Home » Accessories » Camera Accessories » Flash/video Lights » 5296B002 » 13 Reviews

Canon Speedlite Flash Lineup - E-ttl, E-ttl Ii, Automatic (5296b002) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 13 reviews)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Fast Recycling Time (8), Superior Build Quality (9), Quiet (6), Good Exposure Performance (7)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Switched back from other brand

By LA Pro Photog from Los Angeles, CA on 01/27/2015

I've been an international photographer for over 11 years now. Just switched back to Canon after 6 years with another brand. After all that time I just never bonded with the other brand. I love the quality I get with my Canon system over any other system I've ever used.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

expectations

By alaskan viking from Kenai ,Alaska on 01/24/2015

This flash has definitely exceeded my expectations. I have low light over half the year living in Alaska . The capabilities of this device are phenomenal. I just started in photography and this flash gives me the opportunity to expand. This new technology has the ability to sync and control multiple flashes with this device.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This was by far the best ...

By Canon user from California on 12/12/2014

This was by far the best flash that I own. Recently, however, the "A" icon( for the Auto zoom for sensor size) seems to have just vanished, and only the "M" will display. I've come across a few other folks who have encountered this. Maybe there is a simple fix for this problem, but I haven't found it yet. If anyone here has encountered this, I'd sure appreciate your feedback.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing Flash

By Anonymous from Austin, TX on 08/26/2014


Pros:

Good Exposure Performance, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This flash is absolutely amazing. I owned a 580EX prior to purchasing this flash. It was an upgrade that was well worth it. The flash is very powerful and having the wireless capabilities built into the flash has changed the way I shoot. I consider myself an advanced amateur and flash photography has been a bit intimidating at times. I took some classes with Canon and I am no longer intimidated with flash. When I couple this flash with the remote transmitter, I have been able to get so much more creative with my shooting. The only real downside I have is that the flash is a bit expensive. However, when considering the fact that you don't need to buy remote triggers such as Pocket Wizards, the overall value of this flash makes sense. I just purchased a refurbished 600EX-RT through Canon's online store. I'm excited about the options I'll have with two flash units now.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

From One to Three

By rs_eos from McHenry, IL on 05/10/2014


Pros:

Fast Recycling Time, Weather Sealing, Superior Build Quality, Large Zoom Range, Feature Rich

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Knowing the importance of off-camera flash, I started out with a single 430EX II on my older camera via a hot shoe cable. But that only allowed me to scratch the surface. Recently moved up to a new camera and wanted to have much more flexibility and control, so purchased a single 600EX RT along with the ST-E3-RT transmitter. I now had a system that allowed me to create many more lighting situations with ease. The system is incredibly scalable, so picked up two more 600EX RT units. The ability to mix-and-match manual and ETTL is awesome. And not having to walk up to individual flashes to turn on/off or adjust power is a huge time-saver. I also really like the gel holder and have created quite a large collection now of custom-fit gels for it to include color correction, color effect, ND and diffusion. The menu system is organized very well; very easy to navigate and change settings. The implementation of radio features is solid. The ability to scan for best channel and usage of a custom pin greatly reduces issues. So far I haven't had misfires in my home where I have quite a bit of WiFi devices (though only a few are running at 2.4GHz now; most at 5GHz). Shooting with other photographers at a lighting workshop also went smoothly. Bottom line, these speedlites offer such a large set of features that are sure to appeal to a wide range of users. The ease of setup and usage really save time and give you much more freedom to create. One final note; very impressed that the units remember their settings in between usages. Whenever I turn on the transmitter and the speedlites, they automtically re-link and are in the same groups as they were when last used. Settings were even saved after swapping out batteries.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

gREAT pRODUCT

By JRDPHOTOGRAPHY from Destin, FLORIDA on 04/08/2014


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Good Exposure Performance, Fast Recycling Time, Quiet

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love my 600 RT's. I own 6 of them and they have dramatically changed my location flash use in fashion, weddings and interior design photography. Wireless Range is very adequate. I have been able to fire up to 100' in some locations


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Canon 70D using Canon 600EX-RT

By LVPhoto from Las Vegas on 09/26/2013


Pros:

Fast Recycling Time, Quiet, Good Exposure Performance, Superior Build Quality, De Simone Photography

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought the new Canon 70D as it is compatible with Canons 600 EX-RT flash systems in wireless mode, I had the Canon ST-E3-RT mounted on the camera and (2) 600 EX-RT on light stands and my camera on a tripod. This is the first time I have experienced wireless intermittent firing and I was not firing rapidly as I had to set up each shot that I was doing. I switched Cameras back to my Canon Mk IV and even my old 5D just to see if it would misfire. No misfires at all...there is something not right with the new Canon Cameras...most embarrassing as I had the VP of marketing looking over my shoulder. Is there anyone using the same setup? See my first review :)-


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Terrific Flash

By Anonymous from Hollywood, CA on 04/25/2013


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Recycling Time, Good Exposure Performance, Quiet

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Speedlite 600EX-RT is a terrific flash. I have only had it for a few days but taken a hundred inside and outside shots experimenting with its settings. Perfect exposure in all scenario's. Great addition.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Multi Flash Set-up overexpozure

By Light Crafter from Riverside, California on 10/28/2012


Pros:

Fast Recycling Time, Good Exposure Performance, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a reaction to the previous review below by njw1224 from Wheeling, WV. It seems that there is an over exposure problem when using multiple flash set-ups with the 600EX Rt/600EX. This can happen if there are three firing groups - A, B, and C. If a firing group C has been added and an over exposure results, avoid firing group C toward the main subject as this will likely cause the said overexposure. Alternatively, eliminate firing group C, and lump the extra slaves (from the now defunct firng group C) to firing group B or A. This works 99% of the time even if you point all flashes to the main subject. The phenomenon of over exposure in multi flash set-ups has been mentioned in pages 87 and 112 of the 600EX RT manual.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good, most of the time

By njw1224 from Wheeling, WV on 08/26/2012


Pros:

Fast Recycling Time, Superior Build Quality, Quiet

Cons:

Poor Exposure Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This flash is great for all the reasons you'd think it would be great. I bought three of them to use as master/slave units. I've been using them for about 6 weeks. Until yesterday I used them in mainly outdoor or fairly bright indoor conditions, and the multiple flash setups worked great and the radio feature was wonderful. Then comes yesterday - shooting a wedding. All went well with the brighter indoor shots and daylight outdoor shots. But when it came to the reception and the lights were turned really dark for the dancing portion of the evening, I began getting a fairly high percentage of extreme over-exposures - and I mean so blown out that they weren't recoverable (I even shoot in RAW mode). It was almost as if the lens aperture wasn't stopping down, so the sensor of the camera was getting the full blast of the flash. So my first thought was maybe I had a malfunctioning lens. So I switched lenses and had the same problem with the second lens. I'd say maybe one out of twelve shots was grossly overexposing to the point that the highlight detail was gone and the shot was unusable. That's too many bad shots for a professional to deal with. Again, I've only had this issue when using the multiple flash setups in really dark conditions like a wedding reception. And in case anyone's wondering, I use all Canon gear. No third party lenses, etc. that might interfere with the communication of the system. Needless to say I'm very disappointed because weddings are one of the main reasons I bought the 3-flash system. And if these flashes are inconsistent when used in really dark, contrasty settings, then that's a big negative strike against them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best canon speedlite to date

By Canon cop from Oak Lawn, Illinois on 06/05/2012


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Good Exposure Performance, Quiet, Fast Recycling Time, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have most of the speedlites by Canon. I also have several other brands. This one was bought for my 5 D mk III, and qickly has become the favorite. The built quality is the best that I have seen, and the easy menu is a pleasure to work with. As far as performance goes, it is flawless and is also very good on batteris (even with some pretty heavy use). Fast recycling and consistant output is the best that I have had with self contained powered speedlite. Very, very happy with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Canon Speedlite 600EX-RT

By LVPhoto from Las Vegas on 05/28/2012


Pros:

Fast Recycling Time, Superior Build Quality, Quiet, Good Exposure Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I recently purchased 5-Canon Speedlites 600EX-RTs to replace all my 5- 580EXIIs and I sold all my pocket radios receivers. Just as a measure for those who are contemplating to purchase the 600EX-RTs I still have my first Canon 10D though all the 5Ds- 60D-1DMk 2n-1DKk III & IV. All of them sync at HHS and work flawlessly in all modes except the Group feature, & I have a way around that, but will post my findings as I have not had the time to-do so at the moment. Hopefully Canon might release a firmware to the existing models to add the group feature in use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Flash

By Reg from Washington DC on 04/14/2012


Pros:

Great For Parties And Events, Works Great With Other Flashes, Sharpens Pictures

Cons:

Huge Lerning Curve, Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Makes pictures sharper. Expensive but worth every penny. A DVD would be helphul for NUBEEs like me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved