Home » Photography » Digital Cameras » 5900B001 » 67 Reviews

Canon PowerShot SX260 HS 12.1 Megapixel Compact Camera - Black - 3" LCD - 20x Optical Zoom - Optical (IS) - 4000 x 3000 Image - 1920 x 1080 Video - HDMI - PictBridge - HD Movie Mode Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 67 reviews)

77% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Easy To Use (39), Lightweight/portable (42), Simple Controls/menu (27), Nice Features/settings (38), Good Low-light Performance (30), Durable (26), Bright Lcd (39), Excellent Image Quality (41), Good Battery Life (23), Super-sharp Images (4), Superior Build Quality (3), Fast Auto-focus (5)

Cons:

Poor Image Quality (7), Poor Low-light Performance (7), Complicated Controls/menu (9), Short Battery Life (15), Missing Features/settings (5)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

OK for a Back-Up Point & Shoot

By fluke fotography from Los Angeles on 03/14/2015

As a professional shooter, I always have a back-up body to my 5DIII - just in case. That being said, I use this SX260 as a back-up to my S95. It was obtained well after later models were issued, so this is a bit late for a review. I feel I can only rate a camera for what it is expected to do and not what I want it do (i.e., I can't downgrade it because it doesn't shoot RAW, as it wasn't sold boasting RAW capabilities). It works well, but I find the noise using higher ISO numbers - 600 to 800 - to be intolerable. The distortion in small print sizes is not acceptable and to reduce the noise using high-end noise ware programs makes the end result unusable. Not a bad camera for daylight or low ISO shots, but anything "dark" requires a flash. The type of photography I do does not allow the use of a flash, hence the downgrade from a 5 to a 4. Other than the noise problem, the prints seem clear and crisp and, although the files are not RAW, the jpeg files shot Large, superfine, are representative of the original shot so working with them in post program is not as difficult as with some other point and shoots. Color rendering is quite on point and the image stabilization also works quite well, I don't shoot video so can't say much about that. As noted before, this camera was obtained well after subsequent models were issued, so this review might be a moot point.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy to use

By Ralphie123 from Midland, TX on 07/02/2014


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Poor "getting Started" Guide

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We bought the camera just before going on a trip. We aren't professional photographers but like to take a lot of pictures on vacation, with family, etc. The "getting started" guide is very basic and doesn't tell you much more than putting the battery and memory card in and taking a picture. When we got home and downloaded the images onto our computer, we discovered the images were around 2.5 MB to 3.0 MB. There isn't any guide in the getting started guide about setting the image size. Having images this large is not very easy to share. You have to do some digging to find out what the right image size is for you. We are a little disappointed that the factory setting is on the max size.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LCD Screen Fails

By Snapper95 from Boston, MA on 06/13/2014


Pros:

Great Zoom, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Lcd Screen Fails

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've had this camera for a year and a half. I loved it and used it all the time with spectacular results (amazing nature shots with the zoom!) until the LCD screen started going dark on me unpredictably. I spent a bunch of time trying to figure out what was wrong and finally googled around on "SX260 HS dark screen" and found that there were a bunch of other people that had that same problem. Now I am trying to figure out what to do about this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Portable Camera

By 14thcvi from Connecticut on 06/11/2014


Pros:

Compact Size, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this camera for events where I can not bring my large camera, i.e. concerts and some outdoor activities. With the 20X optical zoom it is easy to get close to the action. If the Megapixels were a little higher it would be more than 5 stars, but for something compact you can't beat it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Camera

By Canon from San Diego, CA on 06/02/2014


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It is a great camera for anybody to use and doesn't have very many down sides great quality of pictures and portable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great camera

By annieb1110 from Mishawaka, IN on 01/08/2014


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings, Durable, Excellent Image Quality, Good Low-light Performance, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this camera and all pictures I have taken with it. I have had other brands and hands down best camera. I am still learning how and what settings to use, the best one's for different times of light settings. I have wanted a canon for some time, I couldn't afford a DSLR but I am not regretting my choice. I would still like a DSLR, but will definately keep this one. I bought this for our trip to Disney World last year and I can not complain about any of the pictures taken. Night pictures, fireworks, day, indoor, outdoor. My only complaint and it irritates me everytime I use my camera is when changing my exposure compensation, turning the dial I hit the flash button. It is a pain in the butt. If they could figure out how to put it a different way this camera would be the best camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Camera

By franky from Las Vegas on 01/08/2014


Pros:

Just The Right Size, Simple Controls/menu, Nice Features/settings, Durable, Good Low-light Performance, Easy To Use, Good Battery Life, Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was a refurbished camera. No idea of what was wrong if anything from the original owner if it was infact owned. Possibly it was reject at the factory. It has been a great camera. Light sensitivity is wonderful. I went outside at night and took a picture of a star constelation and it came out great. I used a tripod. I purchased it for my wife who was going on a Mediterranean cruise. She is totally technically challenged when it comes to these devices. She took over 1400 photos that were absouletly perfect and had no difficulty. She took photo's out of a tour bus window on many occasions and you simply can't tell.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Super Easy Point & Shoot

By RS from Mich on 01/06/2014


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Simple Controls/menu, Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life, Durable, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Had this camera for abt a year. This works better than the rest. I've has many different Powershot's including the SX230HS. This camera out shines them all. Great pic quality and easy to operate in all menu modes. If I did not have an EOS too. I would buy another SX260HS for just to have in the truck. I highly recommend this camera, But you need to understand its menu. I think it is easy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good performer

By white336 from Undisclosed on 12/30/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Good Battery Life, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Good Low-light Performance, Durable

Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned previous PowerShot camera's over the years and this is a definite improvement. It is worth is for the price. A lot of people are complaining about performance but I haven't seen many problems. With the correct settings and a tripod in certain instances it performs well. Low light is good if you don't move. No camera shoots well, or while zoomed, in low light without a tripod. I recommend the add on flash for the point and shoot cameras. Blown out, blurred, or bad pics are usually caused by incorrect settings. The burst works good for action shots. Just delete the bad ones. I haven't had any battery issues. I've shot 20+ min of HD video on the same battery. You must have an SDXC card to shoot a long video because of the file size. Video on full zoom is good without a tripod. The auto focus works well. Main problem that people have is they don't understand how their camera operates. Take the camera out and practice with it. No camera can do everything for you.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best medium sized pocket camera

By Pietro from Upstate NY on 12/29/2013


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Good Battery Life, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Pocket Sized, Nice Features/settings, Durable, Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu, Good Low-light Performance

Cons:

Flash Pops Up Where Left Fingers Grip

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My wife and I are retired and we travel in a little 4 WD pickup truck camper, with a kayak on the roof, visiting cities, attractions, parks, forests, deserts, coasts, swamps, caves. We are nurses and treat equipment gently but we are out in all kinds of weather, in sometimes harsh conditions, hiking, camping, exploring, paddling . I've taken thousands of wonderful everyday photos with this camera ranging from portraiture to around the campfire to museums and theaters to the grandchildren to the forests and deserts and caves to Mardi Gras at night to dis-assembly documentation to an engineers idea of art. For this type of photography I have found it excellent. It is durable, versatile, forgiving with a superior collection of features appropriate for this purpose. Brava! Bravo!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect camera

By Gravestoner from Columbus GA on 12/17/2013


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this camera for about two years and I'd buy it again and again. Great shots, even at zoom.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Camera

By fast gmc from Bowling Green KY on 12/08/2013


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Durable, Good Battery Life, Good Low-light Performance, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings, Bright Lcd

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Big performance in a small package. does everything the big cameras do but a lot smaller in size.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not happy - on 2nd return

By Scout from New York, NY on 11/24/2013


Cons:

Doesn't Work

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this 1 year ago and already sent it back under warranty because the lighting of the image in the camera went dark. Now this replacement camera has broken with the same problem and needs to be replaced. I've been a Canon user for many years and rue the day that I purchased this particular model. When it does take photos, they are of good quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Less Then Desirable Quality

By corpcon from Ontario, Canada on 09/01/2013


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Durable, Simple Controls/menu, Good Battery Life

Cons:

Poor Auto-focus, Poor Image Quality, Bright Objects Are Blown Out, Slow Gps

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The considerable zoom is, obviously, very nice to have in a P&S. Although it "seems" to me that it is not truly equivalent to a 500mm lens, as they claim. I could be wrong. My primary big issue is that whites and other bright colours are easily blown out - especially hazy skies. I have not had this issue with previous Canon P&S cameras. My iPhone balances light way better than this camera does. Also, auto-focus is very temperamental. My other big issue is that it takes FOREVER for the GPS to lock in.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Would be great if it worked

By Roobahsox from Minneapolis on 08/31/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable, Simple Controls/menu, Nice Features/settings

Cons:

Battery Connections Fails, Poor Image Quality, Dim Lcd

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This compact camera has many good features for easy non-commercial use. Easy to understand settings. Good zoom. Has the potential to be a good little aim and shoot, or small travel camera. However, the battery requires reseating many times with each use. Screen goes black, pics are black, and then it starts all over. Also, there is a significant shutter delay. I could do with the delay, but I can't deal with a camera that takes black pics and requires battery to be re-inserted over and over at each use. If the camera worked, I would give it a 4.5. But despite all its potential, the fact that it takes black pictures, I have to give it a zero. Do not recommend. Save your money and time and get something else.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best vacation Powershot ever

By PickyPicky from Texas on 08/24/2013


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been purchasing Canon Powershots for probably 10 years. This is my favorite Powershot for vacations ever. 2 primary reasons: 1) The massive zoom It allows me to take shots that were impossible with my earlier Canons point and shoots. This, plus the size is still reasonably small enough. Smaller would always be better. #1 would have been enough. (#1 plus all the other features the powershots have always given me, including image stabilization with the newer ones) 2) The integrated GPS logging. What a kick this is. Looking at the visual logs with the integrated software helps us relive vacation and remember how we got where on which day. I prefer the way Canon geotags vs how gmail Locations does it via my Note 2 device with location services turned on. Other Pro's to me: Features that this camera does NOT have a) no touch screen I don't need a touch screen on my camera. I do NOT want the extra weight and extra battery drain that a touch screen creates. b) WiFi again, don't need it don't want the extra cost of the WiFi radio inside the camera. Taking out the card or plugging in the cable when I get back home is simple enough. I purchased 2 of these on Black Friday, November 2012, from a big box store at a great deal, and then 6 extra NB-6L batteries from a major online retailer. These performed great during our European Christmas market vacation in 2012. As of August 2013, this is still best of class. From reading the online retailer reviews of the newer 280hs, that newer model still has a battery drain problem that Canon has not corrected. Even if they had, i did a side by side compare at a photo store in New York City last week of the 260hs vs 280hs. The size of the 280 is almost the same. The only reason why I'd upgrade is if they shrunk the 260hs. However, the good news for new purchasers is maybe since a newer model came out, maybe big box stores and Canon will discount the 260hs further for Black Friday 2013.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice camera

By Bruce076 from Staten island, New york on 08/04/2013


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Lightweight/portable, Good Battery Life, Bright Lcd, Durable, Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great functions...zoom features and long range focus outstanding.. Nice manual features!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Little Camera

By RedRyder from Los Angeles on 07/31/2013


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Pop Up Flash Unnecessary Complication

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used Canon cameras for many years, starting with film B&W and heaving my own lab. When my current Canon A630 lost its flash I looked for a replacement. I liked the viewfinder and swing out screen with great macro capability. However NLA. I looked at reviews and specs and chose the SX260. Its a small camera with great capabilities . It also has a program mode where I can customize its settings. The auto settings work well too. I tested the camera in multiple settings and it preformed well. The film mode was amazingly clear for such a little camera..I considered buying a larger camera such as the G12 along with this one but for now the SX 260 does everything I want a camera to do. Being able to take a camera with you in your pocket makes it available when a shoot is to be had. The camera is as good as you are. Photography is in the eye of the photographer, this camera will do the job. I would have liked a view finder for sunny days, and the POP up flash does not make sense since it uses more power and is where I like to hold the camera. The camera with its great long lens is power hungry so buy a spare battery. Screen protector is also a good addition.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Happy with the SX260

By Ritt from CT on 06/29/2013


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Durable, Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life

Cons:

Poor Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Guess I'm not as fussy as other reviewers. Love the zoom, pictures are sharp and clear, I get an occasional blur during "low light" at zoom, but no biggie. Not sure how the 260 can be bulky, I walk around with it in my pants pocket as I would my cell. I've used it skiing, at the beach, at picnics, nice clear pictures. I have never depleted the battery using several vids and snap shots. A previous review reported it was heavy/bulking, sheesh, get to the gym fast. I just gave this camera to my wife and ordered the SX280SH..........we'll see.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A very good purchase.

By DanielS from Romania Bucharest on 06/09/2013


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, It Has Gps, Good Low-light Performance, Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use

Cons:

The Bettery Is Not Too Good, Short Battery Life, The Flashlight Is Placed Vary Bad

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera and I am very pleased with it. The IS is at good standards, it really work in a moving situation. The CMOS sensor is way better that a CCD. It makes good pictures inside and outside, in good light and in low light. It is very good for vacation. A more powerful battery is necessary. The flashlight is annoying, it hits you fingers when it comes out.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not real pleased

By picturetaker from Kansas on 05/28/2013


Pros:

Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Poor Image Quality, Battery Life Is Worthless, Poor Low-light Performance, Short Battery Life, Missing Features/settings

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Finding that I am not happy with this camera. *Too many blurred shots. *Color not consistant in multiple shots *HATE the low life of the battery (it's the worse I've ever used) *using different settings doesnt make much difference in shots *Needs a viewfinder ** WILL be buy a different camera. ***Sad because I LOVE my last Cannon Camera


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Much Better Than Expected!

By AZTry4 from Phoenix, AZ on 05/28/2013


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable, Durable, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life

Cons:

Flash Location

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The battery life is better than other brands I've used. The picture quality is better than expected. I had difficulties with the menu/controls/settings at first but then I read the manual and keep it in the camera bag for reference. I use the camera to take pictures of ancillary systems in industrial plants which typically have poor lighting and are black or dark in color. The pictures are clear, have the details I need, and have plenty of light as well as contrast. The manual is good for the most part but some instructions are not exactly perfect, but you must review the manual if you want good pictures.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good with reservations

By yllib from Texas on 05/18/2013


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality, Good Low-light Performance

Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu, Short Battery Life, Missing Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

the camera is compact and takes great pictures BUT it is not intuitive as far as using the features,,my package has no English instructions so am having problems in photo management. Only buy if you inderstand use of the features or it has appropriate instructions contained in your box. I'm still trying to find English instructions for mine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not for computer challenged

By Mustang Man from Charlotte NC on 05/13/2013


Pros:

Durable, Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Read with interest some negative reviews. This is a computer that makes pictures and video. TiP: this camera can do a tremendous number of things, but many won't be important to you. Decide what is and works with those. Ignore the rest and the 220+ manual won't overwhelm you. I used if for the first time in Kenya and allowed the camera to automatically make the "best exposure" decisions. It made the right call 90% of the time and I'm a professional videographer. The video was good but rapid movement on any camera in this price range is going to have some issues. My video was good within normal usage. Bottom line: read the manual, practice with it, find out what it can do and I think you'll be thrilled. A great camera for the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Blurry Photos and Videoa

By Mary from CT on 05/02/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have this camera and am so disappointed. I rarely get a good photo and have never gotten a good video. This camera was a waste of money. Videos are NOT crisp - photos are NOT crisp. 99.9% of all photos and videos I have taken look blurry. Backgrounds are always burs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dissapointed

By Buttercup from Pittsburgh, PA on 04/28/2013


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Easy To Use

Cons:

Poor Image Quality, Missing Features/settings, Short Battery Life, Poor Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This camera gives me a plethora of grainy pictures.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I like it & I have it. ...

By Mohammad from Iran,Hamedan on 04/17/2013


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like it & I have it. you can take the best pics it's my experience and I suggest to non Professional user take it use it enjoy your life


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

did I get a lemon?

By bjr from ca on 04/13/2013


Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu, Short Battery Life, Blurry Pics With Slow Shutter Reaction, Poor Image Quality, Needs Sport Setting?, Poor Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Like another reviewer wrote, I hate this camera. We purchased this to replace a previous older powershot that actually took better pics than our canon rebel. We didn't want to take the big camera on long haul trips and also wanted something quickerfor grandkids, parties, etc. We bought this on black friday '12. I finally tried using it at Chrismas and it was evident from the beginning this camera takes awful pics. I called Canon and we decided most of the blurriness is when I need a flash, it takes too long to charge back. Pretty much every pic I take of my 18 month old is blurry. Still shots of posing are blurry. Still objects are blurry. Also grainy. I downloaded and read the manual and tried all settings and options. Still blurry. Took it out to an EAA eagles activity with my cubs today and the just charged battery was dead after 2 hours. It was an expensive camera but takes worse shots than disposables. It is like I have the shutter open on a tripod shot. Actually, the only decent shots I get are with the high speed shots and no flash, then again, I have to sort thru them all and keep one. Very disappointed and may resort to taking the rebel to China in 3 days. With all the great reviews, and so many bad ones, can they really vary that much?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Camera w/limitations

By big rob from Georgia on 03/22/2013


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Durable, Good Low-light Performance, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Simple Controls/menu, Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased in Sept 2012 , been on several extended trips , some foreign, taken several thousand pics . Everything great except battery life . You must have 2 batteries when gone for the day and no 110V nearby . Fix the flash problem with a small handheld tripod , easy fix and better pics instead of trying to hold and balance the camera .


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

best little camera

By yellow pages20 from jackson, miss on 03/14/2013


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Durable, Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use

Cons:

Short Battery Life, Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this product after my other cannon product went out. I was 15 minutes out of box and was taking great pictures and video. This camera makes great pictures and video. I love the high definition movies. the colors are great and you can sure tell the difference in high definition videos. This camera was very easy to use and my previous experience with cannon made this one a great buy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Could of should of - done better

By Pic & Vid from West Virginia on 03/07/2013


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd, Durable

Cons:

Sound Quality On Video Ok, Short Battery Life, Video Stops Recording At 16 Minutes

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

To me the quality of the pictures are pretty good and the video quality is equally good. I do not like how it feels in your hand. The flash could've been a lot better designed it constantly comes up and hits your finger you believe are going to break it. The thing that annoys me the most that the video turns off after 16 minutes and you have to turn it back on which makes a break in your videos. My idea was to replace my canon sx110is camera and canon fs100 video into one. Almost achieves my idea.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

PowerShot SX260HS Fails

By Stuffed Shirt from Garland, TX on 02/01/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use

Cons:

Failure Of Warranty Responsibility, Flimsy Construction

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought my SX260HS camera on January 11, 2013 looking forward to taking many pics of my grandkids in an upcoming visit. I practiced with movies, snapshots, etc until I felt comfortable. Then, just 7 days later, on Jan 18, I opened the camera to take some more practice pics. I knew the battery was low so didn't worry too much about the fact that the camera quit working at all. No power, no pictures, nothing. Changing to a new battery didn't help. I took it in to a local Canon shop for repair after talking with the dealer (who said these were a real problem) and was told that I had mishandled the camera. Never was I told how. All I can say is that Canon refused to refurbish/repair my unit. After 7 days, treating it just like my cell phone (which has lasted over a year). I feel Canon has some real quality problems with this unit and they are refusing to acknowledge it by saying the consumer has "mishandled" it. Would suggest not purchasing this unit at all.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointment

By CBquilts from Providence Forge, VA on 01/30/2013


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Complicated Controls/menu, Placement Of Pop Up Flash

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have been a fan/user of many Canon cameras, but I am not a fan of the SX260. Did any one in design actually pick it up and use the flash? I have almost dropped it three times because of the very poor placement of the flash, when it pops up, I am startled and almost drop it! It is now uncomfortable to hold as I am always afraid I will drop it. I am happy with the outcome of the pictures but I miss some of the features of my old camer and my have to wrestle it back from my grandson. I am disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I hate this camera

By Disappointed from Washington, DC on 01/24/2013


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Poor Low-light Performance, Poor Image Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I hate this camera. Truly, truly hate it. I bought it to replace my last Canon Powershot. Pretty sure my last four cameras have been Canon Powershots....each an upgrade over the last and I've always been super happy with them. I don't even look at another brand. I picked this one, specifically because of the ridiculously long zoom and image stabilization. Outside, in bright sunlight, under optimal conditions, standing perfectly still? It take a passable picture, and the zoom is nice. Anywhere else, it's just awful. Low light pictures are horrible. Focus is awful. If your subject is moving at all, the picture is blurry. Forget about taking pictures of kids or animals, not going to happen. Takes forever to respond. I seriously haven't found anything that I like about it. I'm not a photographer. I take most of my pictures on the Auto or Easy setting. I've always been extremely happy with my Powershots...but not this one. I wish I would have returned it when I had the chance, but the first set of pictures I took with it (Jazz Fest in New Orleans) were predominantly taken outside in daylight, so I thought it was ok. After that, I thought maybe I just needed to "get used to" a new camera. Boy was I wrong. Since my first Powershot, I've never even looked at other camera brands...I've always just upgraded. Next time, I think I'm unfortunately going to have to do some more research.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Family Camera

By DNichols from Michigan on 01/12/2013


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd, Simple Controls/menu, Nice Features/settings, Durable, Good Battery Life, Lightweight/portable, Good Low-light Performance

Cons:

The Flash Pops Up Where You Would Put Your Finger, Needs Better Instructions On All Features

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We chose this camera from reviews online. The price is right. Good image quality. Love the 20X zoom. The Picture burst is neat. I think they could have given a few more pages on how to use the camera. Like there is nothing about the Picture Burst in the book but I read it online.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this camera!

By SSimao0886 from Crescent City, CA on 12/31/2012


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Good Low-light Performance, Durable, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable, Good Battery Life, Bright Lcd

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was given this camera as a gift and LOVE it! I take EVERY picture in manual mode, which at first, I will admit, was a little difficult. After a lot of practice though, it's now second nature. I recommend learning your camera and all the features it has because it will make you a much better photographer, in my opinion.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great camera to record your memories and trips

By Hannibal from Davie, FL on 12/30/2012


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight/portable, Good Low-light Performance, Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use

Cons:

Missing Features/settings, Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is one of the best small portable cameras. It gives the user better pictures in quality of color and clarity that what you get on a smart phone. A lot of setting to play and easy to carry everywhere. really nice for casual users. It's not perfect, it's not intended for professional use. if you are looking for a better one, get a nice SLR.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good camera

By Hittme357 from Texas on 12/28/2012


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Simple Controls/menu, Bright Lcd, Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Durable, Good Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Was looking for a good camera for upcomming vacation as I was tired of pictures with my existing one not comming out clear especially night shots. I am totally ammased with the quality of pictures even at night from top of the Empire State Building, I zoomed in on an ice skating rink and was was shocked when I shot it to be able to see the people skating, would highly recommend this for any one in the market for a camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not for taking pictures of kids!

By Terry from Ohio on 12/12/2012


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Poor Low-light Performance, Slow!

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This camera is SLOW it takes so long to take a picture that I miss the moment in which I wanted to catch my kids participating! If you are taking pictures of moving children the pictures are often blurry. If you want this camera for stills I am sure it would be great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

replacement for SD900

By C-bear from Santa Cruz, CA on 12/05/2012


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality, Durable, Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Powershot SX260 HS was a replacement for the Powershot ELPH SD900 and it was the right choice for me. I don't have a lot of time to sit on the computer to edit/enhance my photos.... and with this camera, I don't need to. The camera comes with all the modes/functions I need to get creative while I take the picture instead of after. I also like the fact that even though it's a small camera, it has a large LCD screen. I am having a little trouble figuring out when is the best time to shoot with some of the modes... it seems like some of the modes are repeated but within the camera. But that just may be because I don't really undrstand that certain function yet. All in all, I totally love Canon and I'm very pleased with this camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice, but could be great!

By EdConexion from Los Angeles, CA on 11/20/2012


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd, Durable, Nice Features/settings, Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Flash Placement - Awful!

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

At my company, we communicate with the world using images " we are a social media agency for chambers of commerce and other business organization and we take photos at more than 100 events per year. We absolutely love the zoom capability of his camera; we can stand in back of a ballroom and still capture great shots. We truly dig its ability to adjust in dim settings (networking events have many of them), its facial recognition, shot stability and grid modes make our work versatile. Weve also found video capability is not too shabby either " we recently covered an event with celebrities and got great content. HOWEVER, that flash pop-up on the left hand side is a total disaster, particularly when you only get seconds to capture the moment, and rather than fidget with the flash wed rather be shooting in different modes to ensure success. We find we get good shots without a flash (most of the time), but were seeking GREAT shots.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I like Mine>Glad I bought It

By rustylwb from Dallas Texas on 11/02/2012


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality, Good Low-light Performance, Nice Features/settings

Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera to replace my old power Shot540 I took the camera To Rome Italy and took 650 picture's and I have used it to take close up pictures of coins (8in) It took some getting use to for the close up's But it took great pictures in Rome. My old camera has been on 10 trip's to Europe and it is still ticking.con The on button is not easy to access.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great little camera

By John from Newport Beach, CA on 10/24/2012


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Good Low-light Performance, Bright Lcd, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings

Cons:

Flash Pops Up Under Your Fingers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like how the camera offers both an easy and an auto mode but also allows you to quickly personalize the shot. I hate that the flash pops up right under my left hand where I grip the camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love This Camera!

By Jill from Boston, MA on 09/25/2012


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Good Battery Life, Nice Features/settings, Bright Lcd, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera about 2 months ago for a horseback riding trip through Utah. I played around with it for a few weeks before we left and was very impressed at the image quality. There are 2 basic modes, "auto" and "easy" that are both straightforward and take great pictures without fiddling around. I have yet to use the manual and live options, but I'm sure they take amazing pictures as well. My favorite features on this camera are the 20x zoom and the creative "scene" modes. While in Utah the "super vivid" mode did a phenomenal job of picking up the bright colors in the landscape. The camera is a little pricey but overall I am very happy with my purchase and continue to be impressed with the camera to this day.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Pictures, Button Placement awful.

By Gracie from Virginia on 09/19/2012


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Button Placement Awful, Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I recently dropped my Canon 700 and broke it. So I needed a replacement. I love the 20x zoom. Low light shooting awesome, sunsets, animals in shade butterflies etc. I shoot mostly in manuel and the flash and timer buttons pop up all the time while I'm turning the wheel to adjust. Flash itself is in the place you need for holding the camera. Takes or views about 250 pictures before needing a battery change. Shutter button a bit hard to reach. GPS is a waist as it does not work in rural areas. You should include a user manuel with all the stuff on this camera. If I'd had another choice I would have taken it back. But love the manuel option, size, weight, 20x zoom, and low light quality pictures. If you only shoot in automatic, you may like this camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

In love with this camera

By TravelBug from San Antonio, TX on 09/16/2012


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Good Low-light Performance, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use

Cons:

No Viewfinder, Short Battery Life, Flash Pops Up Under Fingers.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After dropping my first Canon camera on pavement resulting in its untimely demise, I bought this wonderful camera. I use the camera to take photos for my blog. Since we are full-time RVers, we travel a lot and I use the camera for outdoor photos, close-ups of flowers and cats, photos with people and artsy photos. The quality, clarity and color of the photos is beautiful. I'm still learning how to use it as I am a little technically challenged, but that's the beauty of the Auto mode. In the future, I plan to take more photography classes, but for now, I am very happy with my purchase. Two problems: 1. No viewfinder. On sunny days, I cannot see what I'm photographing. 2. The flash pops up right where I hold the camera with my left hand. I will have to remember not to put my fingers there.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best little camera for the money!

By Kuntrybumzz from San Diego, Ca on 09/12/2012


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings, Bright Lcd, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life

Cons:

Wish It Came With A More Detailed Instruction Book

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera as a replacement of my 5 year old Canon Powershot. I gave the SX260 HS to my son to use on his school trip to Europe. The pictures that this camera took were no less than amazing. The backgrounds behind my son's touristy pictures were so good, they seemed fake. I would definitely recommend this camera to anyone who likes to point and shoot and in return receive amazing pictures. The only downfall is that I keep having an issue with the placement of my left hand when using the flash. It seems to get in the way when the flash pops up. (Yes, it's operator error.)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Greatest Camera Ever!!

By PSH from Columbia, SC on 09/08/2012


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Good Battery Life, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Bright Lcd

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I previously owned a different Canon PowerShot that I had for over 5 years and I loved it. When I needed to buy another camera I went for cheap and thought I was getting a good other brand camera...WRONG! So, I went online to do research/reviews and decided on this camera. I got it the day before I was leaving for a small trip and took several pictures with it. When I uploaded them to my computer I was so happy with the quality of all the pictures. I took a ton of pictures with the optical zoom...and they look like I was standing just a few feet away! I LOVE THIS CAMERA!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pink not Red

By Lucky from Ohio on 09/01/2012


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Bright Lcd, Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just received my new camera. I was hoping that the RED camera was RED. It is pink. I wish I bought a different color. Anything but pink! I also bought a carrying case (Red" for the 3.5 in size. I need to buy a bigger one as the case barely closes. My camera case is a true red and now clashes with my pink camera! I hope this camera works as great as the reveiws state.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great purchase

By Jill from Maryland on 08/28/2012


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Compared to several other camera purchases, I like the Cannon sx260 HS. The focus is great. The zoom lens is nice. I like the way one of my pictures show a still shot of a slice of cake with fork in motion. The night shot's come out clear and well lighted. The color is great. The camera is very handy and easy to carry.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Flannelman

By Flannelman from Pacific NW - Seattle area on 08/23/2012


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings, Durable, Bright Lcd, Good Low-light Performance, Easy To Use, Good Battery Life, Simple Controls/menu

Cons:

Doesnt Come With Printed Manual

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great little camera. Bought this on to replace my SX230 that was lost. This camera is pretty much idiot ready in "Auto", or good for the advanced enthusiast who likes to set the various settings. No matter what or how you shoot, you will get great photos. I haven't used the movie setting yet but expect it will work the same. What I do miss though is the "Smile" setting my other camera had and this one doesn't. It would recognize when you smile and automaticly take the shot.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

perfect little camera

By Grizzly1505 from Wilson, NC on 07/29/2012


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this camera to do pictures at work. What I especially like is the size of it as it replaces my EOS300 which I had used before that. Picture quality is IMHO very good even in artificial light as you can do multiple AWB settings. the movie feature wasn't my first choice but its a "nice to have". I really recommend to get a seond battery pack as the battery is short lived (you won't get a full card with it. there might be something to improve. Overall it does what its suppose to....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice Camera- Poor Documentation

By N2TU from North Carolina on 07/19/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Bright Lcd, Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

In the limited time I've had to use this camera, it has done everything I've asked it to do. Low light, bright light, great color reproduction, ease of use. My biggest beef is a personal preference. Cannon has only provided a rudimentary Quick Start Ops Manual and then refers the owner to a CD. Who the heck carries a CD around with them when shooting? Owner's manual should be printed by the manufacturer! Case closed!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Camera

By R. Case from Magalia, CA on 07/17/2012


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings, Good Low-light Performance, Durable, Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life, Simple Controls/menu, Bright Lcd, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a Realtor & appraiser, so I have a need for qualtiy photos for all of my work. The Powershot SX260 HS, with its 20X zoom is a winner. I have a two other digital camers with similar features, but I feel this Canon Powershot out performs them without any problems. I am very happy with the Powershot SX 260 HS performance and workmanship.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best camera by far!!

By Nohope4humanity from Brooklyn, NY on 07/17/2012


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Bright Lcd, Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life, Cool Effects, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use

Cons:

Pointless Gps Feature

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Ok, so I received this camera for my birthday, and I must say, this camera is freaking awesome!! The manual controls are perfect, and there are priority modes for you to practice manual, where you can set the apeture and the camera sets the others automatically, etc. The automatic settings produce incredible image quality. There are really cool effects available, which included but are not limited to: miniature mode, toy mode, poster effect, color exchange. Color exchange is cool: you choose the color of an object, and apply it to another object!!! I could make my eyes brown or black. I could turn my couch purple. It is pretty awesome. The only con is the GPS feature. Why is there so much hype about it?? As far as I can tell, it gives you the COORDINATES of your location, it does NOT put your location on a world or country or state/providence map!! I was in washington dc, and when I took pictures I wanted them to be labeled as photos taken in Washington D.C. Instead, they were labeled with coordinates!! Pointless. Thank god, to, this gives me an excuse to turn it off, to save battery life (which really isn't all that bad). I know I didn't cover all of the features/specs of this camera, but there are unlimited things about this camera, I could happily rave about it forever.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't Recommend This Model

By ezwider55 from Florida on 07/10/2012


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Missing Features/settings, Poor Image Quality, Short Battery Life, Poor Low-light Performance, Poor Video Quality, High Noise Level

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I love Canon and use Canon EOS 5D MK III's, S90 Powershot, and several other point and shoot cameras that I have given to family members. I expected a 20X zoom camera would have some compromises but I was really surprised a Canon with Digic 5 would have poor still picture quality and even worse video. I have an older version of this camera and even it has much better still quality and way better video with the older DIGIC 4. High degree of Noise in most pictures and soft image focus made the image quality very disappointing. Video on my SX260 was completely unacceptable in 1080p. I went back to the dealer and had them check my menu settings and choices for something I might have missed which is certainly possible with the menus in this version. IMHO, Canon missed the mark by a long shot with this camera. Unfortunately I waited too long to return this camera assuming I had to have made a mistake in some settings. I would definitely recommend that you buy any of the other Canon point and shoot cameras and do not make the mistake of trying to get more than 5x zoom. The S100 would make a far better choice if you want a really small camera with the DIGIC 5 image processor or the G12 even with the DIGIC 4 processor.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent GPS Camera !

By AP from Phoenix, AZ on 06/14/2012


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Durable, Bright Lcd, Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings, Gps With Data Log Feature, Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life, Simple Controls/menu

Cons:

No In-camera Photo-stitch For Panoramic Pictures

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Since there are several reviews here already i just wanted to add three points. One on the GPS, one on image quality and one on Panoramic pictures. While this line of Canon cameras does not have the highest MP-count, they take better and more crisp pictures because they retain the detail once the image is processed (unlike other cameras with more MP sensors). Also the focus of Canon cameras has been the best among the competition for over a decade. This, along with Digic and HS, makes for superior image quality. Also, a VERY good feature that Canon added is the Always-On GPS that logs the location and is always ready to Geotag pictures (unlike most of the competition that the GPS activates once the camera is turned on, and either having to wait until satellites are acquired or take several pictures without GPS info until camera locates itself). Of course you can always turn the GPS off if you only have one battery and running low. Finally, one thing that Canon could add or change, is in-camera processing of Panoramic pictures. While they always had the Photo-Stitch for as long as i can remember (12+ years at least) the competition has gone beyond that and stitches the frames on the spot producing large panoramas in-camera and ready to be viewed at home. While i don't think it is such a big deal to do this at home, even with proprietary software that you just have to install for this one reason, I have seen several other customers mentioning this in their own reviews. Canon should take a note on that !


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

THE model I was awaiting!

By guitarer from Anderson, IN on 06/11/2012


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Very Smart Sensors!, Durable, Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings, Good Low-light Performance, Good Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I must admit that I ONLY use Canon cameras, due to the consistent quality & familiar operation from model-to-model, but I was getting frustrated waiting for a compact "super-zoom". As soon as I saw the SX260 HS' 20x zoom, I knew that I'd buy it, even if it may have a few shortcomings. So far, though, I haven't seen any; from 20x optical zoom & into max digital zoom, photos have been remarkable, even better than my trusty SX20is, but in a much smaller package. Videos are great, too; though I didn't buy the SX260 particularly for that feature, its great to have on hand. I'll let others get into technical aspects, settings, etc., & comparing this model to ones made by other companies. If you want the familiar quality, features & menus of a Canon, plus a long zoom in a travel-size package, look no further. I'm sure that I'll use this camera for years, no more "upgrading" for a good while! Thanks, Canon!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Like the size with long ...

By Butch from Undisclosed on 06/03/2012


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings, Durable, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use

Cons:

Short Battery Life, Hard To See Subject In Bright Sunlight, Dim Lcd, Placement Of Flash

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Like the size with long zoom, could be a little smaller. The flash come out the top where I put my finger to hold the camera, having a hard time getting use to this as others do using the camera. Hard to see subjects in bright sunlight. Takes good pictures close up and using the 20X zoom. In the short time I have used the camera I am pleased with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

love this camera!!

By mar from evansville, in on 05/14/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i received this camera for mothers day and it is fantastic! i still haven't fully explored all the features but have been taking some far more detailed shots than my old camera was ever capable of! sometimes it can be a bit tricky to get it to focus on certain objects at close range but once it does the object comes in crystal clear! i would highly recommend this!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing for the price!

By brava27 from Toronto, ON on 05/11/2012


Pros:

Very Fast Reviewing, Fast Turn On And Shoot, 20x Zoom., Great Picture Quality

Cons:

Gps Is Useless. I Never Use It., Pricey, Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this camera for a week now and I am a hobbyist as I have had around 10 canon cameras in the past 10 years. I have had the SX models 200, 210, 220, 230 and now the 260. They improve every time and the quality is no difference. The LCD quality, price and picture quality is always top notch and canon never lets me down.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

happy to get it

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 05/10/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i bought this camera and its amazing im in love with this camera


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The best digital camera I ...

By Maricusa from Chicago on 05/01/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The best digital camera I have every owned. Superb.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Camera

By rafiramos from San Lorenzo, PR on 04/23/2012


Pros:

20x Lens Full Hd Rec Gps Face Id Discrete Mode

Cons:

Battery Life Many Settings Need Getting Used To.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned one Canon Camera with each DiG!C image processor in the past 10 years. PowerShots: S50, A700, SD850 IS, G10 and now this SX260 HS. I took around 2,000 pics in my last 5 day trip to NYC. This is a quick performer right out of the box. But you can't forget this is a pocket point and shoot camera. Yet you'll be amazed with the features. Taking panoramic no flash images at dawn or night is impressive. First night I had the camera I took a picture of the moon, no tripod, it was not only focused, (something I have not been able to do with my higher end G10) but I could see details on the screen I couldn't see with my bare eyes. The 20x lens is a great one, I took pictures from the Observatory of the Empire state and you can see a slight curvature of the lens on distant objects but nothing unacceptable. Recording @ 240 fps can only be done @ a lower resolution other that full HD, not so good for video editing, but its a fun cheap camera with features rivaling more expensive ones. If you have used Canon digital cameras before you'll love the DiG!C 5 new features and if you are new to canon, just compare and see the difference.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

disappointment

By biker from Portland, ME on 04/13/2012


Pros:

10.3 Fps

Cons:

Picture Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

great speed with the 10.;3 fps but the picture quality is not very good - its equal to my old S50 which was only a 5.0 megapixel camera. I have been a canon fan for over 50 years but I am very disappointed in this camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent camera

By Linasunc from Orange County, CA on 04/12/2012


Pros:

Battery Life, Gps, Zoom Quality, Picture Quality

Cons:

Klunky Software

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Really pleased with this camera. Nice that it has the full auto mode for some and manual options for others. The Gps works very well for geotagging, just remember to check its acquisition status which can vary from under one minute to a few minutes depending on your view of the open sky. The gps was a main factor for me to purchase this, my third Canon, as I also have a Mac that makes excellent use of this feature. Which brings me to my last point, the included software is klunky and based on MSFT Silverlight. Very disappointed with it and will remove it and continue with the superior iPhoto.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Camera

By J.C. from Tampa St. Petersburg on 03/31/2012


Pros:

Overall Great Photos

Cons:

None Known As Yet

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I looked at several models of digital cameras and selected this one based on it's features and compact size. That, and the fact that the sales person said I could bring it back if I didn't like the pictures. So, I've used this camera extensively for about a week and I'm totally impressed. Very high quality photos indoors with low light & no flash, outdoors with bright sun, very high quality telephoto nature shots. I would recommend it to friends without hesitation.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved