Home » Computers » Printers » Multifunction Printers » 5784B020 » 30 Reviews

Canon PIXMA MX512 Inkjet Multifunction Printer - Color - Photo Print - Desktop - Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax - 9.7 ipm Mono/5.5 ipm Color Print (ISO) - 46 Second Photo - 4800 x 1200 dpi Print ipm Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 30 reviews)

46% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

High Quality Output (7), Fast Print Speed (7), Reliable (6), Easy To Use (7), Durable (4), Small Footprint (3)

Cons:

Difficult To Use (3), Unreliable (6), Difficult Setup (5), Slow Print Speed (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Pixma MX512, a printer for lying down and avoiding

By formercanonuser from British Columbia on 09/08/2015

The cartridges for this printer cost more than I paid for it. The cartridges that came with the printer are only good for a few pages. The new higher capacity cartridges, which incidentally look identical to the low-capacity ones, are not recognized by the printer, and I have now wasted a day of my time "trying things." Trying things means turning the printer off, waiting 10-minutes to 2-hours, and turning it back on. Repeat the procedure with the cartridges removed. How did this start? It started because the power failed in my office, and when power returned, everything in the office including other printers and computers plugged into the same outlet came back to life without incident, except for the Canon MX512. So without touching the printer, it just stops working? This seems to stem from Canon wanting to prevent users from using any but Canon branded cartridges, as it has to do with reading the ID information now built into said cartridges. Why is this required? Obviously it is NOT required for a user. It benefits Canon only, at the expense of its customers. I will fill my printing and scanning requirements elsewhere.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Product!!!

By RoadRunner from Tampa, FL on 03/25/2015

This printer has worked perfectly for me. I use the print function in the wireless mode, which allows printing from laptops, smartphones and tablets. For the price I think it is a fantastic value. I have also faxed documents and used the copy function. For me it has performed as well as some previously more expensive printers that I have owned.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome purchace

By Randy from Wichita, KS on 01/19/2015

Love this printer! This has saved my professional life more than once!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ink Cartridges

By WJP1940 from Indianapolis, IN on 11/21/2014

The printer works fine, but be aware that 210/211 ink cartridge boxes with a Canon label pasted on indicating they work in the MX512 is wrong.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great ip printer

By kai from st paul, mn on 07/15/2014


Pros:

Easy Setup

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

works well for us with a mac and a few pc's in the house. reliable too! would buy again


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Piece of junk

By butchiew from Charlotte, NC on 05/08/2014


Cons:

Unreliable, Difficult To Use, Flimsy Construction, Difficult Setup

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Worse printer that I have ever used. I had two other Canon printers, that I had no problems with. Wish that I would have kept one of them


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great when it worked

By Bonnie from Houston, TX on 04/29/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Great for the first few months but print quality dropped after about 6 months and it's totally stopped working after less than a year


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not Good

By Anonymous from Oregon on 04/15/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use

Cons:

Unreliable, Slow Print Speed

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I got this printer for Christmas 2012. It worked good until about a month or so ago. I went to scan something for school, and the printer wouldn't scan. There was a pop up saying there was a document in ADF. I swear to you, there was no document in the entire printer. I am not allowed to do anything on the printer until this alert is gone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does everything you need

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 02/03/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer is great all around. It did take me awhile to figure out all the details and how each item works with my computer. But once you figure all the minor details... it's amazing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent for Price

By Terry from Michigan on 01/27/2014


Pros:

Auto Document Feeder, Excellent Print Speed, Wireless Operation, Excellent Print Quality

Cons:

Weak Springs On Copier Lid, Printed Pages End Up On Floor, Tri Color Ink Cartrige Can't Replace Single Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this printer to replace an OLD thermal fax machine. I've been quite pleased with it so far. The "fit-to-page" feature of the copier has been a great help with documents that are printed way to small. Also using it to scan documents that need to be saved, but don't have to be in paper form. The print quality and speed are excellent for an ink jet printer. The wireless works flawlessly which helps as I don't have space for it near my computer. I've had no problems with missfeeds as others have mentioned. Perhaps a different brand of paper would help, I've found some papers work well with my laser and others tend to jam. The only issues I have is the springs that hold the copy lid up are a bit on the week side and it tends to come down sometimes when you don't want it to. Also, the paper output tray is a little short and it tends to allow paper to end up on the floor.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

beware

By joe from ny ny on 01/27/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

this product is unacceptable. I spent 2 days to install the software for the scanner. the software is a mess...no help from on-line manual. box has missing parts.,AND i got a broken cd scanning takes more steps & needs the same answers over & over...user specifications you have entered as defaults don't take,,, even if the sw was good, this printer is SLOW there is a long wait before you can start to scan.... takes 3 minutes to scan 1 page...I shutter to think of when I have to scan 50 or more (my norm) I have worked in data processing for 35 years even the printers for computers the size of a room were faster!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hope for no jamming

By big red from Silver Spring MD on 01/25/2014


Pros:

Speed Of Printing, Wireless Printing

Cons:

Paperjams, Alignment Issues

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I was very proud of this purchase for the first 14 months of use. Then I had one paper jam which happened in the back and I had to open the back of the printer to extract the paper. And from then on, the alignment was off. I tried multiple auto corrects, and multiple manual corrects. Neither worked. SOOO FRUSTRATED, I could throw it off a cliff and feel much better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just junk

By wontbuycanon from North Carolina on 01/24/2014


Cons:

Paper Jams Constantly, Poorly Built, Smeared Printing

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This printer has been nothing but junk. Paper jams and smeared printing time after time. Straight to the trashcan. Never again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Superb Wireless Printer

By circusranger from Ocala, Florida on 11/13/2013


Pros:

Impeccable Wireless, Small Footprint, Reliable, Easy To Use, High Quality Output, Durable, Fast Print Speed, Easy Setup

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When it comes to Canon, be it cameras, or printers, I invariably get "value for money", and in over twenty years so, have to have ONE PRODUCT fail.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easily the Worst Printer I have Ever Used

By Captain Dunsel from Atlantam GA on 10/11/2013


Cons:

Unreliable, Alignment Problems, Flimsy Construction, Difficult To Use, Endless Jamming

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We bought this printer as a desktop unit for one of our executives, to replace a Pixma 870 which had worn out over several years of use. (Unfortunately the 870 seems to be no more.) BIG mistake. This has been the worst printer I have ever used in 35 years in IT - and I have seen some real duds. It has endless problems with ink smearing, mis-feeds, poor software, irritating pop-ups and lousy network support. The printer had so many problems with its internal sensors that we DEMANDED that Canon replace it after about 4 months. The replacement is now sitting on the workbench, having sucked in a stack of about 7 to 10 sheets of paper at a draw, and wrapped them around the drum, leaving absolutely no way to get at them to extract them. Might be an okay printer for a home user who prints on single sheets, hand fed, and plugged into the PC with a USB cable. For a business environment, accessed across a network (by just ONE user)? Forget it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

oh my, not again

By Kate from NE Texas on 10/02/2013


Pros:

Cartridges Are Inexpensive, Fast Print Speed, Beautiful Phots

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Unreliable, Hard To Fax And Scan

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Fax machine rarely works, spend hours on phone with support. BUT, the photos print really really clearly. Scanning is also a problem, but if you want to print, its great. Don't get if you like to fax or scan.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

happy with my printer

By Anonymous from texas on 07/30/2013


Pros:

High Quality Output, Fast Print Speed, Reliable, Easy To Use, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This replaced a printer I had for years. Very good printer. All the features are very neat. Had a little bit of a hiccup with the initial network setup but everything works superb now!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Looks and works great. ...

By Augie from Phila. ,PA on 07/19/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, High Quality Output, Reliable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Looks and works great. Great product at a good price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Better then I expected

By Freeze from Silicon Valley, CA on 03/25/2013


Pros:

Fast Print Speed, High Quality Output, Reliable, Easy To Use, Small Footprint

Cons:

Difficult Setup

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I don't print much, but when I do this printer does exactly what I need it to do. The ink price is reasonable. My only issue is setting up the wireless function.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Firmware update needed

By Nw-Ohio girl from Ohio on 03/06/2013


Pros:

Small Footprint, Fast Print Speed, High Quality Output

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I received this printer as a gift after specifically requesting this. It was on Apple's list of Airprinters, and I own 4 Apple products. My 2 laptops worked like a charm right away with the printer but for my iPhone and ipad I had to download and install updated firmware before they would print to the MX512. Canon does mention in the fine print of their instructions that this download may need to be done. I would suggest though that instead of just locating this in the fine print, that it be put in a more prominent spot, along with prominent links to instructions on HOW to download and install this update.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice instructions for ...

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 02/26/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Nice instructions for receiving a fax, but nothing about how to send one!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nothing But Problems!!!

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 01/20/2013


Cons:

Unreliable

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Have had nothing but problems with this printer. Not satisfied at all!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Adequate, not wonderful

By Cowsintexas from Texas on 01/18/2013


Pros:

Reliable, Durable, Fast Print Speed, High Quality Output, Easy To Use

Cons:

Menus Are Confusing, Difficult Setup

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Allow 2 hours to set up, settings are a bit difficult to understand. Having trouble figuring out how to receive fax without answering machine getting it. Some print settings are hard to set. Otherwise, the print quality is WONDERFUL, it is quiet, looks great and i LOVE the Wi-Fi capability! Would buy again


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed

By Disappointed from San Diego on 01/12/2013


Cons:

Long Lag With Wireless Printing, Unreliable, Slow Print Speed

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this printer to replace a previous Canon I had for 8 years. I've had three issues with it. 1. Paper falls on the floor, even when the tray is extended. Very poor engineering design. 2. There is a huge lag when printing wirelessly. The dialog box to the computer says Printer not responding, and then it prints about 5 - 10 seconds later. 3. In the copy mode, it is very slow. I try to set it to the Fast Mode, and it won't accept the Fast Mode. Didn't have any of these problems with the previous Canon printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good printer

By texasjherrera from austin, tx on 12/22/2012


Pros:

Durable, Easy To Use, High Quality Output, Reliable, Fast Print Speed

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just got this printer and I got it for a good deal, some of the people complaining about the paper tray is just silly. I've printed several pictures already and am pleased with the quality, have used the multi paper scan and I really like that(my old printer didn't have this feature), and the same with copy. I liked how fast my copies print and the printer looks good. Setup was longer than any computer I've had to setup but what ever.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

New user

By Runna from Novato, CA on 12/15/2012


Cons:

Difficult Setup

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have only used this printer for a short time and thus have not used all the features (fax, scan, photo) but I have not liked this printer from day one. The print quality is good and it's fine if you don't mind picking the paper up off the floor when it comes out of the printer. After a few months of use I just discovered that you have to pull out two more tray extensions to keep the paper from falling on the floor. Whoever designed this printer obviously doesn't have to use it. I is also very noisy (annoying)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

setup

By duffydog from GA on 12/08/2012


Cons:

Difficult Setup

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

this is the hardest printer I have ever bought to set up on my wireless network an I have the MX510 which is not even in here my other printer, put sec. code done, this thing keeps saying can connect when the printer is all ready set up with code. thinking of sending it back should be way easy than this


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed

By JRM from Rockville Centre, NY on 05/22/2012


Cons:

Paper Falls To The Ground W/out Making 3 Adjustmen, Slow Print Speed

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this printer to replace a prior cannon printer (MP620). After opening the package and doing the test prints, I decided to return it because of the following: 1) the paper tray must be opened if there is paper in the docking station (MP620 had a concealed paper tray); 2) you have to move three levers/slides to ensure that your printed paper does not fall to the floor. This is the main reason why I am returning this product. The Canon looks so nice, but I could not imagine having to move three separate things in order to prevent printed paper from falling on the floor. Canon clearly made this product to appease people who have a more patience than myself. JRM


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent qualitry and value

By Lee from Baileys Harbor, WI on 04/18/2012


Pros:

Good Quality And Value

Cons:

Somewhat Noisy During Operation

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had to replace another Canon all-in-one - a Pixma MX850 which I loved. After four years it needed replacement, and Canon recommended the 882 but didn't have any in stock so the next item they recommended was this 512. The packaging and set-up instructions were excellent, and the quality of the unit is much better than other competitive units available. I am pleased with all funtions of the unit however it is somewhat noisy during operations, what with the clickety-clack of the machine. That not withstanding, it is a great all-in-one machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy Set Up

By Jack from Wisconsin on 04/12/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Set up was easy and straight forward, getting all the shipping tape off the product was the only challenge. Windows laptop connected wirelessly without issue. Going to the Canon support website and following instructions got my wife's iPad printing wirelessly in 15 minutes. You need to read and follow the instructions carefully for installing Airprint for the Apple products, plug and play may cause some frustration.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved