Home » Accessories » Camera Accessories » Flash/video Lights » 5247B002 » 10 Reviews

Canon Speedlite 270EX II Flashlight - E-TTL II, E-TTL - 13.12 ft Range Reviews
Canon Speedlite 270EX II Flashlight - E-TTL II, E-TTL - 13.12 ft Range

Canon Speedlite 270EX II Flashlight - E-TTL II, E-TTL - 13.12 ft RangeAdded to our catalog within last 30 days

Worthy successor to the venerable Canon 270EX II Speedlite, the new, ultra-lightweight Canon 270EX II Speedlite is a compact, high-performance flash unit designed for the evolving EOS enthusiast. Developed for fun and easy flash shooting, when used with select Canon EOS DSLR cameras that have a mast... <more> 

Canon Model: 5247B002

$196.52

4 in stock
This product qualifies for FREE Ground Shipping!

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 10 reviews)

62% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Quiet (5), Good Exposure Performance (4), Superior Build Quality (5)

Cons:

Slow Recycling Time (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Good flash

By Betamax from Milwaukee on 06/30/2015

This is a good flash for the money. I don't want to lug around my 580exii its small enough to fit into a bag but just powerful enough to shoot 6 to 8 feet across the room It will also aim up for bounce flash. But it you won't be sorry


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Small, Compact and User Friendly Flash

By Lionheart from NYC on 12/30/2014

I purchased the 270EX II for my Canon Rebel T5 because I could not stand the built in flash. The built in flash was weak and the fixed frontal position did not provide the proper lighting for my camera subjects. Now with the 270EX II, the stronger flash does provide a little more power along with the ability to bounce light by moving the flash to an upward position in three stages. The use of bouncing light has been extremely beneficial in making my subjects look more creamy and natural. I will admit that I have not yet gotten around to using the wireless flash settings, but the flash normally stays on my camera's hot shoe whether I use or not because I always want the option to switch it on if the opportunity demands it. I have been considering upgrading to the 430EX to have a more respected flash among photographers, but the 270EX II serves my needs better mainly because I enjoy the small size and it only requires two AA batteries instead of four (Not camera batteries). I would also recommend using high end Energizer rechargeable batteries with this flash (and flashes in general) because they juice battery power fairly quickly


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LOVE THIS FLASH

By Khoff from Undisclosed on 12/26/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This flash is perfect for my needs. I have tried several flashes and this one worked like i had hoped!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Could be better

By SportsFoto from Avenel, NJ on 05/23/2013


Pros:

Quiet

Cons:

Slow Start Up., Slow Recycling Time

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Flash takes too long to warm up. With fresh batteries it takes abot 15 seconds for the red light to turn on. Too slow in my opinion.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not useful in slave mode.

By Oltimer from Idaho on 01/31/2013


Pros:

Good Exposure Performance, Quiet, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Slow Recycling Time, Difficult To Use As A Slave

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The Speedlite 270EX II does a fine job when used on-camera, but the slave feature is only marginally useful. Because having to aim the flash head toward the mastter (in my case, this is my Rebel T3i camera) in order for it to receive the signal emitted by camera's built-in flash, defeats the purpose of slave operation. Canon should have positioned the sensor on the 270EX II in a more omnidirectional location in the Speedlite.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ultimate portable flash

By polizonte from Undisclosed on 10/04/2012


Pros:

Fast Recycling Time, Good Exposure Performance, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I used this on a 5Dmkii while visiting South America - the 270EXii was greta for indoor family photos with bounce flash and great for fill-flash outdoors. Small, two batteries, exposures were excellent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

nice fill in flash

By Alexei from Boston on 08/28/2012


Pros:

Quiet, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this flash as a fill in flash for travel. I do not use flash a lot - my Canon 5D Mark III has very high ISO range. But sometimes it helps. The build is solid, the control is simple. In case of Mark III you can fully control the flash from the camera - put in manual mode (1-1/64), slow sync, etc. Most of the typical features for Speedlight flash. Another feature I found useful I can use this flash as a remote control for my camera. So if I am shooting from a tripod I don't need to carry any additional remote switch! Useful. When I don't need many lenses and just attach 24-105 to the body, it fits nicely in Lowerpro TLZ1 together with my camera and GPS unit. So I highly recommend this flash. I have other flashes, but they are too bulky for travel with a small bag.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Big little

By HVargas from New Jersey on 08/22/2012


Pros:

Quiet, Good Exposure Performance, Superior Build Quality, Fast Recycling Time

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

is a great portable flash, small for the bag, but do the job, I love it..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Canon Speedlight 270EX II

By bherman01545 from Shrewsbury, MA on 08/16/2012


Pros:

Pretty Good Value, Superior Build Quality, Quiet, Good Exposure Performance

Cons:

Slow Recycling Time

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this small but mighty Speedlight because my 5D Mark III doesn't have a built-in flash. I already have a 580EX II, but don't always need the 'big-guns', with all of the manual overides and fuul power etc. The 270EX II is TTL compatible, but there are no manual overides or pretty much anything but an on/off switch and a slave feature. Great for 15' and less, bounce (but no tilt-swivel), fill-in flash etc. Nice build quality, but with two AA batteries, the recycle time could be better. Recommend either Lithium AA or 2900 Mah NiMH rechargeables. I like it very much - for what it is.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Useful and Lightweight

By undrgnd40 from Minnesota on 03/02/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this for fill flash on indoor portraits. It's useful as a slave unit as well. I like the small size and light weight of this product. My camera body can wirelessly control this flash, which eliminates the need for an extension cable for close up and creative lighting. Also, this flash can remotely control the shutter on my camera. This speedlite is a good addition to my equipment and I'm very happy with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved