Home » Computers » Printers » Multifunction Printers » MG8220 » 22 Reviews

Canon PIXMA MG8220 Inkjet Multifunction Printer - Color - Photo/Disc Print - Desktop - Printer, Scanner, Copier - 12.5 ipm Mono/9.3 ipm Color Print (ISO) - 20 Second Photo - 9600 x 2400 dpi Print LCD Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 22 reviews)

59% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Sharp Tones & Colors (11), Reliable (4), Easy Setup (10), Easy To Use (8), Durable (5), Fast Print Speed (7), Compact Design (5)

Cons:

Unreliable (4), Difficult To Use (4), High Ink Consumption (5)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By Txsinger from Houston, TX on 05/13/2014


Pros:

Sharp Tones & Colors, Low Ink Consumption, Reliable, Easy Setup, Easy To Use, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am not sure what all of the complaints about this printer are. I have been using it over a year now to produce pictures and CD covers for my band. The scanner works with out a hitch, the print quality is great the speed is decent and the ink has lasted well I am only on my second batch of inks and over 1000 cd's and covers printed. I am going to attribute the other people's issues are due to lack of knowing how to set the printer correctly. I would highly recommend this printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Would be great if all the features worked

By april from Temple, TX on 04/10/2014


Pros:

Sharp Tones & Colors

Cons:

Unreliable, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Have had our printer for about 3 months. Blue tooth connectivity works well. Print quality is good. Speed is ok. Ink runs out faster than I would like. If you plan to get this to print pictures- look for another printer. The back feed tray that is supposed to hold picture paper doesn't work well at all. When you do finally get it to recognize the adjusted feed tray you have to deal with file feed errors. For what we paid I wish we could return it and get something else.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MG8220 Review

By Pinocchio from Aptos, CA on 03/27/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I am an advanced photographer and printer user. I have used this printer for over a year. The interface is poor. The ink cartridges are too small. The print quality is poor. The scanner is complicated. Photos are not worth printing on this printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not reliable - slow

By Tom from Nashua, New Hampshire on 09/04/2013


Pros:

Wireless Setup

Cons:

Slow Print Speed, Difficult To Use, Unreliable, High Ink Consumption

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The features are excellent when working. My three complaints are: Prints many copies when I only select to print one. This has happened many times and drains my ink cartridges (which are obscenely expensive). This just happened moments ago when I discovered I had over 20 pages of the same thing. I assumed I was out of paper but 5 minutes later another page came out. A software bug that clearly benefits Canon's cash flow. And no, it is not user error, after the first occurrence I have been extremely cautious before hitting print. Once you run out of one color, yellow for example, you cannot print ANYTHING! Not even a black ink document. This occurred recently and resulted in a late arrival to a meeting without the printouts. Not good. Finally, and more an irritation, is the time it takes to warm up, It can take upwards of 5 minutes to print one page if the printer hasn't been used for awhile.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NO FAX!!!!!

By Unhappy w/MG8220 from CA on 07/14/2013


Cons:

No Fax

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

WATCH OUT, IT IS A "MULTIFUNCTION PRINTER" WITH NO FAX!!!!! Now I am stuck.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good quality but slow

By Marie from Pennsylvania on 06/29/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Fast Print Speed, Easy Setup

Cons:

Unreliable, High Ink Consumption

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this printer for about a week now. I found it very frustrating when trying to print directly from my laptop because a lot of the time it would say there was a communication error even though the printer is on and working correctly. I did the setup and everything on my laptop so there is no reason for it to be saying that. Most of the time I would have to move all the photos I want onto an SD card and print it from there. When printing for the first time of the day, it takes the printer a significantly long time for it to warm up. Longer than any printer I've ever had but after that first time it prints fine. Other than not being able to print from my computer and taking a long time to warm up, it's an excellent photo printer that prints good quality pictures.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SOHO Workhorse

By Donnie G from Chicago, IL. on 06/23/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Reliable, Easy Setup, Durable, Sharp Tones & Colors

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my 4th. Canon photo printer, but my 1st. photo all in one printer. Both photo print and text quality are excellent, which is exactly what I'm accustom to getting from my Canon printers. This multi function device has far more features than I will ever need to use, and I like that, since I'm a firm believer that "it's better to have it and not need it than not have it and need it". My favorite features are the built in scanner/copier, the ability to print directly to CD/DVD, and I'm especially fond of the two separate paper loading paths that make switching between photo paper and plain paper an effortless operation. This printer meets my needs perfectly and it looks great too.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't Believe the Specifications

By PTurvill from Whidbey Island, WA on 06/13/2013


Pros:

Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, Prints Cds And Dvds

Cons:

Heavy/bulky, Poor Documentation, High Ink Consumption, Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

While the specifications list a galaxy of compatible picture cards, Footnote 7 mentions a "special adapter" allegedly "sold separately." In truth there is no currently made adapter that will permit the use of xD format picture cards. While a few such cards (xD to CF) may still be found on dealers' shelves, their prices are about half the price of the current street price of this printer. If you want to print from xD cards, look elsewhere. Otherwise, except for very high ink consumption (a common complaint among many currently made inkjet printers: give away the printer, make huge profits on ink!), this printer is a good choice for someone who wants a decent multi-function printer for photos, CDs/DVDs, and general page printing, copying and scanning. With more ink economy, it would rate 4 stars; with full picture card compatibility (no unavailable "adapter" required) it could rate 5 stars. Canon can do better than to resort to misleading and bloated specifications to lure customers.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best printer I ever had

By JB from Baltimore, MD on 04/11/2013


Pros:

Compact Design, Easy To Use, Sharp Tones & Colors, Fast Print Speed, Easy Setup

Cons:

Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer is the best featured printer and the best buy I ever had. I particularly like the feature to scan 35mm 0negatives and slides. The results of various slides I scanned is very acceptable for a 8" by 10" print. I would advise any one to purchase this printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Quality - at an (ink) price!

By clinton from Birmingham, AL on 03/07/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Fast Print Speed, Reliable, Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, Durable

Cons:

High Ink Consumption

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just had to replace my old Canon PIXMA MG8120 - after a number of years, I had just worn it out. But because it had served me so well, I shopped around and ended up getting the 'new' version - this MG8220. It's faster than my old printer, has everything that I need and will, I hope, last as long as my MG8120. But - buyer beware! - as much as I love this printer it still just drinks ink at an alarming rate. I only use genuine Canon ink and paper and have tons of ink left (one more reason I got this model) left over from my old printer. This is NOT a low-ink consumption printer by any means. But if you want the very highest print quality, easy wireless and AirPrint printing, flawless scanning, etc., this may be just the printer for you.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very frustrating selection panel

By Mel from Undisclosed on 02/27/2013


Pros:

Sharp Tones & Colors

Cons:

Unreliable, Difficult To Use, Slow Print Speed

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This printer does print high quality copies. However, the panel of buttons to select what you want is very, very confusing. The printer seems to get "confused" when I try printing something remotely from my computer, and whirrs and clicks forever before I finally coax it to print. I've had the printer for about 8 months and it's a challenge any time I want to print. Today I tried to copy something, and a warning came on saying the rear paper tray was empty and needed filling. FIRST: I had no idea it had a rear paper tray. Second, neither I, nor my 5 degrees from MIT computer junkie husband can figure out how or what to push to make it print from the front paper tray again. Really, people at Canon, does it have to be THIS hard? Would not buy again unless you are a real techie.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great overall printer/scanner

By Chuck58 from Maryland on 02/21/2013


Pros:

Sharp Tones & Colors, Compact Design, Fast Print Speed, Easy Setup

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This has just about every feature you could ask for. Air Print enabled, wireless print and scan, beautiful photo printer on glossy paper, color print on printable CDs. Inks get a little pricey depending on usage. Overall very pleased


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Super duper printer

By College Student from Undisclosed on 02/14/2013


Pros:

Fast Print Speed, Low Ink Consumption, Sharp Tones & Colors, Easy Setup, Wireless Printing And Bluetooth Capability, Compact Design, Lightweight/portable, Reliable, Durable, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer is awesome. I am college student and as such space is a premium... this printer sits ontop of my dresser in a corner of my room and i love the wireless printing and scanning. setup is a snap and usage is so easy that a 6 yr old could figure it out. theres atleast one review on this printer that says you can only scan using a usb cable... that reviewer has no idea what they are talking about. this printer meets and exceeds my expectations and as such this is the best printer i have bought to date.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Canon MG8220 does not print color after 4 use

By Jake from Exeter, CA on 10/13/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have the Canon MG8220 for approx 4 months At first it was printing ok now, it does not print anything in color I did all maintenance but nothing happens im using brand new ink


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Canon Experience

By Old gezer from Phoenix, AZ on 10/11/2012


Pros:

Sharp Tones & Colors, Easy Setup

Cons:

High Ink Consumption

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to set up, but miss book I received with my old printer. Don't particular like touch switches when using printer as not sure of action or results in multiple touches when not intended. It seems to use more ink than my older MP960 and the ink containers are smaller.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works great for AirPrint

By newiPad3user from Redding, CA on 08/10/2012


Pros:

Compact Design, Easy Setup, Works With Airprint, Easy To Use, Durable, Fast Print Speed, Sharp Tones & Colors

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am writing a review before having used all the features. However, wireless setup was the easiest of any of my Canon products. Wireless printing and scanning are great. I bought the MG8220 for the sake of AirPrint, a feature that allows direct printing from my new iPad3. AirPrint works flawlessly! I will be exploring all the other features in time. So far, so good! Most complete Canon printer-scanner I have yet owned. Good job, Canon!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

bad or no instructions

By knuts1 from Minnesota on 07/16/2012


Pros:

Compact Design, Fast Print Speed

Cons:

Bad Or No Instructions, Difficult Setup, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this printer yesterday and it took forever to install as the instructions are very bad. I bought it mainly to scan old negatives and there are absolutely no instructions either with the printer or online that I can find that instruct me on how to do it. If the sales woman did not show me where the negative holder was I probably would not have found it as again there are no instructions I could find. I would not recommend this to a friend at this time but I may change my mind in the future once I use it more. I will do a followup once I use this printer more.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

wrong decision taken

By rustin from florida,fl on 03/30/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

i was looking for a quality printer nd money is not a problem for me....but the decision whcih i had made ryt now doesnt seems to be correct...bad printing quality...old firmwares inside the printer...talking bout wireless adapter....poorest sorry to say but u r not manufacturing the good printers :-((


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

EASY! ALL WIRELESS,FAB COLORS

By Mimi from California on 03/28/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I LOVE this printer! I use a MAC (no more PC for me!) I bought mine at the end of 2011. For me, this is an update. In 2008, I changed to a Macbook Pro from a PC & Apple featured a prior version of this wireless printer which I bought and loved for 3 1/2 years. (Apple knows good design!.) This version will even print from an ipad or iphone (they are on my birthday list). TIPS: (1) In the 3 1/2 years I owned the prior similar version, I almost never turned it off- unless I was traveling for a month. With both versions, I've never had "start-up lag-time issues." I turn my computer off -but leave the printer always on- it's always ready to go. My old printer was still working great before I upgraded. (2) INK: Leave the cartridges in until it won't print anymore. People generally complain about most printers running out of ink too early - but I've found I can print quite a lot more after the initial warnings and "blinky lights" start. Just ignore them:) This has great archival quality ink that won't fade. Select the proper paper option & Print photos on good photo paper - it makes a difference. (3) EASY SETUP- After I plugged everything in, I called Canon Tech Support & they took me through the steps. Then I felt silly - it was that easy!! But you can call too! Call CANON TECH SUPPORT during the warranty period & ask any questions or for help.THEY'RE GREAT!!! They answer right away- you get a human pretty quickly- and someone in the US!! a rare thing nowadays! Just like APPLE- that's why I love my MAC! (4) WIRELESS EVERYTHING-including SCANNING. (You DO have to open the lid to insert an item to be scanned- but the rest is all done wirelessly & from my computer screen. The prior critique obviously didn't know how to set it all up) (5) TO SCAN- From the main screen -Click on the icon on your computer to open the printer menus, then: Start Application, then click on MP Navigator EX. I use Photos/Documents (Platen) and use the advanced settings. It's amazing what you can do there- instead of using the "AUTO" options. (6) COLORS are my thing (I'm a painter)- and they are fabulous for a home printer. (7) My only "beef" is that the OCR software isn't great- but that would add to the cost. You can get good add-on OCR software if you need it. YOU WILL LOVE THIS PRINTER- but spend a little time getting to know it at first.- especially the scanning options.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

New all in one for me

By Gman62 from Elmwood Park, iL on 12/13/2011


Pros:

Very Quiet, Nice Footprint

Cons:

Wierd Restart After Asleep

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So far the MG 8220 has been a good printer. I thought the black ink would be used up faster but it's the Gray and colors that go faster. I am wondering if the ink carts were "starter" types not full amounts. The other issue is once the printer goes to sleep it takes a while to boot back up and if you print while asleep it takes for every to print the document.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Canon MG8120 printer

By HR from Phoenix, AZ on 12/09/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have the MG8120 which is practically identical to the MG8220. The color quality is very poor for photos, slightly better for color copies. I wouldn't recommend it for anybody.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing quality

By H2OSKIER from Atlanta, GA on 11/10/2011


Pros:

Film Scanner, High Quality Scans Prints And Copies, Lion Compatible, Easy To Use, Wireless Set Up Easy, Great Value For The Price

Cons:

Requires Usb Cable For Scans

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the MG8220 as a replacement for a 10 yr old printer. I needed an all in one compatible with Mac Lion that could easily network with the 4 Macs I have at the house. THe printer was very easy to set up and configure with the Private Wireless network. The quality of printing, copying and scanning are remarkable. Setting the printer in "quite" mode really makes the printer almost complete noiseless! I've scanned color 35mm negative in high quality (4800dpi mode) with excellent results. The control panel has light touch sensitivity and is easy to use and understand with the LCD display screen. I downloaded all of the software and driver update from the web site prior to installing the printer and set up with Mac OSX Lion was simple. This is an extremely user friendly all in one printer. The only negative is having to use a physical cable (usb) to perform the scans.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved