Home » Photography » Digital Cameras » 5244B001 » 37 Reviews

Canon PowerShot S100 12.1 Megapixel Compact Camera - Black - 3" LCD - 5x Optical Zoom - Optical (IS) - 4000 x 3000 Image - 1920 x 1080 Video - HDMI - PictBridge - HD Movie Mode Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 37 reviews)

64% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Cons:

Short Battery Life (15), Poor Image Quality (4), Complicated Controls/menu (4), Missing Features/settings (3)

Pros:

Good Battery Life (3), Simple Controls/menu (9), Easy To Use (13), Nice Features/settings (14), Lightweight/portable (15), Durable (6), Bright Lcd (15), Good Low-light Performance (12), Excellent Image Quality (15)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

S100 great pocket camera

By mkse55 from Undisclosed on 02/22/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

very nice pocket camera. small, great IQ, nice features. RAW image or JPG, 2.0 thru more than 1/2 the zoom. HDR and night shots. good ISO control. hard to beat at this price range.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lens Flaw Ruins Otherwise Great Camera

By Sparks from Baton Rouge, LA on 06/12/2013


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Bright Lcd, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable, Simple Controls/menu, Good Low-light Performance

Cons:

Design Flaws, Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this camera in December 2011 and have used it for thousands of pictures and for HD video. Picture and video quality is superb. It is my "go to" camera for traveling light applications. Unfortunately . . . the lens jammed in June 2012. Two week repair plus shipping and insurance. Lens jammed again in June 2013. Back to the shop hoping the warranty will be honored. Had to buy a replacement as I use the camera almost daily in my business. I can not recommend this camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Horrible perfomance

By Manu from New york, NY on 06/03/2013


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Simple Controls/menu

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Dim Lcd, Poor Image Quality, Complicated Controls/menu, Heavy/bulky

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have this camera for over 5 months now, I never get night and indoor picture correct. They always come out blurry. I don't recommend any purchase this for indoor photo shots


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So Frustrated!

By LynNM from Undisclosed on 02/25/2013


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu, Short Battery Life, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Great looking camera, but the User Guide is awful. So little real information on how to use this new camera of mine. I want my old camera back!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Missing Manual

By Anonymous from San francisco bay Area on 02/21/2013


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Good Low-light Performance, Durable, Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This a agreat camera. Excellant handling, images , etc. Except there is no printed manual a real cheap drawback,especially if one doesn'r have a computer or printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Battery Life Very Poor

By Rick from Houston, TX on 02/21/2013


Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I researched this camera quite a bit and did notice the poor battery performance remarks. I just did not know it was as bad as it was, or even think it could be so bad. I regularly carry 4 batteries (charged up) because the battery loses its juice so fast. It is very bothersome.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good but one major deficiency

By snapdoc from Boston on 02/12/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have had this camera for a year and a half. I wanted to have a pocket-size all-purpose camera for shooting kids and to use while skiing. I am a photographer and always like to have a camera with me. Cell phones are useful but in general won't do if you want good quality and to make larger prints. This camera takes great shots. It focuses fast and accurately and handles most scenes quite well.I use the program or scene modes frequently and find that I only use manual mode rarely. The images from this camera will not hold up to close inspection with larger sensor cameras but will give you good shots in most situations. Color saturation and dynamic range as well as detail will not be as good as C size or full frame sensors. That doesn't mean that you won't get acceptable pictures depending on your purpose. The problems that I've had with this camera have been significant to me. The first is that this battery cannot stand up to exposure to cold weather for even a brief period. You may get one or two Shots off when taking pictures on a mountain while skiing or even 15 seconds of video but no more. The red battery light comes on telling you that you need to change your battery and this even though the battery is fully charged. I returned my camera to Canon who told me nothing was wrong and that the camera was up to spec. This camera is not guaranteed to take pictures at temperatures below 32degrees. All my previous PowerShot cameras have been fine under the circumstances in fact I have never had a problem before. I Returned my camera a second time when this continued to happen this year and they change the motherboard. The camera is a little better but it's clear that the problem relates to this particular battery. The battery has been changed For the S110 which is back to the battery used in the S95. Interestingly my wife has the S95 and that is the camera that we used this season for our ski pictures without a problem. The camera makes beautiful videos in high definition of indoor sporting events with the only problem being again the battery not lasting that long. If you shoot in slow motion your images are also likely to be somewhat dark unless you are in a very bright arena. To Make a long story short, this is an excellent camera particularly at it's present price point. It gives beautiful pictures, beautiful videos and has state-of-the-art functionality for a point-and-shoot camera.If you plan on just going out and shooting a couple of snapshots, the battery will do fine. If you're going to use this to shoot events make sure you buy an extra battery. If you plan on using this outdoors in cold weather buy something else. ps. Canon Service was actually quite good. My problem was apparently more about the battery than malfunction. The service was fast and pleasant and I have no complaints with them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Advanced Pocket Camera

By CUser from Reynosa, Mexico on 01/21/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable, Simple Controls/menu, Durable, Bright Lcd, Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great advanced camera, performs better than expected. This is a replacement to my lost S90 wich was a really good compact. I really enjoy taking pictures with this little but powerful camera, it delivers great results, the camera grip and control wheel are very useful, the only con I encountered is that the battery life lasts less when the GPS is used. I consider this to be a pro level compact camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Terrible camera

By ACD from Undisclosed on 01/19/2013


Cons:

Poor Image Quality, Flimsy Construction

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is a terrible camera. The flash broke within 3 months of purchase because it is located right where you put your finger when holding camera. Action photos (of children, babies) are always blurry, even in TV mode. I wish I were able to return it and buy a better camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Canon fixed the problems disregard my previous rev

By mt man from Colorado on 01/09/2013


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality, Great Image Resolution At Lower Iso Settings, Lightweight/portable, Durable, Nice Features/settings

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This review replaces my previous negative review of of the S100. I can now agree with those that posted positive reviews of the S100. My S100, after 2 trips to Canon service is now working to specs.It is great. I find that trying to remain in iso 125 in Av and TV while shooting RAW gives me spectacular results for a such a small sensor. Even passes the pixal peeping test at 100% when viewing the image on my computer . Great little camera. Canon service came through and I am satisfied.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Unacceptable image quality,soft and shaky

By Mt man from Colorado on 01/07/2013


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Nice Features/settings, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Short Battery Life, Poor Image Quality, Poor Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The first copy had shot soft blurry images especially in low light applications.I sent it back to retailer and they replaced it. Second copy had same issues ,soft ,blurry images, terrible performance. On auto the camera would choose really slow shutter speeds allowing for camera shake even in outside good light.Indoors In low light flash photos also very poor. Hand held night feature allowed for camera to select low iso and very slow shutter speeds, again camera shake. Focus was also off. I sent it to Canon repair they replaced some kind of assembly. Camera came back no different ,same problems. Sent it back again. Canon said they "cleaned and adjusted optics and adjusted that assembly, that they had previously replaced. Huh? I have not received it back yet. I am wonder if there was a bad batch manufactured and I am unlucky to get 2 copies of that bad batch. My experience with this camera is nothing like the positive reviews posted here. I have had pro Canon film cameras as a well as DSLRs since I am a pro. The 2 powershot 100 cameras, so far have been nothing but a hassle and unusable. At this stage Canon is repairing their previous repairs. I fear that I have a "paper weight"


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Flash Drove Me Crazy

By Burk from Lafayette, LA on 11/01/2012


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Poor Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I was excited to get this camera as a Mother's Day present. I had a Canon point and shoot prior to this and I was very pleased. I wanted a higher end Canon p/s. After much research I decided on this one. It had all the features I wanted; however, I was very disappointed that it did not come with an complete owner's manual that I could put in my camera case. I contacted my retailer several times because I was unhappy with the shutter to flash time. By the time the flash fired, my subjects (grandchildren) had long gone. It was frustrating. I was going to send it back; however, I dropped it on concrete at the zoo and broke it. I am going to send it back to Canon to see if it can be repaired since it will be a while for me to replace it. I would not recommend or buy another Canon S100 because of the delayed flash.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best pocket-sized camera

By hoosierdaddy2 from Undisclosed on 10/24/2012


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Control Ring, Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Good Low-light Performance

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased 6 months ago as a pocketable alternative to my big DSLR. Pros: great image quality for a small sensor camera Impressive low-light capability for a small sensor camera Size/weight is exactly what I wanted Cons: Frustratingly short battery life and overpriced spare battery! Shutter lag compared to DSLR makes it useless for action shots Flash placement is exactly where I want to put my finger Need a second dial for exposure compensation; I like the ring set to ISO, but then it takes too long to adjust exp. comp. Overall it seems about $100 overpriced for what you get. A G15 closer to this size would be perfect!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Compact, easy to use

By Old Dog from Lawrence KS on 09/13/2012


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable, Good Battery Life

Cons:

Shutter Lag, Missing Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been a Canon owner and avid fan since 1973, from F1 bodies and a full range of FD lenses to the 5D MKII. The S100 performs as well as my G9 except for the shutter lag. It is impossible to take action pictures with the S100. However, the S100 fits easily into my pants pocket so it can go anywhere I go without any hassles. I have used this camera for portraits, landscapes, low light street scenes and it works great. Just forget trying to take action pictures.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The best camera is the one with you!

By Critical Mass from St. Louis, MO on 09/05/2012


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu, Short Battery Life, Missing Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased unit in February and have used it extensively since then on travel, family and macro. As good as it is overall, it's highest/best use may be macro. Wide open it does a fantastic job in general shooting and outstanding on macro (down to one inch). Note to others who have had lens problems - The S100 has a recall program to correct the lens sticking issue. Mine was returned in very short order and has worked fine since. Night shooting is another area of excellence that I have enjoyed. Cons include the well known battery insufficiency (turn the GPS off and leave it off!), needs practice to make good use of features and does not come with a case or manual. I carry it in a very small zip lock snack baggy when in my pocket or backpack to ward off lint/dust/water/whatever and it works great. It's not a DSLR but it doesn't need to be, it IS quite good and the perfect pocket companion if you understand photography. Needs two things: First is more rapid, continuing development by Canon on software/features and, if it gets that, it will solve the second need - improved value equation.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Shots but Battery Life & Flash Issues

By Jimbo from Undisclosed on 09/04/2012


Pros:

Compact, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Optical Zoom In Video Mode

Cons:

Short Battery Life, File Write Time A Tad Sluggish, Pop-up Flash Not In Ideal Location, Expensive Spare Battery

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Having a DSLR and the G12, I needed something small enough to go in the pocket and yet still take good photos for a family trip. The initial reviews I read of the s100 suggested it could fit the bill. Pros: The camera's size and quality of photos taken were just what I had hoped for. I can fit the s100 in my front jeans pocket and take good shots...ideal. The image stabilising seems to be pretty effective as well. You can also start recording video no matter which mode you are in, so no need to suddenly scramble to fiddle with knobs. And, compared to the G12, you have an optical zoom in video mode, which simply blows the G12 away (the G12's digital video zoom is "use only in an emergency" due to the resulting poor image quality). However, there are a couple of cons, which are the battery (life and cost) and the flash (main) and noise reduction in JPEG mode (minor) and write time and shutter pressure. Con 1: The battery life is far too short for a camera at this price point. Considering the energy density of Li-Ion batteries, a fraction bigger on the volume dimensions would have had a noticeable impact on battery life. Many a time, I have had to dial down the LCD brightness to help eek a bit more time out of the battery. Also, when the battery starts getting close to being empty, the camera really gives conflicting messages about the state of the battery, and has me scratching my head as to if it needs a charge or not. Lastly, Canon seriously overprices its batteries, as I picked up a reputable third-party brand in the shops for close to half what Canon charges. Li-Ion is effectively a mature technology, Canon. Con 2: The location of the pop-up flash is problematic, to say the least. As noted by another reviewer, it sits right under where one of your fingers naturally wants to sit. I usually shoot without the flash in Program mode, but if you shoot with the "Auto Flash" mode, then it pops up and throws you off, not to mention if you block it you may need to restart the camera. This is something that I am surprised Canon did not pick up on in their product development and testing. Con 3: You cannot turn off the noise reduction except when shooting in RAW mode. Since you can turn it off in RAW mode, why not in JPEG mode as well? Canon, time for a firmware update here... Con 4: The write time is on the sluggish side, even when shooting just JPEGs. Con 5: To me, it seems as if you need to press down on the shutter button a bit harder than on the G12. That could simply be me. So, overall, the s100 does take good shots and I have been pretty happy in that respect, especially considering the size of the camera. However, it is worthwhile investing in a spare battery. For what you pay for the s100, I would have expected Canon to have addressed these issues, which is why I have marked it down to 4 stars.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great pix, but watch out for pop-up flash

By WATERGRL from Los Angeles, CA on 09/01/2012


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd, Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Pop-up Flash, Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After reading several reviews of the S100, I was afraid of buying too much camera for me as I am not by any means a professional photographer. Fears aside, I still got it and I am not sorry. It is fun to play with the myriad of settings. Besides, I could take classes if I want to take better pictures. The camera mostly works beautifully, the pictures and video are wonderfully clear. My only real issue is the pop-up flash. Not a good placement design. Instinctually one holds a point and shoot camera with both hands to steady it but unfortunately the placement of the flash is right under your finger. If you don't watch your finger placement you could block the flash and cause the camera to error out. You have to re-start it in order for the flash to work again. I am not sure if that is why my flash stopped popping up after only two weeks, but it did. Since the camera was only purchased weeks ago, I opted to exchange it for a new one of the same model. Let's see what happens...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lens stuck

By honu from Hawaii on 08/18/2012


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Bright Lcd, Good Battery Life, Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Simple Controls/menu

Cons:

Lens Gets Stuck

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Great features, but all I can remember about this camera is that the lens got stuck. This happened twice on two different vacations. Once halfway through my first trip to Europe and then after it was repaired it happened soon again on a trip to Maui. The camera is completely useless when this happens. Its getting repaired again and hopefully they send me a new camera otherwise I fear it will happen again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Portable Excellence!

By worldpilot from Minneapolis, MN on 08/13/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Durable, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Simple Controls/menu, Nice Features/settings, Bright Lcd, Great Travel Camera, Good Low-light Performance

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have a super nice DSLR for all my photography needs when time and space for hauling all peripherals is plentiful. But, when I travel and just need to 'dumb-down' and take great shots, this is my camera of choice. I've had this camera for 3 months now. I love the pictures/video it takes. It has great creative control if you like. But, it really does great on "auto" too! Great travel companion! The CMOS sensor really rocks in my humble opinion. I haven't had any issues with the camera so far...I do case it up and take care of my stuff between shots however ;)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My review

By Jeff from Berkeley, CA on 08/01/2012


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Good Low-light Performance, Simple Controls/menu, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The GPS feature is nice but it drains the battery and it sometimes takes a long time to lock on the position. I leave it turned off since I don't want to sacrifice battery life. I'd really like Canon to release a RAW codec for 64-bit Windows.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best point and shoot ever

By jon from CA on 07/05/2012


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use, Durable, Good Low-light Performance, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Missing Features/settings, Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera to replace by aging camera, and I have never been more satisfied. My previous camera suffered from slow performance, lackluster low light quality, and poor autofocus. The Canon S100 excels in all these areas. This camera focuses in an acceptable amount of time, its start up time is lightning fast, and its low light performance is superb. The build quality is also solid. However, this camera has a fairly short battery life. Also, some pixelation of the screen can be seen. The Canon S100 is the best point and shoot camera I have used.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Closest thing to an SLR yet

By Talon from Milwaukee, WI on 05/18/2012


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use, Durable, Good Low-light Performance, Nice Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After trying several high end point and shoots looking for "near SLR" performance in a compact package, I finally found what I was looking for in the S100. The large sensor provides the sensitivity to get indoor shots without flash. The bright high res LCD makes it easy to check your shots for focus. Controls and menus are well laid out. And the control ring is a great way to quickly adjust important settings. Finally, the photo quality is the best I've seen short of using an SLR. Not the cheapest camera, but well worth it for the results.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Unreliable

By sbpp from Undisclosed on 05/15/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We bought the Powershot S100 for use on a 7-month sabbatical in Peru. After three months the lens jammed and it won't work. Very disappointed in its unreliability. Impossible to get fixed under warranty in Peru.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I downgraded to the s95 after buying this camera.

By Someone from Undisclosed on 05/15/2012


Pros:

Features, Speed

Cons:

Not An S90, Poor Image Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is just me. I owned a canon S90 to 2 years and took 6,500 images on it, that is, before I lost it in a taxicab in Vegas. I absolutely loved my S90 and I started looking for a replacement. So I bought the S100. I owned it for 10 days until I returned it and bought the S95 instead. I wish I had my s90 back. But I love my S95. Now for my review. The images had little to know depth perception, the colors were a little off, the photos gave me a headache! The pros, Fast, great features,


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good camera with big drawbacks.

By DELOREAN1 from Rindge, NH on 05/14/2012


Pros:

Nice Picture Detail In Terms Of Megapixels, Nice Size.

Cons:

No Full Manual Included - Cheap!, This Thing Eats Batteries!!, Price - Overpriced Given Performance Restrictions., Limited To Short Video Files., Auto Setting Did Not Compensate Well In Bright Sun, Wrist Strap Does Not Have A Loop To Tighten It., Pop Up Flash Position Is Moderately Annoying.

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I had high hopes for this camera given its features and price, but thus far have been very disappointed. I will say that I have only used it extensively for about a couple weeks total, and there is plenty I'm sure I can still learn about it, but there are some drawbacks that are making me consider selling it already. I bought this camera with videos in mind in addition to stills. The first time I used it to make "long" videos, it shut off automatically on me multiple times. After reading these other reviews I see that the camera has a terrible new feature that limits wach video to 15 minutes. I had not seen anything about this while researching the camera. Had I seen it, I never would have bought it. I recently took the camera on a short family outing and was hugely disappointed in the battery life. I was not out for more and a few hours, with the camera off much of the time, and it still ate through two batteries. My Canon Powershot SD870 does so much better in terms of battery life and it used the same battery... And it also takes videos as long as I keep it going. IT doesn't shut of after 15 minutes! On my recent outing I took many shots of my 5 year old and I just kept the camera on auto to keep things simple with a fast moving kid. When I revied the pics on my computer, I was VERY disappointed in how if handled sunny conditions. It was close to noon and it was bright, but MANY pics were over exposed and off color to the yellow side. Again, comparing to my Canon SD 870, the 870 does much better with color accuracy in these conditions. One reason I brought this S100 with me on my outing instead of my SLR was that given my experience with the 870 I anticipated nice results on a simple outdoor sunny shoot. I was wrong. I could not save many of the pics due to the color being so far off.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this Camera

By choochee from San Diego, CA on 05/13/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Beautiful Photos, Manual Functions, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am one of those old fossils who swore she'd never buy a digital camera. However, after much research, I finally decided on the Canon S100 and it was probably one of the best decisions I've ever made! I love this camera and cannot believe the photos I've taken. I have not been brave enough to try the manual functions yet, but the photos I've gotten from the Auto mode are absolutely unbelievable. I am amazed at the quality of photos, ease of use, and beauty of the S100. The people at the camera store set up everything for me, so all I've had to do is go out and shoot photos and install the software in my computer. I just finished downloading my first set of photos to my MacBook and it was very easy to follow the directions to do this. I took the other reviewers' advice and bought an extra battery to take along on photo shoots. I am very pleased with this camera and have been having so much fun with it. I can't wait to start using the manual functions, but so far, the auto mode has been perfectly acceptable. I don't plan to use the video, but one never knows. After all, I never thought I'd be raving about a digital camera!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

S100 maximum HS video restricted length

By Bruce from Chicago, IL on 05/03/2012


Pros:

Excellent Camera

Cons:

Limted Hd Vdeo Length

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is just a buyer beware for anyone planning on using the HD video recording and that needs more than 16 minutes. The restriction is not mentioned anywhere on this web site which I consider to be extremely misleading, so I have docked my overall rating by 2 starts because half my my intended uses for this camera was to be able to take extended and uninterrupted HD video. So that you know why, the video recording is limited to the maximum 4 GB file size on a FAT32 flash card. Canon could have simply continued in a new file, but it doesn't. You have to restart the recording every 16 minutes. Note that you can have as many of these small segments as you want until the flash caard fills. For a 32 GB card, that's about 2 hours total. It turns out the the EU is taxing imported camcorders, and they define an HD camcorder as any device that records more than 30 minutes. So even if Canon started a new file automatically as they should, they would still have to stop at 30 minutes to avoid the extra EU tax. This is because Canon is unwilling to make a special version of the EU firmware, just as they have a special version of the S100V for China. Apparently non-EU customers don't rate as highly in Canon's mindset. Don't get me wrong. I love the camera part of this camera, but am completely disappointed with the arbitrary limit placed on uninterrupted HD video recording length.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

AWESOME!

By jdk from Undisclosed on 04/29/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Takes fantastic photos in every lighting situation. Great video as well. Suprising for this easy to carry/pack compact camera. I am TOTALLY satisfied.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great travel camera

By chinaguy from Chicago, IL on 03/24/2012


Cons:

Read The Manual Before You Use The Camera. Its A

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased the S100 for a trip to China and was grateful to have it for video and photos. I substituted the S100 for my Vixia HV40 Camcorder on the trip and wasn't disappointed or freaked not to have a bigger camera for video. In fact, the 1080 rez from the S100 was fantastic upon downloads and edits, and the photos were sharp and balanced under all sorts of lighting conditions, including dark interior scenes. I waited until the last minute to purchase the S100 --considering its higher price (do I really need this?)-- before leaving on my trip. So glad I made the investment. Talk about a powerful pocket photo resource: it does it all!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good overall but poor cold weather performance

By Snapdoc from Boston,MA on 03/11/2012


Pros:

Good Image Quality, Usefull Scene Modes, Good Auto Focus

Cons:

Poor Cold-weather Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have had this camera for 3 months. I have taken it on a number of ski trips which was one of my intended uses for this particular camera. I keep the camera in an inside pocket to keep it warm. Within a few minutes of exposing it to cold temperatures it stops working giving a low battery signal and retracting the lens. I have never had this experience with any of my other cameras including an SD 800 IS which uses the same battery. I am contacting Canon to find out what the problem is as The battery seems to have appropriate voltage. this is disappointing because otherwise I find this to be an exceptional point in shoot camera. Exposure evening complicated lighting situations has been excellent. As has been the auto focus. The HD video is spectacular although shooting in slow-motion mode requires significantly more light than you may find indoors. Shutter lag seems about the same as I have encountered in other point and shoot cameras.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Glad I waited for this version

By Scott from Minnesota on 03/03/2012


Pros:

Smart In-camera Processing, Very Compact

Cons:

Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a compact camera that shoots remarkably well up to 800 ISO. All around more responsive than the S95 which I tried out just prior to this one being announced. I was amazed that the face detection not only provides the focus, but this little guy also sets the proper exposure based on that as well, not the over all scene (thus a bright background for instance, will not throw it off.) Having raw is a bonus, but the new processor does a pretty good job on the in-camera JPEGs as well. I also love the extra wide over the S95 (24mm vs 28mm equiv.) Highly recommended as a supplement to your "big" gear.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Has some drawbacks

By Chck58 from Maryland on 02/18/2012


Pros:

Good Image Quality, Custom Image Options, Quick Movie Record Button, Sturdy Metal Case

Cons:

Flimsy Wrist Strap, Slow To Record Image, Gps Sucks Battery

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased the S100 as a replacement for my S90 that went missing somehow. There are several nice features but the come at a price. Most noticeable is the lag time between taking a picture and when you can take another one. This is painfully slow as the camera does not appear to have a built in buffer to store an image and write to the memory card. I had to turn off many of the features in hopes of speeding up the process.like image stabilization. Don't even try using the GPS feature unless you bring along extra batteries.. this will suck down the battery juice big time. Canon finally added a quick button to record movies so you do not have to turn the function switch on the top. The camera also has a new focusing mechanism. On prior models you get green boxes around the subject face once the camera has focused. Here you get the same box but the it magnifies the face of the main subject it is focusing on. Not sure what the purpose of this is and it seems to slow down the image trecording.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Update to S-95 depending on your needs

By GMak from Bellevue WA on 12/31/2011


Pros:

Image Quality, Longer Zoom, Grip And Finish

Cons:

White Balance Cannot Be Assigned To Control Ring!, No "shade" Wb, Different Battery From S90/95, No "snow" Wb

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this camera for a short time, having used the S40, S45, S80, S95. Overall, for anyone looking for an advanced, full-control, high-quality image camera in a shirt-pocket size, this will fit the bill nicely. I need a camera to take high-quality photos in situations where a larger camera is impractical or difficult to bring, such as on a business trips and this is a great camera series for this. I haven't seen a noticeable quality difference yet in the images - (which is a good thing if you consider the reviews the initial S100 models got online.) However, a few gripes: 1) BATTERY: The battery is an NB-5L, a fraction wider than the S-90/95 battery. That means for those of us upgrading from an S90 or 95, we have to use all new batteries - and a new battery charger. Why? 2) CONTROL DIAL : The rear control dial has lost a lot of functionality compared to the S-95 and it's difficult to understand why it's even there now. 3) CANNO ASSIGN WHITE BALANCE SETTINGS TO CONTROL RING OR FUNCTION BUTTON! One of the most annoying thing about the S100 and still not corrected from the S90/95 is the "customizable White Balance" function. This is one of the most inconvenient features of this camera! It really isn't what you think. There are 9 separate White Balance settings available only through "Function" mode. (Daylight, Cloudy, Tungsten, etc.) You would think that when it says you can assign the White Balance function to the Control Ring for easy access, you could change one setting to another, such as "Cloudy" to "Daylight" as one would change the shutter speed or ISO, and attach this to the Control Ring (or the Ring Func button.) Alas, you cannot! "White Balance" here means that you adjust the RGB color balance by shifting the dot on an x-y axis ! Who does this on the fly? You need to be able to switch from Daylight to Cloudy to Fluorescent on the fly, not micromanage the color balance! Second, there's no "Shade" setting as on most Canon advanced cameras. Third, there's no "Snow" WB setting, but there is an "Underwater" WB setting! Tell me, how many people are going to use this camera underwater versus how many people need a "Snow WB" setting during the winter months? 4) RING FUNC BUTTON: Next, the "Ring Func" button is also not what you think. It's independent of the Control Ring! Sheesh! It's really a "Custom Function" button to quickly access one function. It is useful but the label is very confusing. 5) NO MANUAL: As with the S95, there is no manual. It's a PDF file on CD. Those nice pocket-sized User's Guides are a thing of the past. Canon should rethink this. How many trees are really saved? We'll waste more energy & resources printing 40-50 pages on 8x11 or A4 paper since most of us won't lug a laptop around just to read the manual. And when taking it out in the field, where you need a reference guide to drill down to access the many features of this camera, you need paper, not a laptop. This is a good camera and has a lot of good updates for S90/95 users. No camera is perfect and there are always trade-offs. If this is your first S-series camera, you won't be disappointed with the results. If this is an upgrade, it's worth it. The annoying features I can live with (but hope Canon listens for the next "S110") Overall, I'm very pleased with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

S100 vs S95

By Tiger from Undisclosed on 12/31/2011


Pros:

Better Image Quality, Autofocus In Video Mode, Good Zoom

Cons:

Low Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been seeking an affordable camera which will give high quality photos and video clips for both home and work purposes. During the past week, I have closely compared the S100 to the S95 by taking a series of approximately sixty photos and five videos at various locations using the same shooting conditions whenever possible for both cameras. Afterwards, the photos and videos were compared on a 27-inch monitor. Here are a few of my observations. Both cameras gave excellent outdoor photos during a clear, sunny day. However, on my large monitor, the S100 gave comparably excellent indoor photos in either auto or P mode even when zoomed while the S95 showed more overall graininess particularly when zoomed or in low light. Although the photo image quality for both cameras was excellent, the video image quality was different. Out of fairness, it is important to note that the S100 will shoot 1080p HD video whereas the S95 is only capable of shooting 720p HD video. Thus, it is not surprising that the S100's HD video image quality was improved compared to the S95's. However, in addition, the S100 gave smoother video playback with good autofocus even when zooming. More astonishing was the ability of the S100 to give excellent video quality under a wide range of indoor lighting conditions while the S95 gave bright purple lines on both the LCD and in video playback when it was near various types of long-life incandescent light bulbs. The bright purple lines were reproducible, observed near three light bulbs in my house, and made some of the S95 video clips completely unusable. (I do not know if my copy of the S95 was defective.) Since I will use my new camera for work-related photos and videos, too, the purple lines on the S95 were unacceptable to me. The battery life of the S100 seemed poor during the first charge/discharge cycle. I did try the GPS, and while it worked, it drained the battery more quickly than expected. With neither the GPS nor its logger on, the battery life is more tolerable now that I am past the first couple of charge/discharge cycles, but I plan to have a spare battery or two with me at all times when I use the S100. Based on all of my tests, the features of the S100 are excellent for its size. The photo images seemed to have greater clarity on my big monitor than those from the S95, and the S100's video quality is much improved over the S95. My only complaint is that the S100 is a power hungry little camera, and I think that the design engineers should consider a longer-lasting battery even if it makes the camera a little larger. The camera's features are excellent, but having excellent features is not enough. Customers want enough power to actually use many of the features at the same time for an extended length of time. Don't get me wrong. I am now a very happy S100 owner, and I am glad that I took the time to do my photo and video tests. The battery issue is the only reason I gave the S100 four stars instead of five in some of the product rating categories shown. It is worth noting that owners of both the S95 and S100 will benefit from learning to use the different shooting modes as well as knowing about options available in the recording and function menus. In addition to Canon's User Manual, there are a couple of excellent books specific to using the S95 that are also helpful for learning how to get the best quality photos and videos from the S100. Search "S95" at any bookstore to find them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nifty little camera

By GB from North Carolina on 12/24/2011


Pros:

Good Build Quality, Manual Controls/control Ring, Excellent Is

Cons:

Low Battery Life, Many Manual Controls Don't Transfer To Video

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm a communications student (video concentration) and I wanted a camera with which I could practice my craft. I wanted something small, so I would be more motivated to have it with me and actually practice with it; but something with good manual controls and a solid feature set to train my creative eye. I also wanted something with good build quality to last me a while. The S100 delivers pretty well on most of these fronts. It falls a bit short in some of the video features, but is nevertheless a well-performing camera. Some of the "creative filters" are particularly interesting. Most notable to me are a built in HDR mode and a simulated tilt-shift mode ("miniature" mode). A built in ND filter frees up open-apreture creativity in higher lighting conditions. It works quite well and is frequently assigned to the function button on my camera. Overall build quality is excellent with typical Canon attention to detail. It feels very solid in the hand and the buttons controls give the impression that they will last till the camera is too obsolete to use. On my camera, only one squeaky spot on the top body work and a slight rattle with the lens ring left me disappointed. Video quality is very good. Audio from the built in microphones is surprisingly good, for built in audio. My greatest concern here is that many of the manual controls are not accessible in video mode. To me, this seems like a huge let down in a camera that does so well with opening up the controls when taking stills. Here's hoping for a software update to maybe open those up. Just having the ability to move the focal point manually during a shot would leave many more creative doors open and really bring the video experience closer to the excellent still experience this camera offers. Overall though, I am exceedingly satisfied with this little camera. The biggest thing with any camera that you can't get from a spec sheet is probably the feel you get while shooting with it. This camera does an amazing job bring electronically controlled functions to your fingertips through the bevy of controls and giving a very satisfying hands-on impression. Very well done, Canon, and definitely a recommended camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Canon S100 vs S95

By forward from Los Angeles on 12/04/2011


Pros:

Autofocus In Video Mode, Better Image Quality

Cons:

Display Has Green Tint, Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I happen to have both the S100 and S95 at hand so I was able to compare them side by side. (+) the image quality of the S100 is actually better. It's clearly visible to the naked eye in a side by side comparison, no questions asked. Less noise, less grain, more nuanced. (+) the video of the S100 has autofocus. (-) the battery life of the S100 is much shorter (-) the LCD display of the S100 is not as accurate as the S95. It has too much green. Personally I am sensitive about color and this is a huge minus interfering with my use of the S100. What's a photographer supposed to do without an accurately calibrated color display? Big step back compared to the S95. Note that the green tint is only on the display and not on the files. As I said, the image quality is better than the S95.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

New S100

By SFO Steve from Bay Area on 10/21/2011


Pros:

Grips Nd Filter Gps 24mm Digi5

Cons:

Battery Life No Flash Remote Price Is High

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had a S95 for a month before I heard the new S100 coming out. I was just getting familiar with the S95 as a handy "pocket" camera alternative to me taking a DSLR everywhere. I was pretty happy with the S95 picture quality, but could see some room for improvement with other aspects. Having to get the "newest" camera, I promptly sold my S95 for my cost. I had only 225 pictures run through it so it was pretty much new. Wow! I just got the S100 a few days ago and it is much improved. The new added grips make the camera more secure to hold as does the ruff finish of the camera itself. The overall size is the same because the S100 fits the case I used for the S95. It does feel sightly heavier. The screen is a little larger as that my screen protector is too small. Picture wise (IQ) I can't see much of a difference. But, in low light, iso1600 there is a huge improvement. I would say this is about as good as the S95 at iso800. No kidding! I am still new to this camera but I am confident in saying that you won't be disappointed if you upgrade to a S100. The GPS, ND filter, and 24mm-120mm lens are also better to work with. So far I really like this more than my S95.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved