Home » 5565B001AA » 15 Reviews

Canon 5565B001AA X Mark I Mouse Slim Computer Link Calculator, 10-digit Lcd, Black Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 15 reviews)

33% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Why no dongle included?

By Canon fan from Undisclosed on 07/28/2015

This mouse was a good idea, and should have been useful for me. I bought one completely sealed from a guy who had a spare one. Unfortunately, I now discover it needs a specific Canon BT dongle to work! Even though I have built in BT it will not work with any generic dongle, of which I have three. Strangle, it will also not work with the Canon Pixma printer dongle either. A real disappointment to me, as a long time Canon devotee :( Makes a good paperweight though!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

JUNK on WIndows 8, Great on everything below

By FlipFlop from Houston, TX on 04/07/2015

This mouse is great on any Windows platform below Windows 8 I loved it so much that I bought another when I purchased my new laptop which is an ASUS. Now my favorite mouse is better off as a paper weight. It disconnects in the middle of work and will not reconnect unless you go to bluetooth settings and click on the Canon X Mark Mouse Icon...Obviously you must do this with your touchpad...lol Then just when you think its working again it freezes.... No drivers for this device exist so I guess its going in desk drawer until i need a paperweight


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not Canon's best product

By xanadu from New England USA on 01/08/2015

I've had a love hate relationship with my Mark 1 mouse for a few years now. I'll need it for the data entry or calculator key functions, but then I shelve it for the next 4-6 months due to frustration over intermittent operation. The mouse freezes. It locks up and requires the PC ON switch to be recycled and a number of jabs at the ESC key on my keyboard in order to get it going again. When I am using it I have kept a USB mouse handy so I can plug it in and turn off the Mark 1 when my disgust reaches saturation. The mouse is functionally perfect, has a fine laser resolution, is fantastic for keying in numbers, offers a backspace key, great CAL function, a great fit in the hand, moves and tracks well, firm clicks on the scroll wheel and L/R buttons. One of the most perfect interface devices made - IF ONLY IT WORKED CONSISTENTLY :(


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great idea, poor quality

By John from Chicago on 03/13/2014


Pros:

Worked Great For 6 Months

Cons:

Failed After Less Than A Year, Short Battery Life (had To Replace Every 4-6 Weeks

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought two of these, one for home and one for the office. they worked great for a while, but after 6 months or so one of them will no longer connect via bluetooth and the other one has lost the springiness to the right button so it gets actuated at random times. The calculators work great though if you need a small 4-function calculator with a non-standard keypad size.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great mouse for CAD work "" A very happy Engineer!

By Sam H from Seattle, WA on 01/23/2014


Pros:

Cheap, Keypad, Bluetooth

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Ive had this mouse for about a year. When this mouse was connected to my netbook running windows 7, it was laggy and sometimes unresponsive. I tried connecting it to my regular laptop (also Windows 7), and as other users have experienced, it would have difficulty reconnecting after it was used and went into hibernation. I just received a new CAD workstation laptop (Precision M3800) running Windows 8.1. Unfortunately this workstation doesnt have a keypad " which makes solid modeling numeric input difficult. As an interim fix, I decided to try the Canon Mark I mouse. The mouse worked flawlessly " completely opposite of my past experience. The mouse is responsive and accurate. Now, there are also no connectivity issues after the mouse hibernates after a few minutes without use (as there were previously). Now, here this mouse really shines " the number pad and calculator! There is a CAL/KP key to switch it from a calculator to a keypad. When in calculator mode, you can crunch numbers, then press Enter and it will send the computed value to your solid modeling application (so far Ive tried it with Solidworks and Inventor). Or you dont press enter, and it doesnt send anything to your computer " it just works as a calculator. When in keypad mode, you can use it as a keypad and have it provide input real-time. And an added bonus is having the option to just hit the Enter key after youve performed an action in the CAD software " completely unrelated to any numeric input. As for ergonomics, the buttons must be pressed directly down, not forward. This allows you to rest your palm on the key pad (with reasonable pressure) without activating any of the keys due to the slope of the profile. Great foresight on Canon's part with this design. Overall Im pleased with this mouses features, and Im happy I didnt throw it away after seeing its behavior with Windows 7.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

no dongle option

By cb6352 from tampa, fl on 06/27/2013


Cons:

Add A Dongle

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

who sells a bluetooth mouse without a bluetooth dongle option? it seems canon. i even have a bluetooth computer and it is sporadic at best to link. how would you like working on files and your mouse freezes with no way to link back up since it's frozen. if you dont offer a dongkle option tghen stop selling these.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works well but stops.

By ABooth from Undisclosed on 01/30/2013


Pros:

Works Well When Connected, Switching Between Calc And Keypad Is Well Thought, Accurate Movement And Glides Well

Cons:

Fails Bluetooth Connectivity Miserably, It's Essentially A Paperweight It's So Useless, Out Of The Box It Is Over Responsive

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I tried it on Windows 7 pro SP1, 64 Bit As others have said, when it goes dormant, it no longer responds. Double left click does not reactivate. Switching on and off does not reconnect. Troubleshooting does not find any issues and selecting properties states no mouse was found. Without deleting the device from Bluetooth devices and adding it again, it will not function. It is essentially a paperweight that looks like a mouse.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

an interesting idea well realized

By jan vlk from Prague, Czech Republic on 01/20/2013


Pros:

Good Idea, Lcd Display For Offline Calculations, Good Built Quality

Cons:

More Functional Buttons Would Be Great, Not Able To Program The Buttons For Other Functs., The White Color On The Keys Is A Little Dark

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

- in case you have no Num Pad it enables a quicker numerical data entry - connectivity and instalation under Windows 7 OK, quick - i would welcome more functional keys (on the sides e.g.)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WASTE OF TIME & MONEY

By Dave from Sydney on 01/07/2013


Pros:

It Was A Nice Idea

Cons:

Feels Very Cheaply Made, Calc/kp Button Does Not Work, Will Not Connect To Computer

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've been trying to connect the mouse for most of the morning to my Win7 laptop. The computer shows that the mouse is connected but cannon populate any of the device info including the MAC address. The pointer does not work and the mouse keep flashing the BT icon like its still looking for the computer. Also the button to switch from calculator to KeyPad does nothing. Its just a way over priced calculator or a Tecky paper weight.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Almost worse purchase

By kalmkeyth from Madras, Oregon on 01/02/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Disconnected from the bluetooth device at first which was annoying but livable. Then quit connecting at all.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Bluetooth Mouse

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 12/11/2012


Pros:

Very Light Weight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This to correct the criticism of Bluetooth in earlier reviews. The mouse does go dormant when left unused for a while. Just click the left button twice and it becomes active. The mouse speed had to be slowed considerably for comfort.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Better Calculator than Mouse

By NML from Columbus, OH on 11/06/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is a really cool mouse, but as others have stated, if you leave your computer for an extended period of time, the bluetooth connection drops and the only way to re-connect the mouse is to delete the device from your Bluetooth manager and re-pair the device. Let's hope Canon submits a fix for this soon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Unreliable

By Michelle from Los Angeles, CA on 09/01/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The bluetooth connection is unreliable. If you decide to take a break from working and come back, you'll fnd that the connection is lost. The only way to get the mouse to function again is to remove the batteries and possibly reinstall it. I've had this for a day, and I've already had to do this 3 times. I would not recommend this product to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

unreliable (bluetooth) connection makes it useless

By specware from San Jose, CA on 06/11/2012


Pros:

Good Features & Design

Cons:

Poor Bluetooth Connection

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This device would otherwise make a great productivity tool if not the for problem stated in the title line, so much so I consider it useless! When it connects to the host (i.e. a PC or a notebook computer) it works great in all aspects until it disconnects itself from the host in auto shut-off mode (to conserve battery power I assume). After which point it could not reconnect with the pairing PC/Notebook unless the hosting PC/notebook goes through the device removal, pairing and connecting cycle each time the connection is lost. There is no way to force the device to stay connected let alone to hope for a simple reconnect capability. Not a practical device to use on a regular basis.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great mouse, but numberpad has some limitations

By Guppy from USA on 05/09/2012


Pros:

Responsive Mouse Tracking, Bluetooth Support

Cons:

Numberpad Cannot Be Used To Enter Alt-codes.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Canon Mark I combination Mouse/Keypad functions well as a mouse; tracking seems crisp and responsive. Bluetooth pairing was simple, with no drivers were required. Due to the small size of the the device, the Calculator/Numberpad can be a bit cramped; while convenient for travel and occasional use, a dedicated full-size pad may be better for heavy users. In addition, the numberpad cannot be used to enter special character Alt-number codes.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved