Home » Computers » Printers » Multifunction Printers » 5786B002 » 109 Reviews

Canon PIXMA MX892 Inkjet Multifunction Printer - Color - Photo Print - Desktop - Printer, Scanner, Copier, Fax - 12.5 ipm Mono/9.3 ipm Color Print (ISO) - 20 Second Photo - 9600 x 2400 dpi Print ipm Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 109 reviews)

40% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

High Quality Output (38), Reliable (26), Fast Print Speed (24), Easy To Use (30), Easy Setup (37), Durable (16), Small Footprint (6)

Cons:

Difficult To Use (12), Unreliable (21), Difficult Setup (11), Slow Print Speed (17), Flimsy Construction (6), Large Footprint (11), Low Quality Output (6)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Just up and died

By Micky from Undisclosed on 10/08/2015

Printer is about two years old. Not used very often. One minute it was working great, the next it just died.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dead Printer

By FormerUserMX892 from Undisclosed on 10/06/2015

The features of the MX892 are numerous, intuitive and simple. Unfortunately, the printer died today, just under two years. This is not what I expected from a Canon product. There is clearly a design flaw in the power system.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

B200 and dead in the water

By MR from Littleton, CO on 09/05/2015

I work from home and go through printers about every 2-3 years. Bought this printer and cleaned it regularly. Always use Canon printer ink. Printed a document and half way through it errored out with the B200 error. I have tried every single suggestion from Canon and the user World. This printer is dead.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Printer I've Owned...

By Anonymous from VA on 08/21/2015

And I've owned many. This was my first canon product after using a series of different printers from the best known brand in the same and higher price range. I've experienced nothing but consistent quality over a two year period printing a combination of photos and documents, and a good bit of scanning. Photo quality IMO is unmatched at this price point. I see the short delays to begin printing and the software that could be improved as minor annoyances that are acceptable given the quality of the output.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works all the time

By Cliff from Cerritos, ca on 08/18/2015

Decent printer. Used Canon printers for decades. Could improve the software ease of use for the scanning.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Horrible Printer- Stay away!

By mc5225 from Phoenix, Az on 07/29/2015

I advise everyone to stay far away from this printer. At first, I absolutely loved the features this printer had to offer. However, after a few months, wireless connectivity was starting to malfunction and I constantly had to reconnect to my computer. A short while after this, it shut itself off after printing a few documents and never turned back on. I tried unplugging it from the wall, unplugging it from the back of the printer... followed all the guidelines on the "help" forums and still no resolve. The printer flat out died and never turned on again...what a waste of money!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cannon Junk

By Brian k from Englishtown, Nj on 07/15/2015

My printer was about a year and half old with only 100 pages ever printed. Used it mostly for fax and resume printing. Out of the blue got wrong print head error like so many other cannon printer owners. Don't buy it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not one minute of trouble

By CJ from Chicago, IL on 06/30/2015

I have been using this printer for over 2 yrs and have not had one minute of trouble with it. Would not hesitate to recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Failed after about 100 pages

By TIm from Undisclosed on 06/24/2015

On paper (joke) this printer/scanner looks great. But it suffers form the usual Canon software stack issues .. too many confusing/overlapping/awful software apps in the bundle. "My Image Garden"?? Are they serious. Much more concerning was that after 18 months of VERY light use (less than 100 pages total), the printer simply stopped working with an "Internal error" message on the screen.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works good but cannot clear error messages

By jo live from Alabama on 05/24/2015

I have loved this MX892 for more than a year and thought I would always buy another mx892. Has great feature, duplex, airprint, scan, works with my iphone and ipad. It use to be good with ink but recently it seems to drink the ink. Had to take the print head out and wash this in the sink. Then had to use compressed air on the blue head to finally clear. Since I print a lot it has a timer that tell you the waste ink is full. So you have press the ok button before it will print. I cleaned the waste ink tanks, but cannot reset the message that the waste ink is full. No joy using the internet and cannot get Cannon to respond to me. Have now decided this is my last MX892 Printer, even though I love all the features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't buy this

By Baron from Ohio on 05/22/2015

Like many others, I received the "incorrect printer head" message, rendering my printer completely worthless even though the printer head was original to the printer. I owned it less than 2 years and used it very infrequently. Save your money and don't buy a Canon, particularly this model.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It was good while it lasted: less than 2 years

By wergreen2 from Undisclosed on 05/06/2015

It was a good printer . . . for less than two years. One day it just stopped printing black. I replaced cartridges, ran all of the maintenance routines, but no luck. Other reviewers report similar problems. I generally like Canon photo products, but I am thinking that I will not try another canon printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

junk

By dont buy this from Undisclosed on 05/06/2015

This printer can do a good job when it feels like it. otherwise it drinks ink, and if the wind blows wrong that day you get a b200 code that basically makes this a great paperwieght. too many printers these days with too many features. pass on this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Broke

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 04/18/2015

dont buy this it broke after a short time. i had this foe less than 1 yr. it was always going off line, then it broke


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Buyer beware!

By marsmic from Undisclosed on 04/11/2015

These MX892 models have stopped working for many users in the past few months. Just Google 'MX892 won't power on' and you will see many (many!) people finding this issue at the moment. One minute all is good, then next minute the unit just goes dark and will not power on. I would strongly recommend avoiding this unit. Sorry for the negative review, but I thought folks need to be warned to steer clear of this printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Too Complicated for Basic Needs

By SDIEGO from San Diego, CA on 03/06/2015

I purchased this a couple of years ago and I am not happy with it because of the multiple ink cartridges that need replacing (expensive) and it is complicated to use. I feel like I am going to the office supply store monthly to replace one or 2 ink tanks. If you just want to do basic printing and scanning I'd find a simpler printer. The quality is excellent as far as the prints go.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Paper Weight

By Stealth from Texas on 03/02/2015

Had this printer for a little more than a year. In time for the warranty to run out. I got an error message U052. No repair possible without spending 2X the cost of a new printer. Will not purchase another Canon product. Ordered another brand. This issue has been reported all over the internet, yet Canon does nothing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor Quality

By Unhappy Customer from Undisclosed on 02/22/2015

I bought this printer for my wife who lightly used it. The printer lasted less than two years before it broke with a cryptic error. It would cost 2x the price to fix. Reading other reviews, it looks like my experience was not unique. I bought a different brand that has better reviews for quality. I will be skipping canon from now on.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad Printer

By Don B from West Hartford, CT on 02/06/2015

Inexpensive printer while it lasted. I got 5 months from my Canon PIXMA MX892 Printer before I got an error message U052. No repair possible without spending 2X the cost of a new printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Then Conked Out Completely

By SET TP from Takoma Park, MD on 01/30/2015

I love Canon printer products and have had great success with them in the past. I bought the PIXMA MX892 in October of 2012 and it lasted only 2 years 3 months before I got the "B200" error message, which means repair is needed. Canon support said the repair was likely to cost as much as a new one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Doesn't last long

By Unhappy Customer from Grove City, OH on 01/26/2015

This printer was great for a very short amount of time and then stopped printing all together. This product should last longer than this. Very disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good printer for Temporary use

By Ink Man from Baltimore, MD on 01/14/2015

Liked this printer for all of its capabilities. Unfortunately, it died with the dreaded B200 code. Looked up this code and lots of people have had the same issue with this printer. I have not had this printer that long, maybe a year. Took print head out, cleaned it, did what Canon suggested about power cord removal and print head removal. No dice. Guess it is trash now. Will buy a different manufacturer next time. Should last longer with the little printing that we do. Only use it sparingly at home.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed

By nolife from Philadelphia, PA on 01/04/2015

Started out as a good unit. After a comparatively small number of copies, got the dreaded U052 error. Tried re-seating, cleaning, and other suggestions. No success. Ended up being a very expensive unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Best

By GB from California on 12/25/2014

It is the Best Printer I have owned and well worth the price I paid.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DO NOT BUY!!

By houdini65 from Undisclosed on 11/02/2014

My printer was working great and then for no reason it wouldn't turn on. I checked every possible problem and it just wouldn't power on. I went to the Canon forum and found that I wasn't the only one to have this problem. There were 80 some posts saying the same thing. http://forums.usa.canon.com/t5/Personal-Printers/Pixma-MX-892-Won-t-Turn-On/td-p/90938


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Started out great....disappointed!

By MISS girl from Tennessee on 11/01/2014

I was initially so impressed with this printer due to the compact size, ease of use, nice print quality and wireless component. Purchased 4/2013. However, in the last 4-5 months I've had nothing but problems. The most frustrating is that the print head has gotten clogged so the colors will not print. I have taken the print head out several times and cleaned as indicated, but it still won't print properly. Besides time lost, I've spent additional money to replace ink cartridges thinking that was the problem. Canon has a great reputation, but I likely won't buy a Canon printer again unless this can be resolved.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good while it lasted

By neenee from rochester, ny on 10/28/2014

I have read several customers that experienced the same issue that I have. I have had my mx892 for approximately 15 months and it just stopped printing. the machine goes through the motion of printing, but the paper is blank. I have gone through all of the maint. available, several time, but still no printed pages. there seems to be a flaw with this machine since so many others have experienced the same issue.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sudden Death at 14 months

By MinPA from Philadelphia on 10/18/2014

Very happy with this printer until it suddenly died. Without warning, while printing it just went dark and refuses to power up. Lasted only 14 months after moderate usage. I found a number of posts from consumers who had the identical experience. Strongly suggest you avoid this model since it clearly has reliability issues. A shame, because this was a great all-in-one before its untimely demise.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Decent printer. Didn't last long though.

By Wes from Hood River, OR on 10/06/2014

Tremendously dissapointed at the build quality of things these days. This printer is the latest victim of a short lifespan and ink nozzle perma-clog. Liked the printer for the short time I had it which was a little over a year. A few months back the cyan color nozzle became clogged and I was unable to clean it using the canon self cleaning tools.. Today the power supply quit and it will no longer turn on. Might have to try a different brand this time around.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Inexpensive to operate, simple to use.

By adggjs from Michigan on 09/09/2014

This is a great machine. The wireless works very well. To get full benefit of this unit, be sure to dial-down the ink settings to 50%. Your cartridges last forever (almost). You can easily print a ream of paper after the indicator says "Empty". Photo quality is the only time I use the Auto setting on ink. Scanning a stack of documents could not be easier. The two-sided print saves a lot of paper. The best multi-function machine/printer I've ever seen.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MOSTLY ALL GOOD

By diva from los angeles on 09/08/2014

I have had this MX 892 now for 2 years with no problems. it is hardwired into my network. I mostly scan and do very little printing,but when i do, it does go through ink quite rapidly, but what printer doesn't. The scanner program i have is wonderful. i gather Canon is not going to be using it anymore which is a shame. it is called MP Navigator and has a simple, clean interface with many options. i have been on hold for some time now to find out how to get rid of a line down the side of scanned docs. they once told me how to fix it, but that fix doesn't seem to be working now. I am amazed that Canon makes all these reviews public. wow. an honest company with a mediocre product according to some.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good but only lasted 21 Months

By Stringbean from Columbus, OH on 09/06/2014

This was our second Canon printer, our fist one lasted 4 years. The MX892 was a very good printer for 20 months. The print quality was good, it didn't use a lot of ink, and it was easy to setup. We had no problems with the printer until the power supply died. I think it should last longer for price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WIll not turn on anymore after just over a year

By plasticsdj from Tracadie NB on 08/27/2014


Cons:

Will Not Power Up

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this item just over a year a go . Was working great till all of a sudden will not Power up. There has got to be a company defect as I have found other people online with same issue.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Poor Product

By NR from Undisclosed on 08/23/2014


Cons:

Printer Head Failure, Definite Product Malfunction With Printer Head, Unreliable, Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have had the pixma 892 just long enough to be past it`s guarantee. Printer head error message (U52) and then it will not print black at all/ continues to lose its settings. Lite use from me but yet buying ink in unbelievable amounts. I can understand a canon product that may perform less than stellar / but i think canon should then extend the guarantee and reimburse the customers for such a poor product, if they value their customers. I would not recommend this printer to anyone, and would not purchase another canon printer, related to the concern of the ink use and other problems with this printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good printer

By Canon892 from usa on 08/12/2014


Pros:

High Quality Output, Reliable, Easy Setup, Easy To Use, Fast Print Speed, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very good print quality and works well as a workcenter. I have used this printer for over a year now. Remote printing is easy to setup and works well. Very happy with the purchase. The large internal paper tray is a nice feature and no paper jams or hardware issues encountered so far.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great but dies in a year

By frustratedmom from Phoenix, az on 08/02/2014


Pros:

Easy Setup, High Quality Output

Cons:

Expensive Ink, Unreliable, Print Heads Burn Out Quickly

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is the second canon pixma printer that I have purchased in the past 2.5 years. The first one (mx882) lasted just about 18 months perhaps less before I got the dreaded b200 error message (print heads burnt out) The print quality was terrific but the ink was pricey. I purchased my second pixma (mx892) about a year ago and it worked terrific until yesterday when I got the b200 error again, I am a casual printer (maybe 25-30 pages per month) mostly black and white documents with the occasional photos and colorful school project for the kids, there is no reason that the print heads should burn out after minimal use. I will not buy another canon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Revised review

By Doc from 'sconsin on 07/28/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been asked to re-write my earlier review of the MX892. So I will not talk about the fact that the 18 month old printer stopped working. That is the end of my review


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Wifi Connection out of 3 brands

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 07/17/2014


Pros:

Easy Setup, Small Footprint, Reliable, Easy To Use

Cons:

Slow Print Speed

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Over the past 6 years, this was my third brand printer. Out of the three, this one was the easiest to connect to from all my computers and phones (OSX, Windows7, Android, iOS) and STAY connected. The others would have to be completely redone every so often. Reading some of the other reviews, and having experienced many different printers over the years, let me tell you, they ALL use ink faster than you think, and they ALL eventually break after a few years. Pull your head out of the sand and realize the consumer world we live in, which nothing is made to last on purpose. I dont like that fact anymore than the next person, but you're fooling yourself if you think its just one brand. I have had this thing for a year and half and its still working like it did on day one, and has stay connected to my network wireless the whole time. I love the design, I can close the tray to keep it out of the way and when I give the print command, it auto folds down!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great while it lasted, but diidn't last long.

By Didn't Last Long from NJ on 07/07/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, Reliable, High Quality Output, Easy Setup, Fast Print Speed

Cons:

Broke After Only About Year Of Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

PRO: This was the best printer I had ever owned. WHILE IT LASTED & that was only for about a year. I used this mostly for SCANNING old family photos & documents. It was great & easy to use for that. CONS: 1-INK was expensive & didn't last. Felt like I was always running out & I only bought CANNON INK. 2- I only printed on occasion & 95% of the time only printed in BLACK, but the colors didn't last either. 3- Did not print photos, only documents and that was only on occasion. 4- It only lasted a year & then I got a code B200. I use this only for home use & I am the only person using it. I DO TAKE GOOD CARE OF MY PRINTER & ONLY BUY CANNON INK, as my private computer teck suggested. Actually I have never bought an off brand ink for any of my printers, always bought the ink made from the Manf. I did call Cannon, today & they said they would send me a replacement. BUT POSSIBLE NOT HIS MODEL & POSSIBLE A REFURBISHED MODEL. I'm so disappoint in cannon products right now, If I had to replace on mine own, I would not be buying from the same company. My Old printer, was that was much harder on ink, but lasted 8 years. I'm not joking about that 8 years & never an issue.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Disappointed

By canonnomore from MN on 06/26/2014


Cons:

Unreliable

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Have had this printer less than two years. Workied fine (very light home usage) but now the printer displays a B200 error. From all my research this is a common error with Canon printers and most people end up buying a replacement. Up until now I have been a big fan of Canon but based on this printer and a Canon camera that I recently purchased (problems that resulted in multiple calls to Canon support, sending the camera in for service and it still does not work correctly) I will NEVER purchase anything from Canon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst Purchase in the World

By Cooper from Chicago, IL on 06/18/2014


Cons:

Low Quality Output, Unreliable, Slow Print Speed

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I never write reviews on anything so I am basically only writing this to show you how much awful this printer really is. I seldomly use this printer as I do not really need to print many things. Whenever I go to print something, the ink is low on one of the cartridges. It doesn't matter which one but I am constantly buying ink for it. I literally only print 5 pages of something and next thing I know ink is low. Not only this, but I never print in color and somehow the color ink goes low as often as the black ink. It's like the ink gets siphoned out from it while it is off. Will never buy another Canon product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What a lemon

By HeyJoe from Undisclosed on 06/07/2014


Pros:

Easy Setup, Easy To Use

Cons:

Flimsy Construction, Unreliable

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

What a lemon. Really like the features, software, and control interface on the printer. But the like stops there. It performs fine. But goes through ink like a kid goes through candy. Requires Canon cartridges or it will give you erorrs if you want to try 3rd party ink. Lasted about a year, then gave me a B200 error and stopped working. Tried all the troubleshooting steps I could find, but no luck. Wiith poor quality products like this, I won't be buying another Canon printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

PixmaMX892. Terrible with ...

By Fla customer from Undisclosed on 06/02/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

PixmaMX892. Terrible with photo paper. Goes through ink faster than we can keep up - even if we choose only Black ink. Would not purchase this model again. Now we have to have it serviced or get a new one due to a paper jam.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

worked for a while, then died

By sad owner from San Diego, CA on 05/15/2014


Cons:

Unreliable

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Wireless printing never worked well so I used it mostly as a scanner or fax machine. All of a sudden the machine just died. Followed protocol with unplugging and wait for at least 30 min before restarting. Still same problem, no power to the printer. used a new power cable, still same problem.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not very happy here

By justme from Texas on 04/26/2014


Pros:

Reliable, Durable, Easy Setup, Easy To Use

Cons:

Low Quality Output, Slow Print Speed

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Ok , my canon stopped working yesterday :-( It was printing fine and then all of the sudden gave me a B200 error and that was that. My son who knows a lot about computers and such tried everything to get it to work but nothing. seemed to work, its done capoots !!! I had this printer for about 3 1/2 to 4 years and it did a decent job. But was pretty slow and was not very clear in printing and photos weren't very clear either. This was for my personal use so i really didn't mind which is why i kept it but I wasn't really happy with my purchase. Now I'm hunting for a new one and don't know what to get..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Generally works well

By Accountant901 from Memphis TN on 04/10/2014


Pros:

Easy Setup

Cons:

Slow Print Speed

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I may have discovered a solution for the printer using color ink to print black. I allowed all of my color cartridges to run completely dry and started printing only from the black cartridge. Now, it seems to be printing only from my black 225 cartridge (unless of course I print color and then it does a good job). I had no problem with the setup. It connected to my Wi-Fi on the 1st attempt.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Can I give it ZERO stars?

By JenH from Undisclosed on 04/08/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

If you like to spend an hour trying to make it print, buy this printer. It inexplicably goes offline, has errors, is not responding, etc. Don't think it's our wifi since everything else stays online. Also, it seems to print about 5 pages before you need 1 of the 5 ink cartridges.... ka-ching, ka-ching $$$. I can't live with this printer much longer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

PIXMA MX892 BEWARE

By Student from Undisclosed on 02/23/2014


Pros:

Nice User Congifuration, Decent Price

Cons:

Included Software Useless, Loves To Go 'off Line'

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This printer does a fine job when it works. I have had issues for quite a while with the printer going 'off line' while connected via Wi-Fi and while connected via USB. The only thing I can count on is that I can't count on this printer working without jumping through hoops 98% of the time I want to use it. The included software is a waste since going on line to download the software is the only working option. I will continue battling this device until either I finally get too tired of it or it breaks on its own.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Never buy again

By Very Disappointed from Undisclosed on 02/21/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've had this product for almost 2 years. It worked well in the beginning but found it slow. It goes through the colour cartridges very quickly and they're not cheap. I got an error message of B200 and found out that the printer head was probably gone and its replacement would be about the price of a new printer. I would never buy a Canon product again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Product works well as Adveritsed

By Professor Bill from Orange County, CA on 02/16/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When Writer/Printer is used as Advertised it works well as a Home Office product


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great features and performance but not reliable

By Mike from Charlotte, NC on 01/10/2014


Pros:

Easy Setup, Easy To Use, High Quality Output

Cons:

Unreliable

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Prints very well; a little slow but quality is good. The included software works very well for scanning. However, after about 9 months the printer gave me a "U052" error and said I installed the wrong printhead. Search for it on the Canon forums; it seems to be a common problem. Now I'm waiting for an a warranty exchange, but it's on backorder!?!? Would be a 5 star printer if it was reliable. A flagship printer should not break after 9 months.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Printer !!!

By INURBEX from Seymour,IN on 01/04/2014


Pros:

Durable, Easy Setup, Display, Pyramid Design, High Quality Output, Reliable, Easy To Use

Cons:

8.5/10 Print Speed

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've owned this printer now for over a year.I've used several printer brands & models over the years but this printer here is the best I have ever used.Very dependable.Very user friendly & has more options than a fully loaded car.I haven't used 1/2 of the options this printer has available.Connects easily to Bluetooth & Wireless Routers like the ASUS RT-N56U & RT-N65U Routers.Scans images fairly quickly.Prints fairly quickly also.I give these 2 an 8.5 out of 10 which is a very good rating.The design of it is what appealed to me.The screen was the 2nd.It has the look of a Pyramid somewhat which I think is excellent.I'm so amazed with this printer that I'm currently in the process of buying the upgraded model the: MX922.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Hwardware Ruined by Confused Software

By DrTim from Undisclosed on 01/03/2014


Pros:

High Quality Output, Fast Print Speed

Cons:

Horrible Software, Difficult Setup, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've been using Canon printers and scanners for some years now, and the MX890 continues the Canon tradition of combining great hardware with a befuddled mess of overlapping and confusing software. Instead of a nice clean scan/print application, you get multi drivers (with overlapping functions), multiple scan+print applications (with overlapping functions), and multiple utilities. And good luck figuring out which is which from the scant documentation on the Canon web site. Worse still, the apps themselves are amateurish .. some have huge buttons, some tiny. Even the basic driver is a confused mess. For example, the MX890 scanner shows up twice: once as "MX890 series" and once as "MX890 series Network". Why? Whice one should I use? The docs are silent. And if you choose one a "Change" button lights up that takes you to ANOTHER dialog box which presents a NEW list of scanners using DIFFERENT names ("mx890") and asking to choose one again. it's very clear no-one at Canon has any real idea of how to make a well designed application. So, buy the unit for great printing and scanning, but be prepared to spend a while figuring out the confused mess that is the scanner/printer software.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product

By richardssmt4 from Nevada City, Ca. on 11/28/2013


Pros:

Individual Ink Colors, Fast Print Speed, High Quality Output, Easy Setup, Easy To Use

Cons:

Non Printed Manual

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I would prefer to have a printed manual. My usage is mainly printing of documents and photos,some fax.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer for home office!

By Dan from Bradenton, Fl on 11/20/2013


Pros:

Small Footprint, Fast Print Speed, High Quality Output, Reliable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have had this printer for about a year. It has been very reliable as we don't use it every day. But when we do it's always ready!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

worst purchase ever

By DISAPPOINTED from Undisclosed on 11/15/2013


Cons:

Unreliable, Slow Print Speed

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have gone through more ink than ever, uses color ink when printing black and white....makes no sense, freezes up after 2 printings on a regular basis, have tried the suggestions to unplug, etc., has been the biggest waste of my work hours so has cost me money in that sense as well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Super printer for the price

By John.e.b from Milwaukee, WI on 10/29/2013


Pros:

Fast Print Speed, High Quality Output, Easy To Use, Easy Setup, Reliable

Cons:

Ink Goes Quick But Is Inexpensive.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I picked this printer up about a year ago, it's performed very well and has been reliable for me. I use it via wireless from both PC and MAC computers as well as printing from my Android phones and iPads. A ton of functions and it was easy to setup. My only gripe would be that the ink cartridges do not last as long as I see with competing printers. Also as one would expect, when reading memory cards from the printer to my PCs it is relatively slow but does indeed go faster if I switch to a network cable instead of wireless. Still, I am very satisfied and intend to stick with similar Canon printers when I need another.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Printer/fax I have owned

By radar from Undisclosed on 10/26/2013


Pros:

High Quality Output, Reliable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The MX892 is without any doubt the best printer/fax I have ever owned. The copies are clean and concise The fax does what is supposed to do, send the copies to the correct recipient. The only draw back is that it does not come with a users manual, making it difficult to get started until you figure it out.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

When it functions, the MX ...

By Bee from Undisclosed on 10/07/2013


Pros:

High Quality Output

Cons:

Review Site Bias Must Say You Are A Canon Enthusi, No Owners Manual, Customer Site Could Be More Helpful, Difficult To Use, Unreliable

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

When it functions, the MX 892 does a good job of printing. Speed isn't fast, but is satisfactory. But setup is unnecessarily complex, and I'm old school, and need an owners manual. Regardless of what the store tells you, this doesn't come with one, and if you have a problem, trying to correct it will become problem #2. The site doesn't list the MX 892 as one of the MX models, and it doesn't matter, because their problem solving site is simplistic and of almost no value. Trying to get a problem corrected, my printer now wants to only print from the back unless I'm using the computer; may be beyond the Canon sites ability, or mine to figure out the site. Basically, the MX 892 is worthless if you encounter any problems, and today I did.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awful, just like all other printers I've used

By Student from Undisclosed on 10/01/2013


Cons:

Difficult Setup, Unreliable, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Terrible: - Uses up color ink even when I tell it to print only black and white - Spontaneously turns itself off, then says "Power was not shut off correctly" Bad: - Does not give sufficient warning about ink levels. - Slow turn-on and operation time. Ok, I guess: - Does duplex printing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

error error error error

By polar765 from Yakima Wa on 09/22/2013


Cons:

Low Quality Output, Unreliable

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

second canon printer that shows constant errors and the picture print quality is terrible ,same error as the last canon printer


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The best printer I ever used!

By Ffej5647 from Columbus, oh on 08/29/2013


Pros:

High Quality Output, Reliable, Fast Print Speed, Easy Setup, Small Footprint

Cons:

Flimsy Construction

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer is absolutely wonderful! The ink seems to last almost forever and it has a very fast print speed with little noise. The back tray did break off so it does have a cheap construction in some areas. My biggest gripe is no Linux support! This is very hard for me to get over as I am a Linux user but drivers are available when you setup the computer on Linux but there is 0 Linux support on the website! No software or anything available for download! That is just disgusting! Other than that, there is nothing else to complain about! I would definitely recommend this printer to both novice users and experienced users!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

PIXMA MX892 Rocks!

By agirlinhouston from Houston, TX on 08/23/2013


Pros:

High Quality Output, Easy Setup, Fast Print Speed, Durable, Reliable, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This wireless printer, scanner, fax and copier is great. I print from my iPad, iPhone and computer and it is so reliable. This is my second Canon product and I am sold on Canon. The replacement ink is easy to find and is not expensive. I have never had a jam on this printer. I am still amazed at the quality of work it gives me. It is very quiet and I love it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WORKS GREAT

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 08/22/2013


Pros:

High Quality Output, Reliable, Durable, Fast Print Speed

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like the product because it is reliable. The wireless function works flawlessly. The way it spends ink is ok. I set mine to 'grayscale' & draft mode. Canon lets you permanently do this, unlike the competition. I've tried other brands that don't let you lock settings. Canon is the best at saving ink that way. This is an outstanding printer.. don't believe the bad reviews. My last Canon lasted over 7 years, until I accidentally spilled water on the inside. I've had this unit for about 1 year.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

print ink warnings

By TnB from OR on 08/17/2013


Cons:

Ink Cartridge Warning

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Use color infrequently, yet within a month of changing cartridges, get the message that my ink may be out. First time I bought new and replaced, but when that warning happened to those also, I continued printing - for four months now! I feel I threw away that first set based upon a faulty warning - to sell more cartridges??


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Canon MX892

By Dee from San Jose, CA on 08/14/2013


Pros:

Easy Setup

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Uses more ink than any other printer I have ever had. Uses colored ink when I print using grey and the colored keeps going down also. What's with that?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best injet printer yet...

By Greg from Baton Rouge, LA on 08/08/2013


Pros:

High Quality Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Reliable

Cons:

Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I don't use it often as I have a laser printer also... if this printer came in a color laser version it'd get a 20 out of 10... I don't really like the Canon software... the printer is pretty darn big... but its appearance is great... print quality is great... the dual paper trays, duplex printing, duplex scanning, etc... are all great at the price point! airprint, google cloud printing, etc! Can't go wrong!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

awsome

By drey from california on 08/08/2013


Pros:

Fast Print Speed, Easy To Use, High Quality Output, Durable, Easy Setup

Cons:

Sometimes Disconects From Wifi Conection

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

love this printer and does everything I need and is so simple to setup


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This model stinks

By Tigress from Undisclosed on 08/02/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Fast Print Speed, Easy Setup

Cons:

Unreliable

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This worked great the first time and now I can't get it to print at all. even after deleting it and re-installing it, it only works once. The 2nd time it doesn't work at all. Too bad for me because its too late to return so in the trash it goes. I'm so very DISAPOINTED with cannon!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not as Expected

By Canon Customer from Laurel, MD on 07/13/2013


Cons:

Difficult Setup, Slow Print Speed

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The appearance and quality of the product are fine. The instruction and ability to load the product onto my computer was very difficult and required numerous attempts and intervention from the technical support team. Definitely would not purchase again or recommend Once installed the output quality was low and the speed was slow.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I Love It!

By 2 Cents from Houston, TX on 06/26/2013


Pros:

Durable, Easy Setup, Reliable

Cons:

Slow Print Speed

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm surprised by and disagree with the low overall rating! PROS: Easy basic setup. I was printing from both PC and iPad within 20 minutes after opening the box. I was scanning to PC as well; scanning to iPad isn't as intuitive and I haven't had time to read up on it so it could be me missing something somewhere The simple workaround of the email capability makes me not look too hard for solutions. 2 sided scanning, even through the ADF's 35 page capacity Very low print cost when using inexpensive remanufactured or non-OEM ink. CONS: Lower scan resolution (without CCD) than the very similar MG8220. If scanning is more important than a fax, definitely get the non-faxing MG8220 due to its superior scanning. Fewer printhead nozzles than the MG8220 - 6,144 vs 4,608 nozzles, and that seems worthy of note. It's slow. I read comments about the slow speed and thought since i was replacing a 5 year old Pixma MP530, speed would be comparable. It is not - particularly the first time out speed. It takes longer to wake up than I do. It seems to drink ink like coffee, too, which is greatly offset when using non-OEM.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A downgrade from Pixma 700

By Jim from St Louis, MO on 05/23/2013


Cons:

Slow Print Speed, Ridiculous Wait At Power Up, Difficult To Use, Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is the slowest printer I have ever had and that goes back 20+ years. Warmup time upon powering up gives you time to go have breakfast. Previously had a MX700 which ran circles around this machine. Sorely disappointed with this product. If this is the future of Canon products, it is definitely my last. Thought it would be an upgrade of my 5 year old MX700. Boy was I wrong--a real turkey.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WiFi Setup

By Anonymous from Las Vegas, NV on 05/08/2013


Cons:

Unreliable, Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup, Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have never had any printer or other devices as difficult to setup as this printer. I will be returning.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not my favorite

By Loly from Nashua, Nyh on 05/08/2013


Pros:

High Quality Output, Fast Print Speed

Cons:

Uses Color Ink For Black And White, Will Not Let You Print If Color Cartridge Empty, Difficult Setup, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This printer is not user friendly. The printer is not intuitive. I have to push to many buttons to get what I want. It seems to be using color ink even though I've set it to grayscale as evidenced by it needing color ink cartridges even though everything I print is in black and white or should be.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

printer goes to sleep

By jeff from phoenix,az on 04/09/2013


Pros:

Easy Setup, Fast Print Speed, High Quality Output

Cons:

Goes To Sleep, Unreliable

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have had this printer for about a year now, and the most annoying thing about it, is that it goes to sleep if you do not print for a couple of days and to get it to work, you have to unplug it, then plug it back in. turning power off will not work, you have to unplug it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Printer Ever!

By Zachary from Los Angeles, CA on 04/04/2013


Pros:

Fast Print Speed, Durable, High Quality Output, Easy To Use, Easy Setup, Reliable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer is blazing fast, and I expected an inkjet to be slow. Wireless works great, and so does copy! I haven't tried the fax or scan, since I just got the printer yesterday. This printer beats laser jets! It's that good! There is nothing bad about this printer, everything is flawless, and it definitely meets my standards and exceeds them!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wireless is Problematic

By BOYD19572 from Charlotte, NC on 04/01/2013


Pros:

Easy Setup, High Quality Output

Cons:

Unreliable

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I use the printer several times a week. On average once a week there is no response from the printer, which has been a consistent issue since I purchased the printer 4 months ago. Solution efforts usually require 30-60 minutes and can consist of some or all of the following: power off/on the printer, computer, router and cable modem, resetting cables/electrical cords, re-entering router password and resetting the printer paper and ink-jets. I like the quality of the print when I use the copy feature and when the printer prints from my computer. Though having to trouble-shoot and resolve the printer when it can't be reached is an effort that interrupts my work day which equates to lost productivity. After four months I'm ready to replace it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer with minor concerns

By Penacious H from West-Central NJ on 03/24/2013


Pros:

Fast Print Speed, High Quality Output, Easy To Use, Best Photos Ever, Reliable, Easy Setup

Cons:

Ink Costs, Flimsy Construction

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Came back to Canon after prior good experiences with one of the first Pixma ink jet printers (ip4200) and AIO the MP530 (which lived on and just died after 6-7 yrs of great service). Set up was easiest ever w/my Mac and almost as easy w/PCs in the house. Wireless works great (wish print quality could be set to fast from devices...). Photos JUST POP! So much better than other makes, using Canon paper...though others were OK, I understand the recommendation better now. After straying for a 'deal,' came back to get the wireless AND collating and double sided scanning and ease of use. I have a few concerns: 1) the seeming flimsiness of the extenders for the paper on back and front; 2) and that the amount of ink in the single carts dropped from 15 or so ml for my MP530 (PG 5 and 8s) to only NINE for the 226's for this one... 3) a bit disappointed at features lost on this one that were available before--specifically, my old MP530 would automatically switch from one input source to other if paper ran out from first source, mid-printing. This one does not (or I cannot find it, and I DID look). But after trying other comparably priced products, these are quibbles...liked this so much, bought a lower feature/price printer from same line for low volume p/t office. For the most part, this couldn't be beat. Would buy again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worthless

By Macexpert from Wisconsin on 03/20/2013


Cons:

Difficult To Use, Unreliable, Deceptive Instructions, Difficult Setup

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The skimpiness of printed instructions and lack of descriptions with labels even on the disk necessitated a call to support service to find where to install the cartridges. Then in trying to print, instructions on the printer referred to nonexistent parts, rear paper loader and cassette. I hate the chore of repackaging and returning a large item, but it is a necessity in this case.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor engineering

By uni from Sac, CA on 03/12/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This printer has caused me nothing but issues: Prints blank pages after printing several black pages. I change to a different black cartridge, prints again, but just for a little while. Also, sometimes prints in blue ink when it should be black. I think it's defective and I am trying to get it replaced.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

functions well while it lasts but costly

By printerglad from Undisclosed on 03/09/2013


Pros:

High Quality Output

Cons:

Slow Print Speed, Flimsy Construction, Unreliable, Difficult Setup

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Just received my second of these printers. First one didn't even last 2 years. Fax component broke down after 14 months and after less than two years it has difficulties feeding the paper basically taking 3 pieces of paper for each page printed. Ordered a second one as availability of all in one printers are low and I could get my second one by using points. positive is that photos print well. Also wireless feature never worked on our first printer


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Frustration

By Mark from Crystal Beach, FL on 03/04/2013


Cons:

Difficult To Use, Flimsy Construction

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My MX850 developed some sort of paper handling problems, so I got the MX892 via Canon's replacement program. Sorry I did. You can't select to print from the rear paper tray from the printer console! The MX850 had a button on console to select paper path (cassette or rear tray). On the 892 you have to select paper type from your program, and apparently the printer will pull from rear tray if it is not Letter paper. 30 buttons on the console and they can't put 1 button to select paper? And the rear paper tray is really cheesy. You barely touch it and it falls off. On the 850 it was permanently attached, and you could even fold it down completely out of the way if you wanted. This one fits into 2 notches, but doesn't "click" into place, so it easily falls out. Just cheap.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not happy at all

By not happy from Undisclosed on 02/18/2013


Pros:

Looks Nice, Easy Setup, Easy To Use

Cons:

What Manual, Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Printer was easy to set up to wi fi network. The printer worked good for what I needed it for until the other day when I got a error code on the lcd screen. Code 5200 was displayed. The printer does not work at all. The message said to unpower and then power up. If that doesn't work look in the manual. Well it didn't work and the manual does not address code 5200. Now I get to see how customer support will treat me. Had this unit for about six months. At this moment I would not recommend.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I have used the MX892 for ...

By mitch from Central Indiana on 02/16/2013


Cons:

Difficult To Use, Slow Print Speed, Unreliable

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have used the MX892 for 5 months now. It prints great photos and does a fair job on ordinary letter printing. Printing envelopes is another story. It is much to involved when doing different sized envelopes. I still have a Cannon Pixima 6000d in the office, and everybody prints envelopes on it not the 892. We still have a Cannon copier in the office, so the copier hasn't been used. I spend too much valuable time fixing problems,so this printer will have to go. Please bring the 6000D back. I can't reccomend this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not happy with this printer

By ChiChi from Massachusetts on 02/13/2013


Cons:

Slow Print Speed, Low Quality Output

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this printer after my previous Canon printer bit the dust. After reading reviews on many different printers, I finally decided on this one. I am mainly using this for printing black and white things off the computer or printing my own documents. The other reason I bought it was because it got good reviews for color rendition and quality. Well, quality is there, but color rendition is way off! I create greeting cards from my photos, and after comparing the results of what is on my computer screen and what came out, not even close! Also, even though I have done the maintenance, I am still getting lines through my photos...not a happy camper. I am disappointed. And as far as setup, never could set it up with wireless. This machine also takes a long time to warm up, and initial printing takes forever. I haven't used the fax or scan features yet, but I am already disappointed in the color copying and speed. Sorry I couldn't give it a better report. Canon support over the phone is good, but the manual is not. wish the manual came in the box!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Some good some bad

By Mobile attorney from Billings, Montana on 02/03/2013


Cons:

Skin Tone Is Orange If There Is Red In The Picture, Wireless Set Up Did Not Work

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this printer because I have an older generation of this printer that works well except I could never get the fax to work. I thought I would try this new generation because I need an all in one with a fax that works. The fax works great but I am dissapointed in the photo print quality. The photo is offset on the paper, which means there is something wrong with the paper feed mechanism. I first printed a picture of myself with my 9 year old daughter with mostly blue tones and the picture was great. Then I printed a picture with my daughter and her half sister and the photo was terrible. The red in my daughter's sister's clothing bled into their faces. So I tried a picture of myself from a couple years ago with myself wearing a shirt with red in it. My shirt printed with the wrong red tone and the red bled into our faces making our skin tones too red or orange. It otherwise prints fine as long as there is no red in the person's clothing. The wireless set up was a pain and would no work. I finaly gave up and set it up using a USB cable, which was a snap.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

easy to use

By Anonymous from Gresham, Oregon on 01/26/2013


Pros:

High Quality Output, Easy Setup, Fast Print Speed, Reliable, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

easy to use and set up. user friendly set up for wireless and fax. on screen instructions is easy to follow. I highly recommend it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

so far so good

By cac from Tacoma, WA on 01/21/2013


Pros:

Good Value, Easy To Use, High Quality Output

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have only used this for a couple of days, but so far it has met or exceeded my expectations. I am moderately computer savvy, but not knowledgeable enough to be overly confident, so I was very careful in following the instructions in setting it up, and all went exactly as described. Everything was in the box that was supposed to be. However, it does not come with a USB PC cable. I know that everyone thinks wireless is wonderful, but I don't like it at home, and had to recycle the cable from my old printer. I have an older computer running Windows 7, and It took about 45 minutes from beginning to end including downloading the "My Photo Garden softwear from the website. Customizing the settings is a typical procedure if you've worked with other printer setups. I was originally going to get the MX432, but decided to spring for the duplexing print AND copy features of the 892, and I am glad I did. Try and find another duplexing ADF copier for this price! I noted that the new model, the MX922 is coming out soon, and was tempted to wait, but this model has the USB and memory card slots, which I thought might be useful as I don't have a bluetooth or rf enabled camera. It is a large machine, but seems substantial and well made. It also is very nice looking. It operates smoothly and quietly, with none of the herky-jerky sounds that you get with very cheap printers. The paper tray seems a little flimsy, and is fairly small, with maybe a 100 sheet capacity. This is OK for me, as I print only occasionally. The LCD display gives good instructions, and makes the printer reasonably unconfusing to operate. I have printed duplex, and copied both single and duplex, as well as scanned to my pc, all going smoothly. I have printed from all my programs and applications, and used the webprint softwear, and it all works as it is supposed to. I really don't have a need for the faxing capability, so I have not used that. Bottom Line: It Works like it is supposed to, and as advertised. It looks good and seems well made. It set up without any unforseen problems, exactly as the instructions described. It has lots of features and capabilities for the current asking price. I am completely satisfied thus far, but am withholding a full 5 stars to see how it performs over time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good value

By Sam from NC on 01/04/2013


Pros:

High Quality Output, Durable

Cons:

Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Initial set up was relatively easy using the on screen instructions on the printer. The written instructions could use some work but acceptable. I suggest you read them. I agree that the unit is bigger and heavier than expected. Unit has just been installed so my opinion is preliminary. I have not test eprint or cloud print. It is not obvious how to use them. If you will use the system on a wireless network you will not need a USB cable. That is where the written instructions are not clear. Install the printer drivers with the CD once you have it online on your home network. Run the disk on every computer in the house. That means you should not use the standard 'install' printer function on windows. Otherwise you will not get all the functionality. It is not plug and play so some modest computer knowledge is required.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By DB FROM NC from Raleigh, NC on 01/03/2013


Pros:

Reliable, Easy To Use, Great Design, Easy Setup

Cons:

Expensive Oem Ink

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Replacing an older MX870 which was struck by lightning. This printer is just as good as the old version, but now has AirPrint as an addition. Love the all-around utility of the printer and it even does a good job on photo prints.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not User Friendly, Manual Awful, Performance Good

By JJ Finnigan from Northern California on 12/28/2012


Pros:

Lots Of Features, High Quality Output

Cons:

Not Intuitive Awful Manual, Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My wife & I have been Canon enthusiasts for over 15 years - 5 digital cameras and 5 multifunction printers - but this not-user-friendly PIXMA MX892, which I've owned for 8+ weeks, has me frustrated to the point I'm ready to tear my hair out. On the plus side, the MX892 has (at least on paper) lots of features that were lacking in most of my earlier Canon Multifunction machines (eg, fax capability, duplex printing, optical character reader ("OCR") etc.). And except for its very slow print speed (especially for first page), the features I've actually used definitely have been satisfactory. But so far, after 8+ weeks of several hours per day use, I have been unable to use several of these on-paper features, primarily because (1) Their use is NOT intuitive or user friendly, and (2) The on-screen manual is near useless in instructing you how to use those features. (Also I can no longer find the phone number of the warranted toll free telephone support.) Example # 1 - OCR: Just yesterday, I spent 2.5 hours trying to use the OCR sub-function of the Scan feature. I was NOT successful. (I was trying to take an attorney prepared Will, standard typeface, and scan/OCR it into my word processing program for a minor revision that switched a small gift from one charitable beneficiary to another - Why pay an attorney $400/hour for such a simple change?) First, the manual's table of contents does not even mention OCR. Then when I used the manual's search engine for OCR, it returned 22 different sections that mentioned OCR, but none of the sections had step-by-step instructions on how to use OCR. (It was like Canon started with a comprehensive 100 paragraph treatise on how to use OCR, but decided to include only paragraphs 19, 33, 57 and 83 in the on-screen manual.) One of the 22 sections had a picture of a form which at the bottom had a click-able box entitled "convert to text file", but when (finally, after 2.5 hours) I got that form onto my monitor, the "convert to text file" box on the bottom was missing. I then gave up in frustration. What good is an OCR function if you can't use it? Example # 2 - Incoming Faxes: (a) I spent over an hour scrupulously following the manual's instructions re settings and connecting the MX892 to a telephone jack, and a telephone to the MX892. Turns out, two of the manual's recommended settings were incompatible, you could use one or the other, not both. But the manual never said that. Not a fatal flaw, but definitely frustrating and time consuming. (b) Before purchasing the MX892, I checked the on-screen manual, which clearly said that if the MX892 itself was in your office, but you picked up a ringing phone extension in the kitchen (the so-called "remote" extension) and heard a beep, meaning the incoming communication was a fax, you simply pressed 25 on the remote extension, and the MX892's fax function took over and did its job. Turns out, this is NOT true if the extension phone is a conventional extension phone with its own telephone jack - The "remote extension" feature works only if the remote extension is a wireless handset linked to a base unit that is connected to the MX892. But SURPRISE: The manual doesn't tell you that. OK, so now (several weeks later) I've purchased and installed the requisite wireless phone system. Unfortunately, now it's even worse - I can't receive any incoming faxes at all, whether I pick up the wireless remote handset, or the handset on the base unit which is hard-wired to the MX892. I've had the MX892 for 8+ weeks, and I still can't get incoming faxes. Maybe I'll eventually find that toll free technical support phone number, and maybe I'll get my MX892 fully operational. Maybe. Note: My wife & I have loved Canon products for over 15 years, and I still believe the hardware portion of Canon products is top quality. But a few years ago - about the time they switched from paper manuals to on-screen - the quality of the manuals went from A- to F+. And as a practical matter, that makes the high quality hardware less than fully functional.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Rear Tray is the Key

By KidKihei from Kihei HI on 11/29/2012


Pros:

Fast Print Speed, Easy To Use, Reliable, Easy Setup, Durable, High Quality Output

Cons:

Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Finally found a decent printer with a rear tray paper feeder! This is a necessity for printing checks, envelopes and non-std paper sizes. I struggled with front loaders and returned them all in favor of this printer. Any printer with a rear tray paper feeder is preferable to one with only a cassette. Bravo Canon! Plenty Mahalos!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

worse

By Doug from WA State on 11/28/2012


Cons:

Unreliable, Duplex Printing, Difficult Setup, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

on screen manual hopeless; cannot make contact to ask questions, can't get the duplex print function to work; frustrating, disappointing, ready to dump.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quirky

By mighty mac from Corona, CA on 11/07/2012


Pros:

Reliable, Durable, Small Footprint

Cons:

Difficult Setup, Slow Print Speed

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is printer doesn't support USB and wireless printing at simultaneously, like some of the competition. If you have a need for this option, then this is not the printer for you. Print quality is good, but consumes a lot of ink.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Machine

By Dodger Blu 1955 from Rim Country, AZ on 10/28/2012


Pros:

Reliable, Easy To Use, Color Photos Are Exceptional, Easy Setup, High Quality Output

Cons:

I Don't Have One As Of Yet

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This Machine replaced an older Canon machine that I wore out.This machine was very easy to set up. We have a new Grandchild and my daughter has been sending lots of photos.I have printed out a number of full sheet color borderless photos. The prints are exceptional. The scanner and the ADF work great. I love Canon Customer Support. When I have had an issue they are very helpful and the customer support department is here in the USA


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed

By Queen Creek from Queen Creek, AZ on 10/28/2012


Pros:

Easy Setup, Fast Print Speed

Cons:

Low Quality Output, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have been printing my own photos and brochures for about 7 years. I have always had another brand, but I saw the reviews on this product, and decided to 'upgrade.' However, it turned out to be a down grade. Faces turned out red and splotchy, blacks had green tint and not dark, hair looked digitized. I spent 2.5 hours problem solving, trying to figure out if I had the configuration wrong, changing color management, switching the photo settings on the printer, etc 1995 called, they want their digital quality back. I will be returning this product asap.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Below average

By Tcl Guru from Minneapolis, MN on 10/16/2012


Pros:

High Quality Output

Cons:

Unreliable

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Scanning the the options set to send the document to my PC via my local Ethernet connection fails every time. This failure alone is why I am giving the PIXMA MX892 a low rating. All other functions have been working well. Print speed is good, but only after the first page.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Disappointed in Speed and Fax Capabilities

By kim from Irvine, CA on 10/12/2012


Pros:

High Quality Output, Easy Setup

Cons:

Slow

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this all-in-one to replace another all-in-one from Canon that died on me after many years of use. I am very disappointed, to say the least. This machine is VERY slow w/ all of the operations, and in addition, I have been having issues faxing a simple three-page letter, because the fax says "document too long". Would not buy again!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Piece of Junk

By DYOP from Vista CA on 09/23/2012


Cons:

Unreliable, Difficult To Use, Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup, Large Footprint, Low Quality Output, Should Just Pick Itup Did On The Other Comput But, Flimsy Construction

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Unable to set up it going to be thrown if i mess with it to long


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Printer I've Owned

By Rich from Georgia on 09/19/2012


Pros:

Easy Setup, Reliable, Fast Print Speed, High Quality Output, Easy To Use, Durable

Cons:

Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am amazed by the performance of this product. I have owned several other printers in the past, but this one is by far the best printer purchase I have ever made. The ease of operation is unbelievable. I recommend this printer for any small office or home user.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By printermom from Undisclosed on 09/07/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, High Quality Output, Lots Of Useful Features, Easy Setup

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a quality machine for home use. Very easy setup for wi fi with clear instructions. Easy-to-use software. Print quality is great for both text and pictures. Scan quality good too. Wonderful to be able to print from the iPad via the free canon app. I haven't used all the features yet, but so far it is a thing of beauty. Very glad I bought it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works as Advertised

By thud424 from Longwood Fl on 08/10/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Small Footprint, Works With Iphone, Reliable, Easy Setup

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My last three printers have been canons.Each one has been better than the last. I purchased this one because I wanted the wireless feature and the capability to print from my Iphone.Set up was fairly easy. Although the computer and printer seemed to acknowledge each other, had to search for it on pc... once found worked like a charm... When checking to see if the printer had the driver to print from iphones, it claimed it did not (according to the test). tried to print anyway, and it works fine... like the downloaded manual that sits resident on the pc... would I buy again? YES. would I recommend to a friend Yes....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love the wireless & airprint feature

By SOS from North Carolina on 08/07/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, High Quality Output, Fast Print Speed, Easy Setup

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Recieved my MX892 about 10 days ago. Set it up in about 20 minutes. No problems. I need print, scan and copy features. I do not fax. I particularly need a scanner that will scan legal docs which the mx892 will do through its ADF. My former Cannon printer did not have wireless or air print capability. Now we print from my desktop, my wife's laptop and our IPad all over the house. For our home and light business use it is great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Price/performance

By Khaki from SE US on 07/17/2012


Pros:

Fast Print Speed, Easy To Use, Easy Setup, Durable, Reliable, High Quality Output

Cons:

Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

An upgrade from the beloved PIXMA 860. Easy to install on my Mac, a bit more complicated on the Windows platform. I use the duplex feature (scan and print) a lot, and the multi sheet feeder is a must have. The Navigator software is great for handling scanned documents, allowing corrections to individual pages, and concatenation of different documents. I use it to print IRS tax forms and client correspondence; excellent quality. Fairly easy on ink, too. (Could be better, though.)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Consistent Canon Quality

By Bordermom from Springfield, VA on 07/07/2012


Pros:

Easy Setup, Wireless Multi-source Printing, Fast Print Speed, Reliable, Durable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The new PIXMA MX892 is a quality product with a combination of useful features. Wi-Fi printing and scanning combined with AirPrint make it a tool the doesn't tie you to the office. Something on your iPad you'd like to print -- no problem. How about your Android smartphone? Use Google Cloud Print to get a hardcopy of whatever you need. Auto document feeder and nice photo printing rounds out the package. This product upgraded a reliable Canon PIXMA MX860 that won my loyalty to the Canon line of printers. The setup was streamlined and I easily swapped out my old for the new. This one's a winner!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding!

By PrairieWoman from Oklahoma on 06/30/2012


Pros:

Fast Print Speed, Easy To Use, High Quality Output, Good Ink Tank Life, Reliable, Easy Setup

Cons:

Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am very pleased with this printer! The print quality is excellent and color matching is both easy and accurate. The duplex printing makes me happy by saving me time. No more manual loading of papers! The ink tanks last quite well. The software interface is easy to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Canon finest MFP

By bobbyinpa from Chocolatetown, USA on 06/19/2012


Pros:

Reliable, Easy Setup, Sharp Looking, Easy To Use, High Quality Output, Durable, Fast Print Speed

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Out of the box and set up in less than 20 minutes, easy to connect wirelessly to my iMac and iPhone, great text and fantastic photos, fax and scan functions are simple and fast. Even comes with OCR. Full featured at a great price this week at my favorite office supply store. You will not be disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect for Home Office

By PFM from Philadelphia, PA on 05/17/2012


Pros:

High Quality Output, Easy Setup, Easy To Use

Cons:

Slow Print Speed

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Replaced a Pixma MP610 in need of a print head after a numbe of years of use. Other than a somewhat slow start up & print speed this is an excellent all-in-one which can be found at a great price. I've only had the unit for a few weeks so time will tell how the cost of replacement ink cartridges will factor into this review.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome!!

By gmikey71 from Tyler, TX on 05/09/2012


Pros:

Airprint, Individual Ink Tanks, Speed, Quality

Cons:

None So Far

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Canon means quality and for just 3 yrs. now I've never been disappointed. This was an upgrade from my last pixma printer and it was welcome. The ink cartridges are individual so less expense, speed and quality are superb. Plan on staying with Canon for years to come.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved