Home » Photography » Camcorders » 4922B002 » 20 Reviews

Canon Xa10 Digital Camcorder - 3.5" - Touchscreen Lcd - Cmos - Full Hd - 16:9 - 2.1 Megapixel Image - 2.1 Megapixel Video - Avchd - 10x Optical Zoom - 200x Digital Zoom - Optical [is] - 64 (4922b002) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 20 reviews)

85% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Great Sound/audio (10), Compact Design (17), Ergonomic/comfortable To Hold (13), Excellent Image Quality (16), Accurate, Vivid Colors (12), Easy To Use (5), Good Battery Life (11), Good Low-light Performance (12), Easy Tv Connectivity (4), Good Software Compatibility (7), Easy Computer Connectivity (12), Durable (9)

Cons:

Short Battery Life (3), Poor Sound/audio (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Big things, Small package

By Andrew from Kansas City, MO on 01/02/2014


Pros:

Durable, Great Sound/audio, Compact Design, Easy Computer Connectivity, Excellent Image Quality, Good Software Compatibility, Good Battery Life, Good Low-light Performance, Internal 64 Gb Solid State Drive!, Accurate, Vivid Colors

Cons:

Slight Rattle In Handle Requires Exterior Mic, Can't Change Lens., Stability Requires Tripod Monopod Or Shoulder Rig.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Don't let the price or its newer big brothers fool you. This camera is a sophisticated workhorse of enormous quality, a true pro cam that delivers on so many levels: an excellent image sensor, low light shooting, a wild assortment of menu options, and a wonderful 64 gig internal solid state drive. The XA20 & 25 do not offer the drive but rather a wifi link. Trust me, the drive is flat out awesome. Coupled with two card slots and you've got hours of filming ahead. The image quality is astounding, but that's to be expected on a Canon. This is the same image quality that one would expect from a 5D Mark II, but unlike the Mark II, the XA10 has pro audio XLR inputs built right in. This a small, compact, run and gun ready camera that succeeds on so many levels. Yes, there are more sophisticated cameras with interchangeable lens and a significant bump in price, but the XA10 is a proven commodity that delivers on quality, value, and performance. Try it, use it, play with it, master it, you'll be hard pressed to pass it by. You will want to add a high capacity battery or two for extended shooting. You'll also want a good tripod, monopod, or shoulder rig for maximum image stability... And don't forget to add an XLR microphone for great pro audio.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Promises but doesn't deliver

By Adam W from Turramurra, Sydney, Australia on 05/07/2013


Pros:

Compact Design, Ergonomic/comfortable To Hold

Cons:

Short Battery Life, Inconsistent Performance, Poor Color Reproduction, Poor Image Quality, Poor Sound/audio

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased the XA10 for it's pro-quality image output and, due to the type of shooting I mainly do, its accuracy on auto as it is described as having very accurate auto-features for face and subject tracking and for coping with changing lighting conditions etc - 'Smart Auto'. These features are important to me as I shoot almost completely outdoors and I film myself so obviously manual control of focusing etc is out of the question. I have not been able to get this camera to perform to anything close to what I would expect or how Canon describe it on anything but a couple of occasions. It seems to be unable to cope with situations of strong light outdoors with colours and highlights blowing-out and in areas of contrast darker or shadowed parts of a scene will lose all contrast and become black-holes. Worse still the focusing is just terrible. Face tracking and subject tracking are very hit-or-miss with accuracy that I would put at less than 50%. Often it will show on the display that it has achieved face-lock but on playback on your computer (because the LCD screen on the camera isnt quite accurate enough to pick it up) you find that focus hadnt been achieved so you only find out well afterwards that youve missed a shot. Ive had situations in normal light with the presenter in centre frame and clearly separated from the background where it has taken the camera over 20-seconds to achieve focus. This makes spontaneous shooting impossible for a camera thats widely promoted as run-and-gun. Often, especially in bright daylight, entire scenes will just drop out of focus, everything will go soft. Additionally Ive found footage can be incredibly inconsistent with material from the same shoot looking like its been shot on different cameras. For example " camera set on tripod, good outdoor lighting conditions, presenter clearly in centre frame etc. One take will be of acceptable quality, stop recording, next take, restart recording less than 1 minute later with no change in light or presenter position and the footage will have blown colours be lacking dynamic range and have soft focus. This makes it impossible to smoothly edit scenes or takes together as the material is just too different - one take will look like its been shot on a reasonable camera, the next will look like it was shot on a sub-$200 point-and-shoot handy-cam. I gave the camera to Canon to inspect, they had it for a month & insisted that there is nothing wrong with it yet when it came back all of these problems persisted. All-in-all its been a very disappointing purchase and frankly an expensive mistake. I'm a long term Canon pro-DSLR user and Ill certainly never be buying a Canon video camera again. I need reliability and consistency in a camera and the XA10 just hasnt delivered.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent image and quality in smalle package

By cnjvideo from Central New Jersey on 04/09/2013


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Great Sound/audio, Good Battery Life, Good Low-light Performance, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Good Software Compatibility, Compact Design, Ergonomic/comfortable To Hold, Easy Computer Connectivity, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

You can't shoot it if your camcorder's not with you! The XA10 is ridiculously compact and provides excellent quality video and sound. I carry it around without the removable handle and I have to say that the built in microphone produces a high quality soundtrack. Canon has managed to provide a professional package whose weight and dimension eliminate the excuse to leave the camcorder behind because of its size. Its convenient, professional, and barely draws attention to itself allowing to function as the perfect run-and-gun camcorder.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Little Camera

By Viking from Southampton on 04/01/2013


Pros:

Accurate, Vivid Colors, Ergonomic/comfortable To Hold, Good Low-light Performance, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Compact Design, Easy Computer Connectivity

Cons:

Flimsy Construction

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

You could not go wrong with this camera, its light and easy to use. I selected this camera (I have 3 of them) for use on the run simply due to its size. Our business is based around marine photography both still and video and our requirements are for light portable equipment that we can easily carry on aircraft so we picked the XA10 and 5D as our kit and have not been disappointed. Sure in some reviews people complain about the menus being fiddly but this a small price to pay for the overall excellent camera Canon have provided. We can arrive on the ground and start shooting in moments ... Thanks Canon!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Simply WOW!!!

By Derek from Seattle, WA on 03/16/2013


Pros:

Compact Design, Good Low-light Performance, Xlr Mic Inputs With Phantom Power, Excellent Image Quality, Ergonomic/comfortable To Hold, Dual Slot Xd Card Relay Recording, Great Sound/audio, Good Battery Life

Cons:

Cannot Mix Lr Audio Inputs To Mono

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We run a music blog and livestream concert events. This camera makes me look like a hero. With almost no effort, we get cinema-like imagery for our concert footage. When people see the shots from this camera they ask "What camera we're you using?" The size is very compact. The handles makes it a great mobile handheld shooter. Also, it has direct professional quality mic inputs, so I can go out with a couple of mics, a mono pod, and my talent guys and we can cover interviews on the street, or in some obscure corner of a building, with no power or additional equipment needed. I cannot tell you how much our team loves this camera and it is a must for any type of Internet broadcaster or someone who needs to capture long form video. DSLRs are great but most cannot run their sensors for long periods of time. This camera has DSLR type performance AND the ability to record for hours on end. My only beef is that when you are using two mics, you can only record them in stereo. We often have an interviewer and interviewee who both need mics and the resulting audio signal should be in MONO. You can have one mic in mono but not both mics in mono. Otherwise, a perfect camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great performance, good value

By Pete from Denver, CO on 02/13/2013


Pros:

Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Easy Computer Connectivity, Good Battery Life

Cons:

Handle Rattles

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this camera to record action sports athletes, mainly snowboarders. In addition, I use this camera to record action sports related events. I use it indoors and out, in cold weather and warm. I have used this camera in below freezing temperatures for long periods of time with no problems whatsoever. The only cons are that the XLR controls rattle on the handle if you are moving it quite a bit (i.e. running) -and- the touch menu isn't quite as responsive as an iPhone. Pros; I am able to produce results comparable to cameras that cost thousands more, wide angle and tele lenses are available (and awesome), it is very easy to use, two XLR inputs and lastly it's quite durable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Camcorder

By CoalbinGeorge from Coolidge, Arizona on 02/02/2013


Pros:

Compact Design, Good Battery Life, Easy Tv Connectivity, Great Sound/audio, Excellent Image Quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Good Software Compatibility, Easy Computer Connectivity, Xlr Inputs

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

You might call this camcorder "the little train that could." We use this camera and the HFG10 (same guts) in doing a lot of outdoor training videos. Both of them fit in a single medium sized padded carrying case. The video is simply outstanding. The first time you see it, your jaw drops. The main thing about the XA10 are the XLR audio inputs. We use these with wireless mikes as well as 48v microphones. That way we get superior audio along with the video. It works perfectly and allows us to control gain and monitor input right at the camera. When we go to post all we need to do is a little tweaking. The batteries last a couple of hours. We always have a few backups in the case and they are easily and quickly changed. The camera gives you a lot of recording options. I suggest moving away from the automatic settings quickly to realize the full power of the camera. The "image effects" area provides some options with color and sharpness, which should be tried. Incidentally, the first time the "face recogition" technology turns on it is pretty amazing. You just laugh and say "wow', this thing is smart.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great camera

By Marie Kate from Toronto, Ontario on 08/14/2012


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Easy Computer Connectivity, Easy Tv Connectivity, Good Battery Life, Great Sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable To Hold, Good Software Compatibility, Compact Design, Durable

Cons:

Battery Slot Not Good

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was so impressed with this camera. I had used it on our family vacation, very handy and great feature. The only thing I don't like about this camera was when I was changing the battery pack. The battery slot was actually open and being supported by a small like clip and if you're in a hurry and accidentally grab the battery it might slip your hand and fall off. Canon should have the battery slot closed and with lock. I like this camera and still thinking whether to return and wait till Canon have an upgrade on this model but that would take years from now. Well, I had thought about it very carefully and consider keeping the unit because it's really nice, lightweight and affordable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I have been using the ...

By Rob from Indianapolis, IN on 08/02/2012


Pros:

Ergonomic/comfortable To Hold, Excellent Image Quality, Easy Computer Connectivity, Compact Design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using the Canon XA10 for 10 months now. I have been very very pleased with the quality of footage i've been able to get from this camcorder. For what was paid for this device and the picture quality and over all performance that it has demonstrated, i would recommend this camera to anyone and everyone! The only set back is that i wish it had come with both transfer utility disc's for Windows and Mac, as i work on both systems. Other than that i give this device an A+


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cannon XA10 / Awesome!!

By CannonFan from Tallahassee on 06/30/2012


Pros:

Great Sound/audio, Compact Design, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Good Software Compatibility, Good Low-light Performance, Durable, Excellent Image Quality, Easy Computer Connectivity, Ergonomic/comfortable To Hold, Good Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera is the best. Indoor, lowlight, picture quality, xlr inputs, input into fcpx, and much more. It is very compact and fun!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great bang for the buck

By SLODave from San Luis Obispo, CA, USA on 05/31/2012


Pros:

Accurate, Vivid Colors, Good Battery Life, Great Sound/audio, Good Low-light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Ergonomic/comfortable To Hold, Compact Design, Excellent Image Quality, Durable, Good Software Compatibility

Cons:

Poor Headphone Jack Location, Handle Switches Rattle, Lack Of Agc With External Mics

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a part-time videographer who does mainly corporate and industrial videos. Years ago I was a TV news photographer so I know what to expect from pro-level equipment Because of the part-time nature of my work, I wanted to get the best camcorder I could for less than $2,000. Most important to me was image quality, low-light capability, easy to import into Final Cut Pro X, XLR inputs, excellent sound quality, and usable viewfinder. The XA-10 fills the bill for me in almost all respects. Obviously, the price and size did cause some compromises, but I can live with them. The video and audio quality is outstanding, and it gets better and better as the operator gains experience using the camera. There are three design choices that I don't agree with. The headphone jack should not be behind the LCD monitor when it's closed. The speaker should work when "headphones" is selected if there are no headphones plugged in. There should be an option for auto gain control when external mics are used. And obviously, the handle switches should not rattle; its a design or production goof that doesn't reflect well on Canon although it's only a minor annoyance in actual use Overall, this is a lot of camera for a modest price and I'm really happy I bought it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT camera, Perfect Solution

By Scott from Boston on 05/29/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance, Easy Tv Connectivity, Compact Design, Excellent Image Quality, Zoom Quality

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great camera for those of us that are cresting the hill between entry level and professional video. It provides the bridge in features to ramp up to using all the manual controls. Read the manual front to back, use the camera, reference back as needed, use the camera some more and then read the manual again. You will have leaned a great deal of what you need to understand the basics that will result in some nice video and audio. Well done Canon!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works great for me

By Brian1121 from Simferopol, Crimea on 04/30/2012


Pros:

Full Featured, Portable, Light Weight

Cons:

Crazy Deep Menus, Jangly Buttons On Handle

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been using one for almost a year now. It's an amazing camera. Even shooting two months in tight quarters, the jangly buttons on the handle caused no problem (although I was using external mics). The image quality is amazing. Negatives include some of the settings being hard to get to because they are buried too deeply in the menu system and really, as others have complained, there is no excuse for the jangly buttons unless they are going to include a roll of gaffer tape to stick on them. As a news videographer, this camera is the cat's meow.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Focus issues

By Steve K from Pennsylvania on 04/07/2012


Pros:

Compact Size, A Lot Of Features

Cons:

Servicing Item Didn't Fix Problem, Problems Focusing, Face Detction Focus Doesn't Work

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this product back in November of 2011 and everything seemed fine and I was happy with it. A couple of months ago when editing a video I noticed that some weird focusing issues were occurring. I then sent the unit back for service and the focus issue still exists. I haven't seen anyone else explain that they have a focus issue but mine is very evident. Maybe I got a bad unit? I used to really love Canon products, this will make me think twice about future purchases. Very frustrated that I spent the money on this only to be worried that it will shoot out of focus video when using it at events.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

firmware

By RL from Florida on 02/15/2012


Pros:

Great Size And Weight, Great Picture

Cons:

Very Low Headphone Volume, Custom Button Hard To Get To, No Auto Level On Xlr Inputs

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This great little camera need a firmware update. My biggest issue is that there is NO AUTO level when using the XLR inputs. Only the internal mics have auto level options. Also the output volume of the headphone jack is way too low. In a fairly loud area , the headphones are useless. This is something I use on all my other cameras with success. The tiny CUSTOM button is almost impossible to access while shooting.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding quality at a fair price

By MAC from NW Indiana on 10/17/2011


Pros:

Great Sound/audio, Compact Design, Ergonomic/comfortable To Hold, Excellent Image Quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Easy To Use, Good Battery Life, Good Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I needed a small camera that would give me professional results, both in terms of video and audio. This camera has delivered both. The XLR inputs really make this camera useful as a professional tool. The video quality is outstanding, the images it produces are stunning. The sacrifice I made in buying the XA-10 over the XF100 is that I gave up easy access to manual controls, but with the XA-10 you can still access them through the menu system. The AVCHD format is also a life saver for my purposes. The proprietary format of the files produced by the XF100 meant I couldn't directly import video from the XF100 into Final Cut Pro X. I would have to convert it first, then import it. With the XA-10's AVCHD format I can pull files directly into FCPX which is a huge time saver. The color reproduction is spot on and the AF system I would rate at 9 out of 10. This is one very well thought out camera and the build quality is very good. I'm very happy with the purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great HD Camcorder

By Fred from San Antonio, TX on 10/12/2011


Pros:

Accurate, Vivid Colors, Excellent Image Quality, Compact Design, Durable, Ergonomic/comfortable To Hold

Cons:

Poor Sound/audio, Short Battery Life, Xlr Switch Rattles

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great, great Camcorder! I have been using this for almost a month and love it! The image quality is superb! The XLR terminals do rattle a little, but I do a lot of my shooting w/ a tripod and this corrects the issue. Also the battery life on the small battery pack is not that long, so I strongly recommend buying the BP-827 battery pack. The size / ergonomics are wonderful. You are basically getting a Pro Camcorder in a consumer size! The drawback to this is having many functions in the touch screen menu rather than physical buttons. Finally, I did not like the manual, it is a bit confusing. Should contain better explanations and more examples.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good image, Bad design flaw

By Mr. Donohue from Laurel, MD, USA on 09/14/2011


Pros:

Durable, Easy Computer Connectivity, Easy To Use, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Ergonomic/comfortable To Hold, Excellent Image Quality, Compact Design, Good Low-light Performance, Easy Tv Connectivity, Good Battery Life

Cons:

Flimsy Construction, Poor Sound/audio, Xlr Handle Doubles As A Baby Rattle

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have purchased so far 4 of these and had to return all of them due to the fact that the XRL handle has faulty switches that rattle and make so much noise, you can't even take a step without the noise carrying over to the audio that's being recorded from the mic. The image is amazing, but serious design flaw on the XLR handle rendering the entire camera useless.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Camcorder for the price.

By Adam H. from Ashland, MA on 09/11/2011


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Great Sound/audio, Easy Computer Connectivity, Compact Design, Durable, Excellent Image Quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Good Low-light Performance, Ergonomic/comfortable To Hold, Good Software Compatibility

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camcorder a couple months ago. Originally i was going to go for the XF100 however, for $1000 more you get just about all the controls from than camcorder in the XA10. I'm glad i got this camcorder. I use it for all my video's and it is very reliable. It has all the manual controls you need and the touch screen is very easy to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Camcorder

By Lilfurbal from San Antonio, TX on 06/22/2011


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Durable, Ergonomic/comfortable To Hold, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Great Sound/audio, Easy Computer Connectivity, Compact Design, Good Low-light Performance

Cons:

Xlr Switches Rattle, Dynamic Is Causes Weird Effect

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been using this camcorder for a few months now and have to say that I love it. Coming from the HF M30 camcorder, this is quite a jump. Picture quality is fantastic. Extremely clear, rich in color, with a very large dynamic range. Low light performance is superb. The fewer pixels in the sensor really did make a difference. Very low grain, bright colors, very sharp. Manual focus ring feels very smooth and responsive. The manual focus button makes it easy to transition to manual focus mode. The kelvin white balance mode is extremely valuable, along with the zebra and peaking modes. The entire camcorder feels very well made, with an exception. The XLR switches and controls on the handle, they are rather loose and tend to rattle around. Using the internal mic it can easily be picked up in recorders, however using an external mic tends to help in that regard so it is not a problem. Also dynamic IS seems to create a weird wobbling effect when used at full wide angle with certain movements. This can be avoided by only using standard IS, which works great. Other than that, great buy. I am very pleased. This camcorder is capable of some excellent things.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved