ny on 09/11/2011


Pros:

Easy Setup, Durable, Easy To Use, Reliable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great Value Low price just what i was looking for. this replaced one i have had for 10 years and printed 1000 of small and large photos


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By Mrs.G from Houghton Lake, MI on 09/04/2011


Pros:

Good Media Handling, High Productivity, Reliable, Durable, High Quality Output, Easy To Use, Small Footprint, Easy Setup

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used this printer to print out regular office papers in black and white for at home printing, but am also using it to print larger 13x19 photo prints and the photographs are outstanding. I love the color saturation and the overall look. I'm glad I bought this larger format printer because I'm free to print large photos and whatever else I decide to get into. I wonder why Canon doesn't call it a photo printer as it can do both.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Bang for Your Buck!!

By CPO Mike from Connecticut on 08/25/2011


Pros:

Reliable, High Quality Output, Easy Setup, Easy To Use

Cons:

Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Exceptional printer. I wanted a printer capable of producing an occasional large format print, but still capable of handling day to day tasks of a home office. The IX6520 has not only met those requirements, it's significantly exceeded them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Make sure it does what you need

By GrandmaTo5 from Poconos PA on 08/12/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Good Media Handling, Easy Setup, High Quality Output

Cons:

Hard To Do Custom Paper Sizes, Large Footprint, No Edge To Edge On Custom Paper Sizes

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The quality of print is excellent as long as you are using their predefined paper sizes. But if you need custom paper sizes and borderless printing beware. I got this printer primarily for printing 12"x12" digital scrapbook pages and papers. While I can set a custom page size (12"x12") for "plain paper," I cannot set it for photo paper. Also it will not do true borderless printing on the 12"x12" plain paper. I'm actually using 12x12 white card stock. So I can get fairly good reproductions with only 1/8 to 1/4 inch borders, it's still not quite what I was hoping for. But it's much better than being limited to just letter or legal sizes.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I absolutely love it!

By buster from Chestertown, Md. on 07/27/2011


Pros:

High Quality Output, Easy To Use, Easy Setup, Good Media Handling

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

. I bought this as a spur of the moment decision, mainly because it had the 13x19 capability and the price was in my ballpark . This is the fourth printer I have owned and it is by far the easiest to set up and operate. I mainly use it for photos. Printed out a calendar this afternoon and cannot believe the quality of the images. I am so glad I gave into temptation - Canon, thank you!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

CANON'S WIDE PRINT FOR UNDER $200

By FIJIMAN from LAS VEGAS/HENDERSON, NEVADA on 06/02/2011


Pros:

Good Media Handling, Print Speed, Durable, Reliable, High Quality Output, Easy To Use, Easy Setup, Low Running Cost

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

TOUCH SCREEN INPUT UP TO 13" X 19" WIDE PRINTS PRINTS 4" X 6" PRINTS IN 36 SECONDS 4 - INDIVIDUAL INK TANKS 9600 FINE PRINT RESOLUTION 1- PICOLITER INKJET DROPLETS CHROMALIFE INK FOR PRINT LIFE OVER 100 YEARS LIGHT & PORTABLE FOR MOVEMENT ANYWHERE IN HOME OR OFFICE. CANON'S BEST & ONLY PHOTO INKJET WIDE PRINTER FOR UNDER $199.00


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Printer Surprise

By hocky from Boynton Beach, Fl on 05/23/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Good Media Handling, Easy Setup, Low Running Cost, High Productivity, High Quality Output, Reliable

Cons:

Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Having used other Canon printers, I was aware of the quality of the graphic reproductions of my pictures. Wanting a wide format printer but not being able to afford to spend the money in the 9000 category, I took a chance on the 6520 because of its price. Well, I could not have more surprised by the extraordinary quality of the pictures I am printing. I have printed 8 x 11's, 11 x 17's, 13 x 19's and the pictures keep coming. Don't know when the well will run dry, but I am completely satisfied as to the colors and the economy. So far, this printer is a winner!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved