Home » Accessories » Camera Accessories » Lenses & Filters » 6097B002 » 19 Reviews

Canon 6097B002 Ef-s 18 135mm F/3.5 5.6 Is Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 19 reviews)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Super-sharp Images (7), Fast Auto-focus (7), Superior Build Quality (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Good All-Around Lens - Especially for Kit Lens

By Tarmack from Nevada on 09/14/2015

I got one of these lenses with a 7D Mark II. I wasn't expecting much but was pleasantly surprised - especially for the small up-charge I paid adding it as a "kit lens". Significantly better than the last kit lens I received (which was a 18-55mm IS II - not worth having IMO). I have been using this lens for a wide variety of shots and it is worth having - the wide zoom range, quick focus, and quiet operation are all beyond my expectations. I like the STM focus better than the USM in standard (non-L) lenses. Well done Canon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great video lens

By stu from lewisburg, pa on 06/27/2015

I got this lens in a kit with my 70D. I wasn't sure about it at first, but I actually like it. The stepper motor (STM) is amazing and completely changes the lens. It operates differently from any lens I've owned before. First, the focus ring is not mechanically connected to anything - so when the camera is off, it doesn't move. This is neither good nor bad, just different. The lens focuses very quickly and completely silently (good for movie shooting if you're recording audio on the camera). It seems like the lens elements are very close and they don't move very much - resulting in fast focus. It operates more like the focus system in a camcorder than a still camera. I took it to iceland and shot 500+ pictures with it. Overall it worked well. The picture quality wasn't as nice as my f/2.8 lenses, but it did well and the zoom range is solid - wide enough and just enough length for most things. For the price, it really can't be beat. The IS is also pretty amazing. Again, for shooting video it operates as well as a camcorder lens system. Pretty impressive. In the end, it is definitely 1) a step up from the 18-55 kit lens, 2) an awesome lens for video and a must for folks doing it, 3) it isn't as good as an L or comparable lenses, but it costs a heck of a lot less, and 4) it is a reasonable all-in-one and a must if you only want to buy one lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good but with a few unacceptable misses

By a1000words from Minneapolis, MN on 05/01/2015

There are a few things that are not right which are unacceptable from a camera of this level and cost. HDMI output does not support 1080"p" nor "24p". So if you recorded in 1080 24p, while it will record it in that format correctly, it will not output faithfully. It will output it in 1080 60i ! Which is completely opposite of what this camera and brand stands for and that is good quality reproduction of images! Also I am quite disappointed about the Auto White Balance. Especially in artificial lighting. Again something that indoor/studio photographers need to be aware of as you Will need a gray card all the time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worth the money

By clifford from west valley city, Ut on 04/03/2015

This lens came with the camera but is one that I didn't own. Nice to have versatile. If you don't have it buy it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens

By gunsmokeray from Louisiana on 01/23/2015

I am extremely happy with the performance of this lens. I am an advanced amateur with decades experience with many lenses. This lens is sharp throughout the F Stop range. The zoom range from wide to short telephoto allows me to compose most of what I want to photograph in camera. The image stabilization works. It is mounted on a Canon D70 and focus is instantaneous and reliable. Contrast which is my true measure of a lens is perfect.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Product

By Ed from North Alabama on 01/16/2015

I wanted to have more capability than the kit 18-55 lens. This lens will allow me to have more zoom plus still have wide angle. I plan to use this lens as my primary lens. I also have the 55-250 lens to use for shooting my grandson's baseball games. Canon products are of high quality, which makes for a good value.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Extremely quite

By Los from New Jersey on 12/26/2014

The SPM series of lens are extremely quite and smooth focusing... You can not hear the focusing motor at all!... These are sometimes known as kit lens, 18-135 is matched with the 7D Markll and I'm using it for video filming I think it's a must, it's slightly and I mean slightly slower focusing but still very sharp not the greatest for sports ... It's an overall good lens but a must for video


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens

By ProShooter from Raleigh, NC on 12/19/2014

I bought the 7Dii as my back up camera and the kit lens was this lens. I normally don't shoot with a kit lens, but my first shoot was in Death Valley and I didn't want to haul a lot of gear, so I decided to shoot 1 full day with only the 7Dii and the 18-135 lens. I was amazed at the performance of this lens...silent, quick to focus and really sharp images. This will be my standard lens on this camera...maybe forever.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad copy?

By picboy8 from Tampa Fl on 10/23/2014

After reading the reviews , I was expecting excellent performance. Not so. My copy of this lens failed to perform in every category except noise where it excelled and zoom/focus that was very good. Took it back.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quiet, fast, sharp

By Blank from Asheville, North Carolina on 10/02/2014

I've had this about a week and have taken over a thousand shots. Most are outdoors in the mountains but some are in town Quietest lens motor I've ever owned. Fast to focus in good light - manual is better in dark environment. Manual took about 15 minutes to learn. Light weight and an inch shorter than the non-STM model. All shots were in RAW, with Daylight, AV setting on f 8. Most settings were on AUTO. About 95% of shots are usuable. The other 5% were my errors - not the lens. Color is very good. Sharpness is better than 18-55 or 55-250. Wiidest and longest settings do a good job - from 25 - 100 the shots are excellent everywhere. When shooting trees the edge issues don't even show up. Excellent choice for a budget minded photographer. I highly recommend the 18-135 STM lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Full Time Manual Focus WORKS - just differently

By Grusum from Dallas on 05/04/2014


Pros:

Custom Button Assignments Possible, Super-sharp Images, Quality Construction, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

None Found

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Full time manual focus works and works GREAT. You just need to understand it uses the STM motor to focus NOT a set of focus gears. Prove it for yourself. Put the 70d into Live View shooting mode, cause the camera to focus, use the +/- key on the top back of the camera to enlarge the image and THEN use the manual focus ring -- WORKS GREAT; very very vernier focusing is possible with this lens! I have had my 70d and 18-135STM for about a month now and I would NOT part with it. LOVE IT I started with a T2i, upgraded to a T3i then finally a T4i. After holding a 70d and reading the reviews I sold my other four camera (sold my SX40 HS too) and bought the 70d. Have NOT looked back with any hesitation since it arrive in the brown truck. Yes, I paid extra to have it in 2 days cause I no longer could wait, patiently. If you're in the market; buy it now - make yourself a happy Canon owner! You will not be disappointed!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice Lens!!

By bigron452 from Hopewell Junction, NY on 04/03/2014


Pros:

Quaility Pictures, Fast Focusing, Quiet, Light Weight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I upgraded from the T3i to the 70D and got this lens in the kit. I had the 18-135 IS on the T3i, and enjoyed that lens as it turned out to be my daily walk around lens. Same thing here with a few bonuses! With the focusing system of the 70D, it's much quicker and slient. That makes a huge difference when shooting video! It's light weight, easy to carry and quick! Images are sharp, vibrant and colorful. Now I'm not a pro by any strecth of the imagination, and I don't look for the extreme details of a picture. But if you'd like a good, quiet, solid walk around lens that has a wide angle, some zoom, and takes great pictures .. this one is sure worth taking a look at!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best daily use lens for 60D

By 87004 from Rio Rancho, NM on 04/16/2013


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Not Real Manual Focusing

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens offers an equivalent 28-200 zoom range on a 60D with low distortion levels and very quick, silent focusing. It lacks sufficient magnification for bird photos, excellent for any other use. Although the manual focusing ring is computer driven, you hardly ever need to use it as autofocus is excellent


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens Silent Operation

By saboken from Johnstown, Pa on 03/02/2013


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Metal Mount

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Finaly I can record Video with out the noise of the lens that came with the T4I I purchaced, that lens was a Joke!!!! I would have purchaced the body only if I knew Canon was going to put a cheap plastic lens on a higher end camera! as far as the reviewer that said the manual focus ring is fake it's not fake the camera needs to be on and the lens switch set to MF for it to work it is not a mecanical focus ring it causes the focus motor to move like a volume knob. this lens is worth way more than I paid for it!!!!!! as for the plastic len's I don't know if I am going to sell it, trash it or make art out of it? maybe use it for target practice? if your buy a T4I get the body only and buy this lens or any othe STM lens you wont be sorry.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wonderful walk-around lens

By iguy from Onalaska, WI on 01/02/2013


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this lens for about 6 months now, and it has performed impressively. It is the only lens I have now, having sold several others to make things simpler. I spent four years basically collecting gear instead of learning to take pictures. Thankfully, that futile endeavor is over. I am very confident that this lens can make 99% of the pictures I can imagine in my head. The pros: --lightweight compared to L series --very practical zoom range covering everything most of us could need --excellent image quality for a zoom, especially non L --excellent IS --plenty sharp, even wide open The cons: --marked barrel distortion at 18mm and moderate pincushion distortion at other focal lengths -- "slow" max aperture at the telephoto end (f/5.6 from 85mm to 135mm) I can fix the barrel/pincushion distortion in 15 seconds with software, so that's a non issue. The larger aperture at the tele end is just not an issue for me, as I don't do much low-light photography. Unless you plan to enlarge your photos to fill walls, the technical aspects of this lens are not going to limit you in any meaningful way. If you want to peep at pixels at 200%, get a few L series primes and knock yourself out. If you just want to concentrate on making interesting pictures, this lens will get out of your way so you can do that.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent lens, but some annoyances

By GavJ from Iowa City, IA on 10/01/2012


Pros:

Absolutely Silent Focusing, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Fake "manual" Focus Ring

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens as a standalone to use with my Rebel t3i, so I cannot comment on the integrated movie mode image stabilization available with the t4i. Aside from that, though, the lens is quite sharp across all the ranges I have tested. It is noticeably a little soft around the edges at the extreme focal lengths, unsurprisingly, but this softness requires you to look for it, and for a skilled photographer, it should be expected and not matter much anyway. This is much Much nicer optically than, for instance, the 18-55 kit lens. The zoom barrel is a little tight for my taste, but the grip is wonderful, and the focal lengths are laid out so that the spacing is very intuitive and easy to precisely control all the way from 18-135. Also, a tight zoom does mean that the zoom lock isn't really necessary, which is good, I guess (though I don't understand why such a feature is necessary in the first place... seems like a band-aid fix in most cases) The silent stepper motor is truly SILENT. As in, with my ear pressed up against the lens as it focuses, I still cannot hear it, unless I am in a still room by myself with no air conditioning on. And again, that's only if my ear is jammed up against it. Under normal circumstances, it just focuses with absolutely no noise, as if by magic. Very amusing, and of course, perfect for videography (although the video focus still pales in comparison to a camcorder, when used on the t3i, but that was expected). Focus SPEED is about average for a mid range canon lens. So all in all, great optics, good usability, and a very useful lens for the crop sensor. Also absolutely silent. On the negative side, though... two points: 1) The build quality is very poor for the price. yes, it has a metal bayonet, but other than that, it looks really cheap, and feels pretty cheap. This is probably mostly an aesthetic thing (it does not affect performance, and plastics can be as strong as metals nowadays), but it is annoying and make me less satisfied using the lens. So sue me, I'm a little shallow like that. 2) More importantly, the manual focus is not actually a manual focus!!! This is just a little electronic sensor attached to a ring. When you change the focus, it takes a split second for the motor to catch up to you. And the focus (and therefore the lens) won't work if the camera is off or not attached to EFS powered signals. Not only is this annoying and weird to work with under normal circumstances, but it makes this lens almost completely useless if you do a lot of work with non-Canon extension tubes, or a macro reverse ring, or on a non-EFS Canon camera with adapters, or duct taping lenses onto bellows, or other non-standard setups like that (which all amateurs should try at some point! And that is obviously who this is marketed at). Considering that this is obviously a "one-stop-shop, do-everything" lens, not being functional in situations like this is a significant drawback. Not being able to use a reversing ring on a 300mm prime lens? Well fine, obviously that wouldn't be a problem. Here, it is a problem. However, if you're not a very experimental person, or if you have other lenses on hand to mess around with in that way, then it's fine. Still annoying to not have instant manual focus control, though.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Better Than Expected

By Anonymous from Long Island, NY on 09/07/2012


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Lightweight, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using this lenses on a 7D for about a month now. I have taken this lens on two vacations, the bahamas, and the grand canyon. In both instances the pictures I took were amazing. I was supprised when I compared them to pictures taken with my 15-85 is usm and the pictures were sharper with the 18-135 stm. I went to the US open yesterday with my 18-135 stm and my 70-200 f4 is usm, and I will say that I had a hard time telling the pictures apart. This lens is a must not only for walk-around conveniemce but a great all purpose lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid Performer at entry price.

By viktas from Wharton NJ 07885 on 08/29/2012


Pros:

Manual Overide, Quite Enough Stm Motor., Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Serious sharpness for a entry level lens. Through out the entire range, impressive. Not the highest build quality but total satisfaction using a crop sensor and getting most out of your sensor in sharpness. Light weight, focus by wire is different and STM is quiter then the 40mm pancake. Plus this lens has Manual overide when holding down the shutter half way. A different approach but definetly not FTM. Over all for a entry zoom at this price range I don't believe I will be able to find a better deal or sharper lens in this price range from any manufacture.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Great Lens

By 7X9 from Torrance, CA on 08/27/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Quiet Focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Somewhat Bulky

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I received this lens with the Rebel T4i. At first I purchased the camera with the standard 18-55mm but decided to get the 18-135mm. The lens is pretty big size wise, but it's a good range , considering that I rarely change lenses. The best part about this lens is that it's absolutely quiet. Perfect for recording. The image quality is superb.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved