Home » Photography » Digital Cameras » 4944B001 » 19 Reviews

Canon PowerShot A2200 14.1 Megapixel Compact Camera - Red - 2.7" LCD - 4x Optical Zoom - 4320 x 3240 Image - 1280 x 720 Video - PictBridge - HD Movie Mode Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 19 reviews)

63% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Bright Lcd (7), Simple Controls/menu (8), Durable (8), Easy To Use (9), Excellent Image Quality (9), Good Low-light Performance (6), Nice Features/settings (7), Lightweight/portable (9), Good Battery Life (8)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Not Impressed

By Disappointed from Undisclosed on 09/08/2012


Pros:

Lightweight/portable

Cons:

All Pics Bright, Dim Lcd, Poor Image Quality, Poor Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Disappointed with the auto setting. Pictures were too bright regardless of which setting I used. Thought the quality would be much much better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

AWESOME CAMERA!!!

By Sierra from Undisclosed on 05/20/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an amazing camera! I just received it and am already impressed! Anyone that says, "This camera takes blurry pictures", needs to actually read how to use it. Yes, the camera is a little small, but if it were any bigger someone would complain how it was too big. I cannot wait to use it more!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

worst camera do not buy!!!!!!

By erin from New York on 04/27/2012


Pros:

Price

Cons:

Does Not Work

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this camera 3 weeks ago and it was working fine . I used it last night and it was fine then went to use today and the canon logo comes up but then the screen goes black. The camera sounds like it is taking a picture but i cannot review it. VERY UNHAPPY WILL NEVER BUY CANON AGAIN!!!!!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Durability

By vince from philippines on 04/24/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have this camera for 4 months and now it is not working don't know what happened but this camera has great filters but can easily broken.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Disappinted in my Camera

By Upbeat Granny from ND on 03/24/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My Canon Power Shot A2200 was highly recommended to me by trhe clerk telling me it was an easy camera to use and a great camera. A camera she bought for her own grandmother to use. I thought I was buying a good product but instead I have a camera that sometimes it takes good pictures and other times they are horrrible. At my Granddaughter's birthday party I have some pictures that are good and some that are so blurry that i won't be able to use them in my scrapbook.. At my granddaughter's dance recital my camera took only pictures that were blurry so I have no pictures of that either. Pictures that I have taken outdoors were great and most of them not blurry but the indoors one are horrible. I am so disappointed and frustrated in this camera since I thought I was buying a camera that would last for a long time and would be able to take good pictures but instead I have a real lemon. I have read and re-read the book on the camera and asked the store where I purchased it for assistance but nothing has improved.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Value for price

By Ed T from Sacramento, CA on 03/03/2012


Pros:

Very Intuitive Controls, Large Lcd

Cons:

Small Size

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased this a week ago and found it very easy to use. Very intuitive for the controls, (of course I have a couple other Canon cameras). Although others stated the pictures seemed grainy, once sent to my PC they seemed very sharp, and detailed. Only complaint is with my big hands this seems incredibly small in size, it may get lost in the sofa cushions.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed

By Disappointed from Louisiana on 01/23/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The camera was a Christmas gift and only worked for a few days and then the display is always dark. The camera flashed and acts like it took a picture but did not. Reviewing the shots reveals completely black pictures. I have one very disappointed 9 year old.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sorry I bought it!

By nanse from Riverside, California on 12/28/2011


Pros:

Good When It Works!

Cons:

Short Life Span!

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this camera six months ago (6/11) as of 12/11 it will no longer take photos! 9.9 times out of 10, it fails to take a shot.It'll flash but no photo is recorded nor appears on Play-Back.Green light says battery is fully charged. Has not been used extensively, just for occasional shots. Very disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

beware

By jazscat from spokane, WA on 11/22/2011


Cons:

No Memory Card

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

all the fine quality and value you'd expect from the canon empire. That said, BE ADVISED - the 4943B001 package does NOT include a memory card and the camera is nonfunctional without one. Quite an unplesant surprise to the gift recipeint who discovers upon opening that you can't use it to take pics of your party till you leave and drive to the store to purchase the memory card. canon should definitely include that information in the product description - a disclaimer along the lines of "batteries not included" so you're prepared with a card when you get the package. seems like they could spend the extra nickle to include even a basic card so that the camera would actually be functional out of the box. doesn't seem like your question to the company when doing a product comparison should have to be "will it work when I take it out of the box"? in actuality, the cost of the package isn't really the cost of the package, if upon receipt you have to spend additional money to actually USE the product other than that high marks


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Graining Photos

By aaronb483 from Clarkston MI on 11/06/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This camera should not have Canons name on it. Canon is a great company. I buy many of their products. But this camera produces the Grainyest photos I have ever seen.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Camera is very good

By Sailor from Seattle on 10/20/2011


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Missing Features/settings, Fill Flash Option Obstructed By Automation

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the A2200 to have a light weight compact camera on a three month vacation. It took very good pictures most of the time. It has some limitations that a fully automatic camera faces when unusual lighting conditions are faced, that required work arounds. Shooting inside a church and trying to capture the stained glass window was very chanenging, for example. All in all it did a good job and I am satisfied with the results on the computer screen after I got home.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

the best

By sharpshooter22ma from queens ny on 10/01/2011


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Simple Controls/menu, Durable, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Good Low-light Performance, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable, Good Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

THERE THE BEST HANDS DOWNEASY TO USE AND HANDLE JUST POINT CLICK AND SHOOT


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing Camera

By Miz from Moses Lake, WA on 08/29/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Durable, Nice Features/settings, Good Battery Life, Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

Poor Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an amazing camera! I love taking pictures and videos so I got this for my b day after my other 7 mp broke. I also love the cool filters like fisheye, mini, colors. One of my favorites is the HD video! I also like miniature effect video! It also has a really long battery life! The only bad thing is that it takes bad pictures in dim light without the flash, but otherwise, its an excellent camera!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very good purchase

By billh1943 from Undisclosed on 08/26/2011


Pros:

Durable, Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance, Nice Features/settings, Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I can only repeat what the others have said ... an excellent camera!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Value

By Photobug from Florida on 07/14/2011


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Simple Controls/menu, Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd, Durable, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I needed a camera to take on vacation to the beach and purchased my Cannon Power Shot A2200 knowing I could return/upgrade it after my vacation if I was not pleased with it. The only features the A2200 does not have that I wanted are Color Swap and Color Accent. After considering an exchange I decided not to spend appox. $50 more for those features, that I could live without them. This camera takes great pictures, has nice features and settings, and the display was much easier to see in bright sunlight then the camera my friend was using at the beach, and I might add hers was a much more expensive camera! The battery ran down pretty quickly while on vacation but I was playing and experimenting with the camera quite a bit. I do carry an extra battery and I recommend that if purchasing this camera that you get an extra battery or be sure to charge it often with heavy usage.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Purchase

By av8or from Fort Walton Beach, FL on 07/14/2011


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Good Battery Life, Durable

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great camera for the price. Takes great pictures for such a small camera. Easy to use for first time buyers with excellent results. I have several different Canon cameras, both point and shoot and SLR. This is a great camera to toss in a backpack and head into the woods or to the beach. Very light weight with great results.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

1st Time Digial Owner

By granny from Illinois on 06/29/2011


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Good Battery Life, Easy To Use, Durable, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is 1st time I used digital camera not high tech savy but it was really easy to use price was great I would recommend it to anyone I have taken lots of photos with sun glare/no eye glasses just point/shoot they still turn out great thanks to auto feature


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Camera

By Trace730 from Undisclosed on 05/26/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Durable, Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life, Good Low-light Performance, Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had numerous cameras and many manufacturers say you can use them right out of the box, that they are simple to set up. Well the A2200 fits that bill to a "T", there's a reason for the small book of instructions and really there is no explanation of how well it works. I am totally surprised and delighted with my camera, it does what I need it to do and it does it in a very logical way, setup is a snap and the pictures and movies it takes for such a small camera is awesome. If your in need of a compact camera with versatility then this is the camera for you.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good for the price you pay!

By kk4102 from North Dakota on 05/24/2011


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Excellent Image Quality, Durable, Nice Features/settings, Bright Lcd, Good Low-light Performance, Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu

Cons:

Heavy/bulky

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I wanted an affordable, high- quality, point and shoot Canon camera and that is exactly what I got. It takes very clear pictures, it is easy to use, and is an overall great camera! The only con is that I wish it was slimmer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved