Home » Photography » Digital Cameras » 6039B001 » 19 Reviews

Canon PowerShot 110 HS 16.1 Megapixel Compact Camera - Black - 3" LCD - 5x Optical Zoom - Optical (IS) - 4608 x 3456 Image - 1920 x 1080 Video - HDMI - PictBridge - HD Movie Mode Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 19 reviews)

72% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Excellent Image Quality (10), Simple Controls/menu (5), Good Low-light Performance (5), Lightweight/portable (12), Easy To Use (6), Bright Lcd (11), Good Battery Life (5), Nice Features/settings (8), Durable (5), Fast Auto-focus (3), Superior Build Quality (3)

Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu (6), Poor Low-light Performance (5), Difficult To Use (7)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

High Speed Video, 240 fps, Shutter Speeds

By Chas Tennis from Baltimore, Maryland on 09/19/2014

For athletic motions such as tennis strokes and golf swings high speed video can be very valuable for analysis. One problem is that most cameras in high speed video mode use an automatic exposure control that selects shutter speed based on available light. The shutter speed that a camera will select in high speed video mode is difficult to determine from camera specs alone. Looking for a low cost camera that would have a fast enough shutter for testing, I decided on the Canon 110HS. My testing indicated that in bright sunlight using the widest angle zoom setting, at 240 fps, the shutter speed was fast enough to show the tennis serve with small motion blur.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent for the price.

By denncald from Marquette, MI on 08/03/2014


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Prefer More Manual Controls

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this last week and had my doubts about the image quality and overall performance. I've spent the past week using it a lot, and have been very impressed with the results when used properly. I would recommend using a small pocket tripod for low light images to improve image quality. I have already recommended this to friends and family. I bought it for the ease of use, small size, and quality build, plus the Canon brand. I have three other Canon PowerShots with larger image sensors, and this little gem can produce nearly as good results, which is what I had hoped for.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My Elph 110 HS

By ChuckO from Undisclosed on 04/11/2014


Pros:

Infinity Setting, Superior Build Quality, Small But Excellent, Setting Selection, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have used for a few years, thousands of shots. Excellent as a small camera. I like the infinity focus incase there is rain on the window or something else close I don't want the autofocus to select. For me this is one of the most important features in an autofocus camera. But no matter how great the camera, after time dust gets on the CCD and you first see it on telephoto shots.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Camera Ever

By Red from Michigan on 09/20/2013


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was at a lake with family and my camera slipped out of my pocket and into the lake. I watched as it went 6 feet to the bottom, my heart sank. It was retrieved quickly. Long story short when i got home i did the rice in a bag for 3 days but that did not work. Last resort i put my camera in front of my hairdryer and let the air blow on the camera. It worked!!!! I did not loose any pictures and the camera works like it had never been in water. I LOVE THIS CAMERA.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent camera

By chuck old boy from Colorado on 07/03/2013


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Good Battery Life, Simple Controls/menu, Infinity Focus Setting, Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings, Durable, Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

Missing A Few Features

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this Elph 110 locally in 2012 and have been using for about a year. I've taken well over 1,000 images and many short and long video clips. I use it for business travel, tourist shots, photos I use in powerpoint presentations, work related video clips, family shots, indoors, outdoors, action and stills. Its excellent, I sincerely recommend it. It does not have a few features - but it has what I need. Low light ASA, infinity focus setting, fast shutter, HD movies. Very small, travels well, tough and produces excellent quality at a great price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed.

By walkhorse from Dallas,Tx. on 04/16/2013


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings

Cons:

Short Battery Life, Complicated Controls/menu, Flimsy Construction, Poor Low-light Performance, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

All functions working except the photos come out with overly dark backgrounds.They look fine when taken.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Should be easy

By Wiffie from Undisclosed on 03/24/2013


Cons:

Dim Lcd, Complicated Controls/menu, Poor Low-light Performance, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Somehow although I think I'm hitting the same sequence I always end up where I don't want to be. I just want to see my photo or erase it but I'm in movie mode and I can't get out! Ten minutes later I just turn it off and put it away until I have more time to futz. Also, I can't seem to get a photo of my black cat; he's always just a black spot in the center of the hardwood floor. That's with auto settings, daylight or night, with and without the flash (which seems to go off at odd times such as yesterday in bright sunlight).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great value

By Squeaky from Brooklyn, NY on 01/06/2013


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings, Great Bargain

Cons:

Poor Low-light Performance, Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

First digital camera I owned received as a Christmas gift from my wife love the quality of pictures it takes and the SMART feature is awesome but the controls are tough to understand and pics in light aren't great even with flash not much help but overall I would recommend to a friend or family member


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst canon model I had (of 5)

By Rob from Undisclosed on 01/01/2013


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Poor Image Quality, Poor Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I'm a diehard Canon fan, but very disappointed in this model. I like the capabilities and the quality for daylight images. The biggest downside is dust (in the air) reflection in flash images very often, due, I suspect, to the lens being too close to the flash for the wide angle setting. Red eye reduction also seems largely ineffective and flash range is poor (compared to SD900 Elph). Features are plentiful, but correspondingly hard to get to as you have to scroll to get to them - no quick access to common ones (except full auto), so by the time you get the setting you need to make a good shot, whatever you're shooting has been gone a long time. Anyway, I love all 4 of my other Canon digital cameras so I'll probably buy Canon again, but I'll do a much more thorough test in the store first.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really a nice camera.

By Jo from Undisclosed on 12/23/2012


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Lightweight/portable, Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I find that this camera is very confusing to figure out, but once you do it takes high quality pictures that are very beautiful and eye-catching. I did however have a very hard time finding out how to use it to its fullest potential.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very pleased.

By MomOf3 from Undisclosed on 12/20/2012


Pros:

Durable, Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Simple Controls/menu, Bright Lcd, Easy To Use, Good Battery Life, Good Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this from my husband as an early Christmas gift. I love it. I have a 2 and 3 yr old so the high speed burst action shots are a God send. It captures amazing pictures while my kids are running around the yard or are playing at the park. My daughter has already dropped it on our hard wood floor and it turned on just fine. No scratches or anything. The movies play back with good resolution and sounds too. Out of the box, my battery lasted 3 days before I had to charge it. That's great!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it but...

By Sandra from Bronx, NY on 12/19/2012


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable, Durable, Excellent Image Quality, Good Low-light Performance

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just got this camera today because my old canon camera stopped working & this camera is pretty amazing. The pictures come out sooo clear. However, I find it difficult to use. I'm going to have to look up how to work this camera. But it overall gives you great quality pictures.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

amazing pictures

By j picture from Undisclosed on 10/31/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love the camera. Excellent playback on camera, beautiful videos, and nice pictures. Purchased because it was HD-able to connect to HDMI TV. Was very disappointed that a HDMI cable was not included with camera. Our two other Cannon cameras had connectors with them for viewing on TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Camera for the price

By Amigan from WV on 10/08/2012


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Durable

Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased this item almost two weeks ago. I haven't had a camera for quite a number of years (other than my cell phone), so I wanted a simple, point-n-shoot device that would provide good results inexpensively. My brother teaches photography at a local high school and he recommended this one. First thing I noticed was that it takes excellent pictures. However, boy was I surprised at the file sizes! The default factory setting is maximum resolution and picture size. If you don't change those settings, you'll need a huge memory card with this camera if you take many pictures, and especially if you shoot ANY video! A video of less than 2 minutes at the default resolution of 1920x1080 (Extreme HD) resulted in a 450MB file! Therefore, I searched the user guide to find out how to lower the resolution and dimensions to decrease file size. The 5X optical zoom is a bit conservative but adequate. Correctly inserting the battery and memory card can be confusing; however, I like the fact that it has an HDMI port. I'm still learning the different settings, but I'm trying to avoid "P-Mode" because it seems too complicated. I don't yet understand why flash pictures taken indoors in somewhat low light have a yellow cast - maybe it has something to do with the difference between fluorescent and incandescent (which is becoming obsolete) lighting - but appear more natural when the flash is disabled. It seems sturdy but I don't know yet how durable it is, or if the battery life is adequate. However, I am trying to make the most of the qualities I wanted. I just hope I can use some off-brand accessories - such as an extra battery - to justify the cost.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

software terrible

By herbie from NH on 10/01/2012


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Complicated Controls/menu, Poor Low-light Performance, Crop Software Is Terrible

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

liked the Camera but have wasted hours with software that won't open, have downloaded updates, still slow, takes several tries, experience this on home and work computer, Software complicated to use when i can get it open, very disappointed and kept it past return policy


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Camera

By desertrat1512 from Kanab, Utah on 08/12/2012


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Simple Controls/menu, Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd, Good Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned my 110HS for 2 months - it is a better camera than the sd1200is in all aspects. I used it for tow years and took over 6000 pictures and 85% turned out fantastic - experimental pictures and some low light pictures turned out blurry in some cases. I hope to continue getting the pictures from the 110HS that I have so far - I I will be a happy with my future results. I have printed some 11x14 pictures with great results. Thanks and keep sending my tips. Steve Desertrat1512


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sharper Than Some, Noisier Than Some

By MK from Aiea, Hawaii on 06/29/2012


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Extra Canon Battery Is Expensive, Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Based on Canon's representation that the DIGIC 5 processor "provides a major boost in noise reduction," I decided to pre-order the ELPH 110 HS " the 310 HS has a longer zoom lens range, but starts at 28mm and did not have the 24mm wider angle that I wanted. The 110 HS is also available in black, whereas the 310 HS did not have a black model. The 310 HS also has the DIGIC 4 processor, not the newer DIGIC 5 processor that provided the "major boost in noise reduction." I purchased the Canon ELPH 100 HS camera last year to try out the Canon HS System. I was impressed with the relatively clean-looking images that can be taken in low light, compared to the noticeably noisy images taken with my older cameras. However, when I zoomed in on parts of the images to look at details, the images were soft and lacking the detail I wanted. The ELPH 100 HS also did not have an optical zoom for video " only a digital zoom, and only if the still image aspect ratio is set at 4:3. I considered getting the ELPH 300 HS, which had a 24mm wide angle lens and which did have optical zoom for video, but I decided to go for the models with the newer DIGIC 5 processor. Then I read a magazine review of the ELPH 110 HS that said that they considered a clean image to be one that contains less than 1.5 percent noise, but that the Elph 110 HS was only able to keep noise under this threshold through ISO 200, a surprisingly low setting. The review also mentioned that the ELPH 310 HS did a much better job both in terms of image noise and preservation of detail " it kept noise under 1.5 percent through ISO 800, while managing to do a great job with image detail through ISO 400. The review was disappointing -- apparently, instead of producing a "major boost in noise reduction," the DIGIC 5 processor in the 110 HS was noisier than the DIGIC 4 processor in the 310 HS. Unfortunately, although the 310 HS has a longer zoom lens range, the lens starts at 28mm and did not have the 24mm wider angle that I wanted. The 110 HS is also available in black, whereas the 310 HS did not have a black model. So, I went ahead with getting the 110 HS, anyway. Since receiving the 110 HS on April 2, 2012, I have been using it as my everyday carry camera " it is as thin and light as my 100 HS. The images taken in bright daylight look fine to me. When zoomed in on the computer, the images do look a bit noisy, but they are sharper than the images taken with my 100 HS. When I zoomed in on the images in the camera and on the computer, I could see more detail, even in the images taken indoors. So there still is the trade off between sharpness and noise " on the balance, I prefer the additional detail that I get with the 110 HS, even though there is more noticeable noise. In addition, the 110 HS provides the wider 24mm angle and provides optical zoom during video. Unfortunately, the 110 HS is the same as the 100 HS regarding the limitation on the use of digital zoom " digital zoom is only available at the 4:3 still image aspect ratio, while I prefer to shoot at the 3:2 still image aspect ratio to match the 4 X 6-inch prints that I usually order. I was surprised to find that the images taken with the digital zoom looked better than the images taken at the maximum optical zoom and cropped on the computer to match the magnification of the digital zoom, so now I set the camera at the 4:3 still image aspect ratio with the digital zoom turned on in case I want to take quick snapshots with the digital zoom. The 110 HS is a good compact camera that is my current everyday carry camera to have handy for quicky snapshots of things and people -- it is my fifth Canon compact camera (but the first one in black). If, however, images with lower noise are desired, there are other camera models around this price range and size that should be considered and, of course, there are more expensive cameras with bigger sensors that will provide images with lower noise.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One of the best point-and-shoots out there...

By ShootitBW from Chicago, IL on 06/15/2012


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable, Durable, Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

What a purchase...To be honest, I'm still trying to figure out why I bought this camera, considering I already had 2 Canon SLR's and a camcorder at the time. I suppose I wanted something that was a little more portable and quick to use, and I had heard great things about Canon's ELPH series, so I decided to go out and grab the new 110 model. So far, this camera has exceeded my expectations by 10-fold. Right out of the box, I got clumsy and dropped the camera on my tile floor, but it didn't even make a scratch. Durable?, I'd say so... I have been mainly using this camera for the master-shot scene camera in film school projects (primarily because it doesn't have great control over focus at low aperture settings, but shoots composition like a champ...). The reason I bought this specific camera for my video shoots is because it is one of the few under $250 that shoots in 1920x1080 @ 23.976 fps. Aside from video mode, this camera is quite amazing for still photos. With several fun options, including high-burst mode, and a buffet of color settings...the 110 will definitely impress the casual to amateur photographer, and is more than enough for what a family needs. Keep up with the good products Canon, I haven't been disappointed yet.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome. Really.

By Matt from Undisclosed on 05/30/2012


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Simple Controls/menu, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first camera with more than 8 megapixels, and let me tell you, i'm blown away. I took the camera out to a local fort with a friend and the photos came out beautifully. Also, the video is extremely clear. Highest definition I have personally ever recorded in. Small, easy to use, and efficient. I love my new camera!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved